BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile sales, leasing, repairs and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Uptown Ford, Lincoln, Chevrolet, Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Uptown Ford, Lincoln, Chevrolet, Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Uptown Ford, Lincoln, Chevrolet, Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1948 Business started: 01/01/1946 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated: 05/12/1955 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Glenn I. Pentler, President Mr. John Pentler, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glenn I. Pentler, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Services Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Auto Parts & Supplies - Used New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Uptown Chevrolet Uptown Chrysler Dodge Uptown Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep Uptown Lincoln Uptown Lincoln & Ford Uptown Motors, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment Used Car Purchase-Buyers Guide

Additional Locations

  • 1101 E Commerce Blvd

    Slinger, WI 53086 (262) 670-3800

  • 1595 E Sumner St

    Hartford, WI 53027 (414) 344-0180

  • 2111 N Mayfair Rd

    Milwaukee, WI 53226 (414) 771-9000

  • PO Box 26319

    Milwaukee, WI 53226 (800) 289-8786

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2011 Hemi Charger R/T to Uptown Chrysler dealership for a small oil leak on Feb. 17th 2014. This was the third time I had taken my vehicle in for the same repair, even after I had told them exactly what needed to be fixed. The service person informed me that they would also be fixing a recall that was issued for my Hemi Charger. The next day I was informed that they, Uptown Chrysler Dealership had blown up my engine by doing the recall. Claiming either it was a faulty part from Chrysler or Uptown's tech. I informed them that I want my engine replaced with the exact engine that is currently in my car along with "break in" oil changes. I was told by Uptown's service person that there is no such thing as "break in" oil changes or break in periods any longer. At this point I was very upset and filed a complaint with Chrysler and spoke with ****** and opened case #xxxxxxxx I received my car back on March 4th around 4:30pm. I did not receive a new 2011 Hemi crate engine. Uptown and Chrysler replace the blown engine block and heads with what the VIN # and there computer system told them to. Uptown assembled the "engine" back together. I drove my car home and noticed it does not have anywhere near the power it had before Uptown had blown my engine. I immediately called Uptown and Spoke with *** *** ******* ******* and ****** at Chrysler and expressed my disappointment and aggravation. Since then in the past two weeks I have taken Uptown's service manager out in my car, Uptown's service tech and they both agree that my car does not have the right amount of power or torque. I have taken out a 2014 Dodge Charger R/T with the Service manager from Uptown also to compare the two cars. Uptown had opened a Star case with Chrysler and the engineers at Chrysler do not have any good reasons as to why this is happening. I informed them that the engine they put in my car is not a 2011 Hemi so it now has 20 less HP along with less torque too. I was told from the dealership now that maybe after a "break in" period it will get better 500-1000 miles. I was told by ****** at Chrysler the break in period should be up to 6000 miles. Originally I was told there wasn't a "break in" period at all. My car was perfect! It was fast with a ton of torque; now isn't even close! Now I am told that Uptown's only tech and most likely the tach that blew up my engine is off on vacation until the beginning of April and I will just have to wait. This is unacceptable and poor customer service! I brought my car in for a simple small oil leak, had my engine blown up by Uptown in Slinger, received a replacement engine that is no where close to the same torque or horse power my original engine had when I brought it in to Uptown Feb 17th 2014. I am constantly being told to wait and I have tried to be patient but today marks 31 days with no resolution.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a NEW 2011 Hemi crate engine. Proof that is replacement crate engine in indeed the same exact engine my car came with and with the exact horse power and torque. The engine that Uptown put in my car is NOT the same as the original 2011 Hemi when I purchased my car brand new. If this is something that Uptown or Chrysler can't do then I wish to have substantial financial compensation. I purchased my car because of a lemon law on my 2011 Dodge Journey because of 4 sets of brake calipers, rotors and pads then finally the front axle snapped while I was driving down the road. I do not want to have to trade in my car or have them buy it back just to have to spend 60K to get the same power, torque and features as my car should still have.

Business Response:

The Charger has been in multiple times for service since October.

October

  • replaced speakers,
  • front rotors,
  • heated cup holder,
  • oil change etc..

   November

  • Oil leaking from power steering
  • mileage 18,600
  • rental provided

February

  • Charger came in for leaking cam phaser and POI recall (engine timing chain and guide replcement). The technician followed recall instruction provided by Chyrsler Corp.
  • After recall repair, engine failure occurred
  • According to Chrysler warranty guidelines, the engine block and both cylinder heads were replaced.  Any updates were checked at this time on the Charger.  Ms. ****** was provided a loaner for 20 days.

March 5

  • Received a call from Ms. ****** the next day 3/5 after car was picked up, she felt it did not have the power that it previously had.  *** went for a ride with the customer and had another technician check for any updates in case anything was missed.  Started case with Chrysler engineering and contacted our Chrysler Tech Advisor in Minneapolis.  He asked us to check for any updates and advised us to have customer drive the vehicle for awhile to see if anything changed.  No other repairs were recommended to be performed by Chrysler.

March 12

  • On 3/12 Ms. ****** and *** took a 2014 new Charger off our lot and test drove against her vehicle.  Her initial thought was that the new Charger had much more power accelerating in the freeway, but after another pass the new vehicle performed better but maybe not as good as the first pass on the freeway.

March 26

  • Contacted  Chrysler Tech Advisor and he will be coming in on 4/3 to inspect vehicle.  Customer will be provided a rental vehicle at no charge.She has put about 500 miles on the Charger since work was completed.

Uptown has followed all the guidelines set by Chrysler Corporation.  Ms. ****** feels that the Charger is "no where close to the same torque or horsepower as my original engine she brought in on February 17, 2014."  The technician that worked on her vehicle is level 4 certified, which is the top category for Chrysler technicians, and has been with us for over 10 years.  The Chrysler District Technical Advisor for the Chrysler District will be at our store to provide his opinion.  We represent the manufacturer and the product is under warranty.  Uptown cannot authorize a whole new crated engine.  There has to be a resolution on what is an acceptable amount of torque and horsepower for the Charger.  Hopefully there will be a meeting of the minds so Ms. ****** is satisfied with the performance of the Charger.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from Uptown Chrysler in Slinger Wisconsin is unacceptable.

Yes my 2011 Charger has gone in to Uptown for a few issues since October of 2013; but none of these issues were for major repair. These were minor issues that are not related to Uptown’s service tech blowing up a 2011 Hemi Engine with less than 25,000 miles on it.

I brought in my 2011 Hemi Dodge Charger R/T for a small oil leak and the service writer/manager stated that Uptown would also be fixing a recall issue.

When Uptown's service technician "repaired" my car for the timing chain recall he did the "repair" incorrectly which damaged my engine and made it inoperable to run or drive.

Yes I was provided a rental car for the 20 days that Uptown had my car after damaging it. The rental car was at no cost to Uptown and was paid for by Chrysler.

 I was then told by Uptown in Slinger Wisconsin that the only have one Engine tech at the facility.

So the Auto tech that damaged my engine is also the one that rebuilt my engine. I clearly stated to Uptown's service writer/manager that I wanted a New 2011 Hemi Crate engine. I did not want a service tech that damaged my engine to "rebuild" my engine.

 I called the service writer/manger the same day as I picked up my car after Uptown “rebuilt” the engine they had wrecked and told him that my car does not have the horsepower or torque that it had before.  The performance of my car is no longer the same as it was before I brought it in to Uptown on Feb. 17th or when I bought the car brand new. I have taken a service tech and the service writer/manager out in my car to show the lack of horse power and torque.

 I have been advised by Uptown that a Chrysler District Tech Advisor will be coming to the facility on April 3rd to look t my car and hopefully repair it properly. I will be provided a rental car which is covered under my warranty.

I had been a very loyal customer to Uptown in Slinger and I have purchased at least 3 cars from the dealership lot in the past 8 years. I have referred people to Uptown for new car purchases and tried to keep things local in our community. But if this is how Uptown treats their customers when they damage your car then how could I remain a customer or refer anyone else to do business with them?

How can a business not be held responsible for damaging someone’s property?

How is it that Uptown of Slinger WI not responsible for damaging and wrecking a customer’s engine?

I expect my car to be in the same running condition with the same performance, torque and horsepower it had before I brought it into to Uptown on Feb 17th. I am still expecting and asking for a New 2011 Hemi Crate engine or substantial financial compensation for the lack of performance. 

I have spoken with a lawyer that deals with Magnuson-Moss Warranty act and he had encouraged me to move forward against Uptown. I am still hoping this can get resolved without going that far and that  I will be compensated for the frustration, damage to my car and the headache.

Regards,

*** ******

 

 

Business Response: **** ****** and our ******* ******* *** ******* met with *** on Thursday, April 3, 2014.  Mr. ****** is the Chrysler Midwest Business Center technical advisor for Wisconsin and part of Minnesota.  **** did "plug into" the Charger for any service updates on April 3, 2014.  This includes engine as well as any other electrical components.  Everything at this time was in the normal range for the vehicle.  *** then drove her Charger with **** and ***.  Ms. ****** has put on about 1000 miles since the work was completed.  **** stated that there is about a 3200 mile engine brake-in computer program that limits performance when major engine components are replaced.  We advised *** to drive the Charger for about 4000 miles and keep us informed if there are any issues.  ***, the Service Manager is going to call her the first week of June if he does not hear from her in the interim.  If there is a further issue, Mr. ******, the Chrysler technician service advisor will assist because the Charger in under Chrysler warranty.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November 2011 I purchased a **** **** ***** with 82,390 miles on it from Uptown Motors. Not long after I purchased the car I noticed that the exhaust system seemed louder than normal but did nothing because I didnt have a extended warranty. Between November 2011 and June 2012 I put roughly 5,500 miles on the car when the transmission began to have problems. I took the car to Al,s ******** * **** ** **** *** ********* ** to be checked out. ** told me that the transmission needed to be rebuilt at a cost of $2,300. He also stated that the car had numerous other defects which included 2 struts, shocks, ball joints, broken front coil springs, flex pipe, res pipe, fftm muffler and gaskets for an additional charge of $2,300 to repair. From his experience ** stated that the front coil springs had been broken BEFORE I purchased the car. Also noting that 5,500 miles was hardly enough miles to be responsible for such damage.It seems to me that the saety check was inaccurate because of the numerous safety issues involved. I purchased the vehicle for an inflated price of $7,100. Today the retail price of my car is $4,500-$4,800. Which also explains the overinflated price. When I contacted Uptown Motors they stated that they were unable to do anything because I had no warranty but for a extra cost I could bring it in to be checked out. **** ******** did this for NO FEE at all. My complaint lies not so much with the transmission but with the numerous defects the car had when it was sold to me. I believe I was taken advantage of because of my age and lack of experience in purchasing used vehicles. I'm on a limited income and believe nobody should have to go through what I have been through.

Desired Settlement: I believe that some form of compensation should be required weather it be helping with the cost of repair or adequate trade in value.

Business Response:

In responsse to Mr. ********'s complaint, this is the first notification we have receieved of this complaint. Typically when a customer has an issue with a vehicle, they would bring the vehicle in to our service department and we would determine the root cause of the issue. This car has not been in our service department since it was picked up (even for an oil change). Though we would not be able to cover all or even the majority of the cost of the repair on a vehicle that was bought 9 months ago, we definitely would have worked with the customer to help keep the costs down. When we set up this 2003 ***** to offer for sale, we did replace the tires and replaced the sway bar links. We inspected the other components of the vehicle and they showed wear indicative of a 9 year old car. In other words, the parts were in working and safe order, but they did show the wear of a vehicle that had over 80,000 miles. In addition, many of the parts that are being recommended for replacement are "wear parts" that wear out over time. They are parts that easily could have many (10s?) thousands of miles of use left but are not as tight as when they were new. As a car owner or retailer, the decision has to be made if you want to make the vehicle as close to new as possible or simply just a safe vehicle to drive. In our experience, a consumer looking to buy a 2003 vehicle is looking to buy a safe vehicle at a reasonable price and that is what we deemed this ***** to be in November of 2011.

Finally, when Mr. ******** purchased his vehicle, he found the car online and called to inquire on the Focus. Based on the fact the car was in nice condition with upgraded features like a moonroof, alloy wheels, and the upgraded *** model, this car stood out to Mr. ******** among the hundreds of other ****** in the area. He deemed it a good value based on his research and stopped into the dealership with his father to look over the vehicle. The vehicle met his expectations and we were able to arrange very aggressive financing terms for him to make the vehicle fit his budget. In no way did we or did we intent to take advantage of any customer. This vehicle was priced aggressively for the equipment and mileage and it was in the condition an average 2003 ***** would be in late in 2011.

We do typically charge a diagnostic charge to offset the expensive diagnostic equipment we offer that the average mechanic does not have access to. We would waive the diagnostic charge if Mr. ******** did want to bring his vehicle here to have us inspect it. The car was bought used and he did not purchase a warranty, but we will do our best to reduce costs if we do verify the concerns and he decides to have the work completed at Uptown.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Uptown Chevrolet in ******* when my car was not working correctly. I had gone through Uptown a couple other times because my insurance covers there and they had a personable staff. When my car acted up the last time as it turned out the problem was my transmission. It took several days (as expected) and it cost around $1,500. A couple months later my car was having problems starting. I took it to another place in my home town that my daughter had recommended. The diagnosis that was given to me was problems with my transmission. When I talked with the mechanic I told him I had taken it to Uptown for my transmission, and he told me they had just taken my money, because nothing looked like it was fixed. Now after a faulty repair, I am out another $1,700 to fix the same problem that I had already fixed. The funny part is my daughter had the same problem with her car and Uptown. I have never been so upset about my car. I will never be going back to Uptown because they cannot seem to fix the problems in any of the cars. More recently I learned of other friends who have also had problems with getting cars fixed at Uptown Chevrolet. They are taking money and not fixing the problem.

Desired Settlement: I want my car to run smoothly, but I do not trust Uptown to fix it. If I got my money back I could take my car to someone who will fix the problem the first time.

Business Response: On December 6, 2011 Mrs. ************** brought her **** ***** ****** to Uptown Chevrolet with an  intermittent no start ad no PRNDL indicator on the dashboard.  The problem was disgnosed to be the transmission mode switch.  Mrs. ************** gave us permission to replace the mode switch at a cost of $1053.95.  After speaking with Mr. **************, the problem with the car now is an internal transmission problem causing a slipping condition, which is not related to the previous repair.  We did not work on any transmission shifting issue in December.  We worked on the selector on the dash. Even though the two issues are not related,  we have offered to diagnose the current problem at no charge to Mr. and Mrs. **************.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1