Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Equitable Bank, State Savings Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (414) 476-6434 Fax: (414) 777-4149 View Additional Phone Numbers 2290 N Mayfair Rd, Wauwatosa, WI 53226 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.theequitablebank.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers personal and business banking, mortgage lending services, and financial services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Equitable Bank, State Savings Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Equitable Bank, State Savings Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Equitable Bank, State Savings Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1941 Business started: 05/24/1927 in WI Business started locally: 05/01/1927 Business incorporated 05/24/2007 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

U.S. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
15 Rockdale Street, Braintree MA 02184-0172
http://www.fdic.gov/

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System
Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions, 345 W. Washington Avenue, 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org
Phone Number: 608-261-7578
DFIMortgageBanking@wisconsin.gov

Type of Entity

Service Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John P. Matter, President Ms. Rachel Schwab, Marketing Brand Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John P. Matter, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Rachel Schwab, Marketing Brand Director
Business Category

Banks Financing Investment Advisory Service Loans Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Financial Services Mortgage Bankers Monetary Authorities-Central Bank (NAICS: 521110)

Alternate Business Names
Equitable Bank
Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Avoiding Fraudulent Tax Preparation Banking Regulators Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Credit-Budgeting Made Easy

Additional Locations

  • 2290 N Mayfair Rd

    Wauwatosa, WI 53226 (414) 476-6434

  • 5225 S 108th St

    Hales Corners, WI 53130 (414) 425-4321

  • 701 Trailview Court

    Waterford, WI 53185 (262) 534-5161

  • 705 E Silver Spring Dr

    Whitefish Bay, WI 53217 (414) 961-2553

  • 7400 W Oklahoma Ave

    West Allis, WI 53219 (414) 327-1200

  • N15w30921 Golf Rd

    Delafield, WI 53018 (262) 646-4311

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Equitable Bank is reporting fraudulent information on my credit bureau. I attempted to contact customer service to get this resolved but unfortunately only received poor service from a representative who should not be in the business of dealing with your clients. In the past I have obtained many loans with Equitable all in good standing. In 2008 I obtained a construction loan for a future home to be built. Due to the recession I postponed the build. In 2010 I spoke with a branch manger to request a lower competitive interest rate. He advised me to go internally late on the payments and then it would be reevalued. I did but they came back with no offer so I paid it off right away and the account was closed. At no time was I advised that it would be reported against me as a derogatory on my credit bureaus. I am in the process now of purchasing a home and pulled my credit for the first time to see this derogatory on there to my surprise. I contacted your company to get it resolved and received unprofessional and truly disgusting service. After that call I received a notice that now the late payments have be updated to late PLUS a charge off and unpaid balance! Whoever the representative was that I spoke with clearly changed in your system my account to a fraudulent outcome that is completely and utterly incorrect. I just lost the contact I had on a pending new home for my family due to this and I am outraged and ready to take this fight to any complaint board including speaking with my attorney about my rights.

Desired Settlement: I have a clean credit bureau and this one huge reporting error from your company is costing my family a new home. I am asking that this complaint be escalated immediately to the executive offices. Please get this resolved and removed from my credit bureaus.

Business Response: The Equitable Bank prides itself on providing excellent and accurate customer service as we work to meet the financial needs all of our customers. We are also diligent in ensuring our customers are handled in compliance with all appropriate regulations, including the Fair Credit Reporting Act.  In order to maintain the privacy of sensitive information of all consumers,  it is The Equitable Bank’s policy to not publically comment on specific concerns, but to only respond to inquiries received directly from any consumer reporting, state or federal banking agency.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ******** 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Equitable Bank, State Savings Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)