Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of Milwaukee Emergency Center For Animals, LLC?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

Milwaukee Emergency Center For Animals, LLC

Phone: (414) 543-7387 Fax: (414) 543-7386 3670 S 108th St, Greenfield, WI 53228 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.erforanimals.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides emergency veterinary, critical care, and surgery for dogs, cats, and exotic animals including birds, small mammals, and reptiles, with ultrasound, chemotherapy, endoscopy, colonoscopy, rhinoscopy, and provides off-site animal control drop-off services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Milwaukee Emergency Center For Animals, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Milwaukee Emergency Center For Animals, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 18, 2010 Business started: 06/01/2009 in WI Business started locally: 06/01/2009 Business incorporated: 03/16/2007 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave, Room 112, Madison WI 53703
http://www.dsps.wi.gov
Phone Number: (608) 266-2112
Fax Number: 608-267-0644

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Dr. Marla K. Lichtenberger, Owner, DVM
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Craig Lichtenberger, Office Manager
Principal: Dr. Marla K. Lichtenberger, Owner, DVM
Business Category

Animal Hospitals Veterinarians Veterinary Emergency

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Checks(Telecheck), Visa, Mastercard, Discover, Care Credit.
Alternate Business Names
MECA

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Milwaukee Emergency Center For Animals, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3670 S 108th St

    Greenfield, WI 53228 (414) 543-7387

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my cat here because he was having bladder issues. The doctor told me that she would call me if anything went wrong, or if there was any changes to the bill I had already paid (1005.35$). I kept in contact for 48 hours and came to pick him up and they said I owed another 208$. I looked at the new bill breakdown and there were over charges as to what time I brought him in ,and different procedure prices. I was in a hurry to get my animal back, and get home so I paid it and decdied I would deal with it later. I'm mad that I never received a phone call to tell me about the up charges.

Desired Settlement: The 200$ that was unnecessarily spent without justification, and the errors on my bill.

Business Response: Attached is our practise-for every client-to give them a low end and a hight end, before treatment is given. The treatment for this client fell within the range. There is no reason to complain.

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had taken my cat early the morning of April 20th, 2014 to MECA, because he wasn't really eating and lethargic kinda drooling and throwing up. After they examined him and hopefully really did do the blood work they said they did (and charged me for) they came back and said that he was in renal failure but we caught it in time that he could be saved. Which was a relief to me and my daughter. He was then at MECA for 3 days and when they sent him home they did it with him having to go on a special renal formula of food for the rest of his life and that I'd have to give him sub-cutaneous fluids every 3 days (basically twice a week) for the rest of his life. They told me that he wouldn't live to be 20, but he would go on to live a long happy life till maybe 14-15 (he was 10...just 12 days shy of his 11th birthday when he passed away). So when we took him home I already had went to get the special food (in both dry and wet) and I religiously gave him his fluids when it was time!! He seemed to have been doing good on the fluid therapy UNTIL June 12th...all that day he seemed again lethargic and not completely himself...he did still eat and use his litter box but wasn't quite himself. As the day progressed he seemed to be holding his own. The next day which was Friday the 13th, he was still not himself so I called his vet, they told me to bring him in at like 12:30 in the afternoon. I took him in and they actually did the blood work and ultrasound of his abdominal area where he found that his left kidney had been non-functioning for awhile and the left one was about 3 times what it should be. Now had MECA actually done all of that they would have seen that at the time and things would have probably been different because his vet told me that there's no way that he would have lived to be 14-15 like MECA told me he was surprised that he made it to the 13th. They had said that the ultrasound they (MECA) did was on their website but when his vet entered to try to find it to compare the two he couldn't find it anywhere (I have checked many times after as well and it's not there), which leads me to believe that they NEVER did one and were most likely going off the blood work IF they even really did any of that! When I got home I checked the bill from MECA and they did indeed charge me for an ultrasound which I honestly don't believe was done. At this point I honestly believe that MOST if not all of the things on the bill they CLAIM they did they didn't. I just feel they should have been HONEST and FORTHRIGHT right from the start, instead of trying to take advantage of someone when they are at their most vulnerable and emotional just to try to make a buck!!! I would NEVER take another of my animals there ever after the lies and the way I was mislead.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is that I want the $1709.15 back that they charged me for services they did that I don't even believe were done on him. I feel that they took advantage of a disabled woman and her daughter when they were at their most vulnerable just to make money, especially when he was in a cage above Beatrice the dog that was stolen and burned, because she clearly got the most attention compared to the other animals there at the time. I also feel that they should have to pay for the ultrasound and xray and bloodwork that was ACTUALLY done and shown to me on his vet's computer and explained to me as well as his humane euthanasia, which all should have been done that night especially since there was NO HOPE that he'd actually live till 14-15 according to HIS vet!!! That bill cost me an extra $667.06. Which both bills were a hardship being on a limited income which MECA didn't really care about they just cared about how much they could make off of me!! I don't feel that I'm asking for much in the whole scheme of things since I am now the one WITHOUT my beloved family member that had to suffer NEEDLESSLY for that extra month and a half because MECA didn't feel the need to be honest with me.

Business Response: Business states that they will be contacting the consumer directly to discuss the issues.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I received this on the 17th and today is the 21st.  IF they were that concerned with clearing this up OR concerned about it at all for that matter they WOULD have contacted me THAT day (17th). So since they haven't and I only have 10 days to accept or reject their "offer" I reject it.  In fact I don't want to talk to them at all at this point because NOT contacting me like they said they would speaks volumes as to what sort of "business" they truly are!!! So at this point, the only resolution that I will accept for their blatant and malicious dishonesty is the same as I stated in my original complaint.  Because at this point there is no excuse or explanation that they could give me that I would believe.  

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ************

 

 

Business Response:

I have spoken to ***** ************ ID #********. She stated that the only resolution she would accept would be a full refund ($1709.15) for all diagnostics, care and hospitalization done at Milwaukee Emergency Center for Animals, plus the cost of the visit to her vet on 6/13/14.
 
On 4/20/14 Ms. ************ brought her cat ******* to MECA. He received an exam, blood work and a urinalysis. He was diagnosed with renal failure and Dr. ************* recommended hospitalization. ******* was hospitalized until 4/23/14. When he was discharged he was doing better and his blood work was within normal limits. Ms. ************ was instructed to give sub q fluids at home and to have recheck blood work done in 1 week. She did not return to MECA for the recheck blood work and there was not a record of blood work from her vet Dr. ***** in the records he sent to MECA. We did not hear from Ms. ************ again. After I became aware of the claim Ms. ************ filed with the BBB I contacted her vet, Dr. ***** at Crawford Animal Hospital. He said she had come to him 6/13/14 with ******* not doing well. He had done diagnostics and confirmed renal failure that had progressed. Ms. ************ chose to euthanize. Dr. ***** seemed to think the care given at MECA was necessary and reasonable.
 
Ms. ************ claims she was charged for x-rays and an ultrasound that she never received. In reality she was not charged for either an ultrasound or x-rays. The only ultrasound that was done was very brief to guide the veterinarian to extract urine for a urinalysis. The charge for that was included in the urinalysis charges. She also claims that she was promised by the MECA veterinarian that "if she followed their directions and gave the subq fluids that ******* would live to be 14-15 years old". (No doctor human or animal would ever make a promise like that - there are no guarantees in medicine). Ms. ************ also claimed that she was promised that all medical records could be viewed online so her vet could see them. I told her that her medical records were private and it would not be legal for MECA to post them online for people to see. It is possible for veterinarians to view ultrasounds and x-rays on the MECA website with the proper case sensitive password. MECA does routinely fax records of treatments to the owners regular veterinarian to keep them aware of all treatment and care the animal has received. I do not think that we could come to a resolution as she will not discuss any of the claims when she was called.
 
 Please let me know if you need anything further.
 
Sincerely,
 
*** *****
Milwaukee Emergency Center for Animals

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

When "Ms. *****" called me over a week ago (she also said that she would call me back the next day which never happened) I DID discuss things with her.  Although when she kept telling me what had happened and what was said when I was the one in the exam room with my daughter and the "person" that was telling us this and acting as if I were an idiot, not to mention calling OUTSIDE of normal business hours a would be taken aback.  I also have the bill that states they charged me for an abd0minal ultrasound on my cat.  Also YES there is a place on their website that IF you type in your customer ID number (which the number they have on my bills it tells me that that number doesn't even exist????  HHHMMM) you it says that you CAN pull up any x-rays or ultrasounds that were done on your pet.  THIS is what our normal vet did and I tried as well there is\was NOTHING there for my cat. Which IF there really was one done on him even if it were one as "Ms *****" suggests you SHOULD be able to access it with your customer ID (...but there is NOTHING which again tells me they lie.  The vet even told me that there was nothing there and he also told me that's why there don't refer people to that place.  "Ms. *****" also told me that she spoke to our vet who said that he had only seen my cat that one time, this is also suspect to me because I have taken ALL of my cats to that vet for 26+ years so he has seen ALL of my cats NUMEROUS times, yet another lie by them.  So excuse me for not being happy about talking to her when she called my cat has only been gone only about a month and a half and he was a HUGE part of my family and then to have to talk to this "person" that you have the bills in front of you and you were actually in the room as the tech or whatever she was was talking to you and your daughter about your cat and then you have this "person" who wasn't even in the room etc and she is telling YOU what happened and what you are looking at and acting like and talking to you as if you are an idiot, un that would upset anybody!!  I KNOW what I'm looking at and I KNOW what I heard.  Plus when you don't want to do business with this place again and they feel that it's okay for them to call you instead of doing it through you (the BBB), as well as calling AFTER the 10 days that the BBB gave me to respond to them this would also upset someone that already has a problem with the business.  


I also find it ODD (which after dealing with how shady this place operates doesn't really surprise me) that they didn't respond back to you (the BBB) until AFTER I had put on their FB page for nobody to take their pets there and followed it up with the fact that they don't follow through with what they say they are and that after posting on my personal page and my animal advocacy page that I have found other people that have had NEGATIVE experiences with them, such as being charged for things that were NOT done and sick animals being sent back home only to have to go to their regular vet so basically paying TWICE for the same problem (but the pet only getting better after going to their normal vet)!!! This just tells me that they really don't care about animals or their families and they are just trying to get as much money out of people, even people that may not be able to afford what they say they are doing.  


Them NOT wanting to do ANYTHING to resolve this matter, ESPECIALLY with someone that is so unhappy with their practices just shows me and will show OTHER people how incredibly shady this "business" truly is which is sad. 

Regards,

***** ************

 

 

12/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint involves both the billing and the services provided by the veterinary clinic. I filed a complaint with the state of Wisconsin on July 21, 2012 with no response. I noticed misspellings in my last complaint, which may be hindering the process. I am hoping filing with the BBB will yield some results in either matter. On Monday July 16th, 2012 our dog ***** suddenly got ill. ***** was a happy, healthy, energetic two-year-old ***********/***** mix we adopted from the ********* ****** ******* when she was seven months old. It was around 12:45 P.M on July 16th when ***** came back from a short thirty minute walk. When she arrived back from her walk she collapsed and felt warm to the touch. ********* carried ***** downstairs into the basement to cool her down. He then laid her on the concrete floor, placing a cool, wet rag under her head. ***** then proceeded to have loose stool and convulsions. After the convulsions, ********* carried ***** upstairs to place her outside in the shade to splash her with cool water. Once outside ***** did get up to walk over to a shaded mud patch. This is where ********* splashed water using the hose onto *****. Around 3:11 P.M. I received a text saying ***** was not well. I called to find out what was going on and immediately called the ********* ********** ******. I stated what had happened, My dog is very sick, I am at work, but was told that she went on a short walk and now had a seizure. The receptionist stated that ***** could be brought in at 3:40 P.M. Once there ********* and his sister were made to wait until 4:30 P.M. They were made to wait regardless of the fact that ********* was carrying a 104-pound dog that could not walk, and the veterinarian was made aware of the situation. *********s sister even repeated to the receptionist that this was an emergency. Once seen, ***** was hooked up to an IV and ********* and his sister were sent to wait in the other room. In the meantime, I arrived around 5:00 P.M. to ********* and his sister in the waiting room. Around 6:00 P.M., we were allowed to see ***** in the back. She was lying on the ground hooked up to the IV. At that point, she was alive, but unresponsive. At around 7:00 P.M. we were given the option to take ***** home, leaving her at the clinic with the veterinarian coming in periodically to check on her, or to take her to an Animal E.R. We were given some pamphlets and were told to pick one of the emergency clinics. I asked the veterinarian what was the best chance for ***** living, and she said to take her to the emergency clinic. After some phone calls, we chose the Milwaukee Center for Animals and Specialty Services (MECA). Before carrying ***** out on a borrowed stretcher, she wagged her tail for *********, giving us a glimmer of hope. Around 7:45/8:00 P.M. we arrived at MECA. The veterinarian at the ********* ************ ****** was in communication with Dr. **** ******, and I handed over the labs that were copied for me to bring to MECA. ***** was whisked away and were soon bombarded with questions abut money and payment. I was asked if I wanted CPR on ***** and I agreed verbally to one time, we were then sent to wait. About twenty minutes later, we were allowed to see ***** who was hooked up to an IV, and then met with the veterinarian, Dr. **** ****** about a treatment plan. We agreed to a plan that was 72 hours with a total low cost of $1, 852.00 and a high cost of $2,144.00. We then also agreed and signed for the first time a do not resistate. We figured if ***** needed to let go at that point, then it was time for her to go and not to keep her in misery. In order to pay for the supposed 72 hour care bill, I applied for **** ****** to cover the costs. MECA knew that I could get up to $3,100 in credit. Around 9:20 P.M. we were allowed to say goodnight to *****. Dr. **** ****** swore to us that he would call us immediately if anything in ***** health was to change, but he expected her to just rest. Throughout the night, we did not receive any phone calls, so we assumed her health was the same. The plan was for me (******** *****) to go to work, while my boyfriend ********* ****** went to visit *****. At 6:58 A.M. I called MECA, a male answered the phone and said that they were making rounds and will call me back later. At 7:35 A.M. I get a call from MECA saying ***** had a rough night. Apparently she was bleeding out through her nose and bottom and continued to have seizures. I stopped at my work, since I was a block away, told them my situation, and took the day off to take care of *****. I rushed back home to pick up ********* and his sister. We then drove to MECA immediately. This is where we see ***** lying on the floor on a bloody towel bleeding from her nose. Dr. ***** ************* greeted us. She said, a bloodclot must have been thrown to the brain. Seeing how ***** was unresponsive and bleeding out, we decided to put her down, and out of her misery. We were told it would be pretty low chance of her survival, regardless. We were then escorted to another room to say our goodbyes to *****. While saying goodbye ***** was twitching her nose and we asked the veterinarian to come. ***** then let out one of her classic sighs before she was put down. This happened around 9:30 A.M.After we said goodbye we were blinded by our tears as we walked out of the room and sat down in the waiting room. About ten minutes later ***** ************* (the ************) walked over and said, Sowhat are we doing now? It felt as if it came off as cold, rude, and at the wrong time. We then said, Wellthe bill I guess? We then went to the front to pay the bill. Through our sadness, we didnt thoroughly look at the bill. At 1:41 P.M. we realized the stretcher was at MECA that we borrowed from the ********* ********** ****** and had to return it. I called MECA and asked if I could pick it up tomorrow, they said yes. After work on 7-18-12 I came to pick up the stretcher and questioned them about the bil

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to tell me if MECA was correct in their veterinary practices and billing, or if something is wrong. If it is wrong, I want the bill dropped, my money refunded, and correct action taken against any person involved.

Consumer Response:

This complaint involves both the billing and the services provided by the veterinary clinic. I filed a complaint with the state of Wisconsin on July 21, 2012 with no response. I noticed misspellings in my last complaint, which may be hindering the process. I am hoping filing with the BBB will yield some results in either matter.

 

On Monday July 16th, 2012 our dog ***** suddenly got ill. ***** was a happy, healthy, energetic two-year-old ***************** mix we adopted from the ********* ****** ******* when she was seven months old. It was around 12:45 P.M on July 16th when ***** came back from a short thirty minute walk. When she arrived back from her walk she collapsed and felt warm to the touch. ********* carried ***** downstairs into the basement to cool her down. He then laid her on the concrete floor, placing a cool, wet rag under her head. ***** then proceeded to have loose stool and convulsions. After the convulsions, ********* carried ***** upstairs to place her outside in the shade to splash her with cool water. Once outside ***** did get up to walk over to a shaded mud patch. This is where ********* splashed water using the hose onto *****.

Around 3:11 P.M. I received a text saying ***** was not well. I called to find out what was going on and immediately called the ********* ********** ******. I stated what had happened, “My dog is very sick, I am at work, but was told that she went on a short walk and now had a seizure.” The receptionist stated that ***** could be brought in at 3:40 P.M. Once there ********* and his sister were made to wait until 4:30 P.M. They were made to wait regardless of the fact that ********* was carrying a 104-pound dog that could not walk, and the veterinarian was made aware of the situation. *********’s sister even repeated to the receptionist that this was an emergency. Once seen, ***** was hooked up to an IV and ********* and his sister were sent to wait in the other room. In the meantime, I arrived around 5:00 P.M. to ********* and his sister in the waiting room. Around 6:00 P.M., we were allowed to see ***** in the back. She was lying on the ground hooked up to the IV. At that point, she was alive, but unresponsive.

At around 7:00 P.M. we were given the option to take ***** home, leaving her at the clinic with the veterinarian coming in periodically to check on her, or to take her to an Animal E.R. We were given some pamphlets and were told to pick one of the emergency clinics. I asked the veterinarian what was the best chance for ***** living, and she said to take her to the emergency clinic. After some phone calls, we chose the Milwaukee Center for Animals and Specialty Services (MECA).  Before carrying ***** out on a borrowed stretcher, she wagged her tail for *********, giving us a glimmer of hope.

Around 7:45/8:00 P.M. we arrived at MECA. The veterinarian at the ********* ************ ****** was in communication with Dr. **** ******, and I handed over the labs that were copied for me to bring to MECA. ***** was whisked away and were soon bombarded with questions abut money and payment. I was asked if I wanted CPR on ***** and I agreed verbally to one time, we were then sent to wait. About twenty minutes later, we were allowed to see ***** who was hooked up to an IV, and then met with the veterinarian, Dr. **** ****** about a treatment plan. We agreed to a plan that was 72 hours with a total low cost of $1, 852.00 and a high cost of $2,144.00. We then also agreed and signed for the first time a do not resistate. We figured if ***** needed to “let go” at that point, then it was time for her to go and not to keep her in misery.

In order to pay for the supposed 72 hour care bill, I applied for **** ****** to cover the costs. MECA knew that I could get up to $3,100 in credit. Around 9:20 P.M. we were allowed to say goodnight to *****. Dr. **** ****** swore to us that he would call us immediately if anything in *****’ health was to change, but he expected her to just rest.

Throughout the night, we did not receive any phone calls, so we assumed her health was the same. The plan was for me (********) to go to work, while my boyfriend ********* went to visit *****. At 6:58 A.M. I called MECA, a male answered the phone and said that they were making rounds and will call me back later. At 7:35 A.M. I get a call from MECA saying ***** had a rough night. Apparently she was bleeding out through her nose and bottom and continued to have seizures. I stopped at my work, since I was a block away, told them my situation, and took the day off to take care of *****. I rushed back home to pick up ********* and his sister. We then drove to MECA immediately.

This is where we see ***** lying on the floor on a bloody towel bleeding from her nose. Dr. ***** ************* greeted us. She said, “a bloodclot must have been thrown to the brain.” Seeing how ***** was unresponsive and bleeding out, we decided to put her down, and out of her misery. We were told it would be pretty low chance of her survival, regardless. We were then escorted to another room to say our goodbyes to *****. While saying goodbye ***** was twitching her nose and we asked the veterinarian to come. ***** then let out one of her classic sighs before she was “put down.” This happened around 9:30 A.M.

After we said goodbye we were blinded by our tears as we walked out of the room and sat down in the waiting room. About ten minutes later ***** ************* (the ************) walked over and said, “So…what are we doing now?” It felt as if it came off as cold, rude, and at the wrong time. We then said, “Well…the bill I guess?” We then went to the front to pay the bill. Through our sadness, we did not thoroughly look at the bill.

At 1:41 P.M. we realized the stretcher was at MECA that we borrowed from the ********* ********** ****** and had to return it. I called MECA and asked if I could pick it up tomorrow, they said yes. After work on 7-18-12 I came to pick up the stretcher and questioned them about the bill, which I since had time to look at. I pointed out that the bill they gave us was more towards the high end of a 72 hour visit, and not the 12 hours that ***** was there. ***** ************* said to call tomorrow and talk to *****. While driving away I got a strange suspicious feeling and called that moment to ask about an autopsy for *****, which was never offered. ***** ************* said that “it” would have to be sent to *******, and it was too late anyhow.

On 7-19-12 at 9:32 A.M. I talked to ***** over the phone about the bill. She acted as if she was looking it over thoroughly and said, “Oh, there may be a mistake.” She said the dose for ********* was really high and it would be impossible for it to be that high. It is listed at 19.0000 ml(s) at $222.50 on pg. 1 of 2 on the bill. It was also listed later as 4.3 ml(s) at $35.00. ***** said she would call me back. I called back at 1:20 P.M. asking why ***** never called me back. ***** ************* state that ***** had a “medical emergency and had to leave, but will be back at 6:00 P.M., and she will call back then.” At 6:09 P.M. I get a call from ***** saying she forgot she had a split shift. I told her what ***** had told me, and she said no, there must have been some mistake. I told her I felt like I was getting two different stories. ***** then told me that the bill was correct. I then asked, “Why was my dog given so much medication?” She said she would call me back. At 8:18 P.M. I get a call back from ***** saying that ***** needed that medication to lower the dog’s temperature. Being tired from not sleeping, I just said “okay, and hung up.”

My questions now lie with why did they give her medication to lower her temperature when we were told it was 100 F at the ********* ********** ******. After using the internet to look up the medications I am baffled at why so much medication was used in such a short time, and when her temperature was already low.

While at MECA we felt rushed into money decisions, as if that is all they cared about. After reading similar reviews online of MECA online my suspicious feelings have increased. “Were they just in it for the money?” “Are they pet killers?” “Why has this happened before?” “Why was I given the run-around?” I beg you to please look into this. ***** was our “baby,” our “daughter,” our pride and joy. She was taken from us in less than 24 hours. We tried our hardest to save her, and feel as if we were swindled in the process. We cry each day because we miss everything about her. If you have a pet, you know what we are talking about. If your pet was just here one day, and then “poof” gone the next, how would you feel? Please check into the situation and stop MECA from hurting other families. I am struggling to pay the bill and do not have my dog by my side, which makes it that much worse. I have copies of the bill I was given, and will release them. I do not trust MECA at all, and would not be surprised if there bill is somehow changed or lost.    

Business Response: Dear Dr. *************:

The purpose of this letter is to inform you of the results of the review of a complaint we received
against you from ******** *****.
The details of the complaint, including infonnation which may have been obtained by us, were
reviewed and evaluated by a screening panel. Screening panels include members of the relevant
profession, legal staff and other department staff.
The screening panel, has decided the infonnation does not indicate a violation of the Wisconsin
Administrative Codes and/or Wisconsin State Statutes which regulate the practice of your
profession.
As a result of the evaluation process, a decision has been made by the screening pane) not to take
any action based on this complaint.
Thank you for your patience as we considered this matter.