Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of BigBadToyStore?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BigBadToyStore

Phone: (888) 980-2287 Unlisted , Somerset, WI 54025 http://www.bigbadtoystore.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers collectible toys through internet sales only.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BigBadToyStore meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BigBadToyStore include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

39 Customer Reviews on BigBadToyStore
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 33
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 39

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 26, 2007 Business started: 11/02/2000 in WI Business started locally: 11/02/2000
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Joel Boblit, President Mr. Dan Boblit, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joel Boblit, President
Business Category

Toys - Retail Internet Shopping Collectibles Dolls - Collectors Dolls - Retail Toy and Hobby Goods and Supplies Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423920)

Alternate Business Names
BBTS

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

BigBadToyStore has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an Item (MP-17 Masterpiece Prowl with the collector coin and silver tipped cannon) at the end of July 1013. I used the "Pile of loot" feature that they have in case I made other orders it would reduce the shipping. On February 21 2015, I received a notice that the items that I ordered were going to be shipped, and that the MP-17 that I ordered did not have the extra accessories that I had purchased, and that they could only refund the difference in price back to the credit card. That particular card was canceled since the purchase, and they were aware of that, so I have not gotten my money back, or had the option to cancel that item because it was shipped on Feb. 22 2015, with no help from customer service. The item that is currently in being shipped is not the item that I ordered. I was offered $5 in store credit, but at this point I am out the $8 that it doesn't look like I am going to get back, and a $80 item that I never ordered.

Desired Settlement: The item was purchased 6 months ago, and using a feature that they provide has caused the issue. I would like BBTS to provide the product that I purchased, and a return label to return the item they sent that I did not order. If the product can not be provided, then I would like either a return label for that merchandise or a satisfactory discount for keeping merchandise I did not order, and a return of the excess price difference between items.

Business Response: This matter is being resolved via our Customer Service department and a positive resolution will be provided as always.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

**** *******

 

 

 

12/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid a preorder in march and was billed and paid with debit. but never have receieved any product.

Desired Settlement: To get my money back

Business Response: Unless otherwise noted, or a down payment is required, we offer a preordering system that allows our customers to place a preorder and not actually be charged until the physical merchandise is available. The customer was charged for the items ordered back on November 26, 2014 and also had the Pile of Loot option enabled within their account. The Pile of Loot option allows you to hold items and ship multiple orders at one time to save on shipping. Due to the customer not releasing their order to ship, the merchandise remained in their order awaiting shipment. At this time the order has since been canceled and a full refund was granted on December 29, 2014. Please be sure to review our FAQ's as well as Terms & Conditions for a better understanding when ordering from our website, so that these situations do not arise in the future. We are always more than happy to assist our customers through our Customer Service department, as this was not a necessary complaint to file through the BBB.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ****

 

 

 

9/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/16/14 ordered the following item: Order Number: 9323507 Shipping Method: UPS Ground Ship to: ****** ******** *** ********* **** ****** ** ***** ****** ****** HAS23142 2013 Star Wars 6" Black - Boba Fett & Han Solo Carbonite 1 $79.99 Received the item damaged on 8/21 and not matching description on website and submitted pictures to customer service dept for review and requesting an exchange or credit at time for showed at time still available. Received following reply fr **** in customer service depicting as a system error of misinterpreting selling condition and at this time the other item was sold out. ***** replied Aug 22 8:46am Hello ******, Thank you for contacting us! I certainly apologize that the packaging condition for some of the items you received in your order did not meet your expectations and we appreciate the information. After reviewing your order, I noticed that the product(s) in reference was ordered as Sub-Standard grade. I have enclosed the terms below for a Sub-Standard Grade item: --The item is new, in mint condition, and includes all packaging. --Packaging condition is estimated 60% (C6) --The packaging may have dents, tears, price tags, creases or other flaws and imperfections. --Sub-Standard Grade items are perfect for opening as the item itself is mint. In regards to package grade options, I have added some additional feedback as well. When a shipment arrives we do not always receive all perfect quality packaging due to delivery mishandling and so on but we make sure to list those items affected using the appropriate option. The majority of our items received are Standard Grade. When a popular product is released and is nearly sold out, we only provide Sub-Standard Grade as an option since those are the last remaining product sales available after the rest of our stock has been claimed and purchased. When an item is published for preorder we reserve a certain quantity for Sub-Standard grade. After so many orders or preorders are processed, only Subs become available to order. Due to the popularity and high demand for certain figures there are times when our customers will order whatever is available just to have them. It is essentially like when you walk into a retail store and see some items with more shelf wear than others, which means they also received items in such condition, yet are all sold for the same price. I hope this information has been helpful and provides a better understanding of what to monitor when placing an order. I am sure that this figure will be an excellent additional to your collection and hopefully the box condition will not deter you from enjoying this wonderful piece. In the event you would prefer to return the item(s) instead, you are welcome to do so within 30 days of receiving your order. Please let me know if you have any further questions or concerns and I will be happy to address them for you. Thank you again for your understanding and enjoy the rest of your day! I replied on 8/22 with the following: *****, I did check when I ordered, yesterday while another was still available, and still lists as standard condition, not sub-standard. I have also included a screen shot I saved for proof. For the miscommunication and misinterpretation I am requesting a partial refund at least since you are now sold out and I do collect sealed items. Pleas let me know if you can accommodate this customer request who has ordered from BBTS for over 5 yrs and a repeat customer. After I will score your survey accordingly. Kind regards, ****** Again on 8/22 **** replied the following ref: a system error which one could conclude as false advertisement of item listed for sell. ***** replied Aug 22 1:01pm Hello ******, Thank you for your additional feedback. Please note that your order would state a Standard grade if it was available at the time of purchase. As you can see within your order however a Sub-Standard grade item was ordered because we were almost sold out. After we sell out, our website listing(s) automatically default back to showing Standard grade. I am not exactly sure why, but I do know that it has always been like that for every listing that does sell out. Again, I do apologize and you are more than welcome to return the figure for a refund but we unfortunately are not able to discount this item any further. If you have any additional questions or concerns please let me know and I will be happy to assist you again. Please assist with inquiry or investigation for this is very misleading and poor customer service for a repeat customer who has been with them since they established in 2007. Thank you ****** ********

Desired Settlement: A partial refund or even exchange of an item in the standard issue of when I purchased as advertised on website at time of order and sell through. I initially would have been content with a store credit but now am unsure.

Business Response: Thank you for the information. Upon reviewing your order, it states that we shipped the merchandise ordered which was in Sub-Standard grade packaging. This will reflect both in your order history online as well as on your paper invoice. If you would like to return the figure for a refund please contact Customer Service and they will be happy to assist you with that process. We have sold out of this product and no longer have any available figures to exchange, but a refund can be provided upon request. Once again if you review your order history, we shipped the correct item per our packaging guidelines. If a Standard grade figure was ordered you would have a 1 in the column under 'Standard', instead of under 'Sub'. We apologize for this inconvenience and please consider the information provided before contacting the BBB as we shipped you the correct merchandise. Our Customer Service department can be reached via email (service@bigbadtoystore.com or phone ###-###-####. Thank you again for ordering from BBTS.

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Primary Nature of my Complaint is a combination of an advertisement of misrepresenting a product, Customer Service failed to provide assistance and the company failed to honor their policy regarding refund, exchange or credit. I purchased the following from Big Bad Toys [BBTS], item number ******** - Real Masterpiece 1/6 Michael Jordan - Series 02 - #23 Road Edition - Black Jersey; order number *******. This particular purchase was supposed to be a Father’s Day gift for my husband who is a major collector. I also purchased item number ENB10069 - 1/6 Scale Basketball Hoop with Shot Clock. The order date was placed on 5/7/2014. 5/12/2014 UPS delivered the box [tracking #******************]. On 5/15/2014, when I returned from travel, I opened the box and completed a thorough inspection. Upon my inspection I noticed the following pertaining to Real Masterpiece 1/6 Michael Jordan - Series 02 - #23 Road Edition - Black Jersey; order number *******: The plastic that covers the action figure box contains a long thin opening hole and another small hole. The action figure box appears to have scratches and doesn’t have that crisp tight status you would normally have when you open a brand new box. The action figure doesn't have ‘any’ protection plastic around the action figure itself. And lastly, the plastic covering over the accessories, only covers the items partially and this partial plastic covering is crumbled in appearance and looks as though it has been tampered with. These are all red flags for a collector, especially since it was supposed to have been a brand new item. I notified BBTS the same evening of the inspection on 5/15/2014. On 5/16/2014, I am extremely disappointed with the negative customer service and lack of concern to honor my exchange request. Instead I received email correspondents ignoring my dissatisfaction and request for pictures. And ultimately no response to the request for a return/exchange label. Given the amount business transactions that transpired between me and BBTS thus far [in the amount of $1,605.91 {excluding the order mentioned above in the amount of $526.97}]; I am appalled with the poor Customer Service I experienced today. Initially I requested an exchange, but due to the bad Customer Service received, I would like a full refund for item number ********, in the amount of $299.99.

Desired Settlement: Full refund for item number ********, in the amount of $299.99. I would like this amount to be placed as a credit on my credit card, the same method of the payment transaction.

Business Response: We apologize that the service provided was not not acceptable and a pre-paid return shipping label has since been provided to this customer. Reference photos are always requested when available so that we can see things from the customer's perspective due to the numerous products we offer. The figure and packaging was guaranteed to be new and case fresh, so in the future it may be best to not order these figures for your collection as they are quite consistent. Please let us know if there is any further information you need. Please also note that we are closed for business on the weekend and therefore response time may be delayed. Thank you.

10/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sent business a bank made/signed money order now business states that there is a 7-10 processing. These bank money orders are the same as cash but better,they need no processing or clearing. This is an insult & waste of my time. Business also sent me email confirming total amount including shipping cost by UPS AIR. Now after the money order is sent & received they want to ship by USPS AIR MAIL sending my an outrageous incompetence suggestion of UPS. I have used UPS many times in the past for USA ordering & this business statements of UPS are false. Something not right with this business professionalism or knowledge.

Desired Settlement: Return my money order or full amount of $775.18usd

Business Response: Unfortunately the customer did not recognize nor believe that a money order must be processed and soon filed complaint prior to having order processed.  The money order was shipped back to customer as requested, at no charge to them, and their order has been canceled as requested.

Business Response: After reviewing the tracking information the money order that was returned to the customer via UPS is scheduled for delivery on Thursday October 17, 2013.  The customer has never shipped an order from our company and therefore they were informed of the import duties and tax information that is involved when claiming an imported package through customs with a high value.  The customer decided to cancel their pre-order numerous times as well as file a chargeback with their card company, which is why we required a money order.  At this time we have canceled the pre-order as request by the customer and returned the money order to the customer accordingly.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

First off i am the one that lost nearly $100.00 with this money order. When ****** sent me the e-mail requesting the money order she clearly stated the full amount which included the UPS shipping charges,she mentioned nothing about any UPS problems. And the fact is ****** in that e-mail states the super high costs of UPS & if no one claims the parcel from customs it is left there & i lose everything. THIS IS COMPLETELY FALSE. A BROKER FEE IS PAID TO UPS TO HAVE PACKAGE CLEARED AT CUSTOMS & WE PAY THE PROVINCIAL TAXES AT THE DOOR UPON DELIVERY. I USE UPS ALL THE TIME. THERE IS NO USE TO ARGUE WITH LIARS (I HAVE THEIR E-MAILS). ONLY WHEN I ADVISED OF MY BBB COMPLAINT DID THE COMPANY REACT. ALSO A BANK MONEY ORDER DOES NEED TO CLEAR BUT NOT UP TO 10 BUSINESS DAYS.   I AM HAPPY I DO NOT HAVE TO DEAL WITH A CROOKED COMPANY LIKE THIS ONE.  

Regards,

******** ******

3/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 22, 2013, I e-mailed Big Bad Toy Store's customer service ("BBTS") requesting a (cash) refund of my in-store credit of $12.89. Since that time, I have written 2 e-mails stating my case and requesting a refund with 2 subsequent refusals. My case for a refund is summarized below: 1. In 2008, I ordered and paid for a product that was subsequently cancelled by the manufacturer, a circumstance out of my control. Although my preference was for a full cash refund, which I had communicated to them, I was still given an in-store credit (for $46.17, the total for my entire order). I did not fight the issue at the time and tried to find another item of interest. 2. It wasn't until October 22, 2009 that I found an acceptable item and placed an order. My balance after this order was $12.89. I had to wait over EIGHT months for my product to arrive with poor communication from the company about details of the delay (apparently manufacturer related). Although I considered it, I did not cancel this item since I did not want to deal with yet another cancellation/credit accrual situation with them. I eventually received the product in 2010, but was turned off by the experience and was not eager to find something else to purchase from them. 3. Since that negative experience, I have tried to be cooperative and find another item of interest to spend my remaining credit, but BBTS no longer carries the specific items that I'm interested in. I thought it was finally time to request that my money be refunded and my account closed for good. However, BBTS claimed in their e-mail dated February 22nd that they are "unable to give credit to a credit card after 6 months, our system will not allow it..." I said that I'd be open to a check or other form or reimbursement, but that this was my money, and I had been more than patient in trying to find an item using their credit system (credit that I never wanted in the first place!). On February 25, they replied that "...our processing company will not authorize any refund transaction(s) that have exceeded a six month period...," and again refused to reimburse my money. Although it's been a couple years, it should be noted that this time course is well within the norm for how this business operates, as evidenced by my prolonged wait times with the orders described above and my ongoing account with them (the credit doesn't expire). I have tried to be patient and reasonable every step of the way. They gave me every answer in the book a couple years ago for how they operate, and I didn't push them on it by taking it to the next level. Now they're giving me some more excuses about the same issue, stating that their system is "not letting them." They expect customers to wait inordinate amounts of time for products with poor and inconsistent information, and when it comes time to do the right thing, they can't find ANY way to refund my $12.89? The fact is they're not interested. Ever since the original transaction, BBTS has made it more than clear that once they have your money, there is nothing you can do to get it back. It is well past time to take things to the next level by filing this complaint. It may only be a relatively small amount of money, but it was money originally intended for an item that I never received, and I'm tired of playing this game with them. I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: I desire a refund for my balance of $12.89. I am open to ANY payment method (check, ******, wire transfer, a credit back to my **** account, etc.). However, the net amount to me must equal $12.89.

Business Response: When an item is cancelled from an order that was paid for, our system will automatically generate a store credit refund to the customer account.  This process accommodates our customers so that they can instantly use that credit for another order, or perhaps await a preorder.  Preorder item(s) release dates are estimated times of arrival only, and are are strictly released at the discretion of the manufacturer, we are not able to determine when those item(s) will be released.  The time frame for an item to be released by a manufacturer does not in any way indicate or reflect how our business practices operate.  By issuing a store credit refund, there is also no wait period for a credit card transaction and cancellations can be done at any time of day or night.  If a customer does request that they would prefer an original payment method refund in place of the store credit, we will always accommodate that request, as long as it is requested within an appropriate time frame.  Please note that we did not receive a request for this refund until 2013, rather than in 2008 when the order was originally cancelled.  We have bypassed this policy so that this customer will be sent a refund in check form due to the fact that a card processing company will not issue a transaction beyond 180 days.  We are currently awaiting a current mailing address for the customer.

1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a set of ****** ***** ************ I paid 23.99 for rush delivery in which it didnt arrive within their time frame that was given to me I didnt complain about this. However when one of these ************ broke within three weeks of receiving I called Big Bad Toy Store to ask to exchange the broken **********r I was informed that they had the item in stock and could order this item again at my expense I was told that an exchange was not possible I feel that a 59.99 toy should not break within three weeks when the item is taking care of

Desired Settlement: I was willing to pay shipping before speaking with an employee However since I was told I could I purchase another But there would be no exchange they can now pay for it