Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

High Tone Auto Body Inc

Phone: (970) 927-4351 Fax: (970) 927-9374 265 East Cody Ln, Basalt, CO 81621

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Auto body shop and collision repair facility.  "Service isn't a courtesy, it's a commitment".

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that High Tone Auto Body Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for High Tone Auto Body Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on High Tone Auto Body Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 05, 2005 Business started: 05/01/2004 in CO Business incorporated 06/11/1990 in CO
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Melissa Jones, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melissa Jones, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Detailing Auto Repair & Service - Airbags Auto Headlight Restoration Auto - Fleet Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Window Tinting Shops Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles

Service Area
Eagle County, Marble, Redstone, Roaring Fork Valley, Aspen to Glenwood Springs.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 265 East Cody Ln

    Basalt, CO 81621 (970) 927-4351


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unnecessary repairs done on our 2007 Ford Escape Hybrid by Hightone Autobody. These repairs resulted in damage to our vehicle On October 7, 2012, our 2007 Ford Escape hybrid was damaged by a bear. Our vehicle was towed to Hightone Autobody for repairs. After unnecessarily replacing many items (including leather seats, intake vents, front and rear windshield and more), the ABS and 4x4 control module, OSCM module, air bag, safety belt retraints, tire sensors, and control module were malfunctioning and/or inoperable. Our vehicle was working perfectly before the bear damaged the interior. The bear damaged parts of the car were: the headliner, the front passenger door panel, some wiring related to the cargo light, and the liftgate wiper cover, There was a small amount of bear excrement between the front passenger seat and the center console - that's it. Prior to the bear damage, there were no warning lights or service codes displayed on the dash - absolutely nothing was wrong with the car. The repairs took two months to conduct and our insurance company was billed a whopping $11,000 for the work done on our car! We have photographs showing that there was not damage to seats, dash etc. We do not know if systems were damaged accidentally or through faulty repair practices on the part of Hightone Autobody and/or their subcontracted service providers. What remains to be repaired is the ABS/4x4 control module. We don't understand how it was damaged, but it was working properly before the incident with the bear. It is a part that is supposed to last the lifetime of the vehicle. There have been no advisory bulletins, recall notices, or service bulletins issued by Ford or NHTSA for the 2007 Ford Escape Hybrid. Hightone Autobody and/or their subcontracted service providers are insisting that these systems spontaneous failed during the repair, however we feel it is more likely that the damaged the systems during the repair. We honestly feel that Hightone Autobody took advantage of our insurance company ******* billing them for unnecessary repairs. We honestly feel that we are victims because our car was not returned to us in the same condition as prior to the bear damage. Hightone Autobody insists that they are not responsible for the current condition of the car. We are told by Hightone Autobody and their subcontracted service providers that we are responsible for repairing these malfunctioning or inoperable systems. All we want is our car back in full working condition.

Desired Settlement: We would like our vehicle returned to the full and operable condition as it was before the bear damaged our car on 10/7/2012. Hightone Autobody and its subcontracted service provider must take responsibility for the damage caused to our vehicle while it was in their possession.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/05/30) */ Vehicle towed in: 10/8/12 & picked up: 12/3/12 Delays to timeline were caused by: special order parts (>2 wks), Ford Service Engineer (1 wk) plus the one wk at dealership. The insurance company was informed of the damage via the estimate, photos & phone conversations. We have 9 videos of the interior & exterior of the vehicle showing damage to the interior, exterior & codes displayed on the dash at the time of vehicle came in. The ********'s were offered on more than one occasion to come down to the shop to go over their vehicle, look at photos & videos, they declined on all offerings. The ********'s claim against us have many false statements as to what has occurred to their vehicle & much of this misunderstanding would have been cleared up if they would have come down to the shop like we asked during the repair process. Their claim of us doing unnecessary repairs & replacing parts is their lack of understanding of the repair process. They state that both the front windshield & the back glass (or as the ********'s state the rear windshield) was replaced. The bear ripped & tore down the headliner & wiring harness from the roof of the vehicle. The headliner needed to be replaced & in order to replace the headliner the windshield must be taken out. The windshield broke during the Remove/Install (R/I) procedure & the insurance co. approved the replacement. With regards to the back of the vehicle, the bear damaged the inner seal of rear wiper transmission/motor from the inside of the rear lift gate. The lift gate glass had to be R/I in order to replace the inner seal. Vehicles today are highly computerized. The wiring harness which is located between the roof & the headliner goes from the front to the rear of the vehicle & down the pillars of the vehicle where other computerized systems are connected to it like the Occupant System Classification Module (OSCM) & airbag system. The wiring harness is a safety item; if any part of the wiring harness is compromised it must be replaced. When the bear damaged the headliner it also damaged the wiring harness. The bears are frightened & stressed & will relieve themselves because of their anxiety, nervousness & frustrated state of being locked in a vehicle. Once a bear relieves themselves it is very difficult if not impossible to get rid of the stench. We cleaned everything we could. Other items such as the carpet, carpet pad, seats covers, & seat cushions had to be replaced because the smell & stains could not be removed. Therefore, it is in the best interest for everyone (customer, insurance co. & repair facility) that interior items that have been defecated/urinated on should be replaced. Many items regardless of the repair will have to be R/I'd just to have access to other parts of the vehicle for repair. For example: since the carpet had been defecated & urinated on, all of the seats in the vehicle had to be removed just to have access to replace the carpet. To gain access to the overhead wiring harness, the visors, grip handles, dome lights, side trim panels and headliner all would have to be R/I'd. This was the case with this vehicle just as it would be with any other. We as a body shop are not going to do unnecessary repairs to a vehicle, or extend its stay, our goal is to get the vehicle back to the customer ASAP. We were in communication with both customer & insurance co throughout the repairs of the vehicle. Repairs could not begin until the special order wiring harness was received. Once the parts came in & the wiring harness installed, there is no way of knowing if the codes will reset until everything is hooked up. Once hooked up some additional parts had to be ordered & again there was a parts delay of two wks. When the vehicle was complete it was test driven & tested for wind noise, rattles & fit of interior parts. The vehicle was driven to the dealer on 11/13/12 to have all codes checked. Codes related to the replacement of the wiring harness & seats came up such as the Occupant System Classification Module (OCSM). Other unrelated codes were also found such as: ABS & 4x4. The ABS (Anti-lock Braking System) & 4x4 (left wheel speed sensor) code is unrelated to the bear break in. The ABS module is located on the firewall in the engine compartment, underneath the hood. There was no exterior damage to the vehicle or engine compartment damaged caused by the bear. While the vehicle was at the dealer the customer was called both by the shop & service rep to ask if the customer wanted to have the ABS & 4x4 system looked at & repaired. She declined having these issued repaired. The dealer discovered that the replacement seat cushion was faulty & a new one had to be reordered. High Tone Auto Body (HTAB) paid for the second seat cushion, because we couldn't prove if the seat cushion was already damaged from the factory while still in its packaging or if it was damaged during shipping, installation of seat the cushion or if the sublet upholstery vendor damaged the seat cushion. Once the seat cushion is taken out of the factory sealed packaging it is no longer returnable. With the second seat cushion installed the dealer scanned the vehicle again & found an OSCM code displayed. The Ford dealer called in a Ford Service Engineer to back up their findings. The Ford Service Engineer had to be scheduled in & there was a wk delay on his arrival to inspect the ********'s vehicle. The OSCM is a bladder type sensor that senses how heavy an object or person is in the seat. This could not be seen by the outward appearance of the seat cushion also known as hidden damage. A new OSC module had to be ordered & installed. Once replaced all codes cleared except for the two that weren't related to the claim: ABS & 4x4. On December 3rd we went over the entire vehicle & all of the parts that were replaced with Mrs. ******** when she picked up the vehicle. The customer was told again about the ABS & 4x4 system dash codes and also informed about an IOU part before she left with the vehicle. We would call when the IOU part (alarm sensor cover that is mounted to the left side of the dash panel) came in. It was reiterated that she call with any questions or concerns regarding repairs & to explain the repairs to her husband & that he should call or come by the shop when we replace the IOU part for further explanation or concerns. Customer was called mid-December that the IOU part was in & we needed to put it on. The customer said she didn't know when she could come in after the holidays. Three messages were left on her voice mail to have the part installed. Customer came in on 3/20/13 to have IOU part installed. She also informed us that the ABS & seat belt codes were coming on randomly. A test drive was taken with the customer for 12 miles & no codes were displayed regarding the airbags or seat belts during this drive. The only codes on the dash were the ABS & 4x4. At this time we suggested that the customer take the vehicle to the dealer to have the codes re-checked. The customer agreed to take the vehicle to the dealer; we agreed to call the dealer to arrange an appointment & also notified the insurance co. of the customers concern. Mrs. ******** talked to the insurance company; they told her that she had the opportunity to get a second opinion from another dealer or auto body shop. She elected to stay with HTAB. An appointment was made for 4/2/13 at the dealer & HTAB also paid for a one day rental vehicle to be picked up at the dealer. Mr. ******** was called by the dealership & informed that there were no problems with the airbag or seat belt system. No problem codes related to the bear claim. Customer did have the left rear wheel speed sensor replaced. The dealer scanned for codes after part was replaced & found that the ABS module has an internal fault. Customer declined replacement. The shop called the insurance co. to let them know of the re-inspection of the codes & agreed that the ABS module is not part of the bear claim. The insurance co. also agreed that this was not related to any of the repairs done by the shop. Both the shop & insurance co. told the customer they are welcome to get a second opinion from a dealer of their choice... this is the resolution. The vehicle is operable & only bear damage can be related to the claim. The insurance co., dealer will not pay for the replacement of the ABS module or the parts to remedy the 4x4 code issue & neither will HTAB. No operations in the repairs to their vehicle were unnecessary nor do we take advantage of any insurance co. We are disappointed that this repair came to this. We did everything possible both personally & professionally to take care of this vehicle. The customers lack of interest until now is frustrating especially since all they had to do is come to the shop. The customer never showed up until t Business Response /* (-10, 10, 2013/06/02) */ Vehicle came in with engine oil low light & airbag light displayed on the instrument panel. Because of the repairs completed to the vehicle, it was necessary to have the vehicle taken to the dealer so that they could reset the codes for the safety of the vehilce. When the dealer scanned and cleared the codes related to the bear claim, coincidentaly other unrelated codes were found such as the ABS and 4x4 codes. Items to be faxed: 4 pages from the Ford dealer & recommened services 1 page HTAB vehicle inspection 9 pages of final estimate Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/06/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We maintain our position that unnecessary repairs and faulty repairs were conducted to our vehicle at Hightone Autobody. We also maintain that work done at Hightone Autobody and their subcontracted providers created the issues with the ABS and 4x4 systems and module. We dispute the following statements in Hightone Autobody's response: 1. "Customer was called mid-December that the IOU part was in". (We were never called even though they said they would call us. They even offered to come to Aspen and install it for us, which they did not do.) 2. "Mr. ******** was called by the dealership and informed that there were no problems with the airbag or seat belt system". (There were in fact problems with the air bag and seat belt alarm caused by the work which were repaired on 4/2/13). Hightone Auto Body's description of us as lacking interest is unfair. We are very hard working family - both adults in the family working long, inflexible hours to make ends meet - it is challenging for us to take time away from our work to follow-up on this situation. Hightone Autobody's insistence that we come to their shop (20 miles from our work places) to look at their photos is ridiculous since we were able to easily view their photographs through the **** website. Our desired resolution remains the same. We would like our car restored to the condition prior to the bear damage. Please see attached two documents from experts commenting on the repairs to the vehicle. Please also see two photographs showing that the seat and dash were not damaged. Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2013/07/11) */ Why haven't the ********'s taken their vehicle to and authorized Ford dealership to get a second opinion? This was and still is the resolution for the insurance company as well as High Tone Auto Body (HTAB). This must be done to clear up this dispute. Glenwood Springs Ford determined that the ABS module needed to be replaced and it was unrelated to the bear claim. See attached letter. Neither the insurance company nor HTAB should be responsible for paying for something not related to the bear claim. The bear damaged only the interior of the vehicle, the bear did not damage anything under the hood (location of the ABS module) or to the exterior of the vehicle. The insurance company and HTAB depend on facts and proof, and as of today we have no proof that the ABS module and 4x4 light are related to the bear claim. Therefore, the customers proposed solution is inappropriate. Customers concerns: 1. ***** spoke to ******* in mid-December when the IOU part came in. She said she was too busy, the kids will be out of school and it will have to be way after the holidays to have the IOU part installed. She said she would call us when she was ready. Mrs. ******** came in on 3/20/13 for the IOU part. All communications have been through ******** not one return phone call has been returned from Mr. ******** during the entire repair process. 2. The dealership called Mr. ******** and said that there were no problems with the airbag or seat belt system. This is GOOD NEWS! The vehicle was specifically driven down to the dealership for them to reset the codes related to the bear incident. a. It is common that replacing or disconnecting/reconnecting certain parts such as: airbags, restraint systems, etc., in a vehicle will trigger a code to display on the instrument panel (dash). This does not necessarily mean that something is wrong with the part or repair, it is just a manufacturer built in safety precaution to have the vehicle scanned by the dealership. Such was the case with this vehicle. Parts were replaced and codes had to be reset. This does not mean that the repair was bad; it's just that this can be the result when replacing certain safety items. b. The only codes unrelated to the bear incident were: the left rear wheel speed sensor and ABS module. Mr. ******** authorized replacement of the left rear wheel speed sensor. The dealership then re-scanned and code C1175 came back: ABS module has internal fault, needs replaced, Mr. ******** declined replacement. See attached invoice from Dealership invoice # XXXXX. 3. Everyone is busy these days; we too are busy running a business, having family life and shuttling the ********'s vehicle to and from ****** to ******** ******* over ** miles one way on our own personal time after hours. 4. It is not ridiculous for us to ask the customer to come to the shop and go over damages with us. This way we can all verify all prior and existing damage, review the estimate, make observations and smell the vehicle with the customer. Photos cannot replicate smell. This allows us to go over photos, videos, vehicle check -in sheets or even the estimating system to show the customer what parts are needed and how the vehicle must be disassembled or what needs to be disassemble to have access to other areas of the vehicle. There were 37 photos taken and 23 were uploaded to the insurance company. The shop is always allowed to take more photos than what is required to be uploaded to the insurance company. 5. People make time in their lives for what they feel is important or a priority. This is human nature. Apparently the Ford Escape wasn't as important as other things in the ********'s life at the time and still isn't or they would have taken the vehicle to another dealership in the meantime. With regards to the ********'s experts: * No one from the ******** family or Mr. ****** came to the shop to inspect the 2007 Ford Escape while at High Tone Auto Body. * The information given to ******* L. ******** and Mr. ****** is hearsay from the ********'s. * It seems that Mr. ****** was only used because he has credentials after his name as a Professional Engineer. What kind of PE is he? Residential, commercial, transportation, roadways or environmental? * Mr. ****** brings up that the estimate showed 2 hours to disconnect the system. Yes, this was an error on the estimators part he should have clicked R/I (remove and install) for 2 hours rather than repair for 2 hours. * Who is ******* L. ********? Is he the father or owner of the Ford Escape? He keeps referring to the Ford Escape as "My" Ford Escape yet he lives in ******** and the vehicle is here in ********* * ******* L. ******** doesn't have his facts straight, so how are we to give any merit on his opinions? The first paragraph he cites the date of the bear break in and vehicle tow to HTAB as 12/7/12, this is two months after the fact! The invoice shows the vehicle was towed in on 10/8/12. In his addendum he mentions High Tech Auto Body did they take their vehicle to another repair shop? or does he mean to say High Tone Auto Body? * The ********'s are making an assumption that all safety components and hardware were functional and fully operative prior to the bear incident. The Ford dealership in ******** ******** determined otherwise and these are the facts that both HTAB and the insurance company have to go by. Mr. ******** is stating his opinion and we are interested in the facts. * Regarding the replacement of the windshield. This was not an unnecessary operation. In order to replace the headliner (which is made up of a thick stiff foam with fabric glued to it) the widest part of the vehicle is to install through the windshield. We had tried to install through the back but it would kink the headliner if it were forced in. This is why the windshield had to come out and unfortunately it broke when being taken out and was replaced with a new windshield. The PGW *********** ***** ****** is considered an OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) glass "new". This is equivalent to the Ford glass. Any questions or concerns regarding the windshield installation you may call us and we can give you our vendors name and number. He will be more than happy to talk to you about installation, adhesives used as well as cure times. In conclusion: The documents from the two "experts" are hearsay; their opinions and have no bearing on this dispute. The recommendation for a solution still remains the same from both the insurance company and HTAB. Get a second opinion from another authorized Ford dealership of your choice. See if their diagnosis is different than what was found by Glenwood Springs Ford. If something is different then, call us so we may speak with the service writer to understand what they have discovered. We can then assess who is right or wrong and who is responsible to pay. Do not authorize any parts, labor or repairs on behalf of the insurance company or HTAB. We must first get all of the facts and then present them to the insurance company if warranted under the bear claim only. We will offer the ********'s HTAB Enterprise Rent A-Car discount, if they would need one while their vehicle is at the second dealership. There are more than 25 Ford dealerships in Colorado to choose from. Right now the onus is on them to prove the Glenwood Springs Ford dealership is wrong in their code assessment.