Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Columbine Ford

Phone: (970) 625-1680 Fax: (970) 625-0607 2728 Railroad Ave, Rifle, CO 81650 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.columbineford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This Ford dealership sells new and pre-owned cars, trucks, and SUV's and provides service and maintenance.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Columbine Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Columbine Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Columbine Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 2012 Business started: 10/01/2012 in CO Business incorporated 09/14/2012 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Collins, General Manager Ms. Terena Gross, Accounts Payable Mr. Todd Helton, Co-Owner Mr. Mike Peebles, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. John Collins, General Manager
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Truck Dealers Truck Equipment Suppliers Auto Air Conditioning Car Alternator and Generator Repair Stations Auto Body Repair and Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Machine Shops Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair Brake Service Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Car Lubrication Shops Transmissions - Automobile Truck Repair Shops Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies Four Wheel Drive Vehicles - Repair & Service Engine Starter Suppliers Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles

Service Area
Western Slope
Alternate Business Names
TMRF LLC
Business Management

This business was purchased from Rick and Sam Levine in October of 2012. Mike Peebles also owns Longmont Ford and Freeway Ford in Denver.

Products & Services

vehicles, trucks, SUV's, cars, pre-owned cars, trucks, repair,

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Columbine Ford has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2728 Railroad Ave

    Rifle, CO 81650 (970) 625-1680

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the car in march after paying 4 or 5 weeks rental while my truck was being fixed and not k owing how much longer it would take. I told the salesman and Tina the finance person why I was buyingbit. I went initially to buy a Camry. It had body damage that was not on the advertised photo and I was uncertain of how it was running. Within a week, It began to shutter and occasionally loose power when shifting. I texted with no response. I began to Google the symptom as it was so odd I was uncertain what was happening. I learned then there was a recall on the transmission. After I tried a few dealerships near me, to fix it but could not get a call back, I texted my salesman if I could return it as I was told I could bring it back in 30 days if not happy with it. So, on April 7, I drove it back to *****. Paid 200.00 for a taxi to ***** ******** to get a rental, as can't take a loaner out of town. I called Gennesy to see if I could pay to have the car returned. She said she would ask. Never called back. So, I called to follow up. She asked again. Then called back and agreed to deliver to ****** for 250.00. However, 40 inches of snow was predicted that April 16 weekend, so I said let's hold off. The next week I took a rental car back over. Got a ride to the shop, where not only did they not do the repair Aaron had informed me was available "oh yes there is a recall on that. We can get it fixed", but no one on location even knew my car was there and they could not find my key or my paperwork. 45 minute later, I picked my dog up from board, took a right onto ********* and it shuttered and lost power causing me to get tailgate and honked at. I immediately called the service supervisor John and was transferred by front desk to Used sales manager Steve, who did not pick up and I left a VM. When I got home after staying at ******** due to weather over ******* pass, I emailed Jimmy B******, who forwarded my email. After a month of no reply despite my review on ******** or ***********.com, I emailed the other Gm, and today I received an email full of lies from Pete, who turns out to be the. Service manager. It is full of spin and lies. Of course now trying to claim the reason my warranty was extended was over the transmission. The same transmission his department found did not need to be repaired, and a claim. Unsubstantiated in the sales contract. He says too bad so sad for the 700 in hotels rent a cars and taxis, claiming he "offered" to transport it. Shameful, blatant lies!

Desired Settlement: Exchange or refund

Business Response:

***** ******* ******** ***************************** *** ************************ ************************ *** **** ******* **************************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** ***** ** ******** *************

To Whom It May Concern:

Re: ***** ****
ID# ********

Columbine Ford Service Department received Ms. ****'s vehicle on 4/11/2016 at which time Ms. **** was experiencing a shutter between first and second gear most noticeable in town. Technician checked vehicle on 4/11/2016 and experienced the shutter while on test drive.   Technician checked for technical service bulletins and found on the (TSB) Technical Service Bulletins 15-0120 applied to vehicle concern. Per Technical Service Bulletin 15-0120 technician performed recalibration to transmission control module as outlined in (TSB).
After repairs were completed Ms. **** inquired if vehicle could be delivered to ****** for a fee, Service Manager, Paul E******, agreed to deliver vehicle to ****** for a fee of $250.00. Ms. **** agreed but cancelled 2 different times and finally agreed to have vehicle delivered the weekend of 4/16/16.  However there was a large snow storm coming to the ******/****** area and delivery was to be rescheduled. Ms. **** then elected to come pick up vehicle herself which incurred far more expense than the delivery fee.
Customer has since experience continued issues with the transmission and we have advised Ms. **** that the best solution is to get the vehicle into her local Ford dealership for further diagnosis and repair.
Ford Motor Co has issued a Field Service Action (FSA) 14M02 and 15B22 which provides a warranty extension for the Transmission Control Module, which possibly could apply to Ms. ****'s concern. Ms. **** purchased an Extended Service Plan that may also be applicable with the concern but without additional diagnosis no verification of coverage can be done.
Columbine Ford Service Department is uncertain of how to resolve Ms. ****'s concern. We have followed the repair procedure as outlined in TSB 15-0120 at time of repair no additional repairs were needed.
We attached in this email all supporting documentation including repair history of the vehicle, the Technical Service Bulletin, the Ford Oasis showing open Field Service Action, technician notes and email correspondence with Ms. ****.
We are very apologetic that Ms. **** is still experiencing issues with the vehicle but without further diagnosis we are unable to assist with resolution to Ms. ****'s concern.


1/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1-9-16 I was in the process of purchasing a 2016 **** ***** ******** truck, with a trade-in of my 2013 **** ***** ******** truck. After signing all the required purchasing contracts, agreements and disclosures (including: Power of Attorney For A Motor Vehicle, Retail Installment Sale Contract, Buyer's Order & Invoice, Affidavit & Representation Regarding Trade-in Vehicle and Dealer's Bill of Sale Of A Motor Vehicle) and various other legal documents, J.M., Title Clerk, gave me copies of the Retail Installment Sales Contract, Power Of Attorney For A Motor Vehicle, Customer Cash Payment Authorization Form and Disclosures Required As Part Of A Motor Vehicle Sales Contract. I requested copies of the other documents I signed that were not included, Ms. M., Title Clerk, refused to give me the copies, stating "You do not have a right to copies of these documents....they are the business's and bank's documents. You do not get to keep them!" I explained to Ms. M., as a consumer, I do have a right to copies of the documents I signed. That in all my past automobile sales transactions, I have never been denied signed copies. Ms. M. grabbed the documents in my hand and the file on the table. She left the room and returned with J. B., owner/manager of Columbine Ford. Mr. B. immediately began shouting at me, "Get out! We are not going to sell the truck to you!" He said, I was rude and insulting and demanded that I leave the premises and accused me of having prior similar incidents when dealing with people. I attempted to explain to Mr. B., that I only asked for copies of the documents I signed, but Ms. M. refused. I was not rude and demanding...I don't know why Ms. M. refused me copies? I asked Mr. B., in my presence, to destroy the signed documents or give them to me for disposal. Mr. B. said, I could not have the documents, "They will be put in a locked room with a secure trash disposal and shredded next time we shred papers! I asked Ms. M., in my presence, to tear-in-half the signed documents before putting them in the trash. Ms. M. refused and placed all the signed documents in a large trash container without being torn-in-half. After leaving Columbine Ford, being seriously concerned about the documents I signed, not being torn-in-half and left in a large container, could be used in identity theft, to secure a loan or even filed with the Colorado State Department of Motor Vehicles, I contacted Officer S. S., Rifle Police Department. I explained the incident to Officer S. He said, the matter is a civil one and that he could not intervene at this time. At my request, Officer S. did take an incident report, Case # ********. The next day,1/10/16, I received a monitored credit report alert message that a change has been made to one of the credit reporting agencies. According to the monitored alert, **** (***** ***** auto dept.), phone # ***-XXX-XXXX, XXXXX ***** ****, requested a copy of my credit report. I did not apply for credit with **** or authorize **** or any other business' or companies to obtain a credit report. I have not applied for any credit since 1/9/16. I called the **** phone number and got a recorded message the business office is closed today, Sunday. Note: The pur***** of the 2016 Ford F-150 was financed by ***** Bank. **** has no reason to request my credit report. I am deeply concerned that the documents I signed were not immediately destroyed or at least torn-in-half by Ms. M. or Mr. B., in my presences or given to me, at Columbine Ford. Ms. M. and Mr. B.s' actions were totally irresponsible, negligent and unprofessional. They have caused me to experience heightened stress and anxiety that is detrimental to my well-being. I am a 100% service-connected disabled veteran who's health is adversely affected due to high stress and anxiety in my life.

Desired Settlement: Columbine Ford refused to tear-in-half the documents I signed before placing them in a trash container. Columbine Ford needs to provide written assurance to me that all the legal documents I signed are properly destroyed and that no unauthorized person had access to the documents.

Business Response: Mr. B****** assures Mr ******** that all documents relating to the purchase of the vehicle have been properly disposed of by shredding these documents.  We take great care in making certain that we do not dispose of any signed legal documents unless they are shredded.  Each of the finance offices has a shredder that may have been mistaken as a trash can by Mr. ********.  We are sorry that the situation became so unpleasant but Mr. ******** was very difficult  from the beginning with the salesman then the finance person and also with Mr. B******.  Columbine Ford made the decision that it was better not to do business with Mr. ******** as he was unhappy from the start and would never have been happy with any part of this transaction. 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: After lengthy negotiating with the salesman Mr. J.S. and Mr. S.B., we agreed on a sale price. I had happily signed all the purchase documents, the purchase transaction was completed and the vehicle was legally mine. I was very happy with the final contract low interest 1.99%, financed by the Bank, and the financed purchase price of $49,021.51 (***** ******** city sales tax of approximately $925.00 was later added onto the amount financed), and one free oil change. With the trade-in value of $33,900.00 for my 2013 **** ***** ******** truck and rebates of $1,500, having monthly payments less than $876.00. Mr. J.S. and Mr. S.B. were very helpful and worked with me to get the best offer possible. When I first drove the 21016 ***** ******** truck, there was a little vibration in the front-end. I told Mr. J.S. and he had the front-end aligned- the alignment solved the vibration. Mr. S.B. gave me one free oil change. My interaction with Mr. J.B. was very limited, I only speaking to Mr. J.B. briefly prior to his hostile, threatening and unprofessional interaction with me.

When I was first contacted by phone, Columbine Ford salesman, Mr. J.S. quoted me the sale price of $57,500 for the 2016 ***** ********-happy with the quoted sale price, I and my wife drove over 55 miles to Columbine Ford to purchase the 2016 ***** ******** truck. However, when I arrived at Columbine Ford Mr. J.S. said the sale price was actually $58,900.00. Considering the additional $1400.00 to be financed, I decided not to purchase the 2016 ***** ******** truck. Mr. J.S. asked the Used Car Manager Mr. S.B. to help negotiate an agreement. Mr. S.B. and I entered into lengthy price negotiations. After some time, we finally agreed on a sale price, with affordable monthly payments. I was happy with the transaction. Both Mr. S.B. and Mr. J.S. were helpful and patient in negotiating a final sales agreement. After agreeing on the sales price with Mr. S.B. and Mr. J.S., I had briefly spoken to Ms. J.M., Title Clerk, she told me "Columbine Ford was not making any money on the sale" of the 2016 ***** ******** truck, "only the salesman."

After completing the sale agreement for the 2016 ***** ******** truck, all the sale contracts and agreements were signed by me and Ms. J.M., Title Clerk. Ms. J.M. gave me a white vinyl sales envelope packet with the sale contracts and agreements enclosed. However, when I asked for copies of other documents I signed, Ms. J.M. refused to provide the copies. She stated, I do not have a right to the copies! I informed Ms. J.M. I have a right to copies of all the documents I signed. Ms. J.M. abruptly took the legal documents from me and the Columbine Ford folder on the table and left the room. Moments later Mr. J.B., Owner/Manager, approached me and my wife, yelling, "Get Out! We are not selling the truck to you! Saying I was rude, insulting and demanding, accused me of past similar transgressions and demanded I leave the premises. Mr. J.B.' response gives no reasonable or clear explanation as to why Ms. J.M. and Mr. J.B. suddenly reacted ,to me and my wife, in such a hostile, threatening, unprofessional manner; refused to give me copies of the signed documents, refused to sell the truck to me (after I signed all the contracts and agreements) and refused to immediately properly destroy all the legally signed contracts and agreements in my presence?

Therefore, I must reject the response, because being a frugal consumer I negotiated the best deal possible, I was happy with the transaction and I happily signed all the sale contracts and agreements. The response leaves many questions unanswered that my wife and I want to know, Why??? If Mr. J.B. considered me such a difficult and unhappy customer didn't Mr. J.B. terminate the sale prior to me signing all the sale contracts and agreements? Why, did negotiating a sale price and requesting copies of signed documents give Mr. J.B. cause to believe the sale should be abruptly terminated? Would a reasonable person abruptly terminated the sale for the reasons Mr. J.B. stated in his response? Why, specifically, did Ms. J.M. refuse to give me copies of the documents I signed? Why, specifically, what provoked Mr. J.B. to confront me and my wife in a very hostile, threating and unprofessional manner? And, why did Ms. J.M. take the signed contracts and agreements from me and Ms. J.M. and Mr.. J.B. refuse to immediately properly destroy the signed documents in my presence? Furthermore, Mr. J.B.' concerns of me being an unhappy customer is mote-the salesman were very pleasant and did very thing to make me happy with the sale; secondly, I live in ***** ******** (over 55 mile from Columbine Ford) after the sale any warranty repairs and routine maintenance work would be done by a ***** ******** Ford dealership.

But of most concern is; Mr. J.B. and Ms. J.M.' actions have caused me consider undue high stress and anxiety that is harmful to my mental and physical health (I am a 100% service-connected PTSD disabled veteran) and I have suffered health problems and considerable mental anguish since the incident. I incurred monetary expenses driving over 120 miles round trip to Columbine Ford. Several hard credit inquiries were made that will inevitably make it difficult if not impossible to get a low interest rate and good deal to pur***** a new 2016 **** ***** ******** truck. My wife and I, still have questions that need to be answered. We want answers , Why???     

Regards,

******* ********

9/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While my wife and I were awaiting service on our vehicle, I browsed their new car lot and learned about a special 72 month 0% financing on new vehicles. I authorized one credit inquiry through **** ***** Credit to see if I would qualify for this offer. Unfortunately I did not but to my dismay, I found out that their finance department had initiated 6 unauthorized hard credit pulls with other financial institutions and this has negatively affected my credit score. I do not blame the salesman as he was extremely helpful. I blame the finance department on duty this day

Desired Settlement: I ask that the business contact the institutions that they improperly submitted my information to and have these hard inquiries removed.

Business Response: Dear ****,  

We sincerely apologize for this misunderstanding.  We were asked to see if you would qualify for the 0% from **** Credit and when you did not qualify with ****, we attempted to get the best financing through our other lenders.  We are sorry that this has negatively affected your credit.  We were doing our best to get the financing you wanted and we are very sorry that it did not work out.  We have been told that any inquiries by the same source on the same day should not count as multiple credit pulls.  Unfortunately this was not the case for you and we are extremely sorry that your credit has been negatively impacted.  The credit reporting agencies do not allow us to remove inquiries.  We apologize.

Jimmy B******
Columbine ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

While I appreciate the apology from the business, it does little to change the fact that they damaged my credit with 6 unauthorized credit pulls. While the apology does not erase their actions, the damage has been done and according to the business, cannot be rectified.

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a leased 2014 Ford Explorer. I have been talking to a banker at ***** ***** to see whether it would make sense to buy-out my lease, financing, and then trading it in for another vehicle to lower my monthly payments (I had a horrible experience leasing the vehicle and was taken advantage of). I moved from *** ****** ** ******** so I wasn't able to speak with the original dealership that I got the car from. Last Monday, October 27, 2014, I had an appointment with my local dealership requesting ONLY the buy-out price and any fees. I was asked to fill out a paper with my general information, received a figure, and left. I then realized that the number they gave me was completely wrong (he didn't include the remaining lease payments until the lease ended) and called the salesman out on it. Then the next day, I received an email that my credit was dinged. I NEVER gave consent to run my credit, nor was there ANY talk of credit/running my credit, etc. I was outraged and called the dealership and spoke with the gentleman that I had my appointment with. He was extremely rude and non-apologetic and did nothing to fix the situation. I was told it was a "miscommunication" and he wasn't going to stay on the phone and "argue with me."

Desired Settlement: My fiance was outraged that the salesman spoke to me the way he did, so he called the dealership and wanted to speak directly with the manager. The manager was apologetic and said that he would write a letter that I could send to the credit companies in which my credit was run. I have yet to see any letter. I am disgusted by the way the salesman spoke to me and am going after him in hopes that this never happens again, to anyone. This is shady business practice and is illegal. Just because I "signed" a piece of paper, does not give him the right to run my credit without any verbal consent or talk about what he was going to do. I work for ***** ***** and the bankers told me that there has to be consent with the customer before ever doing what he did.

Business Response: We are very sorry for the misunderstanding that took place between you and Columbine Ford.  We do have signed documents in your handwriting showing that you did authorize the credit check in question as well as a signed Purchase Agreement.  The credit application form clearly states that you are applying for credit and your signature is on the "applicant signature" line.  The purchase agreement also has your signature.  For the purposes of lowering your payments, it is necessary to apply for credit in your name to determine if you qualify.  Our sole intention was to assist you with this process.  By your signature, you did give your consent to have your credit checked.  We understand that you are upset that your credit was "dinged" because you are in the process of trying to obtain a mortgage.  You are requesting that we send a letter to the credit bureau stating that you did not authorize your credit check, but that is not correct and it would not be accurate us to put that in writing.  The entire misunderstanding certainly got out of hand and there were apparently many unkind things said on both sides of the phone.  We do apologize for that.  We did not seek to deceive you and feel very badly that you think that was the case.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 
You may have my signature on an application, that is great and looks out for your best interest. However, your shady car salesman is who should be at blame for this. He sees a 26 year old female walks in and knows exactly how he is going to take advantage of her. I specifically told him twice (once when I called and made the appointment, and again when I arrived at the dealership) that all I was requesting was a balance owed and any fees. He never once talked credit or said it was going to be run. I had zero intentions of buying out my lease that day and never wanted to know what my payments would be- ***** ***** was going to finance it for me. Did he give me other numbers than I requested? Yes. Did I ask for them, no. I told him multiple times that I didn't know how the whole process worked and I was doing nothing while I was there... I had a banker at ***** ***** doing everything. I understand you may have my signature, but it was done in the shadiest way possible and I will make sure I tell everyone in the area what happened and to never do business with anyone there. Conveniently I do work in a bank where people finance cars ALL the time- I will make sure to refer them to ******** *******.

Regards,

******** ********

1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August 2013, I ordered a Ford Raptor. I was required to sign the purchase contract, provide my credit card# for deposit, and later email my itinerary to prove when I would be picking up the truck (1/14/14). The agreement was a done deal between myself and the salesman. I paid for a one way airline ticket so that I could drive the truck home. The truck was built 11/6 and delivered to Columbine. On 12/2/13 MY truck was featured for sale on Columbine's website and when I called they told me that they sold it for $3000 over my agreed upon price, but promised an identical truck would be waiting for me on 1/14/14. I called Ford customer service who said that if they ordered another truck on that date it wouldn't be here by 1/14. Customer service called Columbine, and I immediately rec'd a call from their Sales Manager who (screaming)said "OK this is going to work one of two ways, you can either do this my way and trust that your truck will be here or you can fight your order through customer service and it will not. The fact of the matter is, it is my truck and I can choose who I sell it to and when. I have gotten 3 calls from corporate, my boss got called, my boss called me. If you are going to keep causing problems for me, my boss, and Ford Motor Company then the truck will not be here." 1/6/14 the salesman called to say that they could get a similar truck from another dealer. Why did I order a truck to settle for a similar one? I declined and asked for a refund of my airfare. He said that he'd check into that, but no refund to date. No truck waiting, so no reason to fly out. My loss $169.80 airfare. They owe this as the only reason I bought a one way ticket was to pick up my truck. A copy of my itinerary was in the file on MY Raptor per Salesman and Sales Manager.

Desired Settlement: The deal was made, purchase agreement signed, etc. The salesman required that I send him a copy of my itinerary to prove that I was flying out to pick up my special ordered truck. Sales Manager knew the exact date that I was coming out, so allegedly "ordered" a replacement AFTER they sold my special order truck. The only reason I made an airline reservation - one way ticket - was to pick up my special ordered truck. I had no other reason to purchase a one way airline ticket. Issue refund .

Business Response:

The 2013 Ford F250 Raptor was ordered for **** ******.  He put a $500 deposit to special order this vehicle.  He has relatives in the Rangely area and was planning on a vacation trip to pick-up the new truck.  When the truck arrived at Columbine Ford, it was ready to be picked-up and delivered to **** ******.  He signed an agreement to purchase the truck and the deposit was required in order to place the special order for this Raptor.  However **** did not want to pick-up the truck for 6-8 weeks.  This is a $60K vehicle that we do not just HOLD for 6-8 weeks until a customer comes to get it.  We told him he could pay for it - by financing which we would arrange and send the papers by FedEx to be signed - or financing he could arrange himself.  He would not pay for the truck until he picked it up and would not pick it up until it was convenient for him.  His $500 deposit was refunded.  We put the truck on our lot for sale and told him we would order another exact truck at the exact price and have it available when he wanted to come for it in the 6-8 week time frame. It is NOT normal business practice to hold a $60K truck for a customer until they want to pick it up.  A vehicle costs the dealer money every day it is in stock and we did not special ordered the vehicle to have sitting on our lot.  Columbine Ford made every effort to communicate with **** ****** about his options for purchasing the truck he ordered.  He did not want to avail himself of any of the reasonable options.  He is requesting a refund for his one-way airline ticket and Columbine Ford feels no obligation to pay for it.  There were many sensible options for purchasing the truck he wanted but **** chose none of them.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

As stated in the original complaint, I booked this flight in agreement with the salesman from Columbine Ford. I had originally made an agreement with the salesman to come get the truck when I was in the area on business in late February. However one month after the order was placed the salesman contacted me and told me that this would not be acceptable. I proposed booking the earliest flight that I could take time off work for, that flight being mid January. The salesman conferred with someone on the other end of the phone and told me "That will be fine send me a copy of your ticket or confirmation showing when you will be here." I booked this ticket on 4 October 2013 and emailed it to the salesman on 5 October 2013. So the sole purpose of this trip was to get my truck. There was no outside influence of "relatives in the area". Only after I made this plan and bought the tickets, did the salesman mention that I had the option of purchasing the truck early. At this point I relayed an experience of a fellow Columbine customer receiving a damaged special order Raptor and told him that I could not accept sale on something I had not personally inspected; this had nothing to do with convenience but apparent necessity to assure that my order was not damaged. This conversation took place in early November. I had no further contact with the staff at Columbine Ford until I found MY TRUCK for sale on the website on 2 December 2013. No person on Columbine's staff made any effort to contact me and inform me of this change. As to the "exact replacement truck" as of 9 January 2014, one week before my scheduled arrival, I was contacted by the salesman at Columbine Ford and told they did not have a replacement truck on the lot and any replacement they could get would not be exactly what I ordered. This was the first and only time I had been contacted since the Sales Manager called me and screamed at me on the phone including his promise for a written guarantee for my truck to be on the lot as ordered on 15 January 2014, which never arrived. I informed the salesman that if I wanted to compromise on what I purchased, I would not have special ordered it. Columbine Ford is responsible for this loss on my airfare ticket as it was only purchased because we had made a deal on this truck and agreed BEFORE I purchased the ticket, and both sides found this acceptable. I had "many sensible options to purchase the truck" however, due to friends recommendations I chose to pursue purchase with Columbine Ford. My Mistake.
 
Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: ****, We are sorry about the miscommunications and misunderstandings regarding the purchase of the Raptor.  We will refund the cost of your one-way plane fare of $169.80 in the spirit of resolving this issue with you.   Please confirm where you would like the check sent and we will take care of it right away.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Please forward my mailing address to the dealership 
**** *** **** ********** *** *****

Regards,

**** ******

12/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went in to finish paperwork on our 2012 Ford Mustang. Online it was shown as a certified Ford and sales price was $15000. We thought that was a fair deal so we told them to get the paperwork ready and we would come in. When we are in the finance office we asked him where the certification papers were and he said its not certified. Then our salesman said he would check into in because we were upset because that was the reason we thought it was a fair deal. Then the finance guy acted in a hurry didnt go over any numbers except our payment amount and length of loan. We figured since they had good ratings that we should be able to trust them. WRONG- we got our paperwork out the next day to add the car on our insurance policy and noticed the sales price was 16000 not the 15000 that was agreed on. So we contacted them and they said the $1000 was for "bank fees" from ******* ***. We have financed a car with ******* *** before and never had these "fees" tacked on. We also contacted ******* *** and they had no idea what these fees are..... So we were upset because we feel like they just want to get you in, rip you off, and out the door.

Desired Settlement: Stop Payment placed on down payment check of $1,000 made payable to Columbine Ford to be considered even trade in the $1,000 overprice of vehicle.

Business Response: *****,
     I tried to call the phone number you provided in your complaint
to the BBB but it was not your voicemail so I did not leave a message.
    ***** *******, our GM/Owner, asked me to get in touch with you and offer our
sincere apologies for the mix-up you had at Columbine Ford over the
certification and price of the vehicle you purchased. 
     We will be happy destroy your check for $1000 to compensate for the confusion.  ***** *******
is most apologetic and wants you to know that we value your business and our
customer relationship.  The problem should have been resolved for you sooner and
we are sorry.  
     We would also like to offer you an oil change service or vehicle detail free of charge to demonstrate our sincerity.  Please let me know
which one will be better for you and I will send the documentation.
Thank you, 
**** ********
Internet Sales Manager
Columbine Ford
Rifle, Colorado
************
www.columbineford.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** Rushton


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Columbine Ford
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart