Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

East Madison Toyota

Phone: (608) 243-5500 Fax: (608) 241-8678 View Additional Phone Numbers 3501 Lancaster Dr, Madison, WI 53718 http://www.eastmadisontoyota.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states that they are a new/used auto dealership offering auto repair, alignment, tires, brakes, lube/oil, transmission,  and new car parts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that East Madison Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for East Madison Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on East Madison Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 16, 2013 Business started: 12/06/1990 in WI Business started locally: 09/13/2012 Business incorporated 09/14/2012 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Roger Penske, President Mr. John Wineke, General Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Penske, President
Customer Contact: Mr. John Wineke, General Sales Manager
Related Businesses
Lexus of Madison
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Truck Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Truck Repair & Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Tune-Up New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

East Madison Toyota sells the following brand(s): Scion, Toyota

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: Closed
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

East Madison Toyota has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3501 Lancaster Dr

    Madison, WI 53718 (800) 843-8941 (877) 700-8549 (877) 312-2780 (608) 243-5500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the afternoon of 9/11/14 I called Lancaster Toyota and spoke with **** in the service department to schedule service to my 2007 Toyota Prius. I had previously gone to ********* ****** in Osh Kosh Wisconsin for a diagnostic due to multiple codes lighting up on my dash. I had also gone to my local mechanic. He looked my car over and suggested that the only other problem besides the codes was that it needed an alignment and two front tires. Because the codes needed reset, he also suggested I go to a Toyota dealership. The information of the code repairs needed was in he national data. I had called both the Osh Kosh and the East Madison dealer for phone quotes on the code repairs and also for the replacement of the 2 front tires and an alignment. After my 9/11/14 phone conversation with ****, I decided to have the work done due to the cheaper estimate and his wonderful customer service. He told me the front alignment was $89.95. He said the tires had a sale and for the 4 tires instead of 2 it would be $398 with a $40 rebate that I needed to fill out at home and mail in for that credit. Of the couple codes in the national data it seemed that the o2 sensor needed replaced. The price with labor was approximately $335 if it came out easily and as much as $398 if they had a difficult time removing the sensor. ****, however, guessed they would not have a problem. We scheduled my appointment for the next day, 9/12/14 at 9 a.m. After scheduling, I called back because of my interest in applying for a 0% interest for 6 months special they were advertising on their website. The lady who answered, I believe her name was ******, told me the service department would take care of that when I came in. I arrived at 8:50 a.m. For my appointment. It was set up for an alignment, 4 tires, and an o2 sensor to be replaced. I also asked **** to keep my back 2 tires which still had good tread. We have 2 2007 Prius and those May be needed in the future. He had me sign my estimated costs of $800. I signed it. It was all set up and I asked if I could apply for the special financing offer. **** didn't know about it so he asked 2 other people. Finally the financial person within the service department area had me go into his office. He told me he didn't know anything about this special. I pulled it up on my I Phone. He then tried looking for it on his computer but, only after I showed him where to go, did he find it. Then he opened a sealed box that was sitting on the floor of his office. I was, he said, the first one to ask for this. He pulled out a paper application and said I could either fill that out or just walk down to Danes desk and he could help me save paper and do it online. I decided to save paper and walked down to have Dane help me apply online. When I got down to Dane, he handed me a paper application ( the same one in the previous office). He asked me to fill it out and then he would key that into the computer. I was frustrated with the lack of knowledge and the difficulty in applying for a special they promoted online. After I completed the app. **** said he would give me a call around 1:30 p.m. to 2:00p.m. To let me know that it was finished. Finally, around 2:30 p.m. He called to tell me there was a slight problem and more codes may need replaced. I asked him if he was sure because everyone had access to those codes and I didn't know more may need taken care of. I told **** my car needed fixed right so he said he was going to talk to the techs and let me know exactly what others needed taken care of before finishing the job. He never called back so around 3:30p.m. to 3:45 p.m. I called him. When we spoke he said my car was done and ready to go and that I could come and pick it up. He also stated at this time the techs think there may be another sensor starting to go and the only way to tell if it is bad is to drive my car around for a while and if the brake light comes on then I will know it is possibly a brake actuator but for now he said all of the lights were reset by the techs and none were showing. When I arrived **** said my total was $907 and I can't remember the change. I told him that I refused to pay that because I signed an estimate that morning for $800 and the day prior when we spoke my estimate was $762. I had asked **** that day before if the $335 for the sensor, the $89.95 for the alignment and the $338 for the 4 tires included labor and he said yes. I asked him if all I needed to add was the sales tax and he said yes. I asked him what Madison, Wisconsin sales tax was and he said 5.5%. I knew my total should be around $805 out the door. He told me he is never sure of materials they need to use and that is why the total was more. Then he said, " Let me look at my notes from our conversation yesterday." I said, " you do that while I pull my notes from yesterday out of my purse". He said, " You do that". So, I pulled out my notes and he adjusted the bill making the total $813 and change. I asked at this time for an estimate of the brake actuator in the event that it did end up going bad. When I spoke to **** at my 2:30 p.m. conversation, he was suppose to call me back with more info on those codes that may be bad or going bad and he didn't. I had told him I wanted the care taken care of, yet no call. As I walked to my car to leave, I realized the 2 tires were not in my hatch. So, I walked back in and **** said he forgot about the tires but he had the techs bring them to my car wrapped in bags and set in my hatch. I got back in my car and after I turned my car on to leave, the ONLY light that was turned off of the five lights I had was the check engine light. But the 4 others still remained! So, I walked back in to talk to **** again. He said he would go get the tech to explain to me why the lights were still on. The tech came out and explained that he did change the one sensor that was bad. However, when lights remained on he looked in his manual and suggested I have the brake actuator replaced because it seemed it was bad since he could not get the lights to reset. That is not AT ALL how **** had explained any of that to me. I told **** that he didn't explain that to me at all before finishing my car. He never called me back when he should have. In conclusion After I got home, **** charged me for disposal of 4 tires when I only had 2 disposed of. They were unaware of the financing special I was never called back by **** as to what codes needed potentially replaced besides the one I knew of. **** tried to charge me way more than my original estimate foe no real reason. **** forgot about my tires I wanted to keep. **** told me incorrectly that my codes were reset and all of the lights were off because they weren't. 4 lights still remained on. I spent $335 on the sensor that day and told **** during our 2:30 p.m. Conversation that I wanted my car fixed right so I was awaiting his call after he was suppose to find out exactly what else needed fixed from the techs yet he only called to tell me my car was ready to pick up so I assumed no other items were wrong with my car. I would probably not have had the $335 sensor replaced had I known that the brake actuator cost with labor was $2250. **** never called me back with that information. I paid my bill and left.

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome is to never have another person at this dealership mislead and charge people for services not rendered. I also never want the dealership to have another dissatisfied customer due to all of the inadequacies in the service area. Finally, I would like to have had that phone call with information from the techs like I was suppose to have. Then I could have decided whether or not to have all of the sensors replaced and the alignment and the tires or trade it in because the charges for all of the work done was more than the car itself was worth. I did not have that opportunity and for all of the reasons in my letter, I am completely dissatisfied.

Business Response:

******, I'm sorry to hear of your service visit and the lack of communication involved in your transaction.  As a store, along with the Advisors as individuals we spend a massive amount of time discussing customer satisfaction.  To read about your visit upsets me as it did you!  There's nobody in this store that wants happy customers more than me.  I'm writing you this reply with **** across my table.  He apologizes for the inconsistency's that were communicated to you.  **** started here just before your visit, but should have been brought up to speed on the credit card system for the free financing.  That is on myself and the management team for missing it on the onboarding.  Looking at the estimate and added time they logged inspecting the actuator issue, I don't believe the final cost was excessive for the repairs.  Obviously the tire disposal was missed when you retained the two, and that's an easy refund at $6.  I do know with sensors, many of the work thru's to the fix require us to take steps until the issue is gone.  I'm not familiar with yours, but feel we should have been less optimistic that it would fix it with the oxygen sensor only.  Since joining our team, **** has had the highest responses within the store of customer satisfaction, and he along with myself were very surprised to learn of your dissatisfaction!  I am sorry you have this bad taste in your mouth, and am willing to listen to any suggestions you have to allow us to be back in your good graces?  I do know we will be adding some additonal training requirements for the onboarding of new employees, along with this formal discussion with ****.  Is there something else we can do to help? 

 

P.S. feel free to contact me directly.  I missed the first request on this apparently, and don't want you to have to wait to discuss any additional concerns?

 

**** ******

*** **** ******* ****** ************ ****************************

12/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to them for repairs because i trust them as a dealership after the repairs i asked them if they can check a weird noise i hear when am braking,they said yes then they told me it was an issue with the brakes they can repair it.They said both verbally and on paper that they replaced the front brakes,replaced the front pads and then they did the rotors aswell.I paid for everything plus labor,i have less car knowledge mechanically but i know you cannot replace all these without replacing the rotors. I drove my car for two weeks after it was fixed then i heard the same noise i used to hear before it was fixed i took it to them that same day i heard the noise,**** ***** test drove the car and told me its the same noise but i have to bring it back a week after cause they were busy it will be taken care of.I took the car yesterday after 2hours he gave me a call telling me that i have to buy parts for the brakes but i don't have to pay for labor.I told him that you guys fixed my car for two weeks and it broke again with the same problem,i trust the dealership thats why i don't deal with local mechanics how would u feel if u were in my shoes? took your car to the dealership after 2weeks you have the same problem and they expect you to pay some money for the same issue.He said well you only have to buy parts for 173 dollars and don't pay for labor,i know its a dealership strategy when they tell you free labor it means the part you are buying is 1quarter of the amount.I checked the part cost on ebay and it was around 50-75dollars .

Desired Settlement: Fix my car cause i already paid for the services.

Business Response: I reviewed the concern with our service manager *** *******.  The customer had chosen getting brake rotors resurfaced vs. replaced.  The rotors have not responded well a few months later, and we now recommend replacement.  We take no responsibility to the customers decsision, but in an effort of goodwill, we have scheduled the customer to come in for the repair.  **** ***** has already reached out last week and has an appointment scheduled for the rememedy. 

Business Response:

We had a loaner car scheduled for you Monday morning at 7am to replace the rotors that you had us re-surface previously.  I guess I don't understand the issue that's outstanding.  Were agreeing to pay for the rotors to make things right.  Maybe that wasn't communicated during the phone call?  You can call *** at ###-###-#### to re-schedule, please arrive this time.  We have limited loaner cars and the mechanics work off of appointment.  Thanks.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** ******

 

 I was told that I have to deleted the review on the BBB website then come there on Monday at 7am to see how they can help me out,I'm human if I was given that offer I would have accepted it and won't even file a complain with the BBB.I was never offered a loaner car I always request for one eachtime I bring my car there but nonetheless it's not about getting a loaner car I want my car fixed that's all.I called that number several times but it always goes to voicemail,I have off tomorrow and and free all day tell your guys to call me so that I can bring the car there .Once my car is fixed I will be fine let's be professional here thank you.

7/7/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When purchasing my 2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid on Oct. 18, 2013 I was told by the salesman that I was required to purchase the extended warranty. It took me about a week to call my bank (summit Credit Union). When I asked the bank if that was true or not the bank told me that legally they could not "require" me to purchase the extended warranty. So, I called *** ********* to cancel my extended warranty and my gap. When I called *** ********* they told me to stop in and all I had to do was sign a piece of paper. I stopped in and signed the piece of paper thinking that I had been refunded my money. I recently received a letter in the mail reguarding my extended warranty. Come to find out they never cancelled it. So yesterday June 24, 2013 I called Jon Lancaster again and had them email me the form. They willing did so. Being that it got messed up last time I called and faxed the papers to make sure that ********** received the paperwork I needed. This time I followed my paperwork every step of the way. When I spoke with ********** the lady told me I would not be refunded the full $2500 that I paid for the extended warranty. She told me that Jon Lancaster had only paid them $1000 so I could be refunded $800 and some change. I asked her what happened to the other $1,500 and she said I would have to take that up with Jon Lancaster and unfortunately they were out of business. So I'm not sure if I'm making a complaint against ********** ******* ** ***** Phone number ###-###-#### or against Jon Loncater or both? To me it seems like a scam. I already didn't want to purchase the extended warranty to begin with but the financial advisor at Jon Lancaster told me it was required. My main concern is where did that $1500 go??? Makes me think they are out of business for a reason.

Desired Settlement: Being that I tried to cancel my extended warranty and gap months ago I would like the full purchase price back for each.

Business Response: ********* is incorrect on how the refund works.  When Jon Lancaster sold the business, he settled any open premiums by sending them a sizeable check to facilitate any future cancellations or warranty issues.  ***** ******** is our representative that supported the dealer in the process and has helped with previous cancellations.  The call center there does not seem to grasp the agreement that we have with them on cancellations, but it is in fact 100% paid from them, based on the original purchase price.  I left an email to the customer, and I will assist her in getting all money due from them.  Thanks.  **** ****** ###-###-#### *** ****** ********** *****.