This business is not BBB accredited.

Maryland Square

Phone: (800) 274-7196 View Additional Phone Numbers 1251 1st Ave, Chippewa Falls, WI 54729 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.marylandsquare.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers the sale of womens footwear, apparel and accessories through the Internet and mail order catalogue sales.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Maryland Square include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Maryland Square include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Maryland Square
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 17, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1904 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1904 Business incorporated 11/15/1906 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Timothy F. Scobie, Vice President/General Counsel Mr. Daniel J. Hunt, CEO & President Ms. Debbie McDonald, Lead CSR
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Debbie McDonald, Lead CSR
Principal: Mr. Timothy F. Scobie, Vice President/General Counsel
Business Category

Womens Apparel - Retail Mail Order & Catalog Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Maryland-Square Shoes Mason Companies, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Maryland Square has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1251 1st Ave

    Chippewa Falls, WI 54729 (800) 274-7196 (800) 727-3895

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased shoes from ****land Square via telephone in January 2015 and they were shipped to me on January 21, 2015. It was winter and shoes are for summer. I tried them on the end of May and they do not fit. I wanted to exchange them but company representative "****" said it was too late by a few days to either re-order to request a refund. I indicated there is nothing on the packing slip that says there is a time limit. I said I was going to file a complaint. I thought about it few days, called them again, and was met with more hostility: "No, Maam, you cannot return the shoes. Good Day." I said to her "NO, NOT good day. You will refund my money immediately."

Desired Settlement: I want my payment of $79.95 credited to my Visa account immediately. At that point I will then return the shoes.

Business Response:

Regarding case ******** for ***** **** *** **** ******

The complaint states having ordered shoes in January and finding out the end of May they do not fit.

You spoke to a couple of operators who both said it had been too long to return for exchange or refund.

After reading thru the complaint I checked your order and I have a note on the order that you and I spoke on 6-3-2015.

At that time I informed you that I would accept the shoes back and issue a full refund along with the original shipping charges. I also noted not to charge you for the use of the smart label, which normally has a $6.95 fee.

I do not see where the shoes have come back yet so the refund has not been issued.

As soon as we received the item back the refund will be applied.

 

If I can be of further assistance feel free to contact me by email or at ###-###-####.

 

****** ********

Customer Service  

6/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Long time customer of Maryland Square. Ordered 3 pair of shoes in January, wore one pair 3 times and the "leather" split on both pair from the toes to the top of the shoes in equal strips. Since we have never had a problem in the past, the boxes/paperwork was discarded. When we called customer service in February, the problem was obviously ours!! They would not send a return receipt label or allow us to send pictures of the shoes - both top and bottom - that would show they were new. I sent a f/u email and indicated their lack of response would prompt me to call Discover with a complaint that would require an investigation at their expense, but I failed to contact Discover. There has been no response of any kind since and they have both my email, my wife's email and our phone #.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like a return shipping lable that pays for shipping and identifies the original order and also agrees to credit my Discover card on receipt. Customer By Service Email (***** **********) (02/11/2015 05:57 PM) I recently ordered a pair of Beacon Kinsey black flats. Thank you for placing order #51834931 with Maryland Square. Beacon Kinsey (Women's) Style #512123 I have worn them approximately 5 times and the right shoe has split in at least two place across the toes. I have never had an issue with Maryland Square shoes before and threw away the packing slip when I received my shoe order. I need to return these shoes for a refund. How do I go about doing that? ***** **********

Business Response:

Regarding case ******** for *******/***** ********** zip code 30075.

The complaint states having purchased shoes in January of this year and they are falling apart.

The earlier request to be sent a return label was not done.

First let me thank you for bringing this to my attention and a label will be sent out today.

Upon return of the item 512123 a refund of $39.96 will be credited back to the credit card it was originally billed to.

 

If I can be of further assistance feel free to contact me at ###-###-####.

 

****** ********

Customer Service

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10630062, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  As if Wednesday, June 3, 2015, I have not received label but will check today's mail.  Also attaching picture of the shoes.  Thanks again for your assistance.

Regards,

 

******* **********

 

 

 

4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/28/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered boots back in October 2012, and they were on back order until November the 11. I called on the 13th of November to find out they were on back order until November the 20th. Today November 29, 2012 I called and spoke to a male who told me that they will be on back order until December 21st, so I cancelled the order. After I hung I up I realized how much I liked the boots I called back to speak to a female associate who then told me that the guy I first talked to was wrong, they are on back order until Jan. 21, 2012. I asked for the corporate which they could not give me, all they had was an email which they were not that sure about either. I then asked to speak to the supervisor because the customer service rep was sure about anything. I was transferred to ***** who was very rude and not helpful at all, when I told her I was going to call the BBB she replied that it's nothing that they can do. My gripe was if I order something from Marylandsquare and the manfacturer is not doing there job to satisfy the customer it is then Maryland square job to be the liason and contact ****** to get the ball rolling. Not get mad at the customer and continue to be rude and not ask questions when asked. I asked for ***** supervisor name, she refused to give me their names. I had to call back to get the name of her supervisor, the associate I spoke to told me their names are ******, or ****. I asked to speak to ***** to confirm if her supervisor names was ****** or ****. Her reply was that is not their names, but when I asked her initailly she refused to give me their names stating that she had several. She was very acerbic and do not need to be in the position that she is in. Also I don't think it is good business manner to have somebody wait three months for any product, and to have a nonchalant attitude when a customer complains.

Desired Settlement: I want an apology and I want my shoes in a timely manner. I know this may be a little far fetched but demote Heidi, team lead is not the job for her, very unprofessional. If you need to I have the recording of her acting very unprofessional.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. One of our Lead Customer Service Representatives will be in touch with Ms. ******* forthwith.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

********* *******

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

********* *******

 

 

Business Response:

Regarding case ******* for ********* *******.

We apologize for the delay in shipment of style ****** but the supplier was unable to fill our order for the size you needed. Our purchasing agent did some checking and was able to locate the item from another vendor. The item was shipped on 12-11-12 and if you have not received it yet you will soon.

Again we apologize for the delay in filling your order.

 

If I can be of further assistance I can be reached by email or at ###-###-####.

 

****** ********

Customer Service

Business Response:

Regarding case ******* for ********* ******* zip code *****.

We apologize for the delay in the shipment of style ******.

The item was on a longer than expected backorder from our supplier.

In looking for other sources we were able to locate the item and shipped on  12-11-12.

Our tracking records show the parcel was delivered on 12-17-12 at approx.. 1:00 PM by the USPS.

Again we apologize for the delay and if we can be of further assistance I can be reached by email or at ###-###-####.

 

****** ********

Customer Service

11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 26, I called Maryland-Square to get authorization to return a pair of shoes. I was assured I could return them as long as a new pair was ordered. On November 7 I called to find out status of my order. I was told the shoes that I returned were being returned to me because their return policy had been changed and they no longer could honor what they had told me.

Desired Settlement: I only want them to honor what they had promised by exchanging the shoes.

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. One of our Lead Customer Service Representatives will be in touch with Ms. ********* forthwith.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.Consumer states that they have not heard back from the company.

Regards,

 ******** *********

 

 

Business Response: I know that one of our Lead CSRs, Ms. *** ********, was looking at this matter and was going to contact Ms. *********. For information purposes, Ms. ******** can be reached at ###-###-#### or at *******************************.