BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Elk Mountain Motors?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elk Mountain Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elk Mountain Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Elk Mountain Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 02, 1999 Business started: 08/01/1997 Business started locally: 08/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Business Management
Mr. Joel Towbin, Owner Ms. Anita Fulbright, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joel Towbin, Owner
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Future Vision of Aspen Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Elk Mountain Motors has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 100 Riverine Rd

    Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 (970) 945-6591 (970) 945-5200

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (970) 945-5200(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into Elk Mountain Motors to look into buying a vehicle. There was a 2011 truck there that i was interested in. I had forgotten some information at home that i needed to trade my current vehicle in. after talking with the sales manager i was able to bring the truck home that night as a test drive of sorts. In order to do this i gave them my credit card number to hold onto for security reasons. The next morning i got called out of town to work (i am on a traveling work crew) so i returned the truck to the lot, and informed them that i could not go through with the transaction. Two days later my credit card was charged $500. After contacting the sales manager several times has refused to refund my money until i make it into the dealership. After explaining that I can't do that because i am not area and don't know when i will be he went on accusing me of not being truthful of my situation and ruining his sell. $500 is a lot and i feel like i have been taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund and corrective actions be taken.

Business Response: December 26, 2013
**** ****** ** ******* ********** * ********** *** ****** ******** ****** **** * ****** ** ** *** *** **** ******** ** *****
****,

This letter is in response to complaint *******. In response to this complaint, I have contacted the 

customer and immediately issued a refund of deposit. I apologize for the inconvenience it created and 

had a nice discussion with the customer. I believe it had a positive outcome & allowed me to make 

corrective actions to our refund processes in house. 

Best regards,

**** *******

General Manager

Elk Mountain Motors

jsteinke@elkmtnmotors.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wheel studs nearly resulted in wheel falling off of car. I purchased a brand new 2002 VW Passat W8 from Elk Mountain Motors. The vehicle subsequently spent weeks in the dealership for problems they were unable to repair completely. All service on this vehicle has been done by Elk Mountain Motors' repair department. A 10-year old vehicle with 70-thousand miles. Why? It's been in service more than it's been on the road. The service records are available for review (and should be by the dealership's owner and management). The latest debacle was that the car was in for an oil change. Elk Mountain also performed a brake pad replacement and wheel rotation. A noise was noticed a week after the service. Two of the directional tires were installed backwards. One of the wheels (the noise) was coming loose. One lug nut was stripped and laying inside the hub cap. One was holding the wheel on. Two others (not stripped) were laying inside the hubcap. This lack of attention to detail puts people's lives at risk. Had the wheel fallen off (the likely next progression), the loss of control could have caused a catastrophic accident.

Desired Settlement: I would like a written letter of apology from Elk Mountain Motors regarding their inferior service work over the last 10-years. This vehicle was the most expensive on their lot (even today). I've spent nearly the purchase price at Elk Mountain in repairs on the same vehicle. My customer loyalty has been rewarded with workmanship that has been inferior for a decade. Negligent is probably a more appropriate description.

Business Response: Mr. ******* **********
** *** **** V*** *** *****

BBB **mplaint Case #  ********

In response to your BBB request for an apology letter. 

Dear Mr. ********** I wish to apologize for the poor quality of work you received from us on this last service visit. This was a serious mistake on our part. Thankfully there wasn’t any damage due to this mistake by my technician.
The action and the change in procedure we have taken with all of our employees to a second check system. This means on every car when the wheels are removed and reinstalled, The Technician will be required to recheck the lug bolts a second time after the car is lowered to the ground.
Our response to your first phone call to ***** ***** in service was, ***** had arranged for a towing company to deliver a loaner car from our dealership to you in ******* **. then bring your vehicle back to ******** *******. After we received your car and we made the necessary repairs we of course arranged an exchange back to you. ***** has also provided you with a card for a free oil change as part of our apology’s.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. On behalf of Elk Mountain Motors we promise to provide you with better service in the future. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.

***** ********
Elk Mountain Motors
Parts & Service Director
************** 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: snapped timing belt after being assured car was in proper working condition by Elk Mountains General Manager one year ago i bought a 2005 VW GTI. a while after purchasing the car i took if to my mechanic, a certified Volkswagen mechanic, for routine maintenance when he told me to look into when the timing belt was last done. i went into Elk Mountain and confronted their service department, where the told me that it should have been take care of at 75,000mi, (i purchased the car with around 80,000mi) and would look into it; here starts the run-around. after 3 months of "phone tag" with the service department i finally got a direct number for the General Manager, ******, it than took another month to speak with him directly, after leaving numerous messages. he had agreed to talk in person. once i arrived at the pre-owned dealer ship, i told the salesmen that i was there to see ******, i than waited in the lobby for 30 minutes; i shook his hand and explained my case...he took my key and said he was going to have a mechanic take a look at the timing belt, another 30 minutes goes by and the car didn't move nor did anyone look at it... ****** comes out of his office with a piece of paper and my key; he then explains to me what they go over when a car comes in and why they didn't do the timing belt; he then assured me that the car was fine. after telling him that the mechanics in their service department and my personal mechanic told me that the timing belt should have been changed at 75,000mi. he continued to tell me that it was fine, but he shared my concern and would put together a quote that would help with the cost of a new timing belt at dealer cost and email it to me.. a week goes by and no word i continued to call for the next month leaving messages... i gave up. July of this year while driving down Highway 82 my timing belt snapped i had the car towed to my mechanic to confirm the problem the belt tensioner had seized snapping the timing belt which is something that cannot be visually inspected and is the reason this should have been changed at 75,000mi, the cylinder head cracks and the valves bend, i am now looking at a 6000 dollar repair on top of the loan that i am still paying for.

Desired Settlement: all i would like is to get rid of the car and the loan that it carries, without taking a hit on my credit. no refund no replacement. a simple repair and accountability could have gone a long way. all i wanted was a little help from the dealership and all i got was a cold shoulder. for all i care they can have their broken car back. thank you!

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2012/10/31) */ Contact Name and Title: ************** Service Di Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@elkmtnmotors.com In responce to ****** ****** complaint: On 11/29/2011 ****** came in and met with *************. and voiced his concerns on the timming belt.***** then talked with ************* the service manager about when the timming belt should have be replaced as well as if he could tell if the belt had been replaced. **** printed out the VW service Guide that shows recommended replacement at 105,000 miles. inspections of the belt at 60,000 80,000 and 100,000. the inspection is to check for signs of the belt only for cracking or fraying.**** then told ***** there was no way we could tell if this had been replaced at this time.***** asked for an estimate on the replacement of the timming belt and all other components involved.***** then gave ****** a copy with a reduced price on the timmimg belt to him signed and dated with a copy put into the car deal file. I have attached copies for you to review. Our normal price for this service would have been $1346.95 and we offered it to ****** at a reduced price of $673.48 ****** never returned to us to have this done. ****** purchased a used car from us and it was sold AS IS with all faults. This was disclosed on the buyers order that ****** signed at the time of sale. He also declined the extended warranty that was offered While we understand ******'s frustration with his current situation, we feel that we addressed his concerns when we offered him a substantially discounted timing belt service in November of last year. We had received no further comunication from ****** regarding this matter until he filed this complaint. Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2012/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, visual inspections of a belt can not tell a mechanic anything about the internal components of an engine and their condition and it's the internal components that are exposed to chemicals like coolant that breakdown things like gaskets and o-rings in-turn cause those components to seize up, in my case it was the water pump and or the belt tensioner both are things that CAN NOT be visually inspected... Secondly, the reason a consumer would even buy a car from a used dealer ship epically one like Volkswagen, is to ensure that they are buying a vehicle that is reliable and mechanically sound NOT one that is going to cost them $6000 to repair a year later, because the dealer was to lazy to do any routine maintenance. I myself pulled and replaced corroded spark plugs, that should have been visually inspected and replaced if necessary, just as a side note... Lastly, ***** had taken down my email and told me that he would send me a quote via email of what it would cost to replace the timing belt and that he was willing to help me out. After that i received NO emails, NO phone calls and NOTHING regarding anything to do with my visit Elk Mountain Motors! this company has by far the worst customer service i have ever experienced and that is why i contacted the BBB. Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2012/11/21) */ Case # XXXXXXXX ****** ****** In Response to the Second Complaint from Mr. ****** While we can certainly sympathize with Mr. ******, the only way to insure that a vehicle will have no parts failure costs is to purchase a new vehicle. New vehicles come with a warranty included because even on brand new cars parts can fail. All of our used vehicles are sold "as is" unless different arrangements are made at the time of sale. Even though no such arrangements were made at the time of sale with Mr. ******, we still offered him a deeply discounted repair when he contacted us 3 months later. It was his choice to continue driving this vehicle and not to make the repairs that had been recommended by "his" mechanic. Any car that is not maintained as recommended will eventually have expensive repairs. As we previously stated on 10/31/2012: Mr. ****** was personally offered a discounted rate for the timing belt service when he came into our dealership on 11/29/2011. This offer was kept on file and was available to any service adviser if ****** would have returned for the service. Finding this offer took me less than 5 minutes to pull for the first response to this complaint. ***** had placed everything in his car deal for us to find. ************* informed Mr. ****** that we could not tell if the timing belt service had been done. ***** also, at that time, offered Mr. ****** the discounted service. Mr. ****** by, his signature, declined an extended warranty on his car at time of purchase. We provided ****** with 2 different options early on in the ownership of his car. The Extended warranty that he declined and a discounted rate on the timing belt service that he was concerned about three months after purchase. I have no record of Mr. ****** ever bringing his car to my service department for any maintenance work or making any response to our offer of a discounted service. Mr. ****** states he takes his car to "his" Volkswagen Mechanic. We cannot be held responsible for his failure to maintain the car. He tells us that he was concerned about the timing belt service but he never followed through with the timing belt replacement with our service department or, apparently, with his Volkswagen Mechanic. Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2012/11/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I had said before; I never received this or any discounted offers other than the automated emails that get sent to anyone that has ever bought a car there. I had called several times and received NO returned calls after talking with *****. also, take note to the email that's on the bottom of the blue sticky note, ***** wrote that down and told me that he would email a discounted quote once he found out what he could do for me; hence the reason i continued to call after i spoke with ***** and NEVER RECEIVED ANYTHING!!! i knew that i was playing with fire while i was driving a car with a defective engine and that it was a matter of time before the timing belt snapped, but when you work full time and attend school full time (paying out of pocket) it's pretty hard to come with a thousand dollars to fix a car that i just paid ten-thousand dollars for. yes the is sold "as is" and this was the first car that i have ever bought from a dealership, if i had known that i was going to get screwed over this hard i would have bought from a private owner and i would have probably gotten a better car. Why it is that you don't have any records of me having the car worked on there is because i have an awesome mechanic who doesn't over charge for any of the work that he has done for me and the day that timing belt snapped i was taking it to him to get it changed out... sense you won't doing anything for me i'm going to rebuild the engine myself and do all the work that your service department should have done. i will always stand by what i said in my previous response, and that is that "ELK MOUNTAIN MOTORS HAS BY FAR THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I HAVE EVER COME ACROSS"?. And i am going to make sure that, that word spreads rapidly.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service