Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business is a wholesale distributor for the convenience store industry, services national retail chains, and provides consumer internet sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CB Distributors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CB Distributors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on CB Distributors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 09, 2011 Business started: 02/09/1999 in IL Business started locally: 02/09/1999 Business incorporated 02/09/1999 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Carlos Bengoa, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carlos Bengoa, President
Business Category

Wholesalers & Distributors Convenience Stores Grocers - Wholesale e-cigarettes e-cigarette flavoring Other Miscellaneous Nondurable Goods Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 424990)

Alternate Business Names
21st Century Smoke

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

CB Distributors, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2500 Kennedy Dr

    Beloit, WI 53511 (888) 824-3256 (608) 368-9909

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have asked, via email, several contacts I have obtained from the company not to ship any orders to me. I have also deleted my card information to ensure that Ross would not be shipped, as I was on a recurring shipment process that repeatedly had errors. They over shipped multiple orders 2 months ago, and the subsequent month, shipped incorrect orders again, tallying almost $150 in unwanted merchandise. I received a shipment confirmation this week, and sent an inquiry to the company as to how this happened, since I deleted my card information. All they sent me back was a shipment receipt. I do not wish to do business with them anymore, and they will not to shipping and charging my card. The next step is canceling the card, which borders on unreasonable.

Desired Settlement: I am returning the current shipment to sender. I fear that they will not credit my account back, as the ethics they have shown thus far are questionable, at best. I would like my money refunded and do not care to have any further dealings with this company.

Business Response:
It was discovered that this customer, accidentally, signed up for (3) auto-shipments.  We cancelled two of them and then realized there was one more.  We arranged to have the in transit shipments either picked up or refused.  Our company also told Mr. **** that he could keep one of the shipments free of charge for the inconvenience this situation caused.  There have been many emails back and forth between our Customer Service Department and Mr. **** to understand the situation and resolve it.  Credits have been issued back against his credit card for shipments he did not want.

I believe that CB Distributors, Inc. has taken care of this customer to his satisfaction.  It was an unfortunate and confusing situation that we were happy to resolve for this faithful customer.


Sincerely,

****** *********
********** *******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I thank the BBb for your assistance with this matter. Without your help,I do not think the company would have paid attention to me, and thus refunded my money. The problem was not me setting up multiple shipments by the way. It was the company's failure to pay attention to a customer, after I contacted them numerous times regarding the charges. They did however, credit my card back for the shipments I asked to be cancelled on 8/6/15. They also informed me that they wanted me to keep one of them, and return ship the other. Thank you so much BBB!

Regards,

*** ****

4/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased fluid from this company and it has caused me severe vision problems. Almost immediately I get distorted vision and so sensitive to ANY light that I cannot go outside. After stopping the use of this product the issues subside.

Desired Settlement: I would like compensation for the products and pain and suffering caused from the use of this product as well as a warning put on all products that they can cause vision problems and that the current fluids be recalled

Business Response:

Mr. ******,

It is very unfortunate that you have experienced these symptoms.  I am not aware of any prior health claims regarding our product that are similar to yours.   I would request that you send us a copy of the receipt, or the actual product so we can verify that you have our product in your possession.  We would also request copies of any medical records that are associated with this claim.  All of this will then be turned over to our legal department for review.

Thank you,

****** *********

CB Distributors, Inc.

********** *******

 

 

 

2/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March of 2014 we purchased e-cigarettes to be sold in our stores. By October we had not sold enough of these products and some were expired. The first week in November I called the company and explained this to them and told them that we were not selling these and we would like a refund, she said that was fine and I could email her the list of returns. Initially when we bought these products, I was told these were guaranteed sales. The CSR I spoke with on the phone ****** *. gave me her email address and told me to send her a list of the returns and she would send me a return shipping label. By the 18th I still hadn't heard back from her so I sent another email and called. Finally she sent me a return tag on the 19th and I sent the initial order in. On the 22 I told her I had more product to send back. After 4 emails and 6 phone calls she finally returned my email on 12/4 with another shipping return label, she also explained this was a busy time for them and for me to bear with them. So I did. I sent another email on the 12/24 asking what was going on with this and again I wasn't responded to until 12/29. It is now 1/13/15 and I have finally gotten what you would call a response, but a rude one at that. When ****** called me back she stated she had to wait for the owner of the company to return from Spain, to ask about sending us a check for the product. She informed me he said no. Of course I am furious at this because that is not what I was told now almost 3 months ago. She then proceeded to start yelling at me and telling that she did respond to me and that they were busy and closed. I then proceeded to ask her why she was yelling at me and she said,"Because I am trying to tell you what's going on." She then told me I had told another CSR we were selling another brand. I said we work with many distributors many of whom offer e-cig products but that they were not a good seller at our store. Most of our customers still smoke tobacco. So we then went on with a he said she said battle. I then asked to speak with the owner and leave a voice mail or something and she transferred me to a line that just rang and rang and rang. I am absolutely appalled with the way I was treated. I am an Executive Corporate Manager for a company with multiple businesses. I deal with 20+ vendors and distributors on a daily basis, this is a poor way to handle a business and a horrible way to treat a customer.

Desired Settlement: I would like a personal apology written from ****** as well as *** ***** *******. I would like the opportunity to speak with the owner of the company and make him aware of this issue. And we would like what was told to us from the beginning, a refund.

Business Response:

My name is ****** ********* and I am the ********** ******* at CB Distributors, Inc.  The attached complaint was forwarded to me and I have reviewed the details.  Please let me begin by apologizing to Ms. ****** regarding her interaction with our CSR, ******.  It is always our goal to treat our customers with respect and try to resolve any issues that occur.  I have given this situation to our ***** ******* to handle internally and I trust that it will not happen again.

 

The other aspect of this complaint is the return of our 21st Century Smoke product from ** ******.  Please see the attachment regarding our sales to their company.  We have been selling our electronic cigarettes to them since the beginning of 2013.  This was not made very clear in the complaint filed by Ms. ******.  Most of the items purchased had been reordered several times through March 2014.  She also stated that she was told that CB Distributors guaranteed the sales of those items.  That is true, retailers have a 60 day sales guarantee. (See attachment for that page on our website.) We do not guarantee sales indefinitely.  However, we do guarantee the quality unconditionally to the end consumer.  If a retailer has customer returns that they would like to send back for replacement, we will honor that.

 

By looking at the sales report, it is evident that ** ****** was beyond their 60 day window.  ****** should not have authorized the returns to come back, and she even issued UPS call tags to pay for the freight.  The product should not have been accepted back.  However, since it is here now, let me suggest a couple of solutions. 

 

              The first solution is for ** ****** to use their credit of $397.91 against other items we carry.  CB Distributors has a complete line of products (1500+) for the convenience store industry.  We stock energy products, medicines, lighters, gloves, batteries, candy and much more.  I am confident that there must be items in our inventory that ** ****** purchases for their store.  A complete list can be found on our other website *************************. 

 

              The second solution is for us to return the product back to the customer for them to sell.  We will pay the freight to return it.

 

Please let me know what the decision is to resolve this issue and I will take care of it promptly.

 

Thank you,

****** *********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Thank you Ms. ********* for your response to our complaint, However this does not address the details of our initial complaint. While it is unfortunate, we suppose we will  have to accept the credit of $397.91 and place an order with CBDistributors as the 21st Century Smoke product was not selling. 

In regards to the reason I am not accepting your response is the fact that in my initial complaint the majority of the concern arose around the handling of this situation and the way I was treated by your CSR ******.  Our businesses rely on outstanding customer service. Without customers there is no business. With that being said, while the business you do get from our company may not be  substantial, nonetheless is still contributes to the financial gain of your company. Ours, both yours and mine is a business of quality product and outstanding customer service. We expect that from our employees and if they cannot meet those expectations, our company may not be suited for them. What I initially asked for in the complaint was an apology, not just from the Manager but also from the CSR as I feel she needs to take responsibility for her actions and I would like to know what the company plans on doing about this. Anyone can say we will handle things internally but really what does that mean? Sweep it under the rug? How would I the customer ever know?

I understand everyone has bad days or has days where they may not mean to say certain things to people. But when I asked her why she was yelling at me, her response wasn't," Oh I'm sorry" or "I didn't mean it that way" it was a simple "Because...". She took ownership of the fact that she was yelling and was conscious to it. To me that is blatant intent to knowingly speak to a customer that way. 

This is the issue that needs resolving at this point. 

Regards,

****** ******

 

 

Business Response: Dear ******,

I reviewed your last letter and have thought a great deal about it.  You are right when you stated that both of us, you and I, are committed to quality products and customer service.  CB Distributors has been in business since 1996 and we have grown consistently through the years.  We are known as one of the Master Distributors in our business.  I believe a lot of that is due to the way we treat our customers and put their needs as our top priority.  As you can read from other reviews, customer service is one area we excel at.  It is unfortunate and regrettable that you did not experience that from us.  As ******* *******, I believe I am responsible for the actions of my company.  That is why I apologized to you earlier, and I am apologizing again.  I also handed your account over to another sales representative to work with you on your existing credit.  ******** has been with the company almost 15 years and will be able to take care of whatever you need.  That being said, I don't feel that it is necessary to have a written apology from an entry level CSR.  You are dealing directly with me and I run the company.  I also don't think it is necessary that I share how I discipline my employees.  That is up to me.  My responsibility to you is to take care of your situation, treat you fairly and with respect, which I believe I have.  Thank you for your business.  All customers, large and small, are very important to us.  I trust your new order will be handled to your expectations.

Thank you,
****** *********
******* *******

1/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 2 Vapin Plus 1100mh kit in October on the back of the box it states the battery last for 300 charges. You can see from the below link is the scan from the back of the box. ******************************************************* Also on Vapin Plus website (Which own by 21st century smoke or CB Distributors Inc ) They offer 9 months warranty. They never response to email (customerservice@vapinplus.com) send to them directly and Their customer service line phone number (###-###-####)always goes to voicemail. Both of the above information listed on their website http://www.vapinplus.com/Vaporizer-Warranty-s/1825.htm They only response to email send through their website and When i sent the email through their website, their response (****** ******** ****************************) were the battery only last for 200 puff or about a month. In one battery charge you can do around 50 puff so if the battery only last 200 puff that's equal to 4 charges. I pucrhased the device with understanding that it will last for 300 charges and it wasn't. Now they are refusing to honor the warranty.

Desired Settlement: replacement or warranty repair for the product.

Business Response: I received the above mentioned complaint against our company and have reviewed the facts. The
information given the customer, **** ****, was incorrect. Our newest customer service
representative, ****** ********, did not give correct information regarding the warranty on our product
Vapin Plus. We apologize for that. Attached is the complete email correspondence between our
company and the customer. You will be able to see that we resolved this issue and sent new
replacement product to him. I believe that the complaint was issued before total resolution had
occurred.
Please contact **** **** and make sure he is satisfied with the way his case was handled after it was
moved to another representative. We did honor our warranty and gave him (2) completely new kits.
If he is not satisfied, please contact me.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

On december 9th 2014 after I filed complaint with BBB and notified me that the complaint has been delivered through email, Ms ****** ******* responded to me directly and apologize for the new customer service (******) inexperience.

Her response was on the following link ******************************************

She offered me replacement however when i asked for the tracking number she cant provide one.

Link to her response ******************************************

Unfortunately due to death in family I was out of the country and my assistant forget to mail in the broken pen (even after we print the mailing label).

However my assistant did finally sent the broken pen through usps by printing new label and by tracking it, it stated it has been delivered. You can click the link to see the tracking and also link to the receipt.

****************************************************************************************

receipt Link ******************************************

Today January 7th 2014 I still havent received the replacement yet as promised by ****** *******.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ****

 

 

Business Response:

Dear ****,

We sent out the two new Vapin Plus 1100 kits to you on December 9th as promised.  However, they were sent via USPS without any tracking.  Apparently they got lost in the mail and we didn't know that until your recent communication.  So we shipped 2 more Vapin Plus 1100 kits to you on January 7, 2015.  According to the tracking report attached, they were delivered today to the front desk at the address you provided.  We trust you received them in good condition.

We apologize for the delays and the inconvenience this has caused you. 

Sincerely,

****** *********
********** *******
Vapin Plus

1/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted this company several times concerning item that I sent back under warranty, every item that I have purchased afterthat aka (ecig atomizer) have been of the same defective nature and I have wasted almost $30 are garbage products thru this company. I dont know it\f a bad defective batch went out and they didnt catch it in quality control. But the only time the replied to my complaint was to tell me the address to send my defective item in for warranty. I have message numerous times after that and have heard nothing! I havent received my item back under their warranty replacement and I provided all rerquired UPC's and original purchase receipts when I submitted them for replacement. I shipped them to the warranty dept. at this business address as they said the same address listed on this website. I have also had issue with every single aspect of my purchased item!

Desired Settlement: I just want to ship my items back with all original packaging and receits and get my money back. I dont want anything to do with this company or their defective products. Cause when 95% of something you buy from a company doesnt work as advertised I want nothing to do with it!

Business Response: CB Distributors, Inc. shipped replacement parts for this customer on January 5, 2015.  We received his return on 12/29/14.  Below is a recap of the timeline...

We first heard from this customer on December 19, 2014.  He was complaining that he had atomizers from our product that were not working.  We responded that our product as a 30 day warranty and asked him to send the non working product back with a copy of his receipt of purchase.  Debbie Johnson in customer service responded that we would ship off his new atomizers upon receiving the non working ones. 

We were closed for business December 24-26, 2014.  The tracking report shows the return was received by our home post office on 12/26/2014.

On December 27, 2014, Mr. ******** sent another email regarding this issue. 

Mr. ********'s return was delivered to our company on 12/29/2014.  CB Distributors was open for business 12/29-12/30, and then closed for the holidays on 12/31-1/2.  We processed his return on 1/5/15.  The return consisted of 5 atomizers (see picture attached).  We shipped Mr. ******** 8 atomizers, 3 additional ones as a courtesy.

We believe this complaint has been resolved. 

Thank you,

****** *********
********** *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******** ********

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on CB Distributors, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart