BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers recycling services for metals,  auto salvage and electronics. The business also sells scrap metal materials. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sadoff Iron & Metal Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sadoff Iron & Metal Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sadoff Iron & Metal Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 23, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1947 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1947 Business incorporated: 11/01/1999 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Natural Resources
101 S Webster St, PO Box 7921, Madison WI 53703
Phone Number: (608) 266-2621
Fax Number: (608) 261-4380

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason R. Lasky, Vice President Mr. Mark H. Lasky, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason R. Lasky, Vice President
Business Category

Waste Reduction, Recycle Service - Industrial Auto Wrecking Scrap Metals Metal Salvage Yards Recyclable Material Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423930)

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Service Area
Regional
Alternate Business Names
Alfred Muchin Company Gus Holman Company Lawent Iron & Metal Company Sadoff & Rudoy Industries, LLP

Additional Locations

  • 1600 S 26th St

    Manitowoc, WI 54220 (920) 684-3388

  • 1901 Lineville Rd

    Green Bay, WI 54313 (920) 434-0137

  • 240 W Arndt St

    Fond Du Lac, WI 54935 (920) 921-2070

  • 3313 N 21st St  

    Sheboygan, WI 53083 (920) 457-2431

  • 36 E 10th Ave

    Oshkosh, WI 54902 (920) 651-9398

  • 478 E Huron St

    Berlin, WI 54923 (920) 361-1450

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (920) 921-1283 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ****** *** was un-able to provide an exact date when they recycled a Red 1992 ********** ******* *******. Which was necessary for Wisconsin Department of Transportation to provide me a refund for the amount I paid ($88.00) when I accidentally registered the wrong vehicle. Which ultimately was smashed by the company, I have the vehicles Certificate of Registration stamped by Alfred Muchin Co. stating they did junk the vehicle, but refused to date the document. In order to recieve the refund from DMV, the document needs to have a specific date which the company refused to honor; even after my second attempt. I believe the company should keep records of the exact date of the vehicles/scrap metal being recycled, so when a customer like myself makes a simple mistake, and tries numerous times to correct it, there are no complications. Simply put, I'm suffering the consequences because they cannot provide the date. The customer service I recieved while inside the main entrance was rude, I may only be 19 years old but I deserve the respect of an adult. Thanks for you're time and support. ****** ** ****

Desired Settlement: I would like the $88.00 I spent registering the vehicle at the DMV, that is sitting in Alfred Muchin & Co. Scrapyard in thousands of bits and pieces. Or I would like the company to contact Wisconsin Department of Transportation to inform them when the vehicle was smashed, so I can get my refund back. I have been laid off, I'm in community college and am having a financial difficulties, returning my money would be more than useful.

Business Response:

On 12/22/11 at approximately 10:00am **** *********** *** ******* of the Alfred Muchin Company personally called ****** * **** at the phone number provided.  **** procedded to have a conversaton with ****** to explain to him the situraiton which is elaborated below:

****** **** had previously sold his vehicle, the Red 1992 ********** in quesiston to a third party, after that transaction the person that ****** sold the vehicle to proceeded to resell the vehicle to another party who brought the vehicle to our location in August 2011 and sold the vehicle for scrap.  Through the conversaton with ******, **** learned that ****** has accidentally registered the vehicle in quesitons with the State of Wisconsin for a fee of $88.00.  Once ****** had realized his mistake in registering the vehicle that he no longer owned, he contacted the state for reimbursment.  **** was able to trace the records that we keep on file and informed ****** that we submitted the title of the vehicle in quesiton to the State in September per our internal policy.  Apparently when ****** had contacted the state in September 2011 they had not yet processed the vehicle title in their system thus ****** was not able to receive the refund from the state that he was requesting.  ****** had then come to our locaiton to verify a date of when the vehicle was scrapped.  Our staff followed our internal procedures and notified ****** that we could not provide additional data on the destruction of the vehicle due to the fact that ****** was not the person that sold the vehicle to Alfred Muchin for scrapping.  Our internal policy dictates that we will not provide data to people regarding the scrapping of vehicles when the person requesting is unrelated to the original transaciton with our comapny, this is our internal policy for the protection of our customers. 

**** explained our policy to ****** during their phone conversaiton, at which time ****** acknowledged that he understood.  **** then told ****** that we understand his frustration with the State of Wisconsin in resolution of this issue but that our company policies were appropriately followed and we have no control over the State to reimburse ****** for his mistake in registration.  The phone conversatioon between **** and ****** resulted in both parties being satisified with the information provided.  ****** thanked **** for the phone call and indicated that this issue was resolved from the standpont and responsibility of the Alfred Muchin Company. 

We understaind that ****** made an honest mistake and upoin trying to recitfy his situation he became frustrated.  We understand that can happen.  **** also shared with ****** that we take our customer serivce and our reputation very seriously and that we would appreciate it if ****** submitted a follow-up with the BBB to indicate that the issue had been appropriately resolved.