BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business is a wholesale distributor for the convenience store industry, services national retail chains, and provides consumer internet sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CB Distributors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CB Distributors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on CB Distributors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 09, 2011 Business started: 02/09/1999 in IL Business started locally: 02/09/1999 Business incorporated: 02/09/1999 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Carlos Bengoa, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carlos Bengoa, President
Business Category

Wholesalers & Distributors Convenience Stores Grocers - Wholesale e-cigarettes e-cigarette flavoring Other Miscellaneous Nondurable Goods Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 424990)

Alternate Business Names
21st Century Smoke

Additional Locations

  • 2500 Kennedy Dr

    Beloit, WI 53511 (888) 824-3256 (608) 368-9909

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 824-3256(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Besides the issue above I have the following Issues with the company as well. The failure to provide a promised written warranty or guarantee A failure to honor service under the terms of warranties The company failed to honor their policy regarding refund, exchange or credit An advertisement misrepresenting a product. - It doesn't last for 300 menthol puffs - only about 150 puffs CB Distributors sells the 21st Century e-cig and its accessories. I purchased my first kit in November of 2011, , by March 7, the charger and battery had to be replaced because they weren't working. Company sent replacements. I purchased a 2nd kit on January of 2012 and a third kit on May 15, 2012. About September of 2012, the cartridges that I bought for the 21st Century e-cigs changed. The menthol flavor only lasted for about 150 puffs if that long. The flavor changed to a burnt cotton taste. I notified the company and they held to their warranty and replaced them as long as I provided receipts, which I did. From November 2011 until present, I have had to have the batteries replaced numerous times because they do not hold their charge. I have had to have atleast 2 chargers replaced as well. About February of this year, CB Distributors indicated that they would no longer replace the burnt cotton tasting cartridges any more. They also informed me in an e-mail that they do not have a way to test the flavor of the cartridges that are returned. Per an e-mail from **** of CB Distributors on 8-23-12, I was informed of: "We received the cartridges that you sent and replacements are on the way back to you. In your letter you had several questions and comments that I will address. When testing the cartridges you returned, an automatic smoking machine with a counter is used and it cannot check for taste. Taste is a personal preference and very objective, and we're sorry that you find our product not to your liking. As far as an upgraded model, no, this is all that we carry. Per my previous letter, per the warranty, I stated that receipts would be required. You indicated that the returns you sent were the replacements that I sent you. Unfortunately, we cannot keep replacing the replacement product. For this time only I will send replacements without a receipt, but for only 12 of the 24 that you sent. Should you have any more product to return, per the warranty, please include receipts." **** Their product 1. Is not of acceptable quality a. They do not do what they are suppose to do (remain a menthol flavor for the entire cartridge and they state they have no way of testing this from what I return, however, they could have someone test one of the packages that they sell, but they have never indicated that they did this) c. Are not free from minor defects d. Are not safe and durable - one of the chargers fried the battery and was so hot, that if I didn't notice it, it could have started a fire In an e-mail on 3/15/13 I was told that they would no longer replace the cartridges, which means they will no longer honor their warranty. The company only dances around that the taste is a personal preference, instead of testing any of their products to prove me wrong.

Desired Settlement: AT this point, I do not want any more defective replacements, which is what they offered in their October 10, 2012 e-mail to me , they stated "We will continue to cover the batteries, chargers and cartridges under the warranty with proper receipts." however, now they won't replace or honor their warranty. Per their Warranty information they warrant the product free from defects in material and workmanship. It does not state it excludes the cartridges free from defects. Time and time again, the cartridges, batteries and chargers continue to be defective and do not do what they are to do. They are not free from this minor defect of losing the menthol taste and time and time again, they stated that they are unable to test this defect. I have followed their warranty instructions to receive replacements and am requesting that they now refund the cost of the 3 kits, the 74 cartridges due me as well as another 50 cartridges that I have and are also defective by the taste not remaining menthol during use. . They have had the opportunity to inspect the cartridges. As I stated in previous e-mail to them, that just because they can't inspect them for the change in taste was not a valid reason to refuse to replacement the defective cartridges. At this point, I am requesting a complete refund of the purchase price of the 3 21st Century kits that I purchased.as well as the 72 defective cartridges that I returned that were not replaced and for the additional 50 +cartridges that I currently have that did not do what they should do. The cost of the 3 kits was $23.69 each, totaling 71.07. The cost of the 74 cartridges sent to then and not replaced was 7.75 per 3 cartridges. 24 packages at $7.75 equals $186.00 and the 50 cartridges that I have now with receipts totaling $124. The total amount that I am requesting is $381.07

Business Response: June 19, 2013
******* **********
BBB of Wisconsin
***** * ********** ***
********** ** *****
Dear Mr. **********:
As you can see on the attachment that we are sending, we have been working with ****
******* since March 22, 2012. We have followed our warranty and have replaced the product
($551.56 worth of product). We have also accommodated Ms. ******* with sending her
different product, per her request, than what she sent to us, i.e., 1.6% vs 1.0% or 0%, although
that is not our policy.
We cannot continue to replace product due to taste issue, which is a personal preference. Ms.
******* did acknowledge in her 9/21/12 letter, "I agree, taste is a personal preference and very
objective."
We also have attached our Returns Policy, which states that we do not give refunds for product
purchased in retail establishments. Ms. ******* had been informed of that multiple times also.
We feel we tried to work with Ms. ******* the best that we could. Taste is a personal
preference and we cannot continue to replace product based on that. If there were multiple
people coming to us with this issue then we would know there is something wrong with the
product, but we do not. This issue is unique to Ms. ******* only.
Sincerely,
**** *. ****
******** ******* **********
** ************* ****
**** ******* **
******* ** *****

Business Response: October 14, 2013
******* **********
BBB of Wisconsin
***** ** ********** ***
********** ** *****
Re: **** *******
Dear Mr. **********:
I have reviewed the original complaint as well as the follow up correspondence from our consumer, ****
******* . I find this situation very unique and odd.
Ms. ******* has purchased our product for several months and in great quantity. As stated before, the
problem she states is about taste. She has agreed in past documentation that taste is a personal
preference and very objective. She stated in her last letter that "almost every package that I have
purchased has been defective." I do not understand why she would continue to purchase a product that
she deems defective over and over again.
Our company does stand behind the quality of our 21" Century Smoke line of products. Our warranty
states that we will replace defective items. As you have previously read, we not only replaced a few
items, but have given Ms. ******* over $550 in free goods. (Her average purchase price was $7.99-
$15.99 per unit) We feel that we have done everything possible to rectify this situation. It is
unfortunate that Ms. ******* doesn't agree.
CB Distributors, Inc. is done reimbursing or replacing product for Ms. *******. We have gone above and
beyond normal measures to satisfy her requests due to her taste preference.
Sincerely,
****** ***** *********
****** *********
********** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** *******

 

CB Distributors offers no resolution to this complaint in their latest letter of 10-14-13.  The only thing unique and odd was that I continued to pursue replacements for defective cartridges.  They acknowledge that almost every package was returned because I claimed they were defective over a 1 year period, not several months.  They indicate they don't understand why I  would continue to buy a defective product.  It's simple, they were honoring their warranty to replace the defective products.  Why wouldn't I continue to buy them as long as they were willing to replace the defective cartridges,  of which were defective as well.  I never indicated that I disliked the flavor of the menthol cartridges, in fact I really enjoyed the menthol flavor, what I didn't enjoy was the menthol flavor changing to a burnt cotton taste that happened about 1/2 way through each cartridge.  The company only dances around the fact that this boiled down to a taste preference.

In a letter from the company on 8-23-12, I was informed that the company had no way to test any of the returned defective cartridges for changes in flavor, they could only check to see that there were still puffs left in the cartridge.  The company confirms that there were puffs left in each cartridge returned.  While I can understand a human from their company not testing the flavor of these returned cartridges, I don't understand why they would not take my suggestion that if they tested a brand new cartridge for themselves, they would be able to verify the taste changing 1/2 way through the cartridge.  The company never responded to this suggestion.  Besides the cartridges being 1/2 way defective, I had numerous chargers and batteries replaced over the year or so that I used this product.

The company indicates that they not only replaced the defective products, but that they provided me with $550 in free goods.  The company never provided me with any free goods, only replacements for the defective products which probably did cost them $550.

The company's response that they feel that have done everything to rectify this situation was true until they refused to continue to honor their warranty by replacing any further defective cartridges on 3/15/13.  I am sorry that the company believes that by honoring their warrant and replacing defective cartridges is considered going above and beyond normal measures.

I believe my request to either have the remaining defective cartridges replaced or reimbursed as well as offering them the return of the batteries and chargers for reimbursement would be a reasonable outcome to my complaint.  It is disappointing that this company has refused to accept or offer any suggestions to resolve this matter to both our satisfaction. 

Needless to actually say, I do not accept the response from CB Distributors in refusing to reimburse or replace the defective cartridges.

9/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company offers a disposable E Cigarette with refill cartridges availabe. The E Cigarette battery does not last longer than one cartridge, therefore refills need not to be sold. I bought several packages of refills knowing I would need to buy more E Cigarettes but when one E Cigarette does not last long enough to go through even the one cartridge it comes with, this is false advertising. I even placed the same cartridge that was no longer working on the done E Cig onto a brand new one and it was working. So this told me it was the E Cigarette battery itself. This is a scam to get you to buy more refills when you will not need them. You will always have to buy a new E Cigarette before you ever get a refill cartridge. All E Cigarettes come with cartridges.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for all the refills I have bought that I cannot use.

Business Response:  Dear Cristela, Attached is our response to the above mentioned complaint.  I appreciate the opportunity to address this problem.  Please feel free to contact me with any questions. Thanks again,  ****** *********Operations Manager**** *************
 **** ****** ***** ********
 **** ***** ********

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

********* ******