Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Precision Auto Body Repair & Refinishing Inc

Phone: (970) 353-7461 Fax: (970) 352-9395 100 16th St, Greeley, CO 80631 http://www.pabrr.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Precision Auto Body Repair & Refinishing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Precision Auto Body Repair & Refinishing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Auto Body Repair & Refinishing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1984 Business started: 05/01/1983 Business started locally: 05/01/1983
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Don Wilson, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Wilson, Co-owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair and Painting

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 100 16th St

    Greeley, CO 80631 (970) 353-7461

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was displeased with customer service and the price I was charged, based on the original estimate. 1. I was outraged at being charged 159% of the original estimate. I was not informed that the cost was to be substantially higher. According to the original estimate, no parts were listed, only R & I, painting and refinishing. The final bill included a $433.78 cost for body side molding. If the Estimator, Kim A********, failed to include this in her estimate, that is not my fault. Precision Auto Body is in this business, making them the experts, and if their personnel failed to correctly estimate the parts, labor and total costs, then Precision Auto Body should be responsible for this cost, unless I was informed of the new cost and agreed to it, which, I repeat, I was not informed of until I picked up my car and was told my bill was $1527.38. 2. Phone calls attempted by me throughout the time my car was in the shop were not answered in person, several times after two rings the phone was answered to dead air, hanging up and immediately calling back resulted in a busy signal. This occurred 10 times. 3. My car was not ready as promised. I was informed it would be ready at 4:00 PM Thursday of the week I dropped it off. I was told this at the time of the estimate., and this time was verified at the time of drop off on Monday, August 10th. My car was not ready until Friday, at 2:59 PM twenty three hours later. 4. I searched online for Colorado's Motor Vehicle Repair Act, which clearly states that the issues # 1 and 3 above are not in compliance with the provisions of this Act. Specifically, increases in costs require customer approval, I was not informed of the increase, so could not approve it. Nor would I have approved had I been informed. Secondly, if the vehicle will not be ready as planned, 24 hour notice is required to inform the customer. That means I should have been notified by 4:00 PM on Wednesday, August 12th. I wasn't. One last point on this State Act is that parts and labor can only be increased over an estimate by 10% or $25.00, whichever is less, without the customers approval. For one last time, I was not informed of the increase, so could therefore not approve or deny it.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the difference between my estimate and the final bill total. That amounts to $565.08. I want this in either a check or a debit to my credit card which was used to pay this bill.

Business Response:

As a small business, our reputation depends on satisfying our customers. Unfortunately, in this case that did not happen. We did not charge Mr. ******* for any work that was not necessary and that was not performed. However, we did make a misake by not having a very expensive part on our original estimate. We will attempt to contact Mr. ******* and resolve this issue.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, am willing to speak with this firm about my complaint and hope to reach a satisfactory solution to my issue.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

To whom it may concern we sent a check to mr. *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I do not accept the resolution offered by Precision Auto
Body in the form of a check for the amount of $230.68.  I have torn up this check and mailed it back
to Precision Auto Body.  My original complaint
was that I was charged $565.08 over the estimate of $962.30.  This was due to a part in the amount of
$433.78 that was not on the original estimate, plus additional labor costs.  I was not informed about this added part, or
the increased cost, until I arrived at the shop to pick up my car on Friday,
August 14th, at 3:44 PM, when I was charged $1527.38.  This means that this was an unauthorized
expenditure and expense.  Colorado State
Law, according to the Motor Vehicle Repair Act, found on the Colorado State
Attorney General’s website, clearly states that, “no charge can be made for labor and parts in excess of the estimate
plus ten percent or $25.00 whichever is less without the customer’s consent to
the additional charges.”  Since I did
not consent to the additional part, and the corresponding increased cost, according
to state law, I can only be charged $25 for these costs.  On the final invoice the part was $433.78, according
to the original estimate, labor was to be 13.2 hours, the final invoice showed
labor to be 14.9 hours, this additional 1.7 hours of labor, at $52.00 per hour,
is an additional $88.97 in labor charges. 
Adding the $433.78 for the part, to the increased labor charge of $88.97
brings the overcharge to $522.75. 
Subtracting the $25.00 the State of Colorado allows to be charged for
added parts and labor means the amount of money overcharged to me by Precision Auto
Body is $497.18.  This is the amount I am
owed.
Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

It has always been our policy to have no surprises when a customer picks up their vehicle. There are two completely different points of view between the consumer and my office manager as to whether he was informed of the increase on the final bill. I can't say if this did or did not occur. What I do know is that we did not obtain written authorization as we should have and even though I do know that we performed all of the repairs that the customer was billed for, without that authorization, I have no proof that proper procedures were followed. So I will consider this an expensive lesson and will be sending Mr. ******* a check in the amount of $497.18.

 Don W*****, owner Precision Auto Body

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

1/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was hit in mid October. I was referred to this auto body shop and they have had my car since Nov 10th. This was supposed to be a 4 day job and I still don't have my car back, although it is finally finished. The woman who answers the phone (claims to be the manager) is horrible. I have not been called with updates at all, every time I have called on days they said my car was supposed to be ready she acted annoyed I was calling. Finally on Wednesday she calls and says my car is ready but still waiting on another check from the insurance and threatening release the car until they have it. The insurance adjuster called the shop and let them known the check was sent and everything was paid. Repair shop won't accept that because I have Geico insurance and they have had issues a year ago with them. It is between the shop and insurance but I am the one without a car. The woman at the shop was extremely rude and if they have problems with my insurance I should have been told before they took my car.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car back with the payment of my deductible. The other insurance check should get to the shop soon and if not they can take it up with them. They have already been paid one check, just waiting on the other to arrive. I would also like an apology

Business Response: In response to the time line question.

Monday November 10: Vehicle is left at our shop with an insurance estimate including 19.4 hours of labor.
    At the industry standard of 4.5 hours per day this would be a 4.31 day repair.
Tuesday November 11: Late in the day we found that additional repair time and parts would be required.
    In a perfect world we might have found this a bit earlier in the day.
Wednesday November 12: Called Insurance company supplement hot line. We are told they will assign an
   adjuster to reinspect vehicle. (we cannot continue work on vehicle until supplemental repairs are approved)
Thursday November 20: Eight calendar days later the insurance adjuster shows up and we have approval for
   what is now a 30.1 hour repair (30.1 divided by 4.5 = 6.69 day repair)
   If we start the clock Wednesday November 19 six working days puts us at Wednesday November 26.
   I am sorry that the long Thanksgiving Day weekend came at a bad time. However if we had approval to
   continue repairs a few days sooner that could have been avoided.
Monday December 1: The vehicle leaves.
From your point of view we kept your car for three weeks and we are horrible people.
From our point of view we completed a seven day repair in seven working days. The remainder of time in our
shop was due to Thanksgiving Day and Eight calendar days waiting for the insurance adjuster.
Regarding our belief that we need to be paid for our parts, labor and materials.
   I am sorry you disagree.
While we do understand your belief that once an insurance company representative agrees to pay a
supplement that we should be able to release a vehicle knowing we will be paid.
Over thirty years of experience with nearly every insurance company has taught us that this is a false beleif. Once we
release a vehicle our chances of being paid falls drastically.
Regarding our office manager:
I do not know how conversations I was not part of may gone.
If you did not receive updates on the repair procedure then I sincerely apologize for that
oversight. You should have been kept informed.




Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I understand that more damage was found on the vehicle and you need to be paid, however you had proof that a check was written, processed and mailed. Putting the customer in the middle of a dispute you have had with a certain insurance company is not ok. If you had a problem with my insurance, I should have been told before I scheduled my initial appointment so I could go to a place that treats their customers with respect. 

Once I got my car back the work is awful as well. The headlights are totally different looking and the one that was replaced is faced towards the ground (a totally different direction than the original).  Also, there was pieces of broken glass and lights in my trunk. The trunk should not have even been opened, as all damage was on the drivers side front of the vehicle. The car was also filthy inside. Full of dirt and what appeared to dust and melted snow dirt in both front seats as well as on the floors in the front. I have never taken my car to a place that didn't put down papers while they are in the vehicle, and as far as the broken glass and lights in my trunk, is that what you do when a customer complains??  

As far as saying you (I assume the owner of the shop) can't speak to conversations you were not a part of that is not an excuse. You hired this vile woman and have her as the face of your company. I asked to be connected with you and she refused to let me speak to you or to have you call me back. I never got an update the whole time.  When I picked up my vehicle, finally, the clear bra was not on. I had to go back inside and see what was going on there, as your Secretary said she "forgot" to mention that my car was not, in fact, finished. She then told me she made me an appointment (without consulting me on the date).  As I was asking what was going on, she tells me it's not her fault it isn't possible to do that work right after the car was painted. She was the rudest person I have ever come into contact with, and I am the customer. That is totally unacceptable. 

So, just to restate, I am not complaining that you are paid for doing your job. I am complaining about the way I, as a customer, was treated for the entire month you had my vehicle. Also, the end result was horrible and I am thinking about taking the car to another body shop to fix the headlight and filing in small claims court, as this work should have been done right the first time. 

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: We are very sorry you had such a negative experience at our shop. It has never been our goal to have a dissatisfied customer.
We have contacted your insurance adjuster to reinspect your vehicle and address any quality concerns
you may have. Then based on our conversation with her take the
necessary steps to address them.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Auto Body Repair & Refinishing Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)