Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fox Valley Animal Referral Center, S.C.

Phone: (920) 993-9193 View Additional Phone Numbers 4706 New Horizons Blvd, Appleton, WI 54914 http://www.fvarc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers digital radiology, emergency and critical care, surgery, internal medicine, dermatology, radiology, and rehabilitation services for animals.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fox Valley Animal Referral Center, S.C. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fox Valley Animal Referral Center, S.C. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Fox Valley Animal Referral Center, S.C.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 23, 2003 Business started: 10/01/1996 in WI Business started locally: 10/01/1996 Business incorporated 10/15/1996 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave., Room 112, Madison WI 53703
http://www.dsps.wi.gov
Phone Number: (608) 266-2112
Fax Number: (608) 267-0644
dsps@wisconsin.gov

Type of Entity

Service Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Bruce VanEnkevort, Owner Ms. Kris Eggleston, CVT Dr. Louis Licari, Owner Dr. Lisa Peters, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kris Eggleston, CVT
Principal: Dr. Bruce VanEnkevort, Owner
Related Businesses
Green Bay Animal Emergency Center, S.C. Horizon Veterinary Management Services
Business Category

Veterinarians Laboratories - Veterinary Veterinarians Information & Referral Veterinary Services (NAICS: 541940)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fox Valley Animal Referral Center, S.C. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4706 New Horizons Blvd

    Appleton, WI 54914 (920) 993-9193

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 13, 2015 my dog ingested some fireworks. Upon realizing this I immediately reached out to the Fox Valley Animal Referral Center to get their advice. After explaining the situation to the receptionist she advised me to bring my dog to the hospital immediately and in the meantime to contact poison control center to see if there was anything I should do on the way there. I asked receptionist if she was for sure this was necessary as I was over an hour away from their office. She said yes - to bring the dog there immediately and gave me the number to poison control. I immediately left to go to hospital with my dog and was unable to get through to poison control (it was an automated line that didn't provide me with any kind of information other than directing me to a website for more info). Upon getting to the hospital we were checked in and my dog was taken in an area that I was not in. Upon seeing the doctor she said she couldn't do anything further without calling poison control and they would setup a case number - which would cost a fee of $75.00. I was immediately upset and asked what was just done with my dog then. Doctor said she took all of his vitals and they look fine but she couldn't say for sure what to do as she has no experience with this type of situation. Doctor agreed that the receptionist should have let us know to call poison control FIRST rather than drive over an hour at midnight so they could tell me to call poison control once I got there. Doctor apologized and said she could prescribe my dog some medication to help with potential stomach pains. When going to get the prescription from the front desk I was then told that I would have to pay a $115.00 fee in order to get the prescription or I didn't have to pay the fee and could just leave. Again I found myself very upset and taken advantage of. I decided to not pay the $115.00 for the prescription and left with my dog. Two weeks later I received an invoice in the mail for $115.00 even though it was already agreed that there would be no fee as I didn't take the prescription. After the hospital manager talked me in circles multiple times she agreed to split the bill in half to $57.50 and "call it even." I did pay the bill in order to not affect my credit. I advised the hospital I would be filing a complaint as I'm not in agreement with the bill. Bottom line is that if receptionist would have given me the correct information over the phone opposed to simply telling me to come in this entire situation would have been avoided. Above and beyond that - it was agreed that the bill would be waived if we didn't take the prescription. This business is all about their bottom line and not about their customers or patients.

Desired Settlement: I believe Fox Valley Animal Referral Center is in the wrong on multiple situations within this complaint and the least they could do is to give me a refund of $57.50.

Business Response: On June 13, 2015 ****** ******* called Fox Valley Animal Referral Center (FVARC) with an emergency situation regarding her dog *****.  ***** had chewed on a firework containing some type of explosive material that was unknown.  We recommended an emergency exam and consult with a veterinarian and advised them to call Animal Poison Control(APC) before coming to the hospital. Firework/explosive ingestion is not a common animal emergency that we treat on a routine basis and APC would have more information on treatment options which is why we asked them to call.  We told Mr. & Mrs. ******* the cost of the emergency exam & consult fee and from that point it was their decision to come to FVARC. 

The *******' made the decision to come to FVARC for emergency consultation with *****.  *** ****** examined ***** and performed a thorough physical exam which included body condition scoring, assessment of hydration status, ears, eyes, abdominal palpation, heart and lung auscultation, lymph node palpation, mouth, gum and teeth evaluation, skin/haircoat evaluation and examination of the urogential and rectal areas. *** ****** found no significant abnormalities other than 3 sutures in the right inguinal region. *** ****** explained why she recommend calling Animal Poison Control and also stated we could call on their behalf.  She stated that it is our job to give owners all options of care which is called informed consent.  At the time of consult *** ****** offered the following options of care:
1. Animal Poison Control Consult via phone
2. Ememsis induction
3. Activated Charcoal administration
4. Gastric protectants
Mr. & Mrs. ******* declined options 1 through 3 and chose to go home with stomach protectants.  At the time of discharge the owners stated that they were not going to pay for *** ******'s services or for the medications, so *** ****** completed the case summary and discharge paperwork for ***** and they left the hospital without paying for services rendered.  
On 6/25/2015 Mrs ******* spoke to a member of the administration team at FVARC regarding her concern over the emergency exam & consult fee which they refused to pay. During that phone conversation we stated that they were aware of the fee prior to coming into the hospital and that services were rendered including a consult with a DVM and a thorough physical exam.  No other treatments were done for ***** in accordance with the owners wishes.  In good faith to our clients we agreed to split the fee in half which was agreed upon by Mrs. *******.  
On July 21, 2015 Mr. ******* called FVARC regarding the fee for the emergency exam & consult, he stated that because we "would not budge" on the refund he would be filing a complaint with the BBB.  We stated that we did agree to split the fee in half.  We stated that the fee was for the emergency exam & consult which was performed and it is reasonable to expect a fee for any service that were completed.  Mr. ******* stated that he would pay the $57.50, but would call the BBB and state that we perform unnecessary services.  I have to respectfully disagree with this statement.  Our job is to give our clients every available option for emergency care.  We do not force clients to come through our door and in fact we always inform our clients of the cost of exam and consult over the phone so that they can make an informed decision on what is best for their situation.  Mr. & Mrs. Hieptas were given that information over the phone and decided to seek emergency care for *****, services were rendered a fee for those services was charged. We are saddened that we could not come to a resolution that the *******' were content with, but we do not feel it is reasonable to provide free services.

Business Response: The accusation that we were not transparent is unfounded.  Our client service representative confirmed that she explained the emergency consult and exam fee on the phone.  In addition, the document you signed upon arrive identifies the cost of the examination.  I have attached a copy of that form with your signature on it.  After our doctor performed her examination and made recommendations it was then that you refused to pay for the services she provided.  We have no legal obligation to continue to provide services if you are not willing to pay for them.  

We later sent an invoice for the exam and consult because services were rendered and we did not have an agreement in place indicating that those services would be at no charge. Our later agreement to decrease the cost of that exam by 50% was offered, not because we felt a discount was warranted but because our client’s satisfaction is of utmost importance to us.  We offered it simply because we wanted to make you happy.  We thought the fact that you accepted that compromise and paid the other 50% meant that you were OK with that resolution.  At this time we do not believe there is any more we can do to satisfy you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Your representative never explained any type of charges over the phone.  This along with the following examples I'll outline are clear misrepresentations that you're clearly in violation of your BBB accredited code of business practices.  Misrepresentation #1 - You receptionist mislead us into thinking you would be able to provide help for our dog.  Doctor later advised us that they've never seen a case like this and would have to call poison control --- if this would have been relayed up front rather than advising us to come in the night of this all would have been resolved.  Misrepresentation #2 - The Doctor agreed the night of service that there would be no charge unless we took the prescriptions --- you still sent us an invoice.  


As a "trusted BBB Accredited Company" you might want to review the code of practices that you are supposed to adhere to with your staff as this is not only an insult to myself as a consumer but also the BBB should be embarrassed to have companies that mislead people in a time of need for their pets and when somebody actually does something about it as I am you attempt blatantly lie to the BBB to wiggle your way out of it.  Do what's right and refund me the money that you have untruthfully taken from a customer that is in fear of having their credit hurt.

Regards,

****** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Fox Valley Animal Referral Center, S.C.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart