Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cowboy Dodge Inc

Phone: (307) 634-5887 Fax: (307) 638-1025 1121 E Lincolnway, Cheyenne, WY 82001 http://www.cowboydodge.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cowboy Dodge Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cowboy Dodge Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cowboy Dodge Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1984 Business started: 07/01/1981 Business started locally: 07/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wyoming Department of Transportation
5300 Bishop Blvd, Cheyenne WY 82009
http://dot.state.wy.us
Phone Number: (307) 777-3840

Business Management
Mr. Jesse Martinez, General Manager Mr. Darwin Tanner, Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Darwin Tanner, Service Manager
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Repair

Alternate Business Names
Cowboy Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Additional Locations

  • 1121 E Lincolnway

    Cheyenne, WY 82001 (307) 634-5887

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2013 ***** **** that I purchased from Cowboy ***** November 2014 as a used vehicle with 26,000 miles on it. I have kept up on my routine maintenance, not through the dealership, because they did not offer me any sort of service package when I purchased the vehicle, but through a local shop. I have not had any issues with my vehicle until October 24/25 when my vehicle left me stranded in ******. We went to leave a parking garage in ****** late that night after having driven almost 200 miles that day with no issues, and put the car in reverse, it backed up about 9 feet and then would not move. I have a manual transmission and the stick would go into gear, but the transmission would not engage and there was no movement of any kind. I had to have my car towed back from ****** to ******** at the cost of $250.00 where I had it towed to the local dealership, Cowboy Dodge. I went in first thing on Monday morning to talk to the service department and they at that time, told me that they would look at it when they could, but would not be done on Monday. I had not heard anything from the service guy Cecil, and called and left him a message on Tuesday over my lunch hour. He returned my call later that afternoon and said that they could not tell me what was wrong with it without dropping the transmission and opening it up. For them to do this would cost me more money. I agreed because I couldn't do anything else, I need my vehicle. While I was waiting to hear about this, I did some research on the internet and found that there have been many issues with this particular make/model/year of car/transmission. ***** has recalled parts of the automatic transmission in this year, and there is an open class action lawsuit against the company at this time regarding issues with the manual transmission that has yet to be resolved. I received a call back from Cecil, who explained to me that when they went to empty the transmission of fluid before they opened it up, he states that there was less than 4 tablespoons of transmission fluid in it, and that was the problem and because there was no fluid in it, I was at fault for the transmission seizing. He let me know that I could come down to the shop and look at it. I told him I would do that, and don't do anything else to the vehicle. I called ******** and explained my situation to them, asking about the powertrain warranty on the vehicle as well. I was told that they had spoken to Cecil at Cowboy Dodge and they stated that there was nothing that could be done on their end to put the repair under warranty. So I went down to the shop and looked under the car with Cecil as he explained what was going on. He stated that the fill plug for the transmission fluid was "missing" when they went to look at it, and when they drained the less than 4 tablespoons of fluid from the vehicle, that they had to assume there was a leak or that the fluid had spilled out. My concern regarding this is that I have not had any issues with the vehicle prior to the transmission going out. There is no dipstick on this year of vehicle to check the transmission fluid and there are no sensors in the transmission to let you know that you may be low on fluid. I also have photos of the underside of the vehicle which show there is no evidence of any leaking transmission fluid. It seems to me that they do not want to warranty their product. My car is currently getting a new transmission two weeks later because I have to have my vehicle to get myself to work and my children to school, but I also had to come up with $3000.00 to have this repair made.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see Dodge cover this repair under warranty since there is no evidence of any leak in the transmission and it is simply their work against mine. I have pictures to show that there was no leak and have spoken with other certified mechanics and will be speaking with an attorney regarding this matter.

Business Response:

Dear *****,

Mrs ******* is correct in most all of her accounts. The reason that Dodge could not warranty her repairs is that her transmission had almost no oil in it. This caused the transmission to burn up. Her service maintenance was not being done at Cowboy Dodge and there was no sign of any seal or gasket leak. We do know that the fill plug to the transmission was gone. These facts were given to ******** Manufacturer and they had the final say. Based on the facts they could not warranty the transmission. Service Manager at Cowboy Dodge offered 3 free maintenance oil changes to Mrs. ****** in an attempt to get her maintenance business, she agreed. Repairs were completed and Mrs. ****** picked up her car on November 12th along with a copy of the receipt showing 3 free maintenance oil changes.

Sincerely

Darwin T*****

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My ******** ******** is a lemon and has been malfunctioning nearly since I purchased it from a different dealer about whom I will file a separate complaint. The latest problem involves an error message "service immobilizer" and I put the car into the ***** service dept because from what I've read on line, this is a common issue with ********* and the ******** in particular. Previous year models have been recalled, but not this year model. The error shuts down the ignition and the car will not start. I put the car in the shop figuring that a ******** certified mechanic could probably do the best job of repairing it. The car has been in the shop for over one month and still does not start. They have replaced the 1. ignition module and 2. the main computer and 3. tried a new key. The car still won't start and the key will not talk to the car. I have told the service contact that I can not afford to continue to rent a vehicle while the car is in their shop and I asked about a loaner from the dealer. I have asked him if they have called ********** support line as well. The last I was told, he did not know if they had called ********, and I was denied a loaner car. As of tomorrow, Thursday, 10 Sept, my rental car total will be $1074.00 plus change. And, the service department is now travelling in circles. They tried a second key, a second ignition module, and I do not know what they are doing now because they are not contacting me any longer. I was supposed to be called last Thursday, but received no call. I called on Friday and my contact had gone on vacation. The car was not fixed and they were repeating the key stuff. I was contacted by someone else on Saturday telling me the key thing did not work and that I would be contacted on Tuesday. It is Wednesday night and I have not been contacted. This shop is repeating the same mistakes over and over again at my expense.

Desired Settlement: I want the car repaired. I want a Free Loaner Car with unlimited mileage from the dealer for as long as it takes to repair the car, or for the dealer to pay ***** for the rental that I have now until the car is fixed. I want a price adjustment for the repair. I have not yet been billed for it, but by my calculation, the bill will run in the thousands. I can not afford the repair since my money, is being eaten up by a rental car in the absence of a loaner. There is no public transportation available, and I live 30 miles one way from town/work/dealer. It should not take anywhere near one month plus to repair this vehicle.

Consumer Response:

***** ** ******* *** ******* ********** ************************ ********* * ****** ******************* *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* *********** 

Cowboy ***** has made good on this dispute.  They contacted ******** and got the vehicle fixed, and gave me a very generous discount that helped balance my rental car charges.

Can you please close this dispute?

Thanks!

***** ******

Business Response: Dear *****,

We have finished the electrical repairs on Mrs. ******'s ******** ********. It was a difficult electrical issue to find however we did find it and completed the repairs. Mrs. ****** picked up her car last night. She agreed to pay the parts and Cowboy ***** agreed to pay the labor. I visited with her when she came in and apologized for the time it took to find the electrical problem. 


Thank You


Darwin T*****
Service Manager

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle had a routine recall service performed upon it and when picking up the vehicle I noticed damage done to vehicle through the use of a tool to pry an interior trim piece in four different locations. Immediately I contacted the service department to notify them of the damage caused and was told to return with the vehicle. At which time I was instructed that the technician had already left for the day for a previously scheduled afternoon off and they would contact me in the morning (indicating to me that he was hurried in his repairs as he had somewhere to be). I was then asked to return to the shop the following morning by the service manager in order to confront the person responsible for the damage. At that time the individual stated it was not him that caused the damage at which time the service manager offered to repair the damage but instructed me that I would be responsible for 50% of the repair bill that upon contacting another **** repair shop in ******** to be equal to about $511. The shop caused the damage but only took responsibility for half of the cost (roughly $250) to repair it and this is clearly wrong as I have no liability in repairing the purely cosmetic damage. I also have no benefit to me to repairing the cosmetic damage other than returning my vehicle to the condition that it was prior to them servicing it. The costs to doing the repair would include replacing the entire overhead module not just a casing, that was damaged, as it is not available and that's clearly why I am being asked to pay for half. There is no damage or malfunction within the module but their inability to repair the cosmetic damage without replacing the entire module is not my responsibility and as such I should not be forced to pay for repairs. I am not asking for anything other than the shops responsibility to repair the damage they created and if that includes additional costs on their end that is still their responsibility and not mine as they caused the damage. Clearly they know the damage was done within their shop as they offered to pay for half of the repairs but not all the cost and making me responsible for additional charges is extremely unacceptable. Upon requesting to speak with the general manager ***** ******** I was told nothing would be done as my vehicle already had 46,000 miles on it which clearly has no precedence here as the vehicle is barely over two years old and still well covered under bumper to bumper warranty. My vehicle having any miles on it does not negate the fact that my vehicle was damaged in their shop and that they are responsible to fix it. I did not wait two weeks to report damage I reported it immediately upon picking up the vehicle and need them to take responsibility for repairing the damage their repair guy created. The general manager was extremely rude and continued to yell at me in a demeaning manner and although I remained calm and respectful he did not. Apparently the fix here for this dealership is to push people around until they give up and go away. My Family has purchased more than ten vehicles from Cowboy Dodge and thought they were a great place to work with until now. No longer will anybody I know be purchasing a vehicle or having a vehicle serviced here due to the way I have been mistreated.

Desired Settlement: I am only asking that the damage being done to my vehicle in their shop be repaired. After further inspection the round trim piece on the visor is also not been returned to original condition and needs to be completed although there is no visible damage to it it just has not been put all the way back together in order to complete the manufacturer's recall. I am not responsible in any way for the damage done to my vehicle in their shop and in no way should be asked to provide payment for half of the parts needed for repair of said damages to my vehicle. I would also like an apology from the General Manager ***** ******** for yelling and speaking in derogatory manner to me. If they could provide me with the certifications that the person who worked on my vehicle has that allows him to perform recall work I would like that as well as a brake booster recall was also performed and I am extremely concerned that about the quality of work done on my brake system (potentially life threatening).

Business Response: Dear *****
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to reply to Mr. ********** concerns. Some of what he said is correct however some  information is inaccurately interpreted and some left out entirely. I apologize for the length of this response however it is needed for you to get all of the information as to what has transpired. 
Mr. ******** did bring his car in on 3-10-15 for two recalls. One recall is (*** Sun Visor Wiring) and is the recall in question. When Mr. ******** picked his car up he came right back in and said that there were small pry marks that were not there when he brought it in. I went out to the car and he showed me the marks. They were tiny pry marks on the bezel of the overhead console. I told him that I don't think we have to take that out to do the recall on the Sun Visor Wiring. I then said let me check with the technician to be sure. When I went to find the technician I found out he had left for that afternoon.  (Note: The Assistant Service Manager had let him go early that afternoon because there was no more work for him to do. He did not have to rush on Mr. ********** car as suggested in Mr. ********** remarks). I then told Mr. ******** that I would ask another technician on the procedure. I was able to ask two other technicians and they both said that they do not remove the overhead console. I Told Mr. ******** that the other technicians said they do not have to take the overhead console down. Mr. ******** was still concerned so I told him that I would talk to the technician in the morning that worked on it to double check the procedure that he used. I talked to the technician the next morning and he confirmed the procedure he used to perform the *** Sun Visor Wiring Repair and it did not include taking down the overhead console.  I then called Mr. ******** and explained the procedure again. He still was blaming the technician for the marks. I ask him to come down so all 3 of us could look at the issue to make sure we are all in understanding of the concern and the technicians repair procedures. Mr. ******** came down a little while later and pulled the car in the shop. I brought the technician over to the car and Had Mr. ******** show him where the concern was. The technician then went through the procedure he used to preform the *** Sun Visor Wiring recall. The technician politely told Mr. ******** that he did not have to touch the overhead console to preform the recall.  The technician went back to work and I proceeded to talk to Mr. ******** about the situation. I told Mr. ******** that I really do not think we did this. He said that we did do it. I said that the vehicle has 46,000 miles on it, could it have been there and you not notice it until looking in the area we were in? He said no. I Then said I still believe that we did not do this, however I will offer as a Goodwill gesture to pay 1/2 of the repairs to get it fixed. He said no,drove out, parked in front and went to see the General Manager. He then explained every thing to the General Manager.  The General Manger then said he would honer the Service Managers Goodwill offer to Pay 1/2 the repair price both parts and labor. Mr. ******** said no and words were said between them that caused the General Manager to then retracted the offer. Mr. ******** then left and shortly after I was called by ******** concern line to explain what had happened to Mr. ********** car. I explained the issue to ******** and that Cowboy Dodge had at that time offered a Goodwill gesture of paying for 1/2 the cost of repairs both parts and labor. However at this time the Goodwill gesture is retracted. ******** concern line said ok and hung up. Then later on in the day ******** Concern line called back with a different representative. This representative had most of the information back words. I asked him if he had read the note from the earlier representative that I had talked to. He said he had not. He asked me how much to fix Mr. ******** car. I asked why. He said they might pay for the repairs. I said you are going to pay for the repairs with out knowing the whole situation. He said I didn't say I would I said I might. I said hold on I will get you the price however I cant believe you are considering paying for this repair when you don't know the whole situation. I gave him the price and said if you are going to pay for this repair he will have to have it done at his selling dealership in Ft. Collins or another dealer ship close by. We are afraid that we will never be able to meet Mr. ********** expectation and it is certain he has lost his trust in us. I believe it would be better for him and us to part ways. I have yet to here from ******** to see if they have decided to pay for the repairs. Thank you for your time in this matter. 

Sincerely

****** ******
Service Manager
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The response is lacking information as to why the repair shop is not liable for damage.  The service manager was actually contacted by the recall department prior to me returning to confront the technician as per the SM request.  Then again by the ******** complaint department twice.  Both the recall department and the ******** Customer Service department have been trying to help me get this situation resolved however it seems Cowboy Dodge is unwilling to resolve this issue.  It is clear that the damage was done while my vehicle was in the shop and that I did everything in my power to immediately notify them of the damage and attempt to get this situation resolved.  It is interesting that they mention the age of the vehicle specifically (46000) since that is another factor showing their negligence.  The overhead console was clearly damaged and moved as evident with the ceiling fabric showing a small dust line where it was moved at their shop.  It is clear that cowboy dodge wants to throw away over 20 years of business from my family over a small fix for their negligence.  I have never heard of a goodwill gesture to ask me to pay for half the damage done to my vehicle in their shop.  I look forward to the dealership paying for the repairs to my vehicle for the damage they caused.

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: Dear *****,

We are sympathetic to Mr. ********** concern and emotions, however we must look at only the facts. He states in his rejection letter that our response is lacking information as to why the repair shop is not liable for the damage. With all do respect I count 3 times in our response that information is given. Also Mr. ******** states in his rejection letter that I was contacted by the recall department. That is not true. I was never called by the recall department, but was called twice by the ******** Concern Department. As far as I know and the last I heard from the ******** Concern Department they were contemplating paying for Mr. ********** concern. If I could please suggest that Mr. ******** contact ******** Concern Department to get their answer.


Thank You

****** ******
Service Manager

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The facts are still being misrepresented by the Service Manager.  The service manager was indeed contacted by the ******** Recall Department under case number ******** at 11 am on 3/11/2015 the final time and then being contacted by the ******** Customer Service department under case number ******** later in the day multiple times beginning at 6 pm 3/11/2015.  These times are not mountain west time zone as the departments are not located here.  This is just more evidence of the Service Managers misrepresentations of the facts in order to avoid repairing the damages caused to my vehicle by their negligence.  It is a good thing that ******** keeps documentation proving the Service Managers misrepresentation of the facts to this BBB complaint.  The damage was due to negligence at the shop and I notified them immediately upon picking up my vehicle.  It is clear that the person working on my vehicle attempted to remove the overhead console in order to complete the recall ordered by ******** on my vehicle (Which is not at all the approved process provided by ******** for completing this recall).  When picking up my vehicle and consulting with the lead technicians on what the process was to repair the recall they did know the correct process and it is unfortunate that the repair guy working on my vehicle was not informed of this process before he damaged my overhead console.  It is apparent that their lead technicians know the process and unfortunate they were not completing the recall on my vehicle as that would have avoided damage being done.  I am sure that the shop is paid minimally for recall work and that would lead them to using the lowest paid employee in their shop to work on my $43,475 ****.  I asked previously to receive the certifications that the person working on my vehicle has that qualifies him to work on the recall and have received nothing.  In addition to that damage it is also visible that the recall has not been completed as the visor retaining clip is not even been returned to original position.  This shops negligence is clear and they will be held accountable for the damage done to my vehicle and not half of the damage costs as they attempted to force me to pay half for the damages their service guy created.  It is increasingly discouraging that the Service Manager responds to a BBB complaint by placing the repair costs into the lap of ******** and misrepresenting the facts in order to escape the costs for repairs due to their negligence.  I look forward to Cowboy Dodge paying for the repairs on my vehicle, for the damage they caused, at another repair shop as they have stated they are unable to complete the work to my satisfaction.  Although I returned to their shop and asked that they fix the damage first and at no point requested any monetary payout, it is clear now that they would be unable to complete repairs to any standard.  I look forward to the BBB placing this complaint on file and I am sure that anyone reading this will understand how poor the business ethics of both the Service Manager and the very unprofessional General Manager are and that they will avoid bringing in their vehicles or purchasing any vehicles at this location. 

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: Dear *****

I will address all of Mr. ********** allegations. First, not at any point of the two times I talked to ******** about Mr. ********** concern did they address themselves to me as the Recall Department. They said they were calling to address MR. ********** concerns with the work that was done in the shop. Addressing customers concerns with work done in the shop is normally ******** Concern Department. ******** Concern Department does have the authority to pay for customers issues if they see fit. They asked for the cost of the repairs and were going to review the situation as to possible pay for them. Second, I don't understand the following sentence that Mr. ******** said on March 26, 2015 ( The recall department will not be paying for the damages they were only helping me by attempting to speak with the Service Manager and attempt to reason with them in order to get them to agree to repairing the damage). This statement seems odd as the Customer Concern people that I talked to never tried to talk me into paying anything. They made more comments of them possibly paying for the repairs. I still am not sure why Mr. ******** has not contacted ******** Concern Department as to where they are on their decision. Third, in regards to the visor retaining clip not even. Mr. ******** was invited in along time ago for us to snap it in but he never showed up. Fourth, every technician in the shop does recalls. The skill level on this recall is (0--low skill). Fifth, suggesting that we cater recalls to low wage employees is completely wrong and insulting. If I could please suggest that Mr. ******** refrain from degrading myself and my technicians and spend the time contacting ******** Concern Department to get their answer as to whether they are paying for the repairs.

Sincerely
****** ******
Service Manager

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am confused I asked you to pay for damages done to my vehicle in your shop by an untrained technician who attempted to remove a piece of my overhead panel that did not need to be touched at all.  The service manager stated very definitively that he had never talked to the ******** recall department.  After and only after I supported my claims with reference numbers the story changes and now instead of definitely not talking to that department now it is "I may have but I don't know for sure".  The service manager is clearly just continuing to push this off on anyone he can.  I can not in good faith trust a shop that after the long history of business with my family chooses to throw that away over not paying for their own negligence and therefore must take my vehicle to another ******** shop in order to finish the job by replacing the retaining clip that was removed by cowboy dodge.  It was cowboy dodge that was the first to suggest another shop not me, but clearly that's what needs to happen to complete the recall repair that could not even be completed at your shop.  It is concerning to me that your shop can't complete to 100% (retaining clip) a recall you call a 0 skill level and that is the only reason I questioned the skill level of your mechanic.  I still have received no certifications from you proving that he should work on my vehicle again questioning the fact that he ever should have in the first place.  I do appreciate the continued support from the service manager to get ******** to pay for cowboy dodge's mistakes, just another supporting factor that will show anyone reading this to not go to this shop.  I am asking for Cowboy Dodge to pay for the damages done to my overhead console in the completion of recall work and for them to pay for the recall to be finished by replacing the retaining clip back to factory condition.  I truly hope that a member of the BBB will finally act like it and fix the damage they caused while my vehicle was in their shop.  This is absolutely outrageous that The service manager wants to keep this fight going over $258 (half of the 516 that he wanted to make me pay for).  This is a simple and inexpensive fix and your unwillingness to get it taken care of again is an excellent indicator of your business ethics.

Regards,

***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID ********, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB.

Regards,

 

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID ********, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB.

Regards,

 

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 14, 2014 I had Cowboy **** replace a burned out a/c compressor in my 2005 **** ******* for a total cost of $859.09. Included in that cost, according to their invoice, is $381.24 for the replacement compressor alone. Upon return home to ***** the replaced compressor burned out on July 18. I could not have the **** towed 500 miles back to ******** so had *********** ********, ** ****** ** replace the compressor. Per agreement with ******, Service Manager, Cowboy ****, the broken compressor was shipped to Cowboy and ****** accepted the return. My complaint is that ****** refuses to refund the total purchase price of the failed compressor, $381.24. ****** says that if I wanted the total price plus some of the labor refunded I should have taken the compressor to the local ******** auto parts store. But I did not buy the compressor from ******** Auto. I bought it from Cowboy ****.

Desired Settlement: I desire no less than one would expect from any reputable business - refund of the full purchase price, $381.24.

Business Response: Dear *****

******* **** did have a A/C compressor installed at Cowboy Dodge and it did fail when he returned home to *****. When he called me I gave him clear instructions on how to get the compressor replaced under (******** Auto Warranty procedure.) Doing this, the compressor would not cost anything. All his repair shop had to do was to take the bad compressor to their local ******* Auto parts and along with the purches invoice and they would have given them a new compressor at no charge. They elected not do do this. I told ******* ****** repair shop that if they sent back the old A/C compressor I would try to get some money back for him. They sent the compressor back to me and I took it to our local ******** Auto Parts store. They refunded me the cost of the compressor which was $235.00, this was on 8-13-14. Cowboy Dodge then issued and sent a check on 8-14-14 of $235.00 to ******* ****. I believe that Cowboy Dodge went out of its way to get money for ******* ****. If he or the repair shop would have followed the Warranty procedure there would have been Zero cost for the compressor.

Thank You

****** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Cowboy Dodge did advise *********** ********, who did the second replacement, that they should return the bad compressor to the local ******* Auto parts store for an exchange.  *********** however was not willing to replace an "after market" (used, reconditioned) compressor with another "after market" compressor because it was their policy to install genuine factory parts only.  It was then agreed between both parties that the bad compressor would be shipped by *********** ******** to Cowboy Dodge who then refund me the purchase price.  Cowboy Dodge did offer to refund to me $235.00 for the returned compressor.  BUT Cowboy Dodge charged me $381.24 for the compressor plus $357.00 for the installation, plus additional costs for grand total of $859.09.  Cowboy Dodge did send me a check for $235.00 which I consider a partial payment - they still owe me the difference of $146.24.  Another thing, if Cowboy Dodge had installed a genuine factory part instead of a used reconditioned one we would not be having this conversation but they made that decision on their own- we were not asked if we would accept an "after market" part. 

Regards,

******* ****

Business Response: Dear *****

We do have empathy for ******* ****'s concern. I did say to *********** Dodge that if they did send the used compressor back to Cowboy Dodge that I would get with ******* Auto Parts and try to get a refund for ******* ****. No dollar amount was ever mentioned as I did not know if any refund from ******* Auto Parts would be issued at all. *********** Dodge did send the compressor back to us. I did go to our ******* Auto Parts with ******* ****'s concern. They told me this should have been handled where the car broke down in ******** and the warranty would have covered the compressor at the time of the repair. I explained that the dealer in ******** did not want to put their compressor back on and insisted on putting in a factory compressor. If they put on a factory compressor they gain a sale and expence would go to ******* ****. I am not criticizing *********** Dodge as that is their service departments business. Because and only because Cowboy Dodge does a lot of business with ******* Auto Parts did they agree to refund to Cowboy Dodge the cost of the compressor. The cost of the compressor refunded to Cowboy Dodge was $235.00. A check was then issued to ******* **** for the complete refund amount of $235.00. Again, if the proper warranty procedures were done we would no be here today. I feel that Cowboy Dodge has made an effort to take care of ******* **** as the situation was given to us.

Thank You 

******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Two facts remain undisputed.  First, I did not agree that Cowboy Dodge could install an aftermarket part.  If they had installed a new factory part we would not be having this problem. Second, I am rightly entitled to refund of the entire $859.00 I paid Cowboy Dodge but will settle for refund of the amount I paid Cowboy Dodge for the failed part which is $381.54.  They already paid $235 but that still leaves $146.54 owing me.  Even ******* will refund 100.00% of the purchase price for returned products.  I would expect nothing less from a reputable dealer.
Regards,

******* ****

Business Response: Dear *****,

There are several things that the ****** **** wants. One is a copy of our invoice which I will fax to you. Another is a responce to ******* **** thinking he was getting a full refund of the part. With all do respect this was answered in the August 22, 2014 response. I do not know what was told to him by *********** Dodge. The last is a comment on labor cost based on the part failing. I gave them instructions to follow that would have included along with a free compressor, paperwork that would have paid some or all of the labor. They chose for what ever reason not to do the process. The ****** **** then asked if we would be willing to do a good will gesture. Yes, we already did in conjunction with ******** Auto Parts in ********. They gave us back cost on the old compressor even though the warranty procedures were not followed. Again they did this as a goodwill to Cowboy Dodge, we then passed the goodwill on to ******* ****. We still feel that Cowboy Dodge has made an effort to take care of ******* **** as the situation was given to us.

Sincerely, 
****** ******

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 30, 2014 To Whom It May Concern, On May 30, 2013 I took my 2009 ***** 3500 Mega Cab to Cowboy ***** for a Petal sensor, and while there they found fluid leaking from the front pinion seals, they replaced the front pinion seals. Invoice Amount $439.74 On October 24, 2013 I took my 20019 ***** 3500 Mega Cab to Cowboy ***** for repairs to my exhaust break, they also found fluid leaking from the transfer case and replaced the seals along with leaks from the rear main seal and cam seal that was leaking also. Picked it up on October 25, 2013. Invoice Amount $541.27 On December 26, 2013 took the 2009 ***** 3500 back to Cowboy ***** because the front axle seals were leaking because the transfer case rear output seals were leaking that they just replaced in October. They replaced the transfer case rear output seal. Invoice Amount $0.00 On April 9,2014 took the 2009 ***** 3500 back to Cowboy ***** for a shimmy and grinding noise, the shimmy was supposedly from the tires being out of balance, took it to ******** **** in Ft. Collins Colorado where I get my tires and had a rotate and balance done did not help the shimmy. The grinding noise was coming from the rear end and they said the rear pinion bearings were bad, they replaced the rear differential pinion bearings. Picked it up on April 15, 2014. Invoice Amount $1378.94 On April 20, 2014 called Cowboy ***** because the seal was leaking oil on the rear differential and was making a squealing noise, this was only 5 days after I had picked it up from being repaired. Took the 2009 ***** 3500 to them on April 21, 2014 at 9 AM. They called me and said that the rear bearing differential side are bad and they would have to order parts, well I Did not get the pickup back until May 5,2014 and they had replaced the rear ring and pinion gear at that time. Seems like every time we took the truck in something was leaking! Invoice Amount $1066.36 On June 19,2014 while heading to Des Moines, Iowa for a week trip I was pulling my horse trailer with horses in it and was 5 hours away from home and that squealing noise was back, I pulled over to a rest area that was 4 miles from Kearney Nebraska and went to check the rear end out and there was transmission fluid all over my pick up and trailer, when I looked at the rear differential I found that the plug was gone and the bearings were dry and had a burning smell. Invoice Amount $1361.00 We immediately called Cowboy ***** and they were absolutely no help they acted like we took the plug out. They said they would come 5 hours and pick the truck up and if it was there fault they would fix it but, would not bring it back to us. It took them 3 weeks to get it fixed from when we took it in on April 20, 2014. That meant leaving us stranded with 2 horses and a 13 year old, Very inconvenient for everyone, how were we going to get to Iowa and also get home! We called our Insurance for Emergency Roadside assistance and they got a tow truck to come and get the pickup, but we had to find someone else to come pull the horse trailer with the horses in it to ****** ***** in Kearney Nebraska. ****** got to the pickup as soon as they could and found that the plug was missing and found fine metal filings in what was left of the fluid, upon inspection they found that the transfer case fill plug was loose and added fluid to it, Cowboy ***** was the last person to mess with the transfer case October 24, 2014. ****** (see notes on invoice) got the parts the next day replaced the pinion and carrier bearings but test drove it and the ring and pinion was making noise, but could not have the parts there until June 24, 2014 and wouldn’t have it completed until June 25,2014. We had two horses and a 13 year old girl that had to be checked into her event that night June 19, 2014 she was competing at the ******** ****** **** ****** ****** in Des Moines, Iowa from June 20 to June 28, which she worked very hard to qualify for. ****** ***** said that we could drive it but it would be noisy, we just could not hang out in Kearney Nebraska for 7 days with our horses tied to the trailer. We headed to Des Moines Iowa and I called ***** ***** in Des Moines on June 23, 2014 to get an appointment to get the ring and pinion fixed on the truck, they scheduled it for June 26, 2014 and we had to be out of the fair grounds on Sunday June 29, 2014. They got the parts in and was finished with it on June 27, 2014 at 6PM, we got a ride to ***** ***** and when we got there they said that it was completed but there was still a whining noise and they were not sure where the noise was coming from. They said that it was drivable it would just be noisy, again! Invoice Amount $2486.72 I was on the phone with Chrysler Customer Service (NO HELP) and with Cowboy ***** several times during the week, because Cowboy ***** did not feel they should have to pay for it to be fixed by other ***** Dealerships and that ****** should have fixed the en**** thing, that meant us being stranded in Kearney Nebraska for 7 days and my Daughter would miss her ****** that we had to pay $850.00 for stalls and hotel room in advance. On June 25, 2014 I got a call from ****** ****** Service manager for Cowboy ***** and he had me fax over the invoice from ****** ***** and wanted the invoice from ***** ***** also but they did not have the Pickup finished yet, so I did not have it. ****** wanted it so that he could talk to his manager to get it approved for them to pay us back. He called me back and said that they will pay me for the ****** bill and the trailer towing but not for the ***** ***** bill, which they hadn’t even seen yet. They have admitted to being negligent and should reimburse us no matter who fixed it. We had to be places and we are the only ones that were inconvenienced because of Cowboy Dodges $10.95 mistake. We feel that Cowboy ***** is responsible for this whole mess and is negligent in there repair service that is costing us twice and we want them to pay us back for all the repairs that were done on this 2009 ***** 3500 from starting with the April 9, 2014 repair to all the repairs up until June 27, 2014. The $10.95 plug that was not installed properly by Cowboy Dodges so called CERTIFIED Technician, has cost my family financial hardship along with stress and inconvenience, and the pickup is still not right. We are seeking full payment in the amount of: June 19, 2014 -Towing Trailer- 85.00 June 19, 2014 - Towing Pick up – 61.00 June 20, 2014 Repair - ****** ***** – 1361.00 June 27, 2014 Repair - ***** ***** – 2486.72 April 9-15, 2014 Repair - Cowboy ***** – 1378.94 April 21-May 5, 2015 Repair - Cowboy ***** – 1066.36 TOTAL_________$ 6439.02 Sincerely, *** ******* ******* ******** *******

Desired Settlement: To be paid back for all repairs

Business Response: Dear ***** *****,

*** ******* filed with the Circuit Court and Cowboy ***** is to appear on the 14th Day Of July at 9:00 AM. This has never happened to me before.  Does this mean that the Court will decide and the BBB is no longer needed?


Thank You 

******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Cowboy ***** refuses to accept the fact that they were negligent and have really messed up the rear end in my pickup and they should be responsible for all and any repairs that needed to be done to get it fixed correctly!! they did however pay us for a portion of the total bill and still owe the remaining balance that will be decided in court!!  There negligence has cost me financially, This has put me and my family in a financial hardship all because their technician did not install a $10.95 plug correctly and it burned up my whole axle. They need to do the right thing and pay for their mistake!!! So yes this requires the courts to decide!!

Regards,

*** *******

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Monday 8/5/13 Car was picked up by tow truck around 10:30 am. Late that day I had a message that the car had been delivered and they would be looking at it.Tuesday 8/6/13 I called around 2:00 pm to see what was going on and I was told by ***** that he was just going to call me. I was told that they had checked the bolts, etc but it appeared to be an internal engine noise and could they drop the oil pan. I told them yes.Wednesday 8/7/13 I called after lunch to see what was going on and was told by ***** that he was just going to call me. I was told that it was rod noises and there was metal in the oil pan and since it was the internal engine they had to file paper work with the warranty department to see if it was going to be a repair or a replacement. ***** had the paper work ready to file and would put it in that afternoon.Thursday 8/8/13 I had to call again to see what was going on. I was told that they were still waiting to hear from the warranty department. I called about 1:00 pm and left a message for the service manager. ****** the service manager called me back when he came back from lunch. I told him what was going on and asked if they provide loaner cars. He told me that they had stopped doing it a couple of years ago because customers kept totaling them. I told him that I needed my car fixed ASAP because it was costing me a fortune for a rental. He began to tell me that it was costing him a fortune to have my car there. It is costing me 110.00 an hour to have the hoist occupied by the car. I told him that I felt I was getting very poor customer service and wanted something done. He kept telling me that he understood and was right there with me. He called me about 4:15 and left a message. I called back and he told me that the warranty department wanted written proof of the oil changes that had been done on the car. I asked if he was kidding. He said that the warranty department wouldnt do anything until they had the documents.Friday 8/9/13 At 7:00 a.m.

Desired Settlement: The dealership had my car for 3 weeks. I would like for them to improve their communication with their customers, I had to initiate all the calls to find out what was going on. They should also provide a loaner car to customers they will have their car for an extended period of time. I would like them to cover the rental car I had during the time they had my car. The total for the rental was $399.22.

Business Response: from: ****** ****** <************@gmail.com>
to: ***** ***** <********************>
date: Fri, Sep 27, 2013 at 12:19 PM
subject: ******* *******
 
Hi *****

Mrs. ******* is correct when she said we had her car for 3 weeks and that we were waiting for the warranty department to ok the repairs. I understand that this is a long time and that Mrs. ******* needed her car back. 

About a year ago Chrysler changed the requirements needed to do major engine and transmission repairs. We now need proof of maintenance and in most cases we have to take pictures of the damaged components.We then send them to the warranty department along with a diagnostic sheet and repair vs assembly price comparison. They then take this information and make a decision as to what type of repair we can do or send a private adjuster to inspect the vehicle.

Again, I agree that we had Mrs. *******s vehicle for 3 weeks, however running through these procedures do take time and the repair itself was very lengthy. I don't feel that we wasted a large amount of time. There is a small amount of time that goes by when the technician does start work on other cars while waiting for the authorization from Chrysler. He then has to finish that car before going back to the previous car.

I would like to try and help Mrs. ******* with some of her rental cost. I noticed that she bought a service contract through her dealer, ****** ****** in ******* *******.
There is a possibility I might get 5 days at $35.00 a day refunded to Mrs. *******. This would total $175.00. What I would need is a copy of the rental invoice  that shows the cost and the days that were rented.

As soon as I get this information I will start the process. 


Thank You
****** ******
Service Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

from: ***** ******* <**********************>
to: ***** ***** <********************>
date: Thu, Oct 3, 2013 at 8:50 PM
subject: RE: Reply

I agree to their offer of 35.00 a day for the rental car.

***** *******
8:50 PM (12 hours ago)
to me
Images are not displayed. Display images below - Always display images from **********************
 
 
 
I agree to their offer of 35.00 a day for the rental car.
***** *******
8:50 PM (12 hours ago)
to me
Images are not displayed. Display images below - Always display images from **********************
 
 
 
I agree to their offer of 35.00 a day for the rental car.

Consumer Response: ***** ***** ******* ************************ *** ***** ***** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *********

I never received a refund.

Business Response: Dear *****

I am very sorry that this issue has not been handled. I am trying to find out how the ball got dropped. I will get with the Chrysler District  Manager on how to start the paperwork for Mrs. ******** request for her rental refund. 

Thank You 

****** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   I will await a refund from them.

Regards,

******* *******

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new 2013 Dodge Ram 3500 from Cowboy Dodge on June 29, 2013. I traded in a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. Last week I received a bill from Cowboy Dodge for over $1800.00 for a back seat and a tailgate for the truck I traded in. I sold them the truck as is. I didn't sign anything saying I would provide a tailgate or back seat. They have harassed me and threatened to send me to collections. They have not provided any signed document saying I would provide parts for a trade in. Also, when I purchased the truck I had a fifth wheel travel trailer with me that I was set to deliver to CA. It was parked in front of the show room in their parking lot. They failed to inform me that the truck I purchased with a prep package ($500.00) for towing did not have any available fifth wheel hitch available to fit it. Because of the prep package I wasn't able to install ANY hitch on it. I was forced to find another driver to pick up the trailer and deliver it. I lost $1400.00. I waited over a month for Ram to send out a modified frame so that I could use a fifth wheel hitch. The dealership offered NO assistance with this. They also said they didn't know you couldn't purchase a hitch for it. They either blatantly lied or they don't know anything about the products they sell. I lost 50% of my business for a month. They offered NO compensation or assistance with this. I am prepared to send them a bill for this. This truck has been in the shop four times for check engine lights coming on. Now they think the transmission is defective and it will be in the shop for 3 weeks because the parts are not available. The front tire is also defective and bulges. I am wondering if instead of sending out bogus bills they would like to assist with this too?

Desired Settlement: Rescind this bill immediately in writing. Cover my lost wages resulting from them withholding known limitations of these trucks after they were released. Ram trucks corporate does have a copy of the letter that went out to all dealerships informing them of the hitch problem. It was sent out well before I purchased mine.

Business Response: Dear *****

We understand Both concerns that Mr. ******* has in reguards to the fifth wheel hitch and the seat and tail gate.

The truck did come with the prep package for towing. With that package an additional accessory is needed to be purchased in order for the hitch to be used. We did not have that part in stock and when we went to order it we found out it was on national back order. This means at this point in time the part is not available. We searched every place in town for something that would work but we were unable to find anything. At this time we called our Chrysler Parts Representative and explained the situation to him. He, through his contacts at Chrysler was able to fined the part we needed. The part was expedited and arrived shortly there after. We apologize to Mr. ******* for the manufacture not having the part needed and for his inconvenience. Please note that parts availability is out of our control. We do have empathy for our customers when this happens.

During the trade in procedure we noticed the back seat and the tailgate were missing. Mr. ******* said he had them in a storage unit in *****. He told us he would drop them off on his next trip through. We waited several weeks and made several calls to Mr. *******  as he had not been back with the seat or tailgate. We then offered to pay for shipping of the seat and tailgate as this would allow  Mr. ******* to incur no cost in bringing the seat and tailgate back. At this time he still would not let us have the seat and tailgate that he originally agreed upon. We then did send a bill to him for the seat and tailgate as we were going to incur the expense of buying them. We have not received payment at this time.

We still feel that we are entitled to the cost of the seat and tailgate,or the seat and tailgate themselves. However we do understand that the back ordered part did cause an issue for Mr. ******* and we do have empathy for him.

At this time we would like to offer a goodwill gesture and except the loss of the seat and the tailgate for the inconvenience. Mr. ******* has been through. 


Sincerely

***** ******
Sales Manager

11/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2008 into Cowboy dodge in Cheyenne Wyoming for them to diagnose my vehicle not having any heat inside. I was called and told my radiator was low and my radiator cap was the problem. So I ok'd that repair. They also told me my air filter was bad, my spark plugs were worn , and I needed a fuel system service. All nothing to do with heat issues. Later in the day I was called and was told I needed a new heater core for $690 plus labor. I told them I didn't think so and that I would drive the car and see what happens. I then took the car to my shop , where I work , and flushed out the heater core with water . Lo and behold , I have heat. My wife called Cowboy dodge and asked why they did not offer to flush heater core. She was told it was Illegal to flush out the heater core , that it could cause more problems or come back later with other issues. But they offer coolant system flushes , which last time I checked , the heater core is part of the coolant system. So for $ 185.29 I got a new radiator cap . My wife asked if they would give her half off on an oil change to settle this issue and was told no that we refused the service and it was our problem.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to pay for the diagnosis , for which I was told would not exceed $ 105.00. But because they did not properly diagnose the issue it came in for I would like the difference refunded.

Business Response: from: ****** ****** <**********************>
to: ***** ***** <********************>
date: Fri, Nov 8, 2013 at 11:49 AM
subject: **** *************** *******

Dear *****

After reviewing the customers concern with the technician, assistant service manager and myself, there seems to be a couple of inaccurate points being made.

Mr. ******* said we told him if we replace the radiator cap and add antifreeze to the low radiator level it would fix the problem.  This is incorrect. We told him the radiator level was low, the radiator cap did not pass the pressure test and advised there could be a problem with the heater core. We told him the cap and low coolant needed to be addressed  first before condemning the heater core, as these two items could cause heating issues. There was no direct statement that this was the problem as we would not know until the repairs are completed. After replacing the bad radiator cap, putting the coolant to the proper level, and making sure the cooling system was functioning properly we were able to continue the diagnosis on the heating system. Additional diagnoses showed the heater core plugged.

We called Mr. ******* and told him that he needed a new heater core. He elected for us not to replace the heater core and stated he would drive the car for a few days and see what happens. 

Then a couple of days later I received a call from ******* *******. She was very nice and polite and asked why we didn't offer to flush the heater core. I explained to her the reason that we did not flush it was that we are responsible for the repair. It is our responsibility for a repair to be complete and the vehicle not return for the same problem. The heater core has very tiny passage ways. The possibility of not getting all the dirt and tarnish out and having it plug up again is very possible. I explained to ******* if this would happen they would have been very unhappy and ironically, probably would have accused us of not doing a proper repair the first time. 

I firmly believe that we were clear and correct in our diagnoses and received proper authorization to perform the work we did. I believe there is no justification for a refund on this matter. 

However I will present a goodwill gesture and provide a free oil change for their Jeep Liberty.
Please have them bring this letter in any time before March 1st 2014 and I will honer this offer.  

Thank You
****** ******
Service Manage

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The brakes on my vehicle that I purchased went out two weeks after I purchased it. It was a 2005 but I had a service contract that said they would fix it for $100. I kept record that I called these people 14 times from 9/11/13 to 10/7/13. Two of these calls came from my parents. The new car sales manager told me I needed to speak with the used car manager. The used car manager was the biggest problem. They said he would call me and then he wouldn't or I get told he was outside or on a phone call that was lasting a long time, but yet when my dad called he could get on the phone. This seemed like he knew my name and was avoiding speaking with me. It took 3 weeks to get ***** ********, used car sales manager, on the phone. I finally talked him and he said he would call the next day when the mechanic came in so he could look at my brakes. Never called.I then had my mother call that Monday and ***** was "off". The new car sales manager told my father they would call me the next morning and when they didn't my father called them and they told him they tried to call me. This was however a lie because I have no phone record of it. However, before this I did talk to the mechanic and he said my brakes were at 50 and 70 percent when he looked at my vehicle but when my family friend had time to look at them the brakes were as thin as the thickness of a quarter. This should have never happened even on a used car and if cowboy dodge just looked at it when I called almost a month earlier it would have been a quick fix. Needless to say my friend is fixing it on his own time and I'm not letting those people at cowboy dodge touch my car.

Desired Settlement: Due to Cowboy Dodge never even looking at my vehicle, I would like payment for my brake parts. The cost of my brake pads and rotors were $143.90 and my calipers were $149.01. I have the receipts.

Business Response: from: ****** ****** <**********************>
to: ***** ***** <********************>
date: Fri, Nov 1, 2013 at 4:29 PM
subject: ****** * *****

Dear *****

After reviewing the used car technicians inspection sheet it clearly states that the front brakes have 70% lining left and the rear brakes have 50% lining left. ****** ***** also confirmed this information when she talked to the used car technician and he told her that the brakes were 50% and 70%. 

The New Car Manager, ***** ****** offered to inspect the brakes if she would bring the vehicle in. ***** said she never brought it in. Had she brought the vehicle in the issue could have been resolved.

We pride ourselves in doing a complete job and giving accurate information. If we do make a mistake we will make it right. However, if we can not inspect what is suggested, we are unable to complete that commitment. 

At this time we feel that the paper work and the technicians verbal statement are accurate information as to the condition of the brakes.

Sincerely
****** ******
Service Manager

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: dropped truck off 6/6/2013 at 7pm. Dealer did diagnosis 6/7/2013 & noticed damaged fan belt at 7pm & electrical system damage at 11:30am on 6/8/2013 On 7 **** 2013 we took our 2005 Dodge Ram 2500 Cummins in order for Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY to diagnose the reason for the motor not running properly. We paid $117.66 for Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY to do a diagnosis on our truck. We received the following estimate from Cowboy Dodge; #4 injector $890, fuel filter (we just put new one in 1 week ago) $82.45, induction service $362.45, adjust valves $180, air filter 39.95, rear brake pads - rotors - axle seals - cleaner $585.87, exhaust manifold - gaskets - turbo gasket - hardware - miscellaneous $1142.05, tax $194.27, their Grand Total on the estimate...$3,432.04... Our grand total after adding correctly...$3,477.04. After paying $117.66 on 7 **** 2013 for them to diagnose the "motor" issues we were having with our truck (but instead they diagnosed everything else), we picked the truck up in the evening & the fan belt shredded off after driving the truck 2 feet within Cowboy Dodge's lot. Leaving us without a choice, we had to leave the truck at Cowboy Dodge & informed them that the belt was obviously fine before their diagnostics because nothing on their estimate stated that there was anything wrong with it, but they refused to fix it & said that it was old & cracked when we brought it in. They can determine that the air filter needs to be replaced, but the fan belt was not noticed until after it shredded due to their fault for not tightening the belt after they fiddled with it. We had to call a tow company to tow the truck home & after the tow truck driver placed our truck in the yard, I tried to lock the doors, but the horn did not sound like it normally does when you lock the doors with the remote. I contacted Cowboy Dodge & they told me that I could bring the truck back in so they could look at it...Are you serious?! They want us to have our truck towed back to their service center so they can tell us that the door locks were like that when we brought it in, but yet it is not on the estimate or their "diagnoses." ****** search, or go to **************** & search Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY and you will see their extremely poor ratings... If we had the money, we would sue them, but instead, we have to borrow a family member's vehicle until we can get our truck fixed by anyone other than Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY. We purchased our 2005 Dodge Ram new in the summer of 2005 from Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY & have received terrible service from them ever since, especially since our warranty ran out.

Desired Settlement: We want a full refund for their $117.66 diagnosis, the cost to fix the fan belt & any damage it may have caused when it flew off under the hood & the repair of the electrical system that no longer works properly since in Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY's service center on 6 **** 2013 when we dropped it off after their service center hours (7pm). A total of $2,500.00 in damages, diagnosis & now being without a vehicle until we can bring our 2005 Dodge Ram into a different service center is what we are asking for.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My wife and I have collected the following information about our 2005 Dodge Ram 2500's performance from 6 **** 2013 through today, 17 **** 2013.

The passenger side door locks have been removed and were not replaced properly. The electrical system is not working, i.e. the door locks do not respond to handheld/key ring automatic unlock/lock device, nor to the door lock/unlock switches on the inside of the doors.

The motor was replaced by Dodge due to manufacture defect and therefore the motor that is in the truck only has approximately 60 to 70 thousand miles on it and should still be covered under warranty, but without checking their information, Cowboy Dodge's Service Department informed us that is it not under warranty.

We will be contacting Chrysler Dodge Jeep Corporate Headquarters in order to receive proper care. If it is determined that the motor in our truck is still covered under any warranties, we will seek any and all further services from any other dealership than Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY.

We have our insurance adjuster inspecting the truck in order to determine fault, if any for damages/negligence while in the care of Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY.

It seems odd that we were able to drive the truck into Cowboy Dodge's Service department, but after Cowboy Dodge's Service department did their "diagnosis" and we returned to pick our truck up and were unable to drive it off of Cowboy Dodge's lot due to the fan belt completely shredding off within five feet from where the truck had been parked by a service employee of Cowboy Dodge, and therefore we had to have it towed home where it has sat since.

We brought the truck in to have a diagnosis in order to determine why it was running rough, but when we received a call about their "diagnosis" we were never informed that the fan belt, or the tensioner were in need of replacement/repair, but Cowboy Dodge's Service department informed us of everything else that was in need of replacement/repair, i.e., the air filter needed to be replaced and a new fuel filter, so not quite sure how Cowboy Dodge can say that the fan belt was okay when we brought it in, but now it was not.

Everything worked on our truck before we brought it into Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY's Service Department, but upon picking it up from Cowboy Dodge, it has been inoperable and in turn has forced us into bowering vehicles from family and friends in order to get back and forth to work and School.

Your offer of, "As a good will gesture," "labor free of charge" if we pay for the parts is an insult and unacceptable.

****** Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY and you will see that your ratings are incredibly poor. We wish that we would have checked with the BBB before allowing Cowboy Dodge to work on our truck.

Upon receiving the insurance adjuster's findings will determine any further actions.

We are not satisfied with your findings and find that you are completely unaware of any "diagnosis" done on our truck due to the fact that the diagnosis was "performed" by another services employee and unless you stood over that service employee while he diagnosed our truck, you do not, and cannot say without a doubt that the service employee was not negligent while diagnosing the problem with our truck. We did not find your name on the diagnosis, nor was it on the estimate.

We are not satisfied with your "good will gesture" and we will continue to seek further compensation.


Respectfully,
**** and **** *******

Business Response: from: ****** ****** <************@*********>
to: ***** ***** <********************>
date: Thu, Jun 20, 2013 at 10:17 AM
subject: Mr. *******

Dear *****,

I can understand that Mr. ******* has concerns about his trucks mechanical issues,however it is a 2005 and has 125000 miles on it. I am sure there has been,currently is, and will be issues in the future that he will have to deal with. We are now dealing with the current situation which he brought his vehicle in for and that was runs rough and no power. We should not cloud the issue with door lock or electrical problems. These are not related to his concern nor did we do or address any electrical issues.

Mr. ******* does have a legitimate question as to if he had warranty on his engine. We did put a remanufactured engine in his truck on 7-6-2009. At that time he had 59,869 miles. The warranty on the remanufactured engine is 6 months/unlimited miles. The fuel injectors are the same 6 months/unlimited miles. (copies of the warranties are provided--via fax). His manufactured diesel warranty expired on 7-26-2012. Mr. ******* is welcome to call and check with Chrysler if he like. This is what he will find out.

Mr. ******* is also correct in that I personally did not diagnose his truck. That is why my diagnostic statement came from the technicians own writing on the work order that he had while working on Mr. *******s truck. Those are his facts.

I already addressed Mr. *******'s belt concern in the last response paragraph 4.

I still feel that we are not responsible for a aging, high mileage truck, either now or in the future.
My goodwill gesture still stands if Mr. ******* wishes to take advantage of it.


Sincerely (Warranty on Engine and Fuel Injector - *******.pdf)</********************></************@*********>

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear Mr. ******,
We will once again decline your "good-will" offer, and continue working with our Insurance Company and Attorney.
Let us ask you one question Mr. ******, "Would you go back to eat at a restaurant after you received food poisoning two times?" It is the same as you asking us to bring our truck back into your shop... and we all know that is never going to happen.
Yes, we have contacted Chrysler Corporation and received all of the information that we were seeking on the new engine's warranty. While voicing our opinions with Chrysler Corp., we were offered to file a complaint against Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY and felt it absolutely vital to do so.
The complaint that we filed with Chrysler had nothing to do with the motor's/engine's warranty, but had everything to do with the incredibly poor, or for better words, lack of Customer Service that Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY's service department provided us.
The truck body may have many miles, but the engine has 60-65k miles on it. When we brought the truck in for a "diagnosis", there was not one thing wrong with the electrical system, nor the fan belt and it's motor, but both of these severely malfunctioned upon trying to leave your dealership's parking lot in which resulted in our truck having to be towed home.
Mr. ******, you state that the truck is old and will need more repairs as it gets older, but when your service representative contacted us with a "diagnosis" on what "repairs" our truck needed, he mentioned a fuel pump. I am sure my laughter caught your service rep. off guard at first, but I believe he understood why I laughed when I mentioned that the fuel pump was replaced two days prior to bringing our truck in to Cowboy Dodge's Service Dept. for the "diagnosis." Another item mentioned in the "repair" list was brakes. We would like to know why Cowboy Dodge's Service Dept. diagnosed these items, but states they did not diagnose the electrical system, or fan belt and its motor. So Mr. ******, your statement about not "diagnosing" the electrical system, or fan belt and it's motor because it was not the reason for the initial "diagnosis" seems to just be a failed attempt at placing blame elsewhere.
Please read up on all the complaints that your dealership has received and you will be sure to find that almost all of them are against your "service department's" negligence, incompetence and lack of Customer Service.
We will continue to seek proper compensation.
Respectfully,
The *******'s

Consumer Response: from: * * *********************
to: "********************" <********************>
date: Tue, Jul 9, 2013 at 10:05 AM
subject: BBB case #********

Hello Ms. *****,
We are writing to you about our outstanding case against Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY. We have been working with our insurance company, USAA along with a diesel mechanic who has determined that Cowboy Dodge was negligent while they were diagnosing our 2005 2500 Dodge Ram. We will be receiving our 2005 2500 Dodge Ram back in about a week and were informed by the diesel mechanic that it is recommended to replace the entire engine because Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne did not replace the injectors they removed correctly, therefore severely damaging the motor. Once we receive the final report from the diesel mechanic we would be more than happy to forward it to you in an e-mail, or fax. We ask that you please hold off on closing this case until we have all the findings from our insurance and mechanic in hand. We will file suit against Cowboy Dodge of Cheyenne, WY as soon as all findings are released to us.

Thank you for your attention in this matter and please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, or concerns.

Respectfully,

**** & **** *******
**** ******** ****
********* ** *****
***** ********
*******************</********************></*******************>


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cowboy Dodge Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)