Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Columbine Ford?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Columbine Ford

Phone: (970) 625-1680 Fax: (970) 625-0607 View Additional Phone Numbers 2728 Railroad Ave, Rifle, CO 81650 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.columbineford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This Ford dealership sells new and pre-owned cars, trucks, and SUV's and provides service and maintenance.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Columbine Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Columbine Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Columbine Ford include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Columbine Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 2012 Business started: 10/01/2012 in CO Business incorporated: 09/14/2012 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jimmy Breslin, General Mgr/Owner Ms. Terena Gross, Accounts Payable Ms. Cris Hauskins, Business Dev Mgr Mr. Todd Helton, Co-Owner Mr. Mike Peebles, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jimmy Breslin, General Mgr/Owner
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Truck Dealers Truck Equipment Suppliers Auto Air Conditioning Car Alternator and Generator Repair Stations Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Machine Shops Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Car Lubrication Shops Auto Transmission Suppliers Truck Repair Shops Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies Four Wheel Drive Vehicles - Repair & Service Engine Starter Suppliers Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles

Service Area
Western Slope
Alternate Business Names
TMRF LLC
Business Management

This business was purchased from Rick and Sam Levine in October of 2012. Mike Peebles also owns Longmont Ford and Freeway Ford in Denver.

Products & Services

vehicles, trucks, SUV's, cars, pre-owned cars, trucks, repair,

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Columbine Ford has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2728 Railroad Ave

    Rifle, CO 81650 (970) 625-1680 (800) 338-2915

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a leased 2014 Ford Explorer. I have been talking to a banker at ***** ***** to see whether it would make sense to buy-out my lease, financing, and then trading it in for another vehicle to lower my monthly payments (I had a horrible experience leasing the vehicle and was taken advantage of). I moved from *** ****** ** ******** so I wasn't able to speak with the original dealership that I got the car from. Last Monday, October 27, 2014, I had an appointment with my local dealership requesting ONLY the buy-out price and any fees. I was asked to fill out a paper with my general information, received a figure, and left. I then realized that the number they gave me was completely wrong (he didn't include the remaining lease payments until the lease ended) and called the salesman out on it. Then the next day, I received an email that my credit was dinged. I NEVER gave consent to run my credit, nor was there ANY talk of credit/running my credit, etc. I was outraged and called the dealership and spoke with the gentleman that I had my appointment with. He was extremely rude and non-apologetic and did nothing to fix the situation. I was told it was a "miscommunication" and he wasn't going to stay on the phone and "argue with me."

Desired Settlement: My fiance was outraged that the salesman spoke to me the way he did, so he called the dealership and wanted to speak directly with the manager. The manager was apologetic and said that he would write a letter that I could send to the credit companies in which my credit was run. I have yet to see any letter. I am disgusted by the way the salesman spoke to me and am going after him in hopes that this never happens again, to anyone. This is shady business practice and is illegal. Just because I "signed" a piece of paper, does not give him the right to run my credit without any verbal consent or talk about what he was going to do. I work for ***** ***** and the bankers told me that there has to be consent with the customer before ever doing what he did.

Business Response: We are very sorry for the misunderstanding that took place between you and Columbine Ford.  We do have signed documents in your handwriting showing that you did authorize the credit check in question as well as a signed Purchase Agreement.  The credit application form clearly states that you are applying for credit and your signature is on the "applicant signature" line.  The purchase agreement also has your signature.  For the purposes of lowering your payments, it is necessary to apply for credit in your name to determine if you qualify.  Our sole intention was to assist you with this process.  By your signature, you did give your consent to have your credit checked.  We understand that you are upset that your credit was "dinged" because you are in the process of trying to obtain a mortgage.  You are requesting that we send a letter to the credit bureau stating that you did not authorize your credit check, but that is not correct and it would not be accurate us to put that in writing.  The entire misunderstanding certainly got out of hand and there were apparently many unkind things said on both sides of the phone.  We do apologize for that.  We did not seek to deceive you and feel very badly that you think that was the case.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 
You may have my signature on an application, that is great and looks out for your best interest. However, your shady car salesman is who should be at blame for this. He sees a 26 year old female walks in and knows exactly how he is going to take advantage of her. I specifically told him twice (once when I called and made the appointment, and again when I arrived at the dealership) that all I was requesting was a balance owed and any fees. He never once talked credit or said it was going to be run. I had zero intentions of buying out my lease that day and never wanted to know what my payments would be- ***** ***** was going to finance it for me. Did he give me other numbers than I requested? Yes. Did I ask for them, no. I told him multiple times that I didn't know how the whole process worked and I was doing nothing while I was there... I had a banker at ***** ***** doing everything. I understand you may have my signature, but it was done in the shadiest way possible and I will make sure I tell everyone in the area what happened and to never do business with anyone there. Conveniently I do work in a bank where people finance cars ALL the time- I will make sure to refer them to ******** *******.

Regards,

******** ********

1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August 2013, I ordered a Ford Raptor. I was required to sign the purchase contract, provide my credit card# for deposit, and later email my itinerary to prove when I would be picking up the truck (1/14/14). The agreement was a done deal between myself and the salesman. I paid for a one way airline ticket so that I could drive the truck home. The truck was built 11/6 and delivered to Columbine. On 12/2/13 MY truck was featured for sale on Columbine's website and when I called they told me that they sold it for $3000 over my agreed upon price, but promised an identical truck would be waiting for me on 1/14/14. I called Ford customer service who said that if they ordered another truck on that date it wouldn't be here by 1/14. Customer service called Columbine, and I immediately rec'd a call from their Sales Manager who (screaming)said "OK this is going to work one of two ways, you can either do this my way and trust that your truck will be here or you can fight your order through customer service and it will not. The fact of the matter is, it is my truck and I can choose who I sell it to and when. I have gotten 3 calls from corporate, my boss got called, my boss called me. If you are going to keep causing problems for me, my boss, and Ford Motor Company then the truck will not be here." 1/6/14 the salesman called to say that they could get a similar truck from another dealer. Why did I order a truck to settle for a similar one? I declined and asked for a refund of my airfare. He said that he'd check into that, but no refund to date. No truck waiting, so no reason to fly out. My loss $169.80 airfare. They owe this as the only reason I bought a one way ticket was to pick up my truck. A copy of my itinerary was in the file on MY Raptor per Salesman and Sales Manager.

Desired Settlement: The deal was made, purchase agreement signed, etc. The salesman required that I send him a copy of my itinerary to prove that I was flying out to pick up my special ordered truck. Sales Manager knew the exact date that I was coming out, so allegedly "ordered" a replacement AFTER they sold my special order truck. The only reason I made an airline reservation - one way ticket - was to pick up my special ordered truck. I had no other reason to purchase a one way airline ticket. Issue refund .

Business Response:

The 2013 Ford F250 Raptor was ordered for **** ******.  He put a $500 deposit to special order this vehicle.  He has relatives in the Rangely area and was planning on a vacation trip to pick-up the new truck.  When the truck arrived at Columbine Ford, it was ready to be picked-up and delivered to **** ******.  He signed an agreement to purchase the truck and the deposit was required in order to place the special order for this Raptor.  However **** did not want to pick-up the truck for 6-8 weeks.  This is a $60K vehicle that we do not just HOLD for 6-8 weeks until a customer comes to get it.  We told him he could pay for it - by financing which we would arrange and send the papers by FedEx to be signed - or financing he could arrange himself.  He would not pay for the truck until he picked it up and would not pick it up until it was convenient for him.  His $500 deposit was refunded.  We put the truck on our lot for sale and told him we would order another exact truck at the exact price and have it available when he wanted to come for it in the 6-8 week time frame. It is NOT normal business practice to hold a $60K truck for a customer until they want to pick it up.  A vehicle costs the dealer money every day it is in stock and we did not special ordered the vehicle to have sitting on our lot.  Columbine Ford made every effort to communicate with **** ****** about his options for purchasing the truck he ordered.  He did not want to avail himself of any of the reasonable options.  He is requesting a refund for his one-way airline ticket and Columbine Ford feels no obligation to pay for it.  There were many sensible options for purchasing the truck he wanted but **** chose none of them.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

As stated in the original complaint, I booked this flight in agreement with the salesman from Columbine Ford. I had originally made an agreement with the salesman to come get the truck when I was in the area on business in late February. However one month after the order was placed the salesman contacted me and told me that this would not be acceptable. I proposed booking the earliest flight that I could take time off work for, that flight being mid January. The salesman conferred with someone on the other end of the phone and told me "That will be fine send me a copy of your ticket or confirmation showing when you will be here." I booked this ticket on 4 October 2013 and emailed it to the salesman on 5 October 2013. So the sole purpose of this trip was to get my truck. There was no outside influence of "relatives in the area". Only after I made this plan and bought the tickets, did the salesman mention that I had the option of purchasing the truck early. At this point I relayed an experience of a fellow Columbine customer receiving a damaged special order Raptor and told him that I could not accept sale on something I had not personally inspected; this had nothing to do with convenience but apparent necessity to assure that my order was not damaged. This conversation took place in early November. I had no further contact with the staff at Columbine Ford until I found MY TRUCK for sale on the website on 2 December 2013. No person on Columbine's staff made any effort to contact me and inform me of this change. As to the "exact replacement truck" as of 9 January 2014, one week before my scheduled arrival, I was contacted by the salesman at Columbine Ford and told they did not have a replacement truck on the lot and any replacement they could get would not be exactly what I ordered. This was the first and only time I had been contacted since the Sales Manager called me and screamed at me on the phone including his promise for a written guarantee for my truck to be on the lot as ordered on 15 January 2014, which never arrived. I informed the salesman that if I wanted to compromise on what I purchased, I would not have special ordered it. Columbine Ford is responsible for this loss on my airfare ticket as it was only purchased because we had made a deal on this truck and agreed BEFORE I purchased the ticket, and both sides found this acceptable. I had "many sensible options to purchase the truck" however, due to friends recommendations I chose to pursue purchase with Columbine Ford. My Mistake.
 
Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: ****, We are sorry about the miscommunications and misunderstandings regarding the purchase of the Raptor.  We will refund the cost of your one-way plane fare of $169.80 in the spirit of resolving this issue with you.   Please confirm where you would like the check sent and we will take care of it right away.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Please forward my mailing address to the dealership 
**** *** **** ********** *** *****

Regards,

**** ******

12/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went in to finish paperwork on our 2012 Ford Mustang. Online it was shown as a certified Ford and sales price was $15000. We thought that was a fair deal so we told them to get the paperwork ready and we would come in. When we are in the finance office we asked him where the certification papers were and he said its not certified. Then our salesman said he would check into in because we were upset because that was the reason we thought it was a fair deal. Then the finance guy acted in a hurry didnt go over any numbers except our payment amount and length of loan. We figured since they had good ratings that we should be able to trust them. WRONG- we got our paperwork out the next day to add the car on our insurance policy and noticed the sales price was 16000 not the 15000 that was agreed on. So we contacted them and they said the $1000 was for "bank fees" from ******* ***. We have financed a car with ******* *** before and never had these "fees" tacked on. We also contacted ******* *** and they had no idea what these fees are..... So we were upset because we feel like they just want to get you in, rip you off, and out the door.

Desired Settlement: Stop Payment placed on down payment check of $1,000 made payable to Columbine Ford to be considered even trade in the $1,000 overprice of vehicle.

Business Response: *****,
     I tried to call the phone number you provided in your complaint
to the BBB but it was not your voicemail so I did not leave a message.
    ***** *******, our GM/Owner, asked me to get in touch with you and offer our
sincere apologies for the mix-up you had at Columbine Ford over the
certification and price of the vehicle you purchased. 
     We will be happy destroy your check for $1000 to compensate for the confusion.  ***** *******
is most apologetic and wants you to know that we value your business and our
customer relationship.  The problem should have been resolved for you sooner and
we are sorry.  
     We would also like to offer you an oil change service or vehicle detail free of charge to demonstrate our sincerity.  Please let me know
which one will be better for you and I will send the documentation.
Thank you, 
**** ********
Internet Sales Manager
Columbine Ford
Rifle, Colorado
************
www.columbineford.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** Rushton

5/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The car advertised on AutoTrader.com was a 2012 Nissan Altima 2.5S (Black) and the price was $14,000. The sales price on the contract was $15,000 Typical dealer bait and switch when a 100% cash purchase is desired by the buyer.

Desired Settlement: I wish to honor the $14,000 cash price for the black 2012 Nissan Altima 2.5S that was advertised in AutoTrader.com.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/07) */ My name is ****** ****** and I am the General manager of Columbine Ford. The vehicle in questions had more then one interested customer in the last ten days and has been sold. The Selling price to the customer who came to the building first was $13,800.The internet price on this vehicle was $14,000 and we sold it for $13,800 and I will supply a copy od the sold buyers order if that will help. Mr. ****** never had a contract with a price of $15,000 and if he did I would like to see it. We are not perfect but we do our best to be honorable. If there is anything else I can do to help in this manner please feel free to contact me. Thank you ****** ****** Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am enclosing the "contract" that was agreed to, also the e-mail correspondance that shows the salesman changed prices than what was advertised PRIOR to the car being sold. Why is the car still shown on Autottrader.com now? Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/05/09) */ With the vehicle in question already sold I have no way to honor the price. If Mr. ****** wishes to contact me on another vehicle directly I would be more then happy to do my best to make him happy. Hopefully we can find a way to keep everyone happy. Feel free to call me with suggestions. My number is XXX XXX XXXX