This business is not BBB accredited.

HWD Acquisition, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 433-4873 575 S. Whelen Ave., Medford, WI 54451 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hurdreplacementparts.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company manufactures aluminum clad/wood windows and patio doors in a variety of styles and types for both new construction and replacement applications.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for HWD Acquisition, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on HWD Acquisition, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 1987 Business started: 12/01/1922 in WI Business started locally: 12/01/1922 Business under new ownership as of: 07/07/2014 Business incorporated 04/09/2009 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dominic Truniger, Vice President - Sales Mr. Stuart Brown, Director of Business Development & Customer Service Mr. John Schafer , Field Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. John Schafer , Field Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Dominic Truniger, Vice President - Sales
Business Category

Windows Manufacturers & Producers Wood Window and Door Manufacturing (NAICS: 321911)

Products & Services

HWD Acquisition, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Hurd Windows

HWD Acquisition, Inc. offers the following product(s): Superseal Vinyl Windows

Method(s) of Payment
Sales are through Hurd and Superseal dealers
Refund and Exchange Policy
Products are all made to order and not returnable
Alternate Business Names
Hurd Windows and Doors
Business Management

On December 12, 2008, Hurd Windows and Doors, Inc was acquired by Longroad Asset Management LLC of Connecticut. HWD Acquisition, LLC is a division of Longroad Asset Management, LLC. Pursuant to the terms of the acquistion, HWD Acquisition Inc did not agreee to assume Hurd Windows and Door's Inc obligations as it relates to Hurd Windows and Doors, Inc limited warranties. However, HWD Acquisition Inc has agreed to service certain Hurd Windows & Doors products purchased after January 1, 2007. For a complete list of serviceable products, please visit the company's website.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

HWD Acquisition, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    575 S. Whelen Ave.

    Medford, WI 54451 (800) 433-4873

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    869 S Whelen Ave (Retail Store)

    Medford, WI 54451

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Four years ago we had **** ******** install new Hurd windows and doors. Shortly after install and painting, the paint began to peel off the windows. The windows and some doors were lightly sanded and painted again. Again, the paint on the windows started chipping and peeling. After another failed attempt at painting, ****** *********** had the sashes replaced and painted by them. These sashes had slowly begun to chip again. The parts of the windows and doors that were not replaced look like 50 year old windows! In addition to the paint, the several mullions have busted, and fall out on a regular basis. Thirdly, the screens that were provided have mitered sharp corners that scratch the wood when putting them on and off. The screens are very ill-fitting as well, so many gaps! There are nice screens in our den, so I know they have better screens available. Not only do the windows look terrible, but also have exposed bare wood from excessive peeling on the outside and risk further damage from the elements.

Desired Settlement: I need the windows to be completely repaired so NO chipping or peeling of paint occur, or replacement of said windows and doors. Also, replacement of poorly fitted screens with no mitered corners and mullions fixed.

Business Response:

I will need better definition of the mullions that have broken and fall out. There are some simulated divided lite grille bars adhesive applied to the glass. These are not removable.  Are these the mullions referred to in the complaint. Are there some removable interior wood surround grilles that snap in and out involved which are removed each time the glass is cleaned?

Hurd is ordering a replacement sash to exchange for a sash identified by the builder as one where paint is chipping from the wood. The paint chipping sash will be returned for lab analysis as the original sashes were replaced with sashes that Hurd applied primer paint to the interior.  The investigation will focus on the integrity of this primer paint on the sash in question.

The original order was built and sold with no interior finish on the kiln dried Ponderosa pine frame parts and the original window sashes.  An investigation was done in 2011 that eliminated several possible causes and identified the likely cause of the field applied primer and top coat paint.  A copy of that investigation will be included with the final report and reply once the above sash with Hurd prime paint is analyzed. The original report may not have been shared with the homeowners.

I would appreciate information on window size of windows where Mr. and Mrs. ****** do not like their screens. Not all windows contain screens and it is a bit unclear from our records of screen color.  Screens are not a warranty component as they are excluded from warranty because they are a maintenance type item. I would like to review the screen list, however; for special consideration.

An update will be emailed once the replacement sash receives our best expedite ship date so all will know when the sash exchange for analysis can be scheduled. This claim will need to remain available for an updated response. Please advise if this is possible.

Regards;
**** ********

******* ******** *******

10/31/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased their windows for our new new construction home in 2006. Since then we have had condensation build up on our windows which resulted in frost build up and lead to the wood of the windows being damaged. The seals on our large picture window dried up allowing the rain to come in the house onto our wood floor. We had another window where the seal broke and now it is clouding up and we can't see through it. The windows are only 8 years old and we have had problems from the first year they were installed. They were installed professionally by the builder. I have contacted the company regarding these issues but they say there is nothing they can do about it. They are not standing by their warranty or product. They do not have the insulating quality that they claim to have or we wouldn't be having these problems. When we put plastic on the windows in the winter we don't get the condensation problem so that tells us they are not well insulated. We shouldn't have to plastic new windows, especially expensive ones.

Desired Settlement: We would like replacement sashes for the ones that got the most damage due to the condensation and frost build up and the one with the broken seal. Windows are a big expense that we cannot afford again so soon.

Business Response:

Please refer to attached letter explaining where service is available and the distinct difference between the company that sold the windows versus HWD Acquisition, Inc today.

thanks

**** ********

Manager Customer Service

11/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June 2013 we had a patio door installed and have issues from the beginning. I spoke to **** ******** and told him that the door was falling apart. Due to the design of the door, the plunger kept falling off and they sent the wrong parts to install it. **** ******** agreed it didn’t look right but tried to fix it. **** ******** and a **** rep came out to fix the door. When they came back out to fix it, they fixed the uprights and remounted the screen door. After replacing the screen door they moved the plunger to the top of the door from its original location. Now when they tried to shut the door the door wouldn’t close due to hitting the plunger. They moved the plunger down lower making more holes in the door. After a few weeks the plunger broke and fell off. Because they haven’t been out to fix the door properly there is no plunger on the door currently. Due to moving the plunger multiple time there are now 6 holes in the door. I told them I wanted a new storm door due to all of the holes they drilled into it. **** ******** agreed and said that they would replace the door to maintain customer service. This was in August and we have not seen a new door and have been getting the run around w/ both **** and **** ******** from ******** Windows and Doors. I tried to resolve the issue on my own by reaching out to ****** ***** and ******** ******** but they have not returned my calls. Due to the fact that we are remodeling their lack of help has held up our contractor costing us time and money. **** ******** said it was going to take a few weeks to get the part to fix which resulted in a month and half of down time. I am very dissatisfied with the customer service and the product and would not recommend them to anyone looking to replace a window or door.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to be responsible for their product and provide the customer service I deserve.

Business Response: Attached is a letter in the mail today to ******. Also attached are related documents that are factors contributing to his situation.

 
**** ********
******* ******** ******** **** ******* *** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on HWD Acquisition, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart