Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.


Phone: (262) 628-3100 Fax: (262) 628-3658 View Additional Phone Numbers 2927 Hubertus Rd, Hubertus, WI 53033 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers sales and installation of central vacuum systems and low voltage wiring for residential and commercial markets.  These services include: home theater, home intercom systems, security cameras, card access readers, TV, internet and telephone installation, computer cabling and smoke, fire and burglar alarm systems.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on THAD II
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1989 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 02/04/1998 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Wes E. Smith, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wes E. Smith, Owner
Business Category

Vacuum Cleaning Systems Vacuum Equipment & Systems Contractor - Low Voltage Systems Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service Smoke Detectors & Alarms Cable Networking Security Cameras Card Access Control Systems Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems Home Automation Wire & Cable - Non-Electric Home Theater Intercoms Systems & Services Sound Systems & Equipment Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Computers - Cable & Installation Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Security Systems Consultants Service Establishment Equipment and Supplies Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423850)

Hours of Operation
By Appointment
Service Area
State of Wisconsin
Alternate Business Names

Additional Locations


    2927 Hubertus Rd

    Hubertus, WI 53033 (262) 628-3100 (888) 357-7355


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a home security system through THAD, LLC over 3 years ago. We paid for the following: installation of system and ownership of the system, we paid for a 3 year contract for 24/7 monitoring services too. Since our contract ended this pass October of 2014 we have decided to go with a new monitoring service that we work with in conjunction with the Honeywell Security System they installed. When our new monitoring service came out to merge their 24/7 monitoring to our system it would not work. We gave the new company all of our codes and instructions for the system. We were told by the new installer that we need a "Master Code" to unlock our system by the installer. We contacted THAD for our master code (since we never receive this previously) Wes the owner said we would have to pay him $150 to get our system's code. I researched this and the master code is to be the property of the security system owner not the installer. Thus THAD is holding ownership of our property and not releasing it to us. I have also requested a company of my contract with them and they refuse to send me any documentation on my account. THAD is also claiming they gave us contract which we never received. The only paperwork we received was a proposal with an estimation of cost and there was nothing indicated about having to pay an additional $150 to have our code released. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: 1. I want my Master Code delivered or we will need to take them to court. 2. I also think this is an ethical business practice to hold security owners hostage with their company by making them pay an "extra $150 fee" to get the security systems code, especially since its not their properly after the purchase is complete. This code needs to be given to all homeowners on the date of their systems installation going forward. 3. Provide all new customers contracts and documents when a service is purchased. Currently they are with holding this from us as well.

Business Response: It is unfortunate that the ******'s feel this way. I have tried several times to get them to understand what property belongs to them and that other information would compromise the security of all our customers. Their research into the matter is short sighted at best, and they did not pay fair any intellectual property, so this code is not for the general public. I have informed them both to this fact and the fee is for reprogramming their system so the other company can do the same thing. However the other company can still program by hand their panel which they have decided not to do. The threat of legal action based on what they think they bought and what they did purchase are two different things. I am still willing to provide this service at the fee stated. They admit to having the proposal which states what they bought. They have fulfilled their monitoring obligation with us and free to persue another contractor. I have only met a few people like the ******'s in my entire career and am happy to say that we retain all our high quality clients and they appreciate the work we have done for them. So in summary i would ask the BBB to strike this obvious attempt at putting a black mark on our stellar service record. If the ******'s would like this work done we are still willing to accommodate their wishes. Sincerely THAD LLC

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is in reference to complaint ID ******** that closed on 4/17/15. Unfortunately, I missed the 10 day response cut off due to verifying concerns with our new vendor and other sources and for that I apologize by holding up the resolution process. I am requesting the case be reopened or a new complaint started. We continue to be unsatisfied with T.H.A.D's contradictory response to our complaint. By this I a referring to indicating that our installer security code is something that we can't have access to, but willing to provide it if we pay a fee of $150 or a negotiated fee of $100 that was NOT disclosed to us or put in a contract at all. We continue to feel this is illegal and an unethical practice. This matter has not been addressed by T.H.A.D. during the course of the complaints and responses. We have again discussed the above with our new vendor who have indicated they have never heard of the installer security code being withheld from the consumer that paid for it. This is our last attempt to resolve the matter with T.H.A.D. through the BBB before going to Small Claims Court to reclaim what is rightfully ours. We are truly hoping to avoid this step and that we're able to resolve this matter peacefully. Please advise. Thank you.
Desired Outcome:
We would like access to our code that we paid for. We feel it's unfair and illegal to ask a consumer to pay a fee that was never to disclosed to the consumer. We were not locked into a life long contract with T.H.A.D when our system was installed and they continue to not provide access to our contract when requested.


******* ******



Business Response: We appreciate the opportunity to once again address the security of our customers by not allowing any would be installer access to a code that was neither paid for or somehow becomes the property of the homeowner just because they think it is their right. The new company knows full well that they can program this panel through the installer code which they have. If they are misleading the ******'s with false claims then that is something they to address with them. The matter at hand is removing our secure information without compromising the security of all our customers. As we have stated before we are more than willing to default the panel and remove our information so that the new company can do as they see fit. We do charge for this service and have expressed an interest in helping the ******'s, but as seen in their remarks they don't have the right information in bringing a false claim to intellectual property that they simply did not pay for. Today I'm still willing to cooperate in bringing this matter to a close if the ******'s wish to persue other means that is their choice. Respectfully THAD LLC

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on THAD II
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)