BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Markley Motors Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Markley Motors Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 226-2213 Fax: (970) 282-6825 3401 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.markleymotors.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Markley Motors Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Markley Motors Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Markley Motors Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1936 Business started locally: 01/01/1936 Business incorporated: 08/24/1959 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Doug Markley, President Mr. Roger Belisle, General Manager Mr. Terry Brunk, Fixed Operations Manager Ms. Ann Edmondson, HR Manager Mr. Mick Kellner, Service Mgr Mr. Tim Northburg, Internet Sales Manager Jeff Wilkins, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Terry Brunk, Fixed Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. Doug Markley, President
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Markley Motors
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 3325 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 3401 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 3437 S Mason St

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • PO Box 270520

    Fort Collins, CO 80527 (970) 530-1550

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 22nd, I brought in my 2003 Honda Hybrid for an oil change and a multi-point inspection. I assume they also did a standard computer diagnostic. Both before and after this visit, my engine was running perfectly. I was told that the front crank seal gasket was leaking and needed replacement, and that the car needed a front-end alignment, both of which were NOT a surprise to me. Since the gasket needed to be ordered, I picked up my car, paid my bill, and waited for a call from them that the gasket was in. I scheduled the gasket replacement and alignment, and brought my car back in on June 13th. At this time, my engine was STILL running perfectly. They did the work requested (for a reasonable $444), and I picked my car up the same day. The engine behaved itself for a week, until the very first time I took it on the Interstate, and at a speed over 45mph. Suddenly the car will not accelerate properly, it behaves 'jerkily', and the hybrid charging system drops down to zero. It’s Friday evening, so I exit the highway, and nurse my car home. It is sort of okay when under 40mph, but behaves just as poorly when I need to drive uphill - again, no acceleration, and very jerky. Once home, I disconnect the battery for a few minutes, hoping that a 'reset' of the computer and any sensors might resolve the problem. Nope, on Monday morning, the car still has the same problems when going uphill, so I drive straight back to Markley. They're unable to get the car in for service until Tuesday - not a surprise since I did not have an appointment. NOW my complaint! On Tuesday they claim that the valves are 'loose', that this is a new problem that has absolutely no relation to the work they did on my engine only a week ago, and that it will cost me an additional $300 to have my valves adjusted. The onboard computer is now reporting all sorts of valve issues and mis-firings. I am quite sure the tech has done something wrong - a damaged or unconnected sensor, an on-board computer problem, or some portion of the Hybrid or emission equipment that was incorrectly reconnected. Markley claims otherwise. IF I had been told after the May 22nd check-up that there was an engine/valve problem, I would have believed them. If I had been told during the June 13th Gasket replacement that there was an engine/valve problem, I would have probably still believed them. I absolutely do NOT believe that my car suddenly developed engine problems a mere 7 DAYS after they worked on my engine - ESPECIALLY since this is the second time that I've hired Markley to fix a major mechanical problem on my car, and the second time that some other 'apparently' unrelated system coincidently failed only a few days later. At best, the Markley tech is incompetent or not properly trained to work on an older Honda Hybrid. At worst, Markley has one or more crooks working for them. And - clearly - Markley does NOT stand by their service. I am a small business owner who sells and repairs computers. We have NEVER had a BBB complaint - why? Because when a customer complains, we actually DO stand behind our work! To those that read this, the local ****** dealer, their biggest competitor, only as 2 BBB service complaints in the last 3 years.

Desired Settlement: The second repair has ended up costing $253 – ALL of it in labor. I want my $253 back!

Business Response: Thank You very much for providing us with your feedback on your recent service visit.  We have been in business in Fort Collins for 78 years and we are very proud of our reputation of being a very fair business, and a strong supporter in our community. We do not feel we did anything incorrect, however in the idea of goodwill and protecting our reputation as being fair, we will send you a refund for the valve adjustment.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter and I bought a car for her from ******* Motors a few weeks ago. She was told that she qualified for their new grad program and ******* sent her an e-mail stating the following: "On top of your Internet Discount, you can choose from 0.9% for 60 months or an attractive lease option. Price is good through the Internet Department, ask for Thomas Rowe.” There were no caveats on the interest rate. Verbally, my daughter was also told that she would get 0.9% interest. The next day we went in to buy. There was backpedaling all around. eventually they told her she would not get the 0.9% interest rate because she did not qualify. They threw in some floor mats and oil changes and I thought that was the end of the problem. Then I was talking to a friend of mine who related a very similar experience at ******* 5 years ago. Now I'm thinking it's a deceptive sales practice. So I sent a letter to the head of the finance dept about the problem and her response said that they "did not promise 0.9%" which I find troubling. If they offer me a choice without caveats and then renege on the choice, they have broken a promise in my opinion.

Desired Settlement: In my last e-mail (around a week ago), I stated: "I'm not interested in a long correspondence on this whole thing and I'm sure you're not either. I'm not looking for financial compensation. We agreed to the deal even after the 0.9% financing was pulled off the table. But I would ask you to change the wording on your E-Z Price Quote e-mails to clarify that qualification is required. This seems like a very simple change you can make that would at least address the issue for future customers. An apology for the misleading e-mail would also be very appreciated." Since sending this e-mail on June 6th, I have heard no response.

Business Response: ***** ***** ***** ************************** *** ***** ***** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** ** ******** **** ****** 

*****
 
   After discussing this matter with ****** ******** (our Chief Operating Office), and **** *******, we agree with Mr. ************ complaint. The fact that credit approval requirements  are necessary,  and was not disclosed in our E-Z Price quote. We did not do this intentionally , but shame on us for leaving this out. We want you to know this issue has been corrected, and we hope Mr. ****** will accept our apology and we thank him for bringing this to our attention.

***** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to Markley Honda in Fort Collins to repair a leaking gasket and repair a tire with a nail in it. I also asked them to take a look at the brakes. I let them know that I had just had the master cylinder replaced and that I was sure at this point that was not the problem. I contacted them exactly a week later still waiting for an estimate. Left a message for the service manager. Call was returned by someone in the body department to discuss a different complaint about a different vehicle. I was contacted later that day with an estimate that was not complete. After explaining that not having my car for this long was a major problem I was then told to rent a car through enterprise at their expense. Every time I spoke I was cut off and treated like nothing I had to say was important enough for them to listen to. The next week they call me to complain that I didn't supply them with the key to my hubcaps. I tell two different people at two different times that it is in the glove box. The next morning I was contacted and told that my vehicle was ready. I go in and pay my (unapproved) invoice of $1249.00. Leave the dealership, then notice the nail is still sticking out of the same tire.Look at my invoice to find that I was charged for an entire new tire. I return to the dealership, very upset. They did not believe that the nail was still there and that they had not fixed it and made me show them. The manager walks around my car and doesn't say a word. Someone else comes out to say I never provided the hubcap key and that is why it wasn't fixed. I open the glove box and hand them the key. They replace the tire. I drive the car and the brakes are horrible. They replaced only the master cylinder. I contact the owners (daughter) and she offers to have them "try again". I speak directly with *****, the mechanic and explain in great detail that the problem started in the back brakes. He replaces the front. ***** ***** then calls me a liar and accuses me of not having the $157 due for front breaks

Desired Settlement: I want an apology for how I was treated and a refund for ATLEAST the master cylinder

Business Response: Response to complaint ID *******
 
We are very sorry for the confusion during the repairs.  We did not have the necessary tools to work on a 1997 Lexus, so we had to have an independent repair shop complete the repairs, which added to the extra days, and some of the confusion during the repairs. I have spoke to the person who completed the repairs, and he explained to me all of the work he performed on the Lexus, and with 256.000 miles, there was several additional items he had to perform, just because of time and mileage on the vehicle. That is why I was so surprised when the owner was so upset over the price of $157.00 for replacing the front brakes, and rotors. In my opinion the price was much more than fair. The repair person also explained why he replaced the master cylinder in the first visit. Even though it was a previously replaced part, he could feel the pressure passing through the brake pedal and had to replace the master cylinder and bleed the entire brake system. Again we are very sorry for the confusion during the repair, and in the spirit of goodwill we will offer to reimburse the owner $241.00 for the master cylinder.  
 
***** *****
Fixed Operations Manager  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 extended cab with only 14,000 miles. However, before even driving it off the lot I realized that the USB was not working. The salesman told me to bring it in the next day and they would fix it. But, this speed bump exploited into a grave problem. I found out that I purchased a 2011 GMC Sierra with a 2006 Buick navagation system that did sync together with many facets of the car. Furthermore, I paid for a 2011 GMC navagation unit which was complimented with a Bose surround sound system and a USB connection( which increased the value of the vehicle) to stream music via an iPhone. But, all of those components which were implemented into the vehicle's total price were not functioning. The 2006 Buick navagation system did not comply with the Bose surround sound,projecting a distorted sound from the speakers. I have been a customer with markley motors for almost two years, providing them with ample business by purchasing two vehicles. These issues described above could have been addressed painlessly. However, the result was completely opposing. The sales manager (*****) was very unpleasant, concocting terrible customer service and compulsions that had a profound influence on Markley Motors entirety. Also, ***** debated everything that I said and did not have the patience to hear me out. Overall, Markley Motors lossed my respect and business due to one person(*****) that made my life a nightmare. I have just recently had to pay 650 dollars to get the correct navagation unit in my vehicle for every component to sinc together. I believe that if a business cannot alleviate a problem like this, than what can they do to provide effecient customer service? Product_Or_Service: 2011 GMC navagation unit

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to get my money back (650.00 dollars) and speak to the person above the sales manager (*****).

Business Response:

We have contacted Mr. **** and he explained his concern. We have agreed to refund his money for the upgrade on his Naviigation system. He is very happy with our resolution.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** Motors was repairing my car when additional damage was incurred. They want $900+ to fix a problem that did not exist when the repairs began. In February, I was rear ended in my 2002 Honda Civic. ***** **** (the insurance provider of the person who hit me) referred me to ****** Motors in Fort Collins for repair work. I took the vehicle in on Monday morning, April 15th for repairs that I was told should take two days to complete. Wednesday morning, April 17th, I received a call from ****** informing me that the repairs had been completed and I could pick up my vehicle at my convenience. Less than an hour later, I received a second call from ****** telling me that check engine lights had come on and they needed time to identify what was wrong. Up until this time, the vehicle had functioned fine since the wreck, as the only damage appeared to be superficial damage to the rear of the car. Later Wednesday afternoon, ****** Motors called me again to say that my Engine Control Module was fried and needed to be replaced. According to my mechanic, *** ********* of **********, this is not a part that normally goes out, and ******'s explanation of a loose alternator cannot possibly be true. He described it as being akin to a tire falling off my car and them telling me that there was a problem with the battery. It is my belief that ****** Motors made a mistake during the repairs causing the Engine Control Module to fail, and they are now lying to me to avoid having to assume responsibility and fix my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix whatever they broke, including the engine control module, on my vehicle and return it to the state in was in (fully functional) when it was left in their care on April 15th. And, given the circumstances, I want this done at no cost to myself.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: *****@markleymotors.com We have met with Mr ******, and we have reached a resolution that will have his vehicle repaired at a very fair cost.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i took my car in for repair, described an exhaust problem and noise. o2 sensor was replaced and i was told noise was from A.M. intake filter dirty. i took my car to honda, exlplainded specifically that i wanted the exhaust, manifold and headers looked at from loud noise i was hearing. car was "repaired", but was returned to me with the same noise and even less power than before. honda replaced my o2 sensor ($499) and told me it was the problem. but my car still acted and sounded funny after. so i took it back, they then told me it was the dirty after market filter on my intake, and maybe my catalytic converter was going out. so i replaced the filter. still sounds like crap and runs hard. so after $700 and a new filter, honda tells me its the same problem i went in for originally. now im broke and my car wont run.

Desired Settlement: i want a refund, and i want an apology. i was told specifically tat honda doesnt just fix or replace misc parts. i was told the o2 sensor was the problem and it wasnt, its exactly what i said i thought the problem might be. maybe they should actually listen to the customer.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: *****@markleymotors.com ****** ****** our Honda Service manager and I have apoligized to ******, and we have offered to reinstall his old part, and refund his money for the repairs. We feel we can install the old part and start the process over again, only this time with alot more information. Again we are sorry and look forward to resoving ******'s concern. ****** ****** XXX XXX XXXX

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2012 ACADIA DELIVERED WITH DAMAGED WINDOWS. WHEN REPLACED, PAINT WAS DAMAGED. Bought 2012 GMC Acadia on June 29 from Markley Motors, in Fort Collins, CO. VIN 1GKKRNED6CJ353868. On delivery, windows on driver's side were all pitted. Transportation damage. Interior was dirty. Speakers had white crap on them , carpet was dirty, moldings were scuffed up. Obviously, they never cleaned it up when it arrived at Markley. Then Markley replaced the 3 windows and damaged the red paint. It had two nasty scratches and they delivered it back to me like that!!! They repainted and did a horrible job. There were bumps from dirt and rough areas in the paint and "orange Peel" and it looked awful. One area was white where it should be red. Marlin Walter (General Motors Sales Manager) said it was a good job! Body shop guys at Ghent, Spradley Barr and Weld County Garage all said it was a bad job. Marlin Walter also talked me into leaving the transportaton damage (spots of grey) on the red paint go. I guess that's what salesmen do!! Marlin allowed the paint (from the back door to the rear end) to be fixed by Ghent since I told him I didn't want Markley messing it up again since they messed that whole area up the first time. I want compensation for the 4 months of stress with this issue that is still going on and the vehicle will always be a damaged vehicle that was repaired. The dots of grey on the side of the vehicle on the front half (transportation damage) will always be a damaged vehicle. I paid for a NEW vehicle, not a damaged vehicle. I asked for compensation and last Wednesday Marlin Walter said there would be none so on Oct 20, I called Roger Belisle (General Manager) and he said NO compensation and was very rude and sarcastic and hung up on me! I feel that compensation is warranted in this situation. I have never in all my 72 years gone through something like this and this is just wrong!

Desired Settlement: I feel that I should receive a check for $5000 from Markley for this NEW damaged vehicle since the paint damage was done there. I'm sure they got their money back from whomever transported the vehicle to them. GM rep gave me $5000 toward a new vehicle when I had transmission issues with my last vehicle. That was interior and didn't show! I take very good care of my vehicles and they are NEVER parked next to another. I had NO dings on a 13 year old vehicle I had and none of my past vehicles had dings on them and I feel this transportation damage, the first lousy paint job and the four months of stress and sleepless nights should warrant the $5000 refund!! THANK YOU JUNE PARAL

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/10/29) */ we repaired the vehicle and customer was not satisfied so we had it repaired again at a shop of her chosing.We also supplied a loaner car so she was not inconvienced. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2012/11/02) */ From: *****@comcast.net (mailto:*****@comcast.net) Sent: Thursday, November 01, 2012 4:46 PM To: *********** Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT33*****@comcast.net32*****@comcast.net34REDACT) THIS VEHICLE STILL HAS SCRATCHES, DAMAGED MOLDING, SCRATCED APPLIQUES. THE PAINT JOB DONE BY ******WAS TERRIBLE AND AS I SAID, I HAD THREE MAJOR BODY SHOPS CHECK IT OUT AND THEY ALL SAID THE SAME THING. AM NOW WAITING FOR A PANEL TO COME IN AND THE REST OF THE WORK TO BE DONE ON THE SUV. THIS IS GOING INTO THE 5TH MONTH!!!!!!!! ************REFUSES TO GIVE ANY COMPENSATION FOR THIS ISSUE AND THAT IS NOT RIGHT!!!! ONCE AGAIN, I PAID FOR A NEW VEHICLE AND NOT A DAMAGED VEHICLE. WHEN IT COMES TIME FOR A TRADE, THE VALUE WILL BE LESS DUE TO THE REPAINT JOB!!! Consumer Response /* (-5, 8, 2012/11/02) */ From: *****@comcast.net (mailto:*****@comcast.net) Sent: Thursday, November 01, 2012 4:49 PM To: *********** Subject: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT33*****@comcast.net32*****@comcast.net34REDACT) THIS VEHICLE STILL HAS SCRATCHES, DAMAGED MOLDING, SCRATCED APPLIQUES. THE PAINT JOB DONE BY ******WAS TERRIBLE AND AS I SAID, I HAD THREE MAJOR BODY SHOPS CHECK IT OUT AND THEY ALL SAID THE SAME THING. AM NOW WAITING FOR A PANEL TO COME IN AND THE REST OF THE WORK TO BE DONE ON THE SUV. THIS IS GOING INTO THE 5TH MONTH!!!!!!!! ************REFUSES TO GIVE ANY COMPENSATION FOR THIS ISSUE AND THAT IS NOT RIGHT!!!! ONCE AGAIN, I PAID FOR A NEW VEHICLE AND NOT A DAMAGED VEHICLE. WHEN IT COMES TIME FOR A TRADE, THE VALUE WILL BE LESS DUE TO THE REPAINT JOB!!! Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2012/11/13) */ Thank You for giving us your feedback on your recent visit. Mr ******has personally spoke to General Motors customer servioe, and has spoke to the place you choose to repair your vehicle. He has authorized the repaires requested. They have assured us they will repair the vehicle to your satisfaction. Thanks again for your feedback. Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2012/11/28) */ From: *****@comcast.net Sent: Wednesday, November 28, 2012 1:24 PM To: *********** Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT33*****@comcast.net32*****@comcast.net35REDACT) I was able to get the link you just sent. I think that is the same one I replied to a few days ago. Thanks. If I did it wrong, I said the 2012 Acadia is still not repaired and it's 5 months tomorrow (Thur) since I bought it. I didn't put this but should have. ******still owes me for selling me a damaged vehicle. From: *****@comcast.net (mailto:*****@comcast.net) Sent: Thursday, November 01, 2012 4:49 PM To: *********** Subject: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT33*****@comcast.net32*****@comcast.net34REDACT) THIS VEHICLE STILL HAS SCRATCHES, DAMAGED MOLDING, SCRATCED APPLIQUES. THE PAINT JOB DONE BY ******WAS TERRIBLE AND AS I SAID, I HAD THREE MAJOR BODY SHOPS CHECK IT OUT AND THEY ALL SAID THE SAME THING. AM NOW WAITING FOR A PANEL TO COME IN AND THE REST OF THE WORK TO BE DONE ON THE SUV. THIS IS GOING INTO THE 5TH MONTH!!!!!!!! ************REFUSES TO GIVE ANY COMPENSATION FOR THIS ISSUE AND THAT IS NOT RIGHT!!!! ONCE AGAIN, I PAID FOR A NEW VEHICLE AND NOT A DAMAGED VEHICLE. WHEN IT COMES TIME FOR A TRADE, THE VALUE WILL BE LESS DUE TO THE REPAINT JOB!!! Business Response /* (4000, 25, 2012/12/19) */ We spoke to ***** at ************** on December 19th, and he informed me that all concerns have been corrected, and he is sending the bill to us tomorrow. We are very sorry for any inconvenience during the repairs, and we will pay the bill for the concerns as soon as it arrives. ***** assured me it looks as good as new, and Mrs. ******was satisfied with the repairs. Consumer Response /* (4200, 27, 2012/12/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***** *******(from ****** did a good job repairing the mess that ******Motors had on the vehicle but I talked to ***** on the 18th and he said it would have to be repainted to get out the transportation damage on the front half driver's side. I said I would call ******Motors when I get back from Phoenix. It should be repainted to be totally fixed or ******can give me the $5000 I requested. Consumer Response /* (-5, 35, 2013/01/07) */ Would you please send me the last comments from Markley Motors. I tried to pull that up and can't find them. Thanks June Paral

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After agreeing to undo the sale of a car and return my SUV to me, it was returned with broken clock/radio lights. They worked before. I have proof. After driving many vehicles, I decided to purchase a 2013 Honda Pilot. (Background: I have back/pinched nerve/leg problems which require a comfortable seat -- as defined by me -- to enable me to drive. Most vehicles are not comfortable and result in pinched nerves after fairly short drives.) I thought the Pilot was okay, but on Wed. Dec 19, one day after completing the sale, I called the salesman, ***********, and told him the Pilot might not work for me because I was experiencing pinched nerves and numbness in my leg during the 1/2 hour drive home in the snowfall of Tuesday, December 18 -- it was all stop-and-go and slow-speed driving, lasting much longer than usual to get home. He said to keep the Pilot for a while longer, continue to drive it, and to let him know if the problem continued. He said, that ultimately, ****** Motors wanted me to "be happy." I did not drive it on Wed. -- it was too snowy. On Friday, 2 days later, and after 2 slightly longer drives -- one of about 10 miles, and one of about 25 miles, I called the dealership again and spoke with the sales manager, ___??______ (**** was not available) and told him I didn't think the vehicle would work for me and could we please find a way to un-do the sale and return my trade-in (a 2001 Ford Explorer) to me. He told me I'd have to speak with the Gen. Mgr., ****** ******. When I called ****** and didn't get him, I left a detailed message on his voice mail, explaining the whole situation and repeated my request to un-do the sale and return my Ford to me. Later that day he called me back. He agreed that we could undo the sale and return my vehicle to me, and that I would have to pay a daily rental fee ($50 per day for 5 days) plus the cost of emissions testing, and reconditioning the Explorer so they could sell it. I agreed, and we set up an appointment for Monday am., Dec. 24 to conduct this business. On Sunday I filled it with gas and washed it. We met Mon. and completed the undoing of the sale. I paid ****** Motors $557.70, signed a waiver which I have not received a copy of, returned the Pilot's keys, and regained possession of my Ford Explorer. (It had been cleaned and polished inside and out.) On the way home, I noticed that the radio and clock lights were not on. I tested everything I could think of (dimmer, lights on and off, radio buttons), changed radio stations (with no lights indicating what station I was on) and emailed ****** upon returning home. The following day was Christmas. Since Wed. Dec 26, ****** and I have conducted an email exchange in which he has not agreed to bring my Explorer back into the same condition it was in when I turned it in to ******. I can print out copies of our entire exchange, if needed. Among other things, ****** claimed that I had no proof that those lights worked when I turned the car over to them: I beg to differ. The Explorer was listed for sale on ******'s website for several days. In that listing was a set of photos of the vehicle, including one of the front console in which the clock and radio lights were clearly visible! I copied and saved that screen of the website as well as a close-up of the console, and did forward those photos to ******. He has not acknowledged that he looked at them.) I do not have copies of any of the sale papers -- ****** has all of them. So I don't have exact sale price figures -- but it was a 5-year 0.9% financed sale with a $3200 trade-in value for the Explorer. What I'm asking for from ****** is that they bring my vehicle back into the same condition it was when I turned it over to them as a trade-in. I believe that it is their ethical responsibility to do so. I returned their Pilot back to them in the same condition it was when they delivered it to me. Fair is fair. When my dialogue with ****** came to a stand still today (Thursday, December 27) , I decided to use the BBB to help reconcile the problem. Thank you for your assistance.

Desired Settlement: I would like ******* Motors to return my Ford Explorer to the same condition it was when I traded it in to them -- in other words, repair at their expense whatever is wrong with the clock and radio lights so they again work as they did before. (I've already paid for the reconditioning they performed in order for them to sell it.)

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/01/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: *****@markleymotors.com We feel we have went way above and beyond in our attempts to assit ****** with the purchase of our new Honda, and then unwinding the sales transaction, after all of the time spent by both parties, and finally returning her Explorer detailed and reconditioned. We can not begin to guarantee a 2001 vehicle against repairs that might arise due to age and mileage. However in the spirit of trying to go above and beyond, we have contacted a radio repair center that will assist with repairing the lights for us. Please contact ****** ****** for information on getting the lights repaired at XXX XXX XXXX

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They drove the car and damaged the car by not putting back into drive from 4 wheel drive properly & then wouldn't accept responsibility for damaging. I went to trade my car in and purchase a vehicle from the dealer.****** Motors The sales assistant "****" drove the car( he said to appraise it) and when he brought it back it wouldn't drive properly it thumped loudly and started to grind. The manager came out put it in 4 wheel drive and when he tried to get it out he couldn't without reversing it and then slammed it into drive.The manager said the assistant probably didn't get it out of 4 wheel properly. It never had a problem shifting in and out of 4 wheel drive before they drove it.

Desired Settlement: They need to pay all repair costs for the repairs of the jeep

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/10/12) */ We have had 2 of our managers, and one of our Certified Technicians drive Ms ******'s Jeep. And her Jeep operated normal. We belive that the customer had not experience the operation of a 4 wheel drive vehicle on dry pavement. Customer gave us permission to drive her Jeep, in an effort to purchase a new vehicle. A note to consider is that the Jeep has been driven 168,000 miles.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues