BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

OfficeSupply.com

Phone: (920) 623-9528 Fax: (920) 623-9169 View Additional Phone Numbers 302 Industrial Dr, Columbus, WI 53925 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.officesupply.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a discount internet retailer offering office supplies, furniture, technology, ink, and cleaning supplies.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that OfficeSupply.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for OfficeSupply.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on OfficeSupply.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 10, 2006 Business started: 08/04/2003 in WI Business started locally: 08/04/2003 Business incorporated: 08/19/2003 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jim L. Horton, President/Owner Ms. Heidi Dettman, Customer Service Manager Mr. Timothy J. Horton, Owner/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim L. Horton, President/Owner
Business Category

Office Supplies Printers Discount Stores Internet Shopping Office Furniture & Equipment Office Furniture & Equipment - Wholesale & Manufacturing Office Equipment Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423420)

Method(s) of Payment
We are pleased to accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express,
 Paypal, Amazon and Google. We also accept money orders, cashiers checks, and business
checks as well. Please note that checks may delay the processing of your
order. We do not accept personal checks.
Refund and Exchange Policy
OfficeSupply.com is committed to customer satisfaction. If your items
are damaged, defective or incomplete, a request for a return or refund
must be made within 3 business days of the original date of receipt. In
the event of a mistake, we will do our best to ensure returns are
handled quickly and fairly.
Most items are returnable (see return restrictions and reasons below)
for any reason. Our Returns Department must be notified of all returns.
Items must be returned with 30 days of original date of receipt. No
returns will be accepted without notification (Return without prior
authorization below). You may notify the returns department by email at returns@officesupply.com or calling (866) 302-5397 and selecting option #5.

Additional Locations

  • 302 Industrial Dr

    Columbus, WI 53925 (866) 302-5397 (920) 623-9528

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 302-5397(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Office Supply had an old address on file and shipped the products I had ordered to an old address. After a week or so of not receiving the products, I checked the email to see if I could get the tracking #. After checking the tracking number on the UPS website I realized that it was sent to an old address that they must have had on file from before. I DIDN'T get the opportunity to enter in a new address when I purchased the products online, it was just on file an automatically went through. I called Office supply and was basically told it was my problem and to take it up with UPS. I was also told that the confirmation email I was sent had the shipping address on it and I should have called Office Supply to correct it. This was not true. I still have a copy of the confirmation email and it DIDN'T have a shipping address on it. I asked to speak to a supervisor and she basically said the same thing that it was my problem. No offer of apology, no offer to contact UPS, nothing. I stated that since I didn't receive the products I ordered, that I would have dispute the charge on my credit card. I would like to avoid that if possible, I would just like to get the products I paid for.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the products delivered that I had paid for or have a refund for the order I didn't receive.

Business Response:

We've issued a refund to James Roe's credit card for the full purchase price of the merchandise that was delivered to his previous address.
We apologize for any inconvenience.


System: paypal IPN triggered payment update: Amount: 47.69 Parent Transaction Id: ***************** Current Transaction Id: *****************
CC: ****************
 Status: Refunded

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE ORDERED PRINING PAPER FOR MY LASER PRINTER. THE PAPER THAT I RECEIVED WAS BLUE COLORED. THE COMPANY AGREED TO TAKE THE PAPER BACK, BUT I HAVE TO PAY FOR SHIPMENT. (PROBABLY MORE THAN THE ENTIRE COST OF THE ORDER.) THE BOX THAT THE PAPER WAS SHIPPED HAD NO INDICATION THAT THE PAPER IS NOT WHITE. NOWHERE ON MY ORDER THERE WAS AN INDICATION THAT THE PAPER IS NOT WHITE.

Desired Settlement: PROVIDE NO COST RETURN SHIPPING REQUIRE THE COMPANY TO PROVIDE FREE RETURN SHIPPING TO UNSATISFIED CUSTONERS.

Business Response: We've have reviewed ****** ******'s order and it's appears that the correct firework blue paper that was ordered was delivered.
However our goal at DiscountOfficeItems.com is complete customer satisfaction, so we have issued a full refund of the purchase price of $48.30 and below is a copy of that transaction.  There is no need for Mr. ****** to return the 5000 sheets of
Boise Fireworx Multipurpose Color Paper  paper he ordered from us and it is now a free gift to him to do with what he wishes.



System: paypal
Refunded Transaction ID: *****************
Refund Transaction ID: *****************
Refund Amount: 48.30
Refund Reason: refund

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RE: Invoice #*******; RA #******* I have recently received notification from my credit card company that Discount Office Items was disputing the way we returned two tabletops and bases that were purchased from them. The original cost was $1,125.22 and a refund was issued on 12/3/12 for $798.39 which allegedly discounted a penalty for one of the bases and the shipping charge for a total of $326.83 that they did not refund. We stated to Discount Office Items that the table tops were not as advertised and the bases did not match the tops (they could not be assembled together). The photo on the website shows finished edges-not the unfinished particle board edges that were delivered. We also suggested Discount Office Items change their website but it still shows the finished edges presently for Item #***********. Their outlet in Sacramento, CA *** ******** ********** accepted the returned tables and bases on 11/15/12 by ***** *****, and I personally drove from Oakland, CA to Sacramento, CA to deliver the unacceptable items. He was cordial and had no issues with how they were re-packaged. We did not write on the boxes and the page with the RA# was attached separately. I would understand that shipping charges would not be refunded IF we had changed our minds based on getting what was advertised. Since that was not the case, I fully expect to get a full refund for the properly returned items and the shipping charge. It would also be wise for Discount Office Items to follow through with the request to change the picture on their website to match the product so other customers do not have to go through the same grief we have had to go through. I would hope Discount Office Items would want to properly advertise products when they are advised of the inconsistency.

Desired Settlement: I request that I receive a full refund for a porduct that was misrepresented. I returned all items properly. Also, I request the website picture be changed to represent the true characteristics of the product.

Business Response: The customer returned these product back to the distribution center, however one of the items returned was not returned in resellable condition. One of the ********  was returned scratched as well as the hardware floating all over the box and not in their individual packaging.  (please see pictures)  Our return policy clearly states that: If you ordered the item incorrectly, or change your mind about an item, we will refund the purchase price of the unopened, restockable item, less shipping costs. Please be aware that when returning a product shipped via Free Super Saver Shipping, our actual outbound shipping costs will be deducted from your return. You will be responsible for the cost of returning the item to DiscountOfficeItems.com. 
The customer ordered the incorrect item online so they are responsible for the return shipping, the customer chose to return the items directly back to the distrubtion center himself.  At that time we provide the customer with an RA# to return the items back to the distribution center, this number allows the return.  Upon checking the item back in and overlooking the item the damage was discovered, as well as black tape all over the box that was not able to be removed.  The distribution center deemed this item not resellable therefore we are not able to refund $175.74 to the customer for this item.  It also states in our return policy that you will be refunded less the shipping cost.  We did ship the items to the customer via freight carrier, they are responsible for that cost of the outbound shipping $129.00, this is the price they paid for outbound shipping on their order that is not refunded to the customer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from the business in no way addresses the root cause and resolution of the problem. It does not seem they even read the full complaint. We do not know the origin of these photos, and we did not "order the item incorrectly or change our mind" based on what was advertised. The tables and bases were solely returned since the items were not as described since the photos were for a different product. The company refuses to acknowledge that the product is advertised incorrectly nor update their website. They would just have to look on their own website with the product numbers included in the complaint. The bases and table tops were unable to  be assembled to each other even though the part numbers were advertised to be sold together. Their response is totally unacceptable and we expect a full refund with a revision to their website.

Regards,

*** *******

 

Business Response: I apologize that this information was not provided in the previous response, as I thought the issue at hand was money that was not refunded , not the product information page.
The description of the product states: Use with boat-shaped conference table top to create additional meeting space. Wear-resistant, easy-care laminate resists scratches, stains and spills. Top and Base sold and shipped separately—ORDER BOTH.
Under the Product specs it indicates: For Use With HON® Boat-Shaped Conference Table Tops; HON® Mid Base HON-TLPBSN, (this product is also shown under the products Accessories)
This information was provided to the customer on our website when they placed their order online. 
 
Please see the link below to view that product page and information the customer was provided:
http://www.discountofficeitems.com/furniture/furniture-collections-desks-tables/tables/meeting-conference-room-tables/preside-adder-table-mahogany/p192228.html

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In response to the correspondence from Discount Office Items, the link they provided for the scratch resistent table top and bases still show finished edges-not the unfinished particle board edges of the product itself. By not advertising and including true photos of the product realisticly, buyers are unable to make proper decisions about the appropriateness of their products. That said, our original complaint highlights the unrefunded costs AND the false advertising of their on-line products, since both issues are interrelated.

Regards,

*** *******

 

Business Response: I have contacted the manufacturer Hon directly on the claim about the edges of this table being unfinished.  They informed me that all of their products have finished edges including the table line that our customer received.  I also reviewed the information about this return and the customer never made mention that there was an issue with the edges of the table not being finished.  I contacted the distribution center that the customer returned the product to, however they are not sure the exact box that was returned back to them as they have several of them in stock on their shelves.  They did however open a box to verify that the edges of this table are covered in the laminate. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Contrary to what Discount Office Items mentioned in their correspondence, we DID state that the items were not accurate as shown on their website. I have included a file that shows what was signed by ***** ***** when the pieces were returned (which was an exact duplicate of what was attached to the box) and also correspondence dated 12-21-12 to "*****", ******* ********** for Discount Office Items, that also specifically highlighted the unfinished particle board edges and the fact that the bases and tops could not be assembled together. Whoever processed the boxes would have seen the RA# note and hopefully considered it a reject and should have returned them to the manufacturer. I also verbally told Mr. ***** of the problem and suggested that be done so that the next customer would not have the same problem.

 

I do not know if Discount Office Items is deliberately trying to rip us off and gloss over this issue or if it is a stance based on what they think they were shippng. Maybe the table tops were initially put in the wrong box, but the fact is that the tables had particle board edges and could not be assembled with the bases that were shipped. I am firm on our position since I am stating the truth. Discount Office Items can either accept the possiblity that they could have inadvertently sent the wrong items and refund the balance or they can refuse and I will take it to the next level since I consider their actions to this point as illegal.

 

Regards,

*** *******

 

Business Response: In regards to the customer's response. As for the claim that the table was unfinished on the edges, the manufacturer does not make these table tops with unfinished edges as one of their options. All of their tables are finished on the edges.
When the items were returned back to the distribution center and received, they were signed for as being "received". Once received items still need to be checked for damage. Upon this item being inspected it was discovered that the item was damaged. Previous pictures were provided showing this damage. The other item was accepted and a refund was processed for it. We are not trying to do something "illegal" as stated by the buyer. We simply cannot refund for a product that is returned in damaged condition.


Regards,

***** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

It is clear that Discount Office Items refuses to do the right thing so I will review all legal options to reverse their illegal, or at the very least, unethical actions through their possible loopholes and defenses. I hope other potential customers heed this lesson learned.

Regards,

*** *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/27/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 42" lateral file cabinet on 6/6/2012. On 6/14/2012 I called the company Discountofficeitems.com to find out where my order was. I was told it had been damaged in transit. I was then told to call another phone # regarding returns. When I stated I had nothing to return as I had never received my order in the first place, I told the representative to cancel my order, and I would not do business with them again. The following day the freight company attempted to deliver the file cabinet, the driver did not have a lift gate on the truck, and he was the only one delivering, so he was unable to get it down off the truck. Due to the fact that the file cabinet was damaged, I explaoined to the driver that I had cancelled the transaction via phone with the company the day before. I called and spoke to ***** at **** *** **** ext ***, and explained that the freight company had attempted to deliver the cabinet today, when I had cancelled the order the day prior, due to being told it was damaged, and the had stated they wanted me to speak to someone in returns dept. ***** stated I would recieve a full refund on my credit card. I have checked my credit card statement and they have only refunded $478.04 and charged by credit card $654.93, a shortage of $176.89. I spoke with supervisor ***** ******* to resolve issue, and she stated they would not accept my cancellation, even though the cabinet had been damaged in transit, as informed to me on 6/14/21012 by employee ***** in her office. I have tried to resove the issue with the merchant without success.

Desired Settlement: A full refund as promised on 6/15/2012.

Business Response: The customer called to check on her order, we informed her that the freight company has the order and was in transit for delivery.  Once the product was at the customers location for delivery and she realized she would have to pay additional charges she then contacted us in regards to these charges. We informed her that as stated on our website (*****************************************************  Truck shipments are tailgate/dock/curbside delivery only. The driver will bring the item to the rear of the truck but will not assist you in bringing the item inside. Should you need a lift gate to get the item off the truck, additional charges may apply. Customer was upset and hung up on ******.  A while later the customer called back and informed us that she refused the product due to damage. We then contacted the freight company directly and confirmed with them that the product was not damaged but the customer just did not want to pay the additional fees.  The product was returned back to our distribution center in perfect condition, please see attached pictures.

As our shipping policy also states: Orders cannot be canceled or changed once they are submitted. Due to our commitment to process orders quickly, once the checkout process is completed our warehouse is immediately notified to pick the order for shipment. The cost of return shipping will be deducted from any refund for refused shipments of undamaged products returned to shipper.  Therefore this customer did not receive a full refund because the product was refused without damage. 


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.] I was informed by  discountofficeitems.com, when I called them to see where my order was,  that my order had not yet been delivered due to it being damaged in transit, and they did not know when it would be re-delivered. I was not going to accept damaged goods, and told them to cancel my order, as I had already waited a long time, and had to call them to see where my order was. The fact that they stated it was damaged, and now they are saying it wasn't damaged is contradictory. Their response of "please see attached pictures" - how do we know that was the cabinet they tried to deliver?  I do not know that the item was not damaged, as their  office informed me it was, hence that was why I hadn't yet received it when I called on 6/14/2012.

 

They have refunded $478.04, the cabinet cost alone was $585.93, and an additional $69 in freight costs, the difference being $176.89 - please clarify the discrepancy in the refund amount. The response also states the delivery will be to curbside, they will not bring it in (as was stated by stacy at the office), the file cabinet remained at the back of the delivery truck, and had no tail gate to bring it down for me to inspect it.

 

Their response "Truck shipments are tailgate/dock/curbside delivery only" one assumes it will be curbside, not left on the truck. Their response that should customer "need a lift gate to get the item off the truck, additional charges may apply", I was never informed of this, and how could I make arrangements for this when I was never informed who the freight company was to make any arrangements, and they attempted to deliver the next day following by cancelled order, without contacting me, to even let me know, that I may need a lift gate, and additional charges may be applied to get the item off the truck. I spoke to the merchant 3 x and was never informed about making arrangements for a lift gate, or even informed who the freight company was to make any arrangements. The delivery man never informed me of this fact either. 

 

When I called to state the item was not accepted I was informed by Stacy I would receive a full refund - I actually received $176.89 less than my charged amount, this is not a "full" refund.

 

Regards,

Jayne Sutcliffe

 

 

Business Response: Per our Truck delivery policy it states:  Truck shipments are tailgate/dock/curbside delivery only. The driver will bring the item to the rear of the truck but will not assist you in bringing the item inside. Should you need a lift gate to get the item off the truck, additional charges may apply.  This is on our website for all customers to see,  It also provides a link for the customer to see this information directly from the product page. 

In our last response we attached the bill of lading and photos of the item returned back to us because the customer refused the order.  The freight company has verified with us that the item was not refused due to damage, or the paper would have been signed at the bottom where it states item being refused due to damage.  To contact the freight company to verify this information please cal them at 800-755-2728 with the pro/tracking number of *********.  The customer clearly signed the paper work which at that time she had a chance to indicate the item was damaged, however no where did she indicate that when she signed the freight bill of lading.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I was told the item was damaged in situ by a representative of the merchant, and I requested cancellation of the order, as I was told I had to call and speak to someone in returns dept, when I stated I had received nothing to return, I requested they cancel my order and i would no longer do business with them. I did not receive any response that my order could not be cancelled, and when it showed up for delivery I told the driver it had been cancelled, the cabinet was at the back of the truck and I was not going to climb up a high dirty truck to inspect it for damage, when I had specifically been told the day prior that it had been damaged in transit, hence I had not yet recieved it. To then deliver it when i had cancelled the order, and not inform me it was to still be delivered and my cancellation not accepted per "small print on your web site:, which I was never informed of either, even though I had spoken to several people on several occasions at discountofficeitems, and was never told of the cancellation policy, never informed to make arrangements for lift gate, how could i make arrangements when I wasn't even informed of what freight company was delivering it. The entire situation was a mess from the start, when :

1) I called to see why my delivery had not been completed.

2) I was informed it had been damaged in transit hence why it had not yet arrived

3) I am told to call and speak to someone in returns dept - I had nothing to return as I hadn't received anything!

4) Not informed my requesst to cancel would not be honored "due to obscure policy on the web site"

5) Not informed it would have to be lifted down from a high dirty truck, an item weighing 400#, and was supposed to know from the web site I would have to make arrangements with the freight company for a lift gate.

6) Not being informed who the freight company was to make arrangements for the lift gate

7) Not being informed the item was not damaged when delivered - i was still under the impression it was damaged, as that is what I had been told the day prior from a representative of discountofficeitems.com

Regards,

Jayne Sutcliffe

 

 

Business Response: Per the evidence we have provided you in the BBB website I will review this information with you.

I have attached pictures of the returned item as well as the freight paper work from Conway indicating the product was not damaged, but the customer just decided to refuse and cancel the order.

Also is attached the email with the freight company indicating what it cost to redirect the shipment.

Summary of complaint:

The customer contacted us in regard to her order, trying to find out where her product was.  We had informed her that her order had shipped and is currently with Conway the freight company.  We contacted the freight company in regards to her order and was informed that it was out for delivery.  The customer called back upset because the freight company showed up and informed her if they needed to take the product off of the truck for her there would be additional fees.  As stated on our website:  Truck shipments are tailgate/dock/curbside delivery only. The driver will bring the item to the rear of the truck but will not assist you in bringing the item inside. Should you need a lift gate to get the item off the truck, additional charges may apply.  The customer at that point was very upset refused and cancelled the order with the freight company.  She then called us back and informed us that the product was damaged and refused it due to damage.

We then contacted Conway to get proof of refusal due to damage, so we could take care of the refund to the customer.  When we contacted Conway they indicated to us that the product was not damaged and the customer refused the order, stated she cancelled the order with us.  The product was then returned back to our ** distribution center where the product was in one piece with no damage to it. (as the pictures show) 

Again as stated on our website: Orders cannot be canceled or changed once they are submitted. Due to our commitment to process orders quickly, once the checkout process is completed our warehouse is immediately notified to pick the order for shipment. The cost of return shipping will be deducted from any refund for refused shipments of undamaged products returned to shipper. Therefore, the customer was charged the outbound shipping of the $69 (this is our standard freight shipping charge) as well as the refusal fee of $107.89 that we incurred from the freight company for a total of $176.89 in freight charges.  This $176.89 is the amount we subtracted from the customers refund.


Please let me know if there is anything farther I can assist you with in this complaint.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.] Their response still does  not answer the question as to why I was informed by their customer service dept during the first phone call I had with them, that the item had not yet been delievered due to it being damaged in transit.

Neither they nor the freight company called me to arrange a lift gate (even if additional fees were applicable), I was never informed of who and when this was to be delivered to arrange a lift gate, so due to the fact that we were unable to get it off the truck - (HOW COULD I ACCEPT IT!)

Regards,

***** *********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was seeking an "oversized" binder. I noticed and have documented the dimensions of the "extended" vs "oversized" ****** ***** binders from amazon.com. I ordered the ************ "oversized" binder from this company since the cost was better, but received the binders with "extended" binder dimensions. This site did not state any dimensions besides what paper it recommended using. None of the binders had the typical ****** ***** front paper that would confirm the type of binder (strange coincidence?). When I contacted customer service, *** indicated they would arrange to have the box picked up. She was going to follow up and get back to me with the next steps. After I returned the call, the company sent me a return authorization email that indicated I would be responsible for shipping costs. This is not my understanding and not reasonable given the misrepresentation of the product. I emailed them indicated I wasn't happy with this and wanted them to respond within 24 hours. It has been over 4 days. I did leave a note on a purchase survey indicating I would contact the BBB if I didn't hear back from them so here I am.

Desired Settlement: I am happy to resend the package from **** or *** sites but want the shipping charges paid by this company and I want a full refund. I was happy the original customer service person seemed willing to do this but something happened in between and the ball has been dropped by their company. I understand mistakes happen and was understanding and reasonable. Their unwillingness to follow through with reasonable measures has left me less understanding. I also recommend they update their site with the actual dimensions and correct name for the binders they are offering. Thank you for your help!

Business Response: We have just contacted our customer ****** ******** on the phone and let her know that we are setting up a pick-up of her unwanted merchandise with *** at no cost to her.
She will be refunded the full purchase price for the binders and return shipping is free.  I apologize for any inconvenience for that order.

*** ******
*********
DOI, Inc.





Consumer Response:

Hello,

 

The email sent to me told me to update you if the company contacts me  regarding complaint number *******, but I didn't see where to do so.  This email is to let you know that Discount Office Items did contact me today and that they are having the package picked up in the next 24-48 hours.  I assume the refund will follow shortly.  If there are other ways to update you, please advise.  This case is not closed but they are making the first steps to resolution.

 

Thank you,

 

****** ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and look forward to the full resolution.  I put the binders outside yesterday morning as instructed and hope they will be picked up soon.  Thank you for your help with this matter. 

Regards,

****** ******

 

Consumer Response:

Good afternoon ********,

I had written in my note that I assumed the refund would be processed.  It was but I was not refunded the full amount.  I was charged $91.02 and only refunded $82.63.  This is a difference of $8.39.  Can you please follow up with the company and re-open the complaint as I'm not sure it should have been closed before full refund was issued.  I am disappointed that there are further issues with this order.

Thank you for your help,
****** ******

 

 

 

-----Original Message-----
From: ******** ******** *****************************
To: ********** ********************
Sent: Wed, Feb 8, 2012 9:42 am
Subject: FW: *******

Good morning,

 

Thank you,  I will note and close the complaint

 

Have a great day!

********

 

From: ******* **********
Sent: Wednesday, February 08, 2012 7:55 AM
To: ******** ********
Subject: FW: *******

 

Complaint *******

 

******* ********** | ********* **********

 

**** ************ **************** ****** ***************************** *********** * ***** **** *****

 

Wisconsin BBB

10101 W. Greenfield Ave

Suite 125

Milwaukee, WI  53214

 

From: ****************** ***************************
Sent: Monday, February 06, 2012 3:29 PM
To: info mailbox
Subject: *******

 

Hello,

 

The email sent to me told me to update you if the company contacts me  regarding complaint number *******, but I didn't see where to do so.  This email is to let you know that Discount Office Items did contact me today and that they are having the package picked up in the next 24-48 hours.  I assume the refund will follow shortly.  If there are other ways to update you, please advise.  This case is not closed but they are making the first steps to resolution.

 

Thank you,

 

****** ******

Business Response:

Thank you for your order.  Our refund system had held back the cost of the out-bound shipping for your order. 
However, I have adjusted your total refund amount to reflect the additional $8.39 and below is a copy of that transaction.
Added together the refund should equal 100% of the amount originally charged.



Name ****** ****** Email ****************** Transaction ID ***************** Invoice Number ****** Original payment $91.02 USD Amount Refunded by Seller $8.22 USD Fees Refunded by PayPal $0.17 USD Total Refund Amount $8.39 USD Help Note to Buyer Refund

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered mini-clip boards (6"x9") for $0.78 each. I received large clip boards (9"x12.5"). I contacted customer service via email and was told via email the product number was incorrect. I noticed in the return instructions said I was responsible for return shipping charges. I called customer service and was told I ordered the wrong item, therefore I was responsible. When I explained that I did not order the wrong item, the item I received costs $2.17 per clipboard and the ones I ordered were $0.78 per clipboard. She explained that the price I received was a special through "Ad Words". I don't care who the special was from...the fact remains what I ordered was some how mixed up with what was shipped. Whether "Ad words" had the wrong product number or when the order was in transition to Discount Office Items it was mixed up....either way I ordered the 6"x9" clipboards and THEY SENT THE WRONG ITEM!! I do not feel I should be responsible for return shipping on something I did not order!

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pay for return shipping.

Business Response: Regarding Order: *************.  The order was placed on-line from us and the product entered on the order was ********.  We clearly describe that item as a 

9" x 12.50" - Hardboard - Brown Sparco Clipboard.  If you have received that size board as you've said, that is a correctly filled  order.  Perhaps it was assumed the boards were the

small ones based on our great price. We had a great advertised special and you've purchased the larger board at about the price of the smaller ones.   You are welcome to our refund policy

of 100% refund for the unwanted merchandise, but we do not pay the return shipping.  Please return within 30 days for the refund.  Thank you for your order and have a great day.

Best regards,

*** ******

***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The price was listed for the 6x9 clipboards.  The pricing was through a third party ad - ** *****.  I believe it was listed on THEIR ad that the clipboard size was 6x9 with the incorrect product code.  I know what I saw - I double and triple checked it because I wanted to make sure the item I received was correct.  It is possible that the wrong description was listed on the item with the product code for the larger sized clipboard.  When I spoke to your customer service representative she was confused because she too said the clipboard I received was priced at over $2.00 per piece.  When she finally figured out what happened, she said it was a special through ** ***** and it was THEIR price.  


I stand by what I ordered....6"x9" clipboards for $0.77 a piece.  I believe the product description and product code were mismatched.  Mistakes happen....unfortunately it is YOUR mistake - not mine.  No where on my invoice or receipt does it give the description for what I ordered. I'm sure it is easily manipulated on your end to have this matter resolved in your favor.  


Regards,

**** ******

 

Business Response: We have reconsidered and have already emailed you two prepaid USP labels to print and use to return the unwanted two packages to us at no expense to you.
When we received the packages we will issue you a 100% refund of your full purchased price of $48.25 which includes shipping and sales tax.
We apologize for any inconvenience.

Best regards,
*** ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Thank you for reconsidering.    

Regards,

**** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/2/2011 Delivery Issues
1