Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cooper Auto Body

Phone: (970) 482-9927 Fax: (970) 482-9639 2520 County Road 54G, Fort Collins, CO 80524 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.cooperautobody.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cooper Auto Body meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cooper Auto Body include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Cooper Auto Body
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1983 Business started: 10/16/1963 in CO Business started locally: 10/16/1963
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Mr. Joel Cooper, Co-Owner Mr. John Cooper, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joel Cooper, Co-Owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Auto Services Wheel Align, Frame & Axle Service Equipment & Supplies

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cooper Auto Body has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2520 County Road 54G

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 482-9927

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: had ****** repair front and rear bumper on my 2003 *** *****. only minor collision damage on the front bumper. no collision damage on rear bumper. it was determained by ****** that i didnt need new bumpers and they could repair. the first time i went back to pick it up after they completed the work i had to leave it there because the bumpers were not attached or installed correctly. the next day i went back to pick up again and they had tried to get it right but it wasnt correct again. i took it home and we agreed sleep on it and let ****** know. over the next few days my bumpers started to come unattached in several areas. i went back they agreed to replace my front bumper with a new one and said they would get the rear bumper correctly installed. after installing the new front bumper they called me back and when i got there it looked like a new rear bumper had been installed and was still incorrect, the rear bumper was tighter but still incorrect. i was told this is how it is were done working onit. not sure how we can resolve but a 3000 dollar refund would be nice so i can pay another shop to do the work again correctly

Desired Settlement: refund so i may have another shop do the work correctly with right parts

Business Response: Mr. ***** brought his 2003 *** ***** in for repairs on May
27, 2014. The right front fender and front bumper cover both had minor damage
and were being run under a claim through ******* ********* (Please see attached
photos). Mr. ***** also decided that he wanted to repair minor damage to the
rear bumper cover at that time as well. This work was being paid for out of pocket
by Mr. *****. It was a very straight forward repair job, and everything went as
planned.

Mr. ***** came to pick up his vehicle on June 4, 2014. Upon
delivering the vehicle, Mr. ***** did not voice any complaints about the body
or paint workmanship, but he was not satisfied with the way that both of the
bumpers were fitting. He decided to leave the vehicle with us so we could
adjust both bumpers. We determined it would be best to order new retainers for
the bumper covers to ensure that Mr. ***** would be pleased with the appearance
of the bumpers once they were reinstalled. He came to pick up his vehicle again
and didn’t seem to have any complaints at that time. Mr. ***** took his vehicle
home, and we believed that the issue at hand was resolved.

Since then, Mr. ***** has brought his *** back into the shop
a few more times complaining about the way the bumpers were fitting. Again, in
order to try to make things right with the customer, we decided to order an OEM
front bumper cover for the vehicle. We received the part directly from ***,
painted, and installed it at our own expense.

On this particular model of vehicle, there are plastic
retainers attached to the body of the car where the outer ends of both the
front and rear bumper covers meet the fenders and quarter panels, respectively.
Both the front and rear bumper covers attach to these retainers. This is the
only spot they attach to the actual body of the car until you reach the
reinforcement beams. This means that both bumpers are free floating from the
point of attachments at these retainers all the way until it reaches that
reinforcement bar. We explained concept of this manufacturing design numerous
times to Mr. *****.

We have dealt with repair work on this model of vehicle on
several occasions. It was a very straight forward repair, and there was nothing
done incorrectly during the process. We feel like we have gone above and beyond
to try to make Mr. ***** happy. Unfortunately, it seems like that is not
possible. We are not interested in going through mediation or arbitration. If
the BBB would like to further discuss this issue, we will be more than happy to
provide additional details and/or answer any questions. Please contact ****
****** directly.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

***** ***** ***** ******************** *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* *********

***** ***** ******************** *************** ** *** ***** ****

to disputes 
Dispute #********
I reject ****** Auto Body's response for the following reasons:
 
****** Auto Body agreed to repair collision damage caused by a minor accident. My front bumper, quarter panel and various other parts were damaged. My insurance carrier paid for the front damage. While my car was under service, I requested that ****** repaint my rear bumpEr (the rear bumper had no damage from the accident).
 
****** sanded and repainted the damaged front bumper and re-installed it. They front fender was bent in the impact of the accident. The fender was never corrected. When they removed the rear bumper, they broke it.

When I arrived to pick up my car the first time, I noticed that both bumpers were installed incorrectly. ****** agreed to adjust the bumpers and I left my car with them for another few days. When I returned again to pick up the car, the bumpers looked a bit better but I was still not confident that they were installed correctly. Both ****** and I agreed that we would “sleep on it” for a few days and I would contact them if I had further concerns.

After a few days of driving, both bumpers had shifted and were literally hanging off my car. I contacted ****** and they agreed to purchase and install a new front bumper at their expense. They did not acknowledge that they caused the damage to the rear bumper at that time but agreed to re-adjust it again. After installing the new front bumper and attempting to re-install the rear bumper, both were still incorrect.

I took my car to **** *** for them to inspect it. They determined that ****** had ripped off both bumpers and damaged their retainers. No bumper will ever install correctly with said retainers in their current damaged position. ****** has never repaired the initial damage to my front quarter panel and it remains bent to this day. When I discussed **** findings with Cooper, they became angry.

I have attached a PDF report from **** *** describing the damage to both bumpers and the cost to replace the broken rear bumper.

Additionally, pictures of both the front and rear bumpers are attached. As you can see, the rear bumper remains broken and sagging off the car. The 2 visible notches on the front bumper should be concealed and securely fastened to the retainer. Until the initial damage to the front quarter panel is corrected, no bumper or retainer will fit correctly. At this time, ****** has refused to refund my money, acknowledge the damage that they caused or take my calls. I don't feel comfortable scheduling any additional work with ****** and would like a refund so that I can take my car elsewhere.
 
Regards,
***** *****
Dispute #********

2 Attachments 
 
Preview attachment Front Bumper #1.bmp
Image
Front Bumper #1.bmp
Preview attachment **** Estimate.pdf
PDF
**** Estimate.pdf

Business Response:

We have done everything and more to please Mr. *****. Everything on this car has been repaired correctly. I would be glad to meet with the owner or manager at **** ***, as well as the service tech who is allegedly implying that Mr. *****'s vehicle was not put back together properly. This needs to be done without Mr. ***** present.  I believe there is some foul play going on and I want the owner or manager of **** involved. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I appreciate **** ******** willingness to move forward to resolve our ongoing dispute. Per his direction, I have spoken with **** *** management and they have agreed to meet with **** to discuss my vehicle. I will make arrangements to drop off my car so that all parties can assess the damage.

While I am happy to help facilitate a meeting between **** ****** and ****, I have concerns that the purpose of this meeting is a stalling tactic in order to further delay resolution. ****'s suggestion that there is some kind of "foul play" involved is completely inappropriate and untrue. I have been dealing with a broken vehicle for months. I paid for repairs that were never completed. I have paid ****** Auto $3278.42 and am still driving a car that rattles constantly due to repairs that were not completed. I am not pursuing this matter for fun or for spite-I simply want my vehicle repaired.

If **** still wants to pursue a meeting with ****, I will agree to his request and arrange to drop off my car on the scheduled date. Because this matter has been ongoing for several months, this meeting needs to be scheduled before SEPTEMBER 15th, 2014. If **** meets with **** and decides not to accept their evaluation, I will move forward in pursuing this matter through litigation.

I have already made an appointment with another body shop to have the entire job redone. My hope is that **** will want to make things right for his business and for his customer and offer a refund of $3278.42 so that we can both move forward from this situation amicably. **** has my contact information and can contact me at any time to arrange the refund.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

Pick a week day to drop your vehicle at ****. Have them call us when the vehicle is there and we will come out and go over the vehicle with them.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

Your appointment with **** *** is Thursday, August 28th at 9:00am.
My vehicle will be waiting.
Please be punctual.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

**** went out to **** *** today to inspect Mr. *****s vehicle. As a solution to the problem ****** Auto Body will order a new front bumper and paint it, and **** will install it and adjust the front bumper.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, it should read . coopers will buy and paint a new rear bumper and *** *** will install new rear bumper, *** *** will also reinstall the front bumper. all parts and labor paid by ****** autobody.  I find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Regards,

***** *****