BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Davidson-Gebhardt Chevrolet?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Davidson-Gebhardt Chevrolet

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 667-3950 Fax: (970) 622-1050 View Additional Phone Numbers 3880 Test Circle, Loveland, CO 80538 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lovelandchevy.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Automobile dealership selling new models, all preowned make/models, automobile parts and providing automobile maintenance/service of all make/models.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Davidson-Gebhardt Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Davidson-Gebhardt Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Davidson-Gebhardt Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1960 Business started locally: 01/01/1960
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Gebhardt, President Mr. Matt Gebhardt, General Manager Mr. Scott Hartwigsen, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Gebhardt, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Scott Hartwigsen, Manager
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Part Suppliers Tire Dealers Auto Repair & Service Brake Shops

Refund and Exchange Policy
Considered on an individual case-by-case basis.
Service Area
Northern Colorado and southern Wyoming
Alternate Business Names
Davidson-Gebhardt Autogroup Nick Davidson Inc Subaru Of Loveland
Products & Services

We sell all models of new Chevrolet cars, trucks and SUV models. We also sell all make/models of previously titled vehicles. GM parts are available and we maintain/service all make/models too.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 3880 Test Circle

    Loveland, CO 80538

  • PO Box 148

    Loveland, CO 80539 (970) 622-1023

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (970) 622-1042(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Verbal agreement not honored by salesman. Dishonesty from general manager. We purchased a 1998 BMW 740i from Davidson ****** Chevrolet on September 18, 2012. Steve Rodgers was our salesman. On the way home the check engine light came on. The dealership was paying for the emissions, so they told us to bring it back in. Took it back in the next morning. They had it for 2 days, ended up sending it to the BMW dealership because they couldn't figure out what was wrong. The BMW dealership found that the valve covers and coil packs needed to be replaced. After discussing this with the salesman, we came to the agreement that they would destroy the $600 deposit that we made and take the car as is and would do the work on it ourselves. We picked up the car the next day. Two months later, they cashed our $600.00 check. We were not expecting this, since they said they would destroy it. It put our account in the negative and we were charged $136 in overdraft fees. We went to the dealership that same day and were told that they would figure out what had happened and put a check in the mail to us. Two weeks later, we had not received the check so we called. After numerous messages and the dealership managers giving us the runaround we finally spoke with ****** ******. He said that he had just heard about it and that he needed to talk to the Steve to find out what had happened. It took three days and more messages left with no return phone calls before he told us that he wanted to speak to us in person. An appointment was made for the following week due to Thanksgiving. The morning of the appointment, he called and tried to reschedule to another day. We said no, we wanted this taken care of immediately and arranged to meet him later that day. During that meeting we were told that there was nothing that could be done since we had passed the 3 day return policy and had already made a payment. Steve's and our verbal agreement was nothing. He should have had us come back in to change all the paperwork. Legally, they didn't have to do anything. So, they weren't going to do anything. We were now out $736 due to whatever miss-communication they had in their office and they didn't even seem to think there was a problem. After learning that we had already purchased the parts to fix the car he said to bring in the receipts and he would reimburse us for the $186 that we spent on parts. We took the receipts in and were told that he would issue a check and mail it to us. Two weeks later, we still had not received the check. We went in to ask about this and ****** told us that he signed the check a couple days prior and that we should get it later that week. It has now been 2 weeks since that visit and no check has been received. We feel that we were treated well up until the point that they discovered they had made a mistake. From that point it has been avoidance and dishonesty.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have the original $600.00 deposit plus $136 in overdraft fees that this caused refunded to us.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/01/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******/ GM Contact Phone: (970)XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@lovelandchevy.com Dear Ms. Sharf, We are in receipt of a BBB claim # XXXXXXXX. To date we have offered to repurchase the vehicle from the *****. That offer was declined. We have offered to reimburse the customer for costs of repairing the service engine soon light as soon they submit to us a copy of the repair work. We have yet to receive a copy. We will pay the $136 for the return check and accept responsibility for the communication breakdown. However, all of our documentation confirms that the original $600 check was due as down payment on our agreed purchase price and not a deposit. It is always our hope to satisfy every customer on every transaction. We have no intention of making this issue difficult. We simply request documentation to support the request. Thank you, ****** ****** Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/01/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There was only one offer to purchase the vehicle back from us and that was after Co's BMW told the them that it would cost $1XXX-XXXX to fix the vehicle. This was on the 2nd or 3rd day after purchasing the vehicle and after discussing over the phone with *****, the agreement was that we would do the work ourselves if the price of the car was dropped. This was when the agreement was made that the price of the vehicle would be dropped $600.00 and that the $600.00 check would be destroyed. This would alleviate any rewriting of paperwork - or at least that's what we were led to believe. There was never another offer to purchase the car back from us. We would have gladly let them buy the car back from us after dealing with this mess. ( At this point we have made 2 payments - another one due this week, balance as of 12/13/12 was $5675.38. We have purchased $186.00 in parts and paid for license plates/registration $78.56) We would be more than happy to find a vehicle somewhere else. We informed ****** when receipts were dropped off that this was all that was paid to fix the vehicle at this time. Parts are not too expensive - it's the labor. Per Co's BMW labor for what has been done so far would be $660.00 - we paid $186.00 in parts. This was one of the reasons we agreed on the reduction in vehicle price. ****** is waiting for documentation to prove the request? We went to the dealership 3 weeks ago to pick up a check (because we were charged in-city limits taxes when we live outside) and ****** specifically told us that he had signed the check for parts reimbursement and we should receive it later in the week. How can he have already signed the check and mailed it if he is waiting for something from us? He said nothing about needing more information/receipts or we would have corrected the information at that time. He did state that because we had used a friends commercial account at the parts store that he needed to verify that - and he had, that was the reason we had not received the check at that time. How could he have verified information if he hadn't received anything from us? Of course all the documentation says that the check was for a down payment. That's what it was for - prior to the agreement regarding the work needing to be done and ***** saying he would drop the price of the car and destroy that check. We were never asked to come back in and change any paperwork, which would have provided the documentation now requested. If we had that documentation none of this would be happening. We haven't wanted this to be difficult either, we just want the dealership to hold to the agreements made. To date, none have been honored. We have tried since November to settle this with the dealership and have been given the runaround. All documentation that we have has been given to them. Prior to this, we felt that this was a great experience with a dealership and were planning to go back. We even recommended them to our family and friends. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/01/10) */ Ms. Sharf, We are responding to issues referenced in case # XXXXXXXX regarding the sale of a 1998 BMW 740i to Mr. and Mrs. ******. It is always our goal to ensure the complete satisfaction of every guest that visits our dealership. In making that effort we always respond to all concerns brought to our attention either directly or indirectly such as this one provided by the BBB. We have had an A+ rating with the BBB for over 20 years and our intention is to satisfy Mr. ******'s claim. I would like to visit with Mr. ****** in person to address our miscommunication and I am confident we can come to a resolution that is fair for all parties. Respectfully, ****** ****** General Manager Davidson ****** Chevrolet (970) XXX- XXXX Direct *****@lovelandchevy.com Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We tried a face to face meeting and do not feel that it is in our best interest to have another one. Agreements were made and not kept by the dealership in that meeting, which is why this complaint has been filed. Had the dealership stuck to either of the two agreements they made with us, this complaint would not have been filed. We have stated what we feel is fair to resolve this complaint and do not understand why an in person meeting is required for the dealership to give us their response. Documented communication is preferable since we have learned that over the phone and in person meetings do not seem to be valid.

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

7/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/5/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1