This business is not BBB accredited.

Tynan's KIA

Phone: (970) 377-6900 Fax: (970) 377-6990 View Additional Phone Numbers 2849 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.tynanskia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tynan's KIA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tynan's KIA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 15, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 01/01/1984 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward Tynan, Vice President Ms. Kathy Snyder-Martin, A/P
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Tynan, Vice President
Business Category

Car Dealerships Auto Repair

Alternate Business Names
Fort Collins Nissan Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2849 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 377-6900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As we leased our vehicle from Tynan's Kia, we were offered a service contract that sounded like a great deal. The finance staff member informed us that the Service would be valid nationwide, as well as the extended warranty contract. We knew we would be moving to ****** upon graduating from Colorado State University near this Dealership. Once we moved to ******, I tried to take the our car in for maintenance and was then informed that the contract was only valid at the dealership where I bought the car. The drive round trip from where I live now to where the dealership is at least 3.5 hours without traffic. This was a major inconvenience to drive that far for an oil change. We then canceled the contract and received a partial refund of $1,562.35 when we originally paid $3,101.94.

Desired Settlement: We would like an additional refund of $811.25 due to the fact that we only used the service twice because we were wrongfully told that we could use it nationwide when in fact we could not. Receiving barley half of the amount we paid for a plan that was supposed to be good for 10 years or 100,000 miles and only owning the service agreement for 2 years and 23,482 miles as of the time of cancellation does not make since to me. I cannot figure out any math where a 50.37% refund works out. Using mileage at the time of the request, we should have received a 76.52% refund or ($2,373.60), making the difference that I should be owed the exact desired outcome.

Business Response:

Hello Mr. ****,

Was the vehicle purchased under your name? I can't seem to find any of your information in our system in order to look into this a bit further.

If you could please provide me with the name it was purchased under and the last 6 digits of the Vin number, I will gladly pull your customer file and look into this.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

***** ******* **** *************************** *** ********************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* ********** 

Good afternoon,

The business has requested my name and the last 6 of my VIN. Could you please forward this to the business for me?

Name of Purchaser: ******* ****
Last 6 of VIN: ******
Vehicle date of Sale: 7/02/2012
Terms: 120 months or 120,000 Miles

Correction on Disputed amount of 81125.00: $950.22

23482/120000= .19 used of the Maintenance plan
1-.19=.81 refund
3101.94*.81= 2512.57 (Amount that should have been refunded) - 1562.35 (Amount Paid)
2512.57-1562.35 = 950.22 (Amount Owed)

I have also attached the original purchase agreement
Attachments area
Preview attachment ****** Contract.pdf
PDF
****** Contract.pdf


Business Response: On this situation, Tynans is going to make a good-will gesture to this customer for the inconvenience.

We will pay the customer $950.22 as they asked.

Please provide mailing information.

Please allow a week for this to be processed and mailed out.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ****

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After going on a test drive my salesman **** tried to rush me into a high pressure sale of this vehicle. After noticing a popping sound I investigated to find out that the rubber isolation around the drive-shaft carrier bearing to be worn out, after pressing them further it was in the safety inspection that indeed the carrier bearing was worn. I called my friend who is a ASE certified mechanic he stated that the carrier bearing would be an easy fix but also stated that it might also be a rear pinion gear issue as well. I asked them directly if there was any issues in the report about the rear pinion gear or rear axle to which they replied NO. I fixed the drive shaft and after putting it back in and taking it on a test drive I noticed a vibration coming from the rear of the truck. I inspected everything and found nothing wrong. The next day I had the tires balanced only to hear and feel the same vibration. I called **** my salesman and told him of my problems and asked if they would look at it, ultimately they said no, they would not even look at it for any reason. I also noticed that someone had recently put fresh gear oil in the rear differential. I took it into another Nissan dealer in the area and had them look at it to which they found out the rear axle was worn out and failing, the slop in the drive-line and worn out carrier bearing masked the problem. It will need a $2400 dollar rebuild or a used axle installed for $980 plus tax to even be dependable. The service manager was shocked that this passed Tynan's safety inspection and stated that they would have never put it on their lot in this condition. I called **** once again only to find out they they are planning to do absolutely nothing to help me out, NOTHING! not you buy the part and we will pay labor NOTHING! I have had better service from shady used car only lots. The carrier bearing and this should have been fixed before they even put it on their lot and certainly should at least be dealt with now to some degree.

Desired Settlement: Since they wanted NOTHING more to do with me once they got my money and will not even return my calls and I am having it fixed at a third party shop (authorized Nissan service). I want them to pay the repair bill, $980 plus tax. The very least I will settle for is half of that. I think that is more than fair. I will upload supporting documents once I get them.

Business Response: We have attached the:

1)     Customer credit memo (aka work promised) where the customer has signed that the vehicle is sold as equipped- no promises.

2)     Buyers Guide/ As Is- signed by customer stating he was buying the vehicle As-Is.

 
The vehicle is a 1995 Nissan pickup with 87,000 miles.

Mr. ***** called **** about these issues and was told that the vehicle was sold AS-IS,  at which point Mr. *****  threatened **** with lawyers and legal action. **** then told him that he would no longer be allowed to talk to him and that if he needed any more assistance that his lawyers would have to contact our lawyers. 
               The dealer explained to the customer that the vehicle was put through a safety inspection and items that were deemed “unsafe” were fixed on the vehicle. The general sales manager, ******** Hartford, explained to Mr. ***** the night before he bought the vehicle that there was some play in the steering links, the rear carrier bearing was indeed warn,  and there were some leaks present in the vehicle- which is due to the fact that it’s 19 years old. Mr. ******** then discounted the vehicle an additional $250 in lieu of our dealership fixing it. The carrier bearing was not a safety issueand the dealer wasn’t obligated to do anything about it.

                The
customer stated after he took delivery of the vehicle that he did work himself
to the vehicle and found the problems with the vehicle AFTER he worked on it.

                The
vehicle was sold As-Is at the time of sale. The dealer does not see any reason
to pay any money to Mr.  *****.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:   I am not disputing the fact I bought this vehicle "as is" this has the be the most anyplace I have ever heard of trying to throw that back in someones face. I am disputing the FACT that **** *******  lied to me when I asked if there was ANYTHING wrong with the vehicle to which he replied "NO" That was indeed the case when I noticed the pooping sound when I discovered the bad carrier bearing. and yes in fact it was on the mechanics notes (so yes he was caught in a lie! ) along with the other issues of which I agreed to fix at my own cost for the added $250 discount. But despite asking to see the Print out of the Mechanics findings on the truck it was never made available, I should have and wised I'd ran.  What I am not willing to pay the cost on is the completely trashed rear end, pinion gears are striped out. Over $1000 just to put a used one in and $2400 rebuild.    Tynans Kia-**** ******* DID NOT disclose the problems with this and the service manager and tech that looked at it where I am getting it repaired said it would be impossible for any ASE certified mechanic to not find this in their safety inspection, They also said a carrier bearing worn out the way it was was indeed a safety issue.  I am accusing Tynans Kia of flat out lying to me and believe that they had prior knowledge of this problem before they sold it to me. This Axle has fresh gear oil in it indicates that it had been completely changed out so they must have known something, trying to mask the problem.   How come after I drove the car off the lot you guys wanted nothing more do do with me? no even look at it? for any reason, I have never been treated so badly by any dealer. might as well have gotten a restraining order.  
  I told **** and also left a message for the general manager that if no one called me back and they left it as it was last Frida,y which they apparently did that I would seek an attorney, If I had an attorney or not they were not going to return my calls or help me out one bit, they got their money and that's all they cared about. I did contact an attorney and he advised me to give it one more chance through the BBB to resolve this without court action which I am trying to do. 
  I really don't want to waste more of my time dragging this into court and calling people to the stand and testify, Tynans Kia has wasted enough of my time.  They even lied to me and said it was stolen off the lot when I initially went to look at it.
  I will drop my case if they can provide me with a copy of the Police report of it being stolen from their lot, and the actual mechanics findings on the truck and it makes no mention of the rear end pinion gears being bad or making noise,  or a statement from the mechanic that looked at this stating that he found no problems with the rear end or rear axle. 
  As mentioned I have bought cars from some strictly used car lots that have done way more for me after the sale than Tynans Kia has. Asking for you to pay half is not asking to much.  



Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: Per Mr. *****'s response he would drop his case if we provided a copy of the police report, and a copy the findings from the mechanic who inspected the vehicle showing no mention of pinion gears being bad or making noise. You will see that the police report was filed on 1-29-2014 and the inspection 2-4-2014 has no mention of pinion gears at all.   

We have attached the Police Report dated 1-29-2014 and the Repair Order performed by our master technician on 2-4-2014 which shows no mention of the pinion gears.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I still don't know how you missed this and had absolutely no desire whatsoever to help me with the issues. Not me buy the part and you pay for labor nothing. What would that have set you back really? 100-150 bucks? It set me back $629.74 for labor,  don't even care huh? Did not even offer to give me a discount on labor or even want the truck on your lot at all for any reason, so much for service after the sale I guess.  And now I can see why I was not allowed to see this report, if I had I would NOT have bought the truck.  Live and learn I guess and NEVER send anyone to your dealership. 

Regards,

***** *****

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was notified by the sales person that the car i was purchasing has hail damage after i signed all the paper work for buying the car. I went to Tynan's Kia in Fort Collins to buy a new 2014 Kia Sorento SX on 22nd June. I did test drive the model i wanted and then selected the color i wanted and i came to an agreement on the price of the car with the dealership. Once i signed couple of papers with Sales guy then went to the finance guy and did all the paper work for buying the car.Once i completed paper work came out and went to the car. Then sales guy shows me the hail damage on the car and tells me that he would fix it and told me that i should not worry as it will not showup on carmax reports. I asked him why he did not tell me earlier before i signed all the paper work, he started telling me that he saw them after the car was washed. I told him you should have come to me when i was signing the paper work with finance guy and there was not answer. he did tell me there was hail in the area and it might be then this car might have had hail damage and he also told me that they got insurance check.So my question for him was if you knew there was hail damage, how couldn't you check this car. There was no proper answer from the sales guy. I was not happy told him to write in a paper and give me what he told me about when he saw the hail damage. He told he would fix hail damage, all the scratches on the and fix a running board and deliver car early next week by Tuesday or Wednesday. finally he delivered my car on Friday evening(06/28)

Desired Settlement: I want them to compensate me for selling me a hail damage car.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I asked sales person if they can give me another new vehicle and he said no. As car was delivered on Friday evening around 7:00 PM and it was weekend and so it took me a while to find out the right BBB to file a complaint.My question is why did not sales person tell me there was hail damage before i signed paper.As he knew there was hail damage for the cars in the dealership.

Business Response: The hail was disclosed and repaired before the customer took delivery. Therefore, the dealership is not going to give the customer any additional money or services.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tynan's KIA
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)