Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers state-approved home inspection training and training products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that OnCourse Learning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on OnCourse Learning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 31, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1992 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated 06/08/1993 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Educational Approval Board
30 W. Mifflin St., 9th Floor, P.O. Box 7874, P.O. Box 8696, Madison WI 53708
Phone Number: (608) 266-1996
Fax Number: (608) 264-8477

Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Mr. James Bruss, Director of Legal and Compliance Mr. Patrick Sheahan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Bruss, Director of Legal and Compliance
Business Category

Training Programs Real Estate Schools Vocational Rehabilitation Services (NAICS: 624310)

Alternate Business Names
American Home Inspectors Training Institute, LTD

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

OnCourse Learning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 20225 Water Tower Blvd Ste 400

    Brookfield, WI 53045


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in an online training with the company and I deposited $800 and took out a loan of $2500 with TFC to pay the balance with AHIT. I became ill for 2 days and also missed 2 days due to a death in my family. I requested from the company AHIT, that I am withdrawing from the course and, ask that I not be charged for the entire course and the balance be returned to TFC. The company is refusing. This is so unfair and dishonest of the company in my opinion. All I am asking that I not be charged for a benefit I did not receive .

Desired Settlement: That AHIT not charge me for the portion of the course I did not use and that AHIT return a reasonably amount of the loan to TFC.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******,

Thank you for allowing us respond to this complaint.  Mr. ****** attended six of 10 days of our live class in North Carolina.  As he indicated in his complaint, he missed four days of class.  Mr. ****** then contacted AHIT after the class concluded to attempt to get a refund. 

Before he started the class, Mr. ****** received a copy of the attached Refund Policy.  In keeping with our Refund Policy (and like any other school or educator), we do not provide refunds for students who attend only a portion of our classes.  AHIT was very transparent with Mr. ****** regarding our policy.

AHIT has already offered Mr. ****** the opportunity to attend another class of ours to make up for the days he missed.  That offer stands, though Mr. ****** has not accepted.

AHIT has been neither dishonest nor unfair with Mr. ******.  On the contrary, AHIT provided Mr. ****** with a Refund Policy and went above and beyond by offering him the opportunity to attend a different class.  No business could operate under the policy Mr. ****** appears to advocate and while AHIT strives to provide the very best student experience, we will continue to follow our fair and open refund policy.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to respond.  Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions.


***** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]
The company has not been fair to me and is hiding behind an unfair refund policy. AHIT failed to disclose to you that I never enrolled in their on line classes. What would be wrong and even difficult for AHIT to cost the part of the course that I attended and issue me a refund of a portion of my $3000. My point is simply that I did not benefit from the $3000 that was paid to AHIT and the company should do what is fair. 

***** ******

Business Response:

Dear Sir or Madam,

This a response to Mr. ******'s most recent email.

First, we agree we did not disclose that Mr. ****** didn't enroll in our online class.  It is not at all relevant to the dispute.  We did explain that Mr. ****** failed to attend 4 days of class, which should suggest to anyone reading our note that Mr. ****** had enrolled in a live class.

Second, our Refund Policy is entirely fair.  AHIT undertakes considerable effort and bears considerable expense to host the classes.  If someone fails to attend, AHIT still has to bear the expense of the class.

Finally, AHIT has offered to let Mr. ****** attend another class to complete his training.  Mr. ****** has not accepted this offer.  AHIT will not be refunding any portion of Mr. ******'s enrollment fee.


***** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]
The 120 hours of online class is totally separate from the actual classes that were held in Gastonia and I missed 4 days of the classes in Gastonia. The point I am making is that the 120 hours of online classes is also included in the $3000 that I paid. I did not enroll in the online classes and therefore I did not benefit to that extent. AHIT may say that their refund policy is fair but I contend it is unfair and immoral. i should be refunded a reasonable portion of my $3000 and that would be fair.

***** ******

12/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 19, 2014, I purchased a "lifetime" license to AHIT's software, Home Report, for use in my home inspection. The cost was $899, including some paper materials I didn't ask for nor have the opportunity to turn down. AHIT may claim the actual cost was lower, but I wasn't given any lower-priced options, because I would have taken them. On July 29, 2014, AHIT emailed the following announcement, "As a current user of AHIT’s Home Report Inspection Reporting Software, this communication is to let you know that as of December 31, 2014, AHIT will no longer be able to support the Home Report Inspection Software due to the resources required to support the new InspectIT Software." Thus, I was sold a "lifetime" product in May that would begin to fail for me in January, less than eight months later. When I contacted AHIT about a refund, they offered me an ongoing lease, after I had already forked over $899: "So at this point if you switch to the inspectit app it will be free for the next 15 months, then after that it will be $349/yr or $39/mo. This is app only if you go to cloud we will waive the upgrade fee since you purchased it in the past year, then it will be 499/yr. or $49/mo. After 15 months." This is completely unacceptable and dishonest. No reasonable "lifetime purchase" lasts for eight months. I liked my training from AHIT, but their customer service on this issue has been lower than poor. Thank you for your help.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a full refund. Thank you!

Business Response:

Please see the attached October 22, 2015 letter from our company to Mr. ******.

We don’t sell lifetime licenses.  I suspect what Mr. ****** heard was someone from AHIT telling him that even though the HomeReport software would soon be unsupported, he would continue to have appropriate software indefinitely.  And that is true.

The re-write of our software was necessitated by significant changes in the coding for IOS and Android operating systems.  HomeReport would continue to operate on those systems only until a user updated his or her operating system software.  As anyone who owns an Apple product knows, operating system software updates come regularly.  Therefore, AHIT needed to rewrite its software and create InspectIT to be responsive to these updates.  But our users who bought HomeReport during the same timeframe as Mr. ****** were not and are not charged a fee for their license to use the newer InspectIT.  It’s automatic; only the cloud-based application requires an additional fee.

We have invited Mr. ****** to work with our customer service and **** ******* *******, *** *******.  We have yet to hear from him, but we responded to his complaints with the states of ***** ******** and ********* less than two weeks ago.

Business Response:

From: ***** ***** 
Sent: Monday, November 16, 2015 3:31 PM
To: '******************* *******************>
Subject: Your complaints with the states of ***** ******** and ********* and the ********* Better Business Bureau


Dear Mr. ******,


Please contact me to discuss your complaints.  I think we are talking past each other and therefore I think it would be worth you and I discussing the matter over the phone.


Just to clarify, no one with AHIT is asking that you make any additional payments.  You purchased software in May 2014 that, because of changes with the IOS and the Android operating systems, can no longer be supported.  BUT—and this is a huge BUT—you still have a license to use our updated software WITHOUT any additional fee.


I look forward to your call.


***** *****

Consumer Response:

AHIT sent this email 12/4/15 and remitted payment of refund via check on 12/11/15, which was received in ***** **, on 12/15/15.


Thank you for all your help,

****** ***** ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on OnCourse Learning
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart