BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

This Business is not BBB accredited

Max Haven Kennels

Phone: (715) 884-3203 View Additional Phone Numbers 5293 1st Ave, Pittsville, WI 54466 http://www.maxhavenkennels.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a dog breeder of Siberian Huskies.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Max Haven Kennels include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Max Haven Kennels
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 15, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1995 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated: 02/06/2008 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Deana A. Becker, Co-Owner Mr. Duane M. Becker, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Deana A. Becker, Co-Owner
Principal: Mr. Duane M. Becker, Co-Owner
Business Category

Dog Breeders

Service Area
US and Canada
Alternate Business Names
Maxhaven Kennels, LLC.
Industry Tips
Purchasing a Puppy over the Holidays? Check Your List Twice

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5293 1st Ave

    Pittsville, WI 54466 (877) 514-2202 (715) 884-3203

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 514-2202(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had been looking for a Siberian Husky puppy for a couple of months, researching different areas and locations. We came about and looked at the website by Maxhaven Kennels in Pittsville, WI whom had Siberian Huskies available. I had went to the kennel to look at the available puppies at this specific kennel in the middle of September when the puppy I had picked out was chosen. I had then met with the o***** ***** *** ***** ****** of Maxhaven Kennels on September 20th, 2012 in order to place a hold on this puppy with a $100.00 deposit which was to be then taken off the total cost of the puppy which had totaled $500.00. The owners stated the puppies would receive their shots at 6 weeks of age and then the puppy could then go home at 7 weeks on October 23rd, 2012. The owner stated everyday after the puppy could be picked up and it wasn't they would then charge boarding fees. We made a verbal agreement to pick the puppy up on Thursday night October 25th as my fiance had taken off work on Friday October 26th to be with the new puppy. ***** stated this would work just fine as many people pick their puppies up on the weekend so they can adjust to their homes before being left alone during the work-week. On the morning of October 25th I had received a call from ***** ****** stating the puppies had all came down with Giardia and were being treated for this diarrhea illness, therefore she stated she would like to keep the puppies over the weekend until the completion of the medications. My finance then sent the owner a text message as my finance ******* ******** is a Public Health Nurse and she is very familiar with Giardia. ******* had told the owner ***** ****** that we were comfortable giving the medications if the Giardia was all he was facing and she had asked if it would be okay if we still picked him up that evening. ***** ****** stated it would not be a problem if we were comfortable giving the medications, ***** stated the puppy came down with Giardia because he had a messy mother. We then traveled to her home the evening of October 25th to retrieve our puppy. While at ***** ******'s home she informed us how to give the medications and she stated he was also on Tamaflu because he had just received his shots on October 24th which had been a week late due to her being to busy to vaccinate them at 6 weeks as had been stated earlier. ***** ****** stated the Tamaflu was a preventive medication they give their puppies in order to prevent them from having a reaction to the first set of puppy vaccinations. ***** ****** also stressed to us that if the puppy had any *Word Rejected*diarrhea to bring him back to her right away no matter if it was in the middle of the night at midnight, she stated she had her phone always on her. ***** ****** also had this litter of puppies within her home in the garage and she didn't want to take them back to the kennel. After we left the kennel I found it to be very odd that she was stressing the *Word Rejected*diarrhea so much to us and that the puppy had been on tamaflu for his puppy shots. Friday October 26th the puppy had diarrhea all throughout the day but at this point it was not *Word Rejected*He had eaten some and had been drinking large amounts. The Breeder ***** ****** had sent a text message to my finance ******* Thursday night, Friday morning, and Friday afternoon on October 26th asking how the puppy was doing. We thought this was a bit odd and had a feeling something else was going on. On Saturday morning October 27th the puppy we had purchased just did not look right and had started with the *Word Rejected*diarrhea. I called the breeder immediately and she stated to bring it back right away and she would take it in to see her vet as this puppy had been exposed to Parvo Virus and she stated it may have broken out from the puppy vaccines. We then traveled back to ***** ******s home with our puppy. While at her home ***** ****** had stated to myself and ******* that the "Dakota" litter right before ours had Parvo and that the puppies within this current litter may have been exposed. ***** ****** had never stated any of this information when we had purchased and took the puppy home on October 25th. She stated she would take him into her vet when her vet returns from being out of town on Sunday October 28th. ***** ****** also stated that her vet from ********** ********** Services had given her IV fluids to give to her puppies in case they needed it. Therefore ***** ****** stated she would give this puppy subcutaneous fluids with what the vet had given her to hold him off until Sunday when the vet was returning to town. ***** ****** also stated she would also start him on another medication in order to help with the Parvo if he was indeed positive. On Sunday October 28th we had sent a message to ***** ****** asking if he was seeing the vet that day. ***** ****** replied he was not and he would on Monday as the fluids she was giving him via injection was keeping him going okay. At this point the puppy was not eating nor drinking. The puppy was then taken to the vet on Monday October 29th to be evaluated when he was then admitted to the ********** ********** Services on IV fluids and antibiotics as he had been indeed positive for Parvo Virus. ***** ****** stated he would more than likely being staying for fluids one night and then be sent home to her as all he would need would be some extra fluids. On Tuesday October 30th ***** ****** had given us an updated stating they were keeping the puppy at the vet do to *Word Rejected*diarrhea, vomiting, and low protein levels. The puppy had been at the ********** ********** ******** from Monday October 29th until Friday November 2nd on IV fluids and various antibiotics. ***** stated she is glad we had brought him back to her as this puppy has been exposed and she was able to pay her vet less than $6.00 a day to house him there and she only had to pay for medications. ***** ****** apologized multiple times for this to have happened and that she has at this point bleached her kennel to rid the Parvo virus and she stated she was unaware of how it came into her kennel at this point. ***** ****** also stated two of the other females from this litter had been hospitalized overnight and needed fluids and additional medications. All of these puppies had been positive ***** ****** stated for Giardia and were all awaiting to be shipped to their homes out of state and elsewhere. On Friday November 2nd she stated that the puppy we had purchased was being released and that he had no *Word Rejected*diarrhea anymore for the past 3 days and that he was doing well, therefore we could get him back that evening. My finance ******* ******** had traveled to her home that evening November 2nd and picked him back up. The puppy at this point had been very dirty and just still did not look correct ,***** ****** stressed again that if he had any *Word Rejected*diarrhea to call her right away and if at all we didn't feel comfortable at all to bring him back to her and she would care for him giving him fluids and so forth within her home. At this point we just wanted a healthy puppy. Within 10 minutes of being home with the puppy on Friday November 2nd he had a *Word Rejected*stool. The vet records from his hospital stay at been sent home with ******* and she had read through the reports. The veterinary reports stated he was indeed positive for Parvo virus, Giardia, and Coccidea virus. The vet records also stated at the end that he has had *Word Rejected*stools all week and that they warned the breeder on Friday November 2nd before he was released that his protein levels were low and that the *Word Rejected*stools were prominent. ***** ****** had stated to us prior that morning that he had no *Word Rejected*diarrhea for 3 days. ******* had asked ***** ****** about what was on the vet records and she had stated she did not read the vet records and that is not what the vet had told her in person that day she had picked him up from the ********** ********** Service. ***** ****** had again apologized for all of this and that she would get the puppy better and healthy as we did not pay $500 dollars for an unhealthy puppy infected with Parvo Virus. The puppy was then left at her home Friday evening on November 2nd. ***** ****** had the puppy over the weekend and stated she was going to take him into the vet on Monday morning November 5th to have his proteins checked. On the morning of Monday November 5th ******* had sent ***** ****** a message asking when the puppy was being seen that day. ***** ****** replied she was not taking him in and that her vet told her if he was doing fine at her home there was no need to bring him in that day. ***** stated she would then update us on how he was doing throughout the day and was hoping to have him back with us by Wednesday. At this point I became very frustrated and upset as I paid for and wanted a healthy puppy at 7 weeks of age. I did not want an unhealthy puppy with long-term health effects as that is not what one pays for when looking for a puppy. ***** ****** stated he would not have long-term health effects and that her vet confirmed this with her. On Tuesday November 6th we received notice from ***** ****** stating the puppy was not eating and she had taken him back into the vet and a feeding tube had been placed. At this point I told her I did not want an unhealthy dog and I would like my money back. ***** ****** again apologized and stated she would replace the puppy with some from her current litter if we did not want this puppy. I told her I did not like any of the colorings on this current litter and would just like my money back. ***** then stated she had litters coming due and we would have first pick of those puppies. I again told her I would just like my money back and I just wanted this puppy in which I picked to be healthy. I told ***** ****** I would give this puppy this week to improve and if he was not healthy and vet inspected by the coming weekend I would want my money back in full payment. ***** stated her goal had been to get this puppy healthy. The reminder of the week starting from Tuesday November 6th we had not heard much of anything on the status of this puppy. At this point multiple text messages had been sent and ***** had not been really responding back. I told ***** ****** I wanted my money back and wanted to move on as this puppy had been very ill before we even purchased him. ***** ****** would not respond back. I then went to her home on Thursday November 8th to see if the puppy was still even alive and to see what was going on with him. I saw the puppy that evening with the feeding tube in, very dirty, with a cone around his head. He looked horrible. ***** ****** told me he had another vet appointment on Friday November 9th to get the feeding tube removed and his blood counts checked as his White Blood Cell Counts had been very high on Tuesday November 6th when he had the feeding tube placed. She stated he was being treated for an infection but her nor the Veterinary knew where the infection was coming from. ******* then called ***** ****** as I had been very upset and told her I would like my money back. ***** ****** stated again she would replace the puppy if this puppy wasn't 100percent healthy and we could pick from a different litter, she then apologized and stated that she knows where the Parvo came from and that her "hired" hand had brought it into her kennel. ***** ****** had stated that her "hired" hand had purchased puppies from another breeder with Parvo and had brought it into the kennel while working. ***** stated that she cleaned everything and there is no way it can still be in her kennel at this point. ***** ****** also stated that the puppy no longer had Parvo and it was the high White Blood Cell Counts they were worried about and the fact he was not eating at all on his own. ***** ****** stated the day would be Friday November 9th in order to find out if his WBC;s would have went down from the antbiotics he had been receiving. On Friday November 9th ******* had sent a message to ***** asking what time the appointment was that day and if it would be okay if I went along to gain more information about this all. ***** ****** would be respond nor answer phone calls. My mom, ******* ******* then called the breeder to ask how this puppy was doing and about the Parvo and ***** denied the puppy had Parvo, had got upset and hung up the phone on my mother. ******* then called ***** at this point to see what was going on. ***** stated the vet did not want us there to "stress" the puppy and she would call ******* as soon as the appointment was over with the news. That evening on November 9th ***** ****** had called my finance ******* with the bad news that this puppy had high white blood cell counts and had Leukemia (Cancer), ***** had stated that the vet suggested putting the puppy down and we were just prolonging his life. ***** stated she would have the puppy put down as of this weekend, we told her we did not want this poor animal to suffer. ***** stated she would refund our money in full or replace a puppy and give us half off of the other puppy and that she was so sorry for all of this. I then decided I did not want another puppy from this breeder with the Parvo and so forth and I told her I just wanted my money back. ***** ****** would not respond. ******* had sent her messages asking her when I could get my money back and ***** ****** replied that I could get my money back " When my mom apologizes for calling her and she would pay half this week and half the next week via a check via the mail" (These messages have been saved). ******* then told her to contact myself in order to work something out to get my money back in full. ***** ****** at this point would not answer my phone calls or messages. I then received a disrespectful text message from ***** ****** stating she would not give me cash as I had paid her and she would send a check this next week and the week after and she stated to not contact her again as she has nothing to say to us. (These messages have also been saved). This whole experience buying a puppy from Maxhaven Kennels has been literally a nightmare. All I wanted was for a healthy puppy and in the end was for my money back so I could move on from this horrible experience. I do not want another puppy from this breeder with the health problems they have and I am aware of how contagious and hardy the Parvo and Giardia viruses are. She not only has dogs/puppies at her Kennel location but she also took these sick puppies to her home within her garage. My hopes are for people to be aware of these facts and for something to be completed for the sake of these poor animals. If you would like any additional information please call me. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: I would like to move on from this horrible experience and recieve my full refund for this puppy in cash not a check in the amount of $500.00 in which I had paid in full as soon as possible. Thank you

Business Response:

    This is in regards to a complaint filed by *** *******. It is true that *** and ******* ******** did visit our Kennel on 09/20/2012 and placed a $100.00 cash deposit on a male AKC Siberian husky puppy from the Sassy Litter, that puppy was called Sassy boy. They did spend time touring the kennel and met all the dogs and puppies. 

     After touring the kennel and picking out Sassy boy, *** did sign a “holding” contract stating that we were holding the Sassy boy for him. (A copy can be provided)  *** did receive a copy and a copy of his receipt showing his $100.00 cash deposit with his balance of $400.00 due.  It does state several times on our holding contract that we never refund money, only credit towards another puppy. All of the contracts and receipt are in *** *******’s name.  We want to note, that the daytime phone number and e-mail address belong to ******* ********.

      Our “kennel hand” had a puppy at her house that died from Parvo and she did bring the Parvo virus into our kennel. We did have a few puppies that did become sick with Parvo. Everything at the kennel was cleaned with bleach. And all the puppies were started on Tami flu before and after they were given their vaccines as a preventive.  The sassy litters were at the vet on Oct. 25th and were given their first set of shots. The Sassy boy was tested for Parvo and did test negative. A female littermate did test positive for Parvo.  The sassy boy did test positive for Gardia and Cocidia. The entire litter was started on antibiotics,  the same antibiotic that is used to treat Parvo.

    All of the new owners including *** and ******* were contacted and were told of the situation and were told that the puppies were going to have to stay for another week. The puppies were moved to the “breeze way” in our house. So the medicines could be given and the puppies could be more easily monitored. Quarantine is also required by the State of Wisconsin breeder regulations.

     ******* stated that she was a nurse and felt comfortable giving the meds.  *** and ******* did live fairly close to us. They stated that they still wanted to take the puppy home and we agreed .They were also told of the signs and  symptoms to watch for and if they had any questions to contact us 24 hours a day. And they were told that if they had any problems to bring the puppy back to us.  They were given a copy of the State of Wisconsin certificate of veterinary inspection, this also stated the puppy was positive for Gardia and Cocidia and had been exposed to Parvo.  On our copy of the “Puppy health and bill of sale” it was written that the puppy was exposed to Parvo and because the puppy was being taken while still on meds. That it was being sold as is. *** did place his initials by this. They picked up the Sassy boy on 10/25/2012 and paid the balance of $400.00 in cash. We did send follow up text messages checking in on the puppy.

      The puppy was returned to us on 10/27/2012 and the puppy did have bloody diarrhea, which is very common in Parvo. Our vet was out on town and we had the medicines and IV fluids home to treat the puppy. We are able to provide the same treatment that the vet would have given. The puppy was taken to the vet 10/29/2012 and it did test positive for Parvo. The puppy did end up getting very sick and ended up with a feeding tube.  After all the treatment and money we invested in this puppy to get him healthy, his blood work came back that he had Leukemia.

     ******* also contacted the State of Wisconsin in regards to this. They did follow up with us and we were told that we did everything the way we were supposed to. The only mistake that we made was to allow the Sassy boy to be taken home while on medicine. And all the litter mates that stayed here have all gone home and all are healthy….

     All of our contracts state…  “THAT WE DO NOT REFUND MONEY, ONLY CREDIT TOWARDS ANOTHER PUPPY” We did try talking them into a different puppy… In the end, we did agree to give *** back his money. We are not able to give cash refunds. We told them that with all the money we had spent at the vet, we would send out the refund in 2 parts. The 1st check for $250.00 already has gone out and the last $250.00 is going out this week.

    We are sorry that the Sassy boy did get sick… And we are sorry that *** and ******* had to go thru this situation. This Parvo outbreak has also been very hard on us emotionally and financially… We are so glad that we can put this all behind us.

Thank You,

***** and ***** ******

Maxhaven Kennels LLC.