Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Co's BMW Center

Phone: (970) 292-5200 Fax: (970) 292-5719 4150 Byrd Dr, Loveland, CO 80538 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Co's BMW Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Co's BMW Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 06/01/2004 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Christina Dawkins, President/Owner Mr. Bob Concie, Parts and Service Director Mr. Gerry Grimshaw, Internet Manager Ms. Rosalie Vanherwaarden Ms. Amanda Wassenaar, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Christina Dawkins, President/Owner
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Dealers - Online Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair

Alternate Business Names
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Additional Locations

  • 4150 Byrd Dr

    Loveland, CO 80538 (970) 292-5200


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2009 135i less than 6 months ago and at least once a week the engine light would go on but would reset itself so Co's said there's nothing they can do until the light stays on, then the oil light would do the same and again Co's would say there's nothing they could do until the light stays on. Finally it dies on us without any warning the car smelled like gasoline and we had to have it towed to Cos. They charged us $3300 to replace the fuel injectors and the oil sensor level. Within 15 minutes of driving it off the lot, the check engine light comes back on and so it's back in the shop again! This time they said it was the turbo bracket and so they replaced it and said they did a 9 point inspection and drove it for 45 minutes and everything was fine. We picked it up at 5 pm Thursday night and at 9 pm the check engine light came back on. My husband called Cos Friday and told them he was really sick and tired of the BS and they told him to bring it back in and they would diagnose it free of charge so we brought it in on Saturday morning and they tell us it's another problem, possibly the turbo...***! We can not put anymore money into this damn car! My complaint is how can the sell a car and not check what's all wrong with it before they sell it? We've had it not even six months and have put almost $5000 in this car. Within two months of purchased we had to have them put front brakes on which was over $1000. We brought the car in for a car wash and they cracked the windshield and had to replace it for us and it seemed like every since then something has gone wrong with the car. I also had to have our other bmw towed to Cos less than 3 weeks ago and they charged me $2200 to replace the water pump and valve casket cover. So in the past 3 weeks we've given Cos $5500 to work on our car and the 2009 is back in the shop! I just want them to make it right. I'm sick to my stomach about how much we've had to put into our BMW.

Desired Settlement: I feel like the car should have been completely fixed before we purchased it. How can so many things go wrong within 6 months of purchased. They obviously knew about the sensor going out and that it needed brakes and the fuel injectors should be a recall. I want them to buy the car back from us or fix it! This is ridiculous. I will never purchase a BMW again unless they make it right for us!

Business Response:

When older vehicles are purchased extended warranty contracts are offered and the decision to accept or decline is yours; had the contract been purchased the issue would have been covered.  Original service advisor presented everything that was known upon diagnosis of the issue.  Do to Konner being out of the office, Travis did meet with me for assistance and assistance options were offered, he reach out and left a message.  I understand that he connected with you and your husband and the assistance was accepted and this case is closed.  Thank you for your business we are always here for you.   


Consumer Response:

***** **** ******** *** ******* ********** ************************ ********* *** ******* ***************** *** ****** ******** ****** ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* *********

I wanted to let you know our problem has been resolved and you can close this case. I am pleased to say that Co's BMW did help us out as much as they could.

Travis the service advisor went out of his way to make this a positive experience for us we are grateful.

8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we purchased this vehicle for my daughter, we test drove it first and noticed the tires were very loud. The salesman and the head mechanic assured us it was because the tires were so aggressive. Well we run aggressive tires on all of our vehicles but believed them and went ahead and purchased the vehicle. When we got home and on further inspection of the tires, my husband noticed that the tires were grooved. We took it in to get it aligned and it was way out of being aligned and was suggested we get new tires because of this. I contacted this dealership, by phone, and by email. I actually talked to a couple of people and sent me to other people and left messages. I still do have the emails to prove that they were sent. Not only that by when my daughter was filling up with gas a gentleman even noticed the groves in the tires.

Desired Settlement: First I would like them to pay for the alignment as this should have been done prior to purchase. Second since they have not contacted me or tried to do right by this purchase, I feel that they should purchase new tires for this vehicle. It has been several months since the purchase and several attempts at contacting them. This problem should have been taken care of before this vehicle was sold. It is actually a safety issue.

Business Response: My understanding is that the pre owned manager called and left a message in June informing that the issue be resolved and copy of billing be sent to him for reimbursement.  Sounds like that message did not get delivered.

Tires are new to the original complaint but we are happy to assist clients with coverage.  Please contact me directly *** 970 *** ****.

4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought car in for repairs. ****** called 3-27-15 to discuss issues. ****** informed me that additional worked needed to be done on the front brakes, pads, rotary. I informed him (******) that new pads, brakes and rotary had been completed one year previous. ****** said that was not true because the rotary had a lot of rust and only the pads had been changed. I told him if that was the case they needed to be fixed. I also told him I was going to contact the previous repair place. I hung up the phone and called the previous business in Fort Collins, CO. He said NO, BMW is wrong and that those are indeed brand new rotaries. I called BMW immediately back and told them not to change the brakes until they talk to me, or the other business. Of course no one would return my call. I left two full length messages and I also left a full length text message directly to ****** which I will send as proof. There is no way he did not get my text; the number he gave me was 970-510-0730. I also talked to *** at the front counter and told her I had to talk to ******, she disconnected my call and I had to call back 5 times before they would answer the phone. When I told the receiptionist that I was disconnected she apologized and gave me ******'s text number (also). She was aware of the circumstances. My daughter and my husband called numerous times and no one would return there call. When we were setting this work up, to begin, with the company BMW called us within 5 minutes every time, now no one will call us back. After 2 hours they called and said "sorry" we already started. This is unethical and blatantly fraud. ****** at BMW said these were not new rotary, brakes and pads, This was a lie, they were. BMW in Loveland ripped us off by claiming a false statement/report. Later a gentlemen named Conor called and said ****** had left and would give us 10% off the brakes, this is not acceptable because the other company was going to fix this.

Desired Settlement: Either not charge us for the brakes, pad, and rotary or give us substantial discount (NOT 10%) that is an insult considering they lied about the needed work. This is fraud which is a criminal act. In fairness if the brakes were wore due to other reasons then we would have to replace them, but not the rotary replacement and all of the labor included.

Business Response:

I apologize for the frustrations we have caused.  Reading your statement, looking over the repair order and speaking to the team involved with the repair, this is clearly a communication issue.
Whether the “rotors” were replaced a year ago is not relevant, the shaking issue stems from “warped rotors”, which need to be replaced to address the concern.  When warped rotors are replaced you need to replace pads at the same time.  I think it is important to note that we also replaced a bolt that was found to be stripped, assuming it was from whoever performed the prior work.    
Because communication did not flow properly, Konner, your advisor, offered more than a 10% discount which equated to $220.00; this gesture truly was not meant to insult.

That said, I trust this clarifies the service performed and we will double the discount and refund another $220.00.
*** ******
Service/Parts Director
Co’s Auto Group

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


**** ******

12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a military dependent and prior military service member. Under the Military Service Member Relief Act of 2003, I have maintained my home of record as **. I am registered to vote there, I pay my taxes there, I maintain a home of record there, my driver's license is **, with the correct address. In **, I do not even have a utility bill in my name. When I purchased a car from COS ***, I explicitly stated that I would not be registering the car in **. The finance manager tried pressuring me into doing that and I told him I was not interested. Instead of contacting *** after I filled out my credit application, when there was a question of where the car would be garaged, he collected sales taxes incorrectly for a leased vehicle for the state of ** in the amount of $189.00. I was further informed that I would receive a call when the paperwork was ready for the car to be registered. After leaving, I received two more calls from the dealership stating the contract was written incorrectly or someone had forgotten to sign, but they never did clarify what they were changing. I originally purchased the car on May 30. They changed the contract date to June 2, and then had me resign a third time on June 10. I was issued temporary tags for 60 days. On July 18 I contacted the dealership to ask when can I register my car and where was the registration paperwork. I spoke with someone in titling. This person informed me the paperwork had been sent to ******* county, CO and was ready to be registered. This was completely incorrect. My contract clearly had my ** address at the top of the contract and I had told three people I was not registering it in **. She told me I would have to register it in ** and then transfer it. I went to the dealership on July 19 and demanded a manager, who was able to see their error. Because my temporary tags were set to expire on July 29, I had to go to the ** and request an extension on July 22, which they extended until Aug 22. The dealership tried telling me that they did not register the car and only had it titled in **, which is incorrect. I sent my paperwork off to ** on Tuesday, August 5. Because the dealership refused to write a power of attorney document, I had to request one from the corporate office twice due to the issues with paperwork that were provided by the dealership and because the dealership also registered the car in **, the original title. The car was not even registered until Aug 29. I stopped driving it on Aug 20 as I had to give it to someone to preform an out of state vin verification that the dealership could have done for me but refused to do. On Aug 22 the tags expired. I contacted the sales rep from the dealership on Aug 25 about this and he said he would call me back, which he never did. I went to the dealership on Aug 28 and spoke with the general mgr who was suppose to contact the state regarding the taxes that they charged me and I told him then that I expected them to pay for this month's payment as I have been unable to drive the car, and we agreed to discuss it further on Friday Aug 29 with a final resolution amount. He called me and left a message telling me he thought I must've taken off early for the holiday weekend. I returned his call and asked him to call me back, which he did not do. Now I am done negotiating I will not receive the plates to drive the car until Sept 2. Calculating my monthly payment and prorating it for days I didn't drive it because of their mistake, that is $217.48.

Desired Settlement: I want the dealership to pay for the taxes that they charged me that they should not have charged me. They knew I did not intend to register the car in ** or claim residency here as well as pay for the days I could not drive the car. They really should pay for the whole month's payment - $501.88 but I have realized that dealership too my money and ran with it. They don't care about service or contract. They broke the federal law. A prorated amount for the monthly lease payment and the taxes is $406.48. If they actually do the right thing, they will pay $690. I have waited 3 months - that is a quarter of a year to register this car because of their mistake.

Business Response: ********** ********* ******* ********** ***** **** ***** ****************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* *** ******************

Dear *****,

I responding to the case filed with the BBB regarding ******* **********. Ms. ********* contacted me late last week regarding her inability to register her car. It was the first time I had spoken with her since her purchase though on further investigation I found out she had been in touch with my Title Clerk, ******* ********, on July 22nd. At the time of her phone call she stated she had 2 days left on her 30 day paper plate extension and that we had mislead her and pressured her into using an inaccurate address on her paperwork. She also felt that we should be making her payments since she was unable to drive the car because of soon to be expired plates. I told her I would look into the matter and call her back within 24 hours and try to resolve the matter. (I called the following day, left a message requesting a call back and have still not heard from her.) After checking into the matter I found out that her issue keeps coming down to where she is garaging the car-it’s a lease. We have told Ms. ********** on multiple occasions that *** ********* Services and the State require us to collect taxes based on the garaging address listed on the contract. We’ve explained to her if she wanted the titling work done out of state (if that is where she lives) all documents need to addressed accordingly and that we do out of state leases frequently-they are not an issue. Enclosed are copies of 2 leases (we need one re-signed) where she has written in a ********** garaging address. It’s her hand writing in the upper right hand corner of the contracts. My title clerk hand carried her title work to the DMV on July 22nd so that she could get the vehicle titled out of state if that was her choice and again explained that we  collect taxes based on the information our clients gives us. As best I can tell she is upset about us having collected ********** sales taxes (where she actually lives and has listed on her contract) upfront. Since I haven’t heard back from her and we have only collected taxes we were required to I’m at a loss as to what we can or should do. Her title work was completed on time and I have reached out to her. Since our last conversation she has posted an extremely negative and derogatory ****** Review and my title clerk found it necessary to terminate what she thought was an abusive phone call from Ms ********* on July 22nd. I don’t think Ms ********* understands her tax situation completely and that is the source of her frustration. I’m truly sorry she has had such a bad time handling what should have been a simple situation and would have been happy to try to help (though I’m not quite sure how) if I’d been given the opportunity prior to her extension expiring in 48 hours.


**** *****

General Sales Manager

Co's *** Center



Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

That message is filled with lies.  First off, *** ********* is rejecting to refund the partial payment I made when I couldn't drive my car and taxes that his dealership collected because his dealership is independently owned and operated. They tell me I must go through the dealership.  They understand my frustration, but cannot force them to do the right thing even though they know the Mr ***** and all his minions have incorrectly charged me money.  Furthermore, taxes are not collected on a garaging address.  They are collected on a registration address.  Had he and his minions not been so ignorant of contracts they would know this.  Federal statute states I can register the car in my home of record state, as I am military exempt, which from the first date I went there I stated my intention to do this.  His lies of claiming ignorance on this fact can be refuted by employee ********, ****** and the Finance Manager ****.  All involved knew of my intent to register the car in **.  In fact, when I went in on Thursday, August 28, 2014, Mr. ***** even mentioned he recalled this fact.  Ironic that now he claims ignorance.  Regarding the garaging address, his finance manager, **** demanded I write the garaging address.  When I contacted *** ********* Services and explained that I was a military service member and was exempt from this law, of which they are knowledgable of regarding federal laws and how they supersede state laws and the company's financing rules (unlike Mr. ***** and his minions), I don't see why they (COS ***) couldn't call *** ********* Services if they didn't know how to process this or ask me to call when writing the contract.  I wrote my mailing address and home of record and the finance manager had an issue with it.  They were the ones that demanded I write this information in.  I did not provide it freely.  In regards to contacting him and resolving this issue - I called Mr. ***** on Friday August 29, 2014 at 3:37 pm, 5:02 pm and 5:24 pm to resolve this matter and left him a voicemail once from the 3:37 pm call with my phone number.  He has not returned my calls, nor has he accepted any of my calls.  I tried contacting him via his work number and cell phone.  His voicemail on Friday, August 29, 2014 at 3:08pm, he states "I know you're probably going to be out for the weekend.  We're going to be running shorter hours too.  Give me a call Tuesday.  Hope you have a good weekend."  He had no intention and still has no intention of resolving this issue.  If he had any intention of resolving it, he would have answered my calls or would have called me since then.  He has made no attempt, or he would have refunded the money that the lying, cheating rats stole from me.  They have no integrity.  Mediocrity would be an improvement for this substandard "luxury" dealership.  


******* **********

Business Response: As evidenced by the enclosed contract pdf (enclosed) we followed the letter of the law in collecting applicable Colorado taxes. The handwriting in the top right corner of the contract under Garaging Address is Ms. *********. Though we are sorry she feels that these were unfairly collected can only act on the information provided by the client. Anything else would not have been truthful. We therefore  respectfully decline to pay the taxes Ms. ********* owes.

Consumer Response: ********** ******** * ** ********* **** ******** ******** ***** ******* ******************************** *** ********************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* *********
** *** *** ***** ** ***** *** ********************** ******
I am trying to respond to reject the COS ***’s response; however, I am unable to submit my response.  Below is the response I am trying to submit and I have attached my supporting documentation.  I have made several attempts late yesterday and today.

As previously stated - I am a military member and my home of record is **.  I have attached my original contract dated 05/31 which clearly states that my home address is ** ********* *.  I do not have any garaging address listed nor is my PO Box listed. The amount of the contract that I am to pay is $491. and change a month.  The finance manager does not tell me that the initial extra payment I am making includes a payment to ******* County, ** and that he is attempting to garage the vehicle here.  On June 2, 2014 I am called back to the dealership I am called back to re-sign another contract that he has changed, and he said he needed to "recalculate the amount and it saved me money, but everything is the same."  He assured me this was the case.  However, after I left, I reviewed it and see that he changed the date to 6/2 - (as a side note, I have been unable to find this contract, but I am in search of it, and will find it, but I do not want this complaint to lapse). On 6/10 I am called back because according to him, the title dept forgot to sign the contract.  Here you will note that at the top, the finance manager has added the garaging address and my PO Box, which is different from my original contract.  This I initial because I did NOT write it (had I realized they were attempting to screw me as I now see, I would have stopped the transaction) - this was written by the dealership, if they want to make such a big deal about the garaging address - which they are the ones that are garaging the vehicle in CO; however, I am military and FEDERAL LAW allows me to garage my vehicle anywhere I want and pay taxes ONLY to my home of record under the Relief Act of 2003.  They have a copy of my military ID and I have attached a copy here, as well.  COS *** is going to pay the sales tax, which according to my contract is $210.00 and 233.80 for the 14 days I could not drive my car from August 20 - Sept 2.  I realize Mr. ***** is dense and trying his best to avoid paying what I am owed, but this is not a negotiation.  They will pay this or further legal action will be taken.  They have 10 days to pay $443.80


******* **********

Business Response:

***** **** ***** ****************** *** ********************** *** ********* ******* ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** ********* * ********** 

To whom it may concern. Our final response is as follows; While we are sorry Ms. ********* has experienced difficulty in titling her car, we will be declining to pay her the money for car payments she has requested. The reason is that the taxes we collected were based on the information Ms. ********* provided to us. By Colorado law we could not have collected her taxes any other way. Because of our proximity to Cheyenne, we do business with many Active and Retired military personnel and have not experienced any problems with taxes in the past. We highly value our Military Clientele, are grateful for their service, and are proud to employ a large number veterans at our dealerships. Again, we are sorry for Ms. *********s difficulties but we must abide by Colorado Statutes in tax collection.

**** *****
General Sales Manager
Co's BMW Center
************* ****************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First, let me start by saying my last name is spelled **********.  I realize Mr. ***** is mentally challenged, and ignorant; however, if he expects me to take him seriously he could at the very least address me by the correct name.  In every correspondence, besides all of my contracts - COS BMW has screwed up.  It's becoming a common theme.  You could say, it's not a mistake, but intentional habit.  We've already established Mr. ***** is a liar, thief and incompetent *****.  

Regarding the taxes - you are incorrect.  You owe me my money.  *** ***** ******* has tried contacting you but you refuse to take their calls, just like you ignore mine.  The law is on my side and you claim to be a "friend" of the military, which is clearly a lie.  When I showed you my military ID to show you why I was exempt as to the my home of record, in August, you asked me what that was, and what it meant.  A person familiar with the military would recognize a military ID and identify that if shown an ID they would know that I do not need to claim** as residency.  My home of record is **; therefore, I do not need to pay taxes, which I already checked with the clerk and recorders office of ******* County.  Any other claims that you are making are lies.  Furthermore for youI have made sure you will NEVER do business with** ****** service members, again.  I have told them and everyone else I know what horrible experience this has been.  Ignore of the law does not except you from making it right - I have realized you will not give me what is you should do, but you definitely do owe me the $210.00 that you robbed me of, and you will.  If not, we will go to court, and that will cost you a lot more than what I have demanded here.  I've already listed the piece of **** car on **************, and for every dime that I continue to have to pay, you all will pay for it.  

Ms. ******* - you employ ***** ******* at your facility, and clearly you set a horrific example of ***** *****.  You should be ashamed that you have not made any attempt to contact me.  If you know that all your employees are screwing up, and you let them run amok, you're just as much of the problem, as they are.  The only contact I have received from you is some trash about being part of your rewards program, an email thanking me for my purchase - and stating that you wanted to meet me the next time I'm in - why haven't you even attempted to contact me if you know there's an issue?  Clearly you are the root of the problem at your own company.  Why on earth would I want to be part of a rewards program when you can't even return a phone call?  I've gotten more customer service from other *** dealerships that I didn't purchase the car from trying to fix the mistake that you all made?  And the sad thing the other dealerships are genuinely trying to make me not hate you as much as I do, but don't worry, I've kept a running tally of how much you owe, so, either come up with the $210.00 in taxes - because I can see you will not give me the full amount, even though your screw up should have made you give me a service loaner, cause you to pay my car loan that month or do something because you incompetent ****** cannot do ****, and I'm certain you do not know your ***** from your *****.  If you do not pay me anything, once this car is traded, we'll be in court, and every dime paid out, will be your responsibility. Unfortunately for you, I know the federal laws that do protect me - which clearly you don't know.  If you did, we wouldn't be having this conversation.  


******* **********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Co's BMW Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)