BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

Swimming Pool Services, Inc.

Phone: (262) 544-5500 Fax: (262) 544-4542 W220N1563 Jericho Ct, Waukesha, WI 53186 http://www.swimmingpoolservices.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sales and service of in ground pools, spas and supplies.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Swimming Pool Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Swimming Pool Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Swimming Pool Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1979 Business started: 04/01/1974 in WI Business started locally: 04/01/1974 Business incorporated: 03/06/1975 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David J. Thompson, CEO Mr. Jeff S. Thompson, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David J. Thompson, CEO
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Barbecue Equipment & Supplies Furniture - Outdoor Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Sporting and Athletic Goods Manufacturing (NAICS: 339920)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Additional Locations

  • W220N1563 Jericho Ct

    Waukesha, WI 53186 (262) 544-5500

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2014 Delivery Issues
8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recently purchased a home that has an in-ground pool. Since we have little knowledge of operating a pool, we contacted Swimming Pool Services. We attended a "pool school" seminar and hired them to open the pool for the season. As directed by Swimming Pool Services, we brought in a water sample and had it tested. On Wednesday June 12th, I spoke with ****, who tested the water. He said that the initial test came back with everything in balance, except for the chlorine. He ran an extended test which took 45 minutes. **** called and left a message telling me that I would have to add five and a half cases of pool shock to the water. I returned to the store and learned that five and a half cases meant that I would be adding 22 gallons of shock to the water. I thought this was quite excessive and I questioned **** about it. He said that since there was no chlorine in the water, that I would need to establish a base of chlorine. This is why I needed to add so much. So, I purchased the six cases of shock **** told me to buy and added five and a half cases to my pool. As I expected, the addition of 22 gallons of shock has caused my chlorine levels to skyrocket. I have been in contact with several other pool services in the area and they cannot believe that I was advised to add so much shock. I have been advised to stay out of the water. I had my water tested a week later by another company on Tuesday, June 18th. The chlorine level is at 8.99 parts per million and the pH and alkalinity levels are out of balance. This imbalance can be corrosive and cause major damage to the pool equipment, including the heater and the pool liner. The safe level of chlorine in a pool is between 1 and 3 ppm. My husband and I have been in contact with Swimming Pool Services several times over the past week and insist that this was the right course of action. I am looking for a refund for the product I was incorrectly advised to add to my pool. I am also looking for a readjustments of my water chemistry to bring it back to normal.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a refund for the product I was incorrectly advised to add to my pool. I am also looking for a readjustments of my water chemistry to bring it back to normal.

Business Response:

                Thank you for choosing Swimming Pool Services and attending pool school; we truly appreciate the opportunity to help people understand water chemistry and enjoy their pools.  Swimming Pool Services has been successfully helping people manage their pools and solve complicated problems for 46 years.

                In an effort to completely solve problems, Swimming Pool Services utilizes state-of-the-art computer software and programs, the AccuScan test, to analyze water chemistry.   Swimming Pool Services  also has a secondary testing system, the Accu-Demand 30,  designed solely for testing and giving precise recommendations for pools in chlorine demands, such as the one Mr. & Mrs. ******* were in.  Through this accurate testing, it was revealed that the *******’s were in fact in a chlorine demand.

Chlorine demand is the inability to keep an adequate free chlorine residual in pool water, even though the water is balanced and properly maintained. Chlorine demand is caused by various contaminants entering the pool that increase oxidation levels or tie up free available chlorine. Symptoms can include slimy or slick pool walls and/or cloudy water, although water can be clear and still have a high chlorine demand.  Among many things, excessive rain or snow can contribute to the demand on chlorine in the pool.

Unfortunately, there is no easy cure for many chlorine demand situations. In most cases, there are still only two options. The first is to apply the appropriate amount of chlorinating product (usually determined through extensive testing) and the second is to replace some of the water with fresh water that has no chlorine demand.  In situations where the chlorine demand is accompanied by very cloudy water, a floc treatment may reduce the demand by physically removing some of the contaminants from the water.  Keep in mind that a floc treatment or water replacement does not actually cure the demand but only lessens it.  It will be necessary to re-test and apply the newly recommended amount of chlorinating product.

Treating a chlorine demand can seem overwhelming, especially if the demand is large.  During treatment it is important to recognize that there are two types of species being treated. The first is “fast reacting”.  This would include small molecules such as ammonia.  Ammonia reacts with hypochlorous acid very quickly and is easily oxidized.  The second type is “slow reacting”.  This includes larger molecules like amino acids and proteins.  These molecules are typically very complex; therefore, they require more time to oxidize.  These larger, slower reacting contaminants are usually the result of swimmer waste such as sweat or urine and can take up to thirty-six hours to completely oxidize.  Chlorine demand is likely caused by a combination of different types of contaminants, so the treatment time and difficulty can vary.

                Treating a chlorine demand is unlike simply “shocking” or adding a normal sanitizer dose.  If the correct amount of chlorine isn’t added all at once, it can make the demand even worse, as the chlorine is literally used up by unseen contaminants compounding and worsening the problem.

                Once the demand is broken, we then move towards rebalancing the water and moving the chlorine level to ideal range, of 1-3 ppm.  This is the level that we discussed in pool school and we help people achieve once we establish a base of chlorine and once any pool problems such as a chlorine demand, removing metals, lifting stains etc have been accomplished.  It is much like a doctor prescribing medicine to cure a problem  and once the problem is fixed, can then move on to normal medications  for a healthy patient.

                If we had not made the recommendations we did, the *******’s water would only have continued to deteriorate and become even cloudier.

                The amount of chlorine to add was based on the amount of contaminates in the water, PH and adjusted alkalinity levels.  Our testing showed that both the PH and adjusted total alkalinity were low in the *******’s pool, which led to the recommendation of liquid shock because liquid shock will also help to raise both PH and alkalinity.

Based on our testing and experience, we stand behind our recommendation.  It is always difficult for us to give new pool owners advice that is hard to hear, but not accurately curing a chlorine demand is far worse.

Some helpful links to better understand chlorine demands:

·         http://poolsandgames.com/manuals/ChlorineDemand.pdf

·         http://pool-care.net/page/ExoticCare/Treating-chlorine-demand.htm

Business Response:

I would like to address the concerns the customer laid out in their response.

They begin by pointing out that, “Swimming Pool Services charged us $387.55 to get our pool ready for the season, where they added 2 pounds of Proguard Multipurpose shock.” They are correct, two pounds of shock is the amount we use for every pool opening, since there are many times where a couple pounds of shock will be enough to establish the proper chlorine residual in a pool.  I’m not sure if they are raising an issue with that amount, or they’re just pointing it out as a fact, but either way that is what we do unless the customer requests differently.  They touch upon this point a second time, referring to another companies advice, saying, “…to open a pool of my size, she would have advised adding no more than a case of shock, not the five and a half cases by Swimming Pool Services.” The two pounds we add upon opening is actually less than one case of shock; we recommend starting with that, letting the pool circulate for two days, and then bringing us a water sample so that we can add more shock if necessary. Since they had a chlorine demand, more chlorine was necessary.

They proceed to say, “We had the water tested two days later at ****** *****. They told us that our chlorine level was low, but we needed to balance the water before we could add more chlorine.” Here is where it becomes difficult to keep up with this customers approach to their water chemistry, since they are getting different advice from several different companies, and were given very different advice at ****** ***** than we would have given. Allied Pools suggested that the customer balance their water before attacking the issue of no chlorine. When facing a chlorine demand we will make a recommendation that will do one of two things, and both are based on the current balance of the water. If the water is relatively balanced, we will recommend a product that will do the least to skew these results. If the water is out of balance, as was the case of this customer, we make a recommendation that will improve their balancing while also addressing the lack of chlorine, killing two birds with one stone.

Next they state, “We brought in the water on June 12th as directed.” We actually would have directed them to bring in a sample to us on June 6th, two days after the pool was opened. They took it to Allied Pools, where they received advice that ultimately made their problem worse, since going over a week without a proper chlorine residual will cause a chlorine demand to grow. Had they brought their water here sooner, I can say with complete certainty that we would have recommended less than 22 gallons of shock. Since they let their pool go without chlorine for an extra 6 days, that made their problem worse.

Then we have a simple misunderstanding, as the customer says, “I spoke with ****. He ran two tests on our water. He told me that everything looked good, except for the chlorine level. This is a contradiction to the response from the business.” The customer misunderstood what they were told by ****. We were not concerned with addressing the balancing parameters, because we know that treating a demand is the priority, and that treating for a demand can change those parameters anyway. We try to make a recommendation that will help in other facets of their water chemistry, when possible. When we tested their water on June 12th, this customer had a pH of 6.8, which is low, and an adjusted alkalinity of 53, also low. The liquid shock recommendation would have helped get both of those parameters closer to the acceptable range, as we stated in our first response.

The customer also claims, “The response also lists that our water was cloudy.” At no point did we say that; in fact, we actually said “Water can be clear and still have a high chlorine demand.” This is something any pool expert could tell them; I would also refer them to the links we posted at the end of our first reply so they can become more educated about this if they wish to. I just want to re-emphasize: clear water can have a chlorine demand.

The customer then says, “I had the water tested at another pool business a week later and was told that my chlorine level was near 9 parts per million. The normal range is between 1 – 3ppm. We were advised NOT to enter our pool by more than one other pool business.” I cannot verify whether or not their chlorine was at 9 ppm after one week. We encouraged them to bring back another water sample so that we could explain a chlorine demand to them and help them get the water balanced, but they have chosen to get advice from other pool companies in the area. Regardless, I would not be surprised if their chlorine was at 9 ppm after one week, since sometimes that can happen after breaking a demand. What we would have recommended at this point would have been not to add any more chlorine until it comes down to a normal range, leave the pool uncovered so the excess chlorine can gas off, and if anything, I would have absolutely told them to swim, since high chlorine is a far better problem to have than no chlorine at all. With high chlorine, contaminants in the pool are being killed, which means there is sanitation, which makes the pool safe to use. With no chlorine, it’s a crapshoot- there’s no way of knowing what could be in that water, and that can be very dangerous. But honestly, I’m not surprised that other companies have told them the pool is unsafe to swim in with a high chlorine level, I’m sure they thought it was an easy opportunity to attain a new customer.

 Sometimes, we have to deliver advice than can be difficult for a customer to hear, but we do what we know will help solve our customers problem.The bottom line is that we solved the problem this customer came to us with, and since they are unhappy with the solution we gave them, they are demanding a refund. I can assure them, without any doubt that we will stand behind this recommendation. We deal with hundreds of chlorine demands each season, this is not the first time we’ve had a customer who questioned our recommendation. Historically, those customers continue to work with us so that we can educate them, they begin to understand how water chemistry works, and we earn their trust. If they seek advice from other companies, that’s their choice. At this point, we would simply advise that this customer choose one pool company to work with, and trust the advice they’re given.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


Based on the responses I have received from Swimming Pool Services, it is obvious that we will never see eye to eye on the matter of our pool.  As new pool owners, we were depending on Swimming Pool Services to guide us to proper pool maintenance.  My husband and I are very disappointed that this company has taken advantage of us.  Swimming Pool Services advised us to add five and a half cases of shock to our pool (a cost in excess of $100), which led to an extremely elevated chlorine level.  It is unacceptable to us that our chlorine level was above 9ppm for weeks after we were instructed to add the chemical.  The acceptable range for chlorine levels is between 1 and 3ppm.  We have consulted other pool companies, as well as our neighbors who own pools, and they were astonished at how much shock we were instructed to add to the pool.  A representative from our current pool company told us that she was surprised that Swimming Pool Services has not offered to refund our money, as the amount of shock put into the pool was excessive.  


Overall, we are disappointed with the service we have received from Swimming Pool Services.  We are more disappointed that they are unwilling to resolve this claim and refund our money.

Regards,

******* *******

 

 

10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I PURCHASED A SPA, *******, JAN 2011. I HAD PROBLEMS MAINTAINING THE WATER. I SENT MANY E-MAIL AND PICTURES OF THE PROBLEM. THEY CAME OUT AND DID GET THE PROBLEM UNDER CONTROL. I TOOK A CLASS AT THEIR STORE AND MAINTAINING THE WATER. I SPEND HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS ON CHEMICAL. I ALWAYS TO THE WATER INTO TO THEIR STORE FOR ANALYSIS. THE PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED AGAIN. I PURCHASED MORE CHEMICALS AND HAS THEM ANALYSIS THE WATER. THE TOLD ME THEY HAVE NO SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM ON SEPT 26. THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH EITHER THE SPA OR THE CHEMICALS THEY SELL AND THEY SHOULD NOT LEAVE ME WITH THE PROBLEM. I HAVE HAD A SPA FOR 28 YEARS BEFORE THIS AND NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEM MAINTAINING THE WATER. I FEEL THEY CAN NOT JUST SAY THEY CAN DO NOTHING TO HELP ME.

Desired Settlement: A SPA THAT WORKS!

Business Response: To whom it may concern-

I write to you on behalf of Swimming Pool Services in
response to a complaint we received through the BBB on 9/27/2012, ID *******,
by one of our customers. All of the issues have been resolved, and I will
address them in order.

The customer first outlines a problem they had with water
chemistry that was handled in 2011, in which we simply purged the spa (a heavy
duty cleaning to remove contaminants), then drained and refilled it. The state
of the water was unlike anything we had ever seen, but it was taken care of
without issue. They are correct in stating that they attended our Spa School, a
free class we offer where we teach customers about chemicals and how to
maintain their water. The rest, however, is essentially a simple misunderstanding.


We recommend that customers get their water tested at least once a month, even if everything
is going well, because it’s easier to tweak it a little bit here and there than
to wait until a problem arises. Before September 24th, we had not seen
this customer since spring, and the water in their hot tub was cloudy when they
came in. When spa water is cloudy, there are generally only two causes: either there’s
no chlorine in the water, at which point one must add substantial amounts of
chlorine to it, or the filter needs to be cleaned/replaced. On September 24th,
they had shocked it the previous day, but their chlorine wasn’t very high,
which is necessary to get the water clear. So they were told to add more
chlorine, and as long as the chlorine remained stable for at least 2 days, it
should just be a matter of time before the water cleared up. So they came in
again 2 days later on September 26th, and their chlorine was very
high, which is what we aimed for, but the water was not clear.

At that point the miscommunication began, because a
different person helped him each of these 2 days.  The second person suggested that they clean
the filter- with their chlorine being high and the fact that they had a
chlorine reading 2 days earlier, the individual that helped them did not
realize it was in fact a chlorine issue. The customer was told they might need
to clean or replace the filter. The customer was dissatisfied with that
suggestion; they ended up going to a different pool store, adding a
non-chlorine shock per that store’s suggestion, and their spa cleared up. The
non-chlorine shock they used, which they purchased from us, was included and
highlighted on the analysis we gave them on September 26th. Sometimes,
after chlorine is established in cloudy water, using a non-chlorine shock can
expedite the amount of time it takes to clear up (but it will clear on its own
one way or another). Since the second individual didn’t think it was a chlorine
issue to begin with, this was not thought to be a viable solution. However, had
the customer followed the analysis we gave them, the water would have cleared
up just the same.

So while the customer said we were not able to help them,
the reality is that we suggested everything that could have been wrong, and
ultimately our suggestions have solved all of their problems. There is
absolutely no issue with the spa itself or the chemicals, evidenced by the fact
that none of our other customers have anything resembling these issues. I spoke
with the customer at length for over 20 minutes on September 28th,
apologized for giving them the impression that we could not help them, and
ultimately they said that everything is ok and they will continue to do
business with us. So as far as Swimming Pool Services and this customer are
concerned, this matter has been resolved.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My problems have been resolved only with the help of  the BBB. When I left the store they said they could not help me. They made no mention that the water would clear with time. They left me with the impression they did all they could and the problem was mine. I did not get the response they gave you in a letter. This information is of value to me and I will keep their letter for a reference.  I went elsewhere and got information which helped me. They called me and did say they told me they could not help me and that this was not the appropriate thing to do. I would like to buy SpaGuard chemicals from someone else, but it seems they are the only ones selling this product. I will give them another try and see if they can be more helpful. Thanks for BBB's efforts. If you did not get involved they would not have made an effort to explain to me all the issues they did with the chemicals as  they did in the letter to you. In fact, when they called after my complaint *******, they did not mention all this information but challenged the others stores suggestion to help. With my first problem, it took a month to finally address it and get a resolution. They do eventually get the problem solved, but only after a lot of frustation and waste of resouces. They did not address this part (time and resources) of the first issue in their letter. Thanks again for you help.

Regards,

**** *******