Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Medical College of Wisconsin, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (414) 955-8296 Fax: (414) 955-6166 8701 W Watertown Plank Rd, Milwaukee, WI 53226 http://www.mcw.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers medical instruction and research.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Medical College of Wisconsin, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Medical College of Wisconsin, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Medical College of Wisconsin, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 24, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1913 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1913 Business incorporated 07/18/1918 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Cheryl Dyer, Executive Assistant Mr. John R. Raymond, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cheryl Dyer, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. John R. Raymond, President/CEO
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (NAICS: 611310)

Alternate Business Names
Medical College Of Wisconsin
Industry Tips
Education-Choosing a School and GEDs

Additional Locations

  • 8701 W Watertown Plank Rd

    Milwaukee, WI 53226 (414) 955-8296

  • PO Box 26509

    Milwaukee, WI 53226

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 10, 2013 I made a full payment of my charges due for services provided by the Medical College on Nov 22, 2013 of $694.93. The Medical College then had my claim reprocessed with my insurance company and the amount that I was to pay was adjusted to $$434.33 on Feb 19, 2014. This means that the Medical College now owes me a refund of $260.60. After waiting for months, I contacted them on April 17, 2014 to ask for my refund. I heard nothing and contacted them again on May 5, 2014. I heard nothing and contacted them again on May 12, 2014 at which point they told me they were asking my insurance company to reprocess an additional claim and they were keeping this money for a potential amount that could be owed for a reprocess of another claim. It is now June 10, 2014 and the Medical College still will not refund my money. The business has no right to hold my money hostage "because I might owe money on an adjusted or future claim". This issue has now been outstanding for numerous months and I want my money back! This is now going on 3 months since my original request in April for the refund of monies. Legally they have no right to hold funds for "potential future amounts that may or may not be owed".

Desired Settlement: I expect the money owed to me of $260.60 to be refunded to me and not be held hostage. Holding funds for potential future bills or reprocessed claims is not legal.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to a communication sent to and received by *** **** ** ******* from the Better Business Bureau (BBB) of Wisconsin on Tuesday, June 10th
I reviewed the customer's complaint to the BBB and our billing records for Medical College Physicians account #********* indicate the following:
 
• Date of Service November 22, 2013 was originally processed by the customer's insurance on December 2, 2013 leaving a co·insurance amount of $694.93
• The customer paid the amount of $694.93 on December 11, 2013 leaving a $0.00 balance
• A corrected claim was submitted to the customer's insurance on January 22, 2014
• Based on the processing of a corrected claim; corrected payment,contractual ,adjustment, and co-pay amounts were first received via fax on May 5th, 2014 from the 
customer's insurance by the Medical College of Wisconsin; posted to the customer's account on May 5,
2014 indicating a refund to be issued to the insurance carrier and to the customer
• Medical College of Wisconsin did receive two phone calls from the customer dated May 5, 2014 and May 12,2014 inquiring on the status
of the processing/receipt of the $260.60 refund
• A refund was issued to the insurance carrier on June 2, 2014
• A refund was issued and mailed to the customer on June 13, 2014 in the amount of $260.60
 
We appreciate the customer bringing this matter to our attention in order for us to resolve to her satisfaction.
 
If you should need additional information or claritication on the above information that I have provided please contact me.
 
Sincerely,
 
***** ****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* *******

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Medical College of Wisconsin, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)