BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Spradley Barr Mazda?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Spradley Barr Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Spradley Barr Mazda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Spradley Barr Mazda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 01, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Business Management
Ms. Karolyn Barr, Customer Relations Manager Mr. Jim Dockery, Operations Manager Mr. Scott Hilliard, Sales Manager Mr. Allen Maillet, Service Director
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Karolyn Barr, Customer Relations Manager
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Tire Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Spradley Barr Auto Plex
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Spradley Barr Mazda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2601 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 223-6666

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Wife and I sold our 2013 Mazda CX-5 and went to the dealership to cancel the extended warranty and GAP coverage. I filled out the necessary paperwork that the dealership required to accomplish this on 3-January-2014. I was then told that by (****) the employee handling the paperwork that he had to talk to someone before the refund could be made because this was the first time he had done this and would let me know if anything else was needed. On 10-January-2014 I still had not heard anything back so I went back to the dealership and spoke with **** again and he stated that he still had not figured out how to do the paper work and again told me he would get the paperwork done and get me my refund and call me to let me know the status of my refund. As of 17-January-2014 I still have not heard back from the dealership and no refund has been made.

Desired Settlement: I'm requesting that my unused extended warranty and gap insurance be refunded to me from the date of cancellation (3-January-2014).

Business Response: ***** **** ********* ****************************** *** ***** ***** ********************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ********

On **** ******* ******** I will cancel the warranty and gap coverage it will be mailed to him it takes usually about 6 weeks for the money to show up but I will get this processed  
 
**** *********
General Manager
Spradley Barr Ford
Spradley Barr Mazda
************ ******************************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I have already waited one month for a response from Spradley Barr Mazda and now their telling me it will take another one and a half months to process the paper work, when it should have been taken care of when I first submitted the paper work to them. They lied to me then so how do I know their not lying again just to get the BBB off their backs. Will the BBB continue to monitor this dispute until payment is received?

Regards,

**** ********

Consumer Response: On 3 February 2014 I requested your help in resolving an issue with Spradley Barr Mazda. Complaint # ******* and in this complaint Spradley Barr agreed to send me our GAP refund in 6 weeks, It is now the 9th of April and I have not heard or received anything from them. I would prefer to pick up my refund from the Manager/Owner of Spradley Barr Mazda ASAP.

Business Response: ***** **** ********* ******************************** *** ***** ***** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** **

*** ******* talked  to **** does not have gap coverage was upset with **** ******** cutomer said he is ok now
 
**** *********
General Manager
Spradley Barr Ford
Spradley Barr Mazda
970-566-0658
****************************** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I was told by **** that I did have Gap and would be refunded for the unused portion, and that was the reason for my complaint. It's sad to think a business would
let something of this nature drag along for several months when all it would have taken was an honest answer in the first place.

Regards,

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 18th around late afternoon my fianc and I purchased a 2013 Mazda from Spradley Barr with the intention of trading our 2004 Lexus GX 470 for a car with better gas mileage. I was hopeful and optimistic at how things were turning out. They showed us a 2013 Mazda 6 however when we talked to their financing guy, **** he explained to us that the Mazda 6 was out of our price range be that as it may he presented a 2013 Mazda 3 that we were prequalified for. We decided to go ahead with the deal on the Mazda 3 which was contracted at $434 for 84 months. **** expressed he was going to send us with the car as well as call us on December 20th TWO days after we signed, assuming that the bank would not deny us. He told my fianc and me Im good at what I do and I can get you financed . He explained that if he didnt call us by the 20th the deal was approved. My fianc called on the 20th to confirm the deal, suspiciously when he called, **** was unavailable. On December 30th we received a call from **** and he clarified that we could keep the Mazda but he could not get us the financing we all agreed upon on December 18th. We were under the impression we would have to bring in a down payment of $1,000 for the Mazda which **** explained would lower our monthly payments. So we agreed to the new deal and arranged a time to talk it over on January 2nd due to the fact that they were closed on the 1st. When we arrived on January 2nd late morning to discuss the down payment we made known that we had limited amount of time and were in hurry to get to work. He then decided to let us know that in fact we do owe a down payment of $1000 however not on the car that we all originally agreed on. The Mazda on the other hand would need a down payment of $6000. This information was not disclosed to us until we were at the dealership. Where to our disadvantage they were obviously in the driver seat and ready to steer us in whatever way they felt suitable to better themselves, with no intention of the customers needs in mind. We told **** we could not afford that and asked him what our options were. He proceeded to tell us that they could get us into another car or we could have the Lexus back. So we figured that our best option was to just get the Lexus back. Considering the dishonesty we encountered on the phone prior to all this. He agreed, and then told us that it wouldnt be possible that day because the Lexus was in the shop and wouldnt be ready for another twenty four hours. We assumed we would get a rental or be able to take the Mazda for just that day so we wouldnt be out a car or late for work. They informed us that the Mazda was not an option. **** exact words were Absolutely not I cannot allow the car to be out of my possession because the bank did not qualify you guys for this specific car. We than asked him what options were left because at this point we had no way of leaving and were imprisoned and were at their mercy of whatever option they choose to force upon us. They presented us with a 2012 Ford Focus which we immediately said no and that we were not interested. They briefly and forcefully disputed that was our only option while taking advantage of our time issue they strong armed us into a Ford Focus and did not allow us to leave until we agreed. After leaving the dealership in the Ford we noticed that there was something wrong with the vehicle. Within twenty four hours after we were pressured into signing for the car we took it back to the dealership. We explained to them that we were unhappy with the car. **** informed us that he had to speak with the general manager of Spradley Barr, **** to see how he could help us. We took it upon ourselves to go visit **** and speak with him directly about our options. **** displayed great interest in helping us and wanted to get us into a new 2014 Ford Fusion. He set us up with what he referred to as his right hand man, ****. While on the test drive we mentioned the problems we were having with the Ford Focus. He confessed that the 2012 Ford Focus had been recalled for transmission issues. When we got back **** let us know it would be a couple of days before he could get us financed and that he would be in touch with both us and ****. On January 6th we called **** to discuss the Ford Fusion and his attitude towards us took a 180 degree turn and he was over the top vulgar and disrespectful to us and implied that we were idiots for signing for the Ford Focus. So we immediately went to consult **** about getting our Lexus back. He broke the news to us that the keys to the Lexus were in the shop and that they were unable to give them back to use that night but if we wanted to we could come back in the morning and pick it up. The following day when we went back to collect our Lexus, they had compiled a list of Charges that was a total of $918 that was unbeknownst to both my fianc and I. It included the mileage and days borrowed for both the Mazda and the Ford and the shop bills for the Lexus. When we spoke with **** we had a understanding that we only had to pay the mileage on the Ford and we were completely unaware of the charges for the Lexus. Again we felt intimidated and forced to do things there way. They left us with few options and a bill that materialized out of nowhere. We weighed our options and choose to leave, taking into account that our last visit with them ended with them taking advantage of us. We came back on January 8th to get the Lexus and to discuss all of this with the manager of Spradley Barr Mazda, Jamie and the General Manager, **** who was conveniently forgot about us the day of the meeting. He was short and unprofessional and aggressively demanded that our only option per **** was to pay them their money and that we were lucky that they were even willing to give us OUR car back. At that point in time we asked to see the shop bills for the Lexus and he refused and stated that it was none of our business.

Desired Settlement: As my interest for a lawsuit, I hope the discrimination towards us has not been because of our age. I believe they may have used our youth and Lack of worldly experience and understanding of car buying to rob us of our money. My personal opinion is that they purposely waited to give us answers to insure they would get all the money they felt necessary. Things were not disclosed properly and clearly and I feel as if they stole my money. To resolve this problem I would appreciate a full refund of $918.Thank you for reviewing our case and I look forward to hearing back from you.Respectfully,********* ***** and ***** *******

Business Response: from: **** ********* ******************************
to: Marcy Sharf <msharf@wynco.bbb.org>
date: Fri, Feb 14, 2014 at 5:46 PM

This is an answer for the ********* *****

The deal was that the bought a mazda 3 and had it for about 10 days as I remember then they came in and where given the option of buying the focus the agreed to it and signed all the documentation so buy Colorado law we did not have to let them out so I told them that the other option was that they pay the bailment or for the usage of the two cars as well as the services we had done on the Lexus the traded in otherwise they had to keep the focus that they signed for and took delivery of I am more than willing to get the service ticket for you to show you what we had done but my understanding from the state is that we are allowed to collect up to 10 days of bailment at 50 dollars a day plus mileage of .10 per mile and we did that for both of the vehicles they drove the new Mazda 3 and the focus and we may also collect the cost of repairs we did on his vehicle because we did not have to let him out of the focus because it was a done deal. So we are not going to refund any of the bailment
 
**** *********
General Manager
Spradley Barr Ford
Spradley Barr Mazda
************ ****************************** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
After reading Spradley Barrs response to my inquiry. I feel as if the dealership has not taken proper actions to resolve the problem. The Department of Revenue has a list of violations of motor vehicle laws on their web site. A few examples of these laws are:
1. Failing to meet all terms and conditions contained in the written contract.
2. Willfully misrepresented or failing to disclose any information required by law.
3. Failing to give notice of approval or rejection on a finance deal to the customer within a reasonable time. 
4. Selling a salvage vehicle without proper disclosure. 
Below is a list of how Spradley Barr violated the above laws:
1. The contract and Colorado law states that before work can be done on a trade in vehicle the deal must be complete, the vehicle has to be payed off in full and the dealership must have the title to the vehicle in hand. Spradley Barr took it upon themselves to do work on our trade in car before we were even financed for their Mazda.
2. Spradley Barrs financing guy, **** misrepresented us by telling us one thing and doing another.
3. 10 days is not a reasonable time to give notice of approval or rejection.
4. Spradley Barr sold us a recalled vehicle without proper disclosure. 
If I do not get my refund the Ford Board of Directors will be hearing from me.
Regards,

********* *****

Business Response: ***** **** ********* ****************************** *** ***** ***** ********************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ********

On ********* ***** we have been contacted by the state about the refund the state of Colorado has not notified us that there is any violation for collecting the bailment and collecting on the repairs
 
**** *********
General Manager
Spradley Barr Ford
Spradley Barr Mazda
************ ****************************** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

management[ man-ij-muhnt ]noun1. the act or manner of managing; handling, direction, or control.2. skill in managing; executive ability: great management and tact.3. the person or persons controlling and directing the affairs of a business, institution. If you do infact know the true definition of management. You should know you don't have to be told when to do the right thing. My point being is if you are a truley a good manager you wouldn't have to have Colorado tell you what to do. However if that is the case. I have done my research and found that your company has displayed a form of fraud. I will be contacting the Ford Board of directors with my findings. I will also be also be sending a copy to the Dealer Board. I would appreciate that this get taken care of before I have to take a legal route. Thank you.
Regards,

********* *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they sold a extended warranty to me without pointing out that it was non-refundable. Okay, I purchased a extended warranty from Spadley Barr Mazda Contract no ** XXXXXX. I was not informed that on the last page was a non-refund clause. When I contacted the company that issues the extended warranty they told me (The ******** XXXX-XXX-XXXX) that Spradley Barr was supposed to have me sign a second piece of paper describing the non-refundable warranty. I never saw that. What got me really upset was that they (the ******** company) told me that Spradley buys these contracts in bulk and sells them to people like me. So, they have the money as it was paid as part of the loan when I purchased. So, without my knowledge they have mislead me as to being able to get a refund if I don't want it anymore other than a 90 day clause. After the 90 there is no refund in any form. Again I was never told about this. I want a full refund for non-use of this contract. I hope you will help. I have a documented milage from the dealer I traded this car to, and all other papers from Spadley Barr Mazda at the time of purchase. I hope you can keep this deception from happening to anyone else. Regards, **** *****

Desired Settlement: a full refund of this contract $1995.00 and have the doc's to prove it.

Consumer Response: from: **** ****y <***********@gmail.com>
to: Better Business Bureau <******@wynco.bbb.org>
date: Mon, Jul 15, 2013 at 6:12 AM
subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#********

Good Morning, they have agreed to transfer this extended service contract to my new car I just bought in NC. I'm waiting to get the paperwork
to see if it is real. So, we can Hold on this for the moment.

Regards,
**** *****
***********************************************

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 5, 2013/07/15) */ from: **** ***** <***********@gmail.com> to: Better Business Bureau <******@wynco.bbb.org> date: Mon, Jul 15, 2013 at 6:12 AM subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX Good Morning, they have agreed to transfer this extended service contract to my new car I just bought in *** I'm waiting to get the paperwork to see if it is real. So, we can Hold on this for the moment. Regards, **** *****

Business Response
/* (1000, 6, 2013/07/17) */ i (**** ********* general manager) spoke to ******* ***** and explained that the contract is not cancelable but is transferable so i go the customer a warranty for his new vehicle and agreed to the new warranty we have sent the docs out to the customer

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service