Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers collection and billing services, specializing in medical/dental, schools and banking industries.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tri-State Adjustments Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tri-State Adjustments Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 12
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Tri-State Adjustments Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 27, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1990 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 03/02/1990 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
345 W. Washington Ave. 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 266-1064
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Rhonda Helgeson, CEO/President Ms. Margaret E. Ebner, Compliance Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Margaret E. Ebner, Compliance Officer
Principal: Ms. Rhonda Helgeson, CEO/President
Business Category

Collection Agencies Credit Services Collection Agencies (NAICS: 561440)

Industry Tips
Collection Agency-Credit Counseling-Facts For Consumers Credit Report-Understanding Your Credit Report

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tri-State Adjustments Incorporated has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3439 East Ave S

    La Crosse, WI 54601 (800) 562-3906 (608) 788-8683 (877) 616-8681

  • PO Box 3219

    La Crosse, WI 54602

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
5/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tri-state adjustments ,inc. Is trying to recollect on a bill that was already paid last year with a loan I took out with my bank to pay off all bills in collection through tri state adjustments inc. I have a letter from them stating that all collections were paid in full. to them. then on Saturday I got a bill from them saying that I owed them $107.25. from client - mayo clinic health system- fran 7130214D. they are trying to recollect on this debt which was already paid.

Desired Settlement: They were paid off over a year ago. I want this settled once and for all. They are threatening to put this into collection again. I also want to be assured this will not happen again. and that this doesn't go into collection again since it was already paid off.

Business Response: To Whom It Concerns,
Tri-State
Adjustments
Tri-State Adjustments, Inc. takes all disputes and complaints made regarding the company and its
employees seriously. It is Tri-State Adjustments policy to thoroughly review and consider all disputes
and complaints and respond directly to each complainant in a timely manner. After reviewing our file,
it appears that this complaint was originally sent directly to a subfolder, and was not immediately
received by our compliance director. Upon further review, we are researching the situation, and as
always we will respond directly to the complainant. We look to have this situation resolved by the end
of this week.
However, we are unable to respond to BBB regarding this complaint, as we are subject to 1 restricted by
the laws which govern the third-party collection of debt set forth by the Fair Debt Collections Practices
Act (FDCPA), along with other Regulatory restrictions. Without the prior express consent of the
consumer, given directly to the debt collector, a debt collector may not discuss, confirm, deny or reveal
the existence of a debt to any other person other than the consumer, their attorney, a consumer reporting
agency if otherwise permitted by law, the creditor, the attorney of the creditor, or the attorney of the
debt collector.
Due to the above referenced guidelines, no further information can be given to BBB at this time
without prior written permission given to Tri-State Adjustments, Inc. by the consumer. As indicated,
however, we will reach out to the complainant no later than April 8, 2016.
Regards,
******** **

1/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 15, 2015, Tri-State Adjustment submitted negative information to credit bureaus Experian and Equifax relating to bills that ****** ******* sent me in error for respiratory medical equipment from August 2013 forward. In March 2013, my daughter was born with a heart murmur that required supplemental oxygen at home. This was leased through ****** *******. In July 2013, her cardiologist advised that her murmur had corrected itself to the point where she no longer required supplemental oxygent. I then called ****** to pick up the equipment, which was done on July 18, 2013. However, ****** mistakenly left one piece of equipment behind. I called them again, and they picked that up on the following day. On both dates, I received a receipt indicating the equipment had been returned. As of July 19, 2013, I had no further obligation to ******. All equipment had been returned and the lease was on a month-to-month basis. The account was also paid in full. Nonetheless, ****** continued to send me bills for August 2013 forward, attempting to charge me for equipment that had been returned. I repeatedly called ****** and sent them the receipts beginning in September 2013 and continuing through June 2015. Each time I called, the customer service representative at ****** assured me that they would fix the billing error. However, after a 3-6 month lapse, I would then begin receiving bills from ****** again. In March 2013, I mailed and faxed my latest complaint letter to ******'s business office (not just the billing address) and promptly received a call. Once again, I was told this was their mistake and it would be fixed. I did not receive any bills again until June 2015. When I received that bill in June, I sent the letter to the general counsel's office at the parent company, Landauer Metropolitan. I received no response and assumed that ****** had finally corrected its business records. Instead, it appears ****** referred this a collection agency, Tri-State. I can only assume that Tri-State does not perform any due diligence or otherwise comply with the FDCPA, because this bill is disputed and there is no basis for ****** or Tri-State to attempt to collect for equipment after it was returned. To my knowledge, no one from Tri-State has attempted to contact me to verify that this is a valid debt. If they had, I would have provided them with the receipts from July 2013 as well as check records showing all prior payments to ****** up to that date. Note: I have received a few calls from an unidentified toll-free number (877-616-8682) on my cell phone asking me to call "for an important message." These voicemails do not refer to Tri-State and I assumed they were a scam. If this is Tri-State's method of contact, it is HIGHLY unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: I would like to Tri-State to contact Experian, Equifax, and any other credit bureau or entity with whom they filed information relating to this supposedly "unpaid" debt "owed" to ****** ******* and have this negative information corrected and removed. I also would like for Tri-State to cease and desist any further collection efforts for this bogus debt.

Business Response: Tri-State Adjustments, Inc. takes all disputes and complaints made regarding the company and its employees seriously.  It is Tri-State Adjustments policy to thoroughly review and consider all disputes and complaints and respond directly to each complainant in a timely manner.

However, we are unable to respond to BBB regarding this complaint, as we are subject to / restricted by the laws which govern the third-party collection of debt set forth by the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA), along with other Regulatory restrictions.  Without the prior express consent of the consumer, given directly to the debt collector, a debt collector may not discuss, confirm, deny or reveal the existence of a debt to any other person other than the consumer, their attorney, a consumer reporting agency if otherwise permitted by law, the creditor, the attorney of the creditor, or the attorney of the debt collector.

Due to the above referenced guidelines, no further information can be given to BBB at this time without prior written permission given to Tri-State Adjustments, Inc. by the consumer.  As indicated, however, we have been in contact with the complainant. 

Consumer Response: On Fri, Jan 8, 2016 at 5:12 AM, ***** ***************** wrote: Dear Brad: Since my last email to the BBB, I have heard from Tristate and I am satisfied with the company's response. Thank you for your assistance! Regards, ***** **** Sent from my iPhone Begin forwarded message:

On Fri, Jan 8, 2016 at 5:12 AM, ***** <kcd75@yahoo.com> wrote:
Dear Brad:

Since my last email to the BBB, I have heard from Tristate and I am satisfied with the company's response. Thank you for your assistance!

Regards,

***** ****

Sent from my iPhone

Begin forwarded message:

11/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by TRI-STATE ADJUSTMENTS stating that I owed monies to ******* *********. I promptly replied stating that ******* ********* has never provided any products or services to me. They reported bogus collections to credit reporting agencies.

Desired Settlement: remove promptly or I will sue you.

Business Response: Tri-State Adjustments, Inc. takes all disputes and complaints made regarding the company and its 
employees seriously. It is Tri-State Adjustments policy to thoroughly review and consider all disputes 
and complaints and respond directly to each complainant in a timely manner. 

However, we are unable to respond to BBB regarding this complaint, as we are subject to / restricted by 
the laws which govern the third-party collection of debt set forth by the Fair Debt Collections Practices 
Act (FDCPA), along with other Regulatory restrictions: Without the prior express consent of the 
consumer, given directly to the debt collector, a debt collector may not discuss, confirm, deny or reveal 
the existence of a debt to any other person other than the consumer, their attorney, a consumer reporting 
agency if otherwise permitted by law, the creditor, the attorney of the creditor, or the attorney of the 
debt collector. 

Due to the above referenced guidelines, no further information can be given to BBB at this time 
without prior written permission given to Tri-State Adjustments, Inc. by the consumer. 

9/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An agent of the company called regarding an outstanding bill from Medstar Medical supply. When I advised the agent that the bill was paid more than a month prior to this particular conversation, he asked for the amount paid and a check number. I advised him that I didn't recall the exact dollar amount but it was approxim $38 and I didn't remember if it was paid by check or debit/credit card but I did pay in full. He refused to accept this as an answer and obviously refused to confirm payment to Medstar as evidenced by a collection item now on my credit report. My credit history is now negatively iimpacted due to their incompetence and laziness

Desired Settlement: Confirm payment and remove the collection item completely from my credit report

Business Response: Tri-State Adjustments, Inc. takes all disputes and complaints made regarding the company and
its employees seriously. It is Tri-State Adjustments policy to thoroughly review and consider all
disputes and complaints and respond directly to each complaint in a timely manner.
However, we are unable to respond to BBB regarding this complaint, as we are subject to /
restricted by the laws which govern the third- party collection of debt set forth by the Fair Debt
Collection Practices Act (FDCPA). Without prior consent of the consumer, given directly to the
debt Collector, a debt collector may not discuss, confirm or reveal the existence of a debt ot any
other person, other than the creditor, the attorney of the creditor, or the attorney of the debt
collector.
Due to the above referenced guideline, no further information can be given at this time without
prior written permission given to Tri-State Adjustments by the consumer.

Consumer Response: On Mon, Aug 3, 2015 at 8:15 AM, **** ******** ******************* wrote:

Hello and thanks fir your continued help.
I did not hear directly from the company but they did remove the negative information from my credit report as requested.
Thank you again for your help.
******* ********

6/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
1/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 8, 2014 Tri-State Adjustment, Inc. sent me, Stephanie Elliott, a letter with accusations of owing a grossly inflated debt that was sold to them by ******* *******. Under the FDCPA 15 U.S. C1692e a misrepresentation of the amount owned in a debt from an original vendor is illegal. I wrote a letter to the agency refuting their allegations of the debt and concerning there illegal collection practices. A debt collection agency cannot charge additional fees or presumed interest on a debt sold or referred to them from the original vendor.

Desired Settlement: I am continuing to work on settling the dispute with ******* ******* and will obtain a full adjusted amount of the debt owed and agreed settlement amount that I will pay directly to ******* *******. Payment to the original vendor concerning a debt is within my legal rights at all times. To prevent any further actions that need to be taken towards Tri-State Adjustment, Inc.'s. illegal collection practices they will need to respond to my letter in writing dated December 19, 2014, send me a copy of all the information that was sent to them by ******* *******, and send me a written letter retracting their previous illegally inflated sum on December 8, 2014.

Business Response:

To Whom It Concerns,

 

Re: Better Business Bureau complaint submitted 12/17/14, Complaint ID: ********.

 

We responded to this complaint on 12/22/14 shortly after receiving it.  We are not sure why you did not receive it, below is our original response.

 

Tri-State Adjustments, Inc. takes all disputes and complaints made towards the company and its employees seriously.  It is Tri-State Adjustments policy to thoroughly review and consider all disputes and complaints and  respond in a timely manner as needed.

 

However, Per the laws governing the third-party collections of debt set forth by the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA):  Without prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collector, a debt collector may not reveal the existence of a debt to any other person other than the consumer, their attorney, a consumer reporting agency if otherwise permitted by law, the creditor, the attorney of the creditor, or the attorney of the debt collector.

 

Due to the above referenced guideline, no further information can be given at this time with out prior permission given to Tri-State Adjustments by the consumer.

 

Regards,

 

 

***** ********

*********** *** ********** *******

Tri-State Adjustments, Inc.

 

1/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company continues to call my home and send me invoices regarding an outstanding amount of $25.00 which was paid on the day of operation. I contacted the company that sold me the cane in post-opt recovery area and they said that there shouldn't be any contact with Tri-State Adjustments as they show the cane was paid for, in cash the same day purchased.

Desired Settlement: That their records are corrected, any information added to my credit report regarding outstanding debts corrected AND a written apology and a statement showing zero balance.

Business Response:

Tri-State Adjustments, Inc. takes all disputes and complaints made towards the company and its employees seriously.  It is Tri-State Adjustments policy to thoroughly review and consider all disputes and complaints and  respond in a timely manner as needed.

 

However, Per the laws governing the third-party collections of debt set forth by the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA):  Without prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collector, a debt collector may not reveal the existence of a debt to any other person other than the consumer, their attorney, a consumer reporting agency if otherwise permitted by law, the creditor, the attorney of the creditor, or the attorney of the debt collector.

 

Due to the above referenced guideline, no further information can be given at this time with out prior permission given to Tri-State Adjustments by the consumer.

 

 

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was prescribed O2, oxygen gas in the July of 2012. My insurance paid for all supplies up until a year later, July 2013 because the prescriiption expired and my doctor did not feel the need to renew the prescription. The account was cancelled in July of 2013. The company refused to pick up the equipment, but no longer charged my insurance company. They wanted a new prescription from my doctor so that they could continue billing for the equipment. The Company is ******** ********** ******** **. Then I received a bill on 11/30/2013 for $196.43, The says it is for services on 5/15.2013 and 8/16/2012. I was the only bill I recived over a year on one date and nearly a year on the other date. No explanantion was given to me by ******** *********. I called my insurance company and they told me they last billed in July of 2013 when my account was cancelled. I recently received a collections notice from TRI-STATE ADJUSTMENTS Collection company. I asked for an itemized bill. The bill provided has no explanation of the charges. My doctor has sent a prescription stating the account was closed and a prescription stating I no longer require oxygen at home. The equipment is still at my home as of this date and they continue to pick it up.

Desired Settlement: I want them to pick up their equipment that has been sitting here for a year without any use, an oxygen machine and two portable oxygen tanks. I also want a complete explanation of the charges added to my account after it was cancelled and sent to me a year after it was supposedly billed. I want this charges dismissed. I also want to file a complaint with the BBB for fadrulant business practices by ******** *********, Pasadena, CA.

Business Response:

Mr. ******* **********,

 

Re: Better Business Bureau complaint submitted 7/8/2014, Complaint ID: ********.

 

Thank you for notifying us regarding the above referenced complaint, Tri-State Adjustments, Inc. takes all disputes and complaints made towards the company and its employees seriously.  It is Tri-State Adjustments policy to thoroughly review and consider all disputes and complaints and respond in a timely manner as needed.

 

However, Per the laws governing the third-party collections of debt set forth by the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA):  Without prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collector, a debt collector may not reveal the existence of a debt to any other person other than the consumer, their attorney, a consumer reporting agency if otherwise permitted by law, the creditor, the attorney of the creditor, or the attorney of the debt collector.

 

Due to the above referenced guideline, no further information can be given at this time without prior permission given to Tri-State Adjustments by the consumer.

 

Regards,

  

**** ******

********** * ******* ********* *******

Tri-State Adjustments, Inc.

Business Response:

Re: Better Business Bureau complaint re-submitted 7/21/2014, Complaint ID: ********.

 

Due to the highly-disputed nature of Mr. ****** *******’s account along with the limited options for communicating with Mr. ******* due to his request to cease and desist with our office we believe the original creditor is best fit to help Mr. ******* resolve his dispute and have closed his account with our office and returned it to the original creditor. 

 

Since the account was still within its validation period, it was not reported by Tri-State Adjustments to any credit reporting agencies.  Though the account has been closed and is no longer listed with our office, Mr. ******* is still welcome to contact our office should he have any questions regarding this matter at ###-###-#### and we will be happy to assist.

 

 

Regards,

 

 

**** ******

********** * ******* ********* *******

Tri-State Adjustments, Inc.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *******

 

 

 

3/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tri State Adjustments has failed to report collections issues to credit agencies when debts have been satisfied. This creates issues in that it is harmful to otherwise good credit and I would like them to report to these agencies correcting the issue. Months after the debts have been paid, they continue to report debts are still owed. This is bad practice and this company needs to be diligent about its business practices.

Desired Settlement: Tri State Adjustments needs to confirm with the credit agencies the matter has been cleared up.

Business Response:

*** ** ********* ***** ** ********** **** ********** **  *****

 

Mr. ******* **********,

 

Re: Better Business Bureau complaint submitted 2/28/2014, Complaint ID: *******.

 

Thank you for notifying us regarding the above referenced complaint, Tri-State Adjustments, Inc. takes all disputes and complaints made towards the company and its employees seriously.  It is Tri-State Adjustments policy to thoroughly review and consider all disputes and complaints and respond in a timely manner as needed.

 

However, Per the laws governing the third-party collections of debt set forth by the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA):  Without prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collector, a debt collector may not reveal the existence of a debt to any other person other than the consumer, their attorney, a consumer reporting agency if otherwise permitted by law, the creditor, the attorney of the creditor, or the attorney of the debt collector.

 

Due to the above referenced guideline, no further information can be given at this time without prior permission given to Tri-State Adjustments by the consumer.

 

Regards,

  

 

**** ******

********** * ******* ********* *******

Tri-State Adjustments, Inc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Tri-State Adjustments Incorporated
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart