BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Dellenbach Motors?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dellenbach Motors

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 226-2438 Fax: (970) 226-0233 View Additional Phone Numbers 3111 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.dellenbach.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dellenbach Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dellenbach Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dellenbach Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1983 Business started: 09/01/1965 Business incorporated: 06/10/1971 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Dellenbach, General Manager Mr. R. Michael Dellenbach, President Ms. Carol Arceneaux, Business Management Mr. Steve Dellenbach, Vice President Mr. Marty Emge, Service Manager Mr. Jerry Ludens, Parts Ms. Carol Murch, A/P Clerk
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Dellenbach, General Manager
Principal: Mr. R. Michael Dellenbach, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Steve Dellenbach, Vice President
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Parts & Supplies - New Storage Battery Retailers Clutch Suppliers Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Car Alternator and Generator Repair Stations Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Car Lubrication Shops Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Auto Transmission Suppliers Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Battery Supply Companies

Alternate Business Names
Dellenbach Cadillac Dellenbach Chevrolet Inc Dellenbach Subaru
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 125 W Swallow Rd

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 3103 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 3111 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 963-5689(Phone)
  • (970) 226-3100(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First of all, in order to have an appointment set, it took about a dozen phone calls in to the service department to have a loaner vehicle scheduled because for some reason they have no policy or procedure in place for customers to set a service appointment and reserve a loaner car at the same so I was instructed to call the dealership each day to check and see if one was available. In my 20 years of car ownership I had never heard of this when dealing with a new car that is under factory warranty. After 2+ weeks of calling I finally spoke with a manager who promised to hold a loaner vehicle for me. I had dropped off my vehicle for service at the dealership as I always do. My vehicle had the following issues that needed fixed (some of which had been in for service previously): Oil change & rotate tires, Transmission not shifting properly/slipping, driver seat will not go the whole way down nor back, GPS screen acting abnormally (shaking) and non responsive at times, occasional "rattling" noise at stoplights & the sunroof needed resealed because at highway speeds there was a very noticeable wind noise. The dealership kept my vehicle for more than 2.5 weeks. During this time, I called on 6 separate occasions to inquire as to why it was taking so long to fix. I was told that they were waiting for parts several times and other times I left messages with the lady I had dropped my vehicle off with (*****) but I did not a get a response. One time they actually said it was fixed but when I asked for the details and remedies I realized they had not even addressed 2 of the repair items and this was about a week to a week and a half into the service (an apology was offered and it was guaranteed to be done in a few business days which did not happen). I finally got in touch with ***** who tracked my vehicle down and said it had been done for about a week. This was about about 15 minutes before closing on 9/11/2014 so I rushed to the dealership happy to finally get my vehicle back. I did a walk around with ***** because I was dropping off a ******** *** loaner vehicle and picking up mine. Whilst doing the walk around, I noticed that the driver seat of my vehicle had still not been fixed. I am no automobile expert by any means but it took only about 5 seconds to realize that it had not been fixed. I showed ***** exactly what I was talking about and she apologized and agreed that it should have been fixed. I was flying out of town the following afternoon for a 10 day trip so ***** gave me her card and set an appointment for me to drop it off on 9/22/14 after I returned from my trip. This interaction with ***** all happened in the course of about 10-15 minutes. Whilst driving home, (it was raining slightly) I started hearing the faint sound of water dripping. When I pulled to the next stop light I turned the interior lights on and could see water dripping from the sun roof. I was a little perturbed by this but comforted by the fact that ******** has never let me down. When I arrived home, I thought it a good idea to inspect the sun roof and see if I could find the problem. I was dismayed at my findings. As soon as the interior were illuminated, I could see dirt marks all over the interior headliner as well as the driver seat and 1 small mark on the passenger seat. Upon further review, I noticed that there were dirt stains on the floor where none had existed previously. I had actually just had the interior shampooed not long before so it was easy to spot. Within seconds of noticing the dirty carpet, I noticed a very large dent on the interior driver door step which did not exist previously. The dent is very noticeable in the daylight and appears to have been caused by a heavy hand tool of some sort. I was obviously not happy at this point so I called ***** and left her a message at approximately 6:20pm on 9-11-2014 and advised her of the things that I knew at that time. The following day I inspected my vehicles exterior and found a faint scratch approximately 2 feet long that starts on the rear drivers side door and extends to the quarter panel. While on my way to my office, I noticed that the transmission was still not shifting properly. Shortly thereafter, the GPS presented the same problem. Finally, my sun roof shade (not the glass) was still open so I hit the button to close and within seconds a loud crunching noise started and when I looked back the fabric covering the shade was completely off track and a black metal frame was showing. At this point I called the dealership and asked for the service manager. ***** was who I was instructed to speak with. When ***** answered the phone, I stated my name and explained I had just had my vehicle in for service and some very serious problems that I wanted to discuss. In a very accusatory tone his response was, "I have some serious problems too. You wrecked my loaner vehicle and the floor mats that were in it when we gave it to you are missing" I was absolutely flabbergasted. Not only did I have no idea what he was referring to, he did not even acknowledge my issues before proceeding to accuse me of wrongdoing. I will not even begin to discuss how distraught this made immediately. I told him that I had no idea what he was referring to and offered to stop by the dealership within a few hours before I had to rush to the airport. I stopped by the dealership, located ***** and proceeded to go inspect the loaner vehicle. ***** proceeded to show me a "scuff" mark approximately 8-10 inches long on the front driver side quarter panel right above the wheel well. After being accused of "wrecking" the vehicle and being distraught over the whole situation, I almost wanted to laugh. There were no dents nor scratches just a scuff mark that ***** said he would have buffed out. I told ***** that I absolutely did not damage the vehicle whilst it was in my care. His response was "well maybe somebody else hit you." I explained that ***** had done a walk around the night before as well and did not see anything so how could I know that it wasn't caused by their own personnel? Furthermore, when I picked up the loaner car no one did a walk around as I'm used to doing to inspect for existing damage nor did I sign the customary form that all rental car companies and dealerships have you sign when picking up a car. This did not dawn on me until inspecting the loaner vehicle with ***** unfortunately. After spending 10 minutes with ***** discussing the damage to the loaner which in all honestly looked liked a shopping cart or something similar had rubbed up against the paint, he asked about my vehicle finally. Unfortunately, I had to leave for the airport to catch a 2pm flight so I told him I would have to meet him when I returned. After returning from my trip I contacted ***** to have him inspect my vehicle. After explaining the continuing outstanding issues as well as showing him the soiled areas and damage done to my vehicle, he finally apologized. He said he would set an appointment for the following week which was today to have everything fixed and would have a loaner car ready. Fast forward to this morning. I called ahead of time to ensure a vehicle was indeed ready for me due to my rigorous work schedule (80+ hours a week). After giving my name I was told that they could have a rental car ready for me within 30-45 minutes. When I asked why a loaner wasn't ready as promised by *****, I was informed that I was not allowed to be given a loaner ever again. Flabbergasted again, I asked why. The exact reasoning was "because the last time you had our loaner you kept it excessively long and you also caused major damage to the vehicle." Never before in my entire life have I been treated like a criminal. Much less at a ******** dealership. I proceeded to go to the dealership and demanded to speak to the general manager. I was told that **** ********** isn't here and ***** ********** is on vacation until next week. I did speak to another manager by the name of ***** who seemed like he wanted to help but did not have the authority to do so.

Desired Settlement: First of all, I want fair market value for the damage caused to my vehicle so that I can take it to a different ******** dealership and have it repaired. Secondly, I want fair market value to have all of the soiled areas cleaned professionally by a reputable company. Third, I want some form of compensation for the amount of time this has cost me as well as the pain & suffering of being treated like a criminal. Fourth, I want a formal apology from the dealership for this whole debacle. There is no excuse for treating a customer like a common criminal regardless of the circumstances. Lastly, I want the dealership to agree to institute the procedure that is standard in the industry of inspecting vehicles prior to loaning them out and having each customer sign and acknowledge that there either is or is not, existing damage to a vehicle prior to their taking possession of it. This will ensure that honest, hardworking customers like myself are not falsely accused of wrongdoing and treated like a 2nd class citizen.

Business Response:  This is a long drawn out service visit with several points that do not match what happened. First our rental car came back to us damage on the front
bumper and the customer came in to inspect it the next day and was in a big hurry. The floor mats to the rental car were missing customer later called
and said he had found at a car wash in Denver and would get them to us but never did? The rental was a 2014 *** with low milage less than 2500 when rented. The dealership has our time and money to fix our rental car. Dellenbach would  be happy to meet with this customer to see resolution to both parties can be resolved. PLEASE SET A MEETING with ***** Dellenbach at ************ would be happy to discuss.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It does not address the issues presented in my complaint whatsoever.  The tone of your response is very telling.  The issues that I raised as a valued ******** customer are secondary to your damaged vehicle problem of which you have "tried & convicted" me of without due diligence on your part.  You have stated that I personally damaged your vehicle and have indicated that this is a fact. Please provide me with any & all evidence that you may have that I caused damage to your vehicle as I know for a fact that I did not and therefore you cannot produce any evidence.  In lieu of this, your statement is libelous in nature and I hereby put you on notice that any further defamation of my character in such a manner will be dealt with to the fullest extent of the law.  

As to showing up to inspect the vehicle and being in a hurry, as stated previously, I had a flight to catch at Denver International Airport.  I rearranged my schedule to ensure that I could come see the supposedly "wrecked" vehicle before I flew out of town for 10 days.  Please see the attached flight confirmation should you continue to question my integrity. 

In regards to the floor mats I am accused of stealing, they are still at the car wash in Denver as explained to *****, your service manager.  I've never been in a loaner car for 2+ weeks and as I meet with clients regularly, I had it cleaned several times to keep up appearances as well as because of all of the rain at the time.  During one visit, I had the interior vacuumed and wiped down as well and they simply forgot to put the mats back in the vehicle.  I did not even notice that the mats were missing because the interior was all black.  After ***** mentioned it to me, I called the car wash and they had them in lost & found.  Problem solved.  I have yet to pick them up & because of all of the issues with my vehicle I don't feel motivated to go out of my way considering this is easily the worst customer service I have ever received anywhere, much less at a ******** dealer.

As stated in my initial complaint, instead of accusing innocent customers of damaging your vehicles to cover up your mechanics ineptitude, you could avoid a debacle of this nature in the future by performing the customary walk around with each customer and have them sign off that they acknowledge and accept the condition of the vehicle and assume liability from that point forward.  With every loaner or rental I've ever driven this was always performed.  Apparently no such procedure exists at your dealership.

Please do not waste my time with another response filled with misspellings and grammatical errors that does not address each and every issue that I have brought to your attention.  I have brought these items to your attention with the intent of bringing an amicable resolution to the situation at hand; your response leads me to believe that you have no intent to fix these items in good faith as you did not address ONE SINGLE THING!!  If you are refusing to acknowledge the issues that your company caused then please indicate as much so that I may act accordingly.  If you DO intend to address the issues, please list each separately along with an accompanying proposed corrective action to remedy each issue.

I will wait patiently for a response that addresses the problems instead of you making libelous claims against me.  I trust that you will approach this situation with the professionalism it requires; I hope that you clearly understand the seriousness of this matter and act accordingly.  Thank you for your time.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

TAKE TO A DETAIL SHOP AND GET THE HEADLINER CLEANED AND WE WILL PAY SHOP TO DO IT. DELLENBACH MOTORS WILL FORGIVE BILL FOR DAMAGE TO THE RENTAL CAR THAT HAD OCCURED. PLEASE DROP OFF THE FOORMATS THAT HAVE YET TO BE RETURNED. UNFORTUNATLEY YOU DECLINE MY
INVITATION TO RESOVLE THE MATTER AT THIS TIME. THROUGH NO FAULT OF OURS, WE WANT TO GET THIS TAKEN CARE OF AT THIS TIME.
*

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

You still did not address the damage to my vehicle.  What are your plans to address that issue?  Do you accept responsibility and are you willing to compensate me so that I may have it fixed?  Please advise.

I accept your offer to have to have the headliner cleaned however, the driver's seat also needs cleaned so please advise if you authorize that as well.  

I don't see that meeting you will accomplish anything that cannot be accomplished through the BBB so please explain the purpose of meeting you.  In the interest of putting this issue to rest, I am willing to meet you if necessary.  I am currently out of state for business and will return on November 9th so I could meet you on Monday November 10th.  Please advise me of a date and time that you are available.  If time allows, I will go to Denver and retrieve your floor mats from the car wash so that we can settle everything at once.  

Thank you for your time and I look forward to an amicable resolution to the matter at hand.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: WE WILL ALSO PAY TO HAVE SEAT CLEANED ALONG WITH THE HEADLINER

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Thank you but you did not address the other items I had asked about.  I am back in town for 8 days if you are available to meet.  If not, please advise how you are planning to address the damage to my vehicle.  Thanks.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: HE WAS TO BE I9N NOV 24 BUT CALLED LATE IN DAY  NOT ABLE TO MAKE TO BE IN DEC 1

8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service