Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Country Hills Pet Hospital

Phone: (920) 477-3003 Fax: (920) 477-4001 N4415A US Highway 45, Eden, WI 53019 http://www.countryhillspets.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states that they are a full service pet hospital that offers advanced surgery and medical case care.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Country Hills Pet Hospital include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Country Hills Pet Hospital
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 14, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1993 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1993 Business incorporated 12/27/2007 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave, Room 112, Madison WI 53703
http://www.dsps.wi.gov
Phone Number: (608) 266-2112
Fax Number: 608-267-0644

Type of Entity

Service Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Mark A. Thompson, DVM/Owner Ms. Stacey Rowe, Practice Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Mark A. Thompson, DVM/Owner
Business Category

Veterinarians Animal Hospitals Pet Health Plans

Alternate Business Names
Country Hills Pet Hospital, S.C.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    N4415A US Highway 45

    Eden, WI 53019 (920) 477-3003

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sunday. August 11, 2013 at 2:45 pm, I brought my two-year old Cockapoo dog to Country Hills Pet Hospital in Eden, WI for emergency medical treatment. I believed that a pet hospital, like a human hospital, would accept and treat my dog. Coincidentally, Country Hills mission statement states: "we understand the importance of every pet that comes through our doors." My dog was turned away for treatment because the receptionist informed me that they do not accept new clients on the weekends. She spoke with the vet who was at the hospital and both were in agreement about this policy. The vet never came out to see what was wrong with my dog, even though Country Hills views every pet as important. We were sent away to the *** ****** ****** ******** ****** in Appleton, WI, a 50 minute trip. We received outstanding care there. My dog had super glued his right eye. Nowhere on the Country Hills website and nowhere on its phone recording is the policy that they do not accept new clients on the weekends made known. If I had known that, I would have driven to Appleton in the first place. Country Hills did not see my dog as important, whether we were a regular client or not, even though his condition could have resulted in damage to his eye. Please state on all your promotional materials that you do not accept new clients on the weekends and/or adjust your mission statement to reflect more accurately your how you treat pets.

Desired Settlement: Apology and aforementioned changes in promotional materials and mission statement.

Business Response:

September 4, 2013

In response to complaint ID *******

As a service to our clients, we do not see non-clients on weekends.  It was decided as an important business decision to provide weekend hours to our established and trusted clientele.  We understand not all of our clients are available to bring in their pets during the week.  Again, I emphasize we do value our established and trusted clientele enough to provide weekend hours for them including Sundays.  We are one of the only clinics in our area that is open on Saturdays and Sundays.  In order to provide service to our clients and make sure we have available appointments for them, we needed to limit our services to established clients only.  Due to being the only clinic open in the area on Sundays, we do experience a lot of non-client unscheduled appointments. ***** ******** entered our establishment 5 minutes prior to closing without an appointment. The doctor on care advised client to seek more extensive care at *** ****** ******** ****** in Appleton Wisconsin which is a 24 hour emergency care facility.  We do not advertise we are a walk-in clinic or an emergency clinic.  We require scheduled appointment times like any other professional establishment in order to provide the best care for our clients and their pets.

Sincerely,

 

****** ****

****** *******

Country Hills Pet Hospital

Consumer Response:

Dear BBB:

I am not satisified with the business' response to my complaint as it did not reflect back to me my concerns about the naming of its business, its mission, or its unmarketed policy of not accepting non-clientele over the weekend, thoough it advertises itself as a hospital. I would like them to acknowledge that som.e changes will be made to their mission, to the way they communicate to their customers, and/or an apology for how we and my dog were treated. 

From their response, I gathered their policies and procedures were more important than customer service and the immediate care of my dog.