Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

John Amato Hyundai Superstore

Phone: (414) 357-8500 Fax: (414) 357-4613 8301 N 76th St, Milwaukee, WI 53223 http://www.johnamatohyundai.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used auto sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that John Amato Hyundai Superstore meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for John Amato Hyundai Superstore include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on John Amato Hyundai Superstore
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 20, 2011 Business started: 10/17/1980 in WI Business started locally: 10/17/1980 Business incorporated 10/17/1980 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. J. R. Amato, General Manager Mr. Jon Lebese, Parts & Service Director Mr. Don Morrison, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. J. R. Amato, General Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Jon Lebese, Parts & Service Director
Related Businesses
John Amato Nissan, Inc John Amato Ford, Inc. Amato Collision Center, Inc
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
John Amato Hyundai Mazda John Amato Hyundai, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

John Amato Hyundai Superstore has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8301 N 76th St

    Milwaukee, WI 53223 (414) 357-8500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from Amato. I received financing, I later went to my credit union and found out that I could get a better percentage rate through my credit union, I returned the vehicle the following day. I told the sales person that I wanted to return the vehicle and I didn't want to use the finance company they had because the interest rate was to high. I was told that I couldn't bring back the vehicle once I signed the contract. I am still stuck with this vehicle. I've been threatened. I was told that the financing was going through if I wanted it to or not. I am at my witts end and I don't know what else to do. They did not give me a carfax report at my request. The price of the vehicle was not clearly marked on the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the vehicle and get my down payment of $6000.00 back. And I would like an apology for the unfair sales tactics they used. Including their "creative"accounting.

Business Response:

********,

 

I am sorry you are having issues. I would like to work with you to help you get that better financing rate through your own bank.

 

All we would need to do is have you come in and drop off a purchase contract with them and you can finance through them:)

 

Otherwise, I would be happy to extend to you our 3 day return option even though we are outside of 3 days. 

You will be charged the $500 re-stocking fee if you would like to go this rout. 

 

 

Hope this helps!

 

JR Amato

###-###-####

5/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle back in March of 2013 from this dealership and was told that I would be receiving what's called a "forever warranty", I believe the warranty company is out of Cleveland, OH the phone number there is ###-###-####. I just got off the phone with them telling me that my warranty was no longer valid. I feel that I have been misled by this warranty company. According to the contract I am to let them know each time I need the vehicle repaired or serviced. I have done this each time I had something done to the vehicle in terms of a repair, I even went back to the original car dealer, (Amato) to have the drive shaft replaced. That is another issue in it's self because I'm being told now that the drive shaft that I had them replace was not replaced, it was rebuilt. And for this reason it's broke again, less than 3 years later. I am very upset about the fact that this warranty company never got in touch with me in any way, neither by regular mail or email. The person who answered the phone today said she did not see an email listed for me in her system. She also claimed that each time I called it was reiterated to me that I would have to call for every type of situation regarding service for my vehicle. This is just not true. I believe I have kept up with my duty to report and maintain my vehicle, the problem I believe is that the warranty company has a way to put all the responsibility on the customer and they sit back and wait till we make a minor mistake so that they can say gotcha and you are out. The forever warranty on lt's surface sounds great and I felt good when I received it, but I also felt it sounded to good to be true and now I'm finding out that is the case.

Desired Settlement: I would expect the dealership to want to lend some help in this case, the problem is that they are telling me I can't drive the vehicle in the condition that it's in. The drive shaft could end up going thru the floor if I keep driving my vehicle. I have to have it repaired very soon. I would need the warranty company to reimburse me for any monies that I pay out for this repair. At this time I am being quoted 1600.00 for the replacement of this part. Please let me know if you are able to help with this situation.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern

Mr ******** purchased a used vehicle from Amato. The vehcile warranty was included with the vehicle purchase at no cost to Mr ********. Warranty required that Mr ******** perform scheduled vehicle maintanance with Amato, inevent that Mr ******** could not service the vehicle with Amato, he was to call the warranty company and get preauthorization to service else where. Mr ******** signed a document acknowledging the requirements. I have included the document with this correspondence. Mr ******** also called the company twice to preauthorize repairs that where going to be performed elsewhere. I have included that document that has his preauthorizations from the warranty company. The drive shaft that was replaced on his vehicle on July 16th 2013 carried a replacement warranty of 1 year or 12,000 miles from the manufacture. Had the warranty forever contract been valid this would have been replaced again. The last time Mr ******** vehicle was serviced at Amato was April 2nd 2014. Mr ******** is a customer of Amato and we would be willing to perform the repairs at a discount if he is interested.

Sincerly

*** ******

Service Director

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ********

I have since paid over 600 dollars to Porcaro Ford here in Racine, they tell me that it was nothing that could wait.

They also tell me that who ever put the last one in they installed a rebuilt or used unit. there is no way that it should have already failed.

I would like this company to reimburse my monies asap for this repair and also reinstate my warranty which I believe

was not initiated in good faith. I do understand that the warranty is free to some degree, but that makes no difference at all when it comes to service and making sure one receives what was promised. I think that this is the only solution at this time.

Business Response:

To Who It May Concern

Warranty forever is a third party warranty. It is not Amato. We unfortunately cannot overturn their decision for terminating the warranty. We offered to assist with the repairs if they were done at our facility. We are unable to assist with repairs that are performed elsewhere.

Sincerly

*** ******

Service Director

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ********

It is so convenient to say that you don't have control due to the fact that the partners that you deal with on a daily basis work independently. I'm a business owner and I would never work this way. I need to have control for the sake of my clients.

Long term relationships are essential and necessary. I don't believe this business (Amato) should be out there promoting their so-called forever warranty, giving people the impression that they in fact provide this benefit. I believe that's what's called false advertising. At this juncture it sounds to me like this company is not willing to deal in good faith and I get very frustrated when I know that other companies operate this way. Myself as a businessman would take responsibility for what takes place in my place of business and not try to make excuses or try and justify my errors or the errors of my partners. The bottom line is that they replaced a drive shaft with a faulty one and they are not willing to stand behind their work. Even if I'm not allowed to continue the forever warranty, the least they could do is back the part they put in the last time.

2/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a vehicle and also purchased a service package "care care" for $499 which covers basic maintenance for 3-5 years. We have only used the services one time. Our vehicle was stolen and we no longer have the vehicle. We are asking for a prorated refund of the car package. My husband has called on multiple occasions and was told that this was part of the loan. I have called and left messages with no call backs. We have verified with other car dealerships and car packages and these can generally be cancelled at any time. Cancellation was even recommended by our insurance agent. Essentially, I prepaid for a service and will not be receiving this service due to the loss of the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Prorated refund of roughly $400

Business Response:

The refund the customer is requesting is for a prepaid maintenance program.  This product is non-cancellable due to the fact that its use is not limited to the vehicle purchased;  it can be used for services on any car the customer brings to any Amato dealership.

 

I reached out to the customer today and left a message to call me back.  Still awaiting the call back at this time.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

8/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To who it may concern, I was in the market to purchase a used car and went and looked at a 03 Honda Pilot with around 162,000 miles on it at Amato Hyundai in Milwaukee. I went and took the car to ***** **** in Waukesha to have a mechanic take a general look at the automobile, upon his inspection he thought the car looked good and and that it would be okay to buy it, please keep in mind the check engine light was not on at this point so their was no need to have a diagnostics done. After the inspection I went back and traded in my old van for 1,500$ and paid Amato 4,000$ cash and took the Pilot home. The car was purchased on 19th and and much to my surprise the check engine light came on the 20th. On the 22nd I took the car into **** **** in Sussex and got horrible news. Two error codes came up relaying a bad transmission, Error code P0730 - Failed transmission shift control system and Error Code P0700 - Indicates trans fault. After further review the worker at **** **** confirmed that the Amato had pulled the battery on the Pilot so these codes would not pop up on the initial inspection on the 19th. I felt so taken advantage of. After calling and pleading with Amato to resolve this issue they informed me they are not willing to help me what so ever due to the fact I signed an "as is agreement" for the vehicle. I filled out a request with the Better Business Bureau Auto Line on the first of July and on the second of July informed me that , "We regret that BBB AUTO LINE will be unable to assist you as our program does not handle dealership sales, service, or other business complaints. We recommend that you contact the Local BBB which services the area where the business in question is located." , this is why I am turning to the local BBB branch. I have both receipts form **** **** on the 22nd and have a quote from ***** ***** ************ stating the Pilot will need a brand new transmission for around 2,800$. I understand that I signed an "as is document" but this was complete fraud by a decently reputable used car dealership.They knew the car had transmission problems and tricked me by pulling the battery so the check, engine light wold not come on until a day or so later after the vehicle was already purchased . I know there is something that can be done , I am a hard working mother of four and was hoping I was getting a semi-reliable car for my family and instead got badly tricked by a used car deal.

Desired Settlement: Seeing as Amato was well aware of major transmission problems when they sold me the vehicle and pulled the battery as so neither of the error codes above would show up upon purchase, I would like them to either fix or pay for a new transmission in my vehicle or fully reimburse me my funds. This is nothing more than a used car dealership using trickery to take advantage of people.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern

Ms ***** purchased a vehicle from a 2003 Honda Pilot with 162,258 miles on it. This vehicle was displayed on the lot with other as is cars. These vehicles are parked away from the normal vehicles that are sold with warranties.

Ms ***** chose this vehicle knowing that it was AS IS. Ms ***** opted to have the vehicle checked out by an independant shop so as to make sure the vehicle would suit her needs as it was a high mile car. She came back from the inspection and opted to buy the vehicle. Amato has been in buisness for over 50 years and do not turn off lights or disconnect batteries to mislead people. This vehicle was inspected by us and the independent shop and we did not notice any transmission problems at delivery.

 

Sincerely

 

*** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As stated in the first letter I understood the "AS IS" vehicle, but upon my first initial inspection by the independent shop, the check engine light never came on. If the check engine light came on with a transmission error code I would have never purchased the automobile in the first place. This is not a coincidence that the check engine light came on with a major transmission problem one day after the car was purchased. A major transmission problem does not happen overnight to a vehicle, Amato knew of this issue and used fraudulent activity to trick me into buying this car. Per the Wisconsin Department of Transportation " However, even when selling a vehicle "as is," the dealer must inspect the vehicle and disclose existing problems." This was most definitely an existing problem and was not properly brought to our attention at the time of purchase,  instead it was hidden. Even if Amato was unaware of this issue you would think that they would preform some act of compensation due to the fact it was literally a day or two later when we recieved this horrible news about the transmission. I understand the risk of buying a high mileage vehicle but to have a transmission needing to be replaced day's after purchase is absurd. For a business that prides themselves on serving people for over 50 years I would hope that they have a better business practice and not sell a mother of four a car that needs thousands of dollars in repairs and do nothing to compensate her. I appreciate anything the Better Business Bureau can do because this is complete fraudulent activity.  

Regards,

******** *****

 

 

Business Response: We have reached out to Ms ***** and are assisting with getting the vehicle repaired

7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my vehicle serviced and it was damaged by the service technician. I was told the technician noticed the damage but did not document it and to bring the car back to have it repaired when more technicians were available to fix it. I left the lot and nearly had an accident. The damage was to the cruise control switch, which resulted in it getting lodged behind the turn signal while the wheel was in rotation following a turn. This is the second repair/safety concern I have had. Previously the techs told me my breaks for fine at every service visit but in fact they were worn. I ended up needing brakes and rotors all the way around. I believe this was an attempt to force me to pay more in service fees. I have made several calls to the dealership to discuss my concerns no one will return my call.

Desired Settlement: I feel this dealership takes advantage of its customers because of the warranty forever program, which forces customer to choose to be serviced by them to avoid the possibility of voiding the warranty. I would like to have my concerns heard by the dealership, better service to be provided, assurance the proper repair has been made to my cruise control switch and some other form of compensation.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern

 

Ms. ******* stopped in at our Dealership on June 27, 2015 to have a oil change performed.  We completed a lube oil and filter service with a car wash. This took about 60 minutes. 

After we had finished the oil change Ms ******* left the Dealership with her vehicle.  She than called back to the Dealership about 45 minutes later and informed us that she was on ** ** and ***** **** shopping, and that her turn signal was broken.  She stated that she was unable to drive vehicle back to the Dealership.  At this time we sent a Service Advisor and shuttle driver to go inspect her vehicle on 83 & Brown deer.  Ms.  ******* rode back in the shuttle vehicle and the Service Advisor was able to fasten the cruise control stalk there. The plastic snaps came a loose.  The Advisor then drove vehicle back to the shop to re-inspect.  Everything worked as it should.  This took less than 5 minutes.  

 

Ms. ** ***** was in good spirits when she took redelivery of her vehicle.  And was happy it was handled right away. 

 

I received a message on Thursday from Ms. ******* on Thursday 7/2/2015.  She stated that she left me a earlier message.  She was very upset.  I informed her that I had not received any message earlier then 7/2.

I offered her a apology for not receiving a earlier message.  She than informed me of what transpired last week Saturday.  I asked if she had any issues with her vehicle.  She stated no.  Everything is working as it should.  I offered another apology for what transpired last week and that I will work with my staff to make sure this never happens again.

 

Sincerly 

 

Mike E****

******* ******* 

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern

 

We have reached out to Ms ******* we have offered her to detail  here vehicle and she is happy with the resolution

 

thanks

 

*** ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *******

 

 

 

6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle was in the dealership for a tire recall. After picking the vehicle up on 4/20, I immediately noticed a distinct pull to the right. The vehicle was literally tugging to the right when it could (even tested it on the left side of the road -- not as noticeable, but still tugged right). I reached out to the dealership less than two hours after the fact but was unable to reach my service advisor, J.D. I was able to finally get my car in on 5/12, after an earlier appointment and callback was not honored. On 5/13, I was informed the tires had damage on them, which causes the pull to the right and the repair would be on my expense. The pull to the right was present on the drive home from the dealership. This is completely unacceptable. Service manager M.E. offered to split the costs on the repair, I declined. I would expect the dealership to make it right, as the issue was immediately present. Dealership has further made it clear that they would not prefer to service my vehicle in the future. Buyers, individuals coming in for service, caveat emptor.

Desired Settlement: I want the dealership to take responsibility and fix the pull to the right. There is NO reason a customer has to experience this on a less than a one year old car after coming from the dealership on a recall. A pull to any side is absolutely unacceptable coming from the shop. I want an apology from the service manager for the inconvenience caused.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern

******* ******** dropped his vehicle off at our service department for a vibration while driving. Amato Hyundai diagnosed the vehicle and found a technical service bulletin that recommended replacing all 4 tires. Amato Hyundai then contacted Hyundai Motor America for permission to replace the vehicle’s tires under warranty. Hyundai Motor America approved the request and Amato Hyundai mounted and road force balanced 4 new tires on Mr. ********’s vehicle. Mike E**** (Amato Hyundai service manager) personally test drove the vehicle for 5 miles to perform quality inspection of the repair and found the vehicle to operating as designed with no vibration or pull, and visually inspected the tires and rims and saw no damage.

Mr. ******** picked up his vehicle after the above referenced repairs and he claims that after picking up his vehicle he noticed the vehicle was pulling and tried to schedule an appointment.   Mr. ******** has had a history of issues with several different vehicles, and has in the past always emailed the Amato Hyundai Service Manager and copied the Amato ******* ******* ******** anytime his vehicle has been in our shop or when requesting an appointment.   He did not do that this time.

Mr. ******** drove his car his car for 22 days and 849 miles before returning it to the Amato Hyundai dealership for service. When he dropped it off he mentioned that the vehicle was pulling to the right, and that it had been pulling since he picked it up from the last repair. Our technicians inspected the vehicle for the pull and during the diagnosis noticed that the 2 of the new tires that we replaced had scrapes and chunks missing from the side walls. Two of the rims were also damaged.  We have enclosed the pictures of the 2 rims and tires that are in question.

We believe the repairs to Mr. ********’s vehicle were done correctly and to manufacturer specifications.  Amato Hyundai did not install damaged tires on damaged rims.

Amato Hyundai recommended replacing the tires, and or repairing the rims along with a vehicle alignment to correct the pull. Mr. ******** has declined to pay for the repairs at this time.  Amato has been in business for over 50 years in our community.  We pride ourselves in superior quality and customer service.  If Amato Hyundai had caused any of the damage to these two tires and rims, we would have repaired at no cost to Mr. ********.  His request that Amato Hyundai pay for part or all of his repairs cannot be granted, as Amato Hyundai cannot be responsible for something that was clearly not within our control.

Sincerely

Jon L*****, ***** * ******* ******** – Amato Hyundai

Business Response:

Vehicle did not have damaged tires and rims when it was in our shop, the 2 items  and alignment could cause cause vehicle pull. Therefore something happened to the vehicle after it left our shop.

 

thanks

 

Jon L*****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My final view on the matter is the car did not pull before the vehicle was at John Amato for service and a warranty recall. After the warranty work was done and new tires were put on, the vehicle pulled the same day on the drive home and I immediately contacted the dealership. Unfortunately, the dealership cites that I could have brought it in earlier - and I wish I could have, if they had honored my appointment requests, which they did not. If this fact is denied by the dealership, I would want to know. For a vehicle to pull on the drive home from the shop isn't right. For a dealership to push back an appointment back over 3 weeks, is also not right.


The dealership service manager further banned my vehicle from service, citing he would not want to see my vehicle in for service again. Great customer support.


Regards,

******* ********

 

 

5/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new 2012 Elantra from this dealer. Based on the verbal sales pitch for the extended warranty, we purchased. The sales guy specifically said if no claim is filed we'll be refunded $1849 ($1899 less $50 fee). We traded in the 2012 for a 2015. Were told that we need to file the paperwork and we would be mailed the refund on the extended warranty. We did that but verbally declined the warranty on the 2015 car, knowing we would trade it in within three years or so - actually stated the reason to the finance guy. He went ahead and added it anyway to the financing - we signed and didn't realize he had added it in. I realized it 10 days later when I went to file the papers away. Called and he said we could go cancel it and it would come off the amount we financed. Husband went and signed cancellation. We later received the payment information from the financing, it was never deducted. Additionally, at the same time we received the refund for the 2012 Elantra - $179. I'm not kidding. Totally fraudulent practices on the extended warranties. Same finance guy both times. I assume he's on commission. Beware! Lack of scruples.

Desired Settlement: I expect a full refund on the 2015 warranty that we did not want and $1849 on the 2012 warranty, as we were told we would receive.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern

 

On February 27, 2012, ****** ******* purchased a 2012 Hyundai Elantra.  In connection with this purchase, Mr. ******* agreed in writing to purchase a service contract.  The cost of this service contract was $1,899.00.

 

The terms of this contract were as such that if there were no claims made under the contract when the contract expires, the entire purchase price of the contract will be refunded.  The language in the contract states that it expires on the earlier of 10 years or when the vehicle reaches 100,000 miles.

 

This service contract was cancelled on February 23, 2015.  At the time of cancellation the vehicle had 88,330 miles.  Since the term of the contract had not expired, the amount of refund per the contract was $174.27.  This check was sent to Mr. ******* on March 18, 2015.

 

On February 23, 2015, ****** ******* agreed in writing to purchase a service contract in connection with the purchase of a 2015 Hyundai Elantra .

 

On March 4, 2015 Mr. ******* came back to the dealership and completed a written request to cancel the service contract on the 2015 Elantra.

 

This cancellation was processed and a full refund of the purchase price of $2,299.00 was made to the lending institution that provided financing for the purchase of the vehicle and service contract.  When there is an outstanding loan on a vehicle, we are legally required to submit any refunds of service contracts that were included as part of the deal to the lienholder. 

 

We cannot issue a refund for the service contract on the 2015 Elantra to Mr. ******* per the discussion above.

 

Due to misscommunication with regard to the service contract that was purchased with the 2012 Hyundai Elantra, we are willing to refund the entire purchase price of that contract (less previously amount refunded of $174.27) to Mr. *******, for a refund of $1,724.73.

 

 

*** ******** ***

4/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from john amota and there forever warranty 2 years ago . I knew I had have all maintenance done at one of their dealerships well my car start act up I carry to dealerships they say my warranty is out I ask them have can my warranty be out if I have forever warranty long as I own the car well my engine went out there ask $2500 to fix it my warranty say I get a rental car my be at the shop bout 4

Desired Settlement: repair with my warranty

Business Response:

 

To Whom It May Concern

 

MS ******* has been servicing her vehicle with us a Amato. Her warranty has paid for repairs in the Past. MS ******* was in for Service at 100816 miles and at that time she declined the 100K maintanance. She was also in at 108707 miles

and also declined required maintance. I have attached the repair orders of when she was informed. By declining the services she voided her warranty per contract guidelines. I have also attached the warranty forever acknowledgement form

she signed agreeing to maintain her vehicle. MS ******* has been a good customer for us and unfortunately we can not reverse the warranty companies decision. The warranty company is a third party warranty company that is not Amato. We

at Amato are willing to help and discount the repair.

 

Sincerely

 

*** ****** ******* ********

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of 2013 our car engine locked. So we then took the vehicle back to John amato car repair shop to get it fixed. The mechanics at John Amato then gave us the option to either get a new engine or to trade in the vehicle. We opted to get a new engine with the assumption that it would be repaired professionally and properly. But unfortunately that was not what we received. So after waiting nearly two months in witch they said would only take one week for them to replace the engine, when the when we received the car back the car ran for a week , then shut down we then towed the car back and we were told we needed a new starter. So after a new starter was installed nearly two days later the vehicle started shaking and the check engine light stayed on. Also the vehicle would not crank the first time you had to start the car at least two times.We took the car back to the dealer and they said we need another new engine. it took them nearly three months to finish putting in a "new" engine. When asked what is the hold up they said "we had to wait until we sent the faulty engine back to the company under our warranty, then wait for them to send us another engine." So after getting the car back we thought the nightmare was over and the engine light came back on. So we had to take the car back in to get you guessed it, another engine! So again we waited months to get our vehicle back. So then not even a month later we had to get another engine again! We had to go thru the same thing over again! I would also like to add that I was under the assumption that I was going to receive professional quality work and I did not receive that. Also I was under the assumption that a new engine was going to be placed in the vehicle. Not a temporary engine. We are still having engine trouble so we took the car to a local ********* and they found more issues with the engine. We then told the engine concerns to Amato but they won't evaluate the engine without us paying for it to get looked at. And at this point I want a refund of all my cash I spent at John Amato, or I want a trade in with no money down to settle my dispute! If neither of my settlement requirements are not meant I will seek legal action that would cost the company more money.

Desired Settlement: REFUND IN CASH ONLY!!!! OR FULL TRADE IN WITH NO MONEY DOWN!! WILL SEEK LEGAL ACTION IF EITHER OUTCOME ISNT GRANTED! SO IT WOULD BE WISE FOR JOHN AMATO TO GRANT MY OUTCOME OR BE PREPARED TO PAY EVEN MORE OUT OF POCKET THEN DESIRED!

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern

We at Amato have reached out to Mr. ******* and asked him to bring his vehicle in for inspection. We provided Mr. ******* a free rental vehicle while we performed the inspection. The inspection revealed that the vehicle has a power steering leak and worn front end parts that are causing noise and abnormal tire wear. We have put together an estimate for the repairs and informed Mr. *******. The repairs needed are not part of the previous repairs. Mr. ******* has declined the repairs at this time. Amato purchased a remanufactured engine from Advanced Power Train who is a supplier of engines. This engine has a 3year 36K mile warranty. Advance power train has paid Amato to perform all the engine replacements including rental car charges for the vehicles Mr. ******* was put in. Mr. ******* has always had a free 2013 vehicle to drive while his car was being repaired. Mr. ******* was offered a repurchase of his vehicle before the 2 engine was installed, and at that time Mr. ******* opted to keep his car. This was before the warranty company spent the money to replace all the engines. Mr. ******* is welcome to bring his vehicle into our sales department and trade the vehicle in. He will have to requalify with the finance company to make a purchase.

Yours Sincerely

*** ******

******* *******

 

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A few months ago I was looking for a car. I was looking at the jeep grand cherokee. So fast forwarding to this month I was told I could purchase a $8,995 jeep grand cherokee and that we had a deal over the phone that all I had to bring was my title for my trade of my Toyota corolla 2007. So I did so also they said I had to buy car insurance for the 2005 red jeep grand cherokee. A total of $213.69 was payed for full coverage. Me and my fiancé were then told we didn't have the car. We were disappointed and discouraged because the car dealer said that we had a deal on the phone. I don't appreciate being lied to. It was not a misunderstanding. I never once said my car was worth $4,500. It was a ridiculous thing as to what they did saying I had the car then didn't. An apology won't do anything because the manager didn't show much care or empathy. I yelled at him because it wasn't like this was something little at all. No car place has ever asked to pay for the car insurance before having the car. We thought we had it because they told us to pay for the insurance.

Desired Settlement: They said we had a deal so it needs to be finished either pay for the 4,500 that they said my car was worth or repair my car. They wanted a total of $7,000 put down and a remains $1,500 of in house financing.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 The customer is correct in stating we had a prelimary deal worked out over the phone, however this was pending a final appraisal of the 2007 Corolla.  As everything was discussed over the phone, we had yet to have an opportunity to properly appraise his vehicle.  If there was not clarity within the discussions with the customer, then on behalf of our dealership I'd like to apolgize for not making that clear.  In regards to having the insurance set up on the vehicle, it is Wisconsin state law that a customer must have full coverage insurance on a vehicle prior to leaving the lot.  We simply were trying to expedite the transaction based on the assumption the value of his trade would be accurate.  Unfortunately it did not work out that way.  In most cases, insurance companies will provide a refund of the intial proceeds of a policy if the deal is not finalized.

 

** *****

***** *******

***** *******

 

Consumer Response: The reason why we had to get car insurance was because they said we had the car. All we had to do was get a bank statement, bring cell phone bill, and write five names. Which I did then we were told we didn't have the car after the car sales man said we had a deal. There needs to be ramifications for lying. We opulent of paid for the car insurance unless we didn't have the car. The apology is not really an apology because the guy on the phone had an attitude about and told me to go somewhere else and find a ****** jeep.

11/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This started in January 2012. I purchased a 2010 Chevy Malibu from them. About 16 - 18 months later I had to replace the lower control arms & buy tires. Tires, ok. Lower control arms, not so much. I believe the control arms were an issue when I bought the car. They just said "drive it a while & see". I ended up acquiring a loan to purchase the tires & replace the lower control arms. I assumed this would have been covered under my "Warranty Forever Platinum" coverage I purchased when I bought it. I brought the Chevy in for problems with the defroster. After the service dept. looked at it they told me the fuse panel was melting the fuses & causing the shorts. I had also brought it in for the dashboard lights would dim & then brighten, the drivers door not opening.They couldn't find anything wrong with the dashboard lights & replaced the contact because I couldn't get into the car. The same problem occurred after the contact was replaced, just not as often. Hearing the fuse panel was melting fuses made it clear why the car was having problems. In the waiting room, I saw my name was on their "Buy Back" list & I had to ask what that was about. (I never should have asked.)They showed me a few cars I liked but they smelled of smoke & I was told I could not afford some of them. They had a 2013 Mazda 6 that I do NOT want & a payment I can NOT afford. I ended up with the Mazda for fear of the Malibu catching fire on the highway somewhere. The Mazda has a burning odor from somewhere around the blower for the ac/heater. The service department smelled it. They said it would "burn off" after 3,000 miles & it hasn't gone away. I now have 8,800 miles on the car & still have the smell as well. They used the Malibu as a trade-in on the loan. The sales person at Amato Mazda said they could not buy the Mazda back unless I paid $11,000 because the Mazda is worth $15,000 now. The total loan was for $26,645.12. The base price of the Mazda, when I bought it was 21,995.00, that's on the papers. I should not have gone to this dealership by myself. They saw me coming. I didn't even get any options like the Malibu had on this Mazda.

Desired Settlement: They need to give me a car that is equivalent to the current loan. Without me paying $11,000.00 towards the current loan. They need to make this right. I didn't ask for the Malibu fuse panel to burn fuses. I had also asked Amato to keep the payments lower than $450.00. I am currently unemployed & have trouble making the $546.38 monthly payment.

Business Response:

 

September 27,2013

******* **********

**** ***** ******** **********

BBB of Wisconsin

10019 W Greenfield

Milwaukee,  WI 53214

###-###-####

Fax  ###-###-####

 

ID *******

RE: ******* * ****

**** * ** **

********** ** *****

 

 

Dear  Mr.  **********,

 

In response to Ms. ****'s complaint

 

On Jan 19,2012 Ms.  **** brought her vehicle into Amato.  She stated that her Manual Transmission  is stuck in 2nd gear. And the Shifter handle is loose.  We found that Shifter assembly was broken.  We removed and replaced shifter and bracket.  The total was $ 616.00 Plus tax.  She also had a Oil Change done which brought the total to $ 661.06 with tax.

 

On April 04, 2012 Ms. **** stated that vehicle would not come out of park.  We inspected the vehicle and found that clutch assembly was worn.  Vehicle would not move at all. Clutch assembly worn.  Recommended replacing Clutch and Fly Wheel assembly, and Pressure plate.  Which came to $ 999.87 Before taxes.  We also competed a Oil change.  The total with tax  $ 1089.61

 

On April 18,2012 Ms. **** stated that shifter feels hard to move.  Inspected found shifter cables binding. 

Removed and replaced shifter cables.  Total came to $ 219.17.  We did not charge her for tax.     

 

On Aug 16,2012 Ms. **** brought her vehicle in for a oil change and stated that Car sounds like it is in the wrong gear. Inspected found that Left front wheel bearing was bad, worn and making noise. Total came to $ 282.23 Plus we completed a oil change and tax.

 

On Nov 08,2012 Ms. **** brought her vehicle in and stated that when she was driving she heard a clicking noise from the Engine.  Inspected found that Water was mixed with Engine oil.  We recommended replacing the engine.  ***** agreed to replace engine with a used Engine.  We removed and replaced Engine and completed a Oil Change.  after further inspection found that Clutch was worn  down again.  She had us replace Engine and clutch assembly. 

 

On July 30, 2013 Ms. **** brought vehicle in for a Check Engine light.  Inspected vehicle at no Charge found that Catalytic converter was bad.  Also found vehicle needing Brakes.  ***** declined all repairs at this time. 

 

 

On Sept 12,2013 ***** called and stated that vehicle stopped running on her while she was on her way to work.  Amato Agreed to Tow vehicle in and inspect.  After inspection found that ***** drove vehicle without oil in engine.  Vehicle still had our oil change sticker on glass. Called ***** and informed ***** stated that she just got oil change done somewhere else.  Informed ***** that there is no oil inside engine. ***** stated that we removed oil from engine.  I told ***** that the last time we completed a oil change to her vehicle was Nov 20, 2012 when we installed the Engine.  Miles at that time was 137,338.

 

Miles on vehicle now is 152,618.  Vehicle went 15,280 without a oil change done here.  Oil should have been changed 02/20/2013 according to the sticker that is on the windshield.  ***** has left vehicle here on our property.  There is no Bill at this time. 

 

In Regards to Ms. ****  desired settlement 

Ms. **** is currently financing her vehicle threw Preferred Credit Corp. Which is a separate company of Amato Automotive Group.  So her desired Settlement out of our control.

 

If you have an y questions regarding this matter, Please contact me at the number below.    

 

 

 

**** *****

******* *******

**** ***** ******* * *****

###-###-####

Business Response: In response to our customer's complaint there are variables within a deal that our beyond our control.  Some of those variables are market values of trade-ins and customer payoffs.  We were able to reduce our customer's rate over 4% from the Malibu to the Mazda.  The payments were higher due to the additional amount she chose to finance by going from a 2010 Malibu with 75,000 miles on it to a brand new Mazda.  We present our customers with options and it is their decision on whether or not they'd like to proceed.  As much as we'd love to be able to get customers out of their loan obligations and into something different every two months, some variables just don't allow that to happen.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ********

 

My view on this matter is they 'pushed' me into this car (Mazda 6). The service department told me the Malibu's  fuse panel was melting the fuses. I did review 5-6 vehicles for about 2 weeks before accepting on the Mazda 6. I was told the finance companies would NOT accept any of the used model cars I looked at. I looked at a Mazda 6 2012 that had a lot of the features I wanted. Amato told me the finance company would only finance a 2013 new car. I asked Amato to keep the monthly payments below $400.00 and they said they would. instead,  I got a payment of $550.00.

I did return to Amato's Mazda center and asked to trade in this Mazda 6 and was told I would have to pay $10,500 before I could trade due to the Malibu I traded in. That brought the Mazda trade in down to around $15,000.00. This car is financed for $23,000.00. What is Amato trying to pull here??!!

Also, this incident did not occur 2 months after the Malibu was purchased. It occurred 1 1/2 years after I purchased the Malibu. I had been bringing in the Malibu for regular oil changes and electrical problems like the drivers' door not opening or closing, the rear defroster not working, complaining about the dash board lighting dimming and brightening while driving numerous. I have kept all the records about those incidences. 

I have also spoken with the financial institution that Mazda 6 is through and they said they would NOT have decline financing for a used vehicle.

I'll shout it form the roof tops "beware of Amato Dealerships". They will take your money and run! I will NOT recommend their business to anyone.

Thank you,

***** ** ********

10/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from Amato October 2011. This has been the worst experience of my life!!!!! I purchased this so called “reliable” car in hopes of having a good vehicle to get me to and from work and my children to and from school. The nightmare began only 6 months after having the car. This was a Saturn Vue 2005 purchased for 10,000 and with the added finance fee for in house financing came to just under 17,000!!! WOW WHAT A COMPLETE RIP OFF!!!! On April 4th I had to have the “shifter assembly piece” fixed and since they were moving the sifter piece they also had to take the clutch out and replace that as well, the total on this to be fixed was 1,219.37. WOW, so I paid for this as there was no warranty to cover these parts. Than only a couple months later that same shifter that they replaced had a damaged cord and once again I had to bring my car in for more repairs. Than only 3-4 months after this while driving down the road my car began to make horribly loud noises. I brought my car into Amato and come to find out only after having the car for one year I needed a new engine and another clutch. This costs me 1,412.37. Than about 5 months later my car started over heating and the same engine that THEY, AMATO, put in my car went out on my on a very busy road and small sparks were flying. Amato towed my car from the location to where the car stopped. They have now told me that they are not going to fix my car any longer and that I messed the engine up and that they would no longer assist me. Along with this, they have been very unprofessional. I at one time was trying to trade this lemon of a car in and just did not have enough money to put down so the finance department treated me as though I was an inconvenience to them because I did not have enough cash to put down on this car. She proceeded to call me “broke” and ditsy! I do not appreciate this type of service and feel that people should know exactly how they do business! Now I am out of a car and still have to make car payments! Within less than two years I have had to put more than 3,000 worth of work in the car and on top of it have lost time at work , kids have lost school time, and it has been very very stressful for me. The car stays in the shop more than it runs!

Desired Settlement: I at this point would just like to be free of this car and the rest of the loan due

Business Response:

September 27,2013

******* **********

**** ***** ******** **********

BBB of Wisconsin

***** * **********

**********  ** *****

###-###-####

Fax  ###-###-####

 

ID *******

RE: ******* * ****

**** * ** **

********** ** *****

 

 

Dear  Mr.  **********,

 

In response to Ms. **** 's complaint

 

On Jan 19,2012 Ms.  **** brought her vehicle into Amato.  She stated that her Manual Transmission  is stuck in 2nd gear. And the Shifter handle is loose.  We found that Shifter assembly was broken.  We removed and replaced shifter and bracket.  The total was $ 616.00 Plus tax.  She also had a Oil Change done which brought the total to $ 661.06 with tax.

 

On April 04, 2012 Ms. **** stated that vehicle would not come out of park.  We inspected the vehicle and found that clutch assembly was worn.  Vehicle would not move at all. Clutch assembly worn.  Recommended replacing Clutch and Fly Wheel assembly, and Pressure plate.  Which came to $ 999.87 Before taxes.  We also competed a Oil change.  The total with tax  $ 1089.61

 

On April 18,2012 Ms. **** stated that shifter feels hard to move.  Inspected found shifter cables binding. 

Removed and replaced shifter cables.  Total came to $ 219.17.  We did not charge her for tax.     

 

On Aug 16,2012 Ms. **** brought her vehicle in for a oil change and stated that Car sounds like it is in the wrong gear. Inspected found that Left front wheel bearing was bad, worn and making noise. Total came to $ 282.23 Plus we completed a oil change and tax.

 

On Nov 08,2012 Ms. **** brought her vehicle in and stated that when she was driving she heard a clicking noise from the Engine.  Inspected found that Water was mixed with Engine oil.  We recommended replacing the engine.  ***** agreed to replace engine with a used Engine.  We removed and replaced Engine and completed a Oil Change.  after further inspection found that Clutch was worn  down again.  She had us replace Engine and clutch assembly. 

 

On July 30, 2013 Ms. **** brought vehicle in for a Check Engine light.  Inspected vehicle at no Charge found that Catalytic converter was bad.  Also found vehicle needing Brakes.  ***** declined all repairs at this time. 

 

 

On Sept 12,2013 ***** called and stated that vehicle stopped running on her while she was on her way to work.  Amato Agreed to Tow vehicle in and inspect.  After inspection found that ***** drove vehicle without oil in engine.  Vehicle still had our oil change sticker on glass. Called owner and informed owner stated that she just got oil change done somewhere else.  Informed owner that there is no oil inside engine. ***** stated that we removed oil from engine.  I told owner that the last time we completed a oil change to her vehicle was Nov 20, 2012 when we installed the Engine.  Miles at that time was 137,338.

 

Miles on vehicle now is 152,618.  Vehicle went 15,280 without a oil change done here.  Oil should have been changed 02/20/2013 according to the sticker that is on the windshield.  ***** has left vehicle here on our property.  There is no Bill at this time. 

 

In Regards to Ms. ****  desired settlement 

Ms. **** is currently financing her vehicle threw ********* ****** ****. Which is a separate company of Amato Automotive Group.  So her desired Settlement out of our control.

 

If you have an y questions regarding this matter, Please contact me at the number below.    

 

 

 

**** *****

******* *******

John Amato Hyundai & Mazda

###-###-####


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on John Amato Hyundai Superstore
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart