Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ehrlich Toyota/Scion

Phone: (970) 339-3900 Fax: (970) 339-5946 4732 W 26th St, Greeley, CO 80634 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.nocoauto.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Specializing in Toyota new and used car sales, pre-owned sales, service, parts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ehrlich Toyota/Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ehrlich Toyota/Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Ehrlich Toyota/Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1946 in CO Business incorporated 01/01/1999 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Motschall, General Manager Mr. Paul Atkinson, Internet Sales Director Mr. Dan Wilson, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Motschall, General Manager
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Detailing Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair Brake Service Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Car Lubrication Shops Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services

Service Area
Fort Collins, Loveland, Windsor, Wellington, LaPorte, Greeley, Evans, Eaton, Estes Park, Berthoud, Firestone Frederick, Dacono, Platteville, Longmont, Fort Lupton, Kersey, La Salle, Leadville, Winter Park, Fraser, Silverthorne, Frisco, Breckenridge, Eagle, Vail, Edwards, Glenwood, Carbondale, Basalt, Snowmass, Aspen, Fort Morgan, Keensburg, Sterling, Julesburg, Rifle, Palisade, Parachute, Cheyenne, Laramie, Casper, Buffalo, Sheridan, Gillette, Rawlins, Rock Springs, Cody
Alternate Business Names
Ehrlich Automobiles Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ehrlich Toyota/Scion has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4732 W 26th St

    Greeley, CO 80634 (970) 339-3900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Among many other issues we have had with this dealership we kept ignoring them just to be done dealing with them and their unprofessional behavior but today I received a voicemail about needing to meet immediately. When I went to the dealership I had asked about why the new contract only gave me $800 for my trade in when the original contract signed stated $3000 and why none of the services promised on the vehicle I purchased were being done. Nobody at the dealership knew what was going on, much like the entire purchasing period, and told us we just needed to pay the down payment we agreed on. Furious that once again they were using excuses and nobody could give us answers I told them I would give the down payment when I talked with someone who knew what was going on. After leaving the dealership I received an extremely rude phone call from Richard Garcia explaining he didn't have time for this because he was on vacation with his kids and although he admitted to changing the trade in value he said it was too late to do anything about it and threatened to have the vehicle we purchased repossessed if we didn't give the down payment immediately. I am regretting ever going through this dealership!

Desired Settlement: In light of everything that has happened with this dealership from it taking two weeks to actually get the contract together, the services promised not being performed, the trade in value being adjusted without agreement and the rude, unprofessionalism and threatening employees I am requesting an apology from all employees involved as well as the trade in value be changed back to what was or getting my car back in return for your vehicle I purchased.

Business Response: Per **** *******, General Sales Manager:  The customers were in the dealership today (3/09/15) to discuss concerns which have been resolved to customer's satisfaction.  Thank you. 

7/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am on the Do Not Mail list with the Direct Mail Marketing Assocn. I also have it noted, I do not want any credit cards/offers sent through the mail. .. Toyota 47th ave., despite my repeated calls to the dealership to have this junk mail stopped, has ignored my request. I am still receiving deceptive mailings that look like they are coming , in an envelope, from a residential address but, in reality, it is a garish ad/offer to buy a car. The last offer included a pseudo credit card,"Platinum Auto Funding, "with a space, that was blank, for my signature. My name is preprinted on the front of the card. My fear is, if someone else uses the card, they hurt my credit/ identity theft. I have taken the steps to protect myself, and to prevent unsolicited mailings, esp. credit offers. I have called Greeley Toyota. Apparently, Toyota does not use a "cleaner" service, to eliminate addresses that don't want mail, and just sends these mailings out en masse', with no regard for the safety of the consumer.... The latest mailing had the "pseudo official appearance" on the front of the envelope. It had "expedited delivery" on the front of the envelope, mimicking a certified letter notice, green in color... really? If this envelope falls into the wrong hands, and my name is used, I am sunk.

Desired Settlement: 1. I want Toyota to acknowledge their indiscriminate actions, in writing, to me and to the BBB. 2. I want to know when Toyota will engage a "Cleaning service" to reduce unwanted mailings, a "change in store policy." 3. I want Toyota to take me off their mailing list NOW, not 90 days from now. 4. How can this business have an A+ rating, with deceptive mailings?

Business Response: Dear Mr. ******,

Thank you for taking the time to notify the BBB about a recent mailer you received from Ehrlich Toyota and Scion. Without seeing the mailer we can’t be sure what the exact offer is. We use a company that does “bulk” mailings based on zip code, etc. and there is no way to eliminate a specific name/address from this list. These mailers are sent out in a generic, zip code-based format to every address in that parameter; your address is accessible by the public through a variety of sources and your address can be found on the internet, i.e. Google, etc. If your name had been our database, it would have been removed after one of your earlier calls but it would still take a period of time for it to cycle through the deletion process.

I am including a link that will provide you with some information about removing and safeguarding your information from future mailings: https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0262-stopping-unsolicited-mail-phone-calls-and-email. This link also has information about junk mail: http://www.wikihow.com/Get-Rid-of-Junk-Mail

These “credit card” type mailers are not tied to any of your personal or financial information in way. Ehrlich Toyota and Scion has very detailed processes in place to protect the identity of the buyer.

Thank you.

************* 
General Manager

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  As I stated in my initial complaint, I have previously taken steps to reduce junk mail.  I have submitted the necessary information to the Direct Mail Marketing Association, the credit bureaus (regarding the request to stop all credit card offers), and called the business, giving my name and address.  I would expect T/S to submit a "list" to a mail "cleaner" to stop the mail from being put in my mailbox. If Toyota/Scion can't recognize the preferred ... pseudo credit card ad that they sent to me,  then I have no faith that they are/can safeguard my personal information.  Please let me know of the extraordinary efforts you plan to initiate to reduce the mailings to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ehrlich Toyota's service department damaged a part on my vehicle when installing the part. After picking up the vehicle, and paying a pretty penny, I noticed my vehicle was leaking significantly more than before the service they performed. I brought it back to them for inspection and they didn't find the faulty install. I brought it to ***** ****** ****** (55 miles away but very trustworthy) where they found the broken part installed. Ehrlich paid ***** ****** for the install, but when I politely requested reimbursement (not to mention the time this cost- 3 hours roundtrip drive, plus no vehicle for 4 days because of parts order) Ehrlich denied a refund. Bottom line, I paid Ehrlich for a service they did incorrectly and they are unwilling to give my money back. I gave them a chance to correct their wrongs, and have politely requested a refund of the full amount I paid them, but they have no regard for my time and the hassle/safety issues arising from their unprofessional technicians.

Desired Settlement: $1292.36 = Ammount I paid for incorrectly installed service (technician damaged a part on install and another Ehrlich master technician failed to find his coworkers error.)3 hours @ $28/hr personal time = $84(3 hours drive to dealership that corrected their errors.)3 young children's lives safe on road now = pricelessTotal: $1376.36

Business Response:

Per **** *********, General Manager of Ehrlich Toyota and Scion, and *** *****, Service Dept. Manager, the customer's request for reimbursement is being denied.  Please see the attachment for copies of repair orders, a copy of our check to ***** ****** ****** and Mr. ****** response to an email from the customer - Mr. ***** declined the customer's request i dated Dec. 28, 2013 stating "It is my position that we paid to have the concerns corrected that our workmanship caused, in full.  The oil leaks that we fixed were not leaking after the repairs were performed." Thank you.

11/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am contacting you at this time because I would like to submit an official complaint against ******* Toyota and Scion Dealership (ETSD) in Greeley, Colorado who is located at 4732 West 26th Greeley, CO 80634. It is my wifes (********* ** ******) and my (****** ** ******) strong belief that this dealership intentionally; A) gave a false odometer statement on their ****** report, on multiple advertizing websites, and on their own official used car website, and B) published and circulated advertising that was misleading and inaccurate. On September 19, 2013 ETSD placed a 2012 Toyota Prius C Two on sale. The VIN number of said vehicle is *****************. This car was listed for sale to ****** and was reported as having 19,088 miles on the odometer. Furthermore, it was reported to ****** that this vehicle included a Toyota used car certification with a 12-month/12-mile comprehensive warranty, a 174-point quality assurance program, and a 8-year/100,000 mile factory hybrid warranty. Pursuant to the publication of this information to ******, ETSD advertised on their official website and ******** the same information found on the ****** report and the included links to said document. Moreover, on neither the ****** report nor any of their advertisements did ETSD mention that hail damage had occurred to the aforementioned Toyota Prius. According to multiple news sources, the severe hailstorm, that affected multiple dealerships and homes in Greeley, Colorado, occurred on August 3, 2013. Following this date, ETSD made three separate reports to ****** on September 20th, September 12th, and September 19th of 2013, none of which disclosed hail damage to the vehicle (from our understanding this is an illegal act). From June 11th, 2013 until September 19th, 2013 ETSD reported consistent mileage increments in the 19,000 mile range. In other words, their odometer reports were steady. This indicates that it was not simply a onetime accident. On September 23, 2013 I found vehicle ***************** listed on ********, ETSDs official website, and on ******. The advertised car was listed as described above on all sources. After thoroughly reviewing these advertisements, I contacted ETSDs online dealer, **** *******. Through e-mail, he and I agreed on a 15,000 dollar price before taxes and fees. Once it became evident that I was highly interested in the car, **** ******* gradually revealed new information about the car that compromised and diminished the integrity of their multiple advertisements and their ****** report. On September 24th, 2013 **** informed me this vehicle had obtained hail damage. The following day on September 25th, 2013**** informed me that the car would not be Toyota certified and that it would not include the warranties. On September 26th, 2013, my wife and I were reviewing the photos that **** had personally sent us on September 25th, to illustrate the hail damage, and we took a closer look at the odometer and noticed that the millage was actually 24,728 miles. Somehow in a weeks time nearly 6,000 miles had been placed on the car. In my wifes and my opinion, these three highly important facts about the vehicle were intentionally omitted from the advertisements and the ****** report in an effort to bait and lure consumers/car buyers. Additionally, we are of the opinion that ETSD intentionally misrepresented the millage on the odometer (once again, we believe this is an illegal act). Concerning our response to these misrepresentations, we were unsure how to respond and react. I have little knowledge of how dealerships run. Initially, we were understanding of ETSDs first two misrepresentations/ mistakes (i.e. the hail damage and the warranties). **** sympathetically explained that they were mistakes. The hail damage wasnt the biggest issue initially for us due to the low price of the car. We recognize that hail damage can easily decrease the value of a car. However, the loss of an important Toyota certification along with its warranties was highly disappointing. This is the primary reason we were interested in the car and even backed out of another exceptional deal with the ******* ********* Dealership in ***********, Colorado. When we were confronted with the third misrepresentation (i.e. the additional 6,000 miles on the odometer), the misrepresentations began to appear intentional to us. After realizing that ETSD was advertising 19,000 miles and trying to hide the fact that the car really had 24,000 miles, I, ******, immediately contacted **** and expressed our concerns of these misrepresentations and false advertisements on the night of September 27, 2013. I urged **** to have ETSD stop misleading us and told him that we demanded that ETSD provided us with the Toyota certification that was advertised or some other form of extended warranties at their expense. Since it was so late, we were not able to get an immediate response. My wife and I decided to drive to the dealership the following morning and meet with **** at 8:45 AM, as we agreed upon, to purchase the car. On our way to ETSD, **** and I texted each other back and forth regarding my final e-mails, and we attempted to come up with a resolution. Ultimately, I told him that warranties had to be included. He was going to back out. I told him I would report him. Then he told us to come on in, giving us the impression that they would provide us with the warranties at their expense as advertised. We arrived. No warranties were extended. We were told they would not give us additional warranties at their expense.Regarding warranties, the only option they provided us with was a warranty at cost for 1,600 dollars. We wanted our investment protected. I am a graduate student at CU Boulder and my income is very meager. Moreover, my wife and I have four children. This was a huge investment for us, so we purchased the warranty as well. Now you may be asking yourself, why buy the car then? Why do business with this dealership? Why buy the war

Desired Settlement: We would like this dealership to fulfill their false advertisement and false report to ****** and provide us with a warranty at their cost. The warranties were suppose to be included.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

                                                            Re: BBB Complaint #*******

                                                                   ****** and ********* ******

                                                           

It seems that there would be many points to respond to due to the length of the complaint from Mr. ******.  However, we believe it comes down to one item.  At the time of signing of the paperwork by ****** ****** all of the information that was inaccurate had been clarified and ****** was fully aware of all issues that he was concerned with. A copy of the hail damage disclosure is attached. At that point, if he was uncomfortable with the purchase he should not have completed the purchase. 

Regarding the extended warranty – this policy can be cancelled by Mr. ****** at any time.  The prorated cancellation funds would be sent to his lienholder to apply to the loan principal. 

Erhlich Toyota and Scion is a full disclosure dealership and the customer was made fully aware of all hail damage, etc. 

J*** ** ********* **

General Manager

******* *******

Sales Manager

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Your response to my complaint makes it clear how you run your day to day business. You don’t pay attention to the important details and you solely focus on how to quickly sell a product and make a buck. Your customers are less important than your income. You are the type of dealership that gives dealerships a bad name. In order to sell your product you have no problem lying about the facts and breaking the law. Yes, if you had not noticed, you have broken the law. If you had paid close attention to my e-mail, you would have realized that I am attempting to achieve much more than recuperate the included warranties you advertized and denied me; even though, it would be much appreciated if you live up to your advertisements. What I am doing here is attempting to illustrate to consumers and the BBB that you create false advertisements to bait and hook individuals, so that you can later reveal the truth as the deal comes to a close. You false advertise and you make false odometer reports. You are dishonest in your dealings. My complaint cannot just be summarized in Mr. ****** knew what he was getting into and too bad for him, especially when you did not make an effort to show me the extent of the hail damage. I would encourage you to actually read my initial complaint, think about it, ponder it, realize what you did, and try to understand my perspective. If you were indeed a good business who cared about your customers, you would try to make things rights. You would try to recognize your wrong doings (false advertisement and false reports), and fix your mistakes. You would live up to your word. You wouldn’t take advantage of a low-income graduate student with several children who made a huge investment in your business.  


Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

October 18, 2013

Re:  Complaint #*******

       ****** ****** 2012 Toyota Prius c purchase

Ehrlich Toyota and Scion response to the customer’s rejection of our response to his complaint:

Per Mr. ******’s own admission at the time that the vehicle purchase was completed all of the items that he had questions or concerns about had been clarified.  With the number of vehicles that we have in our inventory and the number of people involved with the day-to-day management of those vehicles mistakes can be made.  Because of this, our website includes a disclaimer that the information included therein may or may not be accurate at any given time.  Mr. **** *******, who was the sales person you worked with during this transaction, wiped the vehicle down during the rainstorm so that you would have a better look at the vehicle – you signed a hail damage disclosure that states “I hereby acknowledge the dealer disclosed to me before I agreed to delivery of the vehicle, that it has been altered as follows:  Hail Damage:   Not repaired, SOLD AS IS.  I acknowledge that the alteration(s) were disclosed to me and I accept delivery.”  We feel that we did our due diligence in making sure that you entered into the legal contract to purchase this vehicle with all the available information.  If you were uncomfortable with the vehicle you should not have purchased it.  As stated in our earlier response the customer may cancel the extended warranty at any time and the prorated funds will be forwarded to the lienholder to apply to loan principal.

 

Thank you.

**** *******

Sales Manager

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Not all questions and concerns were clarified. That is the point. **** ******* never revealed the extent of the hail damage and intentionally lied about it on several ocassions through e-mail and over the phone. My wife and myself are whiteness to this. While he did wipe down the water off the roof of the car, he never made and effort to show the damage on ALL the other panels. Through e-mail and over the phone, he said it was only on the roof and on the hood of the car. He said it many times. Due to this, we believed his word. Since it was raining the day we got the car, we could not see the other panels. Hail damage is very difficult to see in dim light and in the rain. It was ****** job as a dealer to tell the TRUTH and reveal ALL damage. Regarding your false advertisement, you didn't just do it on your website. You did it on MANY websites and you made multiple false reports to ****** about the millage of the car. One or two mistake is understandable, but you made MANY consistent ones that speaks to your true intentions as a dealership. Again, false advertisement is illegal. I feel you did not do your due diligence. I feel that as a serious and upright dealership as you clearly claim to be, you should fix your mistakes. I will only accept one of the follow two options; 1) you give me the warranties at your cost as you advertised on multiple websites, or 2) you give me a full refund and I return the car.

Regards,

****** ******


6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2009 Toyota Avalon sold to us as certified used car, purchased extended warranty. 2 years after purchase, paint began flaking off rear door Paint began flaking off right rear passenger door 2 years after purchase. Two experts, ******* **** **** and ***** **** ***** Store both stated that the door had been damaged and poorly repaired. Door paint is slightly different from rest of car. Took car to Ehrlich who refused to offer anny explanation or repair assistance at all

Desired Settlement: repair and repaint the door.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/05/28) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ************ Contact Phone: 970.347.2716 Contact Email: ******@erhlichmotors.com Per **** *********, Ehrlich Toyota and Scion General Manager: Ehrlich Toyota and Scion sold this vehicle to Mr. ******** on Sept. 18, 2010 as a Toyota Certified Used Vehicle with 41,716 miles. At the time of purchase the customer received a copy of the CarFax which does not indicate any previous body work. After reviewing the repair history there has been only one instance of the customer requesting a tube of touch up paint in December, 2010. The dealer cannot control what happened on a pre-owned vehicle - Ehrlich Toyota and Scion has never painted this vehicle. Since purchasing the Avalon Mr. ******** has had the car in our Service Department multiple times - the Assistant Service Managers have indicated right side door dings on the walk around inspection forms; Mr. ******** has signed these forms acknowledging the dings. Mr. ******** is just now, 2 ½ years after purchase, making an issue of flaking paint - it is an unreasonable expectation from the customer to demand assistance at this point. IF the flaking paint issues had been addressed within the first several months of ownership the dealership most likely would have participated in goodwill assistance to repair the vehicle. The customer has put 40,000 miles on the car since purchase. Mr. ******** spoke with one of our sales staff about this matter; the sales person then presented the customer's request to the General Manager and also the Inventory Manager who declined to participate in repainting the door. We can, however, recommend a body shop that would allow the customer to use our dealer discount. Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not receive a copy of a carfax when I purchased the car! At no time did any Ehrlich service employee dis cuss any "dings" with me. In any case this is NOT a ding. It is a smooth surface where the paint is peeling off. Also it was pointed out that on inspection by a paint specialist, a body shop and your own salesman that on close inspection the door did not match the rest of the car. If you perform a many point inspection to "certify" a car how did you miss that? The reason it took time to complain is that the paint began peeling about 3 months ago. Your response is unacceptable. Business Response /* (-10, 14, 2013/05/31) */ copy of CarFax is attached - no damage is disclosed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Ehrlich Toyota/Scion
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart