Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Berthod Motors Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 945-7466 Fax: (970) 945-1142 View Additional Phone Numbers 2914 S Grand Ave, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 http://berthodmotors.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Automotive and Agricultural, Construction, and Homeowner equipment dealership with full body shop.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Berthod Motors Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Berthod Motors Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Berthod Motors Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 28, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1946 Business started locally: 01/01/1946
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles- Colorado
140 W 6th Ave, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 376-2200

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Donald Gerbaz, VP / GM
Contact Information
Principal: Donald Gerbaz, VP / GM
Business Category

Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Truck Dealers Truck Equipment Suppliers Auto Air Conditioning Car Alternator and Generator Repair Stations Car Dent Repair Shops Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Car Lubrication Shops Transmissions - Automobile Truck Repair Shops Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies Construction Equipment Suppliers Farm Equipment Part Repair Services Four Wheel Drive Vehicles - Repair & Service Engine Starter Suppliers Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles

Products & Services

Berthod Motors Inc sells the following brand(s): Buick, Chrysler, Dodge, GMC, Jeep, John Deere, Kobelco, Massey Ferguson, RAM, Stihl

Refund and Exchange Policy
30 day return on parts purchases
Service Area
Western Colorado Roaring Fork and Colorado River Valleys
Products & Services

Sales, parts and service for GMC, Buick, Jeep, John Deere, Kobelco, Hesston. Also complete body shop for any make vehicle.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Berthod Motors Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2914 S Grand Ave

    Glenwood Springs, CO 81601

  • 400 27th St

    Glenwood Springs, CO 81601

  • PO Box 759

    Glenwood Springs, CO 81602

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted Dealership to have OEM remote start installed in vehicle. Part was ordered and arrived much later than the initial quoted two days. I had to follow up and finally received an answer that the part had arrived, scheduled install with service department. On the initial scheduled date 1/18/16 unforseen circumstances arose and there were zero techs onsite that could complete the install. Was told to bring the vehicle back the next day 1/19/16. Did so before they opened and dropped key off in Early-Bird. Contacted Michelle at 10:00 AM and was told the vehicle was with the installer and the vehicle would be done by noon and she would call back shortly with the overall cost. Called again at 1:00 PM after never receiving call. Was given the same answer as the earlier phone call. She would check price and call back. Went through the same run-around with a 3:00 PM phone call. Was never able to receive total. Vehicle had to be picked up by father-in-law because by the time the job was finally finished in had prior engagements. Received the vehicle from father-in-law and there was a huge crack along the back left panel in the trunk. I can no longer open the floorboard in the trunk to access storage compartment. The backseat driver side one of the pieces along the floor of door threshold was not reinstalled. I received two key fobs without the physical key after specifically requesting more than once that i receive my old fobs back as well. I am also missing a jug of power steering fluid that was in the car when I left it in their hands.

Desired Settlement: In this scenario i would like the responsible party (Berthod Motors of Glenwood Springs) to replace the cracked back panel, finish putting my vehicle back together and ensure that all parts are operational. the car should be given back in better shape than it was received. I cannot justify paying that high labor rate, when obviously the job was hastily slapped together.

Business Response:

The customers' vehicle was damaged while being worked on and we have since either given them what was missing or repaired the vehicle with the exception of a panel that needed to be ordered. That panel has been ordered and should be received in approximately a week at which time we will finish putting the Durango in proper shape. We are very sorry for the damage to their vehicle and are happy to make that right. It also is not the customers' problem that we were missing over half our service technicians in an unforeseen event for a couple of days. It unfortunately did however inconvenience them and we believe reducing in the labor is fair. We would be happy to refund the $167 sending it to their address if that works for them.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********

9/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I found a 2006 Mercedes R500 on autotrader.com and called Berthod to find out more about it. ******* ****** called me back and said he had just barely driven the vehicle and told me about it. He went back to look at it to answer some of my questions and then called me back. He told me the inside was like new, and said the only defects on the exterior was a small scratch on the front and rear bumpers. He went on to say he wouldn't be surprised if the tires were brand new. He then sent me 4 pictures of the car, I asked if he could email them to me, he said he didn't know how and would have to text me them. The 4 pictures I received on my phone looked fine and I said I wanted to buy the car. I let him know I would be coming from **** **** **** and I filled out their credit app and was all set to purchase the car. I rented a vehicle one way and made the *** mile trip to Berthod, I arrived and the car was really in poor condition. The tires on the front were nearly worn out on the front outside edge, the rear hatch would not open as the power lift gate was broken (over $1,000 repair at MB dealer). The driver's seat was very worn, there were missing buttons/lights on the interior of the vehicle, the interior was stained etc. The exterior of the vehicle had a clear bra that was oxidized and had a couple gouges in it and was far from "clean" as described by *******. The was willing to overlook this until I drove the car and it really drove poorly. There was a lot of front end noise from presumably bad wheel bearings and a lot of play in the steering wheel, making it so it would certainly not pass safety inspection. ******* was not there the day I went to pick up the car, so I did the test drive with another salesman who could hear the loud noise while test driving it. Afterwards I spoke with I believe the sales manager who said ******* told him he had accurately described the condition of the car, and this person apologized. I was then stranded begged ********** to rent me a car due to it being labor

Desired Settlement: I would like them to cover at least half of the cost of my travel to/from Berthod. I rented a car one way and dropped it off in ******** ******* which was $203 plus $62 in gas, I then rented another car one way which was $200 and another $66 in gas. I was nearly stranded as no car rental places had vehicles available due to it being Labor Day weekend. I understand there are some risks with buying a car unseen, but have done so last year & in the past with franchised dealers only & good results.

Business Response: The Mercedes that **** was looking at was being sold "as is" because of the expense needed to repair the rear hatch and front end work. The car was priced accordinly and I am sure looked like too good a deal to pass up. We are very sorry about the miscomunication between ******* and **** and will refund Half the expenses.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me once I receive half of the costs associated with the trip. Thanks. 

Regards,

**** **********