Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of new and used automobiles. This company also offers factory certified Ford and Mazda, Ford accessories, bedliners and wheels. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln-Mercury Mazda of Janesville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln-Mercury Mazda of Janesville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln-Mercury Mazda of Janesville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 30, 1992 Business started: 05/01/2005 in WI Business started locally: 05/01/2005 Business incorporated 02/25/2005 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gordie Boucher, Jr., CEO Mr. Gordon F. Boucher, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gordie Boucher, Jr., CEO
Related Businesses
Boucher Kia of Milwaukee Frank Boucher VW Kia Mazda Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Lincoln, Inc. Boucher Volkswagen, Inc. Boucher Hyundai Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln of West Bend Gordie Boucher Ford of Menomonee Falls, Inc. Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford of Kenosha, Inc.
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Services Auto Accessories Financing

Alternate Business Names
Frank Boucher Chrysler Dodge Jeep of Janesville Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln of Janesville, Inc.
Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln-Mercury Mazda of Janesville has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2727 E US Highway 14

    Janesville, WI 53545 (608) 754-5511 (800) 749-1263 (800) 421-8548 (800) 924-4734

  • 4001 Milton Ave

    Janesville, WI 53546

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used vehicle that came with the entitlement of receiving a $1000.00 visa gift card with purchase. I did not recieve the giftcard. First I was told I would recieve it from corporate in a few weeks, I did not. Then I was told I did not qualify. The giftcard was offered without qualifications to begin with. The car was purchased 09/24/2014 / also was told car came with 7 year warranty but upon actually reviewing papers signed , I purchased that warranty for an additional $1595.00

Desired Settlement: I would like my $1000.00 giftcard and perhaps something done in reference to offering 7yr warranty when in reality it did not come with purchase, I am being charged $1595.00. I think that's all kinda bait & switch .

Business Response: Dear BBB/ **** *****,   I apologize for the delay in responding.  We do owe you the $1000 gift card.  A manager from the store will be calling you to  set up a pick up of the $1000.00 gift card. Again apologize for the issue. Thank you for the business.

Best Regards,
****** ******* ***

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and 

Met with salesman ***** ********* who gave me 2 cards each representing 500.00 . Nothing was mentioned in reference to the 7year warranty that I paid for, which was made to look like was included in total price /cost of vehicle.      I wish something had been done about that as well !                                Thankyou **** *****

 

12/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Here is a copy of a letter sent to ***** *******, ******* ******* with no response. This is in regards to my 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan that was purchase from ***** ******* April 2011. I have had SEVERAL bad experiences with ***** ******* throughout the last several months. Below is dates and what has occurred. My vehicle was dropped off on Monday September 8, 2014 with ***** *. (********** *******) as I refused to go through ***** ******* due to lack of success in the past. My family reserved/booked a vacation for October 17, 2014 that is in ***** ********. We will be travelling by car and have 7 attending. At the stage my van has been performing in and NEVER have been fixed, this is causing concern for the vacation that has been paid for and the money is non refundable at this time. I have also listed charges that have been incurred by myself due to the issues with ***** ******* and their lack of fixing my vehicle. I have complained to **** ******, ** (******* ******* at ***** *******), *** * (******* ***** *******) and ***** *; ***** has recommended I contact you with this information as well. If you would like to meet to further discuss this, please contact me at 608-921-1325. -June 4, 2014, Vehicle not shifting, running at high RPM’s, called and left three voicemail messages with no response - June 5, 2014, Check engine light came on flashing. Called ***** *******, spoke with **** ******. Directed to not drive vehicle due to check engine light flashing; “when light flashes, engine is filling with gas, do not drive.” LOST 4 hours of work -June 6, 2014, No vehicle or loaner car due to ***** ******* not providing one and not calling Enterprise to get a car under my warranty which provides one. LOST 10 hours of work June 9, 2014, No rental car or loaner car, no work LOST 10 hours of work. Vehicle returned June 30, 2014 Vehicle returned paid $100 deductible; fuel wiring harness changed. Originally told that the head needed to be taken to PAKES and repaired, would take several weeks. -July 8, 2014, Vehicle started doing same thing, called told nothing wrong, SAME issues Lost 4 hours of work -July 9, 2014, LOST 5 hours of work -July 11, 2014, LOST 2 hours of work Vehicle in to ***** ******* from July 13, 2014 vehicle returned August 9, 2014 Told; “All spark plugs changed along with fuel cylinders. Parts from the left side of the engine were transferred to the right side of the engine. If it does it ok, hopefully we will know what is doing it. I hope we got it this time.” **** ****** August 10, 2014; Vehicle not shifting correctly August 16, 2014; Vehicle not shifting correctly. LOST 2 hours of work August 21, 2014 at 3:30PM, vehicle started shifting hard, car stalled and engine light came on 3 times flashing in a 15 minute period of time. Drove car straight to ***** ******* and requested someone drive to see what it was doing. **** turned vehicle off and did not drive. No car provided after one was requested. In past spoke with *** * and left email and VM for **; no return and no assistance. Worked with ****** ******* on August 21, 2014, within 15 minutes had a vehicle comparable to my own vehicle. August 22, 2014, received telephone call from ******* *******, ** ********. Told could not duplicate problem, vehicle driven to ******** and back with no “issues. Nothing further we can do, come pick up your vehicle.” I had my husband contact him due to being dissatisfied with service. Picked vehicle up on August 22, 2014 around 530PM, upon immediately picking up, vehicle shifted hard and shook. Ran at low RPM’s between 0 and 1. September 6, 2014: Check engine light came on solid after filling vehicle with gas at approximately 345PM. At 445PM, van began shaking uncontrollably and check engine light came on, flashing, two separate times in 15 minute span. Check engine light stayed illuminated. September 7, 2014; Light came on flashing twice. All four times the light has come on and flashes, the smell of gasoline emits from the vehicle and the vehicle drives poorly. September 8, 2014, contacted ***** ******* two times in the early morning with no answer. Contacted Gordie Boucher, immediately spoke with ***** and received a loaner within one hour of telephone call; engine light stayed on solid. As of September 12, 2014, no follow up or update on vehicle. Has happened with both ECON on and off. **Rental car/Loaner not available upon request **Rude service associates **Problem NEVER fixed **When receive loaner vehicle receive one that is not sufficient or close to comparable to my vehicle. Asked several times for a vehicle comparable to van due to family size, told one not available. Since June 5, 2014, vehicle has been in approximately 40+ days. Lost hours of work total= 33 hours @ $25.96=$856.68 Used gasoline and put over 200 miles on; car not filled up. Responsible for $35 in gas Payment $16.63 a day (car payment) @ 50 days= $831.50 Vehicle $831.50 Deductible $120.00 Lost work $856.68 Gas $60.00 TOTAL $1868.18

Desired Settlement: Since June 5, 2014, vehicle has been in approximately 40+ days. Lost hours of work total= 33 hours @ $25.96=$856.68 Used gasoline and put over 200 miles on; car not filled up. Responsible for $35 in gas Payment $16.63 a day (car payment) @ 50 days= $831.50 Vehicle $831.50 Deductible $120.00 Lost work $856.68 Gas $60.00 TOTAL $1868.18

Business Response: Dear BBB/Mrs. ********, We are disappointed that the issue keeps occurring. Our top people are aware of the ********'s issue. Talked with the ******* ******* and we will attempt to trade them out and put into a different vehicle.

Best Regards,
****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I of understand that this takes time; however I started this process with GB and the BBB back in September and it is now November; please advise how long you believe until an answer is received.

Regards,

**** ********

 

 

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ********:


We apologize for the delay in getting back to you in regards to your BBB complaint. 


I have reviewed the entire situation, including all documentation, and discussed the matter with the local and corporate management teams.   We do not accept that the service department at the ***** ******* ******** store did anything wrong and there simply is no proof that the problems with the vehicle were misdiagnosed or left uncorrected.   The service team followed all of the factory-prescribed protocols in addressing the check engine lights.  Further, the vast majority of the repair work has been covered under warranty so your out of pocket cost associated with the actual repairs is minimal.  Lost wages are not typically recoverable in situations like this and the dealer did provide you with a loaner vehicle most of the time, so we do not believe you would be entitled to claim both loss of use charges and lost wages for the same time period. 


Nonetheless, having said all this, we value greatly your business and really would like to mend our relationship and restore your faith in our Dealerships.  Accordingly, we are willing to extend to you a good faith gesture to resolve your complaint for a payment of $800.  We hope you will find this to be acceptable.


We will be calling you to discuss the payment terms.


Thank you. 

****** ** ******** ******* ******* *** ******* ****** **** **** ** ***** ****** *********** ********* ***** *************** ************ *** ************ ***

7/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: September 2012 I had taken my 2001 Dodge Durango to this dealerships service center to have a brand new engine with a 3 year Parts & Labor Warranty as quoted by their parts manager installed as the old one had blown on my way home. Ever since I got this truck back from them it has had sensor/electrical issues not present until the new motor had been installed. The check engine light continually was turning on and my oil pressure gauge was also continually dropping to 0 pressure. I had to take this truck back to this dealership more than a dozen times for these issues which have never been resolved. Then this past November the truck engine began just stalling while I was driving it on the interstate. They asked me to bring it in so they could check it out and reported there was nothing out of the ordinary they could find to be the cause and each time I would be asked to come pick it up because it was running fine but every time I would pick it up I wouldn't get off the lot without it stalling out and I would have to take it back again. By December it still had not been fixed and I was told to bring it back in by the shop manager "Ed" and they spent the next several days going through it and again claimed to have fixed it only this time they wanted to charge me $932.43 for the replacement of a 3 wire connector. I protested this charge because as I said this truck was not operating as it did prior to the new engine being installed. I ended up driving it home that evening on a Friday and parked it in my garage for the entire weekend until the following Monday when I had to drive to work again. I started the truck and got 2 blocks form my house and the engine stalled again! They had not fixed this issue! Again! Yet they wanted to get paid an outrageous amount of money for replacing a 3 wire connector which should only cost less than $100. I contacted the ******* ******* "**** *******" to discuss not only the issue of being charged for something that had not been repaired as I had been told by his service personnel but to also direct him, as I am an electrical engineer, towards a larger fix like replacing the trucks computer (ECM) which they had not attempted. He discussed this with his ******* ******* and they replaced the ECM and the problem was fixed and has not to this day re-emerged. I was told that the ECM had been charged off under warranty and that was to be the end of it. Then I began receiving an invoice in the mail for this $932.43 from this dealership for a 3 wire connector which did not correct the engines stalling issue. I again called the ******* ******* **** ******* to dispute this charge because he was trying to collect on this repair which was not in fact repaired! I even offered to pay $300 of this total amount but not one penny more because replacing this 3 wire connector which did not correct the engines stalling issue was still worth some amount of compensation but he refused to agree to anything but the full amount and had eluded to his willingness to receive such a payment but I got the distinct impression that this would not be over even had I sent in the $300. My lawyer has directed me to attempt arbitration through the BBB first but this is my last attempt at settling this without it being taken to court which I am prepared to do as well as filing a complaint with the state Consumer Protection Agency.

Desired Settlement: I want a Billing Adjustment "IN WRITING" that the ******* ******* "**** *******" will accept the $300 I originally offered for work his mechanics did which corrected nothing as far as this engines stalling issue which is the original complaint they received and later claimed they had corrected. Keeping in mind that this engine is still under their warranty until September 2015.

Business Response: Dear BBB/Mr. **********, **** ****** is waiting for the information from you and will honor your wishes. Please call him.

 
Best Regards,
****** ******* ***

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/2/13, I purchased a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt from Gordie Boucher FLM. When I test drove the vehicle, I was advised by the sales associates that the vehicle had just been shampooed by the detail department. Accordingly, the windows were fogged up. The windshield actually had water slowly dripping on to the dashboard because there was so much moisture in the car from the shampooing. After test driving the vehicle for approximately 20 minutes, the moisture still hadn't cleared. I figured it would dry up in the next day, and the car drove really nice, so I decided to purchase it. On Sunday, 11/3/13, there was still excess moisture in the vehicle from the shampooing. I decided to use my carpet shampooer to re-clean the carpeting and seats in the car. Not only did I get a lot of moisture/water out of the floorboards, the water was completely filthy. (See attached photos.) After I shampooed the car, thoroughly suctioning the upholstery and carpeting, the windows did not fog up at all. The seats and carpeting were totally dry the next morning. I just wanted to make you aware of the poor shampoo job the detailer did on this vehicle. I should not have had to re-do it myself. My understanding is that the $179 "services fee" I paid as part of the purchase of this car was for the detailing. I also wiped the dash and panels down with Armor-All, and the cloth was quite dirty.

Desired Settlement: I am simply requesting that I be refunded the $179 services fee, since the detailing wasn't done correctly.

Business Response: Dear *****, I will have a manager from dealership contact you.

 
****

Consumer Response:

On Mon, Mar 31, 2014 at 5:23 PM, ***** ****** ********************* wrote:

Regarding complaint # *******, I am satisfied with the outcome.  Thank you.

***** ******  

 

 

3/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gordie Boucher Ford replaced my car engine at 65000 miles. Before the work was done the computer cluster worked fine. After the install of the new motor the cluster is not working. Ford wants me to pay for the cluster and repair. I have talked to other certified techs and they said that they shorted out the cluster with the install. A wire is not grounded or the cluster is bad now .Ford has had my car since January 13 2014 and still has not solved the problem. I want my car fixed and returned to me.

Desired Settlement: Ford fix the car at no cost to me! I want to see the old part also! I think I have waited long enough

Business Response: Dear Dr. *****/BBB

 
We did replace Dr. *****'s engine at a charge of $100 for the deductible. The cluster was not involved in the procedure. But because we value Dr. ***** as our customer he paid for the part and we paid for the diagnosis and labor and gave him a free loaner to use while vehicle being fixed. Dr. ***** left the dealership satisfied.
 
Best Regards,
****** ******* ***

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took our van to Frank Boucher in Janesville to have "professional" repairs done. We had some repairs done, then had to wait for additional parts to come in. After weeks of waiting, I had to call to find out if the parts were in. They were in, so we scheduled repairs. In the interim, while waiting for the parts, an issue with an intermittent crankshaft position sensor code developed, and we had them look at that as well while it was in the shop. They quoted us about $220. They later called and said that they had trouble removing it, and that part of the sensor had fallen down into the transmission while removing it. We had been told that it broke while they were taking it out, then told that it had been broken already and they did not break it. We were told that, to retrieve the piece that they had dropped into the transmission, they had to take the front end apart and drop the transmission to get it. This was supposed to take 6 hours. We grudgingly agreed, although I voiced my opinion that it was a simple repair to remove the part and install the new, and that I could not believe it was broken while removing it. We arrived at the end of the day to pick up the van, and it was still on the hoist torn apart. They showed me the part, and it was literally destroyed. I have yet to find anyone that can explain to me how you could do that taking out the sensor. I again voiced my opinion that there was no way to do that kind of damage to the part taking it out. When asked about cost, since the car was not back together yet, they said it would be more. No one was even working on it at the time. They had called me at about 8:45 am, and it was now almost 4:30 pm (7.5 hrs). I was very displeased with the attitude of the service department and the service manager, who kept trying to blame everything on the ones that had rebuilt the engine almost a year earlier. They had an issue with some damaged oil galleys the would not hold the plug caps, and had to modify them to get plugs to stay. It was not the best solution, but was a better option than a new block. The manager continually used that as a reason for their shops need to take out the transmission. That this sensor had been broken a year earlier (after running great for a year) and was the other shop's fault. Boucher's had done diagnostic testing on the van on the prior shop visit before waiting for parts, and had not had any faults. They called the following late morning, and said the van was done. I went down at the end of the day to pick it up, and they had charged me $616.99 additional for retrieving the piece from the transmission (with no detail or explanation), and still argued that it was the other shop's fault that the sensor broke because of the oil galley issue (which was totally unrelated). I voiced my opinion that it was a bogus charge for their inability to remove a simple sensor. They said it was too bad and that those were the costs. I went out into the service shop to pick up my car, and the service guys came out laughing. I had to ask where my van was, and go find it in the lot myself. I got in the van and drove it home. When I pulled in the driveway, my wife asked if I knew the tail lights did not work. Boucher's had replaced a lighting control part (the part we had been waiting for) that supposedly controls the car lights. I spent most of an hour in the driveway to get the lights to work. My wife then took the van into town, and called back to ask if I knew the odometer now read about ****** miles, instead of about *******. It was off by about 80,000 miles. I called to Boucher's the next day, and let **** ******* *** ******* ******* know of the issues, and talked with ** ******** the service and parts director. ** said there was no way the odometer or light issue was their problem. I find that funny somewhat, since the last page of the bill says "100% satisfaction is our goal. Should we fall short, please contact ** ******** at ###-###-####." All I had wanted was "professional" service. What I received was rude, costly, and sucked.

Desired Settlement: Refund the cost of retrieving the part that they broke and lost in the transmission. I should not have to pay for their inability to complete a simple task. I also should be reimbursed to have the odometer recalibrated to the correct mileage. It will be an issue at the time of resale and/or registering it. We are check for other issues that they may have caused.

Business Response: Dear BBB,


The ****** vehicle had been worked on quite extensively by someone else.. customer would not tell us who.  Their work made it harder for us to do our job.  The piece that we were asked to replace had been damaged in the previous repairs.  We removed the sensor, or at least the part above the surface.  The broken portion inside, fell into the bell housing of the transmission.  We tried to fish it out, but were unsuccessful.  Therefore we needed to access the transmission.  One or two tabs on the block were broken prior to us receiving the vehicle, as well as hand grooved oil valleys in the block.  It was quite a cobble job.  

 

Taking no ownership of the previous repairs or decisions, thus customer turned the responsibility and frustrations to us.  I believe that we have done all that we can, including offering a vehicle to drive while we worked.

 

I have made attempts at contact, with no return call.

 

Best Regards,

Gordie Boucher

Business Response: Mr. ******,

 

I apologize for you playing phone tag with our ******* ******* **** ******.

I will reach out and direct him to call you back.
****** ******* ***
 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   They have monetarily compensated me for $500 of the charges in issue.  They can not reset the odometer, so would have to replace it.  I do not want them to take the dash apart to replace it.  I will let it go as resolved.

Regards,

 

****** ******

 

 

 

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought in a 2002 Volkswagon Beetle for repairs after having it serviced at another auto body shop (***** ********* in Whitewater, WI). It needed the belt body replaced and the 6th solenoid, which would solve an electrical issue that caused the transmission to be stuck in second gear. To complete the repair at ***** was $900, but they would need to order parts from the dealership. The dealership, ***** said, had more experience and the estimate came to $1100 with repair costs, & labor. For the $200 difference I took the recommendation to bring the car in. The dealership recommended other repairs to put the total around $1800, these repairs were completed, and the dealership called to inform me that the car would have to have the transmission replaced, because they took it on a test drive and the repairs had not corrected the transmission issue, and, they said, the car still failed to come out of second gear. They told me to have the transmission replaced would come out to around $5200 in total repairs, my father and I initially opted to scrap the car and trade it in for $1000, even less than the cost of the repairs. This Wednesday 5/30, at 8am I drove to Janesville to clean out my car. I found it on the lot, asked a janitor at the dealership if it was OK if I collected my things and he gave me permission. I did so, then after cleaning out the bug, out of curiosity, I started the car and to my total shock it started up in first gear. I took it on a test drive out of the lot a few blocks away and went up to 60mph and tried a couple of hard stops. The transmission was fully operational, the engine noise was gone and the car was shifting normally even driving though I was sporadically accelerating and decelerating. The repairs had resolved the issue. I wondered if there had been a mistake, so I put the car back and went into the service department and asked for my mechanic (******). I told him my name explained I was there about the bug and asked what the diagnosis for the bug was. He proceeded to tell me the technician test drove the vehicle and the car would not come out of second gear, and the repairs were not enough to fix the car and that the car would need a new transmission to be operational. I took him out to the car for a test drive he was hesitant to get in. We went a few blocks away from the dealership, I parked the car and explained that considering the circumstances I didn't trust what was recommended in terms of repairs beyond what ***** had recommended, considering the circumstances, we would need to negotiate repair costs, and the car would not be traded in and was not at a trade in cost. He agreed and I told them I would be visiting later in the week. We drove back to the dealership and I left.

Desired Settlement: I would like to try to get a warranty on the work done and the parts put in, because I neither trust the work done by the mechanic, or the dealership. (I would like the warranty to extend to repairs at a different Auto-Body shop and for the repair costs to be covered by this dealership because considering this experience I do not trust the recommendations or quality of work performed by this dealership. ) I would potentially like to try to request complimentary service on the work already done considering this body shop acted in a manner that was criminal, and attempted to have me pay them $3,600-$4,300 in unnecessary repairs, and then additionally attempted to have me pay them $800 in outstanding repairs to take my car as a trade in, so that could resell my vehicle for profit and sell me a new vehicle for profit0. It is likely impossible to determine how often this business takes advantage of it's clients. In any case I would strongly, strongly insist on paying no more than the initial recommendation by ***** ($900), because considering the veracity of the recommendations, it is impossible to determine what necessary work was done beyond the quote from an outside body shop. However I do not feel comfortable with paying for this work at all. I am thankful that this issue was something easily determined, if it had been an internal issue where I had been solely at the mercy on their diagnosis, I would easily have been taken advantage of. I would additionally like to request that this business be investigated further, and some kind of action be taken to check up on the dealership, for the safety of future patrons. I know this is a really long report. Sincerely thank you for your time and your consideration on this manner.

Business Response: Dear BBB, We have the service process documented.


****** *****

vehicle vin # ********

RO# ******

 

* Customer had vehicle towed in on 5/17/2013

* ****** advised ****** on 5/17/2013 vehicle had been diagnosis by **** **** ****** and needed Valve body replaced. She emailed with ****** on estimates to valve body installed.

* 5/17/2013 ****** sent email to ****** with estimate of $ 1,471 at 12:17pm to replace valve body.

* 5/17/2013 ****** emailed back with approval on repairs .

* 5/20/13 ****** contacted ****** and advised her that after removing valve body tech felt vehicle would need complete trans replaced at 10:20am . ****** advised go ahead and try valve body repairs around 1:34 pm because **** **** ****** said would fix problem.

* 5/21/2013 ****** advised ****** repairs did not fix transmission and would need complete trans repalced at cost of $4768.00 . ****** advised ****** she would speak with her father on further repairs and get back to him.

* 5/29/2013 dealer was opening up at 7am and ****** had test drove vehicle with second set of keys and felt trans was shifting . ****** took her for test drive and advised her trans is starting out in 3rd gear and will up shift in fourth when vehicle gets enough speed. Transmission has no 1st or 2nd gears .

* 5/31/2013 Frank Boucher VW Janesville waiting for call from customer as to next steps on repairs .

 

The transmission in fact was still not full operational.

4/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 4 2013 I took my 2010 Ford Focus in for service (fornt end rumbling noise). I had purchased a extended warrantry contract thru Boucher when I bought the car. The service advisor *** ****** said Boucher would honor the warranty and do the repairs. ******** ******** ********* Inc. was the extended warranty company. I had purchased the Platinum coverage with a $100 deductible. After Boucher and ******** ******** ********, Inc agred to the repair and I picked up car, Boucher charged me $105.50 for the bill, I was told that they charge tax on the deductible. I don't think that is right. ******** ********, Inc deductible is all I should pay accoring to the warranty contract. You don't pay tax on your car insurance deductible, you don't pay tax on your house insurance deductible this is no different. I talked by voicemail with *** ****** about this and recieved no answer. I would like refund of $5.50. Also dropoff time was not in their computor and bad communation during this .

Desired Settlement: Refund and written apology for hassel

Business Response: Dear BBB/ and Mr. **********,


Apologize for delay needed to look at the law. Section Tax 11.27(5)(a) of the Wisconsin Administrative code states as follows: The sales price from charges by a retailer to a customer for taxable services performed under a maintenance contract or warranty and that are not reimbursed by the seller of the maintenance contract or warranty are subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax. Therefore this is the reason we charged you sales tax.

Best Regards,
****** ******* **.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* **********

 

 

 

4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After pre-scheduling a desired service, the dealership was unprepared, overbooked, spent 5 minutes looking at my vehicle after I reminded them that the vehicle was awaiting service for more than an hour and I was charged $113.82 for them looking at the vehicle AFTER I expressed my displeasure with thier methods of service and demanded my vehicle to be released. Unfortunately, this is an example of a service department counting on consumers knowing very little about thier product and not watching the staff or the the product in question, in this case, my vehicle parked in thier parking lot. At no point did I sign an agreement stating that I was aware that they would charge me for thier incompetence in scheduling and inappropriate service or estimates. A technician placed an undue service charge on the vehicle after I informed him that I was leaving.

Desired Settlement: Auto-Dealership Service Centers have been known to take advantage of consumers. This is an example of that. Perhaps filing complaints will disuade managers from hiring employees that will act on thier own rather than on the delearship's and consumers' interests. There are many places to service a vehicle. This is not one that I would choose.

Consumer Response: On Thu, Mar 28, 2013 at 7:48 AM, *** ******* *** ********************** wrote:

I have heard from the parent office of Gordie Boucher and we have reached a timely amicable agreement.  They are taking the necessary steps to meet customer expectations with their service department through internal measures, which does not reflect the attitude of the rest of the company.  I consider this matter closed.

 

 

Thank you,

 

********

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was going to purchase a 2013 Dodge Dart from the Dealer. I filled out a guest worksheet from the dealer. He asked for a $500 downpayment on the car. I contacted ***** ******(sales consultant) at Frank Boucher, located in Janesville, WI. I contacted via certified letter and email. I told him my financing fell thru. I gave him a two month notice. When I spoke to him on the phone, I told him we need to work on the financing, because some unexpected bills came up. He called back stating the best they could do was $319./Monthly payments. I told him this would not work because I only had $309. left a month on my budget. Also, I had told them it would not work because I would have no money left over for doctors, car expenses, and health and beauty items. He had made a comment that my order was a $25,000. car. I have recently contacted him twice; once per email at: ****************** and once via certified mail to ***** *******, Attn: ***** ****** at the Janesville location. I have not heard anything about my $500. downpayment.

Consumer Response: On Sat, Mar 16, 2013 at 3:33 PM, *********************** wrote:

Yes, Just last week I received a $500.00 check from Frank Boucher Chrysler Dodge Jeep in Janesville, WI.
That is what my complaint was regarding. I wanted the refund of my $500 downpayment on the Dodge Dart.
Everything is taken care of to my satisfaction.
 
Thank you for checking into this matter.
***** *******

2/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When signing my lease, the business manager pushed the pace to sign quickly and slipped in a $1500.00 maintenance contract. This contract was never offered prior, discussed prior (or at the time of signing), and was not part of initial quotes. This contract is not now, nor has it ever been, desired. This resulted in approximately $30.00 a month payment increase over 42 months.

Desired Settlement: I would like to opt out of the maintenance contract and have my payments reflect this change.

Business Response: Dear BBB.


We contacted the consumer and worked everything out. Cancelled the unwanted product.

Best Regards,
****** *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ******

 

1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my jeep has been in many times for door rattles its also been in for shimming problems when going over bumps in the roads . they are saying they can't fix it ,i bought this new in2011 .could you please help me with this matter?

Desired Settlement: i would like my jeep repaired. if they can't repair it I would like a different jeep

Business Response:

Dear BBB, Apologize for the delay in responding to the complaint. We have made contact with the customer and set up a service visit.

Best Regards,

****** ******* **.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

On Thu, Jan 17, 2013 at 10:15 AM, ***** ****** <************************* wrote:

They're trying something new I don't know if this will fix what has  been going on. I haven't been happy with how l,be been treated.

 

Regards,

***** ******

 

11/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a former ****** of a ******** **** * ******* and for the last two years **** ******* has told me that *** ********** does not want me on the property and that I am not welcomed. As of today there is no court record that would indicate that I am not allowed on the property, this is an unethical business practice and *** nor **** have filed a no restraining/harassment order against me for that is an indication I can not buy or look at a car at this particular location. I have requested information about ***'s 2002 or newer from **** in the past and he as abliged then sends me a text/email telling me that i am not welcomed on the property. How would I purchase the *** if I can not come on the property to test drive or view the car. If this is being done to me who else is this done to? **** in the past has taken customer information home, phone numbers of female clients, insurance cards and information with customer social security numbers and home addresses.

Desired Settlement: I would like a public apology published in the newspaper from the dealership and also from **** *******. This is unacceptable behavior and no customer should be treated in this manner. In addition I also want something in writting from the company that I am allowed on the property and if I am not allowed I would like the actuall court document that shows why I am not allowed on the premises

Business Response: Ms. ******-******* called me directly a few weeks ago with this same complaint.  I told her I would look into it.  I called the store and spoke to *** ******** and **** *******.  I told them both that *******'s and ****'s personla issues should not factor into her desire to visit our store.  i called her back and told I had spoken to *** and **** and that she was welcome in our dealership at anytime.  She seemed to be satisfied with that resolution. 
******* *. *******

**** ********* & ******* *******
The Boucher Group, Inc.
**** ** ***** ******
**********, Wisconsin *****
###-###-####
###-###-#### fax
###-###-#### cell

9/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday morning, July 14, 2012 I brought my 2005 Ford F150 pick-up into Gordie Boucher for an inspection to discover why my vehicle had a tapping noise in the engine. I was deeply concerned about this because my truck only has about 49,000 miles on it. The Service Manger said he would do a quick walk around and multi-point inspection and notify me in about 20 minutes as to what they suspect the problem to be. He asked if I wanted to wait and I did. After about 40 minutes I went back to the Service Manager and asked why the wait was so long. He told me he would check on it. He came back and said the lifters were the problem. The Mechanic had already taken the lifter valves out. No one notified me of the work and potential cost of repair. I had no choice then, but to have the work completed by Ford since it was already torn down. I would have liked the opportunity to compare Ford's evaluation and cost to another Service Center's evaluation and cost. I felt shafted by the fact work had begun and that they took advantage of a situation to profit.

Desired Settlement: A billing adjustment to match labor cost to another shop had I had the opportunity to visit one.

Consumer Response: Dear Sir,
 
I have an open case #*******.  
 
I was contacted Friday 7/27/12 at 4:50 pm by*** ******, ******* ******* at Gordie Boucher.  We spoke by phone and he asked if I had gotten a quote from another service center prior to going to them.  I told him that I had not.  He said he will look into a few other quotes and see if the repair bill could be adjusted and get back to me the first part of this week.
 
Thank you.
**** *******
************ (cell)

Business Response: Dear BBB & **** *******.


Our service manager *** ****** is reaching out to Mr. ******* today to see if what we charged was unfair based on estimate for the same type of work somewhere eles. We pride ourselves on having competitive pricing and always verify our prices against the competition. We want to Mr. ******* to feel like it was value for the work performed.

Gordie Boucher