BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers medical instruction and research.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Medical College of Wisconsin, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Medical College of Wisconsin, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Medical College of Wisconsin, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 24, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1913 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1913 Business incorporated: 07/18/1918 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John R. Raymond, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John R. Raymond, President/CEO
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (NAICS: 611310)

Alternate Business Names
Medical College Of Wisconsin
Industry Tips
Education-Choosing a School and GEDs

Additional Locations

  • 8701 W Watertown Plank Rd

    Milwaukee, WI 53226 (414) 456-8296

  • PO Box 26509

    Milwaukee, WI 53226

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 10, 2013 I made a full payment of my charges due for services provided by the Medical College on Nov 22, 2013 of $694.93. The Medical College then had my claim reprocessed with my insurance company and the amount that I was to pay was adjusted to $$434.33 on Feb 19, 2014. This means that the Medical College now owes me a refund of $260.60. After waiting for months, I contacted them on April 17, 2014 to ask for my refund. I heard nothing and contacted them again on May 5, 2014. I heard nothing and contacted them again on May 12, 2014 at which point they told me they were asking my insurance company to reprocess an additional claim and they were keeping this money for a potential amount that could be owed for a reprocess of another claim. It is now June 10, 2014 and the Medical College still will not refund my money. The business has no right to hold my money hostage "because I might owe money on an adjusted or future claim". This issue has now been outstanding for numerous months and I want my money back! This is now going on 3 months since my original request in April for the refund of monies. Legally they have no right to hold funds for "potential future amounts that may or may not be owed".

Desired Settlement: I expect the money owed to me of $260.60 to be refunded to me and not be held hostage. Holding funds for potential future bills or reprocessed claims is not legal.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to a communication sent to and received by *** **** ** ******* from the Better Business Bureau (BBB) of Wisconsin on Tuesday, June 10th
I reviewed the customer's complaint to the BBB and our billing records for Medical College Physicians account #********* indicate the following:
 
• Date of Service November 22, 2013 was originally processed by the customer's insurance on December 2, 2013 leaving a co·insurance amount of $694.93
• The customer paid the amount of $694.93 on December 11, 2013 leaving a $0.00 balance
• A corrected claim was submitted to the customer's insurance on January 22, 2014
• Based on the processing of a corrected claim; corrected payment,contractual ,adjustment, and co-pay amounts were first received via fax on May 5th, 2014 from the 
customer's insurance by the Medical College of Wisconsin; posted to the customer's account on May 5,
2014 indicating a refund to be issued to the insurance carrier and to the customer
• Medical College of Wisconsin did receive two phone calls from the customer dated May 5, 2014 and May 12,2014 inquiring on the status
of the processing/receipt of the $260.60 refund
• A refund was issued to the insurance carrier on June 2, 2014
• A refund was issued and mailed to the customer on June 13, 2014 in the amount of $260.60
 
We appreciate the customer bringing this matter to our attention in order for us to resolve to her satisfaction.
 
If you should need additional information or claritication on the above information that I have provided please contact me.
 
Sincerely,
 
***** ****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* *******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billing. The college sent me a bill for $345.76. I paid $100 on the bill each month. After the bill was all paid they sent me a final notice , collections notice. With today's technology are you going to tell me that this is the best you can do? They should have a system in place that recognizes payments. I would like a written apology and it would be nice to hear that they have fixed the technology problem. Customers try to pay their bills and this company basically is saying that this is not good enough. It would be better for this corporation to have a computer system that recognizes the payments and efforts of customers instead of making even good paying customers to appear to be 'deadbeats'. Shame on this company for not recognizing the efforts/payments of their customers.

Desired Settlement: Change the policy. You accepted my money without complaint and now you send me a notice?

Business Response: I thank Ms. ********* and BBB for bringing this matter to our attention. I have forwarded the complaint to our Billing supervisory staff for an investigation and response. 


Sincerely,

**** *. *******, **., ***.
********* and ***
MedicalCollege of Wisconsin

Business Response:

We thank our patient and their guarantor for bringing their concerns to our attention. We regret that they were frustrated by the billing cycle, and we took this complaint as an opportunity to consider process inprovements.

I would like to clarify that no adverse actions were taken on the guarantor or patient with regard to the billing cycle.

The patient complaint was based upon receiving a final notice that crossed their final payment in the mail. Upon review, I noted that gurantor made payments in $100 increments, the first two of which were received after the due dates. The third payment was made timely, but the fourth and final payment was made after the due date and after a final notice was generated and mailed to the guarantor. Final payment and final notice crossed in the mail.

It appears that neither patient nor guarantor arranged for a payment plan. Guarantor disputed that (see below), but a review of billing stubs did not reveal written request for a payment plan. Any misunderstandiong could have been avoided by patient or guarantor requesting a payment plan.

Much of our billing cycle is computer assisted. This helps create efficiencies and lower costs when hundreds of thousand of patients and millions of encounters are being processed annually. However, no algorithm is perfect and human intervention at the right time and for the right reason is frequently helpful. Although there is no obvious cost-effective way in which to improve the early phases of the billing cycle, I have asked our billing staff to consider ways through which accounts with small outstanding balances could be reviewed prior to sending a final notice.

We appreciate the feedback and hope that this response at least addressed the reasons why a final notice was sent.

Best regards.

**** *. *******, **., ***.

********* and ***, Medical College of Wisconsin

-----

Summary of Inquiry

 

$345.76 self-pay responsibility (balance remaining) after WPS processed insurance claim.  WPS’ payment posted on 10/23/12.    ($200.00 deductible/$145.76 co-insurance)  Details regarding the statement history & aging of this balance follows:

Statement #1 dated 11/10/12. 

·        Statement due date = 11/27/12

Statement #2 dated 12/8/12. 

·        Statement due date = 12/25/12 

·        No guarantor payment posted since 11/10/12 statement

·        Aging incremented to dunning level 2

Statement #3 dated 1/5/13. 

·        Statement due date = 1/22/13 

·        $100 guarantor payment posted 12/14/12

·        $100 guarantor payment posted 1/3/13

·         Aging stuttered at dunning level 2.

Statement #4 dated 2/2/13. 

·        Statement due date = 2/19/13

·         $100 guarantor payment posted 1/17/13

·         Aging stuttered at dunning level 2.

Final notice dated 2/24/13.

·        No guarantor payment posted between 2/2/13 statement and 2/24/13 final notice.

·        Note:  $45.76 guarantor Visa payment received in mail.  Payment was processed in US Bank Navigator on Friday, 2/22/13 and posted to patient’s account on Monday, 2/25/13.

Guarantor spoke with billing staff#1 on 2/28/13 and billing staff#2 on 3/1/13 to complain about our billing process. Billing staff#2 explained the aging of this account and apologized that the final noticed crossed in the mail with the guarantor’s final payment.  Billing staff#2 informed the guarantor that the final notice would not have been generated if she had formalized a payment plan with our office.  Guarantor told billing staff#2 that she thought she had made note of her payment intentions on a statement stub that was sent to us with one of the payments.  **Note:  all payment stubs were reviewed and there was no indication that the guarantor had any intention of setting up a payment plan.**

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved