BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

This Business is not BBB accredited

PHB Title

Phone: (414) 973-1835 Fax: (414) 755-7070 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://phbtitle.com/ ! There is an alert on PHB Title !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for PHB Title include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Failure to have a required competency license.
  • 10 complaints filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PHB Title
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 07, 2012 Business started: 08/20/2012 in WI Business started locally: 08/20/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
345 W. Washington Ave. 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 266-1064
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us
On 8/21/2012 BBB confirmed that PHB Title had not obtained a necessary license from Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions.

On 8/21/2012 BBB confirmed that PHB Title had not obtained a necessary license from Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Alan Carter
Business Category

Timeshare Deed and/or Title Transfer Title Companies & Agents Escrow Service Timeshare Advocates

Additional Information

This company is not located at 2151 N. Martin Luther King Dr., Milwaukee WI as stated on its website.  Through research, the BBB is unable to verify any address in the state of Wisconsin for this company.  In addition, the company is not licensed nor registered with the Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions.

Consumers report that "PHB Title" requests an upfront fee paid via wire transfer.  The BBB recommends not wire transfering money to any unknown parties.   If you’ve wired money to an unknown company or individual, call the money transfer company immediately to report the fraud and file a complaint. You can reach the complaint department of MoneyGram at 1-800-MONEYGRAM (1-800-666-3947) or Western Union at 1-800-448-1492. Ask for the money transfer to be reversed. It’s unlikely to happen, but it’s important to ask. Then, file a complaint with the FTC: Visit ftc.gov or call toll-free, 1-877-FTC-HELP (1-877-382-4357); TTY: 1-866-653-4261. http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/alerts/alt034.shtm and econsumer.gov:  www.econsumer.gov.  Econsumer.gov is a portal for you as a consumer to report complaints about online and related transactions with foreign companies. 

Industry Tips
International Scams Play it Safe on the Internet Reselling Your Timeshare Vishing is the New Phishing
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 978-8599(Phone)
X

The company, PHB Title, claims to be located at 2151 N. Martin Luther King Drive in Milwaukee, according to its website. However, there is no company with that name at that address. Consumers report that PHB Title calls them claiming to be the title company for the sale of their property. It offers the timeshare owner up to double what they originally paid for their timeshare, and requests payment of roughly $1,400 be sent via wire transfer to cover “transfer fees.” Consumers also report that some of the callers from PHB Title have foreign accents. The Wisconsin BBB opened its file on August 7, 2012 and is receiving numerous inquiries every day from consumers across the country. PHB Title has not responded to the BBB’s requests for standard business information.


Complaint Detail(s)

11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Originally contacted by ******** ********** ** to purchase my timeshare. Sent paperwork to PHB Title and we were to receive $20000 for our timeshare. Once we signed paperwork to sell, we were then told we needed to wire transfer $1780 to process. It would be refunded at time of the purchase, so we would get it back. I told them to deduct it from the purchase price. They said they couldn't. They had a reference call me and assure it wasn't a scam, that they went through the process and they received their money. I believed her and I wire transferred the money July 27/12. We were to receive our money Aug. 30. I didn't hear from anyone until 3 days before the closing of Aug. 30 and was told we needed to pay an additonal $2100. for closing costs. I was quite upset , said no, take it from the purchase. You have misrepresented yourself by asking for more money. Until we paid, the sale wouldn't go through. I then told them to refund my $1780. They sent me a refund form. I faxed it Sept. 5 and have heard nothing since. I have sent numerous e-mails, phone calls, now the e-mails are being returned to me undeliverable and the phone numbers can not be connected. I tried to contact ******** ********** as well, and that number and e-mail are no longer working either.

Desired Settlement: I want the wire transfer money of $1780.00 returned back to me.

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were contacted re the sale of our timeshares. We checked out the companies websites, both PHB Title Company and ** ******** ********** in ********** ******* and the BBB website and found nothing unusual. We were told the sale would be finalized on August 31st and the monies from the sale forwarded to us. We have a lot of paper work that was sent to us. When the money was forwarded we were told we would have to have our deeds notarized and delivered to PHB Title Co. We were also told that we had to pay $4760 prior to closing to complete the deal and that this was how things were done in the USA. Needless to say the deal was not completed on Aug. 31 and we have been unable to contact anyone in regard to the sale or our money. Everything we received online and all the telephone calls seemed legitimate. We are feeling very foolish that we got involved in this but checked anywhere we could before proceeding.

Desired Settlement: The return of our money and the shutdown and prosecution of those involved.

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been trying to reach PHB TITLE on numerous occassions .and we are having trouble contacting them with the phone number provided. they owe us a refund of $2,150.00 as it was stated we would get this back if we changed our minds. we have a written contract with them stating this fact . i want others to be aware of there practices and we believe it is a scam

Desired Settlement: $2,150.00

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 17 2012, ******** **** representing PHB TITLE sent me a CONTRACT to sell 2 of my timeshares to a corperate buyer ******** ********** ** AT **** *** *** ***** ********** ******* ***** have on file. The Contracts numbers are **** *** for $44,900.00 a 10% processing fee was $4,490.00 and **** *** for $76,900.00 a processing fee was $7,690.00 plus 1500.00 closing cost fee paid TO PHB TITLE to hold in a escrow account. Both timeshares prices was agreed upon by the buyer and deposits were wired as instructed through the PHB title company. A date of deposits to my bank account were set with **** and PHB title company to be paid out on 09/10/2012. Since the date has passed, I was unable to make contact with the ******** ********** ** and PHB Title through EMAIL and Phone calls. There has be no personals to answer the phones, and or Fax will not go through. I have $13,680.00 dollors invested into this contract agreements. My wife and I believe that we have been scammed/FRAUD out of money. **** phone # are ###-###-#### or ###-###-#### address: **** **** *** *** ***** ********** Alabama *****. web: *************************** email: **********************************

Desired Settlement: Wife and I would like to have full refund of money that was unlawfully taken from us base on good faith and written contract.

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

11/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Funds paid to PHB for escrow closing Aug. 28 2012 on property. Aug. 30th 2012 no receptionist to anwer phones just message mach. left multipal messages. Next day just recording that said could not complete call at this time. and now contact with all phone numbers given including fax line , no longer available .Web site still up showing my acct. stats. ( ********************************** ) Acct.#********* password ****** **** *. ****** ****** **** **. in Milwakee business address seems to be not of this world

Desired Settlement: or if there is a company, just finish the job !

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** ********** ** (**********, *******) contacted me about selling my timeshare. They informed me that they had a buyer and told me to work with PHB Title Company to complete the sale. PHB told me that I had to pay $3300 in processing fees but that it would be reimbursed upon final sale. I wired $3300 to the account PHB gave me. PHB called me back and said they needed another $2400. The woman, ******** ****, was crying and told me that her boss was mad at her because she didn't get the right amount of money from me and they needed another $2400. I did not send any more money. I never heard from PHB again. I have tried to call repeatedly and no one answers or takes my calls and often the phone number doesn't even work. We were supposed to close 2 weeks ago and they have never contacted me again. It is obviously a scam.

Desired Settlement: I want my $3300 back plus $400 in attorneys fees and $100 for gas, copies I made, faxes, and postage all made in connection with this transaction. $3800 total.

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe that i'am a victim of a timeshare scam, with I make 2 wire transfer total amount of $5,140.00 altogether..I was told by ******** ****,, PHB ***** ****** *******, to pay this Processing Fee and Closing Costs...enable for me to sell my timeshare before settlement date on 08/31/2012..I have make 2 wire transfer to the name of: ********* **.... Bank: ***** ********* *** ****,S.A. Account #. ***-***-***-***-***-***..Swift code: ********.... ABA#. ***-******..I have call them so many , but nobody answer the phone and leave massage with no rely...I only found out today that BBB. Have put out an alter on PHB TITLE possible timeshare scam...please me I don't what to do now..Will I ever get my money back?.

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was solicited and agreed to sell two ****, ** timeshares to a ******* buyer through PHB Title Company of Milwaukee, WI and ******** ********** ** of **********, AL with closing on 8/31/12. I have provided them copies of ownership documents for the property, as well as $4830 by wire transfer, which I was to receive back in addition to the property sale funds. Turns out the whole matter was a hoax. I have reported this to the ***, the ******** ******** *******, and the ****** ******** **************.

Desired Settlement: Return of the $4830 sent by wire transfers plus $110 fees expended and public disclosure of their business practices.

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I saw your alert about PHB Title Company and I too have been contacted by them regarding the buying of my timeshare at about double what I paid. They claim to be handling the escrow process for a company called ** ******** **********. The sent me an "Agreement" to buy my timeshare. I have e-mails from them as well as some names of their representatives. I was contacted by a person claiming to be from ** ********** ******* (******* ***** ###-###-####) and a person claiming to be a representative of PHB Tltle (**** ******** ###-###-####). As your alert indicates, PHB Title uses the address **** * **. ****** ****** **** **., *********, WI *****. If you would like copies of any of the documents I would be glad to send them to you.

Desired Settlement: Please confirm is this is a scam.

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

11/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were contacted by phone with an inquiry as to whether or not we owned a time share. After confirming that we do the caller, ****** *******, informed me that he has buyers waiting to purchase timeshares for their use. He told me there are no upfront selling fees after I informed him that I am not putting out any money to sell as we have been duped before on such sales. He then spoke with "the title company" and they said they could sell the property for 22500.00. However, we would have to pay the closing costs of 2500 but this would be a refundable sum. We would have to pay 1500 to the property management company for handling the sale. They would put a total of 24500.00 into an account in our name which whould cover the selling fees, giving us the entire sale amount of 22500.00. He is now telling us we will have to put up another 3000.00 dueto a "hiden clause" in the contract. We are now seeing this as a means of duping money from innocent consumers; a scam. We wish to alert others of this business and its' unlawful pratice. We spoke with **** ****** at ******** ********** and he said he will send us forms to ccomplete to have the money (2500) refunded. ****** ******* says we would have to pay the ********** ******* anyway. **** ****** made no such statement. We just want our 2500.00 back.

Desired Settlement: We wish to have $2,500.00 replaced into our checking account.

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.