Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers selection of ramps, loading and transport products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Discount Ramps.com, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Discount Ramps.com, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

12 Customer Reviews on Discount Ramps.com, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 12

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 28, 2004 Business started: 01/15/1998 in WI Business started locally: 01/15/1998 Business incorporated 03/19/2001 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Robert Krolski, President Ms. Aimee J. Lederhause, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Matt Herbert, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Robert Krolski, President
Business Category

Sporting Goods - Retail Wheel Chair Lifts & Ramps Motorcycles - Repairing & Service Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Wholesale Trade Agents and Brokers (NAICS: 425120)

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Master Card, Discover, American Express, and Paypal.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Please visit our website www.discountramps.com for our full return policy.
Alternate Business Names
Discount Ramps

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Discount Ramps.com, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 760 S Indiana Ave

    West Bend, WI 53095 (262) 338-3431 (262) 353-7901 (888) 651-3431

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a mobility carrier for my car. I am disabled and need a wheelchair to get around The carrier worked fine for my manual wheelchair which is only 36 pounds. I had to get a power wheelchair that is 285 pounds. The carrier I purchased is rated for 400 pounds. I had a certified mechanic put the carrier on my wheelchair. I started using the power chair in July. I noticed recently that when I went over a speed bump or a sloped driveway that the right side of the carrier scrapped on the ground. I have also noticed some rust on the pins you have to pull to let the ramp down. This makes is very difficult to do. I had the mechanic who put the chair on try to straighten it out. He was able to do so but the carrier is still uneven. I also had the car at the Honda dealership (for a recall) and he said the carrier was noticeably uneven.

Desired Settlement: As a disabled person I have to depend on my wheelchairs, especially the power chair, for independence, mobility and quality of life. I can use the carrier to transport the manual chair but I cannot propel myself up ramps or inclines. This means I cannot do the things I need to do and want to do. The woman I spoke to from the company, Judy, placed me on hold quite a bit and told me I could only get a replacement or store credit. I would have to pack the carrier up and send it back. I would also be charged a 15% re-stocking fee. This is not acceptable. I need my money back

Business Response: We are very sorry for the problems the customer is having with the carrier. We have attempted to verify all of the information the customer, but have been unable to get the model number of the chair from the customer. We also asked about the possibility of receiving pictures. With pictures we might be able to help troubleshoot the problem or ship a new carrier under warranty. Unfortunately, the customer is unable to send any more information. Without any more information, we have to have the carrier returned to process any warranties or store credits. The customer purchased this item in February and we have a 30 day return policy for all items, if the customer would like a refund. Past the 30 days, we offer the customer a warranty replacement or in store credit if needed. 

7/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a trailer dolly via *********** for a 3400 pound trailer with 340 tongue weight. According to this product it is rated for "3,500 lb GTW or 600 lb Tongue". Within the first few minutes of using the dolly one of the axles bent. I called Discount Ramps customer service and they tried to say it was my fault. Once I explained my trailer rating and what the dolly was supposed to handle, that shut them up. I asked to have the shipping fee waived, since the trailer dolly did not perform as it should have. I was sent a prepaid return label. However after Discount Ramps got their product back they refunded my money minus the shipping. I then posted negative feedback about the dolly on the *********** website and discountramps.com website. Within three days my negative feedback appeared on Walmart's website. It has been over two weeks and the negative feedback has not appeared on the discountramps.com website. It appears that they only post positive feedback about their products which does not let the consumer see the whole picture. ************************************************************************************************************************ **********************************************************

Desired Settlement: 1) Refund the shipping cost. 2) Allow and post the negative feedback about their product on their website so other potential customers can read all reviews about the product(s)

Business Response: We are very sorry the customer had an issue with his order. We would be happy to refund the shipping amount of $12.66 to help come to an agreement that works for both parties. Unfortunately, we cannot post his review since it included the line, "That shut them up." We feel as though that type of language is not appropriate to have in a review posted on our site. A refund for $12.66 will post back to his original form of payment through Walmart in the next 5-7 business days. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance in this matter. 

Matt H******
***** *** ******* *******
Discount Ramps

12/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Greetings, I had to return a ramp that was not safe for a relative to use due to his disability. The ramp itself seemed just fine. Initially I was charged paid 189.99. I researched this ramp carefully before buying-due to the far away location of their facility; the ramp's weight; and height of 6'; I thought this would work out for him perfectly and make his mobility going over a 12" lift easier. I did read their return policy at that time and it said that if I had to return it, I would be charged for the RETURN shipping, not all shipping. Unfortunately it just did not work out for him so I proceeded to return it. Michelle (a very nice and personable and pleasant customer service person there) and I agreed to a return shipping amount of @36.09 and she gave me a return number. There was no mention of any other shipping costs to be deducted from my refund. Fast forward ....to yesterday....I received via e-mail an accounting of my refund amount and was surprised to learn that they deducted @73.00 from the amount. I called them up and Debra in accounting said that was for TWO shipping fees-the outbound and the return. At least that got clarified because they do not detail the two transactions in their accounting-just a one line amount deducting the 73. This was the first time learning that I was being charged for all the shipping. Their advertising is NOT clear about this, or else I would have known upon buying. In their ad's it says in larger red print: "FREE SHIPPING!" There is no asterisk anywhere to explain that it is NOT free outbound shipping if you return the item. Plus it reads confusingly under their Shipping Policy: (quoted below) "Shipping Costs Continental 48 United States Posted shipping rates on our website product pages, including “free shipping” offers, only apply to standard ground shipping in the Continental 48 United States. Expedited shipping prices for these locations are calculated and totaled during the checkout process. Please note that "free shipping" offers on items have the actual cost of shipping built into the price." So, if is true, and "free shipping" offers on items have the actual cost of shipping built into the price." Then they are trying to charge me twice. Once with the outbound shipping built into the 189.99 and now again deducting that surprise amount in my final billing statement. Thank you for your time and any help in this matter, I really appreciate it.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the outgoing "free shipping".

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:


The refund issued on this order is in accordance with our refund policy as it is listed on our website. Our website states, on the Return Policy Page, " What if I need to return my purchase?” You may return new items sold by DiscountRamps.com within 30 days of purchase for a refund, excluding any shipping costs incurred. No returns will be accepted after 30 days of the receipt date of the item(s). If the item you purchased had free shipping, the actual shipping cost will be deducted from your refund." The outgoing shipping of $34.12 that was deducted was the amount we incurred for shipping the item to the customer. As our policy states, that amount was deducted when the refund was processed. This was conveyed to the customer when the RA was requested. As a courtesy, we would like to offer to split the cost of outgoing shipping and process a refund of $17.06. If this is acceptable to the customer, a refund will be issued in 3-5 business days. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.

DiscountRamps.com

Consumer Response: I accept the business's response to resolve this complaint but the part "This was conveyed to the customer when the RA was requested" is simply not true.

8/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went on line and ordered a ramp so that there will be wheelchair accessibility near my front door of my home. I purchased the item online by viewing photos to know which product I needed / wanted. When I received the product, it was nothing compared to what was shown on line. I then contacted Discount Ramps, ******** *, and advised of the issues. ******** states that I can return the item but they will deduct $14.63 for shipping from a $29.99 product. In the invoice that I paid on line, there was no shipping fee. ******** stated that I would have to bare the cost in returning the item, which is fine, but also bare the cost of their shipping fee. The shipping fee for Discount Ramps on my invoice was $0.00.

Desired Settlement: I am wanting a full refund when i return this item. I am already paying to return it when most companies offer shipping labels to return items that are not correct. ******** would not do that. I am simply asking for my full $29.99 especially if I am baring the cost to return an item that was not correct from the beginning. I have emails and photos regarding our transaction and conversation

Business Response: We have reached out to the customer regarding this order and offered to waive the outbound shipping cost as a courtesy. Based on the information we received, the ramp does in fact appear to be what the customer ordered through the website. If an item has free shipping listed on our site, it is stated that actual shipping costs will be deducted from the refund. In an attempt to reach an agreement with the customer, we did offer to refund $29.99 upon receipt of the product in new, unused condition. Please feel free to contact us should there be any more concerns with this transaction.

12/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 4" x 30' TOW RECOVERY ***** STRAP-15000 LB-TRUCK TOWING ROPE (STRAP-REC-30) thru e-bay on 11/23/2013. I paid for the product right after purchasing it, using a PayPal transaction. I received an e-mail stating that the product had been shipped on 11/25 via UPS, tracking number ******************. According to the tracking information, the product was left at our front door on 11/27. However we do not have the product. Due to the holiday and weather issues in our area, I waited until 12/08 before checking the tracking information. When the tracking info indicated the package delivery information, I immediately contacted Discountramps.com about non-delivery. They responded with the following message: "I am not sure what we are supposed to do. We shipped the address provided by ebay and it has been delivered. I'd check with other members of your household. We can not refund, since ebay can see we shipped to that address and it's delivered . We won't ship again without another payment. We can't start a trace with UPS weeks after delivery. "

Desired Settlement: Normally I would ask to have another product shipped to me, however, I cannot wait any longer for Discountramps to do something. I will need to have a cash refund.

Business Response: Hello *******,

I apologize for the response that our customer, ***** ***** received in regards to an issue with her order.  This is not how we do business and the representative that provided this information is incorrect.

In all fairness to our company, this item is showing as being delivered to our customer on Wednesday 11/27 via UPS ground.  The customer first contacted us over this past weekend 12/8 when we are closed.  She filed a case against us in Paypal as well as with the BBB on 12/9 before allowing us to take care of the problem.

As you can see below a UPS tracer was started yesterday for the missing package.  This is something that must be completed prior to either a replacement or a refund being processed.  Per UPS this could take up to 8 business days to be done:

11/25/2013
Package
3.90 lbs

Shipment Progress

Location Date Local Time Activity
Sioux Falls, SD, United States 12/10/2013 2:56 P.M. Tracer request. / Lost package tracer.
Sioux Falls, SD, United States 11/27/2013 10:00 A.M. Delivered

11/27/2013 4:25 A.M. Out For Delivery

11/27/2013 12:46 A.M. Arrival Scan
Omaha, NE, United States 11/26/2013 9:46 P.M. Departure Scan

11/26/2013 1:27 P.M. Arrival Scan
Hodgkins, IL, United States 11/26/2013 4:56 A.M. Departure Scan

11/26/2013 2:00 A.M. Arrival Scan
Oak Creek, WI, United States 11/26/2013 12:16 A.M. Departure Scan
Oak Creek, WI, United States 11/25/2013 5:07 P.M. Origin Scan
United States 11/25/2013 5:38 P.M. Order Processed: Ready for UPS

As soon as the tracer is completed and UPS confirms that the item has not been delivered to the customer we will issue a full refund to the customer.

If there are any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
***** ****** ************ * ****** ************************
 

9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ramp on ebay that was described as "This item may be scratched, dinged, and dented, or may have cosmetic imperfections such as paint chipping and scuff marks. Each customer return is thoroughly inspected for safety and product completeness. We are confident this product is in full working order and contains all necessary components for safe use and operation". The weight limit was 600lbs. When loading the bike I have that is 454lbs, the loading ramps collapsed causing damaged to my bike in the amount of $450 and my knee getting hurt. I contacted discount ramps and was only offered a upgraded ramp for the unit which should have been sent in the first place. They refused to pay for the damages and said to contact the manufacturer. I had already contacted them and they wanted no part in this because it had been sold as used. I watched the video they had listed and had loaded the bike perfectly. The loading ramp was not safe for operation.

Desired Settlement: I would like $100 to replace the loading ramp with a more secure ramp and $450 for the replacement of my pats damaged. Hopefully I have only twisted my knee and it heals.

Business Response: Our customer ***** ********* contacted us 8/16/13 statlng that there was an issue with the carrier that
he purchased from us and that the ramp failed. He immediately filed a complaint/comment to the BBB
before giving us a chance to correct the problem.
The ramp failure has nothtng to do with the item being sold as used. Any used item that is returned to
our location is inspected before it is re-shipped. The customer supplied our ***** ******* *** *******
with the parts of the motorcycle that were damaged and research was done as to the cost to replace
these parts, which was $419.88. The customer did not supply us with an estimate as he was going to
replace the parts himself and was not going to take it to a shop for repair
We received the approval from the manufacturer of this carrier and ramp to refund the customer. The
total damage for the motorcycle was $419.88 and this check was mailed to the
customer on 8/26/13.
Per the customer he will be keeping the carrier as is and did not want us to send him a replacement
ramp.
Please see all attached documentation for this complaint.
Thank you,
***** ******
************************
###-###-#### - ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

 I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I filed the complaint minutes after I was told they weren't going to pay the damages by the president of the company. You should tell the truth. Thanks for making it right!

Regards,

 

***** *********

 

 

 

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The swing away was not working properly and Discount Ramps refused to honor there return policy.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund and an apology from ***** **

Business Response: To whom it may concern:
Customer - *** ****/**** **** placed an order with us on 7/11/13 for 4 items, one being item #SCSwing-
Away. The SC-Swing-Away is designed to be used with our carriers SC400-V2 and SCSOO-V3 only.
This is shown on our website for both the carriers as well as for the Swing-Away option only - see
attached pages from our website.
The customer called us on Thursday 8/8/13 stating that he needed to return the SC-Swing-Away stating
that he didn't need the item and wanted to return it. He was given our return information as we
normally would and once the customer found out that he would be responsible for the shipping charges
on this item he let the customer service rep know that the item was defective and bent when he had
their 301b. manual wheelchair on it and he didn't feel that he should have to pay the shipping charges.
In our normal process for warranty type issues we needed to verify what carrier he had the swing away
attached to. The customer first told the customer service rep that he purchased the SV4000 and he was
told that was not one of our items he then changed it to the SC400. This carrier and swing away option
will hold up to 400 lbs. in the closed position and Is made ·of steel. When the swing away is in the
opened position. it must be empty without a wheelchair or anything on it.
The call was then escalated to me and I spoke with **** ****. I checked in our system and could not
locate an order for either the SC400-V2 or the SCSOO-V3 carriers under his or his wife's name. He called
me a liar and insisted that he purchase one of these carriers from us through ******. I asked several
times for the ****** order number as I can look that up in our system. He said that I was going to feel
pretty stupid for questioning him and that we were Just trying to get out of covering this item under
warranty. He kept insisting that it made no difference what carrier he attached the swing away option
to. It absolutelv does make a difference .. we cannot verify the weight or material used for another
manufacturer's carrier. That is why our website states that the swing away Is only to be used with our
carriers SC400-V2 and SCSOO-V3.
He finally was able to get the ****** order number ******************* and I was still unable to pull
anything up in our system. He then emailed a copy of the ****** order to me. In looking at the order
he placed on ******, he actually ordered a carrier from ******* ******** and not Discount Ramps. This
person/company stole our pictures and was calling their carrier our SCAOO-V2 Next Generation Power
Scooter and Wheelchair Folding cargo Carrier Rack by Discount Ramps - Sold by: ******* ******** for
$169.00. I requested pictures of the carrier so we could determine what type of carrier he purchased
and he refused.
Our SC400-V2 sells for $259.99 on ****** as well as on our website www.discountramps.com. We
have no idea what type of carrier the customer purchased and InstaHed our SC-Swing-Away onto. If the
carrier they purchased weighs more than our carriers this could have caused the swing-away option to
fail. I again requested pictures of the carrier that he has as well as the swing away so we could see
where it failed and he refused.
The customer still insisted that they bought our carrier but truly we have no idea what carrier he
purchased or received from ******* ********. The customer then stated that while I had him on hold
asking our sales staff questions about his issue, he called the Better Business Bureau and the top 4
medical transport companies to file complaints about us and when he got off the phone with me he was
going to call the Secretary of the state of Wisconsin to report us.
As you can see from our past history that we do stand behind our products and help our customers out
as much as possible. This customer was not willing to work with us and I do not feel that we were asking
for anything out of the ordinary.
He said that he would do everything fn his power to make sure our name was sullied and we would be
screwed when he was done with us.
We would be more than happy to help this customer if he provides us pictures of the carrier he had the
item that he purchased from Discount Ramps attached to.
Please see all attached documentation in regards to this complaint. A copy of the order they placed
with us, a copy of his ****** order showing the description of an item he purchased from a different
company, a copy of the Return Authorization that was created in our system when the customer called
in, the description from our website for the SC-Swlng-Away as when as the installation instructions,
website description for the' SC400-V2 carrier and our listing on ******.
If additional information is needed please let me know.
Sincerely,
***** ******
*************** ********* ***
###-###-####