BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers lawn care services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Naturescape Lawn and Landscape Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Naturescape Lawn and Landscape Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Naturescape Lawn and Landscape Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 08, 1991 Business started: 12/20/1985 in WI Business started locally: 12/20/1985 Business incorporated: 03/12/1997 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Baas, Branch Manager Mr. Jeff Bauer, Regional Manager Mr. Steve Bauer, Regional Manager Mr. Jim Durgan, Vice President Mr. Todd A, Furry, President Mr. Scott Heiman, Branch Manager Mr. Michael Naumann, Branch Manager Mr. Pete Nelson, Branch Manager Mr. Jason Rudd, Branch Manager Mr. Kerry Smith, Regional Manager Mr. John Terrence, Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Todd A, Furry, President
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Tree Service Weed Control Service Snow Removal Service Tree Service - Pruning Landscape Maintenance Lawn & Tree Care Snow Removal Service - Commercial Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)

Alternate Business Names
Naturescape, Inc.
Additional Information

Naturescape's lawn care program consists of five applications per year. No written contract is required. The customer has the option of renewing the company's service from year to year.

Industry Tips
Pest Control Services

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Naturescape provided lawn services at my residence last year (2013). During one of their application of product an area of my lawn was given too much product which resulted in the grass turning brown and this area died. I contacted Naturescape within days of the application to notify them of the problem. I was told someone would come out and take a look. I was notified that the lawn would come back in two weeks and if it didn't they would take care of it. Two weeks later there was no change in the area that was dead and I called to have Naturescape come back to my residences to fix the problem. They said they would be out to correct it and never showed up. I called them several more times and they never responded. This spring (2014) I was contacted by them to renew their service which I declined to do but brought up the problem from last year. Within the past month the manager called to tell me that they would come out this year and fix the area that was effected but still has not shown up to correct the issue. Naturescapes warranty states "Your Naturescape® specialist is committed to making you happy with our service and your lawn and landscape. If you are not completely satisfied with the results of our services or you have any questions or concerns, please call your area branch office and we will be happy to take care of them within 72 hours".

Desired Settlement: Fix the effected area of my lawn.

Business Response: Naturescape apologizes that this matter hasn't been resolved.  It is important to us that are customers are happy with their lawn, and our service.  Our branch manager did contact Mr **** today and confirmed that he will be out tomorrow to repair the areas.  We were unable to repair the area sooner this spring, due to the weather.  We apologize again that this matter wasn't resolved last fall.  

3/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a loyal, on-time payment customer of naturescape. This year, I paid 1/2 of my annual fees. When I called to cancel I was told it would take 6-8 weeks to get the refund? This is absolutely crazy. When I paid, Naturescape got the money that day. 6-8 weeks is horrible.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back!

Business Response: Naturescape apologizes for the delay on your refund.  We appreciate the many years of service, and would be happy to take care of any lawn care needs in the future.  We will process your refund today or Monday, and have your refund to you within a few business days.  If you have any questions or concerns, please call.

 
Thank you

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed up for service in spring for there 5 step lawn service. sent them a check for the $239.00 and awaited the service, came to be about late may to early June i called them and asked if they were going to complete the service i had paided for and they said yes that because the spring was so wet they were behind. They sent someone out about a week later to do it, then we waited until begininng of July and had to contact them again to see if they were coming out to do the second of 5 steps and they again said that they were so far behind and they would get to it. I then contacted the Office and requested to talk with the ******** ******* (that's what they called him name was ****?) they said he was not in and would call me back, well that call never came and as a matter of fact I called the office a number of times and at different times of the day and he was always not available to talk and would have to call me back (again the call never came). So here it is Spetember and we have only had 2 appilcations of the 5 step program, and called the office and guess what He is not available to talk again and will have to get back to me. At this time I do not want their service but a full refund.

Desired Settlement: Refund-Cash

Business Response: We apologize for the problems that our customer had with their service.  The customer was contacted on 9/05/2013.  We agreed to refund the full amount of what was prepaid for our lawn care service.  In addition, as a sign of good faith, we offered to aerate and overseed the lawn free of charge.  The customer was satisfied with this offer, and considered the matter closed.  Again we apologize for the problems and we appreciate hearing about these issues, so we can correct this in the future.

 
Thank you  

Business Response: I apologize that the refund has not been issued.  The refund is being sent today, and you should receive it tommorrow or Saturday.  I do not know why the refund wasn't sent already.  Thank you for bringing this to my attention so we can correct this problem.  Again we sincerely apologize, and will correct this issue immediately.

 
thank you

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I'm happy with finally getting refund check even though it took one month, very disappointed in this company for how they handle customers.  Got home today to find out that they fertilized our lawn, this after me just throwing seed down.  Another battle I will have to take up with them.

BBB Thank You for all your help. 

Regards,

**** *****

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was billed twice for the same lawn service. By phone I was told that could not be right. I had written two checks for the same service when Naturescape sent two bills. I went to the bank to get a copy of the check. Then by phone, I was told that they needed another copy of the second check. This was listed ed on by bank statement. I was then told it would take weeks to send out a check. When a was on the phone (several times), a found their comments rude and comments not helpful.

Desired Settlement: A written letter of apology. I have already asked a neighbor to stop using Naturescape. He has agreed and I'm going to pay him $20 to do so. I am very upset with Naturescape.

Business Response: Naturescape is sorry for the billing issues that Mr ****** experienced.  We would like to also thank him for bringing this matter to our attention, so we can correct this problem for the future.  We did contact Mr ****** about this matter, apologized, and offered free service for next year.  He declined the service at this time.  If he changes his mind, we certainly will honor that offer.  We are also sending a written apology to Mr ****** today.  We again are sorry for the problems, and steps we took will settle this matter.

Thank you
**** *****
Vice President

11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/25/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my lawn treated for weeds a spring application that I have been doing for years, The past 2 years Nature Scape has had a service person apply the treatment the day of or next of down pours of rain. Needless to say I have weeds ! hundreds of them and none curling over like they been injured or dying. I call to complain this year and they sent another service person who did the exact same thing, if fact it was thundering / lighting and raining like hell before he put his spreader into the trailor. My nieghbors were as shocked as myself. Again I remove over 400 plus weed in about a half acre of land. I called them and talked to a manager of sort and said it did not rain in which sure in fact did and I have people who will attest to that. He still sends me a bill for a treatment that never did any thing .

Desired Settlement: Stop billing me for some thing that never worked or maybe was never applied ?

Business Response: We apologize for the problems Mr *********** had with our service.  We would like to see all our customers happy with their lawn, and our service.  A credit has been issued for the $52.00 owed.  In addition we would be happy to stop out, free of charge, to take care of any problems on Mr ***********'s lawn.  Again we are sorry for the below average service.  We are also thankful this was brought to our attention, so we can address these issues in the future.

7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a customer with Naturescape for over one year for my lawn fertilizing services. On occasion, I asked Naturescape to mow my lawn when I was unable to do it myself. One such instance was in the beginning of May 2012. When I called, I was told I would have to wait a week for this mowing to occur. (Normal practice, through my own experience, has been just a day or two.) This is the time when we had an unusual amount of rain, which caused my grass to grow rapidly—even more sure in the week “waiting period” I had between my request for service and the actual mowing. To my surprise, I found my lawn awfully cut on 5/17/2012 (Thursday). It looked as though the mower just rushed through the job and missed entire lines. Nonetheless, I took pictures and contacted Naturscape on 5/21/2012, the following Monday. I spoke with the ****** *******, who was less than helpful. I then subsequently speak with the ****** *******, ******** *******, *** **** *********, who all seemed to want to help but there was no follow-through. I was credited the charge for the 5/17 mowing and promised that they would re-mow my lawn. However, this mowing never happened when promised, which required another phone call from me. I even had to cancel my lawn fertilizing cycle, but agreed to have it reinstating after an apology and another promise to return to re-mow my lawn—which did not occur. Only after speaking with the **** ********* did the re-mowing occur finally on 6/7/2012. Much to my dismay, though, a charge for the re-mow was on my statement I received in the very beginning of July. I made yet another phone call to the **** *********. However, this phone call was never returned. When I called back a week later, the charge was still on my account. I informed the receptionist to cancel my services again.

Desired Settlement: Credit for 6/7/2012 mowing $46.00

Business Response: We apologize that Mr***** had problems with our mowing service.  We appreciatiate this being brought to our attention so we can correct these issues in the future.  We have credited the account for $46.00, so there is no charge for the remow.  Again we are sorry for the service problems, and would appreciate any opportunity in the future to provide excellent service for Mr *****.

Thank you

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

****** *****

 

 

 

6/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Naturescape provided a service that failed to solve the problem they led me to believe they would be able to solve. Their literature indicated their work was guaranteed and that the guarantee was a money back guarantee. I sent them a note in December last year that they failed to meet their satisfaction guarantee and that I preferred they zero out my account. I received a call back within a couple of nights asking if they should redo the service. I couldn't speak with them at the time and asked for another call back. They called back the next night but again, I was unable to take the call however this time I tried to call them back within a few minutes and received a fax tone. I tried again with the same result. They continued to send statements despite my request they honor their money back guarantee. Today, I received a letter from a collection agency regarding this charge, one that should no longer be on the books.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor their advertised money back guarantee and remove my charge from collection.

Business Response: We apolgize that Mr ******* was unhappy with the results of the service we provided.  Naturescape has credited his account, and the current balance is now 0.  We contacted Mr ******* to inform him of this.  He stated that this satisfied him, and that he considered the matter resolved.  Again we apologize that Mr ******* was unhappy with his service.  We thank him for bringing this to our attention, to avoid future problems.

Thank you
**** *****
Vice President

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I spoke with Jeremy, the regional manager, and he was quite reasonable and helpful in resolving this issue to my satisfaction. 

 

Regards,

 

 

*** *******

 

 

 

 

5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed up for NatureScape's lawn service and prepaid the full amount of $249. Due to various factors, we cancelled their service on 5/1 before any service was performed. After cancelling the service, I was told it will take up to 8 weeks before any refund is given and they would send a check. I have talked with Rob, the local manager, who said he would check on it but has failed to get back to me.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of $249 back to my credit card immediately.

Business Response: We are sorry for the the delay in getting Mr *****'s refund back to him.  We are also sorry that no one got back to him about this matter.  The refund has been processed today, and will be credited back to his card by tommorrow.  We hope that this resolves this matter to Mr ******s satisfaction.  Again we apologize for the delay. Thank you,**** *****Vice President-Naturescape Lawncare

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

*** *****