BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Pedersen Toyota Scion?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pedersen Toyota Scion

Phone: (970) 223-3100 Fax: (970) 223-5200 View Additional Phone Numbers 4455 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.pedersentoyota.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pedersen Toyota Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pedersen Toyota Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pedersen Toyota Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1983 Business started: 02/01/1972 Business started locally: 02/01/1972 Business incorporated: 01/01/1967 in CO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Business Management
Mr. Gerry Pedersen, President Mr. Mark Pedersen, General Manager Charlie Campbell, Safety Com Chair Ms. Donna Geesey, Controller Mr. Jason Jensen, Service Mgr Volvo Mr. Steve Mrazik, Service Mgr Toyota Ms. Laurie Pedersen, General Sales Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gerry Pedersen, President
Principal: Mr. Mark Pedersen, General Manager
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Part Suppliers Tire Dealers Car Air Conditioning Suppliers Car Alternator and Generator Repair Stations Auto Body Shops Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Leasing Companies Auto Repair & Service Brake Shops Car Lubrication Shops Auto Transmission Suppliers Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
Pedersen Auto Plaza
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 4455 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 223-3100 (800) 800-0788 (970) 223-8500

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 800-0788(Phone)
  • (970) 223-8500(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When our vehicle was dropped off for 2 recall services on the morning of June 19th, there was no crack in our windshield. When the vehicle was collected in the afternoon, there was a visible crack in the drivers side windshield, longer than 6 inches. This was brought to the attention of ***** ******, service advisor. Mr. ****** admitted the crack was not there upon drop off of the vehicle. He repeatedly stated it was not their fault and they didn't drive the car. He said the sunshine and pre-existing chips caused the crack spontaneously. We asked to speak to a manager and was told none was on site and to return the following day. No apology or offer was made to resolve the situation. I then had two phone conversations with ** ******, floor manager at Pedersen Toyota at 5 pm and 6 pm. ** initially asked we bring the vehicle back into the dealership to be examined, even though we were told that the service manager was not on site to help us. I explained, due to scheduling, we would not be able to return to the dealership before closing. I suggested Mr. ****** speak to Mr. ****** as he made a complete inspection of the vehicle already and inquired the necessity of returning the vehicle at all as I was told the service manager wasn't on the premises anyway? I did not receive an answer to this. Mr. ****** repeatedly stated he, personally, would not pay for the full cost as there was already damage when the car was dropped off. I asked if this 'damage' was recorded on the intake sheet. He said it was not. I then stated my opinion there was no visible damage to the windshield when we brought it in and he continued to disagree with me that there was. I asked if he had seen the car either when it came in or since, to which he replied he hadn't. He confirmed the car was drivin off the lot and parked across the street underneath a tree and offered the possibility a truck drove by spraying rock. He offered another solution, that the hot sun after they washed the car may have caused it. I asked if he knew if the car had, in fact, been washed, he did not know this. He offered to subcontract the job to a local glass company (unnamed) and stated he would pass along their dealership savings and offer the repair to us at 'dealership cost'. I attempted to confirm his opinionated percentage amount of cost compared to their retail mark ups, but was not given an answer. Mr. ****** finally admitted something had to happen while in the dealerships care to cause the crack, even if there were pre-existing chips, that it was not possible for it to happen spontaneously while parked. I then phoned *********** Insurance to begin a claim and obtain a quote. I then phoned Toyota Corporate Headquarters for Assistance. They could not offer any as the complaint was regarding customer service at a privately owned dealership. They offered to assign a case number to the complaint which would be referred back to customer service at Pedersen Toyota. I called my mechanic and **** body repairmen who both insisted the fault had to be Pedersen Toyota and was advised not to accept any offer of payment from them other than for the full amount of the repair. I called an accredited glass business recommended by them and received a quote $250. I contacted ***** ******, alleged service manager (not listed as current staff on website) who had left me a message that he would take it upon himself to repair the glass and would subcontract to a company of his choosing, ****** ****, it would cost me $100. I contacted my ****body repairman again and was advised not to use this company, that they offer an inferior product and service and are not accredited. I learned the 'reduced price' or 'dealership cost reduction' I was told I would pay by Mr. ******, is, in fact offered to every customer who walks in to ****** off the street, with or without a referral from Pederson Toyota. I left a final message for Mr. ******, told him what I'd been advised and asked to be paid in full for the cost of the repair or be partially reimbursed at a shop of my choosing. He returned my call and very abrubtly told me he would not pay any amount over $100 or use any other shop than ******. In the end, the only help offered to resolve this issue was a verbal recommendation to an inferior repair shop, even though two staff members admitted the damage was done while in their care.

Desired Settlement: I would like an admission of fault, in the form of a letter of apology from (or at least signed by) all parties involved and the owner of the dealership. I would like 100% reimbursement for glass repair at an establishment of my choosing, upon recommendation from my personal mechanic/autobody professionals.

Business Response: See attachment. Please let us know if there are any additional questions.  Thanks. 

June 30, 2014

Pedersen Toyota Response to BBB complaint #********

Mr. **** ******** brought his pre-owned 2006 Toyota Rav4 with 105,000 miles into the Pedersen Toyota service department on June 19, 2014 to have service work performed.  At the time he dropped off his Rav4 it had more than 20-30 pre-existing different rocks chips on the windshield and a significant amount more on the hood.  As referenced in the complaint, when the vehicle was picked up it was discovered that one of the many pre-existing rock chips had cracked.  In conversations with Mr. ******** and subsequently Ms. ********, Pedersen Toyota explained that because of the excessive number of chips in her windshield that having one crack was not an uncommon event and that in no way was it caused by any employee at the dealership.  Despite acknowledging that there were numerous pre-existing chips on the windshield Ms. ******** stated that the dealership was at fault for having one of those pre-existing chips finally crack.  Despite not having any fault in the crack, Pedersen Toyota attempted to help Ms. ******** by offering to replace the windshield for dealership cost through one of our primary windshield companies used for vehicle windshields.  Under this offer, Ms. ******** would be able to replace the windshield for $100 for a windshield that would normally cost $250 or more.  Pedersen Toyota believes that due to the excessive, pre-existing rock chips when the vehicle came into the dealership that this was a fair and generous option to help Ms. ********’s situation.  

We are sorry that Ms. ********/Mr. ********** windshield ultimately cracked while at the dealership and are hopeful that our offer can help them out.  If Ms. ******** would prefer to have the windshield replaced at an alternative windshield company of her choice, Pedersen Toyota would be willing to reimburse $100 to that company.   We are hopeful that one of these two options will help resolve this situation and help Ms. ********/Mr. ******** get a new windshield.    


    

Consumer Response: ***** ****** ********* *** ******* ********** ************************ ********* ***** ******** ********************* *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ** ********* ***** ***** ***** **** ********* ******* ********** *** **********
Dear Ms. *****, 
I apologize for my delay in responding, I have been unable to access my e-mail recently.  I believe I am still within the 30 day timeline to respond to the previous message from the business on July 1.

I do not consider this dispute settled, as we have not received the $100 promised to us by Pedersen Toyota as an effort to settle our dispute.  As we had our windshield repaired immediately, upon advice given by our mechanic that it was illegal to drive in the current condition, this repair has already been paid for, receipt attached.  The $100 refund will have to written directly to either customer involved at our address on file.

While not necessary, as a good faith effort to retain us as Toyota customers, I would appreciate a letter of apology for the mishandling of this situation by Pedersen Toyota Staff. I request the letter be signed by both owners and all personnel involved.  Had they offered to reimburse us $100 to begin with, a claim would not have been filed.  We were told by Mr. * of Pedersen Toyota they would not pay for a windshield repair at any other location than the one they had suggested.  They never offered any payment toward a windshield replacement at a place of our choosing until after the BBB complaint was filed.

I will consider this dispute settled upon clearing payment on the $100 check from Pedersen Toyota.  

Thank you very much for all your assistance in this matter.

***** ********

Business Response: Attached is a copy of the $100 refund check sent to Mr. **** ******** (the customer who had the work done on the Rav4) on July 30, 2014.  We are hopeful that this concludes this matter and we wish Mr. ******** and Ms. ******** the best of luck in the future. 

Consumer Response: ***** ****** ********* *** ******* ********** ************************ ********* ***** ******** ********************* *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********* 
Thank you, thank you, thank you.  Yours'  is a very important job, making the 'little person' feel like someone has their back.  

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 6, 2013 I brought my 2010 Toyota Sienna van into Pedersen Toyota Volvo Body shop to be repaired after an accident. I worked with Rob Foster who provided me with an estimate and I scheduled work to be done through my insurance company. My vehicle was subsequently repaired with some delay and I received it back on August 26, 2013 about a week and a half outside the original estimate, but happy to have it returned. I immediately returned several times with the next few days because the air conditioner was not working and the vehicle seemed to be laboring to run. I was told by the body shop that the ac was charged and working correctly and that the fan was running normally. I finally took it into the service shop who first sent me to the body shop to have it drained and recharged. That didn’t work so the service shop drained and recharged the system saying that something must be wrong with the Body shop ac system but they got it to work and returned it to me on September 3, 2013. Throughout September I returned several more times saying the vehicle seemed to be running rough and running after the car was turned off. I was told everything was running normally so I just resigned to the fact this was the new normal for the van. I only stopped by a few times after that feeling each time that they were not interested in helping me. Once was to inquire about purchasing tires and was brushed off. The second time was May 2014. That time I removed the child seats in the middle row now that my children were big enough for booster seats and would be using the seatbelts. I found out the seatbelt was not working on the left side and could not be adjusted. I felt like this was a safety issue because I could not adjust them to their correct height. I was told I would have to make an appointment in about 10 days and that I would need to pay a service fee. I thought that being it was a safety issue that one they could check it out right away and two it would be covered under warranty since it was a safety item that had never actually been used. Not willing to wait I took it home and repaired it myself. It was just stuck and needed the body panel taken off to un-stick it. Again I felt like I was treated poorly but moved on. Last Saturday June 21, 2014 I was taking my son to a birthday party and noticed the Van was running rough and was starting to overheat. I immediately pulled into a gas station to check it out and noticed it was out of coolant and leaking from somewhere. I bought some coolant and drove to Pedersen Toyota who had replaced the radiator last year after the accident. I left the vehicle there and got a ride home. I received a call later that day from Loren telling me that they found a leak but the vehicle would have to go back the body shop because they replaced the radiator before. I said ok and asked to have them follow up with me Monday. I didn’t hear anything so I called the body shop and talked to Glenn on Monday who told they would check it out. I also told him while checking the front of vehicle I noticed a trim piece was never put on the vehicle from when it was repaired a year ago. He said he would check it out also and get back to me. I followed up later that day and the body shop said they tested the radiator and it was not leaking so it was going to go back over to the service shop and maybe it just needed a radiator cap. It arrived back to the service shop sometime on Tuesday. When I called Loren to follow up with the service shop they said it was definitely leaking and they were not sure what the body shop is talking about but the van needs a radiator and that they needed to follow up with the body shop and get it approved. Another wasted day with it going back and forth and parts not getting ordered. I figured what a pain but at least they are going to get it replaced so it will be in the shop getting worked on that day. On Wednesday June 25, 2014 I received a call telling me my van was hail damaged in the previous night's storm and that it was still not repaired. I thought it would have been in the repair bay overnight since it was being worked on. On that same day I went by at 5:30 pm to see the damage but the service dept was closed and the van was inside up on a lift. Exactly where I thought it would have been the day before. You can see my frustration with the back and forth and delays. Five days later not only was my van not repaired it was now hail damaged because it was not inside and not at home in my garage both places where it would have been protected. Also had it been correctly repaired last fall I would not have had to take it in again to be fixed. Several times I stopped by to express that I thought it was running incorrectly. All the back and forth and incomplete work has resulted in further damage to my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that Pedersen Toyota pay for or repair the hail damage to my 2010 Toyota Sienna van while providing me transportation if the repair is to take over 3 days.

Business Response: Pedersen Toyota response to BBB complaint# ********

We are sorry to hear about Mr. ******’s frustration in the process of getting his vehicle repaired at Pedersen Toyota.   As stated in his complaint, Mr. ****** brought his Sienna in on Saturday, June 21 to address a leaking radiator.  Due to the fact Mr. ****** did not have a scheduled appointment Mr. Bersch stated he would look at it as soon possible to try and address the concern.  It was determined that the vehicle needed a new radiator and referred to the Pedersen Collision Center for repair.  On Monday, June 23 the Pedersen Collision Center looked at the vehicle but did not have the capacity to immediately address the issue.  On Tuesday, June 24, Mr. Bersch spoke to Mr. ****** and stated Pedersen was ordering parts for the replacement and would contact Mr. ****** once the parts came in and the work was completed.  Typical order time for these parts can be 1-2 business days.  The parts arrived on June 25th  and the work was completed.  The timeline of the work was completed within a normal period that replacing a radiator without having parts in stock would typically take.   

On the night of Tuesday, June 24th the dealership received hail damage to most of its inventory and customer vehicles in service.  It is very unfortunate the storm occurred but was not in the control of Pedersen Toyota.  Unfortunately, the dealership insurance
policy does not cover customer vehicles so Pedersen will not be able to cover the hail damage on Mr. ******’s vehicle. We are sorry that the timing of the storm affected Mr. ******’s vehicle but an act of nature is not something Pedersen Toyota could of controlled.  We are hopeful that Mr. ****** can work with his own insurance company to have the damaged repaired.  We would be happy to assist with that process if there is any additional information we can provide.   

Consumer Response:  Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: It does nothing to solve the problem.
Pedersen Toyota has a reasonable obligation to keep my vehicle safe from harm
while in their possession by having it garaged and or insured. Likewise If had
borrowed a loaner (which I was not offered) or rental vehicle form the
dealership I would be responsible for keeping it safe and insured while in my
possession. They should have a garage keeper’s policy that insures them against
damage to customer vehicles including natural disasters. To not have this
coverage should be considered negligent but in no case releases them of
liability. Here is a quote taken directly from an insurance
website "If you own an auto repair shop, a car dealership, a body
shop, or any business that services automobiles that belong to another you need
comprehensive coverage too. If a customer vehicle is left in your care, custody
and control you need coverage for customer autos. If you don't have this
coverage and have 3 customer vehicles parked outside overnight and a hailstorm
blows through and damages those cars you will be held responsible for that
damage". I need proof of Pedersen's current coverage level and a more
proactive approach to fixing my problem. The response I got was cordial but not
at all helpful, which is in line with the service I have received at
Pedersen Toyota. I would like them at a minimum to cover the deductible on my
policy. I feel like that is not much to ask considering I have had it repaired
there before and will probably have this damage repaired there as well. What
cannot be compensated is the absorbent amount of time that will be lost dealing
with the repair.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: Per Mr. ******’s request, attached is a copy of a letter from the dealership insurance policy outlining that unfortunately a customer’s vehicle would not be covered for hail damage under the policy.  Again, while we are sorry that the hail storm caused damage to Mr. ******’s vehicle we had no control over an act of nature and therefore cannot accommodate the request to fix the vehicle or cover the deductible.  If Mr. ****** would like to have his vehicle repaired at the Pedersen Collision Center we will make his repair a top priority to help expedite the process and return his vehicle as quickly as possible.   If Mr. ****** would like to move in this direction, please let us know and we can get his vehicle in for repair immediately. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I was looking for the actual policy to read not the insurance companies interpretation. I understand they would not be interested in covering the damages neither was my insurance. Never the less it is a disappointment that Pedersen Toyota feels no obligation to protecting my vehicle while in their possession or even offering some sort of goodwill gesture. Good reviews of customer service and a sense of care go a lot farther than those 30 second commercial spots. From your responses it doesn't sound like you are interested in preserving our relationship. Fortunately there are other Toyota dealerships in the area that do care more so I will gladly service and purchase my future Toyotas from them. From my phone calls to the body shop it sounds like you are scheduling out to November and December at this point so even if I wanted to go your body shop I will be waiting 5-6mos for a repair. Sincerely disappointed **** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

7/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 16th I inquired about a 2014 Highlander. **** ** emailed me back saying ". I can offer it to you for a price of $35,363 plus tax based on where you register the vehicle". I then counter offered his price and we ended up agreeing on $34,985. He then proceeded to tell me that I would need to put $1000.00 down to hold the vehicle until it arrives. I paid the $1000.00. When asked if I was going to pay cash or finance the car and I proceeded to tell him that I would probably finance. On June 23rd I was informed that "my car" was there, I spoke with **** on the phone telling him that I had changed my mind and wanted to just pay for the car in cash instead of financing. He said he had a few questions that he needed to ask his manager and would call me "right" back. Several hours went by and his manager called back saying "it was against their policy to sell me a vehicle since I was out of state", which obviously is a lie. I proceeded to tell him that they have known from the beginning that I was from a different state. He apologized stating yes I'm not sure why **** even let it get this far but if your still interested in financing I can sell you the car but not if you’re paying cash. At this point I realized he was trying to "force" me into financing the vehicle. I told him no I was not interested in financing at this point. Afterwards, I sent them a polite email telling them this was unfair and illegal to try and make me finance the vehicle and asked for them would reconsider the agreed upon price paying with cash with there General Manager and/or Counsel on June 23rd. They have not given me a response or refunded the money I sent for the deposit. I had no other option but to contact the FTC and the Attorney General's Office.

Desired Settlement: (1) To sell the vehicle regardless of how I'm paying for it as we agreed on a purchase price not on payment method. (2) Return my deposit.

Business Response: Response to complaint ID ********

Ms. ****** left a deposit to purchase an incoming 2014 Toyota Highlander with Pedersen Toyota on June 23, 2014. The Highlander arrived at the dealership on July 3,2014 and we notified Ms. ****** the vehicle was here on Saturday, July 5 (the dealership was closed July 4th). 
At that point, Ms. ****** began to act suspiciously regarding the transaction causing Pedersen to question the validity of the purchase.  After several phone calls with Ms. ******, Pedersen determined there were too many “red flags” relating to the transaction and since the vehicle was immediately leaving the state we determined we were not comfortable moving forward in order protect the best interest of the dealership.  At that point we communicated that we would provide a full refund of Ms. ******’s $1000 deposit.  That refund was completed on July 7 at 1:02 p.m. as promised and as requested in Ms. ******’s complaint from three days later on July 10, 2014.  

Pedersen is happy to provide a copy of the refund receipt to Ms. ****** upon request.  We wish Ms. ****** the best of luck in the future. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I never acted "suspicious" as I wanted to pay cash for the vehicle. How is that suspicious? You knew I was from Texas from the very beginning. I only had 2 phone calls received from the company and the rest of the communication was done via email for reasons like this. Please see the attached and tell me how I was acting "suspicious". Please note when I asked if any of this was a problem is when the "manager" called to inform me he would sell me the vehicle if I financed it instead of paying cash.


Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the process of purchasing a vehicle through the dealership's internet department I was threatened, given an ultimatum, and ultimately ripped-off. I live in San Diego, CA and I am fanatical about cars. I had been looking for something quite specific for about two months when I came across the ideal purchase online at Pederson Toyota in Fort Collins. The car they were selling was a 2004 AMG Mercedes E55. Having worked in the car business I wasn't intimidated by an out of state Fed-Ex deal as I had seen them done before. The internet manager and I quickly came to an agreement on selling price and I set off to get my financing inline. I had told Jeff(internet manager) that I would be putting between 5k and 10k down. Also, at that time, I provided a $500 good faith deposit to hold the vehicle while I made financial arrangements. My next contact was with one of the F & I managers. I had arranged some financing with my credit union in LA and I was ready to start moving forward with the purchase. After confiding in the finance manager that I wasn't completely thrilled with where my credit union came out he asked me if I minded if he took a couple days and tried to find me something better. I agreed. About a week later I heard back from the finance department with news that he was reasonably sure he had secured me financing through Wells Fargo and that a conversation between myself and the lender would likely assure me a better loan. The conversation took place and the loan was secured.Also, during this time, the subject of a warranty came up. They sold me a platinum warranty for about $3700 which had to be added to the down payment because, according to the finance manager, I couldn't borrow anymore. I tried to haggle a little on the price(knowing those things are all profit) but was told they weren't making a dime on it. The dealership sent me all the paperwork, contract, etc. I signed everything, included a check for $5000 and returned the paperwork to the dealer. It's important to note that with each little change/addition about a week was added every time. At this point we're already almost a month into the deal and I'm totally eager to go get this car. Finally everything was received and approved and I was making arrangements to go get the car. My picking it up in person was not only a lender stipulation but I was also really looking forward to flying out there and collecting my new car. We're into about the second week of December and I've made arrangements to go out to Denver when I get a call from my sales rep saying that there is a problem with the way the car's running and that they'd like to take it to Mercedes. A little over a week later it was done. Now we're starting to rub up against the holidays where I have a few of my special clients that I cater to not to mention familial obligations. Cut to the week after New Years when I had planned, once again, to go out there. At the last minute I got a call to work for the week (I work freelance and after spending a lot over X-mas needed to refill my accounts). During this time I was asked to make a payment for the monthly, contractual amount to the dealership which they would forward to Wells. Didn't make any sense but I rolled with it ($582.xx). I also was informed that they had lost my check from a month ago. I sent another. Jan 12 & 20 I had some temporary issues. A hold on a Paycheck due to a new production Co. caused my second check to return. I scrambled around to obtain the money elsewhere so the dealership wouldn't have to wait for the hold to fall off. I wired another $1000 during this time. On 01/18, without prior warning, I was informed that the General Manager threatened that if I wasn't there, in person in 24 he was cancelling the deal and keeping my deposit. This ultimatum fell on a national holiday. Plus I was already scheduled in Florida on the 23rd. It would have cost me over $900 to make the necessary travel changes just to fly out for an hour. I pleaded to them to let me wire the funds immediately. The salesman told me even he didn't understand why I was being asked to throw money away for no reason

Desired Settlement: I offered them the money they were so eager to have but they said they would only accept it in person.I even sent a picture of the cash to show that I was absolutely in possession of it.Having NEVER previously discussed my flying out there I was bewildered. The salesman was bewildered. And I was actually dying to get out there and get that car. I started to make the flight changes and started weighing the cost of the extra flight, the change fee, the price difference the hotel and the rental car... About an hour before I was actually about to throw the money down the toilet I called one more time to plead with them to take the money. "NO" I had to waste my money. Not once was there an offer to split the cost of the change. Just threats and bad treatment towards someone who was about to drop 40k on a car. Not to mention the fact that when they dropped the ball-AND THEY DID A FEW TIMES. I was totally understanding even though I've dreamed of owning a car like that since I was a kid and spent all of December trying to get out there. For them to not only threaten me, try to force me to waste money to appease somebody who clearly suffers from an egocentric disorder and in the end tell me that I didn't really want the car and I was given Every fair opportunity and passed. PLEASE! Not to mention fraudulently taking a payment on behalf of Wells Fargo. I WANT THE CAR!!! The deal was for the car and they made unreasonable, discriminatory requests that no "customer" should ever have to endure. These people committed fraud when they solicited money from me under the auspices of making a car payment only to turn around and put the money in their pockets. Thieves!!! I want the car or I want my money back. But really I want the car. The General Sales Manager instructed me that because I signed a document that was part of the contract package they have every right to hold onto my deposit. Having worked in the car business I know that documents like that are meant to compensate the dealership if the bank "unwinds" a deal or if the customer "cools off". Both of which are predicated on the vehicle actually being delivered and incurring some mileage and losing some value. Management/Ownership of this dealership will stop at nothing to screw people every chance they get. As I'm begging these guys to let me send them the money thus COMPLETELY fulfilling my end the contract this GSM Putz is repeating over and over in a monotonous tone "You obviously don't want the car" I want the car! I want my money! This isn't going to just go away.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/07) */ On November 7th, 2012 ****** Toyota received an email from ****** ******* inquiring about 2004 a Mercedes E55 for sale. After several conversations Mr. ******* agreed to purchase the vehicle and placed a $500 deposit to hold the vehicle pending arranging his financing. For more than a week ****** followed up attempting to get an answer on whether or not he was able to secure financing and move forward with the deal. More than 10 days after this process started he secured financing but was unhappy with the rate and terms. At that point, ****** was able to work with one of our banks to secure him a better finance package. Mr. ******* agreed to this and appreciated ****** being able to save him money. To finalize the paperwork, ****** FedEx'd paperwork on November 19th to be signed and returned immediately. After more than a week of trying to get Mr. ******* to sign and return the paperwork, we finally received it on November 27th. Once the paperwork was returned, we expressed to Mr. ******* that he needed to make arrangements to pick up the vehicle. At that point, Mr. ******* scheduled a delivery on December 10, 2012. Three days prior to the delivery, ****** discovered a loose wire on the vehicle and elected to get it fixed at a local Mercedes dealer prior to Mr. ******* taking delivery. We immediately contacted Mr. ******* and he indicated he had not even purchased a plane ticket to come out three days later and that was fine to delay until it was fixed. We completed the repair on December 13 and got in contact with Mr. ******* to re-schedule the delivery. After trying to get in contact with Mr. ******* for more than 10 days, he finally sent an email on December 23 letting us know he had bought a ticket and that he would be flying in late on January 6th, 2013, more than 24 days after the vehicle was ready for delivery. We explained to Mr. ******* that we needed him to take delivery by the end of 2012 for our accounting as well as to honor the original bank approval but he refused to do so saying he was too busy over the holiday's and couldn't find anyone to make the trip with him. Due to the fact there was a delay in having the car ready because of the repair, the dealership made an exception and agreed to Mr. *******'s request for the delayed delivery to help him out. ****** made it clear we could not wait beyond the 6th and must complete the delivery at that time. Mr. ******* agreed and apologized for the hold up. Around December 24th, ****** discovered that the check Mr. ******* sent was missing so we called to let him know that the $5000 check he had included in his Fed Ex package was missing. Mr. ******* said he would send out a new check immediately. No check ever was received and when we contacted Mr. ******* on January 2nd and he provided a tracking number for the new check (FXXXXXXXXXX) that was false. Both Fed Ex and UPS confirmed no such package was sent. Mr. ******* said he used UPS and didn't understand what happened but we never received the check. We told him he needed to bring all his down payment funds in full ($10,000) on January 6th when he picked up the vehicle. On the morning of January 6th, we received a call from Mr. ******* saying he had cancelled his flight and needed to reschedule. He also indicated he had sent another check for the $5000. Despite indicating to Mr. ******* we needed to have him pick up the car and provide the down payment money in full by the 6th we again agreed to help him out and allowed him to reschedule. He assured us we would have the $5000 immediately. We received a UPS package the morning of the 9th and gave the check to our office to deposit. Mr. ******* called later that morning and explained that he wanted us to hold the check that we had just received until the 11th because he had spent the money and was now waiting to get paid for a job. After communicating to him that this is becoming a serious issue we once again agreed to his request and held off until Friday the 11th to make the deposit. We deposited the check on Friday. Mr. ******* called on Saturday saying that the check would not clear and that he would now bring cash when he came to pick up the car on the 14th. At this point, we communicated again that this was a problem but reluctantly agreed indicating he needed to finalize the deal on the 14th. On January 13th we received an email from Mr. ******* that he once again changed his flight to the 17th of January and that he would be in on the 18th to get the car. At this point the dealership recognized something was seriously wrong with this situation. Mr. ******* had now cancelled two scheduled trips, not provided any of the money he said he was providing, lied about sending the initial check and now bounced a check that was supposed to be good. In addition, Mr. ******* had indicated he had spent the down payment money and was trying to get more. Despite these concerns we told him we would once again extend his delivery date but that he needed him to wire his down payment money immediately. He indicated it would be done at once. On January 15th Mr. ******* was provided wiring information and he stated he was going to wire $1000 and two separate wires for $2000 each. Then he would bring cash for the final $5000. He indicated that would be done that day. The following day, January 16th, he called and asked for the wire information again. On January 17th we finally received $1000 of the $5000 he promised. When questioned, he said he couldn't understand what happened and blamed his bank. We again attempted to help saying that it was OK and he could bring the remaining down payment money the next day when he picked up the vehicle. He agreed. On the morning of the 18th he called to tell us he cancelled his flight and moved it to the next night and was going to arrive around 10 pm and come in Saturday morning. We again indicated he needed to provide all the money prior to taking the vehicle and the we were not willing to wait any longer for this transaction to take place and if he wasn't able to pick the vehicle up on the 19th as he promised we were going to cancel the transaction. He once again agreed. On Saturday morning we texted Mr. ******* confirming his arrival and he said he was now coming on Monday, January 21. He also asked about cancelling the warranty in his contract so he could put less money down because he could not come up with the full down payment. Despite the previous deadline, we agreed for one final time to allow him to complete the transaction on the 22nd stating any failure to provide the down payment or arrive at the dealership to pick up the vehicle, the dealership would cancel the deal without exception. Mr. ******* agreed. On Monday the 21st Mr. ******* called and said he needed to cancel the trip because of a previous commitment with his girlfriend but had now booked another flight for the 22nd and that he would be here around 4 pm. ****** once again agreed to the final change in a last ditch effort to try and keep the deal together. Not surprisingly, Mr. ******* called on the morning of the 22nd and said he cancelled his trip and said he was not coming anymore. He wanted to wait until he was done with a trip with his girlfriend. He said he would wire the funds and pick the car up the following week. We told him at that point we were terminating the deal as we stated in previous conversations. After December 13 when the vehicle was ready for delivery and over the next 40 days, Mr. ******* cancelled scheduled deliveries on six different occasions. In addition he provided only $2000 of a total of $10,000 he owed for down payment for the transaction, in the process bouncing a check, lying about FedEx information, and not following through on multiple promises to wire money. ****** Toyota made every effort to be flexible and accommodating to Mr. ******* over the course of those 40 days with no success. Unfortunately it became clear despite Mr. *******'s promises he was not going to provide the money he owed and was not serious about picking up the vehicle. Over the course of those 40 days ****** Toyota passed on multiple customer offers to purchase the vehicle because we were holding it for Mr. *******. At time of signing the contract, Mr. ******* signed a bailment agreement stating that if financing could not be arranged at the terms stated in the contract and if the contract is cancelled the dealer would charge Mr. ******* $50/day as a penalty. Due to the fact that Mr. ******* did not provide the $10,000 as well as did not show up for delivery to allow the dealer to verify his identity for finance purposes we could not execute the contract and thus are enforcing that agreement and keeping the $2082.82 down payment he provided to help compensate for lost sales on that vehicle. ****** wishes Mr. ******* the best of luck Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/02/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Of course I wouldn't accept their so called "offer" rife with lies and omissions. It's difficult to even pick a place to start with all the half truths and blatant fabrications. But lets start with the replacement check for $5000 dollars. The one I had to reluctantly send to take the place of the first check where they displayed a rare level of incompetence by misplacing. What the dealership seems to be trying to illustrate is that they had to push me every ****** of the way to move forward on this car deal. Nothing could be further from the truth. As I look over the email correspondence with their sales representative I confide in him that I would have done anything to make this deal happen. Even if it required coming up with 75% cash.I told him that I had quickly developed an unhealthy attachment to it and had to have it. I was disappointed in mid December when I was informed that I wouldn't be able to pick up the car as planned. It's difficult for me to take time off since I work freelance as a motion picture camera assistant. Jobs come to me with very little notice and they can last anywhere from three days to three weeks. It also takes me to very remote locations where cell service can be sparse, at best. The predominant amount of my income is derived from working on car commercials which is all about scenery and long days. Making a deal over the internet is supposed to afford you the ability to be a bit more removed and is supposed to accommodate people whose schedule often precludes them from having as much time. Meaning I didn't think I was going to have to be on call to play wet nurse to a bunch of nimrods who can't even keep track of the down payment. I actually passed on a four day commercial and was unable to get back on the job after receiving the news that my car wouldn't be ready. However I don't remember yelling and screaming like a spoiled child upon receiving the disappointing news. It cost me over $5000 to pass on that job. But I still don't recall finding it necessary to threaten anybody or steal from anybody to compensate for my disappointment. That kind of behavior, while inexcusable is usually displayed to compensate for some kind of inadequacy in one's character or some kind of perceived physical shortcoming. While this (all the screaming and threats, etc.) was going on the salesman was extremely apologetic. We were both kind of scratching our heads in shock. I just remember the salesman saying over and over again, "I don't understand. I don't know why he's being like this". Referring to the general manager's outbursts. I explained to him that in the entertainment industry I had come across my share of "nieces" and idiot sons over the years. But that things were quickly deteriorating here and that we needed to find a way to finish this thing. I never denied the fact that there was a seven day period towards the end where I had some issues. I received a paycheck from a job I did in early January from a new production/payroll company for a significant amount. Obviously a large portion of this check was earmarked for the car purchase. In their infinite wisdom Bank of America placed a ten day hold on the check. I scrambled around and tried to get it elsewhere but had a tough time making any real headway in the 36 hours I was given. Especially given the fact that this soap operatic ultimatum fell on a national holiday. Adding to the shock was the fact that there was a rush to do anything since the dealership had already begun to solicit monthly payments from me. Now given the fact that the dealership was insisting that I make my monthly payments to them I assumed that the contract was in effect. Otherwise there would be no cause to collect said payment. I was a little confused about this so I called the person at ***** ***** I had previously spoken to during various stages of this hit and run. I asked him why monthly payments were being collected on their (*****') behalf if there was no contract in place. He indicated that if the dealership had taken a payment on their behalf that it was in bad faith since there was, in fact, no contract in place. So after speaking to a financial representative at ***** ***** I was able to confirm that Pederson Toyota knowingly and intentionally engaged in fraud. More specifically credit card fraud since that's how the payment was taken. Now the state of Colorado takes this very seriously. So much so that judges are given discretionary powers to enforce the law. Its also important to note that when a business commits credit card fraud against its customers it automatically picks up an organized crime enhancement. So, at the end of the day, its probably a good thing you guys are so fond of cash because its likely you might have some difficulty being able to accept credit cards in the near future. As I read your weak attempt at slander this morning a couple things jumped out at me. The first was the accusation of giving you a bad tracking number. Not only desperate but foolish since I have the receipt from the shipment AND all the email correspondence surrounding the shipment of the replacement check. The "multiple lies" about wiring money took place over one day when I was trying to pull money out of thin air to compensate for the hold on my account. I'm surprised you keep bringing up the "bailment" agreement. Anybody reading this is savvy enough to know that's in place to compensate a dealership for wear and tear in the case of a car that rolled off the lot. Since I never took possession keeping my deposit just makes you look like scumbags. I guess you're used to that by now. God I prey you don't have children. Just the blatant dishonestly that comes so naturally . About how identity verification was all of a sudden so important when, at the time I spoke to the agent at ***** originally, One of your manager's coached me, "Just as long as ***** THINKS you're coming here in person to pick up the car. Its like you guys don't even work at the dealership you supposedly run. Finally, and this is my favorite. When I spoke to the nitwit GSM(seriously, this guy makes a box of rocks look like a room full of quantum physicists) the day after everything went sideways, as I'm begging him to let me pay for the car. That I had the money for a couple days and tried repeatedly to have them let me wire it to them. As he's telling me that I never really wanted the car. As I'm explaining that I prepaid an expensive insurance policy through ***** Farm and bought a Bluetooth setup. He still insists that I never intended to get the car.... One of the reasons he sights for "passing" on the deal with me is that they have people lined up around the block behind me to buy it. Here we are. One month later. That car still sits on the lot. I noticed it's even incurred some damage in the dash cluster under your fastidious care. I gave you guys every opportunity to be fair and to do the right thing. There was a time where I would have settled for just getting my deposit back. You chose to be dishonest, indignant and patronizing. I'd wish you best of luck but being condescending and disingenuous isn't really my style. I guess you thought I was just going to sit in the corner and pout. Unfortunately I can't do that. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/02/13) */ Despite the fact ****** Toyota believes and has strong supporting evidence to enforce the signed bailment agreement and keep Mr. *******'s down payment money, we agree to refund the $2082.82 we collected to resolve the situation. A check will be sent to Mr. ******* immediately. ****** wishes Mr. ******* the best of luck in the future. Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2013/03/20) */ From: Sean Di Ponti Sent: Wednesday, March 20, 2013 7:04 AM To: msharf@wynco.bbb.org Subject: BBB Complaint Case#46030589(Ref#38-1110-46030589-13-2210) Marcy, I agreed to Pederson Toyota's offer but they never mailed a check. I need to re-open the complaint. Please email me or call me at 619.241.5811. Sean Di Ponti Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2013/03/20) */ After waiting three weeks for the dealership to send a check its time to reopen the case against them. after committing to return my deposit they have made no effort to do so. Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2013/03/25) */ Due to the fact Mr. DiPonti stated he did not receive the initial refund check, Pedersen Toyota re-issued the check on Thursday, March 21 and received confirmation via FedEx tracking that the package with the check was delivered on Friday, March 22 at 2:34 p.m. In addition, two phone messages were left for Mr. DiPonti to outline this. If there was any problem receiving the package and refund check please have Mr. DiPonti notify us immediately.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughtor and I went to Pederson Toyota to trade her honda civic for a 2012 Scion IQ. We signed all the documents at the dealership and before signing the sales contract they told us my daughtor's credit was too low and I would need to finance the car myself. I signed the contract and we took the car that day. A few days later they informed me they couldn't get the financing and wanted to add my daughtor back to the contract. We agreed and went back in to sign a new contract. Nothing changed from the first contract to the second except adding my daughtor to the contract. I got a call today 10/29/12, telling me we owed Pederson Toyota 103.69 dollars for the payoff on the honda civic. They said we took too long to sign the contract and a new balance was updated on the honda. I do not see this as our problem and believe Pederson needs to deal with the payoff of the honda themselves. When I called them they would not change anything about the new payoff value on the honda and told me I owed them the money.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want Pederson to pay the 103.69 and any additional costs for paying off the Honda Civic. They agreed to pay the Honda off as part of the trade and took too long to do so. The additional cost needs to be on them.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2012/11/07) */ In response to the complaint by Mr. ****** regarding the payoff for the Honda he traded in at the dealership, ****** Toyota agrees to pay to the difference in the payoff to address Mr. ******'s concern. While there was a discrepancy between the payoff amount provided at time of delivery and the actual payoff, we are glad to help take care of it and encourage him to contact **********, General Sales Manager, with any additional questions or concerns. We would like to thank Mr. ****** for his business and hope they enjoy their new Scion.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1