Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

OfficeSupply.com

Phone: (920) 623-9528 Fax: (920) 623-9169 View Additional Phone Numbers 302 Industrial Dr, Columbus, WI 53925 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.officesupply.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a discount internet retailer offering office supplies, furniture, technology, ink, and cleaning supplies.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that OfficeSupply.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for OfficeSupply.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

13 Customer Reviews on OfficeSupply.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 9
Total Customer Reviews 13

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 10, 2006 Business started: 08/04/2003 in WI Business started locally: 08/04/2003 Business incorporated 08/19/2003 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jim L. Horton, President/Owner Ms. Heidi Dettman, Customer Service Manager Mr. Timothy J. Horton, Owner/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim L. Horton, President/Owner
Business Category

Office Supplies Printers Discount Stores Internet Shopping Office Furniture & Equipment Office Furniture & Equipment - Wholesale & Manufacturing Mail-Order Houses (NAICS: 454113)

Method(s) of Payment
We are pleased to accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express,
 Paypal, Amazon and Google. We also accept money orders, cashiers checks, and business
checks as well. Please note that checks may delay the processing of your
order. We do not accept personal checks.
Refund and Exchange Policy
OfficeSupply.com is committed to customer satisfaction. If your items
are damaged, defective or incomplete, a request for a return or refund
must be made within 3 business days of the original date of receipt. In
the event of a mistake, we will do our best to ensure returns are
handled quickly and fairly.
Most items are returnable (see return restrictions and reasons below)
for any reason. Our Returns Department must be notified of all returns.
Items must be returned with 30 days of original date of receipt. No
returns will be accepted without notification (Return without prior
authorization below). You may notify the returns department by email at returns@officesupply.com or calling (866) 302-5397 and selecting option #5.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

OfficeSupply.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 302 Industrial Dr

    Columbus, WI 53925 (866) 302-5397 (920) 623-9528

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed order online. Waited for shipping confirmation as told by sales rep. Waited 2 business days waiting for shipment confirmation and tracking #. I call Cs and explained the problem. She got mad at me when I questioned her why my Oder had not shipped on day 5 and why the policy (FAQ) says processing 1 1 business day and received within 3 days. She yelled "you will have it by Friday the 24th!" And hung up on me. On the the 26th I got a ship confirmation that it is shipping. Day 10. Track the order and called again. ********, said it is out for delivery and that it was coming my usps not UPS. I told her my mail had already one today and i did t get my package of 6 items. She than quickly said that us was preparing for delivery and I should recurve it by Friday. 15days after order date) I asked to speak to a supervisor because I just wanted my money back. She said she was out sick today. And that she wouldn't do anything different for me. She than said I could return the items once I received them but I have to lay for shipping back and probably restocking fee so she sId I'd probably owe them more money in the end. I disconnected.

Desired Settlement: Get my money back.

Business Response: This order in question is ******* is for yarn.  This order was placed on Friday April 17th afternoon after our cutoff for shipping that day so the order processed the following Monday.
And according to the tracking it was shipped 2 days later on Wednesday.  It was shipped 3 day priority USPS. On our website it explained that this yard was a specialty item for it could take approximately 6 days.  The tracking shows the yarn will be delivered to the customer today or tomorrow.  The yarn will unfortunately take longer to arrive then as expected.  As always we accept returns if one is not satisfied with anything including the time of transit.  We will refund the full amount of purchase including shipping fees if this customer does chose to send the yarn back.
We strive for great customer service but occasionally shipping companies can cause delays.  I'm very surprised to hear that someone was not treated with great respect from our staff and I apologize if that was not the case.


DHL **********************



Business Response: We do regret that your first experience shopping with us was so disappointing, both with the time of transit and our service.
Below is a copy of the full purchase price refund that we have issued to your credit card.  Please keep the yarn when you do finally get it.  We do not wish it retuned and apologize for the inconvience.



Refunded Credit Card: ****************
Refunded Transaction ID: *****************
Refund Transaction ID: *****************
Refund Amount: 27.16
Refund Reason: refund

Qty Product Product Number Channel Unit Price Total
3 Red Heart Super Saver Light Grey Yarn NOTM065264 pla 1 EA $3.81 $11.43
3 Red Heart Classic Yarn NOTM061486 Base 1 EA $2.78 $8.34
SubTotal: $19.77
[WS20P - 20% off one item] Coupon: -$0.56
Shipping: $7.95

$0.00
Refund -$27.16
Total: $0.00

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* ******

 

 

 

6/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Office Supply had an old address on file and shipped the products I had ordered to an old address. After a week or so of not receiving the products, I checked the email to see if I could get the tracking #. After checking the tracking number on the UPS website I realized that it was sent to an old address that they must have had on file from before. I DIDN'T get the opportunity to enter in a new address when I purchased the products online, it was just on file an automatically went through. I called Office supply and was basically told it was my problem and to take it up with UPS. I was also told that the confirmation email I was sent had the shipping address on it and I should have called Office Supply to correct it. This was not true. I still have a copy of the confirmation email and it DIDN'T have a shipping address on it. I asked to speak to a supervisor and she basically said the same thing that it was my problem. No offer of apology, no offer to contact UPS, nothing. I stated that since I didn't receive the products I ordered, that I would have dispute the charge on my credit card. I would like to avoid that if possible, I would just like to get the products I paid for.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the products delivered that I had paid for or have a refund for the order I didn't receive.

Business Response:

We've issued a refund to James Roe's credit card for the full purchase price of the merchandise that was delivered to his previous address.
We apologize for any inconvenience.


System: paypal IPN triggered payment update: Amount: 47.69 Parent Transaction Id: ***************** Current Transaction Id: *****************
CC: ****************
 Status: Refunded

11/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE ORDERED PRINING PAPER FOR MY LASER PRINTER. THE PAPER THAT I RECEIVED WAS BLUE COLORED. THE COMPANY AGREED TO TAKE THE PAPER BACK, BUT I HAVE TO PAY FOR SHIPMENT. (PROBABLY MORE THAN THE ENTIRE COST OF THE ORDER.) THE BOX THAT THE PAPER WAS SHIPPED HAD NO INDICATION THAT THE PAPER IS NOT WHITE. NOWHERE ON MY ORDER THERE WAS AN INDICATION THAT THE PAPER IS NOT WHITE.

Desired Settlement: PROVIDE NO COST RETURN SHIPPING REQUIRE THE COMPANY TO PROVIDE FREE RETURN SHIPPING TO UNSATISFIED CUSTONERS.

Business Response: We've have reviewed ****** ******'s order and it's appears that the correct firework blue paper that was ordered was delivered.
However our goal at DiscountOfficeItems.com is complete customer satisfaction, so we have issued a full refund of the purchase price of $48.30 and below is a copy of that transaction.  There is no need for Mr. ****** to return the 5000 sheets of
Boise Fireworx Multipurpose Color Paper  paper he ordered from us and it is now a free gift to him to do with what he wishes.



System: paypal
Refunded Transaction ID: *****************
Refund Transaction ID: *****************
Refund Amount: 48.30
Refund Reason: refund

2/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RE: Invoice #*******; RA #******* I have recently received notification from my credit card company that Discount Office Items was disputing the way we returned two tabletops and bases that were purchased from them. The original cost was $1,125.22 and a refund was issued on 12/3/12 for $798.39 which allegedly discounted a penalty for one of the bases and the shipping charge for a total of $326.83 that they did not refund. We stated to Discount Office Items that the table tops were not as advertised and the bases did not match the tops (they could not be assembled together). The photo on the website shows finished edges-not the unfinished particle board edges that were delivered. We also suggested Discount Office Items change their website but it still shows the finished edges presently for Item #***********. Their outlet in Sacramento, CA *** ******** ********** accepted the returned tables and bases on 11/15/12 by ***** *****, and I personally drove from Oakland, CA to Sacramento, CA to deliver the unacceptable items. He was cordial and had no issues with how they were re-packaged. We did not write on the boxes and the page with the RA# was attached separately. I would understand that shipping charges would not be refunded IF we had changed our minds based on getting what was advertised. Since that was not the case, I fully expect to get a full refund for the properly returned items and the shipping charge. It would also be wise for Discount Office Items to follow through with the request to change the picture on their website to match the product so other customers do not have to go through the same grief we have had to go through. I would hope Discount Office Items would want to properly advertise products when they are advised of the inconsistency.

Desired Settlement: I request that I receive a full refund for a porduct that was misrepresented. I returned all items properly. Also, I request the website picture be changed to represent the true characteristics of the product.

Business Response: The customer returned these product back to the distribution center, however one of the items returned was not returned in resellable condition. One of the ********  was returned scratched as well as the hardware floating all over the box and not in their individual packaging.  (please see pictures)  Our return policy clearly states that: If you ordered the item incorrectly, or change your mind about an item, we will refund the purchase price of the unopened, restockable item, less shipping costs. Please be aware that when returning a product shipped via Free Super Saver Shipping, our actual outbound shipping costs will be deducted from your return. You will be responsible for the cost of returning the item to DiscountOfficeItems.com. 
The customer ordered the incorrect item online so they are responsible for the return shipping, the customer chose to return the items directly back to the distrubtion center himself.  At that time we provide the customer with an RA# to return the items back to the distribution center, this number allows the return.  Upon checking the item back in and overlooking the item the damage was discovered, as well as black tape all over the box that was not able to be removed.  The distribution center deemed this item not resellable therefore we are not able to refund $175.74 to the customer for this item.  It also states in our return policy that you will be refunded less the shipping cost.  We did ship the items to the customer via freight carrier, they are responsible for that cost of the outbound shipping $129.00, this is the price they paid for outbound shipping on their order that is not refunded to the customer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from the business in no way addresses the root cause and resolution of the problem. It does not seem they even read the full complaint. We do not know the origin of these photos, and we did not "order the item incorrectly or change our mind" based on what was advertised. The tables and bases were solely returned since the items were not as described since the photos were for a different product. The company refuses to acknowledge that the product is advertised incorrectly nor update their website. They would just have to look on their own website with the product numbers included in the complaint. The bases and table tops were unable to  be assembled to each other even though the part numbers were advertised to be sold together. Their response is totally unacceptable and we expect a full refund with a revision to their website.

Regards,

*** *******

 

Business Response: I apologize that this information was not provided in the previous response, as I thought the issue at hand was money that was not refunded , not the product information page.
The description of the product states: Use with boat-shaped conference table top to create additional meeting space. Wear-resistant, easy-care laminate resists scratches, stains and spills. Top and Base sold and shipped separately—ORDER BOTH.
Under the Product specs it indicates: For Use With HON® Boat-Shaped Conference Table Tops; HON® Mid Base HON-TLPBSN, (this product is also shown under the products Accessories)
This information was provided to the customer on our website when they placed their order online. 
 
Please see the link below to view that product page and information the customer was provided:
http://www.discountofficeitems.com/furniture/furniture-collections-desks-tables/tables/meeting-conference-room-tables/preside-adder-table-mahogany/p192228.html

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In response to the correspondence from Discount Office Items, the link they provided for the scratch resistent table top and bases still show finished edges-not the unfinished particle board edges of the product itself. By not advertising and including true photos of the product realisticly, buyers are unable to make proper decisions about the appropriateness of their products. That said, our original complaint highlights the unrefunded costs AND the false advertising of their on-line products, since both issues are interrelated.

Regards,

*** *******

 

Business Response: I have contacted the manufacturer Hon directly on the claim about the edges of this table being unfinished.  They informed me that all of their products have finished edges including the table line that our customer received.  I also reviewed the information about this return and the customer never made mention that there was an issue with the edges of the table not being finished.  I contacted the distribution center that the customer returned the product to, however they are not sure the exact box that was returned back to them as they have several of them in stock on their shelves.  They did however open a box to verify that the edges of this table are covered in the laminate. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Contrary to what Discount Office Items mentioned in their correspondence, we DID state that the items were not accurate as shown on their website. I have included a file that shows what was signed by ***** ***** when the pieces were returned (which was an exact duplicate of what was attached to the box) and also correspondence dated 12-21-12 to "*****", ******* ********** for Discount Office Items, that also specifically highlighted the unfinished particle board edges and the fact that the bases and tops could not be assembled together. Whoever processed the boxes would have seen the RA# note and hopefully considered it a reject and should have returned them to the manufacturer. I also verbally told Mr. ***** of the problem and suggested that be done so that the next customer would not have the same problem.

 

I do not know if Discount Office Items is deliberately trying to rip us off and gloss over this issue or if it is a stance based on what they think they were shippng. Maybe the table tops were initially put in the wrong box, but the fact is that the tables had particle board edges and could not be assembled with the bases that were shipped. I am firm on our position since I am stating the truth. Discount Office Items can either accept the possiblity that they could have inadvertently sent the wrong items and refund the balance or they can refuse and I will take it to the next level since I consider their actions to this point as illegal.

 

Regards,

*** *******

 

Business Response: In regards to the customer's response. As for the claim that the table was unfinished on the edges, the manufacturer does not make these table tops with unfinished edges as one of their options. All of their tables are finished on the edges.
When the items were returned back to the distribution center and received, they were signed for as being "received". Once received items still need to be checked for damage. Upon this item being inspected it was discovered that the item was damaged. Previous pictures were provided showing this damage. The other item was accepted and a refund was processed for it. We are not trying to do something "illegal" as stated by the buyer. We simply cannot refund for a product that is returned in damaged condition.


Regards,

***** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

It is clear that Discount Office Items refuses to do the right thing so I will review all legal options to reverse their illegal, or at the very least, unethical actions through their possible loopholes and defenses. I hope other potential customers heed this lesson learned.

Regards,

*** *******