BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

Michels Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (920) 583-3132 Fax: (920) 583-3429 817 W Main St., Brownsville, WI 53006 http://www.michels.us View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it is a full service utility construction contractor capable of performing: pipeline construction, directional crossings, drilled foundations, wind energy, communications and pipe services, as well as sewer, water and tunnel construction. The company states it is also involved in cable placements, pipe restoration, wind farm construction, concrete paving, vertical drilling, road construction, and electrical power infrastructure construction services, as well as in trenching and construction of natural oil and gas projects.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Michels Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Michels Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Michels Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 09, 2006 Business started: 02/01/1960 in WI Business started locally: 02/01/1960 Business incorporated: 02/18/1960 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave, Room 112, Madison WI 53703
http://www.dsps.wi.gov
Phone Number: (608) 266-2112
Fax Number: 608-267-0644

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Johnson, Executive Vice President Mr. Kevin Michels , Vice President Mr. Patrick D. Michels, President and CEO Mr. Timothy Michels , Vice President Ms. Jessica Nelson, Corporate Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Johnson, Executive Vice President
Customer Contact: Ms. Jessica Nelson, Corporate Administrator
Business Category

Utility Contractors Wind Energy Systems Foundation Contractors Concrete Aggregates Sewer Pipe Drilling & Boring Contractors Road Building Contractors All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

Michels Corporation offers the following product(s): Sewer, water and tunnel construction, crushed aggregates and building stone, highway construction and paving, electrical transmissions, distribution and substation construction, telecommunications design and construction, mainline and distribution pipeline construction, horizontal directional drilling, structural foundation construction, turnkey wind farm and turbine construction, cured in place pipe construction and various civil construction.

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Service Area
North America
Alternate Business Names
Michels Communications Michels Directional Crossings Michels Foundations Michels Materials Michels Pipe Line Construction Michels Pipe Services Michels Power Michels Stone Michels Tunneling Michels Wind Energy

Additional Locations

  • 817 W Main St.

    Brownsville, WI 53006 (920) 583-3132

  • PO Box 128

    Brownsville, WI 53006

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The city of ********* hired Michel's Corporation to jet the pipes throughout the city. The day Michel's jetted the pipes, the basement bathroom in our home practically exploded, causing sewage and water to overflow through the toilet and shower. I called the city to find out what was going on, they told me Michel's was doing some work on the pipes so they sent someone from the city over to discuss what was going on. I showed him what had happened and he informed Michel's. Two employees from Michel's came over and told me this can happen from them jetting the pipes. They called their boss, the project manager, who said they will have to have ************* come over and clean up the mess. ************* came and had to rip out about 4ft x 8ft x 2ft and 72 square feet of carpet. It had been discussed with the project manager from Michel's and the guy from the city that this will be taken care of and I should have no worries about paying for the repairs, they will take care of it. When Michel's was out again on the street in the pipes there was more leakage in our basement bathroom. I called them again and told them about it so they called **** ****** to try to investigate further. It turned out this happened because there was a blockage in our pipes which became aggravated by the jetting. The project manager continued to tell me this will still be taken care of since this blockage never gave us issues in the past and we did not even know about it until they jetted the pipes which aggravated the blockage and caused the entire ordeal. The project manager continued to tell me that Michel's will be taking care of the repair and told me to get 2 quotes from construction companies for the repair of the bathroom drywall and replacement of the carpet and he would get 2 quotes and we'll sit down together and choose the one we will use for the repair. I sent in my 2 quotes, one was for $1,330 and the other was $2,055. After a month of waiting on word back from Michel's I received a letter from the project manager's assistant stating that this claim is being denied since the issue was caused by a blockage in my pipes, therefore not Michel's fault. I spoke with whomever is in charge of claims and she told me that they are denying the claim because I had a blockage in my pipes. I explained to her that I was told time and time again that Michel's will be paying for it because it was still their fault since the blockage was aggravated by them jetting the pipes. She would not listen to what I was saying and told me they will not pay for it, so now I'm stuck with a bathroom missing drywall and carpet from the bathroom to my basement stairs.

Desired Settlement: All I desire is that Michel's Corporation pay for what they told me they would pay for - the repair of the drywall and installation of the carpet in our basement.

Business Response:

BBB of Wisconsin
Attn: ******* **********
***** ** ********** ***
********** ** *****
Sent via PDF to: *****************************
RE: Complaint ID *******
Dear Mr. **********:
We are in receipt of your letter dated September 4, 2013 regarding the above mentioned Complaint. Please know that Michels Corporation takes claims and alleged property damages very seriously. Michels is committed to its Core Values and takes pride in its brand and reputation. In an effort to handle such matters, we have an in-house staff dedicated solely to providing customer service on these types of concerns.

Michels was made aware of the above listed complaint in April of 2013. Michels investigated this incident thoroughly. Upon a complete investigation of the matter, it was found that the homeowner had a blockage in their private lateral. Maintenance of private laterals is the responsibility of the homeowner. Upon knowledge of this fact, Michels respectfully denied the claim. After further correspondence with the homeowner, the claim was escalated to a Supervisor and re-evaluated. The claim was still denied. After a second denial, the claim was then again escalated to a Vice President of the Company at the Claimant’s request. Upon his review of the facts, the claims was denied a third time.

Upon your receipt and review of the above information, please do not hesitate to contact me with any additional questions. I can be reached directly at ###-###-####.
Very Truly Yours,
****** ** *****
**** *******
cc: ***** ********* ***** ***** *******
******* ******

Business Response: September 18, 2013
******* **********
BBB of Wisconsin
***** ** ********** ****
********** ** *****
Sent via PDF to: *****************************
RE: Complaint ID *******
Dear Mr. **********:
I am in receipt of your letter dated September 17, 2013 regarding the above mentioned complaint. Michels Corporation takes pride in its brand and reputation, which includes standing behind its word. ***********, an independent and qualified third party, determined the overflow was caused by the homeowners' failure to maintain her lateral. The homeowner may not have experienced any overflows prior to Michels performing work in the surrounding area; however, this does not change the fact that the homeowners failure to maintain her lateral caused this particular overflow.

 To my knowledge no statements were made by any Michels employee promising repairs after knowledge of ***********s findings. Regardless, even if such statements were made, it does not change the fact that the homeowner is responsible for the damages she caused. Michels has already gone over and above what is required of it by paying for the clean-up of the overflow and the clearing of the blockage in the homeowner's private lateral; both of which are the responsibility of the homeowner. Michels has addressed each claim raised by the homeowner. Our responses have been prompt and we have clearly stated our position on each claim. At this point, I feel there is no new information to
discuss. If the homeowner has a new claim or new information, please feel free to bring it to my attention. If not, I consider this matter closed and will not engage in a repetitious discussion of the same issues.

Sincerely,
****** ***** ********* ***** *******
Michels Corporation

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I did not plan to engage in repetitious discussion either - I want to make the point that you shouldn't have your employees and project managers tell people that everything will be taken care of when it will not. I did not cause any damages to my home, Michel's caused the damages and did not stand behind their word. I refuse to be told that a company stands by their word when they absolutely do not. Michel's is a terrible company and after this entire experience I hope to never have any type of contact with them and I hope they never do work in the city again because their work now costs me around $2,000 to fix my basement that they ruined. 

Regards,

****** ****