Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Aire Serv Heating and Air Conditioning LLC

Phone: (970) 282-7220 Fax: (970) 416-6516 395 Delozier Dr Ste 120, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.AireServ.com/FortCollins


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aire Serv Heating and Air Conditioning LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aire Serv Heating and Air Conditioning LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Aire Serv Heating and Air Conditioning LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 2010 Business started: 09/01/1996 in CO Business incorporated 09/02/2010 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mike Wetzbarger, President Ms. Kimber Doolittle, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kimber Doolittle, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Mike Wetzbarger, President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating Air Conditioning Air Duct Cleaning Furnace Sales and Repair Services

Service Area
Larimer, Weld and Boulder Counties
Alternate Business Names
Aire Serv of Ft. Collins, LLC Custom Heating Inc
Products & Services

heat, a/c, air conditioning, heater, Fort Collins, heating, central air

Industry Tips
HVAC Contractors : Hot & Cold Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Aire Serv Heating and Air Conditioning LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 395 Delozier Dr Ste 120

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 282-7220

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Aire Serve to replace a failed air conditioning condenser unit, and to do some work on the furnace ducting. The existing condenser had failed, and we agreed with the salesman that replacement was needed. The old condenser was not level, and was sitting on a poor surface that was tilted several inches from level. The installers put in a new condenser, but failed to level the pad and install the condenser in a sastifactory or professional manner. The new condenser was sitting on a small plastic pad under one corner, and was still not level. We called them back, and they added more plastic pads, but this was still a poor solution, looked very unprofessional, and the structure continued to drift out of level. They have now told us that they cannot fix the pad (yet somehow, they are able to install air conditioning where none had previously existed, so they must be able to install pads), and that the pad being out of level is our fault. They should not have agreed to install a condenser in a situation that would not leave it level, as this will void the warranty, and the salesman had told us that they would indeed level the pad, and repeated this when we contacted him. They are now trying to charge us $300 to remove the condenser, so that we can pay a third party to level the pad for us. Several calls to the office were not returned, and the installer that finally came out was rude and insisted that we were at fault.

Desired Settlement: If the pad leveling was not part of the job (though we had this in a verbal agreement), the installer should have refused to install in a sub-standard way. If the pad leveling was included (and I think most reasonable people would agree that it was included, and the salesman repeated that it should have been done), then they should have leveled the pad. In any case, charging $300 to allow us to hire a third party to finish the job is unreasonable.

Business Response:

Hi ***,

I reviewed your concerns and I want to clarify the air conditioning installation. The concrete pad that was existing at your home was off-level due to natural settling that occurs with many newer construction homes. Unfortunately, we don't have the ability to excavate and re-pour concrete but the install team did install your condenser so that it was level. We could not correct the concrete pad and our Install Team Leader, TJ, did explain that at the time and then when he came back out this year.

The cost that would be associated with having to reinstall the condenser is at our cost of time and material (refrigerant, copper braising, and two trips). We are happy to help any way we can and we have contractors we can refer for the tear-out and re-pour if you'd like. Would it be an option for you to contact your builder and find out the limitations of your home's warranty in regards to concrete settling? That may be a solution that would save you the expense of the concrete work.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Your salesman should not have told us that you would level the pad if it was not going to be done.  Installing the condenser on a very crooked pad, and placing 3 rubber sponges under one corner of the condenser (leaving the other two feet hanging several inches above the pad) was a very poor and unprofessional job.  Coming back and adding more sponges did not "fix" the problem.  I'm not saying you should do concrete work, but you should not promise to level a pad, and then leave it crooked, and you should not install a condenser to a crooked surface, and say the job is complete.  Your employee came back and removed the condenser so we can have a professional come and level the pad, and for this we're being charged $300 additional.  We were told that this was an "amazing deal", and that he couldn't believe the office let him do it so cheaply.  I'm paying to fix your mistake.  Your company does not care if customers are satisfied.

Regards,

****** *********

Business Response:

I have an install Technician that is new to the company that may have a solution. I called and left a voicemail for ***, but I have not received a return phone call.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *********

12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a high efficiency AC unit to qualify for the City of **** ******* rebate program. The city requires the rebate paperwork be completed and submitted by the vendor, in this case Aire Serv. I have been in contact with Kimber, the office manager at Aire Serv Northern Colorado, since June 2015 to get her to submit the required paperwork. She has done nothing but stall and blame the city for holding up the process. But when I contact the city, they have never received anything for my rebate from Kimber. Recently, she delivered me a check from Aire Serv in the amount of the rebate. I suspect this may be because the rebate paperwork requires Aire Serv to justify the size of unit sold to the consumer (me) to the city. It makes them accountable if they sell too big of a unit for the size of home. I think this is what they did with me. And they do not want to submit the paperwork for the rebate because it will show that is what they did. In any case, Aire Serv needs to immediately submit the rebate paperwork to the city, or refund me the amount I over paid for a unit that is too big for my house.

Desired Settlement: The rebate paperwork needs to be submitted by Aire Serv to the city immediately. OR Aire Serv needs to refund me the amount I over paid for an AC unit that is too large.

Business Response:

Hi ****,

I am so sorry for any delays in processing your rebate, it is quite the arduous and time-consuming process sometimes to gather all of the information. The reason we hand-delivered a $500 advance on your rebate check is due to your urgency to purchase medication for your dog that fell ill. We are animal lovers here at Aire Serv and I was happy to pay the rebate amount out of our own pocket to help your situation. I also stated that when you receive the actual rebate from the city, you can keep that as well because of the delay in your rebate process and also to help with the expense of caring for your pet.

Your rebate packet has been filled out in its entirety and the sizing of your unit is perfect for your home's comfort, matching with your existing furnace, as well as the load calculation that was completed. We stand behind our Technicians and the services that we provide. If there are any issues that ever arise with your air conditioning system, we also stand behind your 10 year parts and labor warranty.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I contacted today, 10/29/15, the agencies that are supposed to receive the paperwork from Aire Serv and process the rebates. Acording to both, they have NOT RECEIVED two required forms from Aire Serv. They have contacted Aire Serv to get these forms, to no avail. So Aire Serv's claim that they have submitted all necessary paperwork is false. Until they submit those forms, my rebate can not be processed.

Additionally, I am disgusted that Kimber at Aire Serv is attempting to spin the information about my dog's illness to prove the company's largesse. Contrary to her claims, I divulged his illness to her AFTER she had already stated that Aire Serv would be giving me a check, not as a way to gain their sympathy. Shame on you, Kimber, for your continued dishonesty. 

My hope is to get Aire Serv to provide ALL THE PAPERWORK REQUIRED to Clear Result and City of **** ******* so I can get the rebate that Aire Serv used as an enticement to convince me to purchase a more efficient and more expensive unit.


Regards,

**** *****

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a new furnace from Aire Serv. After the purchase Aire Serv was supposed to send me a completed rebate form. I was to send the rebate form to my local utility to receive a rebate of $320. The local utility would only accept rebate forms completed by the vendor (Aire Serv). I never received the form. As the deadline for the rebate approached I called and emailed Aire Serv numerous times asking about the rebate form. Each time I was told the form would be sent out immediately or that it was already sent. The rebate deadline passed and I have yet to receive the rebate form. Therefore, I did not receive the rebate from my local utility.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the amount of the rebate ($320) that I missed out on due to Aire Serv.

Business Response: Dear *****,

I apologize for the delay in processing your rebate but the deadline has not passed. Fortunately, your furnace installation qualifies you for $120 from **** ****** and $500 from the **** ** **** ******* upon the completion of an energy audit that has not been scheduled.
While we sort through your rebate process, I'm happy to provide you with a rebate advance of $620 until you receive your actual rebates if that would resolve this matter for you.
I did attempt to reach you by phone but have not heard back.
Please let me know if you would like to proceed with this solution and I'm happy to come out and meet with you to get the forms submitted.

Kimber D********
Business Manager Aire Serv of Northern Colorado

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 18 October 2013, I called Aire Serv Heating and Air Conditioning because my ******* my rental house (**** ****** ***** ** *******) furnace at would not stay on.Prior to calling Aire Serv Heating and Air Conditioning I followed the start up instructions that came with the furnace. The furnace started, flames could be seen from all four burners. After one hour I noticed that the house did not warm up. I went through the start up procedure again and flames could be seen from all four burners. This time I stayed to watch. After about 30 seconds the flames went out.The Aire Serv technician arrived and I told him the furnace would not stay on.The Aire Serv Technician went through the start up procedure for ******* furnace Model ** *** ***** with electronic ignition. The hot surface igniter went through three cycles and the furnace did not start.The Technician said the gas valve was bad and the hot surface igniter would not last long.The list price of the gas valve was $498.29.The list price of the hot surface igniter was $283.75.If I would sign up for a $159 service plan the price of the gas valve is reduced to $ 403.55 and the igniter to $241.27.Reluctantly I agreed to become a member.The technician went to the ******* supply house and picked up the gas valve and hot surface igniter.The technician installed the gas valve and igniter.When he tried to start the furnace the furnace would not start.Only then did he consider checking the position of the gas valve at the meter.Sure enough the gas valve at the meter was in the closed position.The technician opened the valve at the meter.The technician went through the start up procedure and the furnace started to burn gas.I asked him if he could put the old gas valve back on.He said no, because the carrier warehouse would not take it back.He called his office to see if the office manager would reduce the price of the gas valve.The office manager reduced the price to $360.02The final bill was $760.29 instead of a $69 service call.I believe that there was nothing wrong with the gas valve that came with the furnace.Because the technician erroneously assumed that the gas valve was bad, I think Aire Serv should have given me the gas valve and igniter at their cost.

Desired Settlement: Because the technician erroneously assumed that the gas valve was bad, I think Aire Serv should have given me the gas valve and igniter at their cost.Typical discount on heating parts is 40%.Assuming that parts are not returnable, I think that I should have been charged approximately $540.Not the $760 .29Aire Serv should have taken some liability for their mistake.Aire Serv can keep their two year membership.I will not call them again to service my heating equipment.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,

Our expert service technician spent 6.5 hours with Mr. ****** and performed a very thorough diagnostic of this HVAC system and the two parts he replaced were in fact 14 years old and showing obvious signs of high stress and discoloration. This is most likely caused by tenants not changing their filters often enough and a lack of maintenance on the equipment which we see every day.
I spoke with ***** ****** on the phone regarding this repair and resolved her concerns to her satisfaction. She thanked me and understood the charges. I explained every detail of the service call and the importance of scheduled maintenance to her and extended her maintenance agreement to include 2 free tune ups and filter changes in 2014 and 2015 to help keep their investment property in good condition.
There is no doubt that the old parts would have failed and this home would have been left without heat until the repairs were completed.
We understand that customers often don't realize the expense associated with furnace repairs which is why we are always up front with our pricing before any repairs are made. Mr. ****** did sign the invoice and agreed to have the necessary repairs done.
We did extend several discounts to help the ******s as much as possible as we do with all customers.
Our work is reputable and professional and they now have a fully functioning and efficient system.
I would encourage them to take advantage of the scheduled maintenance that we have included with their repair to make sure their system continues to run at peak performance.
They chose a great company and we stand behind our work 100%. What is Mr. ****** looking for?




Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Aire Serv Heating and Air Conditioning LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart