Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Stevinson Lexus of Frederick

Phone: (303) 772-5999 Fax: (303) 684-3572 8337 Raspberry Way, Frederick, CO 80504 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stevinson Lexus of Frederick meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Stevinson Lexus of Frederick
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 05, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1962
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Anthony Banno, General Manager Ms. Patty Ford, Corporate Customer Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Banno, General Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Patty Ford, Corporate Customer Relations
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Industry Tips
Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Stevinson Lexus of Frederick has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8337 Raspberry Way

    Frederick, CO 80504 (303) 772-5999


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I responded to an advertisement about a Ford vehicle at Stevinson Lexus of Frederick on Thursday, 11/20. I was treated decently during the test drive and introduction portion of my visit, but as soon as I expressed my intentions and my wishes to the sales person, I was instantly barraged with very personal questions, such as "why can't you afford more than $150 per month payments?" and similar questions. When I was beginning to feel extremely uncomfortable and wanted to leave, the sales person placed my personal car keys on the other end of his desk so I could not reach them, forcing me to stay put. I explained to him that I needed to leave, because I had a meeting at work at 6pm. This was now 5:10pm. He disregarded my request, and instead brought in the used car manager, who instantly began trying to justify why I was only offered $4,000 for my trade because I had told them I was offered $7,500 elsewhere. He was telling me that, basically, my car was a piece of junk. He was pointing out very minor imperfections in my car, and telling me that he would have to just send it to auction because of the condition of the car, when two days ago, I was told by another dealership how well my car had been taken care of, and what great condition it was in. I became VERY frustrated and upset, and asked to leave, but was then asked to stick around and try to make a deal and basically give up the battle. I had to practically force my way out of the dealership, thus being late for my meeting at work, even when I was explaining to them that I could not stay to conduct any business. I will never refer anyone to Stevinson of Frederick. The way I was treated and the way they handled the situation was very unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: I need these sales people to understand that if they are expecting people to do business with them, finance through them, etc. they need to treat their customers better. I don't care how nice your facility is, how many cold beverages you offer your customers, what kind of amenities you have in your dealership, if you are pressuring your customers and holding them hostage by not allowing them access to your own car keys, you will end up with a lot of dissatisfied customers.

Business Response: Dear BBB,
We were saddened to read Mr. *****’ complaint about his recollection of his sales experience at Stevinson Lexus of Frederick. We take great pride in offering the finest customer experience and so we asked the Salesperson, ***** ********, to describe his recollection of events which you can read below. With regard to holding Mr. *****’ keys to keep him from leaving, our showroom is very open with no doors to keep customers from exiting the showroom. The dealership personnel were not aware Mr. ***** needed to leave for any reason nor did they keep him from leaving. The keys to Mr. ***** ’04 ***** were with ***** ****** so he could perform the vehicle appraisal and were returned to Mr. ***** during negotiations.
We understand that one customer’s experience could be the same as another, yet each customer may leave feeling differently about the experience. We take all customer comments seriously and will review our sales training process to help avoid customers feeling this way. Our goal is to always improve so we are grateful for Mr. ***** comments and insight. We would appreciate the opportunity to meet with Mr. ***** again to see if we can turn his feelings around and assist him in the purchase of a vehicle.

Response from ***** ********, Salesperson – Stevinson Lexus of Frederick
I set an appointment with Mr. ***** to take a look at our used 2009 **** ****.  He arrived at the dealership and I greeted him promptly and offered a refreshment and restroom break if needed.  I asked qualifying questions about what he would be using the **** for, what he was currently driving, and looking to improve on, etc.  He asked why our vehicle was so cheap and I explained that it was one of our older vehicles and that it was clearance priced. I made Mr. ***** aware that it was only FWD and he told me you don't need AWD in the snow in Colorado. You just need good tires and know how to drive. 
I moved forward with the test drive, asked him where he usually does his service work and he explained he does it himself.  I told him we work on most makes and models and if it was cost effective would he service his new **** **** with us. He said sure.  I moved forward, and as on every test drive I offered to show him our service breezeway, the inside of our shop, and explained what he can expect by doing business with us like our free car washes, comfortable waiting area amenities, etc.   During the test drive, he told me the amount he is going to finance and that the other day he was offered $10,000 for his trade and turned it down because he would not have any transportation.  I commented we will try to do our best and when we get back to the store we will evaluate his trade and go from there.
While walking around the trade, a 2004 *****, with Mr. *****, we noted the condition of the vehicle together. The front and rear bumpers were peeling and cracked, hood struts needed replacing, windshield was pitted, and the vehicle had 129,500 miles on the odometer.  We preceded inside and I offered Mr. ***** a refreshment again. As I entered everything in the computer, I had him read our evidence material on the **** ****, which included the ****** vehicle history report, the work we performed on the vehicle, and I explained that we were a full disclosure dealership. I excused myself and told him to make himself at home while I worked with the Used Car Manager, ***** ******. 
***** evaluated the deal and I presented our offer to Mr. *****. This is when he objected to the trade-in amount.  He mentioned he was offered $7500 at ****** *** the other day and he also had another interested buyer.  I mentioned maybe we should move away from trading the ***** and that we could continue with the deal without the trade. I mentioned he could take the money from the sale of the ***** and apply the funds to the loan principal and save on finance charges.  Mr. ***** asked if his payment would be the same if he did that. I said yes, but he would have the **** paid off sooner.  Then, he mentioned the $150 payment.  I said no problem and used my payment matrix to show him how much money he would need down, letting him know we could possibly extend the term, and told him we did not know what the exact payment would be until he filled out a credit statement (which we are required to do by law).  
The conversation went back to trade, and I asked what would be the least amount he would take if he sold it on his own. Mr. ***** said $7500.  So I asked him a few questions.  If before he sells the *****, was he planning on fixing both bumpers correctly, getting it detailed, etc.?  Together we figured the repairs totaled about $1250 (this did not take into account his trade tax savings). I asked how much his time was worth and he said a lot, and I said that's why we do what we do is so he doesn't have  someone at his house, people coming back to him for an issue, people not showing up, or waiting for someone to obtain financing to buy his car.   I mentioned if we were able to get close to $6,000, could we earn his business today and he said no.
I excused myself to go check on something and went to get ***** to speak with Mr. ***** directly.  All of this time, his keys were at the sales manager’s desk.  ***** met with Mr. ***** and placed his keys in front of him on my desk.  ***** at no time was telling the customer the car was a piece of junk.  He pointed out the flaws that Mr. ***** mentioned during the appraisal discussion.   ***** mentioned that his dash was not properly attached on the lower left driver side and someone might have been in there and didn't put it back together properly.  ***** tried to offer him more for his trade at $6,000 and he said no. ***** asked Mr. ***** if we could have his business if we could get him a payment at $150 a month. Mr. ***** still said no.   
Mr. ***** said he was going to call the other lead he had on the car and said he might lower his expectations of what he takes for it.  I mentioned, if he did sell it, I would come pick him up in Ft. Lupton or in Thornton where he works and bring him back to the store to take delivery of the **** ****.  He agreed. We shook hands and I told him I would follow up with him. 
At no time, were we keeping him from leaving the store or holding him hostage. 

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I bought a 2010 Subaru Legacy (2.5i)in July, 2013. We were told an owner's manual was in the store cabinet. It was not. We requested one and were told it did not have one. We were told to download one from the internet. We felt that was unreasonable. We requested one several times from the sales associate,, **** *******. I finally wrote a letter to the General Manager, the Sales Manager and the sales associate. We did not hear a reply of any kind. Also, I requested my own credit union to finance the purchase but they switched me to their credit union. I am now in the process of transferring this balance to our credit union. I feel this was unethical.

Desired Settlement: I would like Stevinson of Frederick to provide an owner's manual for our vehicle.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

I apologize for the lateness of my response. I was out of the office from 11/11/13 to 11/25/13.  I contacted Mr. ******* by phone last week and apologized for the delay in our response and made arrangements with Subaru to send a manual. I also apologized to Mr. ******* that it took a complaint to the BBB to get his request fulfilled.

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance. 


******** ****
Corporate Customer Relations

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******* *******

Ms. **** was very professional in her response after the delay. I was beginning to wonder if anyone would respond.
We talked on the phone several times and it was her intentions to try to understand why the Frederick facility did not respond to my various communications. My wife and I feel we are satisfied with the results.
******* *******  

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Stevinson Lexus of Frederick
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart