This business is not BBB accredited.

Elk Mountain Motors

Phone: (970) 945-6591 Fax: (970) 384-5344 View Additional Phone Numbers 100 Riverine Rd, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.elkmountainmotors.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elk Mountain Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Elk Mountain Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 02, 1999 Business started: 08/01/1997 Business started locally: 08/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Business Management
Mr. Joel Towbin, Owner Ms. Anita Fulbright, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joel Towbin, Owner
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Repair

Alternate Business Names
Future Vision of Aspen Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Elk Mountain Motors has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Riverine Rd

    Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 (970) 945-6591 (970) 945-5200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into Elk Mountain Motors to look into buying a vehicle. There was a 2011 truck there that i was interested in. I had forgotten some information at home that i needed to trade my current vehicle in. after talking with the sales manager i was able to bring the truck home that night as a test drive of sorts. In order to do this i gave them my credit card number to hold onto for security reasons. The next morning i got called out of town to work (i am on a traveling work crew) so i returned the truck to the lot, and informed them that i could not go through with the transaction. Two days later my credit card was charged $500. After contacting the sales manager several times has refused to refund my money until i make it into the dealership. After explaining that I can't do that because i am not area and don't know when i will be he went on accusing me of not being truthful of my situation and ruining his sell. $500 is a lot and i feel like i have been taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund and corrective actions be taken.

Business Response: December 26, 2013
**** ****** ** ******* ********** * ********** *** ****** ******** ****** **** * ****** ** ** *** *** **** ******** ** *****
****,

This letter is in response to complaint *******. In response to this complaint, I have contacted the 

customer and immediately issued a refund of deposit. I apologize for the inconvenience it created and 

had a nice discussion with the customer. I believe it had a positive outcome & allowed me to make 

corrective actions to our refund processes in house. 

Best regards,

**** *******

General Manager

Elk Mountain Motors

jsteinke@elkmtnmotors.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *************

8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wheel studs nearly resulted in wheel falling off of car. I purchased a brand new 2002 VW Passat W8 from Elk Mountain Motors. The vehicle subsequently spent weeks in the dealership for problems they were unable to repair completely. All service on this vehicle has been done by Elk Mountain Motors' repair department. A 10-year old vehicle with 70-thousand miles. Why? It's been in service more than it's been on the road. The service records are available for review (and should be by the dealership's owner and management). The latest debacle was that the car was in for an oil change. Elk Mountain also performed a brake pad replacement and wheel rotation. A noise was noticed a week after the service. Two of the directional tires were installed backwards. One of the wheels (the noise) was coming loose. One lug nut was stripped and laying inside the hub cap. One was holding the wheel on. Two others (not stripped) were laying inside the hubcap. This lack of attention to detail puts people's lives at risk. Had the wheel fallen off (the likely next progression), the loss of control could have caused a catastrophic accident.

Desired Settlement: I would like a written letter of apology from Elk Mountain Motors regarding their inferior service work over the last 10-years. This vehicle was the most expensive on their lot (even today). I've spent nearly the purchase price at Elk Mountain in repairs on the same vehicle. My customer loyalty has been rewarded with workmanship that has been inferior for a decade. Negligent is probably a more appropriate description.

Business Response: Mr. ******* **********
** *** **** V*** *** *****

BBB **mplaint Case #  ********

In response to your BBB request for an apology letter. 

Dear Mr. ********** I wish to apologize for the poor quality of work you received from us on this last service visit. This was a serious mistake on our part. Thankfully there wasn’t any damage due to this mistake by my technician.
The action and the change in procedure we have taken with all of our employees to a second check system. This means on every car when the wheels are removed and reinstalled, The Technician will be required to recheck the lug bolts a second time after the car is lowered to the ground.
Our response to your first phone call to ***** ***** in service was, ***** had arranged for a towing company to deliver a loaner car from our dealership to you in ******* **. then bring your vehicle back to ******** *******. After we received your car and we made the necessary repairs we of course arranged an exchange back to you. ***** has also provided you with a card for a free oil change as part of our apology’s.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. On behalf of Elk Mountain Motors we promise to provide you with better service in the future. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.

***** ********
Elk Mountain Motors
Parts & Service Director
************** 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Elk Mountain Motors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart