This business is not BBB accredited.

Marcus Theatres Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (414) 905-1000 Fax: (414) 905-2882 100 E Wisconsin Ave Ste 1900  Corporate Headquaters, Milwaukee, WI 53202 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.marcustheatres.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company operates movie theaters.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Marcus Theatres Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Marcus Theatres Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1940 Business started: 01/01/1935 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1935 Business incorporated 08/14/1972 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Gramz, Senior Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Gramz, Senior Vice President
Business Category

Theaters Restaurants Motion Picture Theaters (except Drive-Ins) (NAICS: 512131)

Service Area
Wisconsin, Illinois, Minnesota, Ohio, North Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa
Alternate Business Names
Bay Park Cinema Campus Cinema Cedar Creek Cinema Eastgate Cinema Green Bay East Cinema Hillside Cinema Ho-Chunk Cinema Hollywood Cinema La Crosse Cinema Majestic Cinema Menomonee Falls Cinema North Shore Cinema Northtown Cinema Oshkosh Cinema Point Cinema Renaissance Cinema Ridge Cinema Saukville Cinema Sheboygan Cinema South Shore Cinema Southgate Cinema Superior Cinema Valley Value Cinema Value Cinema

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Marcus Theatres Corporation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 E Wisconsin Ave Ste 1900
    Corporate Headquaters

    Milwaukee, WI 53202 (414) 905-1000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1000 Kepler Dr
    Green Bay East Cinema

    Green Bay, WI 54311 (920) 468-6500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10101 Market St
    Cedar Creek Cinema

    Rothschild, WI 54474 (715) 355-1080

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    103 Watson St
    Campus Cinema

    Ripon, WI 54971 (920) 748-2506

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10411 Washington Ave
    Renaissance Cinema

    Sturtevant, WI 53177 (262) 886-2900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11700 N Port Washington Rd
    North Shore Cinema

    Mequon, WI 53092 (262) 241-6180

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    135 Wittig Rd
    Ho-chunk Cinema

    Tomah, WI 54660 (608) 374-3820

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2032 Ward Ave
    La Crosse Cinema

    La Crosse, WI 54601 (608) 791-1999

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2165 S Memorial Dr
    Valley Value Cinema

    Appleton, WI 54915 (920) 734-2388

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2950 Hillside Dr
    Hillside Cinema

    Delafield, WI 53018 (262) 646-7300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3226 Kohler Memorial Dr
    Sheboygan Cinema

    Sheboygan, WI 53081

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3226 Kohler Memorial Dr
    Sheboygan Cinema

    Sheboygan, WI 53081 (920) 459-5120

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3330 S 30th St
    Southgate Cinema

    Milwaukee, WI 53215 (414) 291-3456

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    340 S Koeller St
    Oshkosh Cinema

    Oshkosh, WI 54902 (920) 233-1570

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    350 S Riverside Dr
    Saukville Cinema

    Saukville, WI 53080 (262) 268-9455

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    513 N Westhill Blvd
    Hollywood Cinema

    Appleton, WI 54914 (920) 830-6568

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5200 S Moorland Rd
    Ridge Cinema

    New Berlin, WI 53151 (262) 797-0889

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5202 High Crossing Blvd
    East Gate Cinema

    Madison, WI 53718 (608) 242-2117

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    69 N 28th St E
    Superior Cinema

    Superior, WI 54880 (218) 729-0335

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6912 S 27th St
    Value Cinema

    Oak Creek, WI 53154 (414) 761-7469

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7440 N 76th St
    Northtown Cinema

    Milwaukee, WI 53223 (414) 355-3350

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    755 Willard Dr
    Bay Park Cinema

    Ashwaubenon, WI 54304 (920) 497-2430

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    770 N Springdale Rd
    Majestic Cinema

    Waukesha, WI 53186 (262) 798-6800

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7825 Big Sky Dr
    Point Cinema

    Madison, WI 53719 (608) 833-3980

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    W180n9393 Premier Ln
    Menomonee Falls Cinema

    Menomonee Fls, WI 53051 (262) 502-9070

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I use the Marcus Theater smartphone app. I had over $60 in gift cards loaded on to the app. This was done for several reasons, 1) to prevent loss of the funds due to misplacing the physical cards and 2) so as to not have to always carry the cards around and 3) ease of use. I have used the app on multiple occasions and used gift cards in the app to make purchases. Late December of last year, I tried to purchase tickets for a movie but the app was not working. When the app did work again the next day (after the app was updated due to "problems viewing gift cards", none of my gift card information was in the app. I tried contacting Marcus but they told me that unless I have original receipts or credit card numbers that were used in the purchase, that the gift cards are just gone. This is basically stealing. How can a company put out a product and not back it up? I should not have to forfeit the funds I had available because a company's smart phone app does not work.

Desired Settlement: I would like Marcus theaters to honor the gift cards that I loaded into the App. They were Marcus gift cards in a Marcus app.

Business Response: We communicated to this guest via email that a new gift card was being valued for $60 and he provided the addresss  **** * ******* **** ********** ** ******  The gift card has been valued and activated and sent to the guest.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Marcus replaced the $60 in gift cards as well as providing $30 in snack vouchers. The local theatre manager also purchased me tickets for another movie. While the process took longer than I would have liked, in the end, Marcus make good on the problem.

Regards,

**** *******


7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had went to the movies to see the Insurgent at 7:00 pm but before we had purchase our tickets we had told the girl what we was going to see I had to told her me and my friend are purchasing our tickets separate and she said ok. which the movie me and my friend was going to see was an regular movie without the 3D affect so she told us there was only two seats left and me and my friend said okay but then she told us i will just put you and the 7:15 pm movie and i was like okay then she rung us up and said each ticket was $13 so I was like why is this so high and she said because of the 3D affect and I was like um no I dont want that movie because I have seizures and that triggers my seizures so she did what she want to do and rung us up together which can came out to $23 and gave us the tickets(which I ended up paying for). I wasn't happy because she wasn't listening to what I was saying. so i call the corporate office to let them know i had spoken to the manager and she was like ok whatever but I found out the corporate was rude the lady that answers the phone thru the week yell at me and hung up on. But I had spoken with a guy who said he will call me back and never did and I am not a happy their customer service and nor will I ever do business with them again.

Desired Settlement: The girl who handle my purchase needs training again and so does the manager and I would like to speck to the manager of the corporate about my issue and I do not want the Human resource guy who never called me back and the lady the answers the general call for the corporate needs to learn how to speck to someone and she also needs to training on her customer skills. I would like a refund or some type of resolution to their error.

Business Response: Letter was sent to guest on 6/25/15 including two passes for free readmission the Marcus Theatre of her choice.  The passes can be redeemed at any time and for any feature:

June 25, 2015

 

********* * ****** **** * ***** *** ********** ** *****

 

Dear Ms. ******:

 

Guest service is very important to Marcus Theatres, so I apologize that we let you down.  When Ben Marcus founded our company on November 1st 1935, he set out to put people first and always provide the best quality at the best possible price.   I do appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention so that we can work to make things better for all of our guests. 

 

In regards to your complaint I certainly apologize for your negative experience.  My conversation with the staff at the theatre had indicated that the cashier in question had indicated that there were very few seats in the 2D performance you were interested in and that those seats would be in close proximity to the screen.  As a courtesy, the cashier asked if you rather wanted to see a later 3D performance in which seating was more comfortable.  The cashier says that you indicated that you would rather attend the 3D performance which is why the seats for the performance were rung up.  However, while you are purchasing your tickets, if for any reason you feel that they are not being rung up correctly please simply inform them right away.  This prevents any mistake from happening and they can fulfill your wishes as you indicated.  I have spoken with the cashier staff as well as the management about this miscommunication.  Your concerns were forwarded to the ******** ******** and our *** ** ********** for review.  They may also be accessed by our entire Executive Committee.  Please find enclosed 2 We’re Sorry passes for readmission to the theatre of your choice.  These passes can be redeemed at the theatre box office for admission to any feature, at any time of day.

 

Once again, I thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. 

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

James S*******

***** ******** ***********

5/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On The morning of Sunday, May 10th, 2015, I attempted to purchase two tickets to a movie for that afternoon through the movietickets.com website. I selected seats F14 & F15, entered my credit card information, but when Tried to complete this transaction the website indicated that this transaction did not go through because it had timed out. I then started a new transaction and selected seats F16 & F17. It was only after we left the website and found out that we had received a confirmation email for both transactions. I immediately called the movietickets.com customer service regarding this error. I was told that I would have to obtain the credit at that movie theatre. At the movie theatre, we were able to get the refund for the extra seats, but not the $2.50 service fee. Upon returning from the movie, I again contacted the movietickets.com customer service to request the refund of the service fee. They told me that they would submit the request to Macus Theatres. On Monday, May 11th, I received an email from Marcus Theatre, denying the request for the return of the service fee,. They sighted the disclaimer on the movietickets.com website that the service fee is not refundable for cancellations. My husband called the Marcus theatre customer serive number and left a message, but has not received a reply. Both my husband and I have sent follow-up emails to Marcus Theatre customer service, but also have not received a reply. As this was a website problem, that indicated the purchase did not go through, the disclaimer that the service fee is not refundable does not apply.

Desired Settlement: We would appreciate the refund of our service fee and the corrective measures taken on the website problem. This is more about an improper business practice that has probably affected many others, than just the $2.50 improperly taken from us.

Business Response: Good afternoon.  In response to this complaint the management of the local theatre in question contacted the guest.  The theatre cannot refund service charge fees, but they did offer the guest some passes for free readmission to the theatre as a compensatory measure.  The guest indicated that they were satisfied with this resolution.  Please let me know if you need any more detailed or specific information.

***** ********

Guest Relations Coordinator

Marcus Theatre Corporation

**********************

###-###-####

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. However, they indicated we were offered "passes" - we were offered one pass.  Our hope is that Marcus Theatres not only is more aware of this problem for customers, but actually returns emails/phone calls as they promise.  The lack of communication just adds to a frustrating process. Had the Better Business Bureau not been involved, I'm sorry to say we may still be waiting to hear from the theatre.


Regards,

 

******* *********

 

 

 

9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I are on a restricted diet and attempted to bring our own low calorie low salt popcorn. We paid for the movie on a regular night (no discount) and also purchased a large diet soda. We we're force to throw away our popcorn in order to enter the movie theater and receive further service from the concession stand. This was the manager on duty that evening (9/4/14 @ 7pm). She was very rude and insensitive to having an adult conversation about it. This is not the customer service I have grown accustom to at your theaters and have enjoyed being a Magic Movie Rewards member.

Desired Settlement: Change policy or reprimand manager

Business Response:

(the following letter was sent to guest along with 2 passes for free readmission into any of our theatres)

 

September 8th, 2014

****** * ******* 
**** * **** ****** ******** **  *****

Dear Mr. *******:

Guest service is very important to Marcus Theatres, so I apologize that we let you down.  When Ben Marcus founded our company on November 1st 1935, he set out to put people first and always provide the best quality at the best possible price.   I do appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention so that we can work to make things better for all of our guests. 

In regards to the issue of carry-ins, it is important to note that selling concessions is a vital part of our business.  The vast majority of ticket sales go right back to the owner of the films, so the success of our business hinges directly on being able to sell concessions to our customers.  Although we are certainly sensitive to issues in your personal diet, that unfortunately cannot be translated into an exception of our policy.  It sets a precedent that could easily continue to erode the carry-in policy based on any number of possible personal preferences.  Of course, if the management or staff at the theatre did not address this issue respectfully, I apologize.  Though our policy regarding carry-ins will remain in place, I am sending you 2 We’re Sorry passes for readmission to the theatre of your choice hoping that you will continue to patronize our theatres.  Please note that your concerns were forwarded to the ******** ******** and our *** ** ********** for review.  They may also be accessed by our entire Executive Committee.  The passes included can be redeemed for admission to any feature, at any time of day.

Once again, I thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. 

Thank you,

***** ********

***** ******** ***********

4/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 7th, I took my family to see a movie at this theater. In doing so, we made three purchases that day at the theater. The first for $24.50 for the tickets. A second for $11.04 for snacks and drinks and a 3rd for $4.47 for a drink for my son. These were all paid for using a debit card from our bank account. While reviewing our account the following weekend, I noticed that all 3 transactions were double billed which started the extremely frustrating process of getting it corrected (it still isn't as of now). It was a Saturday when I noticed so I waited until Monday to see if my bank could fix the problem without me needing to go through the hassle of contacting the theater. They were not able to help and said I needed to talk to the theater to get it refunded. I was not able to get over to the theater that day so I went in during the afternoon of the following day, Tuesday, March 18th. I talked to a manager, gave her all my information and she said that to her knowledge it should have already been refunded. She said she would talk to their payment processor to find out status and call me back. I had my son with me so couldn't stand around waiting for her all afternoon so this was acceptable to me. I unfortunately did not get that manager's name but while I was talking to her another employee asked her about the issue the theater experienced with double charging people on March 7th so I was not the only one affected and still having problems getting the money returned. By early Wednesday afternoon I still had not heard anything from the manager I talked to on Tuesday so I called the emergency line and a manager named ***** helped look into it. He told me that the payment processor did two batches of refunds with the second being on March 13th. He said that the refund should take 3 - 5 days to show up on our account so should have shown up that night but to wait to be sure until Friday at the latest. He told me that if it didn't show up by then to come into the theater and they would manually refund the money. He also was willing to comp us some passes which I will give him credit for. He was the only one that has really helped us get a resolution. I gave it an extra day, allowing for late night entries to show up from Friday and my account has still not been credited. I went into the theater today as I was told by ***** to get it manually refunded. The manager I talked to had no knowledge of the issue or resolution as she was apparently out for awhile. She went back to the office to find out what could be done. After a bit of a wait, she came back with a printout claiming that the refund was made. I was logged into my bank account through my phone and offered to show her proof that the money was NOT refunded. She would not look and just said there was nothing she could do.... and that I would have to call the payment processor directly. This is a load of bull. Why would I, the customer, have to deal with your payment processor EVER? It was not my error that caused the transactions to be double posted. Since when is an email with a short spreadsheet claiming to have refunded me stronger evidence than my own online bank account which does NOT show the money ever being refunded? As it stands right now, we will NOT be going back to that theater for awhile, if ever. This is completely unacceptable that after 2 weeks your error is not corrected and we are still without our money. Even after we followed everything your employees have said and been patient enough to wait a few days to see if it turned up. This is nothing short of theft and fraud at this point.

Desired Settlement: Refund the money we were double-charged which is totaling $40.01. At this point I would also ask to refund the original amount as well because of all the time wasted, gas used on trips back and forth to the theater and frustration this has caused.

Business Response: On Tue, Apr 1, 2014 at 3:23 PM, *** ******* ********************* wrote:

We apologize for the confusion that you encountered at our theatre on March 7th.  We certainly want you to return to the ******** ****** and trust that this type of service issue will not occur again.

 

I am processing a Gift Card for you but want to confirm whether the problem you referenced was ever corrected or not.  Please advise.

 

If I can personally help you in any way call me at ###-###-####.  Thank you.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *******

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After watching most of the **** **** movie with my girlfriend, the screen went dark for the last 10 minutes or so preventing the ending of the movie from being seen and wasting everyone in the theater's time.They offered free passes to a different movie at a different time, but since they did not provide the service I paid for, a complete movie, I asked for my money back. The manager working replied she could not do that because the registers were no longer functioning.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of the cost of two tickets.

Business Response:

Mr. *******,

 

I apologize sincerely for your negative experience at our ***** ***** *******.  We value your opinion and are glad you have given us the opportunity to correct our earlier mistake.  In regards to the technical failure, and the fashion in which the management handled it, I will be in contact with that theatre with your comments so we can resolve similar situations in the future more amicably for our guests.  Let me assure you it is always our intent to provide the best service possible, and if we falter we take full responsibility and pledge to perform better for your future visits.

 

It is my understanding that your partner, ***** *******, has also contacted us through our customer service department and has had the issue addressed and resolved personally by the ******* ******* of the ***** ***** ******.  Should you require further assistance or resolution, please do not hesitate to contact me, either by phone at ###-###-####, or via email at askmarcustheatres@marcustheatres.com.  Again I apologize for your negative experience and hope you continue to choose Marcus Theatres for your movie-going experience. 

 

 

***** ********

 

Marcus Theatres Corp.  /  Guest Services

100 E Wisconsin Ave.  Ste 200  /  Milwaukee WI 53202

###-###-####  /  (p)###-###-####  /  (f)###-###-####

Business Response:

Mr. *******,

 

Again, I apologize for delay in resolving this situation to your satisfaction.  I completely understand your concern and the ***** ***** ****** would be more than happy to refund your tickets.  Please visit their box office at your earliest convenience, ask for any member of the management team, and they will take care of you immediately.  If you have any questions or concerns about the refund please do not hesitate to contact the ***** ***** ******* management directly at ###-###-####.  Thank you for your patience in this matter – we are, as always, fully invested in resolving it to your complete satisfaction.

 

 

***** ********

 

Marcus Theatres Corp.  /  Guest Services

100 E Wisconsin Ave.  Ste 200  /  Milwaukee WI 53202

###-###-####  /  (p)###-###-####  /  (f)###-###-####

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I was contacted through email and told I would be able to get a refund after all.  I went to the theater and got a refund today. 

Regards,

 

**** ******* **