BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BigBadToyStore

Phone: (888) 980-2287 Unlisted , Somerset, WI 54025 http://www.bigbadtoystore.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers collectible toys through internet sales only.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BigBadToyStore meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BigBadToyStore include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

39 Customer Reviews on BigBadToyStore
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 34
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 39

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 26, 2007 Business started: 11/02/2000 in WI Business started locally: 11/02/2000
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Joel Boblit, President Mr. Dan Boblit, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joel Boblit, President
Business Category

Toys - Retail Internet Shopping Collectibles Dolls - Collectors Dolls - Retail Toy and Hobby Goods and Supplies Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423920)

Alternate Business Names
BBTS

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Primary Nature of my Complaint is a combination of an advertisement of misrepresenting a product, Customer Service failed to provide assistance and the company failed to honor their policy regarding refund, exchange or credit. I purchased the following from Big Bad Toys [BBTS], item number ******** - Real Masterpiece 1/6 Michael Jordan - Series 02 - #23 Road Edition - Black Jersey; order number *******. This particular purchase was supposed to be a Father’s Day gift for my husband who is a major collector. I also purchased item number ENB10069 - 1/6 Scale Basketball Hoop with Shot Clock. The order date was placed on 5/7/2014. 5/12/2014 UPS delivered the box [tracking #******************]. On 5/15/2014, when I returned from travel, I opened the box and completed a thorough inspection. Upon my inspection I noticed the following pertaining to Real Masterpiece 1/6 Michael Jordan - Series 02 - #23 Road Edition - Black Jersey; order number *******: The plastic that covers the action figure box contains a long thin opening hole and another small hole. The action figure box appears to have scratches and doesn’t have that crisp tight status you would normally have when you open a brand new box. The action figure doesn't have ‘any’ protection plastic around the action figure itself. And lastly, the plastic covering over the accessories, only covers the items partially and this partial plastic covering is crumbled in appearance and looks as though it has been tampered with. These are all red flags for a collector, especially since it was supposed to have been a brand new item. I notified BBTS the same evening of the inspection on 5/15/2014. On 5/16/2014, I am extremely disappointed with the negative customer service and lack of concern to honor my exchange request. Instead I received email correspondents ignoring my dissatisfaction and request for pictures. And ultimately no response to the request for a return/exchange label. Given the amount business transactions that transpired between me and BBTS thus far [in the amount of $1,605.91 {excluding the order mentioned above in the amount of $526.97}]; I am appalled with the poor Customer Service I experienced today. Initially I requested an exchange, but due to the bad Customer Service received, I would like a full refund for item number ********, in the amount of $299.99.

Desired Settlement: Full refund for item number ********, in the amount of $299.99. I would like this amount to be placed as a credit on my credit card, the same method of the payment transaction.

Business Response: We apologize that the service provided was not not acceptable and a pre-paid return shipping label has since been provided to this customer. Reference photos are always requested when available so that we can see things from the customer's perspective due to the numerous products we offer. The figure and packaging was guaranteed to be new and case fresh, so in the future it may be best to not order these figures for your collection as they are quite consistent. Please let us know if there is any further information you need. Please also note that we are closed for business on the weekend and therefore response time may be delayed. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sent business a bank made/signed money order now business states that there is a 7-10 processing. These bank money orders are the same as cash but better,they need no processing or clearing. This is an insult & waste of my time. Business also sent me email confirming total amount including shipping cost by UPS AIR. Now after the money order is sent & received they want to ship by USPS AIR MAIL sending my an outrageous incompetence suggestion of UPS. I have used UPS many times in the past for USA ordering & this business statements of UPS are false. Something not right with this business professionalism or knowledge.

Desired Settlement: Return my money order or full amount of $775.18usd

Business Response: Unfortunately the customer did not recognize nor believe that a money order must be processed and soon filed complaint prior to having order processed.  The money order was shipped back to customer as requested, at no charge to them, and their order has been canceled as requested.

Business Response: After reviewing the tracking information the money order that was returned to the customer via UPS is scheduled for delivery on Thursday October 17, 2013.  The customer has never shipped an order from our company and therefore they were informed of the import duties and tax information that is involved when claiming an imported package through customs with a high value.  The customer decided to cancel their pre-order numerous times as well as file a chargeback with their card company, which is why we required a money order.  At this time we have canceled the pre-order as request by the customer and returned the money order to the customer accordingly.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

First off i am the one that lost nearly $100.00 with this money order. When ****** sent me the e-mail requesting the money order she clearly stated the full amount which included the UPS shipping charges,she mentioned nothing about any UPS problems. And the fact is ****** in that e-mail states the super high costs of UPS & if no one claims the parcel from customs it is left there & i lose everything. THIS IS COMPLETELY FALSE. A BROKER FEE IS PAID TO UPS TO HAVE PACKAGE CLEARED AT CUSTOMS & WE PAY THE PROVINCIAL TAXES AT THE DOOR UPON DELIVERY. I USE UPS ALL THE TIME. THERE IS NO USE TO ARGUE WITH LIARS (I HAVE THEIR E-MAILS). ONLY WHEN I ADVISED OF MY BBB COMPLAINT DID THE COMPANY REACT. ALSO A BANK MONEY ORDER DOES NEED TO CLEAR BUT NOT UP TO 10 BUSINESS DAYS.   I AM HAPPY I DO NOT HAVE TO DEAL WITH A CROOKED COMPANY LIKE THIS ONE.  

Regards,

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 22, 2013, I e-mailed Big Bad Toy Store's customer service ("BBTS") requesting a (cash) refund of my in-store credit of $12.89. Since that time, I have written 2 e-mails stating my case and requesting a refund with 2 subsequent refusals. My case for a refund is summarized below: 1. In 2008, I ordered and paid for a product that was subsequently cancelled by the manufacturer, a circumstance out of my control. Although my preference was for a full cash refund, which I had communicated to them, I was still given an in-store credit (for $46.17, the total for my entire order). I did not fight the issue at the time and tried to find another item of interest. 2. It wasn't until October 22, 2009 that I found an acceptable item and placed an order. My balance after this order was $12.89. I had to wait over EIGHT months for my product to arrive with poor communication from the company about details of the delay (apparently manufacturer related). Although I considered it, I did not cancel this item since I did not want to deal with yet another cancellation/credit accrual situation with them. I eventually received the product in 2010, but was turned off by the experience and was not eager to find something else to purchase from them. 3. Since that negative experience, I have tried to be cooperative and find another item of interest to spend my remaining credit, but BBTS no longer carries the specific items that I'm interested in. I thought it was finally time to request that my money be refunded and my account closed for good. However, BBTS claimed in their e-mail dated February 22nd that they are "unable to give credit to a credit card after 6 months, our system will not allow it..." I said that I'd be open to a check or other form or reimbursement, but that this was my money, and I had been more than patient in trying to find an item using their credit system (credit that I never wanted in the first place!). On February 25, they replied that "...our processing company will not authorize any refund transaction(s) that have exceeded a six month period...," and again refused to reimburse my money. Although it's been a couple years, it should be noted that this time course is well within the norm for how this business operates, as evidenced by my prolonged wait times with the orders described above and my ongoing account with them (the credit doesn't expire). I have tried to be patient and reasonable every step of the way. They gave me every answer in the book a couple years ago for how they operate, and I didn't push them on it by taking it to the next level. Now they're giving me some more excuses about the same issue, stating that their system is "not letting them." They expect customers to wait inordinate amounts of time for products with poor and inconsistent information, and when it comes time to do the right thing, they can't find ANY way to refund my $12.89? The fact is they're not interested. Ever since the original transaction, BBTS has made it more than clear that once they have your money, there is nothing you can do to get it back. It is well past time to take things to the next level by filing this complaint. It may only be a relatively small amount of money, but it was money originally intended for an item that I never received, and I'm tired of playing this game with them. I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: I desire a refund for my balance of $12.89. I am open to ANY payment method (check, ******, wire transfer, a credit back to my **** account, etc.). However, the net amount to me must equal $12.89.

Business Response: When an item is cancelled from an order that was paid for, our system will automatically generate a store credit refund to the customer account.  This process accommodates our customers so that they can instantly use that credit for another order, or perhaps await a preorder.  Preorder item(s) release dates are estimated times of arrival only, and are are strictly released at the discretion of the manufacturer, we are not able to determine when those item(s) will be released.  The time frame for an item to be released by a manufacturer does not in any way indicate or reflect how our business practices operate.  By issuing a store credit refund, there is also no wait period for a credit card transaction and cancellations can be done at any time of day or night.  If a customer does request that they would prefer an original payment method refund in place of the store credit, we will always accommodate that request, as long as it is requested within an appropriate time frame.  Please note that we did not receive a request for this refund until 2013, rather than in 2008 when the order was originally cancelled.  We have bypassed this policy so that this customer will be sent a refund in check form due to the fact that a card processing company will not issue a transaction beyond 180 days.  We are currently awaiting a current mailing address for the customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a set of ****** ***** ************ I paid 23.99 for rush delivery in which it didnt arrive within their time frame that was given to me I didnt complain about this. However when one of these ************ broke within three weeks of receiving I called Big Bad Toy Store to ask to exchange the broken **********r I was informed that they had the item in stock and could order this item again at my expense I was told that an exchange was not possible I feel that a 59.99 toy should not break within three weeks when the item is taking care of

Desired Settlement: I was willing to pay shipping before speaking with an employee However since I was told I could I purchase another But there would be no exchange they can now pay for it

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1