Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pedersen Toyota Scion

Phone: (970) 223-3100 Fax: (970) 223-5200 View Additional Phone Numbers 4455 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.pedersentoyota.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pedersen Toyota Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pedersen Toyota Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pedersen Toyota Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1983 Business started: 02/01/1972 Business started locally: 02/01/1972 Business incorporated 01/01/1967 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Business Management
Mr. Gerry Pedersen, President Mr. Mark Pedersen, General Manager Charlie Campbell, Safety Com Chair Mr. Jason Jensen, Service Mgr Volvo Mr. Steve Mrazik, Service Mgr Toyota Ms. Laurie Pedersen, General Sales Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gerry Pedersen, President
Principal: Mr. Mark Pedersen, General Manager
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Car Alternator and Generator Repair Stations Auto Body Repair and Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair Brake Service Car Lubrication Shops Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
Pedersen Auto Plaza
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Additional Locations

  • 4455 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 223-3100 (800) 800-0788 (970) 223-8500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In contacted the service department to get a bid on replacing upper and lower control arm bushings. I was given a price of $363.96. I scheduled an appointment for the following week t have the work done. After an hour I was called back and informed the quote would not be honored because there were errors made between the service department and the parts department. I was told the parts alone would be double of the entire original quote. I escalated the issue with an advisor at Pederson who never called back after treating me as if I was being unreasonable for wanting the quote I was provided to be honored. I called back again, and spoke with the service manager, who promised to call back after "looking into it further" (which confused me as he had all of the information needed to make a customer service decision), but never returned my call. I would like the original quote honored, and the proper training issues to be managed so other consumers won't fall victim to these poor practices which involve the customer wasting time and money. Pederson had no problem asking me to resolve their error by getting my own parts to have them work on the truck.

Desired Settlement: I would like the quote which was provided to me and scheduled to be honored as any legitimate self respecting business would do. I would like training issues to be dealt with so a qualified trained individual is understanding accurately how to manage a service request and process it correctly. I would like an apology from Pederson stating the errors have been corrected so they do not happen again, and thank me for pointing the errors out so they could improve their customer service.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *********,

Thank you for bringing your situation to us and we are sorry that there was a miscommunication regarding the replacement parts on your vehicle.   As it stated in the complaint, Mr. ********* called in requesting information on some replacement parts for his
vehicle.  At the time of the phone call the parts employee mistakenly quoted a price for a different part than what Mr. ********* was looking for.  Upon determining he had made an error in quoting the price, he immediately (within minutes) called
back Mr. ********* to let him know of the error, apologized and provided the correct price to him.  At that point Mr. ********* became very angry, confrontational and was yelling with profanities towards our parts employee.  Mr. ********* requested to speak to our service manager at which time our service manager again apologized for the initial miscommunication, explained that mistakes can happen and he was notified almost immediately of the mistake and that no work had been done to the car yet and we would not be able to honor the wrong price.  Mr. ********* again became very confrontational and used a profanity-laced conversation to try and get his point across.  The conversation ended with our service manager again apologizing and asked if Mr. ********* would
like to move forward with the work to let the dealership know.   There has been no communication since.   

Per Mr. *********’s request, we are unable to honor the initial price quote and would hope that Mr. ********* can understand that mistakes can happen and that Pedersen was very quick to identify the mistake and communicate it to Mr. ********* before any work had been done or parts ordered.  If Mr. ********* would like to have the work completed Pedersen would be happy to provide a 15% discount on all parts and labor for the repair.    If not, we wish Mr. ********* the best of luck and hope he can find a solution for his truck.   

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The response from Pederson is entirely inaccurate. At no time was there a conversation between myself and any parts person. I spoke with a service representative who scheduled an appointment with a firm price that I asked to be confirmed, and was. Hence communication was confirmed, there was no miscommunication. Also, the person who set my appointment was female, not male as Pederson stated.
There was no confrontation. My second call was received by an individual who was male, and asked if I would like to purchase my own parts and accept the labor quote. This individual performed no research prior. I asked that research be performed on the quote I received, and I was told I would receive a call back, but never did. The next call I made was received by a gentleman claiming to be one of three service reps. He immediately connected me to the service manager. The service manager barely took the time to listen to anything I said, but informed me he "would look into it" and get back to me. He never did.  
****** is a reputable company that expects it's representatives to be competent in training and supporting their brand, Pederson's incompetency and misrepresentation of the facts will not be accepted. I will be escalating to ****** Corporate next. 

Regards,

**** *********

Business Response: We are sorry that Mr. ********* is still frustrated with the situation and the proposed solution.  Our goal is to help resolve the situation and help as much as we reasonably can.  We will continue to honor the 15% discount on the discussed work if Mr. ********* changes his mind and we will expedite the process of getting his vehicle in for repair.  In addition, if the scope of the work requires Mr. *********'s vehicle to be at the dealership more than a one day we will provide him substitute transportation to help him out. 

We are hopeful that this is an agreeable solution and look forward to helping Mr. ********* get his vehicle repaired.  Please contact the dealership at (970) 223-3100 and speak to our service manager if you would like to move forward with this solution. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Pederson is offering me a 15% discount on a 300% increase in a quote that was confirmed twice, and scheduled. Pederson is also offering to "get me in right away", and provide a vehicle should they go over the small amount of time required for this simple repair, after my original scheduled appointment has lapsed. 

Pederson continues to not honor their quote as is common in business dealings, marketplace transactions and commitments with integrity that accredited businesses do. 

The only option for resolution is for Pederson to honor their original quote.


Regards,

**** *********

9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiancé and I purchased a 2010 ***** *** **** pickup from Pedersen Toyota in Fort Collins, CO on July 14, 2014 which had ****** radio from the previous owner. ****** radio contacted my fiancé yesterday, August 12, 2014, looking for me and informed him that we had a free trial of ****** radio through Pedersen Toyota dealership. My fiancé asked the ****** Radio representative how they got my personal information and the representative stated they got it from Pedersen Toyota dealership. The ****** Radio representative had my address, email address and my fiancé's cellphone number. We did not give Pedersen Toyota authorization to give out our personal information other than for financial purposes. I believe this is a violation of my privacy rights. We asked Pedersen Toyota if they gave out our personal information and they stated ****** Radio must have obtained our information through registration. We haven't even registered the vehicle. In addition, there are several issues with the 2010 ***** *** pickup we purchased from Pedersen Toyota - hail damage, driver seat tear, rear window leak, driver door lock only operates manually, and there is a problem with the front suspension - which Pedersen Toyota has offered to repair. However, we decided on July 17, 2014 that we wanted our 2010 Toyota ****** back that we traded in and they stated that they sold it the night we purchased the 2010 ***** *** **** which I find very hard to believe. Pedersen Toyota stated they could not buy the ***** *** **** because of the hail damage which they are willing to fix making no sense. We also put $5000 down and purchased an extended warranty in the amount of $2500.

Desired Settlement: We would like our money back and for Pedersen Toyota to take back this nightmare - the 2010 ***** *** pickup.

Business Response: In response to BBB complaint by ****** ********:
 
Pedersen Toyota is very sorry to hear that Ms. ******** is unhappy with the purchase of her ***** *** but we are still very willing to address all the issues that were promised at time of her delivery.  We
have been very proactive in trying to schedule all the work that needs to be done to the vehicle and have had multiple conversations with Ms. ******** and her fiancée about timing on getting that work done.  In addition, because the customer lives a distance from the dealership we have offered and will continue to offer that we would be happy to come pick up the vehicle and provide a loaner while the promised work is completed.   Also, if it would be more convenient for the customer to bring the vehicle to Pedersen we would be willing to reimburse for fuel expenses.  
 
Regarding cancelling the deal, we are not able to accommodate that request as the vehicle is now owned by the bank as we set up financing per the customers request and the trade-in vehicle was sold
immediately after the initial transaction as previously mentioned to Ms. ********.  Finally to reinforce, Pedersen Toyota did not release information to ****** radio as referenced by Ms. ********.
 
Please let us know how we can best accommodate Ms. ******** in completing the final work that needs to be done on the vehicle and we will get it completed as quickly as possible.  
 
We wish Ms. ******** the best and look forward to speaking to her soon. 

Consumer Response:

Dear ***** *****,
 
This matter has not been resolved. In fact, I am still very upset that my  personal information was given out by Pedersen Toyota without my permission. I know there are laws out there against this and I was wondering if the Better Business Bureau would be able to help me with this or do I need to hire an attorney.
 
In addition, we discovered that Pedersen Toyota did not give us all the required paperwork (We Owe You Agreement meaning what they owe us) from the sale of our 2010 ***** *** pickup and requested on August 25, 2014 that they mail us that paperwork. As of this date, we have not received the required paperwork.
 
I would like consumers to know that this has been the worst vehicle buying experience through a dealership in my entire life and I will never recommend Pedersen Toyota to anyone EVER!! They also should know that Pedersen Toyota is a shady business with shady business practices.
 
If you need anything else in regards to this matter please let me know. I appreciate your time in this matter.
 
Sincerely,
****** ********

Business Response: In response to complaint #********:

With regards to Ms. ********’s question about Pedersen Toyota releasing personal information we have attached Pedersen Toyota’s privacy notice that was reviewed and signed by Ms. ******** at the time of purchase that articulates our policies.  

Regarding the missing paperwork (We Owe) Ms. ******** states they did not receive, Pedersen verified that a copy was provided at time of delivery.  In addition, the Mr. ******** requested an additional copy on August 23 that Pedersen provided via a fax as well as a mailed copy of the document.  We have also attached a copy of that signed document to this response for Ms. ********.  Pedersen Toyota has continued to try on multiple occasions to schedule the work that has been promised and has been unsuccessful in getting the ********’s to bring the vehicle in for the work needed.  We have offered multiple solutions to help Ms. ******** including going to Wyoming to pick up the vehicle, drop off a rental car and then to deliver it upon completion.   In addition, while the “We Owe” document states the work must be completed within 30 days of the purchase we will make an exception to that as long as we can get the work completed within 30 days from the time of this response.   Pedersen again would like to emphasize we will be as flexible as possible in completing the work promised in whatever way is the most convenient for Ms. ********.  

Pedersen again wishes Ms. ******** the best of luck in the future and welcomes Ms. ******** to contact Pedersen directly with any additional questions, concerns or to schedule the work that needs to be
completed. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: we never received the "We Owe" paperwork and that is why we requested a copy which we have never received. I am not dealing with this shady business anymore. Forget them working on the truck. Forget ever doing business with them.

Regards,

****** ********

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When our vehicle was dropped off for 2 recall services on the morning of June 19th, there was no crack in our windshield. When the vehicle was collected in the afternoon, there was a visible crack in the drivers side windshield, longer than 6 inches. This was brought to the attention of ***** ******, service advisor. Mr. ****** admitted the crack was not there upon drop off of the vehicle. He repeatedly stated it was not their fault and they didn't drive the car. He said the sunshine and pre-existing chips caused the crack spontaneously. We asked to speak to a manager and was told none was on site and to return the following day. No apology or offer was made to resolve the situation. I then had two phone conversations with ** ******, floor manager at Pedersen Toyota at 5 pm and 6 pm. ** initially asked we bring the vehicle back into the dealership to be examined, even though we were told that the service manager was not on site to help us. I explained, due to scheduling, we would not be able to return to the dealership before closing. I suggested Mr. ****** speak to Mr. ****** as he made a complete inspection of the vehicle already and inquired the necessity of returning the vehicle at all as I was told the service manager wasn't on the premises anyway? I did not receive an answer to this. Mr. ****** repeatedly stated he, personally, would not pay for the full cost as there was already damage when the car was dropped off. I asked if this 'damage' was recorded on the intake sheet. He said it was not. I then stated my opinion there was no visible damage to the windshield when we brought it in and he continued to disagree with me that there was. I asked if he had seen the car either when it came in or since, to which he replied he hadn't. He confirmed the car was drivin off the lot and parked across the street underneath a tree and offered the possibility a truck drove by spraying rock. He offered another solution, that the hot sun after they washed the car may have caused it. I asked if he knew if the car had, in fact, been washed, he did not know this. He offered to subcontract the job to a local glass company (unnamed) and stated he would pass along their dealership savings and offer the repair to us at 'dealership cost'. I attempted to confirm his opinionated percentage amount of cost compared to their retail mark ups, but was not given an answer. Mr. ****** finally admitted something had to happen while in the dealerships care to cause the crack, even if there were pre-existing chips, that it was not possible for it to happen spontaneously while parked. I then phoned *********** Insurance to begin a claim and obtain a quote. I then phoned Toyota Corporate Headquarters for Assistance. They could not offer any as the complaint was regarding customer service at a privately owned dealership. They offered to assign a case number to the complaint which would be referred back to customer service at Pedersen Toyota. I called my mechanic and **** body repairmen who both insisted the fault had to be Pedersen Toyota and was advised not to accept any offer of payment from them other than for the full amount of the repair. I called an accredited glass business recommended by them and received a quote $250. I contacted ***** ******, alleged service manager (not listed as current staff on website) who had left me a message that he would take it upon himself to repair the glass and would subcontract to a company of his choosing, ****** ****, it would cost me $100. I contacted my ****body repairman again and was advised not to use this company, that they offer an inferior product and service and are not accredited. I learned the 'reduced price' or 'dealership cost reduction' I was told I would pay by Mr. ******, is, in fact offered to every customer who walks in to ****** off the street, with or without a referral from Pederson Toyota. I left a final message for Mr. ******, told him what I'd been advised and asked to be paid in full for the cost of the repair or be partially reimbursed at a shop of my choosing. He returned my call and very abrubtly told me he would not pay any amount over $100 or use any other shop than ******. In the end, the only help offered to resolve this issue was a verbal recommendation to an inferior repair shop, even though two staff members admitted the damage was done while in their care.

Desired Settlement: I would like an admission of fault, in the form of a letter of apology from (or at least signed by) all parties involved and the owner of the dealership. I would like 100% reimbursement for glass repair at an establishment of my choosing, upon recommendation from my personal mechanic/autobody professionals.

Business Response: See attachment. Please let us know if there are any additional questions.  Thanks. 

June 30, 2014

Pedersen Toyota Response to BBB complaint #********

Mr. **** ******** brought his pre-owned 2006 Toyota Rav4 with 105,000 miles into the Pedersen Toyota service department on June 19, 2014 to have service work performed.  At the time he dropped off his Rav4 it had more than 20-30 pre-existing different rocks chips on the windshield and a significant amount more on the hood.  As referenced in the complaint, when the vehicle was picked up it was discovered that one of the many pre-existing rock chips had cracked.  In conversations with Mr. ******** and subsequently Ms. ********, Pedersen Toyota explained that because of the excessive number of chips in her windshield that having one crack was not an uncommon event and that in no way was it caused by any employee at the dealership.  Despite acknowledging that there were numerous pre-existing chips on the windshield Ms. ******** stated that the dealership was at fault for having one of those pre-existing chips finally crack.  Despite not having any fault in the crack, Pedersen Toyota attempted to help Ms. ******** by offering to replace the windshield for dealership cost through one of our primary windshield companies used for vehicle windshields.  Under this offer, Ms. ******** would be able to replace the windshield for $100 for a windshield that would normally cost $250 or more.  Pedersen Toyota believes that due to the excessive, pre-existing rock chips when the vehicle came into the dealership that this was a fair and generous option to help Ms. ********’s situation.  

We are sorry that Ms. ********/Mr. ********** windshield ultimately cracked while at the dealership and are hopeful that our offer can help them out.  If Ms. ******** would prefer to have the windshield replaced at an alternative windshield company of her choice, Pedersen Toyota would be willing to reimburse $100 to that company.   We are hopeful that one of these two options will help resolve this situation and help Ms. ********/Mr. ******** get a new windshield.    


    

Consumer Response: ***** ****** ********* *** ******* ********** ************************ ********* ***** ******** ********************* *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ** ********* ***** ***** ***** **** ********* ******* ********** *** **********
Dear Ms. *****, 
I apologize for my delay in responding, I have been unable to access my e-mail recently.  I believe I am still within the 30 day timeline to respond to the previous message from the business on July 1.

I do not consider this dispute settled, as we have not received the $100 promised to us by Pedersen Toyota as an effort to settle our dispute.  As we had our windshield repaired immediately, upon advice given by our mechanic that it was illegal to drive in the current condition, this repair has already been paid for, receipt attached.  The $100 refund will have to written directly to either customer involved at our address on file.

While not necessary, as a good faith effort to retain us as Toyota customers, I would appreciate a letter of apology for the mishandling of this situation by Pedersen Toyota Staff. I request the letter be signed by both owners and all personnel involved.  Had they offered to reimburse us $100 to begin with, a claim would not have been filed.  We were told by Mr. * of Pedersen Toyota they would not pay for a windshield repair at any other location than the one they had suggested.  They never offered any payment toward a windshield replacement at a place of our choosing until after the BBB complaint was filed.

I will consider this dispute settled upon clearing payment on the $100 check from Pedersen Toyota.  

Thank you very much for all your assistance in this matter.

***** ********

Business Response: Attached is a copy of the $100 refund check sent to Mr. **** ******** (the customer who had the work done on the Rav4) on July 30, 2014.  We are hopeful that this concludes this matter and we wish Mr. ******** and Ms. ******** the best of luck in the future. 

Consumer Response: ***** ****** ********* *** ******* ********** ************************ ********* ***** ******** ********************* *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********* 
Thank you, thank you, thank you.  Yours'  is a very important job, making the 'little person' feel like someone has their back.  

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 6, 2013 I brought my 2010 Toyota Sienna van into Pedersen Toyota Volvo Body shop to be repaired after an accident. I worked with Rob Foster who provided me with an estimate and I scheduled work to be done through my insurance company. My vehicle was subsequently repaired with some delay and I received it back on August 26, 2013 about a week and a half outside the original estimate, but happy to have it returned. I immediately returned several times with the next few days because the air conditioner was not working and the vehicle seemed to be laboring to run. I was told by the body shop that the ac was charged and working correctly and that the fan was running normally. I finally took it into the service shop who first sent me to the body shop to have it drained and recharged. That didn’t work so the service shop drained and recharged the system saying that something must be wrong with the Body shop ac system but they got it to work and returned it to me on September 3, 2013. Throughout September I returned several more times saying the vehicle seemed to be running rough and running after the car was turned off. I was told everything was running normally so I just resigned to the fact this was the new normal for the van. I only stopped by a few times after that feeling each time that they were not interested in helping me. Once was to inquire about purchasing tires and was brushed off. The second time was May 2014. That time I removed the child seats in the middle row now that my children were big enough for booster seats and would be using the seatbelts. I found out the seatbelt was not working on the left side and could not be adjusted. I felt like this was a safety issue because I could not adjust them to their correct height. I was told I would have to make an appointment in about 10 days and that I would need to pay a service fee. I thought that being it was a safety issue that one they could check it out right away and two it would be covered under warranty since it was a safety item that had never actually been used. Not willing to wait I took it home and repaired it myself. It was just stuck and needed the body panel taken off to un-stick it. Again I felt like I was treated poorly but moved on. Last Saturday June 21, 2014 I was taking my son to a birthday party and noticed the Van was running rough and was starting to overheat. I immediately pulled into a gas station to check it out and noticed it was out of coolant and leaking from somewhere. I bought some coolant and drove to Pedersen Toyota who had replaced the radiator last year after the accident. I left the vehicle there and got a ride home. I received a call later that day from Loren telling me that they found a leak but the vehicle would have to go back the body shop because they replaced the radiator before. I said ok and asked to have them follow up with me Monday. I didn’t hear anything so I called the body shop and talked to Glenn on Monday who told they would check it out. I also told him while checking the front of vehicle I noticed a trim piece was never put on the vehicle from when it was repaired a year ago. He said he would check it out also and get back to me. I followed up later that day and the body shop said they tested the radiator and it was not leaking so it was going to go back over to the service shop and maybe it just needed a radiator cap. It arrived back to the service shop sometime on Tuesday. When I called Loren to follow up with the service shop they said it was definitely leaking and they were not sure what the body shop is talking about but the van needs a radiator and that they needed to follow up with the body shop and get it approved. Another wasted day with it going back and forth and parts not getting ordered. I figured what a pain but at least they are going to get it replaced so it will be in the shop getting worked on that day. On Wednesday June 25, 2014 I received a call telling me my van was hail damaged in the previous night's storm and that it was still not repaired. I thought it would have been in the repair bay overnight since it was being worked on. On that same day I went by at 5:30 pm to see the damage but the service dept was closed and the van was inside up on a lift. Exactly where I thought it would have been the day before. You can see my frustration with the back and forth and delays. Five days later not only was my van not repaired it was now hail damaged because it was not inside and not at home in my garage both places where it would have been protected. Also had it been correctly repaired last fall I would not have had to take it in again to be fixed. Several times I stopped by to express that I thought it was running incorrectly. All the back and forth and incomplete work has resulted in further damage to my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that Pedersen Toyota pay for or repair the hail damage to my 2010 Toyota Sienna van while providing me transportation if the repair is to take over 3 days.

Business Response: Pedersen Toyota response to BBB complaint# ********

We are sorry to hear about Mr. ******’s frustration in the process of getting his vehicle repaired at Pedersen Toyota.   As stated in his complaint, Mr. ****** brought his Sienna in on Saturday, June 21 to address a leaking radiator.  Due to the fact Mr. ****** did not have a scheduled appointment Mr. Bersch stated he would look at it as soon possible to try and address the concern.  It was determined that the vehicle needed a new radiator and referred to the Pedersen Collision Center for repair.  On Monday, June 23 the Pedersen Collision Center looked at the vehicle but did not have the capacity to immediately address the issue.  On Tuesday, June 24, Mr. Bersch spoke to Mr. ****** and stated Pedersen was ordering parts for the replacement and would contact Mr. ****** once the parts came in and the work was completed.  Typical order time for these parts can be 1-2 business days.  The parts arrived on June 25th  and the work was completed.  The timeline of the work was completed within a normal period that replacing a radiator without having parts in stock would typically take.   

On the night of Tuesday, June 24th the dealership received hail damage to most of its inventory and customer vehicles in service.  It is very unfortunate the storm occurred but was not in the control of Pedersen Toyota.  Unfortunately, the dealership insurance
policy does not cover customer vehicles so Pedersen will not be able to cover the hail damage on Mr. ******’s vehicle. We are sorry that the timing of the storm affected Mr. ******’s vehicle but an act of nature is not something Pedersen Toyota could of controlled.  We are hopeful that Mr. ****** can work with his own insurance company to have the damaged repaired.  We would be happy to assist with that process if there is any additional information we can provide.   

Consumer Response:  Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: It does nothing to solve the problem.
Pedersen Toyota has a reasonable obligation to keep my vehicle safe from harm
while in their possession by having it garaged and or insured. Likewise If had
borrowed a loaner (which I was not offered) or rental vehicle form the
dealership I would be responsible for keeping it safe and insured while in my
possession. They should have a garage keeper’s policy that insures them against
damage to customer vehicles including natural disasters. To not have this
coverage should be considered negligent but in no case releases them of
liability. Here is a quote taken directly from an insurance
website "If you own an auto repair shop, a car dealership, a body
shop, or any business that services automobiles that belong to another you need
comprehensive coverage too. If a customer vehicle is left in your care, custody
and control you need coverage for customer autos. If you don't have this
coverage and have 3 customer vehicles parked outside overnight and a hailstorm
blows through and damages those cars you will be held responsible for that
damage". I need proof of Pedersen's current coverage level and a more
proactive approach to fixing my problem. The response I got was cordial but not
at all helpful, which is in line with the service I have received at
Pedersen Toyota. I would like them at a minimum to cover the deductible on my
policy. I feel like that is not much to ask considering I have had it repaired
there before and will probably have this damage repaired there as well. What
cannot be compensated is the absorbent amount of time that will be lost dealing
with the repair.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: Per Mr. ******’s request, attached is a copy of a letter from the dealership insurance policy outlining that unfortunately a customer’s vehicle would not be covered for hail damage under the policy.  Again, while we are sorry that the hail storm caused damage to Mr. ******’s vehicle we had no control over an act of nature and therefore cannot accommodate the request to fix the vehicle or cover the deductible.  If Mr. ****** would like to have his vehicle repaired at the Pedersen Collision Center we will make his repair a top priority to help expedite the process and return his vehicle as quickly as possible.   If Mr. ****** would like to move in this direction, please let us know and we can get his vehicle in for repair immediately. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I was looking for the actual policy to read not the insurance companies interpretation. I understand they would not be interested in covering the damages neither was my insurance. Never the less it is a disappointment that Pedersen Toyota feels no obligation to protecting my vehicle while in their possession or even offering some sort of goodwill gesture. Good reviews of customer service and a sense of care go a lot farther than those 30 second commercial spots. From your responses it doesn't sound like you are interested in preserving our relationship. Fortunately there are other Toyota dealerships in the area that do care more so I will gladly service and purchase my future Toyotas from them. From my phone calls to the body shop it sounds like you are scheduling out to November and December at this point so even if I wanted to go your body shop I will be waiting 5-6mos for a repair. Sincerely disappointed **** ******

7/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 16th I inquired about a 2014 Highlander. **** ** emailed me back saying ". I can offer it to you for a price of $35,363 plus tax based on where you register the vehicle". I then counter offered his price and we ended up agreeing on $34,985. He then proceeded to tell me that I would need to put $1000.00 down to hold the vehicle until it arrives. I paid the $1000.00. When asked if I was going to pay cash or finance the car and I proceeded to tell him that I would probably finance. On June 23rd I was informed that "my car" was there, I spoke with **** on the phone telling him that I had changed my mind and wanted to just pay for the car in cash instead of financing. He said he had a few questions that he needed to ask his manager and would call me "right" back. Several hours went by and his manager called back saying "it was against their policy to sell me a vehicle since I was out of state", which obviously is a lie. I proceeded to tell him that they have known from the beginning that I was from a different state. He apologized stating yes I'm not sure why **** even let it get this far but if your still interested in financing I can sell you the car but not if you’re paying cash. At this point I realized he was trying to "force" me into financing the vehicle. I told him no I was not interested in financing at this point. Afterwards, I sent them a polite email telling them this was unfair and illegal to try and make me finance the vehicle and asked for them would reconsider the agreed upon price paying with cash with there General Manager and/or Counsel on June 23rd. They have not given me a response or refunded the money I sent for the deposit. I had no other option but to contact the FTC and the Attorney General's Office.

Desired Settlement: (1) To sell the vehicle regardless of how I'm paying for it as we agreed on a purchase price not on payment method. (2) Return my deposit.

Business Response: Response to complaint ID ********

Ms. ****** left a deposit to purchase an incoming 2014 Toyota Highlander with Pedersen Toyota on June 23, 2014. The Highlander arrived at the dealership on July 3,2014 and we notified Ms. ****** the vehicle was here on Saturday, July 5 (the dealership was closed July 4th). 
At that point, Ms. ****** began to act suspiciously regarding the transaction causing Pedersen to question the validity of the purchase.  After several phone calls with Ms. ******, Pedersen determined there were too many “red flags” relating to the transaction and since the vehicle was immediately leaving the state we determined we were not comfortable moving forward in order protect the best interest of the dealership.  At that point we communicated that we would provide a full refund of Ms. ******’s $1000 deposit.  That refund was completed on July 7 at 1:02 p.m. as promised and as requested in Ms. ******’s complaint from three days later on July 10, 2014.  

Pedersen is happy to provide a copy of the refund receipt to Ms. ****** upon request.  We wish Ms. ****** the best of luck in the future. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I never acted "suspicious" as I wanted to pay cash for the vehicle. How is that suspicious? You knew I was from Texas from the very beginning. I only had 2 phone calls received from the company and the rest of the communication was done via email for reasons like this. Please see the attached and tell me how I was acting "suspicious". Please note when I asked if any of this was a problem is when the "manager" called to inform me he would sell me the vehicle if I financed it instead of paying cash.


Regards,

******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pedersen Toyota Scion
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)