BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

Fox Valley Animal Referral Center, S.C.

Phone: (920) 993-9193 Fax: (920) 993-8492 4706 New Horizons Blvd, Appleton, WI 54914 http://www.fvarc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers digital radiology, emergency and critical care, surgery, internal medicine, dermatology, radiology, and rehabilitation services for animals.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fox Valley Animal Referral Center, S.C. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fox Valley Animal Referral Center, S.C. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fox Valley Animal Referral Center, S.C.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 23, 2003 Business started: 10/01/1996 in WI Business started locally: 10/01/1996 Business incorporated: 10/15/1996 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave, Room 112, Madison WI 53703
http://www.dsps.wi.gov
Phone Number: (608) 266-2112
Fax Number: 608-267-0644

Type of Entity

Service Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Bruce VanEnkevort, Owner Ms. Kris Eggleston, CVT Dr. Louis Licari, Owner Dr. Lisa Peters, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kris Eggleston, CVT
Principal: Dr. Bruce VanEnkevort, Owner
Related Businesses
Green Bay Animal Emergency Center, S.C. Horizon Veterinary Services, Inc.
Business Category

Veterinarians Laboratories - Veterinary Veterinarians Information & Referral Veterinary Services (NAICS: 541940)


Additional Locations

  • 4706 New Horizons Blvd

    Appleton, WI 54914 (920) 993-9193

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: February 11, 2012 my 8 year old ******* was referred to Fox Valley Animal Referral Center for an emergancy surgery. If she had not gone, she would of died that weekend. Once arriving at the Referral Center, their conduct was abrasive and cold. Once Dr. **** ******** entered our waiting room, she was cold and direct. She stated the type of surgery that needed to be done. Gave us the facts and then said it would be a minimum payment of $2,000.00 today. I asked her what if I don't have $2,000.00 today? She looked directly at me and said "then you will have to euthanize her". I was horrified and outraged. She said this AFTER she said that 99% of animals do very well with this type of surgery. So I ask myself, why on earth would you want me to euthanize my dog who is a family member?? Unfortunately, there are many other complaints noted in this area due to their evasive bedside manner and their worry about money. I would have been able to put down some money and made payment arrangements, but they would not hear of it. I had to call my parents to borrow the money. So we left Maisy for surgery. She did have a successful surgery and Dr. ******** called me minutes after her surgery to tell me that the cost of the surgery had gone up to $3500.00, even though there were no complications. This type of service to families in peril over the health matters of their pets is horrible. I just think that they should be willing to work their customers, after an animal has been taken care of. To tell a customer they have to kill their pet because they may not have alot of money sitting around is absurd. I am still in shock over this type of behavior and can not believe they get away with it with so many people. This place also has a reputation of losing many animals "on the table", when we were checking out the Vet Techs even told us that out of the six emergencies that entered this building over the weekend, five did not make it.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see them lower their costs, provide better service to the parents of furry family members and work with them. I also think there should be an investigation on how many animal deaths there have been at this ER and see if these folks are even qualified to be working on our pets.

Business Response: Hello Ms. ********, I have attached my response to Ms. ******'s concerns with the Fox Valley Animal Referral Center.  Thank you again for the phone call this morning.   

Kind Regards,
****
**** *********, CVT
Hospital Manager
Fox Valley Animal Referral Center
###-###-####

 

Dear Better Business Bureau,

 

I have reviewed the response letter submitted by Ms. ****** in regards to case #*******.

The intent of my response is to address Ms. ******’s concerns of the cost of medical services

and the qualifications and experience of our veterinary team at the Fox Valley Animal Referral Center.

 

Ms. ****** brought her dog ***** to the Fox Valley Animal Referral Center (FVARC) on February 11, 2012 for a potentially life threatening illness.  ***** had a condition called pyometra. If left untreated there is the potential for a uterine rupture that can lead to imminent death. In Ms. ******’s letter she stated she is upset that our veterinarian seemed cold and abrasive when she was explaining the options of treatment and the costs associated with that treatment.  Unfortunately only Ms. ****** and Dr. ******** were in the exam room together so I do not know what tone of voice or body language that was used by my staff member.  If my staff member showed a lack of empathy for *****’s situation I am truly sorry for that encounter.  I have worked alongside Dr. ******** and I know that she states medical facts with a very direct approach and in this case she was extremely concerned for *****’s health.

 

When Ms. ****** brought ***** to our hospital she was very dehydrated, lethargic, and had been vomiting for two days.  When Dr. ******** performed a physical exam on ***** she noted that *****’s heart rate was high, she had a very tender abdomen and she had vaginal discharge.  Dr. ******** confirmed the pyometra by viewing abdominal radiographs and performing an ultrasound.  She then discussed her findings with Ms. ****** and offered her options of surgery and humane euthanasia.  I understand why Ms. ****** would be upset to hear euthanasia as an option, however this was not an unreasonable option to discuss.  Ms. ****** stated that she had financial concerns and did not know if she could afford surgery for *****.  I also must note that it is our ethical duty to offer humane euthanasia to our clients as an option based on informed consent.

 

Ms. ****** stated in her letter that FVARC would not “hear” of a payment arrangement, which is simply untrue.  We did offer her Care Credit® as an alternative payment option, however Care Credit® declined the application.  At that point we did not turn Ms. ****** away, we accepted two checks from her in good faith.

 

***** was taken to surgery that day.  ***** continued to recover in our ICU unit in the hospital where we provided intensive medical care.  On February 12, 2012 ***** was quiet, alert and responsive.  She was not interested in eating and some of her lab values were mildly elevated.  We kept Ms. ****** updated on *****’s medical status with regards to the finances throughout *****’s entire hospitalization.  On February 12, 2012 we recommended to Ms. ****** that ***** needed continued hospitalization and supportive care; however she chose to take ***** home that day.

 

It is unfortunate that Ms. ****** feels that our hospital refuses to work with our clients when they are faced with emergency situations for their pets.  We offer every client that comes through our door multiple options for the care of their pet, as well as multiple options on the financial side.  Unfortunately if well-known financial lending companies as well as credit card companies deny credit to a client, we cannot take the high risk of granting them credit.  Without payment for our services we would not be here for the many happy and satisfied clients we serve each day.   

 

In good faith we agreed to take two checks for payment of services from Ms. ******. One of the checks she wrote out was for $300.00 less than what it should have been so we called her to discuss this billing issue.  I have included the documented conversation below:

 “I called the ******** and ******* answered. I said that I know *** had just called to get an update on ***** and mentioned to you about the check that was written out for $300 less than what it should have been for. I wanted to call to see if you wanted to take care of that over the phone with a card or come in to pay with cash. She said it doesn't matter because I stopped payment on them. I said you stopped payment on the check? She said I had to I didn't have the money to cover them and I have more important things to take care of right now.” In closing I do not feel I need to respond to Ms. ****** accusations about FVARC “losing many animals on the table” and that “the majority of our emergency cases that enter our building are euthanized.” These claims are simply not true. I am happy to provide a copy of *****’s medical record and documentation of communications between Ms. ****** and the veterinarians that treated ***** should the BBB require additional information.   

Sincerely,

 

 **** **********CVT

Hospital Manager

Fox Valley Animal Referral Center

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would be willing to work out other payment arrangements with this business for the services that were provided. I already have Credit Care and my maximum has been met on my account. My boyfriend tried for the credit care but he was denied, not me. My parents said they were going to pay for the services when we were quoted the down payment of $2,000.00 by Dr. ********. The cost, she said, would not go up unless there were complications, which there were not. When I was called after ***** came out of surgery I was told then that the amount had jumped to $3,300.00 after the surgery and after no complications, which I did not understand. You can surely understand how upset I was, not only did I almost lose the most precious animal I have ever had in my life but I had the Referrel Center raising the price constantly. When I picked ***** up I asked the Doctor there if there was any real threat to her coming home and he said no, he would just like to follow up blood work, which he also said could be done by our own Vet. Dr. Shepard. Needless to say, the checks were written with good intentions, but when my parents found out how much the cost had risen, they could not do it. I also told the person on the phone I would try to get a personal loan or try to find a way, somehow. However, $3,300.00 dollars does not just appear when you need it. The surgery itself cost around $500.00, and had my Vet done the surgery it would of been $800.00 total, for everything. So $3300.00 is quite unmanagable at this time. I would be willing to work out payment arrangements but no one has bothered to work that out with me and I do not believe that if someone does not have that type of money lying around that they should have to put their animal down, especially when they are told that only 1% of dogs would die from that surgery, that the recovery rate is very high. I have not heard from this company, except for a statement, with highlighted words stating PAYMENT IN FULL. I am sorry my parents could not come through for me, I had no choice but to cancel checks that were going to bounce. I was honest with them. However, I will not be threatened but them for money I do not have. They were cold and inconsistant with their quotes. My concern was the health and safety of my dog. Also, had ***** stayed another night the cost would of went up again, per the Doctor that day. So my question is how can they charge so much and think that they cant offer some other payment option for people? I work full time as a legal assitant, I am one year away from my Masters as a Counselor and fighting two diseases. I know what it takes to survive in this world and I am terribly disappointed and angry with how this facility is so cold. In fact, my boss who is an Attorney has taken his animals there and in his words" they have killed every one of them" and also, he has said he does not appreciate how they conduct their business.

I have nothing further at this time. I am willing to make payment arrangements, but I do not have $3300.00 just lying around. If they can not work with me, there is nothing I can do.

Regards,

 ******* ******

 

 

Business Response: Dear Better Business Bureau, I have reviewed the response submitted by Ms. ****** on February 29, 2012in regards to case #*******. When Ms. ****** brought ***** to FVARC on February 11, 2012 we gave her an estimate of $2000.00 to $3000.00.   Dr. ******** spent two hours working with Ms. ****** to find a surgical option and figure out finances.  Ultimately Ms. ****** chose to move forward with surgery for *****.  Ms. ****** signed the estimate/authorization form. The estimate that Ms. ****** signed states the following: 1. I understand that this estimate is based on the initial examination of my pet and that it may change as further diagnostic and therapeutic procedures dictate. The estimate range is intentionally broad to anticipate problems and unforeseen factors that can occur with any medical patient. I understand that this is only an estimate and that the final charges are based on actual procedures performed. The preliminary diagnostic and therapeutic plans have been discussed with me along with the attendant risks. I understand that no warranty has been made as to result or cure. 3. I agree to be responsible for all charges relating to my pet’s medical care at the completion of services. I understand that an initial deposit is required equal to the low estimate and that further deposits may be required as care progresses. I understand that credit is not available and I agree to pay the balance of all charges in full at the end of hospitalization. I also understand that any charges not paid at the time of service are subject to monthly billing fees ($1.50), interest, (1% per month), collection and legal fees. Ms. ****** is correct in stating that we went over the estimate; however we did notify her of this via phone conversation on February 11, 2012 at 6:09pm.  During that conversation Dr. ******** stated that the medical bill was at $3000.00 and that it would be around $3500.00 the next day if ***** were able to go home. While we understand that Ms. ****** was faced with a difficult decision especially when it is an emergency, it was truly her decision to move forward with surgery.  We would never perform medical treatments on patients with out the owner’s full consent. Ms. ****** stated in her response that no one has approached her about payment arrangements.  This is an untrue statement as we called Ms. ****** on February 13, 2012 at 3:19pm and asked about the stop payments on the checks and to also ask when she may be able to take care of the account balance.  It is true that Ms. ****** has not heard from us since the phone conversation on the 13th so I am not sure why she feels that we have threatened her for payment.  During that conversation she stated that she did not know when she could come in and take care of the balance.  We simply asked that she call us back to give us an update of when she could come in and pay her outstanding account balance.  To date we have not heard from Ms. ******. I understand from Ms. ******’s response that she already has a Care Credit® account; she did not let us know that initially or we would have been happy to call the company to see if we could get an extension on her credit. If Ms. ****** would like to try that option she can certainly call FVARC for any information on her account that is needed. I have attached the signed estimate/authorization form for the BBB to review if needed. 

Sincerely, 

**** *********
Hospital Manager
Fox Valley Animal Referral Center

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First of all, when I entered the builidng, I was asked to sign a piece of paper before I even took ***** back to see Dr. ********. There were no quotes of price at that time. My fiance **** ******* was present at that time. I even asked the secretaries at the front desk what kind of payment options they had because the Vet office that referred us to this emergency center said the cost may be $1400.00. The secretaries did not know, but did offer **** to apply for Credit Care. After I signed the document with not costs on it was when I was taken back to a room where Dr. ******** came and discussed Maisy's surgery and cost. At that time I was bawling like a baby and immediately called my mother, ***** ****** and told her then what the cost was going to be, again, after I signed the form. Dr. ******** did not spend two hours with us before ***** went back to surger. We were probably there a whole hour before we left ***** for surgery.

I think this is crazy that these people actually had me sign these forms, then tried to get Credit Care for ****, then took us back and told us the approximate amount. I have nothing but disrespect for them because clearly they are lying. I have witnessess. My mother and my fiance.

Again, let me make it perfectly clear, when I signed the document, as I was crying, to have ***** even enter the building there were no estimates given. The estimates were given AFTER I was in the room with the Doctor and that is when I called my Mother and she said if it was the minimum of $2,000.00, they would pay for it and I would pay them back. Things progressively turned worse and more costly with this company after the fact.

This is a disgrace to conduct business like this.

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.