This business is not BBB accredited.

Maryland Square

Phone: (800) 274-7196 View Additional Phone Numbers 1251 1st Ave, Chippewa Falls, WI 54729 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.marylandsquare.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers the sale of womens footwear, apparel and accessories through the Internet and mail order catalogue sales.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Maryland Square include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Maryland Square
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 17, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1904 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1904 Business incorporated 11/15/1906 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Timothy F. Scobie, Vice President/General Counsel Mr. Daniel J. Hunt, CEO & President Ms. Debbie McDonald, Lead CSR
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Debbie McDonald, Lead CSR
Principal: Mr. Timothy F. Scobie, Vice President/General Counsel
Business Category

Womens Apparel - Retail Mail Order & Catalog Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Maryland-Square Shoes Mason Companies, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Maryland Square has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of D.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1251 1st Ave

    Chippewa Falls, WI 54729 (800) 274-7196 (800) 727-3895

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/27/15 I ordered a pair of Ryka Shift shoes in black, size 10W for $45.47 plus $8.99 shipping for a total of $54.46. I received a pair of Ryka Influence in green size 6.5M. The packing slip showed that the order was for a woman in Easton, PA. I emailed them to let them know that they sent me someone else's shoes. I included copies of my order and the packing list that came with the incorrect shoes. The responded asking me for my order number (?), the other person's order number (?), and my address (?). I responded that I HAD given them copies of all of that. They told me to use the return label that came with the shoes to return them. I explained that there was no return label. ***** P, Customer Care Manager emailed back and asked if perhaps only the packing slip was incorrect and if I could make the shoes work and just keep them. That was the last straw. I called them and told them that the packing slip wasn't the only thing incorrect and that they certainly would not work since they were not my size and not the shoes that I ordered. She said they'd mail me a return label. When I received the return label the instructions to affix the label and give the package to my postal carrier and there would be no charge. I called to see how long it would take for my refund because they had to send me a check. The credit card I used to purchase the shoes had been replaced. They said it would take 2 to 3 weeks after they received the wrong shoes back. Yesterday, 2/10/2016 I called to see if my refund had been processed yet since it had been a month or so. They stated that they never received the shoes back. They asked for my tracking number. I told them that there was no tracking number since I used the label they sent me. They said there was nothing they could do because they had no record of receiving them. I had included, again, all the copies of my order and the order from the wrong shoes. I want my money back and I want all of it. It was THEIR mistake not mine. How do they know they never got them back? They were, after all, not my order.

Desired Settlement: I want the entire $54.46 I paid for the shoes I never got.

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased shoes from ****land Square via telephone in January 2015 and they were shipped to me on January 21, 2015. It was winter and shoes are for summer. I tried them on the end of May and they do not fit. I wanted to exchange them but company representative "****" said it was too late by a few days to either re-order to request a refund. I indicated there is nothing on the packing slip that says there is a time limit. I said I was going to file a complaint. I thought about it few days, called them again, and was met with more hostility: "No, Maam, you cannot return the shoes. Good Day." I said to her "NO, NOT good day. You will refund my money immediately."

Desired Settlement: I want my payment of $79.95 credited to my Visa account immediately. At that point I will then return the shoes.

Business Response:

Regarding case ******** for ***** **** *** **** ******

The complaint states having ordered shoes in January and finding out the end of May they do not fit.

You spoke to a couple of operators who both said it had been too long to return for exchange or refund.

After reading thru the complaint I checked your order and I have a note on the order that you and I spoke on 6-3-2015.

At that time I informed you that I would accept the shoes back and issue a full refund along with the original shipping charges. I also noted not to charge you for the use of the smart label, which normally has a $6.95 fee.

I do not see where the shoes have come back yet so the refund has not been issued.

As soon as we received the item back the refund will be applied.

 

If I can be of further assistance feel free to contact me by email or at ###-###-####.

 

****** ********

Customer Service  

6/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Long time customer of Maryland Square. Ordered 3 pair of shoes in January, wore one pair 3 times and the "leather" split on both pair from the toes to the top of the shoes in equal strips. Since we have never had a problem in the past, the boxes/paperwork was discarded. When we called customer service in February, the problem was obviously ours!! They would not send a return receipt label or allow us to send pictures of the shoes - both top and bottom - that would show they were new. I sent a f/u email and indicated their lack of response would prompt me to call Discover with a complaint that would require an investigation at their expense, but I failed to contact Discover. There has been no response of any kind since and they have both my email, my wife's email and our phone #.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like a return shipping lable that pays for shipping and identifies the original order and also agrees to credit my Discover card on receipt. Customer By Service Email (***** **********) (02/11/2015 05:57 PM) I recently ordered a pair of Beacon Kinsey black flats. Thank you for placing order #51834931 with Maryland Square. Beacon Kinsey (Women's) Style #512123 I have worn them approximately 5 times and the right shoe has split in at least two place across the toes. I have never had an issue with Maryland Square shoes before and threw away the packing slip when I received my shoe order. I need to return these shoes for a refund. How do I go about doing that? ***** **********

Business Response:

Regarding case ******** for *******/***** ********** zip code 30075.

The complaint states having purchased shoes in January of this year and they are falling apart.

The earlier request to be sent a return label was not done.

First let me thank you for bringing this to my attention and a label will be sent out today.

Upon return of the item 512123 a refund of $39.96 will be credited back to the credit card it was originally billed to.

 

If I can be of further assistance feel free to contact me at ###-###-####.

 

****** ********

Customer Service

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10630062, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  As if Wednesday, June 3, 2015, I have not received label but will check today's mail.  Also attaching picture of the shoes.  Thanks again for your assistance.

Regards,

 

******* **********

 

 

 

4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Maryland Square
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart