Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Herzing College, formerly Herzing Institutes, Inc., operates resident business and technical colleges in the United States and Canada (in Canada, only diplomas are awarded) including Herzing College of Technology located in Madison, WI. Herzing College of Technology was formerly the Wisconsin School of Electronics, founded in 1948. This school is approved by the State of Wisconsin Educational Approval Board, the regulatory agency for proprietary trade and vocational schools.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Herzing University meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Herzing University include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Herzing University
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1965 Business started: 01/01/1965 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1965 Business incorporated 11/02/2009 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Educational Approval Board
30 W. Mifflin St., 9th Floor, P.O. Box 7874, P.O. Box 8696, Madison WI 53708
http://eab.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (608) 266-1996
Fax Number: (608) 264-8477
eabmail@eab.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Mr. Henry Herzing, Director Ms. Renee Herzing, President & CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Henry Herzing, Director
Principal: Ms. Renee Herzing, President & CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Susan Kalmuck, Assistant to the President
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Online Education Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (NAICS: 611310)

Alternate Business Names
Herzing University, LTD.
Industry Tips
Education-Choosing a School and GEDs

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Herzing University has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1600 S Arlington St Ste 100

    Akron, OH 44306

  • 4006 Washington Rd

    Kenosha, WI 53144 (262) 671-0675 (866) 724-9144

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5212 Hill Ave

    Toledo, OH 43615

  • 5218 E Terrace Dr

    Madison, WI 53718 (608) 249-6611 (800) 582-1227

  • 555 S Executive Dr

    Brookfield, WI 53005 (262) 649-1710 (877) 312-1255

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9748 Park Dr

    Omaha, NE 68127

  • W140N8917 Lilly Rd

    Menomonee Falls, WI 53051 (866) 508-0748 (414) 271-8103

  • 3393 Peachtree Rd NE

    Atlanta, GA 30326

  • 280 W Valley Ave

    Birmingham, AL 35209

  • 5700 W Broadway Ave

    Minneapolis, MN 55428

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1865 State Road 436

    Aloma, FL 32792

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2500 Williams Blvd

    Kenner, LA 70062

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Somewhere between 02/2015 and 03/2015, Herzing University rescinded my Masters of Science in Nurse Practitioner. I have since gone through the grievance and complaint policy, which states that if I am not satisfied with the internal resolution process that I may then file for arbitration via the American Arbitration Association (AAA). I have taken all the necessary steps and filed all the required procedures dictated by Herzing University; however, they are currently violating their own policies and procedures by refusing to go forth with arbitration via AAA. I feel that this is a violation of my rights not only as a student but an American citizen. They are simply refusing to follow through with their own policies and procedures; which I have proof that I have followed.

Desired Settlement: I request that Herzing University honor their own policies and procedures and go through with arbitration.

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this issue to a higher level of visibility.  Our team was in the process of reviewing these claims prior to the complaint.  

Since that time, both the complainant and Herzing have agreed to move forward with arbitration through AAA which will hopefully resolve any outstanding issues.
Please feel free to contact us with any additional questions regarding the concerns.
Regards,
Ryan O******
***
Herzing University

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I completed all elements required to graduate. Upon completion of my final project in my final course, Herzing University "received information" that I had not done the work I stated. I told them that I had, in fact, done the work required of the course and was willing to provide proof to that fact. The University was unwilling to look into the matter any further and dismissed me from the University due to "unsatisfactory academic progress". I then filed an appeal as requested, it was accepted by the University and I was allowed to become a student again. As of March 18, 2015 I have not been contacted by a "re-entry advisor" regarding the completion of my degree. Herzing University has used their "standards" in order to delay the completion of my degree several times (this is the third) yet they will allow me to be a student, pay them more money to take more classes with the promise of a degree completion that seems as if it will never come.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be awarded my Bachelor of Science in Health Information Management dated August 2014.

Business Response: The purpose of this letter is to provide a response concerning a complaint filed by ****** **** *** *****, Herzing University ******* Campus student (Program; Health Information Management) who participated in an online program for which I have oversight responsibilities through my team of academic deans, chairs and faculty. The complaint is based on Ms. *** *****’s concern with her final project in the Health Information Program (internship) not being accepted and being denied re-entry.

Below describes events and details surrounding communication with ****** **** *** ***** about her status with Herzing University described in her complaint –

Information and investigation (8/25/14-9/26/14)
Standards:
The circumstances surrounding ****** *** *****’s Health Information Management (HIM) Internship was reviewed and the information shows that the requirements of the Health Information Management Internship Course were not met and unverified work was submitted as evidence of completion. Dean Health Plan (current employer at the time) agreed to serve as Ms. *** *****’s internship site as long as she met the requirements for this (including not completing internship requirements during work hours). 

Herzing University’s Online Health Information Management (HIM) Program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education (CAHIIM).  CAHIIM’s requirements for a Professional Practice Experience (internship) indicates internship/externship can be paid, but it is not to replace an existing HIM employee duties and MUST be reviewed and approved by Program Chair (Student Service Work Policy of CAHIIM Standard V.E.4).  Additionally, there must be an approved site supervisor managing/verifying internship activities.  The Site Supervisor of record for ****** *** *****, signed the agreement (who also happens to be her supervisor for the full time position) and the site was approved based on the information in the HIM Internship Agreement. 

Investigation Results:
During the Summer Semester we experienced issues with the site survey link not properly working for several site supervisors. This issue prompted Ms. *** *****’s HIM Internship instructor of record, to email several site supervisors, including Ms. *** *****’s site supervisor, regarding a broken survey link that was located in the course and affecting several site supervisors (the survey is required evaluation of the student by the site). 

Ms. *** *****’s Site Supervisor of record communicated to Instructor that “****** did not request time off from normal duties nor did she conduct any internship activities with the student at any time over the term”.

Upon further investigation of Ms. *** *****’s final course evaluation document, was found to not have the site supervisor of records name signed, but that of another person, (which Ms. *** *****’s site supervisor disclosed was not an internship supervisor, but “an employee that also reported to her and was Ms. *** *****’s co-worker”) to complete the survey, violating the academic integrity policy (grounds for expulsion) and CAHIIM paid internship policy.  Additionally, during a conversation with **** ***** *** on 09/10/2014, Ms. *** ***** indicated “I will admit that I requested my actual site supervisor use ‘the name of the site supervisor of record’s name’ to complete the information”.  This is a direct violation of the Academic Honest Policy.

This individual is not an internship site supervisor, was never approved and therefore Ms. *** *****’s internship hours and work cannot be verified.  Considering this information, it was evident that the practicum requirements were not properly fulfilled and the program chair recommended that she be removed from the program.  This information was then forwarded to the ******* ****** ********* for additional actions.

The ******* ****** ********* moved forward with dismissing the student from Herzing University due to her admission of falsifying documents on August 30, 2014

Ms. *** ***** applied for re-entry at the Online Campus on January 20, 2015 and never communicated/addressed her academic dishonesty violation and dismissal from Herzing University.  It was discovered during her re-entry process she was a previous ******* campus student trying to re-enter and transfer to the online campus.

Upon review of the evidence, the following actions took place:

During the verification check for students who apply for re-entry it was noted student was dismissed and therefore Herzing University – Online campus did not move forward with Ms. *** *****’s request for re-entry due to the severity of her academic dishonesty.

Original Campus: *******
New Campus: Online
Desired Start Date: 4/27/15
Desired Program: *****
Academic Clearance: No (student was institutionally dismissed due to falsifying internship information)


It is Herzing University’s goal to provide reasonable accommodations while maintaining academic integrity for all students.

Ms. *** ***** was provided information on appealing the dismissal decision on October 10, 2014. 
Ms. *** ***** has not appealed the decision, but rather just recently requesting to be re-admitted into Herzing University.
Ms. *** ***** is still able to appeal her dismissal from Herzing University by following the academic appeal process for “Academic Appeal for Termination” section of the Herzing University Catalog to be reconsidered for re-admission into Herzing University as noted below –

Adverse Action Appeal  Procedures
Adverse actions are disciplinary actions due to a student violatingstudent conduct policies or academichonesty standards. These can include termination, suspension, probation, or other academicpenalty. An exampleof "other academicpenalties" could be the awarding of a zero on a test or assignmentor assignment of an "F" (failure) in a course. All adverse actions take effect immediately whenimposed by the appropriate instructor or campus administrator, but they are subject to appeal.

If the student disputesthe basis for an adverse action, the student may appeal the action with the following procedure.

1.   A student appealingan adverse action must submita written statement with supporting evidence(if any) disputingthe basis of the adverseaction to the ****** *********.The ****** *********will investigate the facts of the case and render a final decision inwriting within seven days.

2.   If dissatisfied with the decisionof the ****** *********, or if the adverse actionwas taken by the ****** *********, the student may appeal to an appeal board. Any such appeal must be made in writing within 30 days for suspensions, probations, or other academicpenalties and within three monthsfor terminations. A request to be heard before the appealboard must be in writing tothe ****** *********, and it must set forth, in significant detail, the basisfor the appeal. An appeal board hearingwill be held within areasonable period of time, usually two weeks. The appeal board will be comprised of three faculty or staff members, none of whom have been instructors of the student,two of whom will be appointed by the campusPresident, and one of whom can be selectedby the student. The appealing student may call witnesses and provide other evidence to support his/her case. The decisionof the appeal board will be by majority vote, will be made within two days ofthe appeal board's meeting, and will be final and bindingupon the University and the student.

3.   If a suspension has already taken place and the course(s) is/are still ongoingand, upon appeal,reversed by the ****** ********* or an appeal board, the University will provide reasonable assistance andtime for the student to make up missed material,tests, or projects, all of this being on the basisthat such extra time or instruction is practical in the sole judgment ofthe University. In the event a student has already been terminated or suspendedand the course(s) has/have ended,the student will be allowed to retake, at no cost, any courses that were interrupted by a termination or suspension that was reversed upon appeal.

Please feel free to contact us with any additional questions regarding Ms. *** *****’s expressed concerns.

Sincerely,

***** ********* ********** ******* ********** ****** ******

Cc:
******* ******* ********* ******* ****** ********* ***** **** ************* ******** **** ******* ********** ****** ****

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to school at Herzing for quite awhile. Suddenly, I was enrolled in a class I already had transfer credits for. After contacting MANY people without a response I was dropped from the school for failing that one class! After numerous more calls, I was told my transfer papers never came through (no one told me this) and I had no record of that class. AGAIN, I sent my transcripts in. When they finally received them after the 3rd try, I was told to go through re-entry, and I would get back into classes. I did re-entry with a promise that someone would get back to me in a few days. NO ONE HAS FOR MONTHS. Email after email has been ignored. I have been scammed out of thousands without my degree.

Desired Settlement: I want someone to enroll me back in school or credit my FAFSA for wasted time.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

I have reviewed this complaint and communicated directly with the complainant. We have reached a mutually agreed upon solution whereby the complainant will be able to return to Herzing University to continue her studies without detriment to her academic record or her fiscal responsibilities to the institution.

Please let me know if you  have any questions,

****** ** **** ********* ******* ** ******** ********** *** ******* ******** ******* ********** ****************** ************ **** ***** ***** **** ********* ***** ** ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ********.....I am very pleased

 

 

 

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i was dismissed from the school for a PACE score that was off by 2 points because i was failing a class. I wa not told that i could take two classes for the term and therefore meet the PACE requirement. I was told that I would be able to re-enter in september, but then emaled that i was not a fit for the college. I am a few semesters away from graduation and have had good grades throughout, leaving with a 2.9 gpa. I have tried to communicate but never received call back. i only wanted to complete ny degree and for them to dismiss me and not allow me reentry for a class that I did pass with a C IS obsurd. How was i not a fit for the school and my gpa was good

Desired Settlement: i would like re-entry to the college to complete my degree.

Business Response:

July 3, 2013
Mr. ******* **********
********* **********
Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin
10101 W. Greenfield Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53214
RE: Case #******* * ******* ****** *******
Dear Mr. **********,
The purpose of this letter is to provide a response concerning a complaint filed by Ms. ******* ****** *******, Herzing University student (program; health information management) who participated in an online program for which I have oversight responsibilities through my team of academic deans, chairs and faculty. The complaint is based on Ms. *******’s desire to re-enter into the program and below describes events and details surrounding communication with Ms. ******* about her status with Herzing University described in her complaint –
1. There has been communication with Ms. ******* about her academic status and scheduling with Herzing University on several occasions that have been documented from 10/2011 – 05/2013.
2. Ms. ******* requested several schedule changes to accommodate her academic and personal needs throughout 2011 - 2013.
3. Ms. *******’s current GPA is **** and has attempted 81 credits and completed 49 credits, which means Ms. *******’s course completion percentage is 60%.
4. Ms. ******* received information from Herzing University about academic policies upon her enrollment with Herzing University, below is the policy per the catalog, pg. 68 -
Students must also remain on pace to complete their programs within a reasonable period of time. To calculate the pace at which a student is progressing, the number of cumulative program credit or clock hours the student has successfully completed is divided by the cumulative number of program credit or clock hours the student has attempted within their current program of study. Transfer credits are counted both as successfully completed and attempted when calculating pace. Incompletes, withdrawals, and failures will be counted as attempted credits or hours in the pace calculation. Developmental courses will not be calculated into the grade point average; however, a “Fail” will be counted as a course attempted, and a “Pass” will be counted both as a course attempted and a course completed for purposes of calculating a student’s pace toward completing the program for satisfactory academic progress. Pace is measured at the end of each semester. To remain on pace, students must meet the following minimum completion of credits or hours attempted at the respective evaluation checkpoints:
? End of each semester **** *** *** *** (pace of satisfactory completion)
Students not remaining on pace to complete their programs within a reasonable period of time (as defined in the academic catalog) are placed on academic warning for a period of one semester. Students still not on pace to complete their program in a reasonable period of time at the end of a semester of academic warning are dismissed from the University.
5. At the end of the Fall 2012 semester Ms. ******* was notified she was placed on academic warning for the upcoming semester because she was below 66% pace of satisfactory completion noted above, she concluded the semester with a **% pace percentage (73 attempted credits, 45 credits earned).
6. At the conclusion of the Spring 2013 semester Ms. ******* was notified she was being dismissed from Herzing University because she did not successfully pass her course that resulted in her not achieving the 66% pace of satisfactory completion, if she did pass the courses assigned within the semester she would have been able to achieve 70% pace of satisfactory completion.
7. On 05-02-13 Ms. ******* received her formal letter from Herzing indicating she was dismissed from the university due to pace of satisfactory completion was less than 66% after the conclusion of the semester
8. Ms. ******* did appeal her dismissal and was denied (on 05-22-13) because she has 24 credits left to complete in her program and will violate the 150% rule after she completes 14 credits out of the 24 credits she has remaining in the program. This means Ms. ******* will be financially responsible (out of pocket expenses) needing to cover the last 10 credits in her program.
The 150% rule policy states – per the catalog, pg. 68
Students must be able to complete their current program without attempting more than 150% of the minimum credit or clock hours required for the student’s program, as measured in credit or clock hours, or the student will lose Title IV eligibility. Developmental courses are not included in this calculation. Students may not appeal termination of eligibility for federal financial aid if they cannot complete their current program without attempting more than 150% of the minimum credit or clock hours required for the program
9. The decision was based on the fact Ms. ******* depends on federal financial aid to pay for her schooling.
10. We did not want Ms. ******* to incur additional tuition charges and not be able to complete her program after her federal financial aid was no longer available to her.
Upon review of the evidence, the following actions are implemented effective immediately:
1. Ms. ******* will be offered the opportunity to re-enter into the Associates of Science in Health Information Management (******** **** ***** *** will contact Ms. ******* by Monday, July 8 2013).
2. Once determined if Ms. ******* has the desire to return to Herzing University, understanding her potential out-of-pocket costs, ******** **** ***** *** will initiate the re-entry process activities with Ms. *******.
Contact information for ***** *** is:
Phone: ###-###-####
Email: ****************
It is Herzing University’s goal to provide reasonable accommodations while maintaining academic integrity for all students. Please feel free to contact us with any additional questions regarding Ms. *******’s expressed concerns.
Sincerely,
***** *********
********** ******* ********** ****** ******

Delivery Issues