Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Thrivent Financial

Phone: (800) 847-4836 Fax: (920) 628-5263 4321 N Ballard Rd, Appleton, WI 54919

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers insurance services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Thrivent Financial meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Thrivent Financial include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Thrivent Financial
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1958 Business started: 11/24/1902 in WI Business started locally: 11/24/1902 Business incorporated 10/26/1998 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster Street, Madison WI 53703
Phone Number: 6082663585 8002368517
Fax Number: (608) 266-9935

Phone Number: (202) 942-7040

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
Fax Number: 703-518-6409

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Curtis Bohm, Partner Mr. Brad Hewitt, President and CEO Ms. Callie Briese, Communications Strategist Ms. Debby Smet, Supervisor of Member Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Curtis Bohm, Partner
Principal: Mr. Brad Hewitt, President and CEO
Business Category

Insurance Services Credit Unions Insurance Companies Investment Advisory Service Direct Life Insurance Carriers (NAICS: 524113)

Additional Information

Thrivent Financial For Lutherans is a fraternal benefits society engaged in the sale of insurance and other financial services and fraternal benefits.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Thrivent Financial has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4321 N Ballard Rd

    Appleton, WI 54919 (800) 847-4836


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Thrivent Financial rejected me for long term insurance. I believe this is unfair & discriminatory for the following reasons: 1. Bad timing for the interview which was late afternoon (am a morning person), interview was 3 days after dental bone graft & shortly before carpal tunnel surgery. My BP was up due to stress of what was going on. I could have rejected the time for the interview but was trying to be accommodating. 2. False advertising in that the agent said the company was started by two Lutherans who were trying to help one another in making money available when needed in old age. 3. Advertising insurance in the me this doesn't seem right. 4. The rejection letter of June 10, 2015 says that I failed due to the memory screening assessment during the interview, and I would guess that was due to not recalling the words on the stack of cards after more questions and testing. I concur that I'm not as sharp as in my younger days, but let's be reasonable! 5. In a phone call to ###-###-#### on August 17, 2015 to Liz, then Julie and finally Lucy, I was told that the only way the Thrivent rejection could be changed would be to see a neuro psychologist for a report. Really?!! I told her that was bogus!

Desired Settlement: All I am asking for is a letter saying that I was NOT rejected in the screening process so I can go to a different insurance company.

Business Response: Your requests for documentation from Thrivent Financial regarding your eligibility for long-term care
insurance have been escalated to me and Thrivent's legal department.
Thrivent Financial cannot provide a statement, written or otherwise, indicating that you are eligible for
long-term care insurance. Under our underwriting guidelines you are not eligible for insurance at
Thrivent Financial and we cannot provide an opinion on your eligibility for any other carrier's insurance.
Further, we cannot represent to another carrier that we would offer you coverage when that is not the
case. However, I would again encourage you to apply with another long term care insurance carrier if
you believe you are insurable.
To protect all of Thrivent Financial's members (insureds) and ensure the ability to pay their proper
claims when made, Thrivent has underwriting guidelines and assessments to help determine who can
and cannot be offered insurance. The cognitive screen you were administered is one of those
assessments and is standard practice in the long-term care insurance industry. The specific assessment
that Thrivent Financial utilizes is used by multiple carriers and has been administered over one million
As we shared previously, if you disagree with the results of the cognitive screen, you can have a
neuropsychological exam performed at your own expense and submit the results of that exam for
consideration. Without results from a neuropsychological exam, further requests for a reconsideration
of our position will not be productive.
In your letter you threaten to share truthful, yet negative comments about Thrivent Financial. I would
strongly encourage you to consult with an attorney before you pursue a defamation campaign against
Thrivent Financial. Please be advised that Thrivent Financial will protect its good name to the full extent
of the law, including seeking reimbursement for any legal fees incurred.

Business Response: Tell us why here...Our letter of 9/25/15 was in response to Ms. *******'s letter of 9/14/15.  As noted in that response, unless additional medical information is received, we are unable to review the underwriting decision any further. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]
It doesn't really matter where this goes.  My September 12, 2015 letter still stands and I can not say my complaint has been resolved.


******* *******

9/29/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is in reference to a lack of response from this provider to handle a life insurance policy .Thrivent has been unwilling to conduct business with the beneficiary of a life insurance policy . Mr and Mrs ****** are the beneficiary of ****** **** ****** death benefit. This insurance money is to be used for the burial of ****** **** ****** .Thrivent has failed to follow up with this particular claim as promise.

Desired Settlement: to pay the life insurance benefit promptly.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaint received in your office regarding Thrivent Financial’s handling of the death claim for ****** ******. Mr. ****** passed away on July 31, 2015.

Mr. ******’s parents were listed as a beneficiary for a contract owned by him. Death claim paperwork, signed on September 9, 2015, was received at Thrivent’s Operation Center September 10, 2015. Thrivent, however, did not receive a death certificate with the claim paperwork. On September 18, 2015, an exception was granted from our normal business practice to process the claim without a death certificate. 

Our review found the delay in completing the death claim was as a result of business requirements not having all been met. After additional review it was felt an exception could be granted and the claim was immediately paid to Mr. ******’s beneficiaries.

We realize this is a difficult time for the ****** family as they deal with the loss of their loved one. If you need additional information, please contact me at ###-###-####; say “directory” and enter extension *******.  You may also contact me via e-mail at ***********************.

8/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company contacted me first 18 months ago with a request for payment for a loan on an insurance policy. I did not take out an insurance policy with this company nor have I ever requested a loan. I have spoken with them and learned that this is for an account developed 45 years ago, when I was a child. It is allegedly for a $5,000 insurance policy which one of my parents opened. The loan amount is now $7,214. I believe it wrong to offer life insurance for a period which has already passed. I believe it is wrong to hold a loan account for 36 years without contacting me. Since I am now ** years old, I became an adult ** years ago. This company had an obligation to contact me when I became an adult to allow me to cancel this policy and discontinue this loan. I believe this company is not acting in good faith. I have requested copies of the request for loan and the signed request for insurance, but the company has not provided those.

Desired Settlement: I request a refund of all policy premiums paid to this company for the entire 45 year period of this insurance policy. Since I did not know of this policy, it never had any value. Insuring somebody for a past period without notifying them is wrong and absolutely of no value. I request this company forgive any loan amount alleged to be my responsibility. Since I did not request this loan and since the company never contacted me for 44 years from the date of this policy, I feel it is wrong to hold me responsible for this loan.

Business Response: As I mentioned in my email note, I experienced transmission problems when I
attempted to fax this document to you on July 23, 2015.
Enclosed is Thrivent Financial's response to the complaint submitted to your office
by ***** ** ******; your complaint number ********.
When the complaint was submitted to Thrivent, it was directed to Jacinda Schneiter.
Your contact here for complaints should be listed as ****** **** **** ** ******* ** ********* ** **********. Her email addressis************************.
Please contact me if you have any questions or need additional information. I can be
reached by mail at the address listed in the letterhead, by fax at ###-###-####, by
email at ************************* or by telephone at ###-###-####.

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a checking account with Thrivent Federal Credit Union and cancelled a check via phone. I was informed the cancellation was good for two weeks and a form would be sent to complete and return to keep the cancellation in place. That form was mailed but never received. I called when the check posted to inquire why the form was never received and also why the check was allowed to process. First I was told that they could fax me said form and if received ASAP they would reverse it. Then they called back and I was told there was nothing that could be done to reverse the transaction, which was a result of their error in not providing the requested materials. I asked them to again reverse the transaction, and if absolutely unable, to refund the service charge. I was told they would inquire, but it was unlikely. The customer service rep repeatedly asserted this was my fault for not returning the form and was rude when challenged on this premise.

Desired Settlement: I wish for Thrivent to reverse the transaction as originally paid for and authorized on a recorded customer service phone call. In the absence of the ability to do that, they need to refund the charge since the service was never actually performed

Business Response:

Dear Mr. **********:


The following is in regard to your letter of February 9, 2015, case number ********. We have reviewed all phone interactions with Mr. ***, and are providing a chronological history:


·         On 1/9/15, Mr. *** contacted Thrivent Federal Credit Union to ask that we send him documentation about how our check dispute process works. He said he had recently written a check that had not been cashed but would like to dispute it if it is cashed. A customer service representative informed him that the circumstances around his case would not be eligible to dispute the check.

·         1/13/15: A message was left on Mr. ***’s voicemail informing him the credit union would only be able to take action if an error occurred or if the check was forged or altered. Based on the member’s statement that they want the check returned because they were not happy with services received, per our Membership Account Agreement he was informed he could place a stop payment on the check if the check has not been paid yet.

·         1/19/15: Mr. *** called to request a stop payment be placed on check number **** issued on **/**/** in the amount of $***.** that was payable to ***’* *********.  At that time Mr. *** was advised that the stop payment would be in effect for 14 days and that we would mailing him paperwork that would be signed and returned to keep the stop payment in effect for 6 months.

Note: This is in accordance with the terms of the membership account agreement Mr. *** received when the account was opened, as well as the Uniform Commercial Code 4-403(b): A stop-payment order is effective for six months, but it lapses after 14 calendar days if the original order was oral and was not confirmed in writing within that period. A stop-payment order may be renewed for additional six-month periods by a record given to the bank within a period during which the stop-payment order is effective.

On 1/19/15, Thrivent Federal Credit Union mailed paperwork to Mr. *** to complete and return with his signature. Thrivent Federal Credit Union did not receive the paperwork, and per the Membership Account Agreement and Uniform Commercial Code 4-403(b), the oral agreement to stop payment was no longer valid after 14 days.

·         2/9/15: Mr. *** called to find out why his check cleared on 2/6/15 when he requested a stop payment.  We advised that we did not receive the signed paperwork back which was a necessary requirement to place the stop-payment order for six months.  A customer service representative advised Mr. *** that she would check with our back office to see if there was still time to reverse the stop payment provided we get the necessary signed form back via fax from him.  When the customer service representative received confirmation from the back office that the suggested solution was not an option the call was made to Mr. ***.  When Mr. *** received this news he requested his $25.00 stop payment be refunded.  After reviewing all recorded phone calls around this interaction, as a gesture of goodwill we refunded cost the of the stop payment, and the amount of $25.00 was refunded to member’s account that same day. 


In our review of recorded conversations between our customer service representatives and Mr. ***, the unreturned paperwork was only mentioned once as a necessary part of the explanation about why the stop payment was not in effect when the check in question was cashed.


Thank you for the opportunity to respond. If additional information is needed please contact ******** ******* at ###-###-####*

5/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an insurance contract on my Grandson ***** when he was an infant designating myself as primary beneficiary and my son **** *****'s father as secondary beneficiary;. At age 21 he passed away. I contacted them to begin the claim process. Due to an incompetent agent 16 years ago a change of beneficiary was completed without my understanding eliminating me as at the primary beneficiary. Thrivent refused to speak to me citing privacy issues. Privacy never came up over the many years when they sent invoices, statements, director elections, junk mail or solicitations. I have written to their board of directors regarding my issues with them and received in return a "kiss off" letter from ***** ****** ******** ********** ******** ****** **********

Desired Settlement: I would like a phone call from a Board Member so that I can be sure confirming they received my complaint letter, that it was not intercepted by someone else in an attempt to cover their anatomy and a satisfactory explanation for such poor service and what they intend to do to rectify all the issues in my letter of complaint.

Business Response: Dear Mr. **********:

The following is in regard to your letter of December 17, 2013, concerning consumer ***** *****
and our insured ***** *****, your file number *******.
Our Board of Directors receives information on all complaints that are filed, but our Member Relations
area is charged with researching and responding to the complaints as we have access to all member
information and are familiar with our company business processes. In this case the appropriate
management personnel involved with this business process have seen and reviewed this complaint.
I have enclosed the following items for your review and for your complaint file:
1. A letter dated 5/30/13 from Ms. *****'s attorney.
2. Thrivent's response letter to the attorney dated 6/6/13.
3. A letter from dated 7/24/13 from the Pennsylvania Insurance Department.
4. Thrivent's response letter to the insurance department dated 8/1/13.
5. A letter dated 12/5/13 from Ms. ***** to Thrivent's Board of Directors.
6. Thrivent's response letter to Ms. ***** dated 12/11 / 13.
7. A copy of the beneficiary designation completed on 9/22/97 which names **** and ****
***** as the beneficiary to *****'s contract 72 15184.
8. The 9/25/13 fax received from ***** ***** with the required information to pay the death
claim to **** *****.
9. The benefit statement dated 9/27/13 which was enclosed with payment of the death
proceeds to **** *****.
Our letter of August 1, 2013, to the insu rance department provides an explanation of the iss ues
related to Ms. *****'s concerns. Since Ms. ***** was not the beneficiary, nor the contract owner,
nor the legal representative of the estate, information could not be released to her.
Mr. **********, if after your review of this information you have additional questions, please let us
***** *****
******** ********** *******
****** *********
********* *******

10/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm ***** ******, son and power of attorney of ***** and ***** ****** and we are having difficulty in paying my parents long term care fourth quarter premium. The company will not accept fourth quarter long term care insurance premium, due to a dispute over the third quarter premium. Since we believe third quarter premium has been satisfied, we have sent a check for fourth quarter premium. Company says they will not apply our payment to the fourth quarter until third quarter has been paid to THEIR satisfaction. They have told us if we did not apply the check for the fourth quarter premium to the third quarter that the check will be returned on 9/19/13. We feel we are being HEAVILY pressured to repay the third quarter premium with threats of policy cancellation, when we are trying to pay the fourth quarter premium and keep the policy in good standing. POLICY LAPSES ON 9/28/13. I am writing this complaint on 9/22/13. Since we believe they will be returning our premium check this week, we will be submitting a second fourth quarter premium payment.

Desired Settlement: Thrivent accept payment for the fourth quarter and future payments to keep policy from lapsing.

Business Response: October 1,2013
******* **********
**** ***** ******** **********
BBB of Wisconsin
10019 W Greenfield Ave
Milwaukee WI 53214

RE: ***** ****** (insured ); ***** ******, Power of Attorney (POA)
**** ********
****** ** *****
Dear Mr. **********:
This letter is being scnt in response to the above-referenced inquiry received from your office on
***** ******, POA for his mother ***** ****** stated Thrivent Financial has refused to accept payment
of the 4'" quarter premium on long-term care (LTC) contract ********. He was advised that we were
unable to accept it l as the 3rd quarter premium has not yet been paid due to a dispute between
Thrivent Financial and the insured. Following is a chronological history that provides additional
6/19/13 - Eligibility for claim benefits was approved. A letter was sent to the insured on this date which
also provided information about the premium waiver benefit (copy enclosed). As you will see, per the
terms of the contract, the premiums will be waived after 90 consecutive days of qualifying care has
been provided.
8/19/13 - A letter was sent to the insured which advised that an over payment of claims benefits was
made (copy enclosed). As the insured was not confined to a qualifying care facility for 90 consecutive
days, the premium waiver benefit did not apply. The letter further stated that a premium notice
would be sent soon for the premium due as of 6/14/13.
8/28/13 - Another letter was sent to the insured which advised that a premium was due to cover the
period of 6/14/13 to 12/14/13 (copy enclosed). This totaled 5769.92.
9/1 1/13 - A letter was received from ***** ****** with a personal check for 5384.96 (copy enclosed ) .
She included specific instructions that the premium was to be applied to the 4th quarter, and under no
circumstances was it to be applied to the 3rd quarter.
9/17/13 - The home office contacted ***** ****** , POA , via telephone and explained that we were
unable to honor the request to "skip" the 3rd quarter premium and apply the funds to the 4th quarter.
If, after completion of the review of the dispute it was determined the 3rd quarter premium was not
required, the funds could then be refunded. Mr. ****** advised he would contact our payment services
department by 9/18/13 with a response. He was also made aware that if he did not respond by
9/19/13, we would have to return the check and the contract would lapse due to insufficient premiums.
9/17/13 - A letter was sent to Ms. ****** which provided the options available to her with regard to the
check for 5384.96. Please refer to the enclosed copy.
9/20/13 - No additional communication was received from the insured or the POA so the payment of
$384.96 was returned with a letter of explanation (copy enclosed). The letter and check were sent via
certified mail and we received confirmation in our home office (on 9/30/13) that ***** ****** signed
for it on 9/25/13.
The contract is now lapsed due to non-payment of the required premium.
In addition to copies of the various pieces of correspondence referenced above, I have enclosed a copy
of the LTC contract. Please refer to Section 4. WAIVER OF PREMIUM BENERY which confirms the
requirement of a 90 consecutive day confinement in order to meet the premium waiver requirement. It
also includes the following disclosure: "On any premium due date, if premiums are no longer waived, you
must pay them to keep this contract in force." Since Ms. ****** did not satisfy the 90 day requirement for
premium waiver, it was necessary that she pay the past due premium. By not doing so, the contract
has lapsed. Please also refer to Section 7 .3 REINSTATEMENT which indicates the steps that need to
be taken to apply for reinstatement of the coverage.
Please note that we are unable to override the terms of the contract to accommodate the request made
by the insured and her POA.
If you have questions, I may be reached at ###-###-####, extension #######.
***** ****** ********** *******
****** *********

3/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took out a basic disability policy to with Thrivent Financial in ******** ** in 2006. There are no claims on the policy and I am not making a claim at this time. I am asserting that Thrivent wrote the policy with an overly broad endorsement eliminating coverage to such a degree that it does not provide the protections that should be expected for such a policy. They acted in an unfair and unreasonable manner to take a minor medical issue and use to write an endorsement that would eliminate coverage for accidents completely unrelated to the issue relating to the endorsement. The endorsement eliminating coverage states"...shall not cover any loss resulting from: Disorder or injury of the lumbar or sacral spine including vertebral disc,vertebrae, nerve roots,surrounding ligaments, or any complications thereof. At the time of the policy I did disclose all of my medical issues with Thrivent. Several years prior to taking out this policy I did have a back pain issue associated with a ****** accident which I disclosed. Prior to the accident, I never had a issue with back problems and after the injury and associated recovery, I never have had any significant back problems and I have stated such to Thrivent in a detailed email. Except for a brief period associated with the accident where I took about a week off of work, I have never missed a day of work due to back pain. I have asked Thrivent to remove the endorsement eliminating coverage - it is unfair and unreasonable to exclude coverage for "injury" unrelated to the back issue. My issue is that they took the opportunity at the time of the policy writing to basically exclude coverage for one of the primary purposes one seeks coverage (a disabling injury that prevents ambuatory movement). As written currently, if I incurred an injury to my back and became a quadrapalegic due to a car accident, I would not be covered. It is unconscionable to have such an exclusion in a disability policy. I'm sorry I did not understand or catch the endorsement when I signed the policy.

Desired Settlement: Thrivent has stated that I should reapply for a new policy - and I did start the process. However, my concern is that now that I am older with a few more medical issues that the policy rates would very likely be higher. I belevie policy's like this have a set monthly rate - the early part of the policy when you are younger subsidizes the rate as you age. I strongly believe I should not have to reapply for a new policy - they should either eliminate the endorsement or rewrite the endorsement so it not so unreasonably one-sided (multiple uses of the word "any" and the use of the word "injury"). My trust level of Thrivent is low and I am contemplating having a new policy written by another company since this policy does not accomplish the protections that any reasonable person would expect in a disability policy. Another reason for not applying for a new policy with Thrivent - I am concerned that applying with Thrivent for a new policy could effect and complicate writting a new policy with a new firm. The new insurance policy company will ask if I applyed for a policy elsewhere and associated details. They should not have written a policy with such a ridiculously unreasonable endosement eliminating coverage for probably the primary reason one seeks coverage (a severe disabling accident). This is akin to writing a homeowners policy and eliminating coverage for fire and water damage. If they want to have my doctor ( or any other medical professional of their choosing) examine and write them a letter addressing any back issues that could be accomplished. My back is healthy and strong. Desired outcome - Thrivent should voluntarily rewrite the policy to be fair and reasonable.

Consumer Response: On Wed, Mar 20, 2013 at 3:58 AM, ******************** wrote:

Dear **** ******* :

This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 3/5/2013 3:59:59 AM against Thrivent Financial for Lutherans.  Your complaint was assigned ID *******.

You recently requested our help concerning a problem with the company named above. The company has not responded to the BBB to date. 

If you have heard from the company please contact the BBB at
***************************** or return this letter to the BBB. 

Have you heard from the company? Yes 

Are you satisfied with the company's efforts to resolve this matter? Yes

If not, please explain.


******* **********
********* **********
****** ******** ******

Business Response:

February 4, 2013



Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin

***** * ********** *** *** ***

********* ** *****


Re:  Complaint ID *******

        Complainant: **** ******


Dear Sir/Madam:


Thank you for making us aware of Mr. ******’s concerns regarding his Thrivent Financial for Lutherans life insurance contract. He stated in his complaint that he had never had any contact from Thrivent until 2012 and did not understand how he could have a reportable tax gain of $3,254.62.


Mr. ******’s contract was issued by Lutheran Brotherhood. In 2002 Lutheran Brotherhood merged with Aid Association for Lutherans to become Thrivent Financial for Lutherans. Mr. ****** may not have been aware of the merger and resulting name change as his address was unknown to us during that time. 


Enclosed is a copy of the letter and enclosures I sent to Mr. ****** explaining the issue of the contract, how it has remained in force when he hasn’t paid premiums, and why there is a reportable tax gain. While Thrivent made attempts to locate active addresses, it is the contract owner’s responsibility to provide updated information. It is Thrivent’s position that it fulfilled the terms of the contract and reported the tax gain in accordance with IRS requirements.


If you have additional questions, please let me know. I can be reached by calling ###-###-####. Say “directory” and when prompted ask for extension *****. Alternatively, you may call my direct line at ###-###-####.



****** *****

******** ********** *******

Member Relations




******: **** ******



2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Fall of 2012 I received a letter in the mail from Thrivent Financial for Lutherans asking me to pay them over $3000.00 for an insurance policy. I have never had any contact with this group before this letter. I called their 800 number and talked to a person who informed me that I had a life insurance policy with Thrivent Financial for Lutherans which they say was taken out in the early 1970's and I now need to pay the over $3000.00 in premiums or they would send a letter to the IRS stating I had a large tax bill and therefore would owe the government a lot of money, if I didn't pay them first. I told the person that I had never taken out ANY life insurance policies at all. I am a never married single male in my middle 50's. I never took out any life insurance as when I pass away there will not be any family to need any money. I asked for some kind of signature verification or proof of this supposed life insurance policy from the early 1970's. I never received a response back from Thrivent Financial for Lutherans. Today I received some tax form in the mail from them (Form 1099-R) that seems to say I received $6096.50 from Thrivent Financial for Lutherans and that I therefore will owe the IRS taxes on $3254.62. I have never taken out a life insurance policy with Thrivent Financial for Lutherans, nor have I ever received any letters or bills from 1970 until the fall of 2012 from them (when they sent the letter demanding money from me.) I do not know how they got my name and address, I have never spoken with them or signed contracts or talked to agents or asked or or received any product from them. I do not understand why they are trying to steal thousands of dollars from me, but I do know this is not right and I should not be strong-armed into letting them steal my money.

Desired Settlement: Thrivent Financial for Lutherans needs to remove this false information and billing from my name and address. They are in the wrong trying to take money from me for no reason at all. I did not order or buy their thing so I should not be billed for it.

Business Response: February 4,2013
Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin
***** ** ********** *** *** ***
********* ** *****
Re: Complaint *********
Complainant: **** ******
Dear Sir/Madam:

Thank you for making us aware of Mr. ******'s concerns regarding his Thrivent Financial for
Lutherans life insurance contract. He stated in his complaint that he had never had any contact
from Thrivent until 2012 and did not understand how he could have a reportable tax gain of
Mr. ******'s contract was issued by Lutheran Brotherhood. In 2002 Lutheran Brotherhood
merged with Aid Association for Lutherans to become Thrivent Financial for Lutherans. Mr.
****** may not have been aware of the merger and resulting name change as his address was
unknown to us during that time.
Enclosed is a copy of the letter and enclosures I sent to Mr. ****** explaining the issue of the
contract, how it has remained in force when he hasn't paid premiums, and why there is a
reportable tax gain. While Thrivent made attempts to locate active addresses, it is the contract
owner's responsibility to provide updated information. It is Thrivent's position that it fulfilled
the terms of the contract and reported the tax gain in accordance with IRS requirements.
If you have additional questions, please let me know. I can be reached by calling ###-###-####.
Say "directory" and when prompted ask for extension *****. Alternatively, you may call my
direct line at ###-###-####.
****** *****
Advanced Compliance Analyst
Member Relations

********* **** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]





I did indeed receive this information packet from Thrivent Lutheran Insurance Company.  I feel that this insurance company is running a scam -- they have maintained an insurance policy over all the years that I was unaware of its existance.  This insurance company paid themselves for this policy and reaped all the benefits from this policy.  Then they stuck me with a large bill to 'keep the policy in effect' and when I refused their strong arm tactics, they informed me I will now have thousands of dollars in tax obligations for the policy that they paid themselves to maintain.  I did not receive any financial benefit from this policy.  For decades I was unaware of the existance of this policy.  Thrivant for Lutherns paid themselves all this money and then are sticking me with the tax bill.  This policy was closed out by them.  I am very unhappy with their conduct and am planning on discussing this in further detail on as many social networks as I can, in order to warn others of their shady business practices.  I am just one person.  I cannot fight a giant insurance company.  They are worse than the Mafia in that they were able to sneak money into their own pockets and then hand me the tax bill.  I cannot express how outraged I am at this organization.  I only hope other people will take notice of the mistreatment I have gone through and boycott this terrible, terrible company.  Shame on them for making money at my expense, never providing me any service and finally sticking me with an enormous tax bill - all under the guise of a religion.   They are awful.  Please close out this matter as there is nothing I can do.  I am unhappy, disappointed, and mad at them and their underhanded schemes.  Rotten, rotten business practices.


**** ******