Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Markley Motors Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 226-2213 Fax: (970) 282-6825 View Additional Phone Numbers 3401 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.markleymotors.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Markley Motors Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Markley Motors Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Markley Motors Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1936 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1936 Business incorporated 08/24/1959 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Doug Markley, President Mr. Roger Belisle, General Manager Mr. Terry Brunk, Fixed Operations Manager Mr. Mick Kellner, Service Mgr Ms. Kay Mottin, HR Manager Mr. Tim Northburg, Internet Sales Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Terry Brunk, Fixed Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. Doug Markley, President
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair and Painting Auto Repair

Alternate Business Names
Markley Motors
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Markley Motors Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3325 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 3401 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 3437 S Mason St

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • PO Box 270520

    Fort Collins, CO 80527 (970) 530-1550

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought 1998 ****** ****** to Markley Motors, had rough idle and check engine light was on. They called told me the problem and I heard them give a price of $859 to fix the car I told them to do the work and let them know this was going to be a stretch for me When they called to say work was complete they said it now needed another $462 repair, I told them I could not afford it and would pick car up. Charged on credit card and picked up after closing. Price on receipt now was $893.18. When I picked the car up the car seemed to have exactly the same problem as before and check engine light came on. I called next day talked to Steven Palmer in shop and then service manager Mick K*****,, told them I thought this was their mistake and that they needed to help with additional repairs. They said best they could do was $358. I said that was to much since I just spent $893 and the car ran exactly the same as when I brought it in. He said that was all he could do. I offered to pay half the $462 he said no.

Consumer Response:

***** **************** ****************** *** ********************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* * ********

Wanted to let you know we were able to get the problem resolved this morning 1/8/16. The service manager Mick called me this morning and made a nice compromise offer to finish the repair and get the work completed, and I accepted.

Thank you for the help,
**** *****

12/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2012 ***** *** on 6/30/2015 with a cosignor. At the closing I complained to the finance director, Athina S********, that I was unhappy with the customer service I received due to the fact that before they knew I had a cosignor and my financing fell through they treated me like dirt instead of telling me, The finance director just wanted the car back. So in a very nasty way (some service guy called me instead of the finance person). When I told her I had a cosignor, she apologized and all the kind smiles were back. 2 months later a lady ran a red light and my car was totaled. Not knowing it was totaled I had it towed back to Markley Motors for the repair. Three days later I was informed it was totaled and I contacted my sales person there at Markley #1 to get a new vehicle and #2 called Athina S******** to get someone in finance to get the GAP insurance paperwork going so I could sign it and cancel the Extended warranty I paid for cancelled. I also wanted to verify that I could transfer into another car. I got no call back. I called her 2 days later again, I called again and again and again, then going to the general manager and assistant manager after asking my sales person to help. He had told me that he had talked to Athina S******** about the situation, so she was aware. Needless to say, here it is 60 days later and my paperwork is still not over to ** *********, no one will see me and my loan at ** ********* is still not paid off due to the gap in coverage between the amount my Insurance paid for the car and the GAP insurance. They will not pay until they have these 2 documents from the dealer. I have gone down there and seen the receptionist to try and see the finance team and they were all in closings. I left my name and was told someone would contact me. To date (3 weeks later) no one has contacted me. This after I even went on their Chat Line at their website where their chat line person also told me someone would get back with me. I can only assume that Athina S******** has somehow kept all of this from happening due to her not liking me. I know this sounds petty. Because it is petty. But I cannot get anything out of this dealership in order to help either myself or my cosignor from getting our credit report ruined further due to her lack of attention to this matter. I have filed a report with the CO Dept. of Motor Vehicles for misrepresenting or neglecting to disclose or prepare documentation required by law to me with regard to the vehicle within a reasonable length of time of the incident which occurred on 10/19/15. Michael Shelleman, my salesperson there , is the only person who has responded to me at all. He has no way of providing the paperwork though.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to send me the documents by email so that I may sign whatever is needed so that I may file them direct with the Lender (** ********* and Portfolio) and the GAP insurance company/Warranty company so that I can put this to bed.

Business Response: Thank You very much for the feedback on your experience. We are very sorry for any inconvenience we have caused you. We have ask Erin M***** to step in and assist you with your request. As of December 11th we have reached out and got  all of your request in process. If you have any further questions, please let us know. Again thank you for the feedback.

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: So I bought a 2006 ********* ******* at Markley motors for 21k the it supposedly it passed emissions I got a the confirmed pass from them mailed to me. 2 years later because diesels 05 and up only needs it every 2 years go to get my emissions done and fail because I have no catalytic convertor and I have not done anything either the exhaust system since I bought it so I go there and talk to a supervisor and they call the place. And they claimed it passed. So Markley essentially called me a liar and refused to do anything about it I don't know if maybe the person that did they initial test maybe didn't see it or that Markley paid them off but either way very unprofessional since it's the 2nd vehicle I've bought from them

Desired Settlement: The fix us roughly 500 dollars so either put a catalytic convertor on it or give me an additional passing exhaust. Also think they should be investigated to see if they are a dirty dealership.

Business Response: We sold the 2006 ********* to ****** ***** in May 2013. We have not seen the ********* for any type of repairs or service for over 2 years. Prior to selling Mr. ***** the pick up, we completed a safety inspection by one of our qualified Used vehicle technicians, and we sent the pick up to Performance Tune repair shop to have the emission certification performed. ( They are a state certified diesel emission shop).  We have the certification slip from the shop that shows it was completed and working as designed by the manufacture, and  state requirements. We have no influence of passing or failing, it is simply by the results of the test.   We offered to help with acquiring any possible discounts to help with the cost. We have been in business for over 78 years and are very proud of our reputation in the community. If Mr ***** chooses to accept our help with trying to get a discounted rate, I would be happy to assist. 

6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 12th my husband and I went to Markley Motors to look at vehicles. We fell in love with a Honda Odyssey and having never bought a new car we were ecstatic to make this our first! Our salesperson was awesome and everything seemed smooth! We decided to purchase and were elated to upgrade from a smaller vehicle to a van that met our needs! We agreed to put 2,000 dollars down and waited as they worked out the details. The sales person came back and asked if we could do more? We hesitantly agreed that we could put 2,500 down instead. They then came back and said that we had been approved for a 5% interest rate and our payment was where we wanted it. So we signed the paperwork. We wanted to drive it home that day, but were told that the electrical kit hadn't been hooked up yet and the person who did them was gone for the day! So we came home and cleaned out our car to return the next day. Our salesperson was again wonderful, explained everything and even took a family in photo of our new car. We drove off happy as can be and thrilled to have our new van! 2 days later I get a call from a woman named Athena saying they needed to verify our income. My heart sank! I didn't understand, we had completed everything we were asked and even waited an additional night to pick up the vehicle. My husband called in and was then told that our 5% rate had not been approved and we needed to come back in and reconfigure the terms of the loan. I was devastated! They informed him that 6.24 % was the best they could do! We then went into the dealership to find out how to properly deal with this. We spoke to a gentleman who called in the female finance manager and the fun began. She walked in with a huge attitude as we explained the details of the account. We explained that we loved the van and didn't understand how we had signed the contracts and drove the van off the lot, and financing hadn't been secured. We also let her know that our credit scores had dropped 60 pts a piece and we were angry because if we couldn't afforded the new calculated payment we could no longer buy a car elsewhere due to the 60 pt drop on our credit from all of the inquiries they ran. She smugly questioned my statement about the credit and went in to say that 6.24 % was the best they could do, and that was called in as a personal favor to her. I pulled up my phone to show her that I wasn't bluffing about my credit dropping ( we are paying lawyers to repair our credit) I went to show her and she abrasively informed in her own words, "Thats irrelevant to me!" I was so angry that I had to leave the room as to not cause a scene. She first questioned my integrity about my credit score dropping then shot me down when I proved it to her! I wanted to go wait in the van, but wasn't sure if we even owned it at that point so I stood in the doorway calming down for 10 minutes, while my husband hashed out the details. I came back in a few minutes later and never received an apology but now she was all fake nice. She assured as that nothing dishonest was happening here. We rewrote a check for 2,000 dollars instead of 2,500 hundred for the down payment and she threw in free car washes for 2 years. Our payment went up 40.00 more a month than we wanted and 1700 dollars more over the life of the loan. We left very upset but felt there was nothing we could do. We wanted the van and now our credit had dropped so much we had no chance of getting a vehicle elsewhere. We decided to put it all behind us, and never to do business there again. Not a great experience! They totally lost any future business from us, and we would make sure to steer future customers elsewhere. We have now had the van for 3 weeks and we received another call yesterday informing us that they needed more information to complete the loan. Are you serious! This is just ridiculous!!!! How could they have let us drive away, put 1,700 miles on a new car and then still have the purchase and loan in question! I have never heard of business having such a lack of credibility! I'm considering contacting the media over this! What if they can't secure the loan? Are they going to give us back our trade in? Charge us for the miles we used? Take away our new van? And leave us with out the vehicle we in good faith purchased? I'm beyond furious!!! This has been an appalling experience and I would never do business with this establishment again! I can't believe treating customers with such repugnance is even legal! I'm totally dissatisfied with the ethics of this business! It seems like they took advantage of us and are trying to make more money off the deal! It's highly questionable that they at first dropped 1700 off the car to make it work in our budget, but then found a way to get it back by upping the interest rate!

Desired Settlement: An apology from the finance manager in writing and verbally. Drop down the price and interest rate we were originally promised and repair our credit, since it has now dropped 100 points over this!!!!

Business Response: I have reviewed the complaint filed by Mrs. ****** first off all I would like to express how difficult it is to know we have made someone's new car purchase , less than wonderful.
 We have been in business over 78 years and pride ourselves as an outstanding customer service dealership.  After reviewing Mrs. ******s purchase process I found that while we had followed our process , filled  out all legal documents, however  there was information provided  that was difficult to verify. The end result has been  a dissatisfied customer based on a breakdown of communication. I would like to personally reach out to  Mrs.. ****** to arrange a time to meet and explain each step in detail in an effort to clarify the confusion which resulted in this unfortunate experience. 

Thank You
Carrie B********
C. O. O.

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: our vehicle was damaged Jan. 2015. The responsible insurance company ****** made arrangements with Markley Motors Collision to repair our truck. When we went to get the said vehicle a 2007 GMC 4 door pick up, the damages had not been fixed properly. The paint job (supposedly paint job) looks really bad and a dent had not been taken out. We talked to the young man in charge of fixing said truck and his exact words were, well maybe I missed it. Now the insurance company nor Markley will do anything about it. My question is how could someone in the repair business not see a dent when doing the estimate and when advised on the matter not take care of it. Very disappointed in the workmanship. Didn't sign release papers but did take it back in our possession because of the rental car. They should of fixed the problem. We are the ones that keep people like this in business.

Desired Settlement: we would hope that they would take the truck for 11/2 days and do the job right. we talked to another body shop and they said 300.00 and 11/2 days. we don't want to have to pay this out of pocket.

Business Response: We would be happy to do additional repairs to Mr. ******* Truck, however we have yet to get approval from the insurance company involved to do any additional repairs. The truck has several dents and chips in the paint, and we would be happy to repair any of them for Mr ******, we just need approval from the party that is going to pay for the repairs. Let us know how we can help in the future.

2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $579.29 for $30K servicing and all recommended work at that time, then after driving 1,439 miles since servicing. I had an emission test Emission Test Failure Wed 21 Jan HC GPM was 1.4627 – 22% over limit, and a CO GPM failure Markley Repair Sat 24 Jan $606.92 for replacing Coolant Temp Sensor and Thermostat Brought car in on Fri morning at 7:15AM, they tell me they need to keep car overnight, so my wife spends 1.5hours driving to bring me home on Friday night and taking me back to pickup car on Saturday. Emission Test Failure Mon 26 Jan HC GPM was 1.9484, limit is 1.2 – 63% over limit, has gotten 41% worse, CO GPM failure was fixed Markley Repair Thr 29 Jan $319.75 for new Catalytic Converter Brought car in on Wed morning at 7:15AM, they tell me they need to keep car overnight, so my wife spends another hour, picking me up from work and bringing me back the next morning. Emission Test Failure Thr 29 Jan HC GPM was 1.8559, limit is 1.2 – 55% over limit – 12% improvement I spend another hour driving there and back and pay another $25 for test.

Desired Settlement: Reimburse me for the part of the repair cost.

Business Response: We are in the process of reviewing your request. Could you please provide a breakdown for the request of a refund of $460.00.
Thank You

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I am simply asking to be reimbursed for half of the repair costs.  After completing the 30K servicing, I brought the car to Markley's for servicing twice.  After both times it was serviced it failed emissions testing again.  After the last emissions test the ***** ******* ***************** ********** ** *******/"Air" Program did a Vehicle Evaluation with the conclusion that the car likely has bad valve guides and need an engine overhaul/rebuild/new engine.  The cost to do this would likely exceed the vehicle's value.  If Markley's had informed me of that total extent of repairs before any were performed, I would have undertaken none of them.  The technician there told me the indications for the need of an engine overhaul/rebuild/new engine were there before any repairs were undertaken.

I have attached all the emission test reports and the vehicle evaluations, you already have the repair details.

Regards,

**** *****

Business Response:

Thank You for the explanation. I just wanted to gather enough information, so I could make a fair decision. It is so difficult when it comes to repairing a vehicle when it exceeds 200,000 miles. Where do you start and where do you stop with the repairs.
Markley Motors is a very fair company and we will be happy to split the cost of the repairs with you, and refund the $460.00 you have requested. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me at your convenience.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   How and when should I expect the refund?

Regards,

**** *****

Business Response: We mailed the refund check 02/18/2015.  Thank You for your time and feedback in this matter. If you have any further questions please call me.
Thanks
***** ***** *** *** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *****

1/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2007 ****** *** at Markley Motors in January of 2013 for approximately $8,466.69 with $1,000 down. Markley showed me one ****** report for the vehicle. The report showed two previous owners and no accidents - a clean ******. Recently, I went into *********** ****** to test drive a new car. They appraised the ****** for me to use as a trade in. The manager came back with the news they found two different VIN numbers. One on the dashboard and the other on the driver's side door. The dash VIN returned the same ****** report I saw from Markley, but the door VIN shows it came from a salvaged vehicle. Apparently, the door had been replaced at some point. I asked if they were still interested in taking the car as a trade in and the answer was no. He told me they began checking both the door and dashboard VINs because they have been "burned" by this trick a few times before. On Monday, December 1st, I called Markley Motors to speak with the General Manager ***** *******, but was told he was out sick that day. I called back to talk to the Used Car Manager, **** ******** and left a voicemail. He returned my call about an hour later. I told him of the situation and he told me that this was standard body shop behavior - to replace a door from salvage and leave the VIN sticker on it. I expressed how upset I was by this especially since I tried to trade it in and was rejected. He said that just because someone else wouldn't buy the car doesn't mean that he wouldn't and that I should bring the car in and use it as a trade in. I told him Markley Motors didn't have a vehicle I'm interested in and feel reluctant to do business with them again. I asked if he would give me the payoff value ($4,800) as a trade in. He said chances are they wouldn't. I re-iterated to him that all he's willing to do to rectify the situation is to consider the car as a trade in? He asked me what did I propose. I told him I would consider taking the payoff value for the car and he said he could "pretty much guarantee that that isn't going to happen." I told him I would see what my attorney and I could make happen. he said, "Okay." I feel like the vehicle was misrepresented by Markley for the price. I bought the car for $8,466.69 with the understanding it had a clear ****** report. Knowing what I know now, I would not have purchased the car for that amount. I also don't think Markley could have/would have sold it for that price had they presented both ****** reports. I still owe $4,809.37, but feel like it is now far below that in value. I was hoping to be able to sell the car for it's pay off value and break even, but now I find myself in the position to neither be able to use the vehicle as a trade-in nor confidently and honestly sell the car at its pay off value to a private buyer due to its recently discovered history. I feel like I've been duped. It's my understanding car dealerships have to disclose all information they have on a vehicle. If Markley knew and didn't disclose, I think it's fraud. If they honestly didn't know, I still feel they should help me get out of a surely losing situation instead of their offer of "allowing" me to trade in the car at a severely reduced value.

Desired Settlement: I would like Markley Motors to pay off the remainder of the loan in the amount of $4,809.37. This would mean I paid $ $3,657.32 for the vehicle; a price more appropriate to it's true value knowing the actual history of the car.

Business Response:

 We have reviewed the request presented to us with ***** *******, our General Manager.  Markley Motors will be happy to assist ******* with his request. We would be happy have ******* trade his vehicle in to Markley Motors, in return we will apply $4800.00 towards the purchase of any of our used cars. 
  We make this offer in the spirit of goodwill, and hope we can be of assistance in the future.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
While I appreciate the offer, I have already purchased a new vehicle and do not need to trade in the ****** on another vehicle. In my own spirit of goodwill, I would be happy if Markley Motors wrote me a check in the amount of $4,500 and in return I will give them the ****** to do with what they wish.

Regards,

******* **************

Business Response:

We are very sorry for any inconvenience.  We are willing to purchase ********* ****** *** at his requested price of $4500.
If this offer is acceptable please respond, and we will start the purchase process.
***** *****  *** *** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ********-******

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 22nd, I brought in my 2003 Honda Hybrid for an oil change and a multi-point inspection. I assume they also did a standard computer diagnostic. Both before and after this visit, my engine was running perfectly. I was told that the front crank seal gasket was leaking and needed replacement, and that the car needed a front-end alignment, both of which were NOT a surprise to me. Since the gasket needed to be ordered, I picked up my car, paid my bill, and waited for a call from them that the gasket was in. I scheduled the gasket replacement and alignment, and brought my car back in on June 13th. At this time, my engine was STILL running perfectly. They did the work requested (for a reasonable $444), and I picked my car up the same day. The engine behaved itself for a week, until the very first time I took it on the Interstate, and at a speed over 45mph. Suddenly the car will not accelerate properly, it behaves 'jerkily', and the hybrid charging system drops down to zero. It’s Friday evening, so I exit the highway, and nurse my car home. It is sort of okay when under 40mph, but behaves just as poorly when I need to drive uphill - again, no acceleration, and very jerky. Once home, I disconnect the battery for a few minutes, hoping that a 'reset' of the computer and any sensors might resolve the problem. Nope, on Monday morning, the car still has the same problems when going uphill, so I drive straight back to Markley. They're unable to get the car in for service until Tuesday - not a surprise since I did not have an appointment. NOW my complaint! On Tuesday they claim that the valves are 'loose', that this is a new problem that has absolutely no relation to the work they did on my engine only a week ago, and that it will cost me an additional $300 to have my valves adjusted. The onboard computer is now reporting all sorts of valve issues and mis-firings. I am quite sure the tech has done something wrong - a damaged or unconnected sensor, an on-board computer problem, or some portion of the Hybrid or emission equipment that was incorrectly reconnected. Markley claims otherwise. IF I had been told after the May 22nd check-up that there was an engine/valve problem, I would have believed them. If I had been told during the June 13th Gasket replacement that there was an engine/valve problem, I would have probably still believed them. I absolutely do NOT believe that my car suddenly developed engine problems a mere 7 DAYS after they worked on my engine - ESPECIALLY since this is the second time that I've hired Markley to fix a major mechanical problem on my car, and the second time that some other 'apparently' unrelated system coincidently failed only a few days later. At best, the Markley tech is incompetent or not properly trained to work on an older Honda Hybrid. At worst, Markley has one or more crooks working for them. And - clearly - Markley does NOT stand by their service. I am a small business owner who sells and repairs computers. We have NEVER had a BBB complaint - why? Because when a customer complains, we actually DO stand behind our work! To those that read this, the local ****** dealer, their biggest competitor, only as 2 BBB service complaints in the last 3 years.

Desired Settlement: The second repair has ended up costing $253 – ALL of it in labor. I want my $253 back!

Business Response: Thank You very much for providing us with your feedback on your recent service visit.  We have been in business in Fort Collins for 78 years and we are very proud of our reputation of being a very fair business, and a strong supporter in our community. We do not feel we did anything incorrect, however in the idea of goodwill and protecting our reputation as being fair, we will send you a refund for the valve adjustment.

6/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter and I bought a car for her from ******* Motors a few weeks ago. She was told that she qualified for their new grad program and ******* sent her an e-mail stating the following: "On top of your Internet Discount, you can choose from 0.9% for 60 months or an attractive lease option. Price is good through the Internet Department, ask for Thomas Rowe.” There were no caveats on the interest rate. Verbally, my daughter was also told that she would get 0.9% interest. The next day we went in to buy. There was backpedaling all around. eventually they told her she would not get the 0.9% interest rate because she did not qualify. They threw in some floor mats and oil changes and I thought that was the end of the problem. Then I was talking to a friend of mine who related a very similar experience at ******* 5 years ago. Now I'm thinking it's a deceptive sales practice. So I sent a letter to the head of the finance dept about the problem and her response said that they "did not promise 0.9%" which I find troubling. If they offer me a choice without caveats and then renege on the choice, they have broken a promise in my opinion.

Desired Settlement: In my last e-mail (around a week ago), I stated: "I'm not interested in a long correspondence on this whole thing and I'm sure you're not either. I'm not looking for financial compensation. We agreed to the deal even after the 0.9% financing was pulled off the table. But I would ask you to change the wording on your E-Z Price Quote e-mails to clarify that qualification is required. This seems like a very simple change you can make that would at least address the issue for future customers. An apology for the misleading e-mail would also be very appreciated." Since sending this e-mail on June 6th, I have heard no response.

Business Response: ***** ***** ***** ************************** *** ***** ***** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** ** ******** **** ****** 

*****
 
   After discussing this matter with ****** ******** (our Chief Operating Office), and **** *******, we agree with Mr. ************ complaint. The fact that credit approval requirements  are necessary,  and was not disclosed in our E-Z Price quote. We did not do this intentionally , but shame on us for leaving this out. We want you to know this issue has been corrected, and we hope Mr. ****** will accept our apology and we thank him for bringing this to our attention.

***** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to Markley Honda in Fort Collins to repair a leaking gasket and repair a tire with a nail in it. I also asked them to take a look at the brakes. I let them know that I had just had the master cylinder replaced and that I was sure at this point that was not the problem. I contacted them exactly a week later still waiting for an estimate. Left a message for the service manager. Call was returned by someone in the body department to discuss a different complaint about a different vehicle. I was contacted later that day with an estimate that was not complete. After explaining that not having my car for this long was a major problem I was then told to rent a car through enterprise at their expense. Every time I spoke I was cut off and treated like nothing I had to say was important enough for them to listen to. The next week they call me to complain that I didn't supply them with the key to my hubcaps. I tell two different people at two different times that it is in the glove box. The next morning I was contacted and told that my vehicle was ready. I go in and pay my (unapproved) invoice of $1249.00. Leave the dealership, then notice the nail is still sticking out of the same tire.Look at my invoice to find that I was charged for an entire new tire. I return to the dealership, very upset. They did not believe that the nail was still there and that they had not fixed it and made me show them. The manager walks around my car and doesn't say a word. Someone else comes out to say I never provided the hubcap key and that is why it wasn't fixed. I open the glove box and hand them the key. They replace the tire. I drive the car and the brakes are horrible. They replaced only the master cylinder. I contact the owners (daughter) and she offers to have them "try again". I speak directly with *****, the mechanic and explain in great detail that the problem started in the back brakes. He replaces the front. ***** ***** then calls me a liar and accuses me of not having the $157 due for front breaks

Desired Settlement: I want an apology for how I was treated and a refund for ATLEAST the master cylinder

Business Response: Response to complaint ID *******
 
We are very sorry for the confusion during the repairs.  We did not have the necessary tools to work on a 1997 Lexus, so we had to have an independent repair shop complete the repairs, which added to the extra days, and some of the confusion during the repairs. I have spoke to the person who completed the repairs, and he explained to me all of the work he performed on the Lexus, and with 256.000 miles, there was several additional items he had to perform, just because of time and mileage on the vehicle. That is why I was so surprised when the owner was so upset over the price of $157.00 for replacing the front brakes, and rotors. In my opinion the price was much more than fair. The repair person also explained why he replaced the master cylinder in the first visit. Even though it was a previously replaced part, he could feel the pressure passing through the brake pedal and had to replace the master cylinder and bleed the entire brake system. Again we are very sorry for the confusion during the repair, and in the spirit of goodwill we will offer to reimburse the owner $241.00 for the master cylinder.  
 
***** *****
Fixed Operations Manager  

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 extended cab with only 14,000 miles. However, before even driving it off the lot I realized that the USB was not working. The salesman told me to bring it in the next day and they would fix it. But, this speed bump exploited into a grave problem. I found out that I purchased a 2011 GMC Sierra with a 2006 Buick navagation system that did sync together with many facets of the car. Furthermore, I paid for a 2011 GMC navagation unit which was complimented with a Bose surround sound system and a USB connection( which increased the value of the vehicle) to stream music via an iPhone. But, all of those components which were implemented into the vehicle's total price were not functioning. The 2006 Buick navagation system did not comply with the Bose surround sound,projecting a distorted sound from the speakers. I have been a customer with markley motors for almost two years, providing them with ample business by purchasing two vehicles. These issues described above could have been addressed painlessly. However, the result was completely opposing. The sales manager (*****) was very unpleasant, concocting terrible customer service and compulsions that had a profound influence on Markley Motors entirety. Also, ***** debated everything that I said and did not have the patience to hear me out. Overall, Markley Motors lossed my respect and business due to one person(*****) that made my life a nightmare. I have just recently had to pay 650 dollars to get the correct navagation unit in my vehicle for every component to sinc together. I believe that if a business cannot alleviate a problem like this, than what can they do to provide effecient customer service? Product_Or_Service: 2011 GMC navagation unit

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to get my money back (650.00 dollars) and speak to the person above the sales manager (*****).

Business Response:

We have contacted Mr. **** and he explained his concern. We have agreed to refund his money for the upgrade on his Naviigation system. He is very happy with our resolution.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Markley Motors Inc
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart