BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

This Business is not BBB accredited

K Jordan

Phone: (800) 893-8508 View Additional Phone Numbers 1251 1st. Avenue, Chippewa Falls, WI 54774 http://kjordan.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers woman's fashion apparel.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for K Jordan include:

  • 8 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on K Jordan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 02, 2007 Business started: 04/01/1904 Business started locally: 04/01/1904 Business incorporated: 11/15/1906 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Hunt, President/ CEO Mr. Tim Scobie, General Counsel
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Hunt, President/ CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Tim Scobie, General Counsel
Business Category

Womens Apparel - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Mason Companies, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1251 1st. Avenue

    Chippewa Falls, WI 54774 (800) 893-8508 (715) 723-1871

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (715) 723-1871(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had order two items from K Jordan last year. For whatever reason (I do not know if it was USPS or K Jordan), I did not receive the items until well after a month after I ordered them. At this point I did not need them. I emailed their customer service three times with no response. I finally just mailed the items back because I didn't need them and there had been a return label in the boxes. K Jordan now has a collection company, Professional Recovery Services, calling and harassing me about a balance that I owe (in the neighborhood of $65). I have returned the items, brand new and in the original packaging and am now being harassed about paying for items I do not have any more. K Jordan's customer service is sloppy and their return policy must not be ethical to say I still owe money after returning items that were delivered long past the order date.

Desired Settlement: I would like for K Jordan to finish crediting my account as I have returned the items and to have their recovery company stop calling me and mailing me threatening letters.

Business Response:

Regarding case ******** for ***** ******** ********** zip code *****.

The complaint states having ordered and returned items but are getting notices from collections.

Our records show the order was placed in October of 2013 but the items were not received here until June of this year. During that time no payments were made so late fees and finance charge accrued.

That said I will do a one-time courtesy and remove the charges and clear this account.

I will ask our credit dept. to notify collections to cease any further attempts in collecting on this account.

 

If I can be of further assistance I can be reached by email or at ************** **** ****.

 

****** ********

Customer Service

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** **********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased clothing from K.Jordan, I wasn't happy the clothing didn't fit according to the size, I returned everything. After I returned the last of the clothing which came to $19.99, they sent me a bill for $144.55. I couldn't believe it so I called the company, and they stated, "we are charging you for shipping " I couldn't understand that.I feel this company is scamming people. Please help me with this incredible obsurd, rediculous etempt to rip off consumers, how many other people have the done this to?Thank you,******* *****

Desired Settlement: I don't want anymore threating letters. I need credit to my name.

Business Response:

Regarding case ******** for ******* ****** ***** zip code *****.

The complaint reads having purchased clothing from K Jordan that didn’t fit properly.

MS. ***** states returning the items and she did but not before the statements went out.

The 1st order was placed on 9-13-2013 totaling $423.57. The 1st return was done on 10-8-2013 and credited $139.90, 2nd return was done on 10-14-2013 and $148.84 was credited.

The two returns totaled $288.74. The two credits were short of the original order total by  $134.83 which meant she still had some items from that order.  

Another order was placed on 11-6-2013 for $ 49.95.

The 3rd credit for return was done on 2-17-2014 for $142.84.

During the time from the 1st order till the last return no payments were ever made so late fees and finance charges starting accruing. The terms and conditions are clearly listed in the catalog so the charges were fair and justified.

The original shipping is non-refundable and is also clearly listed in the catalog.

As a one-time courtesy I will have the credit dept. remove the remaining balance on the account but it’s important to note these are not fabricated but are legitimate charges.

 

If I can be of further assistance feel free to contact me by email or at ###-###-####.

 

****** ********

Customer Service 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order mailed to K Jordan ("Company") on May 15 with personal check. Personal check cleared bank May 21. Not receiving any communication from Company by May 29, called Company to check order status. Was told order was being held for 25 days pending clearance of personal check. Despite explaining personal check had cleared 8 days prior, Company refused to process the order until end of 25 day period. When inquired about cancelling the order, Company advised no refund or portion thereof would be issued until end of 25 day period. I provided proof of cancelled check on May 29; requested Company cancel my order and to issue a full refund immediately. Was advised it would take about 3 days.

Desired Settlement: Company did not disclose anywhere on order form orders placed with personal checks would be held for 25 days. Nor did they disclose that any refund or portion thereof would be held for 25 days. Had this information been provided, would have used an alternate method of placing order. In speaking with Company on May 29, there was no indication that I would have been notified my order would be held for 25 days. Will not do business with K Jordan

Business Response:

Regarding case ******** for **** ******* zip code 37219.

The complaint states when MS ******* mailed in an order with her check we held the check stating it would be held for 25 days.

The large sum of the check does require our company to run the check thru Certegy before shipping to make sure there are funds to cover the check. Unfortunately that information isn’t printed in the catalog.

 

Our records show that check was released and a refund was issued today for $311.69 and should be arriving by the end of the week.

 

I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

If I can be of further assistance I can be reached by email or at ###-###-####.

 

Thanks ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Ms. ********, thank you for your response. 

 

Your company does not print the 25-day hold nor does it notify customers of that 25-day hold policy.  Had I not placed a call inquiring about the status of my order, I would have never known it was being held.  That is what outraged me and perhaps needs to be dealt with better.  Your company representative told me you have that in place because of the losses you receive by those customers presenting checks with insufficient funds.  If you know of this, do something better to assist those customers who are paying with good funds rather than punish everyone.  You fail to disclose critical information.    

 

Also, you advertise shipments within 3 days.  If that option was selected by a customer, for an additional charge, and then hold the order for 25-days, you in essence have charged a customer an additional charge for an expedited shipment without receiving the expedited shipment.  That is fraud.

 

I hope your company will address orders with personal checks differently, even if it means no longer accepting personal checks. 

 

**** *******

Business Response:

Regarding case ******** for **** ******* zip code 37219.

We apologize our polices on large checks ($250.00) and larger are not conducive with Ms. *******. We spoke on the phone and I assured MS. ******* our Credit & Accounting Departments along with our Legal Counsel were made aware of this issue.

It’s hard to list everything in the catalog and the web-sites on policies regarding checks for payment but it appears there is room for improvement.

There was valid issue that MS. ******* stated noting if only she had been notified or made aware that her check was being held but never had that courtesy.

I do see where a check was issued and cashed on June 10th 2014 in the amount of $311.69.

 

That said I was assured this matter would be looked into.

 

If I can be of further assistance feel free to contact me by email or at ###-###-####.

 

****** ********

Customer Service 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had ordered some Undergarments and returned them to the company and apparently they are telling me that I owe them 13.94 they were also telling me that they do not refund for the shipping and handling when you order from this company I have called to ask to speak to a Manager or Supervisor but they were not available I was very surprised that they would have there customers pay for Shipping and Handling when you return an Item to them

Desired Settlement: I wish for this company to refund me the 13,94 and I would like this company to change there policy as well cause according to a representative I had spoken to they told me that they had several complaints regarding this issue and they do nothing about it

Business Response:

Regarding case ******** for *** **** zip code *****.

I was able to locate an order placed by MS. **** for undergarments but am not seeing the amount of $41.88 that is the disputed amount.

The order I am locating is the only purchase and the item was $19.95, total with shipping came to $27.94.

I left a phone message on Monday June 9th when I saw the BBB complaint but have not heard back from MS. ****.

I don’t see an order totaling $41.88 and I don’t know what the $13.94 refund she is requesting is for.

I am waiting for a call from MS. **** and hopefully I will be able to take care of this issue when she calls me back.

 

The complaint states we should change our policy on refunding shipping.

Our catalog clearly states the original shipping charges are non-refundable and that said

the catalog managers along with the Marketing Department have made that decision and there are no plans to make any changes and again have clearly stated such in the catalog and on the web-site.

 

 

Business Response:

Hello ***, thank you for responding.

To honor your request for shipping to be refunded, the amount of $7.99 will be credited back to your EZ-Pay account as soon as the return is checked in.

There was no tax charged as the only states charged sales tax are Virginia and Wisconsin.

The total credited will be the original charge on the order, $19.95  for the undergarment and $7.99 for the shipping making the total refund $27.94 which was the amount billed.

 

If I can be of further assistance feel free to contact me.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:
To the *********/*** of K. Jordan: I am writing to you regarding my recent experience with one of your telephone agent’s on 10/8/12, ****. Unfortunately, I do not have a last name, as she was unable to release. Let me say that you should be appalled and listening to calls of this nature, if you do not do this already or have sit in call calibrations. This is ridiculous and one of the most disgusting experiences I have ever had with a call center associate. Today, I called and spoke to “****” in the ordering department. I explained my situation to **** regarding the boot’s being available at the time I ordered them (9/30), but then receiving an email on today’s date that they were out of stock and would be expected to be shipped at a later date of 10/15/12. I needed these boots for a specific outfit for a family reunion that I am attending. **** said yes that is correct, all the while, she is over talking me throughout this call. She did explain that because I had used the K Jordan charge account that it can take 24-48 hour for the order to be processed, and that if someone else ordered using a major credit card then that is considered an immediate order. I said then what you are saying to me is that although I ordered first, if I did not use a major cc, then that could bump my order to second causing a delay in an item that I ordered first. **** said that is correct and though that was an inconvenience to me, she said, “I’m sorry that’s the way it is”. I was not happy with the tone of her voice; she made me feel as though my order did not matter and that frankly I could take my business elsewhere. She was not interested in helping me, but she was very quick to want me off her phone. I asked **** if she had an associate number or last name that would link me to conversating with her today, at which she replied NO. She said, “I am the only **** here in this entire building”. Again, for reassurance, I asked **** are you sure you do not have an associate ID # that would link you to speaking with me today, and **** was very sure that NO she did not. She kept interrupting me saying just give me a minute and I will leave notes on the account then transfer you to a “higher up” in Customer Service. While typing in her notes, I said you know **** do you think what you said to me was appropriate; “That’s the way it is”, because in my opinion YOU OWE ME AN APOLOGY! **** said yes, I did say that in a not so tactful way. I said you should not have said it AT ALL and you should NEVER tell a consumer that someone else from this company is “just going to tell me the same thing”. I asked **** for the Consumer Relations Team or who is the ***/********* of the company. She said I do not know that, and no, we do not have a Consumer Relations we have a Customer Service department. **** also indicated that by transferring me to Customer Service they would tell me the same thing; that there was nothing they could do for me. I was highly inconvenienced by this situation and felt discriminated against after **** telling me that my order would be bumped if using the K Jordan charge account. One would think that you would want consumers to use the K Jordan account over a major credit card as it is your BRAND, and this is unacceptable. In addition, on the website it should explain in plain clear sight that if you do use the K Jordan charge account versus a major credit card that you may risk your item not being available once the item goes through. This to me is a bait and switch process, and I do not appreciate the inconvenience or this type of service. **** ended up transferring my call to the Customer Service department, which I had the opportunity to speak with “******”. Social media is too hot and big now days and one negative entry can lead to many lost customers. It only takes ONE bad experience to lose a customer and a gazillion positives to regain them. **** should most definitely have to listen to her call with me and be coached on what she should have done better. I understand that NOT every customer is right, but in this situation, I was RIGHT and did not appreciate being treated like my reasons for wanting these boots was a who gives a rats behiney to her. She needs to learn to ACKNOWLEDGE the consumer’s issues, be more empathetic, and TAKE OWNERSHIP INSTEAD OF PASSING THE BUCK! Once transferred, I asked ****** if my situation was explained and of course, NO, it was not, because apparently these order associates either 1. Do not have the authorization from their department ********** direction to be able to explain the situation prior to transferring the consumer or 2. They do not feel the need to so they leave a pleather of notes for the agents to read. Let me say, notes do not always tell the truth or the story. I am not sure if **** was having a bad morning, but I was not rude or mean to her to cause her to NOT CARE about my situation. ****** took the time to hear me out, as yes; I did after all have to explain the entire situation over again. ****** apologized to me for the situation and for the unprofessional attitude that **** had towards me when I called. ****** cared about my business and treated me as the first call of her day not the 100th rude customer that called to complain about the same thing the last 99 just did. So, kudos to ****** for taking the time and for making things right. I was and am still willing to accept my boot purchase. ****** gave me a full refund on my original shipping and handling charge, in addition, ****** is having my boots expedited to me at NO charge! This in my opinion is superior customer service and turning a wrong into a right, and not to mention, ****** TOOK OWNERSHIP, never once passing the buck. The ***-********* needs to know the service that ****** provided, in addition to knowing the type of service that **** is providing on behalf of the Brand. I am very hesitant about returning as a customer once I pay off my K Jordan charge account for what will be the second time, and your response to my situation will be the deciding factor. I hope that you care, as much for your Brand as your customers do because they are the reason there is a K Jordan. Sincerely, ******* ***** **** ****** **** ********, ** ***** ###-###-####

Desired Settlement: I believe my issue noted-above explains the situation quite clear. ****** at the call center has been great on the level of customer experience. I do believe that I am owed an apology for the agents actions, I do believe that call needs to be reviewed so this type of less than superior service is not provided to another consumer at K Jordan. I believe that if you wish to keep my business you will make thing's right in the way you deem necessary.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. One of our **** Customer Service Representatives will be in touch with Ms. ***** forthwith.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed a order for merchandise from K Jordan on the 23rd of June. I requested the KJordan credit. I had order in the pass using the credit and had paid it in full in February of this year. I received a email from custom service on the 25th of June stating my order had been canceled because they have an account matching information that is in collections so they could not extend credit to me. I didn't understand why since I had paid all my accounts off in the pass. I emailed them again saying I should not have any account s in collections they requested I called them to discuss the account I did call and I spoke to Angie a credit specialist who said yes the account had been sent to collection s before I paid it off and so because of that I could not place another credit order. I requested they update the account so I could place a order she stated no that the account showed paid in full but that it will always be in collection and argued that if the debt had been settled I should be able to place a new order she said no. I requested to speck with a supervisor because Idid not agree with what she was saying because I did not owe them anymore money.She put me on hold for over 15 minutes to talk to her supervisor and instead of connecting me to her manager she got back on the line claiming her supervisor told her to tell me the same thing and that the only way I could place a new order was to use a major credit card to prove to them that I would pay. I told her that was fine but I want the supervisor to tell me that. She put me back on hold for about 2 minutes before hanging up on,me at 1:43 pm central time. I called back and requested a supervisor again and spoke to Linda who I explained my issue to then she transfered me to Hope a supervisor there who was not very nice and basica said they would not update my account so that I could place a new order. Then she stated I would have to make a down payment on the account first which was fine if I had been made aware that was an option.

Desired Settlement: I would like a written apology from Angie and Hope because they could of handled this matter in a more professional way then they did. I would also like my account updated and out of a collection status because I have settled this debt and my credit reports update and in there computer so that I can have the option of placing a new order I was having financial problems in the pass and made good on that when I was able to I should not be treated like I still owe them something.

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. One of our Lead Customer Service Representatives will be in touch with Ms. ***** *********.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 27, 2012 I ordered a dress advertised on kjordan's website. It has been on backorder twice now and I am told it might be in on May 20, 2012. I ordered the dress for my neice's wedding. So just to be certain I have something to wear for the wedding, I ordered another dress when I found out the first one was on backorder. I logged into the website last night to check my order status and found out my credit { which I had ordered the first dress with} was now not good enough for the second dress and they want me to put a down payment on the second dress. I sent an email to them last night to cancel the order for the second dress, but I am still left with a feeling like I was baited in by the first dress and then had to switch to a more expensive dress because when I ordered it it was NOT in stock and nobody informed me of this. This company is still advertising a dress they do not even have available and do not know when it will be available. Isn't that fraud?

Desired Settlement: I want the dress I ordered.

Consumer Response:

From: ******** ********************************
Sent: Thursday, April 26, 2012 6:15 AM

 

**** ***** ***** ******** ******* ***********************

Message:
I filed a complaint and my issue has been resolved. **** ** * ** *****



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.