Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

City Animal Hospital

Phone: (414) 332-5555 Fax: (414) 332-8386 325 W Silver Spring Dr., Milwaukee, WI 53217 http://www.cityanimalhospitalmilwaukee.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers complete medical and surgical care for cats and dogs. Services include annual exams, immunizations, dental care, spay and neutering, microchip implants, x-rays, and the sale of pharmaceutics and other health care pet products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that City Animal Hospital meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for City Animal Hospital include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on City Animal Hospital
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 27, 1998 Business started: 02/01/1998 in WI Business started locally: 02/01/1998 Business incorporated 06/11/2002 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave, Room 112, Madison WI 53703
http://www.dsps.wi.gov
Phone Number: (608) 266-2112
Fax Number: 608-267-0644

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Dr. Umesh Sharma, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Umesh Sharma, Owner
Business Category

Veterinarians Laboratories - Veterinary Animal Health Products Animal Hospitals Veterinary Services (NAICS: 541940)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
City Animal Hospital, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

City Animal Hospital has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 325 W Silver Spring Dr.

    Milwaukee, WI 53217 (414) 332-5555

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped off my German Shepherd on Friday July 20th at City Animal Hospital located at 325 West Silver Spring Drive Glendale, WI 53217 to have her boarded for 4 days. The charge for the boarding was quoted at $25.00 per day. At the time I dropped her off, the Veterinarian ** ** ****** *** asked if he should do a teeth cleaning (cost $125.00). I responded with "if she really needs them cleaned then go ahead". I picked up my dog after returning from a short vacation on Tuesday 07/24/12 and asked for a new supply of heart worm medicine for my 100 lb Shepherd. I was presented with a $760.00 bill. I was expecting a $335.00 bill for the boarding, heart worm medication and possible teeth cleaning. I was shocked and clearly upset and questioned the charges. *** ****** stated that while my dog was being boarded he treated her for some sort of ear infection, prescribed spray and drops of the ears, pills for gingivitis(Clindamycin), Oral cleansing gel for her teeth, expressed her *Word Rejected*glands, conducted a blood draw and blood labs, performed a heart worm test, supplied heart worm medications for a 51-100 lb dog and a 26-50 lb dog. I stated that she was below 100 lbs and he responded that "she will gain weight". I just returned from driving over 5 hours, was tired and didn't want to argue with *** ******. I refused the ear spray and ear drop medications, stating that I had some at home. I paid $550.00 of the bill and left with heartgard, oral gel and Clindamycin medications, leaving a balance of $210.00. On Friday 07/27/12 I contacted *** ****** and asked that he make a copy of my dog's file for my record verification. He told me to contact him early part of the week and the file will be ready. I contacted the office on Tuesday 07/31/12 12:15pm and was told that was not ready yet. I proceeded into the clinic and returned all the medications unopened and complete which would then settle the bill. My concern is that he has my cell phone number as the main contact line and at no time did he call me and inform me of any of the additional services he was recommending. I have experienced high bills in the past and attributed that to my lack of questioning and not firm on my expectations. I have always paid my bills, however I never seem to get out of there without a $300-$600 bill and always some sort of antibiotic for an infection. My dog is a house dog and plays in my backyard, full of energy always, I have a hard time believing she is getting sick all the time. I believe this to be poor business practice and unethical behavior.

Desired Settlement: I did not authorize any services other than the boarding and teeth cleaning, which would amount to a bill of $225.00 - $250.00. Having returned the heartgard medications which totaled approximately $172.00, the oral cleansing gel and the bottle of Clindamycin, which I can only assume cost more than $38.00 (Balance due $210 - $172 = $ 38). I would be happy with a refund of $300.00.

Business Response: Company states that they have had the consumer for 6-7 years. Company states that they explained that the procedures and policies and that if the dog required additional services they would complete them, which the consumer agreed. Company was paid $550 for the services. The consumer came back after a few days, stating he no longer wanted the heartworm pills, company said that he could return them and they would give him a refund and he stated the refund was not the issue and did not accept a refund. His balance left was $210. There were 2 pills, a brown and a blue. The brown was $95 and the blue pills was $45 (which are usually $75) for $140 total.  Company states that they made the dog fine and did their best to keep the dog healthy. Company states that they are still willing to refund the consumer for the pills.