Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers automobile sales, leasing, repairs and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Uptown Ford, Lincoln, Chevrolet, Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Uptown Ford, Lincoln, Chevrolet, Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Uptown Ford, Lincoln, Chevrolet, Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1948 Business started: 01/01/1946 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated 05/12/1955 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Glenn I. Pentler, President Mr. John Pentler, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glenn I. Pentler, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Services Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Auto Parts & Supplies - Used New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Uptown Chevrolet Uptown Chrysler Dodge Uptown Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep Uptown Lincoln Uptown Lincoln & Ford Uptown Motors, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment Used Car Purchase-Buyers Guide

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Uptown Ford, Lincoln, Chevrolet, Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1101 E Commerce Blvd

    Slinger, WI 53086 (262) 670-3800

  • 1595 E Sumner St

    Hartford, WI 53027 (414) 344-0180

  • 2111 N Mayfair Rd

    Milwaukee, WI 53226 (414) 771-9000

  • PO Box 26319

    Milwaukee, WI 53226 (800) 289-8786


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January, 2015, I purchased a used vehicle from Uptown Motors in Slinger, WI. I did purchase this vehicle with a warranty from a third party. I was informed that I did not have to have service provided by Uptown Motors, and that I could go to any approved GM dealership for repairs under the warranty. Two major issues with the vehicle were the ticking noise in the engine and the air conditioning system. Shortly after purchasing the vehicle, I noticed a ticking sound in the engine which would go away after a few minutes. I took the vehicle to Fagan Chevrolet in Janesville, WI for inspection. Fagan Chevrolet determined that the pistons in the engine were scored, thereby requiring a new engine to be put into the vehicle. This was covered under the warranty. I asked the customer service representative if the engine/piston issue could have been masked in any way. The response I received was that Uptown could have put a heavier weight oil in the engine which would mask the ticking noise. It should be noted that my husband called Uptown prior to our arrival to express interest in the vehicle, and to make sure it had not been sold. When we arrived at Uptown, the vehicle was sitting in the front lot of the business by the doors waiting for us. After owning the vehicle, this tells me that Uptown made sure the engine was warm before we test drove the vehicle, which would result in no ticking noise of the engine. The Wisconsin Buyers Guide window sticker states no engine issues or "abnormal noise." My second issue is the air conditioning system. I was repeatedly told that no one could test the air conditioning system as it was too cold outside. I later learned this was not true. On 05/05/15, I took the vehicle to Bergstorm in Madison since it is close to my employment. They tested the air conditioning system. They told me that the retrieved/pumped out 0.2 pounds of refrigerant from the system, and then installed 3 pounds and a tracer dye to detect any leaks. After two months, there is no leak noted in the air conditioning system. Uptown Motors denotes on the Wisconsin Buyers Guide window sticker that there were no issues with the cooling system. I believe this to be false as #1 they told me it was too cold to test the air conditioning, and #2 Bergstrom retrieved 0.2 pounds of refrigerant and there is no leak in the system. I have emailed Mr. Glenn P****** about my concerns for a couple of months. He has not been responsive when I mentioned the vehicle needed a new engine and my out of pocket expenses.

Desired Settlement: The warranty would not pay for a GM engine; by a GM dealership. I had to pay $873 + tax to cover the difference. The work took two weeks. The warranty covered seven (7) days car rental, but I had to pay $190 + tax for additional rental car because the warranty company belabored the process and wasted three (3) days that a mechanic could have been working. I paid Bergstrom $122.23 to inspect and fill the air conditioning system. I am requesting Uptown Motors to reimburse me $1186.00 to cover the costs of my expenses. I would also like to include reimbursement of the time I missed from work due deal with these issues which is $720 ($30 per hour, x 3 days loss of work).

Business Response:

Ms. ****** did purchase the Suburban with 109,800 miles in January 2015.  The first e-mail that I sent to Ms. ****** was on March 25, 2015, which was approximately 2 months after delivery.  She complained about the navigation system which after some instructions with her, appears to be working properly.  The brake pads were replaced but the rotors were not turned.  The hinge on the driver's door was replaced.  No mention at this time of any ticking in the engine two months after delivery.  She then requested what was done before we offered the Suburban for sale.  Below I am listing the items that were replaced to prepare the Suburban for sale.  The window sticker that was on the vehicle and put in the glove box outlines the elements of the car that are inspected.  As you can see, we did not cut corners during the inspection and replaced many maintenance type components.

1.  Upper and lower ball joints

2. Serpentine belt

3. Alignment

4. External bulb

5. Rear U joints

6. Oil pan gasket

7. Right front bearing and hub

8. Right front axle boot

9. right front axle seat

Because the vehicle had over 100,000 miles, it was prudent on Ms. ******'s part to purchase an extended service warranty.  The engine must have been replaced within a month of the March 25th e-mail.  Ms. ****** perhaps had a remanufactured  engine put in the Suburban and that must have been the upcharge for this.  That is her choice but not something that the warranty will cover.  We did not put a heavier weight oil in the Suburban.  We did not mask any engine noise.  This is all conjecture and even the service advisor did not state that we had put in heavier oil.  The type of oil placed in the Suburban could have been checked at that point but was not.  So to say that we knew about this is not warranted.

The second issue is the air conditioning.  Ms. ****** states that Bergstrom states there is no leak in the air conditioning at this time.  I believe it is working properly now.  Uptown did not do anything dishonest in representing this vehicle to the ******s.  The ticking noise was not even mentioned in her March 25, 2015 e-mail.  Uptown spent over $2000 on a safety inspection and the customer spent $1100 a few days before he traded the unit.  I believe this is exercising due diligence in the sale and safety of the Suburban.  Our goal in reconditioning is to make is safe, not new.  In the month of January, we encourage our staff to have the vehicle out front if they have an appointment whether it is a used vehicle or a brand new $70,000 Suburban.  I look at this as customer service, not deception.  As far as paying for an upgrade, that was her decision.  She states that the warranty did not pay for a GM engine.  A GM Engine is the only engine that will fit in her Suburban.  Also, Fagan was the dealer who replaced the engine.  If we replace an engine, we normally would put the guest in a vehicle until the car was completed.  This is obviously a large job and they were compensated at  their  retail rate.

As far as the air conditioning is concerned, Bergstrom did a dye test to detect for any leaks and no leaks were found.  Please keep in mind that the engine was replaced and then she took it in for air conditioning work.  Removing a whole engine from a vehicle is disruptive to the engine compartment.  Normally you do check things like the heater and air conditioning before releasing the vehicle to the customer on such a large repair.  Perhaps Fagan Chevrolet did check it and found nothing wrong.  Anyway, within a short period of time (one or two weeks) Ms. ****** took the Suburban to Bergstrom to check the air and they found no leaks after the dye test.  The air conditioning is working at this point in time.

In summary,  the warranty did cover a replacement engine.  It had to be a GM engine that was placed in the Suburban.  The warranty did cover a replacement rental for 7 days.  As stated previously, perhaps she should ask Fagan Chevrolet for reimbursement.  We would provide rental assistance for such a large customer repair.  In a normal transaction the heater and air conditioning would have been checked by Fagan before the vehicle was returned to the ******s.  She took it to Bergstrom and after the dye test, the air conditioning is working properly.  The vehicle is safe and working properly.  I wish the ******'s many more miles of driving pleasure in their Suburban.


Business Response:

I do not think there is any dispute that Ms. ******s did receive a new engine for the 2008 Suburban that Fagen Automotive put in.  This was referenced in her original complaint that the service policy did cover the new engine.  As indicated in the attachment, she paid $645.00 plus tax for the policy.  Ms. ****** purchased a 6 month, 6,000 mile policy that is now expired on time and perhaps mileage (contract in attachment).  The GM supplied engine does have a much longer warranty and that is why there is an additional cost.  The warranty of the other engine was 12 months or 12,000 miles.  The warranty company offered her roughly another year of warranty.  Ms. ****** was given a choice by the warranty provider.  She opted for the 3 year warranty instead on the 12 month warranty.  Now she has coverage for 3 years with a vehicle that has approximately 115,000 miles.  We agree that the 3 year warranty is worth the extra $700 investment.  Any customer would select the longest warranty coverage possible but there is an understanding that additional coverage will have extra costs.  If I understand correctly, now the expectation is that Uptown should pay the extra $700 for the 3 year coverage that originally was 6 month, 6,000 mile coverage that has now expired. 

We will not participate in the extra costs of the extended 3 year warranty protection that she decided to purchase. When the vehicle was checked under warranty at Bergstrom, the air conditioning was working properly,  We have never sold any information on a customer to an outside vendor.

I wish her many miles and a pleasurable experience in her Suburban in the future and in the years ahead.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I think Uptown Motors should stop while they are so far behind. They cannot keep the facts straight, nor accept any responsibility for the minimal fact of not offering to discuss my concerns with me, nor offer to inspect the vehicle. Instead, I was met with arrogance and I was being blamed for things that I didn't even do. The warranty for the engine that I had to purchase was from a General Motors factory, and not the cheap engine from a 'no name' company in 'Somewhere, Virginia.' The GM engine came with a 100,000 mile warranty versus the 12,000 warranty that the after market warranty would provide.

Uptown Motors pays no attention to detail. I mentioned to the salesman that the 'n' was missing in the name 'Uptown" of their logo located on the back of the vehicle. I find it highly offensive that Uptown chooses to get my name wrong; you have spelled it incorrectly which proves that you pay no attention to detail, nor have any concern for your customers. Again, if you don't pay attention to these little things, why would anyone believe you would pay attention to bigger details?


***** ******

8/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 16th 2015 I had my vehicle towed to this dealership. They called me on July 17th to tell me what was wrong and what needed to be done so my vehicle would work properly. I agreed to the work and the price they told me, then they began to work on my vehicle. On Saturday July 18th I went back to rent a car from uptown. They told me it would be $13 a day. The following week I received a call from Jessica stating that my vehicle was ready but there was something else she wanted to bring to my attention. She explained that I needed more work done. I said to her I don't understand because they looked my vehicle over the first time and they would have come across this at that time. I told her to let me think about it. I also mention the awful rental I had and how it was hard to get in and out. Jessica told me don't worry about it she would cover half of the rental. I called back the next day and told her to go ahead with the other work that needed to be done. By that Saturday July 25th the work wasn't completed so Jessica apologize and told me she would cover thee entire rental. So on Monday and Tuesday which are my long days at work, I wasn't able to come pick up my vehicle until Wednesday July 29th. Prior to that I had already received a call from the dealership on Monday stating my vehicle was ready and what the final cost would be. Which turned out yo be another $300 over the total I was told. At this point I'm convinced you guys are adding more charges to my bill. I called Jessica on Wednesday and went over everything again. She explained that the bill wasn't right and she would fix it. She then asked how I wanted to pay for the rental. I said to her you told me you were gonna covered thee entire rental since you didn't have me vehicle ready that Saturday. She then starting lying saying that she wasn't going to cover the total cost for the rental. I told her I hated liars and she need to keep her word. She then tell me she's not going to argue with me. I told her I will not continue talking to a liar.

Desired Settlement: I would like Jessica to be honest in what she said. I can't believe how she told me one thing then turned around and did something totally different. I'm very dissatisfied with her and this dealership. Your service was awful. I don't even know if all the work was completed so I will take it to another dealership to see if it was all done

Business Response:

I believe there was a misunderstanding on what Jessica offered Mr. ****.  Jessica was going  to pick up the rental charges for Saturday, Sunday and Monday.  The Mountaineer was completed on Monday and ready for pick up on July 27th.  The rental vehicle was out for 11 days according to the rental agreement.  So $13.00 per day would total $143.00. Uptown only charged Mr. **** $96.00 which is only about 7 days for the rental.

The issue here is that when Jessica said she would pick up the charges for the weekend, it was misinterpreted as the whole time period.  Uptown will reimburse Mr. **** for the $96.00 for the rental for the 11 day period.  This should resolve the issue.  If there is an issue, please call Glenn Pentler at Uptown.  I am the dealer principal at Uptown.  A check will be mailed to Mr. **** for the total charges paid on the rental.

Please consider us for future service on your vehicle.  You may contract either myself or Bob M******, the ******* *******.

3/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a company car towed there after an accident. They started repairs without ANY authorization. They have a form with a scribble for a signature, but it was not signed by anyone form ******* ********. When we called to tell them we were having a tow truck come and get the car to take it to the body shop we wanted to fix the car, they first told us they had already ordered parts, and when we pushed back, they claimed they had already started work on the car. We told them to stop, and send us pictures of the work done immediately. At the time of this writing no pictures have been sent.

Desired Settlement: Cease any work done and release the car to our desired repair facility. Whatever they have dome is their problem as they did not have authorization.

Business Response:

I received an e-mail from **** ******* late Monday morning and we came to a resolution on the repair of the 2014 Fusion.  We are going to complete the repair and pay Durable Control's deductible.


The 2014 Fusion was towed here on February 19, 2015.  We received a drop envelope which was signed.  Apparently Mr. ******** said he did not sign the drop envelope.  Mr. ******** had contacted our body shop on February 20th and informed us of his agent ****** *** ***** and his insurance carrier ******* ** *******.  Please keep in mind that from February 20th until March 6th we did not hear from them.  Our shop felt that after Mr. *******  gave us the insurance information on February 20th and we called the carrier that we had the ok to proceed.  We felt that he was the decision maker.  In many fleet accounts we deal with the driver and not the owner of the company.  On March 6, in late afternoon, Mr. ******** stopped by the dealership to confirm that we were in the later stages of the repair process and the Fusion would be completed by probably Thursday March 12 or Friday March 13th.

We felt Mr. ******** represented ******* ******** and we had his permission to begin the repairs.  As you can see the Fusion was in our possession from February 19th and the authority to proceed did not come up until around March 6, 2015. This misunderstanding over the authority to repair the Fusion could have been prevented with a phone call or e-mail not to proceed with the repair.  We felt we did have authorization to proceed and we did.Because of the misunderstanding we are not charging ******* ******** the standard $500 deductible  that would be due at completion..

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: About 5 months ago I purchased a new 2014 Jeep Latitude from Uptown. We had the car for about 15 days when we noticed the car had developed a odor. At that point I was not sure of the cause . In an attempt to find the cause I decided to give the inside of the car a good cleaning. So, I started with the floor and removed all of the floor mats. That's when I discovered the passenger side carpeting was soaked all the way to the back seat. The odor was caused by mold growing under the carpeting. Immediately notified Uptown service center of the problem. We brought the car in for service several days later. They called me the next day and told me there was a problem with the air conditioning hose/clamp that ran under the floor. Apparently, the clamp was faulty and water was flowing into the car. So, they repaired the faulty clamp and replaced all of the carpeting. We picked the car up and parked in the garage overnight. The next day we noticed the odor was still there. We notified service center and they had us bring the car in again. They ran a machine in the car to clear out the odor. We picked the car up the next day and the odor appeared to be gone. Couple weeks later I noticed the passenger side of the car floor was wet again. Called uptown and they told us the door seal was leaking this time. So, they replaced the door seal. Over the past weekend the passenger side of the car was wet yet again, this time both the passenger side front and back floor was wet. We notified Uptown again and they have the car in there service center. My guess is they will have to replace the carpeting again. At this point I have no faith that they will find and fix the problem.

Desired Settlement: Now that the car has had mold in it and has had water problems on three separate occasions. I'm very concerned about the possible health risk. My desire is for Chrysler to replace the vehicle with another vehicle for the same price.

Business Response:

We acknowledge that Mr. & Mrs. *** have had water leak issues with the Jeep Cherokee that was purchased in May 2014.  The Jeep was in first on June 24, 2014 which was close to 1 month after delivery.  We did find a water leak.  The air conditioning tube was leaking.  The ***s were going on vacation with a boat.  We provided a Ram 2500 for 11 days at no charge so there vacation would not be interrupted. 

On September 5, 2014, the ***s noticed the passenger floor wet again.  The weather strip was leaking on the right hand door.  On September 16, 2014, the ***s noticed another water leak.  This time there were loose grommets at the front door wiring harness.  We have submitted picture to Chrysler and again provided the ***s with alternate transportation. 

We have contacted our Chrysler service area representative, Charles Irwin.  The ***s are disappointed with their Jeep Cherokee.  I believe they are satisfied with the level of service that Uptown has provided during this period of ownership since May.  The Cherokee has had a defective air conditioning drain tube, weather strip replacement on the right front door and loose grommets at the front wiring harness since they purchased the vehicle.  We are working with our Chrysler representative on these issues.  The warranty is between the manufacturer and the owner.  In the interest of responding in the time limit provided, this is the current status.  We will stay in touch with the ***s and Chrysler to resolve this water leak issue as quickly as possible.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Uptown still has my car and our trying to fix the last leak. At this point I don't know if the leak is fixed. Until I get my car back, and have had it long enough to show proof that the leak is fixed. I cannot close out this issue. 


******* ***



Business Response:   The last service visit was not processed with Chrysler at the time of the last response.We just finished the claim this week.I believe after this week the Jeep Cherokee  may  qualify under the parameters of the Wisconsin lemon law statute.The response that was received in the previous correspondance did not qualify the Jeep for the Wisconsin lemon law.I know time is of the essence but to our knowledge the Jeep is not leaking currently.This will take a few weeks to process with Chrysler.As stated before the warranty is with Chrysler.We perform the work that was performed properly.Please wait until November 15 and hopefully Chrysler will have a positive response in putting the ***'s in a new Jeep Cherokee.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I spoke to Chrysler case manager on 10/24/14 and they told me they had all of the information they needed and that my car did not meet the parameters (Chrysler claimed they denied it based on the Wisconsin Lemon Law criteria). I spoke to Wisconsin Lemon Representative and they told me my car more than qualified under the current qualification. So, I'm tired of dealing with Chrysler. If you want this claim removed from BBB you will need to provide me with a new car.


******* ***



Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 



******* ***




6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 01/22/14 2006 Ford explorer purchased from Uptown Motors INC. **** * ******* ** ********** ** ***** Mileage = 163,795 -Brakes felt soft on test drive. As condition of sale brakes were to be fixed. I was first told they looked at them and found nothing wrong. I insisted there was and was told they looked at the truck again and needed to bleed some air from the brake lines. Within a few weeks the brakes would intermittently feel soft and then return to normal. Tire low pressure light was also on. Keyless entry code was never supplied after repeated requests. -Several days later I noticed the front right side of the bumper was coming off. 03/13/14 1244 miles since purchase -Truck taken to Valvoline for oil change prior to trip to Florida. Technicians noted that rear differential was extremely low on oil. Oil added to differential. 03/22/14 3340 miles since purchase -Returning home to Wisconsin from vacation in Florida when passenger rear wheel violently detaches from vehicle at freeway speed nearly causing a rollover. Vehicle in Insurance repair facility for 27 days. Repair facility also notes issue with brakes and informs me that a sway link is missing on the vehicle. 04/27/14 4340 miles since purchase Driving back to Wisconsin transmission began slipping and transmission indicator light came on as did check engine light and tire pressure sensor fault light. 05/16/14 5004 miles since purchase Transmission slipping becomes progressively worse and completely fails. Message was sent to dealership stating that brakes are still an issue and needed to be repaired as agreed. Dealership responds stating they would charge me $100 to look at the truck they just sold me and tell me what’s wrong with it. Two attempts were made to respond to this email with more information about the vehicles problems. Both times these responses were returned as undeliverable. 05/17/14 ******* from Uptown motors calls me. I informed her about the problems with the vehicle. She stated they would resolve this situation, needed to talk to her manager and would call me back on 05/19. I asked when they would have the vehicle towed in and looked at but was told she needed to talk to her manager. 05/19/14 No calls received from dealership. I call ******* who stated she just needed to talk to her manager and would call me back in two minutes. No call was returned. 05/20/14 ******* calls stating they ‘have my best interest at heart’ and would be calling me back later that day with her manager who would be coming in on his day off just to address this situation. I again inquired as to when they would be taking my truck in to determine the problems and was told it was up to her manager. ******* and her manager did not call back as promised nor has anyone from Uptown motors since this conversation.

Desired Settlement: Repair or replacement with equivalent vehicle

Business Response:

I am responding to the complaint on the used Ford Explorer with approximately ******* miles (I.D. ******).

There were multiple e-mails going between *** ***** of the Explorer and *** *******.  There are four pages of e-mails that can be provided if necessary.  *** ***** is getting the transmission repaired.  As soon as the Explorer is driveable we will fix the brakes at no charge to him.  This may include rotors or pads and brake lines plus other components with the  brake work.  When the Explorer is completed he can call our **** *** ******* or ***** *******, *** *****, and it will be fixed in a timley manner.  We will also retrieve his keyless entry code when we service the Explorer.

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2011 Hemi Charger R/T to Uptown Chrysler dealership for a small oil leak on Feb. 17th 2014. This was the third time I had taken my vehicle in for the same repair, even after I had told them exactly what needed to be fixed. The service person informed me that they would also be fixing a recall that was issued for my Hemi Charger. The next day I was informed that they, Uptown Chrysler Dealership had blown up my engine by doing the recall. Claiming either it was a faulty part from Chrysler or Uptown's tech. I informed them that I want my engine replaced with the exact engine that is currently in my car along with "break in" oil changes. I was told by Uptown's service person that there is no such thing as "break in" oil changes or break in periods any longer. At this point I was very upset and filed a complaint with Chrysler and spoke with ****** and opened case #xxxxxxxx I received my car back on March 4th around 4:30pm. I did not receive a new 2011 Hemi crate engine. Uptown and Chrysler replace the blown engine block and heads with what the VIN # and there computer system told them to. Uptown assembled the "engine" back together. I drove my car home and noticed it does not have anywhere near the power it had before Uptown had blown my engine. I immediately called Uptown and Spoke with *** *** ******* ******* and ****** at Chrysler and expressed my disappointment and aggravation. Since then in the past two weeks I have taken Uptown's service manager out in my car, Uptown's service tech and they both agree that my car does not have the right amount of power or torque. I have taken out a 2014 Dodge Charger R/T with the Service manager from Uptown also to compare the two cars. Uptown had opened a Star case with Chrysler and the engineers at Chrysler do not have any good reasons as to why this is happening. I informed them that the engine they put in my car is not a 2011 Hemi so it now has 20 less HP along with less torque too. I was told from the dealership now that maybe after a "break in" period it will get better 500-1000 miles. I was told by ****** at Chrysler the break in period should be up to 6000 miles. Originally I was told there wasn't a "break in" period at all. My car was perfect! It was fast with a ton of torque; now isn't even close! Now I am told that Uptown's only tech and most likely the tach that blew up my engine is off on vacation until the beginning of April and I will just have to wait. This is unacceptable and poor customer service! I brought my car in for a simple small oil leak, had my engine blown up by Uptown in Slinger, received a replacement engine that is no where close to the same torque or horse power my original engine had when I brought it in to Uptown Feb 17th 2014. I am constantly being told to wait and I have tried to be patient but today marks 31 days with no resolution.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a NEW 2011 Hemi crate engine. Proof that is replacement crate engine in indeed the same exact engine my car came with and with the exact horse power and torque. The engine that Uptown put in my car is NOT the same as the original 2011 Hemi when I purchased my car brand new. If this is something that Uptown or Chrysler can't do then I wish to have substantial financial compensation. I purchased my car because of a lemon law on my 2011 Dodge Journey because of 4 sets of brake calipers, rotors and pads then finally the front axle snapped while I was driving down the road. I do not want to have to trade in my car or have them buy it back just to have to spend 60K to get the same power, torque and features as my car should still have.

Business Response:

The Charger has been in multiple times for service since October.


  • replaced speakers,
  • front rotors,
  • heated cup holder,
  • oil change etc..


  • Oil leaking from power steering
  • mileage 18,600
  • rental provided


  • Charger came in for leaking cam phaser and POI recall (engine timing chain and guide replcement). The technician followed recall instruction provided by Chyrsler Corp.
  • After recall repair, engine failure occurred
  • According to Chrysler warranty guidelines, the engine block and both cylinder heads were replaced.  Any updates were checked at this time on the Charger.  Ms. ****** was provided a loaner for 20 days.

March 5

  • Received a call from Ms. ****** the next day 3/5 after car was picked up, she felt it did not have the power that it previously had.  *** went for a ride with the customer and had another technician check for any updates in case anything was missed.  Started case with Chrysler engineering and contacted our Chrysler Tech Advisor in Minneapolis.  He asked us to check for any updates and advised us to have customer drive the vehicle for awhile to see if anything changed.  No other repairs were recommended to be performed by Chrysler.

March 12

  • On 3/12 Ms. ****** and *** took a 2014 new Charger off our lot and test drove against her vehicle.  Her initial thought was that the new Charger had much more power accelerating in the freeway, but after another pass the new vehicle performed better but maybe not as good as the first pass on the freeway.

March 26

  • Contacted  Chrysler Tech Advisor and he will be coming in on 4/3 to inspect vehicle.  Customer will be provided a rental vehicle at no charge.She has put about 500 miles on the Charger since work was completed.

Uptown has followed all the guidelines set by Chrysler Corporation.  Ms. ****** feels that the Charger is "no where close to the same torque or horsepower as my original engine she brought in on February 17, 2014."  The technician that worked on her vehicle is level 4 certified, which is the top category for Chrysler technicians, and has been with us for over 10 years.  The Chrysler District Technical Advisor for the Chrysler District will be at our store to provide his opinion.  We represent the manufacturer and the product is under warranty.  Uptown cannot authorize a whole new crated engine.  There has to be a resolution on what is an acceptable amount of torque and horsepower for the Charger.  Hopefully there will be a meeting of the minds so Ms. ****** is satisfied with the performance of the Charger.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from Uptown Chrysler in Slinger Wisconsin is unacceptable.

Yes my 2011 Charger has gone in to Uptown for a few issues since October of 2013; but none of these issues were for major repair. These were minor issues that are not related to Uptown’s service tech blowing up a 2011 Hemi Engine with less than 25,000 miles on it.

I brought in my 2011 Hemi Dodge Charger R/T for a small oil leak and the service writer/manager stated that Uptown would also be fixing a recall issue.

When Uptown's service technician "repaired" my car for the timing chain recall he did the "repair" incorrectly which damaged my engine and made it inoperable to run or drive.

Yes I was provided a rental car for the 20 days that Uptown had my car after damaging it. The rental car was at no cost to Uptown and was paid for by Chrysler.

 I was then told by Uptown in Slinger Wisconsin that the only have one Engine tech at the facility.

So the Auto tech that damaged my engine is also the one that rebuilt my engine. I clearly stated to Uptown's service writer/manager that I wanted a New 2011 Hemi Crate engine. I did not want a service tech that damaged my engine to "rebuild" my engine.

 I called the service writer/manger the same day as I picked up my car after Uptown “rebuilt” the engine they had wrecked and told him that my car does not have the horsepower or torque that it had before.  The performance of my car is no longer the same as it was before I brought it in to Uptown on Feb. 17th or when I bought the car brand new. I have taken a service tech and the service writer/manager out in my car to show the lack of horse power and torque.

 I have been advised by Uptown that a Chrysler District Tech Advisor will be coming to the facility on April 3rd to look t my car and hopefully repair it properly. I will be provided a rental car which is covered under my warranty.

I had been a very loyal customer to Uptown in Slinger and I have purchased at least 3 cars from the dealership lot in the past 8 years. I have referred people to Uptown for new car purchases and tried to keep things local in our community. But if this is how Uptown treats their customers when they damage your car then how could I remain a customer or refer anyone else to do business with them?

How can a business not be held responsible for damaging someone’s property?

How is it that Uptown of Slinger WI not responsible for damaging and wrecking a customer’s engine?

I expect my car to be in the same running condition with the same performance, torque and horsepower it had before I brought it into to Uptown on Feb 17th. I am still expecting and asking for a New 2011 Hemi Crate engine or substantial financial compensation for the lack of performance. 

I have spoken with a lawyer that deals with Magnuson-Moss Warranty act and he had encouraged me to move forward against Uptown. I am still hoping this can get resolved without going that far and that  I will be compensated for the frustration, damage to my car and the headache.


*** ******



Business Response: **** ****** and our ******* ******* *** ******* met with *** on Thursday, April 3, 2014.  Mr. ****** is the Chrysler Midwest Business Center technical advisor for Wisconsin and part of Minnesota.  **** did "plug into" the Charger for any service updates on April 3, 2014.  This includes engine as well as any other electrical components.  Everything at this time was in the normal range for the vehicle.  *** then drove her Charger with **** and ***.  Ms. ****** has put on about 1000 miles since the work was completed.  **** stated that there is about a 3200 mile engine brake-in computer program that limits performance when major engine components are replaced.  We advised *** to drive the Charger for about 4000 miles and keep us informed if there are any issues.  ***, the Service Manager is going to call her the first week of June if he does not hear from her in the interim.  If there is a further issue, Mr. ******, the Chrysler technician service advisor will assist because the Charger in under Chrysler warranty.

2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable