Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mr. Appliance of Northern Colorado

Phone: (970) 266-9000 Fax: (970) 206-9382 1928 Timberline Ln, Fort Collins, CO 80525

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. Appliance of Northern Colorado meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Appliance of Northern Colorado include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Mr. Appliance of Northern Colorado
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 11, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2000 in CO Business incorporated 01/01/2000 in CO
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Richard Anderson, President Ms. Linda Anderson, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Anderson, President
Business Category

Major Appliance Repair Stores Dishwasher Repair Services Microwave Repair Shops Washer and Dryer Repair Stores Oven Repair Services Refrigerator and Freezer Repair Stores

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mr. Appliance of Northern Colorado has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1928 Timberline Ln

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 266-9000


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr Appliance charges $80 to come to the house and dx the problem. If the consumer agrees to have the repair made, the $80 is waived. The Mr Appliance tech took 2 screws out of the top of the clothes dryer, took the top off and came upstairs to tell me that yes indeed the heating element was bad and that it would be $300 to fix it. I asked him to leave stating the ridiculous price. I paid him the $80 for the 5 min of work. I came to find out that the heating element was located in the bottom of the dryer and could not be accessed by removing the top only, let alone diagnosed! So the tech did not fulfill his part of the contract. Furthermore, when I complained to a manager via email, the manager told me that the tech was going to replace the thermostat and the casing around the heating coil. I removed the coil my self and took it to a parts store where it was hooked to a flow meter and the thermostat was just fine. The casing around the heating element was fine also. So, without dx the problem correctly, he was going to charge me for parts (and the labor) that were not broken! I think that is bad business and I asked for my $80 back. I was told that the tech had fulfilled his part of the contract by dx the problem correctly! (I had stated that the dryer worked, just no heat.) I feel I was ripped off! Thank you for your time!

Desired Settlement: My $80 back.

Business Response: Mrs. ******* states herself that she was informed of our diagnostic fee, $79.95 and that it was collected if she chose not to repair the dryer. She says in her email and complaint that she showed the technician to the dryer and then went upstairs. We are not sure how she says he only removed the top when she was upstairs and not with him. Secondly, she was upset that our service technician did not remove the element and take it upstairs to show her. Also, when a heater is replaced, often the thermostats will blow out shortly after. The heater coil, thermostats and housing come as an assembly. Our service technician has been providing service on appliances for 25 years and knows what may happen once he replaces a heating element. We are a certified ******* service company and they recommend replacing all thermostats when a heater is replaced. She feels she would have been charged for parts not needed and we feel we are trying to save her from possible service in the near future. 

We are unclear as to how Mrs. ******* is stating the diagnosis was incorrect? She was told a new heating element was needed. She and her husband replaced the heating element and now the dryer is working properly. How is that a wrong diagnosis when it did indeed fix her problem? Regardless if she is upset how the diagnosis came about, it was correct. We stated to Mrs. ******* the unit was diagnosed correctly and that we will not be refunding her $79.95. We are sorry she feels it is "bad business" to try and save her from possible future service but we will stand behind the stated facts that we diagnosed a heating element, she replaced said element and the dryer is working properly.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


**** *******

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had them repair my latch for my microwave in September 2013. They ordered a part but did not use and claimed to fix without using the ordered part which I had to wait a week on. He fixed within 20 minutes left and charged $158.00. Now, 6 months later the same thing has happened. I called and explained the situation and they were very rude and said would have to charge all over again for the same issue. Very poor service and do not care about customer after they get their money. Will never use them again!! Word of mouth can harm more than a person knows. I noticed there were more complaints and no positive reviews on the this company. They take your money and run!!!!

Desired Settlement: I expect to be fixed without a charge to stand behind their repair service.

Business Response: Customer called yesterday (3/25/17) explaining she was having an issue with her microwave not starting. Our service rep explained to the customer that our recall period is 90 days. Her repair was over 7 months ago. Our service rep also tried to explain to the customer that we cannot be sure it is the same problem the microwave is having and we would have to send the service technician to properly diagnose the appliance. The first service call was dispatched to our company from Lowe's with a description of "latch broken." We pre-ordered the latch in an effort to reduce the amount of time the customer would have to take to be at the home for a repair. When she called yesterday (3/25/14) the description she gave was that the microwave "was not starting." This can be caused by many things. We explained to her that we would be more than happy to order the latch again, if she felt it was the same thing, before coming back to her home and she was upset that we had returned the original part 7 months ago. She was assured she was not charged for the part, but that we had to return it per requirements by our part supplier. She was only charged for repairing the latch and nothing else. We are sorry that she is upset but, due to our company policy, we cannot send a service technician for free, 7 months later. All customers are told we have a 90 day warranty period for service completed, same issue. This new problem may not be an issue caused by the latch at all. It could be something completely different.  Our customer service rep also tried to explain to the customer that we waive our service fee if she were to have the unit repaired but she was unhappy that we would not send our technician to her home to repair her microwave at no charge.  Although we can empathize with this customer, our company is standing by it's policy.  

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: wasn't warned about the $85 service charge just to look at my dryer. The guy said he could'nt fix it because someone forgot to put the part in his truck.

Desired Settlement: $40

Business Response: Mr. ****** contacted our service company about service for September 3, 2013 for service on a dryer. As we already had a technician in ***** ****, we were able to get a technician to his home within 3 hours of his phone call. Mr. ****** was not at home during service but our service technician did call him with an estimate of repair, which he declined. At that time, Mr. ****** did give our service technician his credit card information for payment of our trip/diagnostic fee of $89.90. Our standard fee for service to ***** **** from **** ******* is $89.90 and is waived with repair. Since Mr, ****** declined to have the dryer repaired with parts needed, he was charged the trip/diagnostic fee that all ***** **** customers are subject to when their appliances are out of warranty. 

As for our technician not having parts with him, the dispatcher told Mr. ****** that our technician had a van stocked with parts but also told him she could not guarantee he would have the correct parts since we had not yet diagnosed the problem with the dryer. We did not forget to put the parts on the technician's truck and he was already in ***** **** when the office added Mr. Phares' service call onto to his route. Also the dispatcher did tell him if we needed to order parts, we would send the technician back for no additional charge when parts arrived and technician reiterated this with the customer when he called him with the estimate. 

We will not be refunding any money to the customer as $89.90 is our standard trip/diagnosis fee for service in ***** ****, which is an out-lying area and we were able to service/diagnose his dryer the same day he called for service.