Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers direct mail magazine subscriptions, mail order catalog products, and books.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Trusted Media Brands, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Trusted Media Brands, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 52 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

52 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 16 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 32
Total Closed Complaints 52

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Trusted Media Brands, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1966 Business started: 04/01/1965 in WI Business started locally: 04/01/1965 Business incorporated 11/06/2002 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Ruth Bilke, Customer Care Manager
Business Category

Magazine Sales by Mail Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Books - Wholesale All Other Publishers (NAICS: 511199)

Alternate Business Names
Birds & Blooms Cooking for Two Country Family Handyman Farm & Ranch Living Reader's Digest Magazine Taste of Home
Additional Information

Trusted Media Brands, Inc. publishes periodicals under various names such as Country Woman, Farm & Ranch Living, Taste of Home, and Reminisce. According to the company's offer, customers are offered a free introductory copy of one of the company's publications. The customer's subscription begins with the free issue. An invoice is enclosed with the free issue. IF CUSTOMERS DO NOT WISH TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE PUBLICATION, THEY MUST WRITE "CANCEL" ACROSS THE ACCOMPANYING INVOICE AND RETURN IT TO THE COMPANY.

Additional Information

Country Store is a division of Reiman Publications located at the same address.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Trusted Media Brands, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1610 N. 2nd Street Suite 102

    Milwaukee, WI 53212 (414) 423-0100 (800) 934-0977

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 5226

    Clifton, NJ 07015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Po Box 5226

    Clifton, NJ 07015

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This agency keeps sending me renewal notices for a Readers Digest magazine I DO NOT WANT anymore! They continue to send copies of the magazine and then request payment. I would like this harassment to shop. I try to contact them to cancel my subscription and I get routed around on the phone then it hangs up. Please help me cancel this harassment. Product_Or_Service: Readers Digest Subscription Account_Number: 00353778?

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: No further contact by the busi I do not want to be contacted by this company any more.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******,

 

After receiving this complaint, and accessing the subscription records for ********* ****, I found that she has an active subscription to Reader's Digest, that is paid through the October, 2018 issue.  According to our records, we have not received any orders from a third-party agency during the life of her subscription.  So, I called the daytime phone number provided, and spoke with *********'s daughter-in-law, who she is currently residing with. 

There may have been some confusion, where subscription offers were mistaken for bills, and *********'s family was not aware that she had an active, paid subscription.  They are now aware of this fact, and they have also been provided with my contact information, should ********* decide she wants to cancel the subscription in the future.  They will contact me directly going forward.

I hope this clears up any misunderstandings.

Sincerely,

**** *****

Customer Care

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

********* ****

5/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Account open with out my permission or authorization don't know how my information was stolen and put on account here's a account #403878 under my name ***** ****** I did call and Report i did not open account. I just don't what a bad credit report for something that's not mine.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Call Company find out how it gets stolen information and put on accounts for billing.

Business Response:

***** ******’s complaint was forwarded to my attention.

On February 23, 2016, an unpaid order for a one year subscription to Taste of Home was received via the Internet from ***************.  The offer to enter the sweepstakes for the All Clad Cookware AND order a trial subscription was accepted.  By accepting the offer, he agreed to receive a free issue of the Taste of Home magazine and a one year subscription for $10.00.  Instructions for cancelling the trial subscription were included in the offer.  (see highlighted area in attachment) 

The email included the opportunity to enter the sweepstakes only without ordering the magazine subscription. (see circled area on the attachment)

On March 14, 2016 an email was received at our processing center requesting that the order be cancelled.  The order was cancelled at that time.  The Feb/March 2016 and April/May 2016 issues were sent.  Mr. ****** can keep those with our compliments.  He should ignore any bills that may cross in the mail.  His credit will not be affected.

I hope this helps clear up any misunderstandings there may have been regarding the offer received. Again, I would like to apologize for the disappointments Mr. ****** has encountered with our company.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Customer Care

Taste of Home

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

2/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/8/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have spent almost 2 years asking for a complementary subscription to be discontinued. Multiple times assured it would stop. Then a second Health magazine also starts arriving. I asked again that both be stopped. Assured it would stop . Now 3 month again and still coming. The address was pulled from a physic*** directory in NB but instead is my home. I throw every one, out a wasteful disgrace to environment. A waste to your company.If we move it would appear these will just keep coming.Its very difficult to imagine a process so difficult to unsubscribe a product delivery that is not wanted. Calling and sending notes to editorial board just goes round and round. Calls direct just get a we can,t find you or I have a note to subscription to stop and it doesn,t. Then the "sale " of the address to another magazine not requested. These were established to go to an office or waitng room. This is neither and they just don,t get it. Either way one should be able to very effectively and compleltey have the ability to unsubscribe. I,m not kidding there are emails from well over a year to this effect .

Desired Settlement: Stop the subscriptions and review your unsubscribe process.

Business Response:

Tell us why here...

Our ******** office has left a message with the customer to explain the situation.  Her name has been removed from the list. 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** *****

 

I was contacted by the ******** branch.She is trying to resolve the issue once again. As yet there is no satisfactory conclusion until my subscription is removed from their database. This really pertains to the ******** office as far as I can see. Almost 2 years in the making to get a subscription stopped permanently! No satisfactory unsubscribe location on RD website or internally unless you are a personal payer to subscription. So how many business or complimentary copies floating out there to recycle bins. that are not required.?


11/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fraud. Birds & Blooms has sent an invoice to my wife requesting payment for a subscription that we did not order for a produce we have not received. Product_Or_Service: Magazine Account_Number: **********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: No further contact by the busi As described above the services and products stated in the invoice we're never received and never requested. The bill should be voided and no contact provided except to state that the bill has been voided.

Business Response:

 

******* *****’s complaint regarding an invoice for the Birds & Blooms magazine subscription was forwarded to my attention.

 

We processed an order for the trial subscription to Birds & Blooms magazine on December 16, 2014, because we received an order for the magazine via the Internet from email address *********************.  We mailed the Feb/March 2015 issue.  The order was suspended awaiting payment.

 

The offer that was accepted stated that the first issue would be sent, and if the customer did not wish to continue the magazine, the invoice should be returned with the word cancel marked on it and the customer would owe nothing. 

 

The order has been cancelled.  Please be assured that the *****’s credit will not be affected.  They should ignore any bills for $10.00 that may cross with the cancellation.

 

We hope this has explained the situation to ******* *****’s satisfaction as Birds & Blooms values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

 

Sincerely,

Marsha R*****

Birds & Blooms

Customer Care

5/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our family subscribes to Taste of Home magazine. We received a "free" book titled as a gift with an invoice showing $0.00 as the cost of the book and a shipping/handling fee of approximately $5.00. Although slightly odd to have to pay S/H for the "free" gift we sent in the $5.00. Unbeknownst to us sending in the S/H fee signed us up for a book club. I do not understand how sending in a check in response to a clearly labeled invoice indicating a S/H fee signed us up for a book club. We then received the next book and a bill for approximately $30.00. We could return it if we did not want it. I did not want to take time to return something I did not affirmatively sign up for. When I called to inquire about this I was repeatedly told to just return the book. I insisted on having some sort of verification of where I affirmatively signed up for this book and authorized such billing. None was provided to me because it did not exist. I was indebted to this corporation based on a S/H fee I paid, deceptive gifts, and otherwise devious business practices.

Desired Settlement: I can return the book to the post office but would like to be reimbursed for one hour's worth of my time, $40.00. I would also strongly suggest Taste of Home discontinue their deceptive marketing and "promotional" practices.

Business Response:

 

***** ****’s inquiry concerning the books she has received from Taste of Home has been received and forwarded to my attention. 

I would like to confirm how the orders for these books were received by Taste of Home, and clear up any misunderstandings there may be regarding the offers.  In July of 2014 our mail processing center received a prepaid order for the book 2014 Healthy Cooking.  As stated in the offer, when ordering this book at the special introductory price, ***** would automatically be enrolled to preview future books in the Healthy Cooking annual book series on a 30 day trial period with no obligation to buy and the option of canceling membership at any time, no questions asked.

In December of 2014 we notified Ms. **** that we would be sending the book 2015 Healthy Cooking.  for preview unless we were notified of her decision to cancel.  Instructions for canceling the book shipment were included with the letter.  We did not receive a cancellation notice from her, so we shipped the book to her on March 27, 2015.  She was invoiced for that book per the offer terms.  Please note that the back of each invoice includes instructions for returning the preview book if she did not wish to keep it.

On February 13, 2015, our mail processing center received an order for the 2015 Taste of Home Annual.  The offer stated that the book was free, but there was a $5.00 charge for shipping and handling.  We mailed the book on February 12, 2015, and have not received the payment as of today.  Accepting this offer also enrolled ***** in the program to preview future books in the Taste of Home annual book series.

In light of her letter, I have cancelled the enrollments to both series.  Two prepaid return labels are included to return the 2015 Taste of Home and the 2015 Healthy Cooking books at our expense. 

I hope this helps clear up any misunderstandings. I apologize for any disappointment ***** **** may have encountered with our company.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ******

Customer Care

 

 

Consumer Response: No, unfortunately this does not clear up any misunderstanding. This is still a manipulative and deceptive business practice and I still have not yet received any signed document where I enlisted into this book club. If the postal carrier will take the book without it fitting in my mail box, then I will return it. If not, I will not go to the post office (I do not think I should have to given this ridiculous process) but instead will file suit for the amount of the book plus S & H and any associated costs. Thank you, ***** ****

Business Response:

***** ****’s rebuttal concerning the books she has received from Taste of Home has been received and forwarded to my attention. 

A copy of the original order Ms. **** mailed to us was provided detailing the terms of the offer that she accepted.  By accepting the offer for the introductory 2014 Healthy Cooking Annual Recipes at the reduced price, Ms. **** was enrolled in our preview program for the Healthy Cooking Annual series.  There was no minimum number of books to be purchased, and the preview series could be cancelled at any time.  Notifications sent prior to subsequent books being shipped included instructions for cancelling the shipment if the book was not wanted.  Books could be returned at our expense.

We have not received the payment for the 2015 Taste of Home Annual, which was offered to Ms. **** for a $5.00 shipping fee.

Both series have been cancelled and no further books will be sent from these orders.  Prepaid return labels were provided for the return of the books at our expense.

 

Sincerely,

****** ******

Customer Care

4/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Taste of Home offered a FREE COPY of there magazine. I received the FREE COPY. Then I got a bill in the mail telling me I needed to pay for a 1 year subscription. I did not order a subscription just the FREE COPY. This is wrong and they are taking advantage of people. Also then threatening to turn it over to a credit and collections department. Not cool. Product_Or_Service: magazine Account_Number: ** **** ****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like Taste of Home to be contacted and made aware of false advertising and that they are taking advantage of people and threatening to take them to a collections department. They cant do that.

Business Response:

***** ******’s recent complaint regarding the subscription for the Taste of Home magazine was forwarded here for my attention.  Please accept my apology on behalf of Taste of Home for any concern or inconvenience she may have been caused.

 

We processed an order for the trial subscription to Taste of Home on August 14, 2014 because we received an order for the magazine via the Internet.  We mailed the September/October 2015 issue and the account was suspended awaiting payment.

 

The offer that Ms. ****** accepted stated that the first issue would be sent, and if the customer did not wish to continue the magazine, the invoice should be returned with the word cancel marked on it and the customer would owe nothing. 

 

The order has been cancelled, and Ms. ****** should be assured that her credit will not be affected.  She should ignore any bills for $12.00 that may cross with the cancellation.

 

We hope this has explained the situation to her satisfaction as Taste of Home values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

 

Sincerely,

****** ****** ***** ** ****

Customer Care

2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a bill for a magazine subscription that I did not order: 'Birds and Blooms'.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I do not want and did not order this magazine and I want the so-called subscription canceled. And for the billing and harassment stopped.

Business Response:

 

 

*** *****’s recent complaint regarding the subscription for the Birds & Blooms magazine was forwarded here for my attention.  Please accept my apology on behalf of Birds & Blooms for any concern or inconvenience he may have been caused.

 

We processed an order for the trial subscription to Birds & Blooms on January 12, 2015, because we received an order for the magazine at our mail processing center.  We mailed the February/March 2015 issue and the account was suspended awaiting payment.

 

The offer that Mr. ***** accepted stated that the first issue would be sent, and if the customer did not wish to continue the magazine, the invoice should be returned with the word cancel marked on it and the customer would owe nothing. 

 

The order has been cancelled, and Mr. ***** should be assured that his credit will not be affected.  He should ignore any bills for $12.98 that may cross with the cancellation.

 

We hope this has explained the situation to his satisfaction as Birds & Blooms values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

 

Sincerely,

****** ******

Birds & Blooms

Customer Care

 

12/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in April (?) 2014 I submitted a little card from a magazine to order a small (8" by 5 1/2") magazine with recipes and tear out cards within it. About 3 weeks later a full sized magazine arrived that I thought was junk mail and threw it away. Later, I received an invoice in the mail for the magazine I had ordered that (I thought) never came. It wasn't until weeks later that I realized the magazine had been sent in a different, much larger, format (the one I mis-took for junk mail and threw away). By the way, I ordered the smaller version so I could slip it in my purse. Since I never received another copy, I didn't pay the bill since most reputable companies allow one complementary copy of magazine in most cases. Today, after only receiving one copy, I received a letter saying I'm going to collections. It states in the letter "we've kept our part of the bargin" Misrepresentative isn't part of the bargin and only one copy has been received. I feel this is a con for me to pay $12.00 for what I don't want. It's a con because I don't want the product but because I have excellent credit will pay the bill online. BUYER BEWARE. I do expect a full refund for this hassle and I appreciate BBB helping me out with this matter. Account_Number: **********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Full refund

Business Response:

******* *****’ recent complaint regarding the subscription for the Taste of Home magazine was forwarded here for my attention.  Please accept my apology, on behalf of Taste of Home, for any concern or inconvenience she may have been caused.

We processed an order for the trial subscription to the Taste of Home magazine on February 20, 2014 when our mail processing center received the attached order.  We mailed the February/March 2014 issue of Taste of Home.  The order was suspended awaiting payment.

The offer that Ms. ***** accepted stated that the first issue would be sent, and if the customer did not wish to continue the magazine subscription, the invoice should be returned with the word “cancel” written on it and the customer would owe nothing.  As we did not receive a cancellation, bills were sent per the offer.

The small “magazine” that Ms. ***** had purchased was a special interest publication.  These publications contain recipes for a single theme (Ground Beef, Back to School, Freezer Meals, Smoothies, etc.), and are available for a limited period of time at retail businesses, not on a subscription basis.

I apologize that there was confusion over which publication Ms. ***** was ordering.  The Taste of Home subscription has been cancelled, and the September/October 2014 will be the last issue mailed.  Her credit will not be affected.  A refund card is being processed for $12.00, and Ms. ***** should receive the card in the next three weeks or so.  Attached to the card is a cardholder with instructions and tips to use to retrieve the funds from the card. 

We hope this has explained the situation to her satisfaction as Taste of Home values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Taste of Home

Customer Care

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* **** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

BBB

 

We were so kind to handle this complaint for me earlier this year, just an fyi, after all your hard work and min too, I have never received the money back for this magazine. Part of the resolution was to refund $12 in September, that money was never received.

 

My reason for sending this email is to let you know the company did not follow through with their agreement to refund my $12.00.  The status should be changed to something different than "resolved"

 

*******

 

 

Business Response:

******* *****’ rebuttal regarding the subscription for the Taste of Home magazine was forwarded here for my attention.  Please accept my apology, on behalf of Taste of Home, for any concern or inconvenience she may have been caused.

 

As she had paid for the original order with her VISA credit card, her card was credited $12.00 on August 4, 2014 when the order was cancelled.  I apologize that she was told that a refund card was sent.  That is our normal method of refunding, except when a credit card is used for the transaction.  She should be able to check her credit card statement and see a credit for $12.00 in early to mid August. 

 

We hope this has explained the situation to her satisfaction as Taste of Home values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

 

Sincerely,

****** ******

***** ** ****

Customer Care

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 4-23-14 - received postcard stating that I was "picked to receive" a free June issue of ***** * ****** magazine and a free booklet on backyard birding and further stating that "There's no risk or obligation to buy". 5-17-14 - Before I even received the magazine or booklet, a ***** *******, subscription services, via form letter, was asking for $13 payment. 6-3-14 - received free issue. Soon after, got another request for $12 payment. Decided I did not want to subscribe. 6-26-14 - received a "summary of account" for $13 payment. 8-1-14 - another $13 request for payment. 9-8-14 - received invoice for "Payment Past Due". 10-15-14 - got a letter stating "you requested a subscription", "we sent the magazine on the good faith and understanding that I would honor the invoice and pay it promptly", "we kept our part of the bargain", and if I don't pay immediately, they will "turn my account over to their credit and collection dept". I did not "request a subscription", only to receive a free issue with no obligation to buy. They never sent another issue. Their part of "the bargain" was to send an issue for me to look at, "FREE", with "NO OBLIGATION TO BUY". If they didn't get any response, it should be clear that I looked at their product and didn't want to subscribe. This method of trying to increase readership borders on an unfair and deceptive act or practice. State and federal statutes prohibit this. So disappointing. Product_Or_Service: DID NOT PURCHASE ANY PRODUCT

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) 1) Post on BBB website so others are aware of this magazine "offer".2) Tell Birds & Bloom to stop their "free" "no obligation to buy" offers via postcard if they are not going to honor such offer and go after people to pay if they don't respond to their offer. Very disturbing.

Business Response:

 

***** ********’s recent complaint regarding the subscription for the ***** * ****** magazine was forwarded here for my attention.  Please accept my apology on behalf of ***** * ****** for any concern or inconvenience he may have been caused.

 

We processed an order for the trial subscription to ***** * ****** on April 30, 2014, because we received an order for the magazine at our mail processing center.  We mailed the June/July 2014 issue.  The order was suspended awaiting payment.

 

The offer that Mr. ******** accepted stated that the first issue would be sent, and if the customer did not wish to continue the magazine, the invoice should be returned with the word cancel marked on it and the customer would owe nothing. 

 

The order has been cancelled, and Mr. ******** should be assured that his credit will not be affected.  He should ignore any bills for $13.00 that may cross with the cancellation.

 

We hope this has explained the situation to his satisfaction as ***** * ****** values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

 

Sincerely,

****** ******

***** * ******

Customer Care

 

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Please note that unless I missed it, I did not find anywhere on either part of the initial ***** * ****** post card offer on 4-23-14 (the portion which I sent back to ***** * ****** or the portion which I have in my possession) the purported statement "that the first issue would be sent, and if the customer did not wish to continue the magazine, the invoice should be returned with the word cancel marked on it and the customer would owe nothing."  Also, no such statement was included in any subsequent "payment invoices", from the first one to the last one.  Perhaps this business should consider making this statement boldly and clearly in future offers for a trial look at their magazine in order to avoid any misunderstanding and inconvenience.

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

 

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THEY CHARGED MY CREDIT CARD FOR SOMETHING I DID NOT ORDER. I CALLED, THEY CANCELLED, BUT WILL NOT STATE I WILL GET A REFUND. TWO CHARGES FOR $24.99. THE CHARGES WERE ON 9/17/14 FOR $24.99 (READERS DIGEST) THEN AGAIN ON 8/15/14 BY FAMILY HAND FOR $24.99 AND BOTH HAVE THE SAME ####-###-#### AND THEY CLAIM I ORDER SOMETHING, NOT SURE WHAT, WHEN I ORDERED A NUTRI-BULLET. I DID NOT APPROVE ANY ADDITIONAL PURCHASE, I WOULDN'T, MY HUSBANDS PLANT CLOSED AND OUR INCOME HAS BEEN DRASTICALLY REDUCED. I ONLY ORDER THE BULLET TO TRY TO LOWER MY BLOOD SUGAR. IT WAS RECOMMENDED BY MY ENDOCRINOLOGIST. HOW DO THEY GET AWAY WITH THIS?? I AM 63 YRS. AND CANNOT AFFORD CHARGES LIKE THIS.

Desired Settlement: I AM ONLY SEEKING A REFUND OF $49.98 BACK ON MY CARD A.S.A.P. I HAVE CONTACTED THEM TWICE AND I AM ALSO GONNA TRY TO E-MAIL THEM AT AN ADDRESS I GOT FROM THEIR C/S. THEY STILL WILL NOT PROMISE TO REFUND MY MONEY. I THINK SOMEONE SHOULD STOP THIS CREDIT CARD VIOLATION. A LOT OF PEOPLE MIGHT NOT CHECK CLOSELY TO SEE WHAT CHARGES ARE ON THEIR ACCT. AND JUST PAY IT. I WAS OUT OF TOWN FOR MONTH AND JUST DISCOVERED THE CHARGES AFTER REVIEWING MY STATEMENTS. THANK YOU

Business Response:

***** ********’s complaint regarding the credit card charges for Family Handyman and Reader’s Digest magazines was forwarded to my attention.

 

The charges for the magazines were made by a third party company, not Reader’s Digest and Family Handyman.  We did receive an order for Family Handyman on September 25, 2014, from ****** ***** *****  ** ****** **** ****  ***** ***  ******** **  *****  ###-###-####, a magazine clearinghouse.  We have not yet received an order for the Reader’s Digest magazine for the ********s.

 

The ********’s should contact the phone number on their charge statement to cancel the order and receive a refund.  Reader’s Digest and Family Handyman do not have their charge card information, and did not receive the payment for the magazine orders. 

 

Thank you for contacting us regarding this issue.  We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.  We hope this has explained the situation to your satisfaction, as Reader’s Digest and Family Handyman truly value their customers and works hard to keep their trust.

 

Sincerely,

****** ******

******** ****

Reader’s Digest

 

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a currant subscriber to your Family Handyman magazine I was shocked when I received a notice that I was delinquent and action would be taken against my credit rating. Upon my call to the book marketing service I found out that I had been placed on a automatic shipment list for books. There was no intent on my part to subscribe to anything other than your magazine and the fact that I did not take an affirmative action NOT to subscribe to this book service is a telling sign of what I consider a deceptive business practice.

Desired Settlement: Call and explain to me why you consider this good business.

Business Response:

**** ******’s recent inquiry concerning the book 2012 Family Handyman Annual has been received and forwarded to my attention.  I would like to start by apologizing for the disappointments he has encountered with our company.

I would like to confirm how this special offer from Family Handyman books was received, and hopefully clear up any misunderstandings there may be regarding the offer.  In April of 2103 we received a prepaid order for the book 2013 Family Handyman.  As stated in the offer, when agreeing to preview this book, he would automatically be enrolled to preview up to 2 books per year on a 30 day trial period with no obligation to buy, and the option of canceling membership at any time, no questions asked.

According to our records, his copy of 2013 Family Handyman was shipped on April 21, 2013.  In July of 2013 a notice was sent informing him that we would be sending the book 2012 Family Handyman Annual to preview unless we were notified of his decision to cancel.  Instructions for canceling the book shipment and a prepaid envelope were included.  When we did not receive a cancellation notice, we promptly shipped the book on October 13, 2013, expecting Mr. ****** was anxiously awaiting its arrival.

**** ******’s preview account has been cancelled.  A prepaid return label has been sent to him to return the book at our expense.  We have cleared the balance from the account, and ask that he ignore any future ****s for the book that may cross in the mail.  His credit will not be affected.

I hope this helps clear up any misunderstandings there may have been regarding the offer received. Again, I would like to apologize for the disappointments he has encountered with our company.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Customer Care

Family Handyman Books

Business Response:

**** ******'s rebuttal was forwarded to my attention.

We apologize that there was confusion about the offer that Mr. ****** accepted, which resulted in the unwanted book being mailed to him.

**** ******’s preview account has been cancelled.  We have cleared the balance from the account, and ask that he ignore any future ****s for the book that may cross in the mail.  His credit will not be affected.

I hope this helps clear up any misunderstandings there may have been regarding the offer received. Again, I would like to apologize for the disappointments he has encountered with our company.

Sincerely,

****** ****** ******** ****
Family Handyman Books

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

**** ******

 

 

 

6/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: taste of home keeps sending me their magazine and billing statement after a donation my daughter gave to special olympics. they called to say thank you, but I said I was not interested in recieving anymore magazines. now they sent a statement, as an active account, after I told them, I did not want anymore. I have mailed the magazine back with a letter stating my wishes. I feel it is a fraud way to get subscriptions Product_Or_Service: none Order_Number: don't know Account_Number: none

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Could you call them and tell them not to send anymore magazines or stements?

Business Response:

******** ******’s complaint regarding the Taste of Home magazine was forwarded to my attention.

Our order processing center received an order for a two year Taste of Home subscription for ******** ****** on October 31, 2013.  The order started with the November 2013 issue and will expire with the September/October 2015 issue.  The order was received from a third-party magazine sales agency:

**** *******                

*** ********* ****          

******    **  *****                       

###-###-####               

**** ******* is an independent magazine sales company.  Agencies such as **** ******* contact potential customers without our knowledge or consent, and provide the customer’s order information to a magazine clearinghouse so the magazine subscription can be fulfilled. 

No billing statements were sent from Taste of Home for the magazine subscription. 

Ms. ****** would need to contact **** ******* to cancel the subscription, and to obtain any refund for monies paid for the subscription.

I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Customer Care

Taste of Home

6/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They will not stop sending me forum emails after many phone call requests. They have blocked me from trying to remove my name from their forums. I had signed up for 3 email forums many months ago. I have tried and tried to remove my name from their forum emails. Nothing works. It is Taste of Home Community Forums. The particular forums are: Healthy Living Group Healthy Choices Cooking Hints and Tips My email address is: ********************** At first I sent emails to be removed and all were ignored..none were ever answered. I have made phone calls (at least 4) and received promises that they would stop sending emails but they are still coming...an average of 30 or more a day. This has been going on for nearly 5 months, maybe longer. I simply want them to stop flooding my email with emails I have requested repeatedly to have stopped. I cannot find any way to stop/block these unwanted emails.

Desired Settlement: I simply want them to stop sending me any and all email.

Business Response:

****** *******’s complaint regarding the receipt of Taste of Home Community Forum emails was forwarded to my attention.  I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

This problem has been brought to the attention of the group who manage our websites.  They are working to fix the problem. 

We hope this has explained the situation to her satisfaction, as Taste of Home truly values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Taste of Home

Customer Experience

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

I wish to keep this complain open until resolved.  I have made many phone calls to company and after many promises, nothing was resolved.  This needs to stay open till the emails stop.  They are still coming.  When the stop I will remove the complaint.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

5/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the center of County Woman was a card so you can subscribe to Country Women. I filled it out. There was no work about Midwest Living but thats what they sent me. I called a number I found in Midwest Living. I talked to Joudi, she hanged up on me. I mailed back Midwest Living an told them I don't want there magazine.

Desired Settlement: Send me Country Women. Thats what I subed to.

Business Response:

***** ******’ complaint was forwarded to my attention.  Midwest Living is not one of our family of magazines, and a card to subscribe to Country Woman would not have resulted in a magazine subscription to Midwest Living.  We do not have access to Midwest Living databases or subscription files.

I have placed an unpaid order for Country Woman for *****, at the price of $13.49 for one year, which is the offer in the latest Country Woman magazine.  A bill will be sent to Ms ******.

The first issue to be sent will be the April/May 2014 issue.  It should arrive in the next few weeks.  I am mailing the Feb/March 2014 issue to her so she will have an issue to read while waiting for the April/May 2014 issue.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.  We hope this has explained the situation to her satisfaction, as Country Woman truly values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Country Woman

Customer Experience

3/31/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received advertisement for an early renewal and Free Gift subscription in the amount of $19.98 for both. Sent a ck. to cover cost. My gift has never been delivered to the person I ask for it to be given. I contacted Reminisce Magazine and they informed me an early renewal for ME had been received....but not a gift subscription. They further stated I should deal with Magazine Discount Center at their New York address. I mailed a letter along with a copy of the original advertisement to them. The letter came back "undeliverable...unable to forward." So I contacted the NY State Atty. Office. They answered me saying it appeared the company named had ceased doing business, therefore they could not mediate my complaint. Also enclosed with their letter was Location Information suggesting I contact BBB.

Desired Settlement: Would like either my money refunded OR the free gift subscription honored.

Business Response: Dear Customer,   

We apologize. MagazineDiscountCenter.com only accepts orders placed online with a credit card. If you have sent a money order or check, please note they are sent directly to the publisher and NOT to us.
Any payments sent by mail to our facility (address below) is returned to the sender.   Please contact the publisher of your magazine to check on the status of your order if you have placed your order through mail. Most magazine numbers can be found on: www.magazine800.com.

Regards,
Customer Service
************************** *** ******** *** *** **** ****** **** ** *****  

Business Response:

****** ****’s complaint was forwarded to my attention. 

When Ms **** called Reminisce about her renewal and gift subscription, she would not have been directed to Magazine Discount Center unless she had mentioned that she received an offer or bill from them.

When our mail processing center receives an order, the order is imaged and processed by machine.  I requested a copy of the original order for Ms ****’s renewal and gift request.  When I received the copy of the order, Ms ****’s gift recipient information was not legible.  I have attached the copy that we received.

We apologize that we could not read the information for the gift, and therefore could not process it.  I would be happy to process the order if Ms **** would provide the gift recipient’s name and mailing address.  The information can be emailed to me at ********************, or Ms **** can reach me between 7:30 am and 3:30 am Central time, Monday through Friday, by calling ###-###-#### and asking for ******.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.  We hope this has explained the situation to her satisfaction, as Reminisce truly values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Reminisce

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ****

 

 

 

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two months ago I started getting this magazine. I didn't order it and I can't find a phone number to call to cancel it.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to cancel sending me these magazines. I didn't order them.

Business Response:

******** ******’s complaint regarding her Reader’s Digest magazine subscription was forwarded here to my attention.  We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

On November 27, 2013 we received an order from an independent magazine sales agency for a one year subscription to Reader’s Digest.  Per the order received, we mailed Reader’s Digest to Ms ******, starting with the January 2014 issue. 

The agency we received the order from was:

****** ***** *****          

** ****** **** ****     ***** ***                   

********   **  *****                       

###-###-####               

As the order was made through, and payment was remitted to this agency, Ms ****** should contact them if she wishes to cancel the subscription and obtain a refund for any funds paid for the magazine.

We sincerely hope this has explained the situation to Ms. ******’s satisfaction, as Reader’s Digest truly values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.  
 
Sincerely,

****** ******
******** **** *********
Reader’s Digest

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used to subscribe to Taste of Home magazine, several years ago. I stopped. This summer, I received two cookbooks in the mail. I didn't ask for them. I didn't want them. I didn't keep them.I mailed the cookbooks back within the 30 day period noted on the letter that came with them. I then started receiving requests for payment for those cookbooks. Repeatedly. I ignored them. I finally opened a request for payment that stated they were going to submit it to a collection agency. I wrote them a letter and told them to check their records as not only did I not ask for these two books, but I actually returned them in their original packaging.I have received another letter, asking me to "be a good customer" and pay my bills. I owe this company nothing. They stated in this letter that the next letter I will receive will be from ***** ***** ******* ***** a collections agency.I am tired of being harassed by a company I don't do business with. I will never do business with them again. When you send an unsolicited gift, you can't expect payment. I was kind enough to return both gifts. The harassment needs to stop. Immediately.

Desired Settlement: I would like Taste of Home Books to stop the harassment and the intimidation and the threatening letters. I owe them nothing. They owe me an apology.

Business Response:

**** * ******’s complaint was forwarded to my attention.  I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

After checking Ms. ******’s account, I found that we had shipped the book 2013 Holiday & Celebrations Annual on November 22, 2013, because we had received an online order for the book, along with a credit card payment.  On December 23, 2013, we received notification that the book had been returned, and we credited the account with the return, and credited her credit card $19.99.

There was an open balance on Ms. ******’s account for two books shipped in 2011.  The 2011 Taste of Home Christmas Annual was sent to Ms. ****** because we received an online order for the book on September 16, 2011.  The book was shipped on September 29, 2011 with an invoice.  We did not receive the returned book or notification from Ms. ****** that the book had been returned, so additional invoices were sent.  The Best of Country Brownies had been shipped on July 28, 2011, because Ms. ****** had ordered a previous book, enrolling in a preview program for future books.  We did not receive the returned book or notification that the book had been returned, so additional invoices were sent.

We have removed the balance due for the 2011 Taste of Home Christmas Annual and the Best of Country Brownies as Ms ****** has stated that the books were returned.  She should ignore any bills that may cross in the mail.  Ms ******’s account has a zero balance, and her credit has not been affected.

We hope this has explained the situation to her satisfaction, as Taste of Home Books truly values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Taste of Home Books

Customer Experience

2/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approximately a few months ago I received a book titled, The Family Handyman, from the business. I did not request the book in any form or manner. It came most unexpected. I was billed $25.98, which included $5.99 for shipping and handling. I was informed I could return it, but then I would have to go to the post office, which is not close, and spend at least $5.99, if the return shipping cost is the same as the billing amount, to return a book I did not order nor desire.This weekend I received a statement to pay the business $25.98 and in the back it said, "Thank you for placing the order with us", which I did not do.I am reporting this matter because I do not appreciate having to be subjected to this type of sales practice, which I consider highly unethical. My request to the BBB is if the company wants their book back, which is in the original package unopened, they can make arrangements to have the book picked up from our home.

Desired Settlement: My request to the BBB is if the company wants their book back, which is in the original package unopened, they can make arrangements to have the book picked up from our home.

Business Response:

******* ***********’s recent inquiry concerning the book 2012 Family Handyman Annual has been received and forwarded to my attention.  I would like to start by apologizing for the disappointments he has encountered with our company.

I would like to confirm how this special offer from Family Handyman Books was received, and hopefully clear up any misunderstandings there may be regarding the offer.  Previously, we received notice that he was interested in previewing the book 2013 Family Handyman for 30 days.  As stated in the offer, when agreeing to preview this book, he would automatically be enrolled to preview up to 2 books per year on a 30 day trial period with no obligation to buy, and the option of canceling membership at any time, no questions asked.

According to our records, his copy of 2013 Family Handyman Annual was shipped and payment was received.  We notified him that we would be sending the book 2012 Family Handyman Annual for preview unless we were notified of his decision to cancel.  Instructions for canceling the book shipment and a prepaid envelope were included with the letter.  When we did not receive a cancellation notice, we promptly shipped the book expecting Mr. *********** was anxiously awaiting its arrival.

Mr. ***********’s preview account has been cancelled.  Instructions for returning the book are included on the back of each invoice, as well as information on obtaining a return label.  A prepaid return label has been sent to Mr. *********** so he can return the book at our expense.  The balance due has been cleared from his account, and he should ignore any bills that may cross in the mail.  His credit will not be affected.

I hope this helps clear up any misunderstandings there may have been regarding the offer received. Again, I would like to apologize for the disappointments he has encountered with our company.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Customer Care

Family Handyman Books

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* ***********

 

 

 

1/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used to subscribe to Taste of Home magazine, several years ago. I stopped. This summer, I received two cookbooks in the mail. I didn't ask for them. I didn't want them. I didn't keep them.I mailed the cookbooks back within the 30 day period noted on the letter that came with them. I then started receiving requests for payment for those cookbooks. Repeatedly. I ignored them. I finally opened a request for payment that stated they were going to submit it to a collection agency. I wrote them a letter and told them to check their records as not only did I not ask for these two books, but I actually returned them in their original packaging.I have received another letter, asking me to "be a good customer" and pay my bills. I owe this company nothing. They stated in this letter that the next letter I will receive will be from North Shore Agency, Inc., a collections agency.I am tired of being harassed by a company I don't do business with. I will never do business with them again. When you send an unsolicited gift, you can't expect payment. I was kind enough to return both gifts. The harassment needs to stop. Immediately.

Desired Settlement: I would like Taste of Home Books to stop the harassment and the intimidation and the threatening letters. I owe them nothing. They owe me an apology.

Business Response:

**** *****’s recent inquiry concerning the books 2013 Best of Country Cooking Annual, 2013 Healthy Cooking Annual, and the 2014 Taste of Home Annual has been received and forwarded to my attention.  I would like to start by apologizing for the disappointments she has encountered with our company.

I would like to confirm how this special offer from Taste of Home Books was received, and hopefully clear up any misunderstandings there may be regarding the offer.  She had ordered previous editions of these books, via the Internet, through special offers in our Shop Taste of Home division.  As stated in these offers, when agreeing to purchase these books, she would automatically be enrolled to preview future books on a 30 day trial period with no obligation to buy, and the option of canceling membership at any time, no questions asked.  A letter was sent with each of the books explaining the preview program.

Prior to shipping each of the books, the 2014 Taste of Home Annual in February of 2013, the 2013 Healthy Cooking in March of 2013, and the 2013 Best of Country Cooking in May of 2013, we sent a letter to her stating that we would be sending the book for preview unless we were notified of her decision to cancel.  Instructions for canceling each book shipment and a prepaid envelope were included with each letter.  When we did not receive a cancellation notice, we shipped the books expecting Ms. ***** was anxiously awaiting their arrival.

We did not receive the returned books at our warehouse.  Whether they were lost in the mail, misdirected by the Post Office, or arrived without the paperwork identifying who returned the books, the invoices received by Ms. ***** indicated that the returned books had not been received.  On December 30, 2013, when we received correspondence from Ms. ***** stating that the books had been returned, we credited Ms. ***** with the return of the books, even though we had not received the books.  The account now has a zero balance, and the preview programs have been cancelled.  She should ignore any bills that may cross in the mail.  Her credit will not be affected.

I hope this helps clear up any misunderstandings there may have been regarding the offers received.  Again, I would like to apologize for the disappointments she has encountered with our company.

Sincerely,

****** ******

******** ****

Taste of Home Books

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

**** *****

12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother has being living in a health care facility since July. In November she started receiving Taste of Home magazine along with a bill. I have tried returning the magazines and bills with "Return to Sender" written on the label and that has not worked. I have tried to locate a phone number to call them but have not been successful. I am not sure why they started sending these to her because she could not have ordered them. Product_Or_Service: Taste of Home Magazine Order_Number: *************** Account_Number: ***************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Please remove my mother's name from your calling, billing and mailing lists and cancel whatever subscription you think you have for her. I would like them to stop this immediately. We are not asking for a settlement, just remove her or cancel her from their records. Thank you.

Business Response:

******* *******’s complaint was forwarded to my attention. 

The Taste of Home magazine was being sent to Leona ******* from account ********* because we had received an order from a third-party magazine sales company, **** *******.

I called ******* so I could locate her mother’s account, and gave her the phone number for **** *******.  She called **** ******* and confirmed that the subscription had been placed as a bill-me, and had been cancelled  by **** *******.  The account has been cancelled on our end as well, and the December 2013 issue was the last issue to be sent to her mother.

Ms ******* has my phone number in case she has any other questions or concerns about her mother’s account. 

****** ******

Customer Care

Taste of Home

12/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delivery is terrible, customer service even worse. I have had missing issues or delivered last day of month. I had subscribed to Country and Country Extra. I had been a Birds & Blooms customer for years. Name, subscription dates, etc. are all correct, as per both our checks. Told issues would be mailed or added on to the end. I was told to contact the post office to see what was going on. I have sent numerous unanswered emails to both Reiman and Reader's Digest. Cancelled the 2 accounts, got a DEBIT card, after asking twice for the refund. Not sure if I got what's due. I sort of doubt it, since one went into the year 2015. Debit card had to be "authorized" first by calling a 1-800 #. A check would have been easier than I could just deposit it. I am just plain irritated.

Desired Settlement: Want my correct refund on BOTH magazines

Business Response:

****** *********’s complaint regarding her Country and Country Extra magazine subscriptions was forwarded to my attention.  I apologize for any inconvenience she has experience with her magazine subscriptions.

I checked Ms *********’s magazine accounts and found that we had extended her Country Extra magazine subscription by one issue, and her Country magazine subscription by one issue and sent two back issues to her due to delivery issues. 

We have not received any of her magazines back from the Post Office due to delivery problems. The magazines are received by the Post Office in ample time for timely delivery.  Unfortunately, once they are in the hands of the Post Office, we have no control over when the magazines are delivered.  We have not had complaints from other customers regarding this problem.

Our refund process is to issue a refund in the form of a debit card.  One Chase refund card was sent for the unserved term ofeach subscription when Ms ********* cancelled her subscription. 

The Country Extra refund was $3.21, for the remaining two issues.  The Country Extra refund was for $12.84 for the eight remaining issues. 

The card ending in 7600 for $12.84 was activated.  Ms ********* can take that card to her bank and ask that the money from the card be handed to her.  The refund card ending in 2554 for $3.21 has not been activated.  If Ms ********* has received that card, she can call to activate it and take it to her bank to receive the money.  If she has not received the card, she can contact me at ###-###-#### between 8 am and 3pm CST Monday through Friday and ask for ******.  I will then have the card reissued.

Again, I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. 

Sincerely,

****** ******

Customer Care

Country

Consumer Response:

I  received neither the back issues or got the 2nd debit card.  The 1st debit card ($12.84) was used.  I was told by a Reiman rep on-line that the one magazine was still active.  I am being told different stories.  At this point, I want neither and I will no longer do business with Reiman.  I want to be taken off all their mailing lists completely.  I want no emails, no propaganda to buy more magazines, their catalogs. I have been a Reiman customer for YEARS and you would think that they could run their customer service better.


 Thank you for your time.



Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *********

 

 

Business Response:

Ms *********’s rebuttal was forwarded to my attention.

We have removed Ms ********* from our mailing lists.  Once the mail already in the system has been processed, no more mail will be generated to be sent to her name. 

All of her magazine accounts have been cancelled.  The last issue of Country sent was the Dec/Jan 2014 issue.  The last one of Country Extra was the January 2014 issue.

Again we apologize for the problems she had with the delivery of her magazines. 

Another refund card for $3.21 has been issued.  If she does not receive this card by Jan 7, 2013, she can call me at ###-###-#### to have it reissued.

****** ******

Customer Care

Country

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a bill from "Taste of Home" magazine threatening me with a collection agency. They said I ordered magazines but I have not. I received a bill from "Taste of Home" magazine threatening to turn me over to collection agency. I sent them the $10 they were demanding but I did not request a subscription and I have never received the magazine.

Desired Settlement: Since I never ordered any magazines and never received any magazines, then I want my $10 returned to me.

Business Response:

******* ******’s complaint regarding the Taste of Home magazine was forwarded to my attention.

We processed an order for the trial subscription to Taste of Home magazine on May 19, 2013 because we received an order for the magazine via the Internet from email address ********************.  We mailed the June/July 2013 issue.  The order was then suspended awaiting payment.  The offer had stated that the first issue would be sent, and if the customer did not wish to continue the magazine, the invoice should be returned with the word cancel marked on it and the customer would owe nothing. 

Our standard procedure when processing free issue requests is to send the free issue along with the first invoice requesting payment.  Subsequent bills are then sent if we do not receive either a cancellation request or a payment.  When we received the payment on October 14, 2013, the November 2013 and December 2013 issues were sent.

As Ms ****** has not received any issues, we are cancelling the subscription and issuing a refund card for $10.00.  Instructions for using the card are on the paper the card is mailed with.  If she receives any magazines, she can keep them at no charge.

We hope this has explained the situation to her satisfaction, as Taste of Home truly values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Taste of Home

Business Response:

******* ******’s rebuttal regarding the Taste of Home magazine was forwarded to my attention.

We processed the order for the trial subscription to Taste of Home magazine on May 19, 2013 because we received an order for the magazine via the Internet from email address ********************.  We mailed the June/July 2013 issue with a bill attached and suspended the magazine subscription, waiting for either a cancellation or payment.

When we received the payment on October 14, 2013, the magazine was resumed and the November 2013 and December 2013 issues were sent.

As Ms ****** has not received any issues, we cancelled the subscription and issued a refund card for $10.00.  Instructions for using the card are on the paper the card is mailed with.  The refund card is being mailed this week. 

If she receives any magazines, she can keep them at no charge.

We hope this has explained the situation to her satisfaction, as Taste of Home truly values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Taste of Home

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* ******

12/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order two of their books called "Recipes Across America. One was order by mistake, because, it took two months to receive an e-mail conforming by order. When I finally receive the books, I took one back to the post office unopened and had them to return the book. Then about two weeks later, I received another one of their books "Recipes Across America" which I did open the box and on the shipping paper in the box, I showed that I was charged for three of their books. I sent the book back for which I paid for. I have written them one letter about two weeks ago, explaining that I've sent two books back and that I do not owe them anything. I did not receive an response. I receive another bill stating that If I they did not receive payment by November 30 that they would try further collections measures. I wrote them another letter explaining again about the book, and that I was going to file an complaint with the BBB and that if this bill was sent to an collections agency and against by credit, that I would sue their company. I feel that it is not the Taste of Home Company themselves, but, the Book Marketing Services that they have selling their cookbooks. I love their magazines and their recipes, but, I will never order another one of their books anymore. I am not exactly for sure about the first two dates were, so, they may be wrong.

Desired Settlement: I want them to quit sending me a bill, because, I am not paying 24.99 for a book that I do not owe for. And that the Taste of Home Company needs to check with their book marketing services and to see how they are doing their customers.

Business Response:

 

******* ****’s complaint regarding the Recipes Across America cookbooks has been forwarded to my attention.

After checking her account, I found that we received two orders for the cookbook on June 3, 2013, via the Internet from email address ***********************  We shipped the books on July 25, 2013.  Two ship confirmation emails were sent on July 26, 2013.  We received a third order for the Recipes Across America on August 5, 2013 via the Internet from email address **********************.  An order confirmation email was sent on August 7.  The order shipped on August 20, 2013, and a ship confirmation email was sent August 21, 2103.  We were moving our warehouse in this summer, which resulted in delays in book availability and shipping.

We never received the returned books and invoices were sent.  On November 21, 2013, we received notification that two books had been returned, and credited the account for the returns.   The account has a zero balance.  A zero balance letter has been sent to her for her records.   Ms **** should ignore any bills that may cross in the mail.  Her credit will not be affected. 

Again, I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. 

****** ******

Customer Care

Taste of Home Books

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* ****

I do agree with the decision, but, they are still wrong with the number of books I order, one was by e-mail and one by mail. And I did not order a third. I just want to make it clear about that.

 

12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unsolicited mailing for entry to a sweepstakes along with offer to start book club membership. Mailer clearly stated "Check the appropriate box if accepting this offer". I did NOT check the box, which was the explicit instruction on how to enter without purchase/membership (have photo of submitted document). They signed me up anyway, as I received a book several weeks later along with a bill of $10 for that book. Had to call to deactivate books on approval membership and also send the book back.

Desired Settlement: This was a substantial waste of my time due to their actions. At best, they are willfully negligent in processing their forms, but I believe much more likely it is a knowing scheme to get more people enrolled into their program.

Business Response:

***** *******’s complaint regarding the book Reminisce Life in the Fantastic 40’s was forwarded to my attention.

After we received Mr *******’s complaint, we checked and found that, due to an error, some sweepstakes entries were incorrectly processed as orders.  We have worked with the mail processing team to prevent this error in the future.  We thank Mr ******* for bringing this to our attention, as we never intended to send the books to anyone who only wanted to enter the sweepstakes.

We truly apologize for the error, and have cleared Mr *******’s account of the balance due.  A zero balance letter has been sent for his records.  If he has not returned the book, he can keep it with our compliments.  If he has returned the book, we would be happy to send him another, free of charge.

We hope this has explained the situation to his satisfaction, as Reminisce Books truly values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Reminisce Books

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I have not returned the book yet, but as I have no desire to keep the book I will return it at my convenience.  The company has already provided a prepaid USPS mailing label.

Much thanks for the BBB's assistance in bringing this matter to their attention and facilitating this resolution.  When I personally called the company to bring this matter to their attention, I was handled courteously and provided with a means to return the book, but I was not left with the impression that the underlying issue would be investigated.

Regards,

 

***** *******

 

 

 

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I belonged to several of their emailed newsletters, and no longer wanted to receive them, as I didn't find them useful: I used/was interested in very few of their recipes. I went into my email preferences on their website & un-subscribed from all newsletters, receiving a confirmation that preferences were updated. Then, as each newsletter continued to arrive, I un-subscribed from them individually: each time getting a confirmation that I would no longer receive, it takes 72 hours to dis-continue, I might receive one more in that time, but it would not continue. I contacted their customer service dept via email each week. This is my fourth week of continuing to receive them: I contacted them 4 weeks in a row, asking for confirmation that I would no longer receive anything from their organization. I never heard a reply. I just do not want to receive their newsletters any longer: I don't think this is an unreasonable request, nor do I think this should be so difficult to attain.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Not applicable I do not want to receive their newsletters any longer: I don't think this is an unreasonable request, nor do I think this should be so difficult to attain, nor do I think this should have taken this long to resolve. I just want them to send me a confirming email that this issue is resolved, and I will no longer receive their newsletters or emails.

Business Response:

***** ********’s recent inquiry concerning emails she is receiving was forwarded to my attention.  I would like to start by apologizing for the disappointments she has encountered with our company.

I added *********************** to our Do Not Email list.  If she receives any emails after 72 hours, she should contact us.  It could be that she has another email address forwarding to her sbcglobal address.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Customer Care

********************

11/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After the company mistakenly established two separate accounts in my name, I received two identical books in the mail about a month apart. I contacted them and they assured me this would not happen again. They sent me a return label to return the duplicate book, and now, over a month after returning the book, I have received a letter from their Collection Manager threatening me with "more efforts to collect payment" and "forfeiture of your Taste of Home Books customer benefits" if I do not pay for the duplicate book I have already returned.I have sent emails to the company at rdservice@custhelp.com and bookcustomerservice@reimanpub.com explaining what happened and have yet to receive a response from them.

Desired Settlement: I would like ********** ******* ***** ******* to assure me in writing the company has received the returned duplicate book and that I owe nothing further. I would also like to be removed from future mailings of Taste of Home, Simple and Delicious, and Reiman Publications once my prepaid subscriptions expire.

Business Response:

******** ******’s recent complaint regarding the Taste of Home Annual Recipes was forwarded to my attention.  Please accept my apology, on behalf of Taste of Home Books, for any concern or inconvenience she may have been caused.

On April 12, 2013, our mail processing center received an order for the 2013 Taste of Home Annual Recipes to be sent to *** ******.  The book was sent per the offer.  On June 24, 2013 our mail processing center received an order for the same book to be mailed to ******** ******, and the book was sent to her per the offer.

We sent Ms ****** a prepaid return label to return the book at our expense.  She is still being billed because we have not yet received the returned book.  As she states that the book was returned, we have cleared the balance for the book.  Ms ****** should be assured that her credit will not be affected.  She should ignore any bills for the book sent from account **** **** that may cross in the mail.

I have cancelled account **** **** and marked it to reject any new orders.  Hopefully this will prevent duplicate shipments in the future.  The active account is **** **** under the name of ***.

We hope this has explained the situation to her satisfaction as Taste of Home values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Taste of Home

Customer Care

Business Response:

******** ******’s rebuttal regarding the Taste of Home Annual Recipes was forwarded to my attention.  Please accept my apology, on behalf of Taste of Home Books, for any concern or inconvenience she may have been caused.

Unfortunately, our database is not able to distinguish between two different names for the same address, and because we received the orders under the name of *** ****** and ******** ******, two accounts were established, and the books were mailed per the offers accepted.  Enclosed are copies of both orders.

Both of Ms ******’s product accounts have been cancelled and closed.  We have removed her from our contact lists.  As she stated the most recent books have been returned, we have cleared the balance due for her accounts.  She should ignore any bills that may cross in the mail.  Her subscription accounts have not been affected.

Returns using our prepaid return labels are received and processed daily. 

We hope this has explained the situation to her satisfaction as Taste of Home values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Taste of Home

Customer Care

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I accept the outcome, but not their response.  Again, no blame taken by the company.  It was the customer's fault.  The customer is always wrong.  The checkmark they used as permission to send me a duplicate book was not a checkmark made by myself.  But if that is how this company does business, so be it.  I'm glad I'm finished with them.

Regards,

 

******** ******

11/2/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for the Reader's Digest Diet Book/Cookbook/Dining Guide on June 30, 2013. It has been 4 months. The only item I received was the bill. I have contacted Reader's Digest through email and phone call. I received a response that my books shipped September 9th and would arrive in 7-9 days. It is now October 19th. I called and was told my items were shipped and I will receive them soon. I am very frustrated with this company. My last email to them was around October 9th and I have not received a response from them. I did make a partial payment of $24.24 when the bill arrived thinking my books were being shipped. (They cashed my check)

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of my partial payment of $24.24. I do not want the books or have anything else to do with Reader's Digest.

Business Response:

****** ******’s recent complaint regarding her order for the Digest Diet books was forwarded to my attention.  Please accept my apology, on behalf of Reader’s Digest, for any concern or inconvenience she may have been caused.

The order was processed for the Digest Diet book, Digest Diet Cookbook, and Dining Out Guide on June 30, 2013.  Ms ****** had inquired about the ship date on August 25, 2013, and the books were still out of stock at that time.  We shipped the book when we received them in stock on September 6, 2013, sending a notification email to Ms ******.  We received a payment of $24.24 on September 18, 2013. 

As Ms ****** has stated the books were not received, we cleared the balance due.  A refund, in the form of a debit card, for $24.24, is being processed for Ms ******.  She should receive this card in the next three weeks or so.  When she receives the card, she should follow the instructions on the letter which accompanies the card.  The easiest way to receive the money would be for her to call the number on the back of the card to activate the card, and then bring the card to her local bank and ask for the money to be handed to her.

The order has been cancelled, and Ms ****** should be assured that her credit will not be affected.  She should ignore any bills for the balance of the order that may cross with the cancellation.

We hope this has explained the situation to her satisfaction as Reader’s Digest values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Reader’s Digest

Customer Care

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from the company still does not answer my question.  Why have I not recieved my books?  They do indicate the books were on back order, but were shipped 9/6/13 once they came in.  As of today, 10/21/13, I have not received them.  How long would I have had to wait? When I ordered the books in June, I choose the payment upon delivered option.  I appreciate that they will refund my payment, but disappointed that I never received the product. 

Regards,

****** ******

 

 

Business Response:

****** ******’s rebuttal regarding her order for the Digest Diet books was forwarded to my attention.  Please accept my apology, on behalf of Reader’s Digest, for any concern or inconvenience she may have been caused.

We shipped the books to Ms ****** on September 6, 2013.  She should have received them within 15 business days of that date.  We did not receive them back as returned.  They were sent to the same address as the bill that she received. 

In her original complaint Ms ****** stated that she did not receive the books and did not want the books, so we refunded her partial payment instead of reshipping the books and charging her for the balance. 

We hope this has explained the situation to her satisfaction as Reader’s Digest values its customers and works hard to keep their trust.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Reader’s Digest

Customer Care

9/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I can now say I made a mistake by subscribing to Family Handyman magazine that Reader's Digest is offering by listing a sweepstakes notice. Although this magazine may offer helpful information, I find it agonizing to deal with them as I am bombarded with bills. I let them know by phone or e-mail that I already paid for a full year, so far they are not listening. I have received several notices to pay up. I am now at my wit's end and need these dishonest people to stop their fraudulent practice.

Desired Settlement: They must cease immediately to send me bills and never contact me again. Better yet, I want them to cancel my subscription and refund my money now.

Business Response:

******** ******’s complaint was forwarded to my attention.  We apologize for the confusion over the subscription offer.

Ms ****** is being billed because between August 9, 2013 and September 29, 2013 she placed 9 unpaid online orders for the magazine subscription by entering the Garage Sweepstakes.  Even though she paid for one order, she was being billed for the other unpaid orders.

We have cancelled all of her unpaid orders, as well as the paid order.  Her credit card will be credited $12.78 in the next three business days.  She should ignore any invoices that may cross in the mail.  Her credit will not be affected.

When entering the Garage Sweepstakes, there is an option to click to enter the sweepstakes only, without accepting the free issue order enrolling the customer for a magazine subscription.  This is explained in the email, on the form just above the fields for entering her name and address.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Customer Care

Family Handyman

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******** ******

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Trusted Media Brands, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart